Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 'Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach 5 stars

2490 Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

#55 of 210 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3013 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was really beautiful and we were told we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really beautiful and we were told we had a particle ocean view room but we had full view of the ocean. Bonus. It is expensive however everything is around Waikiki and Hawaii in general is. The beach is beautiful and right there as you walk over the road. The restaurants in the area were fantastic too. We had drinks by the pool at sunset and they had the most incredible singers entertaining. It was unexpected, they were really talented.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Waikiki at it’s best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Presentation of resort superb. Location to beach and shopping excellent. Well appointed room amazing infinity pool and astounding oceanarium in lobby area and a fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had nothing to do with the hotel but the location. This area of Waikiki is VERY crowded. Mass amounts of people and the police station is very close - we heard sirens constantly. If you don't like crowds, this might not be the area you want to stay in.

    The staff was fantastic - very friendly! The hotel was beautiful and we really loved all of the amenities. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it was loud outside, but the hotel offered a nice break from the craziness of the streets outside. We used the gym, tennis courts and batting cages. The pool was always busy so we stayed away, but they offered a "movie night" that was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and overall, the hotel was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge desk was not overly helpful unless you were paying for one of their trips

    Everything! It was very modern, clean and comfortable. Great customer service, facilities and restaurants and amazing location - so close to shops and the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice location, but very pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a nice hotel but a little pricey for very little to offer. The staff were slow at the tour desk, the concierge and check in. Also, I was sitting at the Japanese concierge chair as it was empty. The Japanese timeshare guy told me to move and was very unhappy that I sat there ....but it was empty. As I got up he took a pinch of salt and threw it at my chair to cleanse it!!!!

    It’s newly refurbished. Location is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Rooms were beautifully presented and clean, the outside pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rooms were beautifully presented and clean, the outside pool lounge area was excellent at all different times of the day. Customer service really good by all met from reception to the pool. We even received a call from reception the day before we left asking whether we needed transport to be arranged.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Missing few things..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it was newly refurbished.. but we felt like a lot of things were missing from the hotel - made us feel like we stayed in a holiday inn or motel but.. just nicer room No amenities.. no mini bar.. no room service.. no utensils or other small equipments.. (since there is no room service or minibar you would expect them..) Asked a staff member if they possibly have a HDMI cable.. we were rejected and pretty much brushed off (some staff were great and attentive, some.. not so much) We had an amazing view! But since all the upper levels are interconnected.. baby next door woke us up 7days in a row :( Just felt like there was nothing compared to the price we paid for..

    Housekeeping are great! Clean and tidy rooms everyday! Laundry room is always helpful :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Boutique feel hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a partial ocean view room with 2 queen beds - bathroom was definitely on the very small side but not a big issue for us.

    Loved the pool and bar layout on the 5th floor - had a cool boutique hotel vibe and was great to have drinks there with some friends. Location very good - only a few mins walk away from the big hotels on the beach. Rooms were very clean as newly renovated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Excellent as we relaxed and made great use of the balcony and view.And will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was unexpectedly small. A large person would have difficulty negotiating the toilet and shuttling the door to get into the shower . Street noise was was often overwhelming if balcony door was open.

    The view from our balcony was stunning. Room size always deceptive from photos and was a little smaller than expected. Refrigerator a bonus and allowed some self catering and grazing whilst enjoying the view. Pool area great but as usual often active children spoil it for many. Love kids but not when they dominate a small area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and toilet area is small but the vanity was large and spacious which I appreciated. It wasn’t anything to complain about by any means, just an observation. It didn’t impact negatively on our stay though.

    We loved everything about our stay here. The staff were all helpful, friendly and accomodating. The hotel itself was in an excellent location just back from the beach, the room was clean, the pool area was out of this world and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. It was a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    I can not fault this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not fault this hotel! The staff were polite and helpful and even surprised me with a bottle of champagne for my birthday. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the view from our room was the ocean and city which was beautiful. Location was perfect a short walk to everything! I’d stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location and comfortable, but squeezing the lemon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Paying 35 USD per person for breakfast and 35 USD as an additional charge per night for WiFi, access to work place and something else. When paying +400 USD per night for a standard room with sea view. Not very friendly front desk staff.

    Great location at Waikiki beach. Eggs'n things serving great breakfast just outside the hotel. Not luxury but comfortable rooms. Very helpful bell service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Very luxe and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fabulous and super comfortable hotel with all of the modern comforts and wow factor. We loved our short stay here and will definitely return! Renee at the check in desk was awesome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath in the bathroom would be nice and hotel definitely needs bigger bath towels, they were tiny, only for kids really.

    Great location, lovely pool. Cost to hire cabanas prohibitive though. Excellent restaurant onsite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Great pool and views of Waikiki beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over the bath with shower curtain. Cigar smoke from room next door continued for a number of days despite complaints.

    Great pool and views of Waikiki beach. Lovely decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    You just cross the street to reach the famous Waikiki beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is crowded at noon time at the front desk but there were just 2 receptionists. You should expect a long queue by then.

    You just cross the street to reach the famous Waikiki beach. The aquarium near the bar is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    1st Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms very small.

    4th Stay in this Hotel before & after the renovation. Love the location & view. Great staff always friendly & very helpful. Since the renovation Bathrooms are very small but who spends their Holiday in a bathroom. We will definitely continue to choose this hotel when in Waikiki.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous relaxing break loved the pool side service and convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not such a great evening when the private pool parties for large numbers made being at the pool chaos as a guest!

    The rooms lived up to expectations. Loved booking the cabana beside the pool for a day because it meant all generations in the family from 10 months to 89yrs old could be together beside the pool WOW!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced with problems encountered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge were not that helpful. Bathroom way too small. Housekeeping not consistent. Hotel tried charging me extra had to ring bank to sort out. Overcharged for washing machine and didn’t clean that well. My sons toy comforter was lost when sheets changed and never returned. Very sentimental to me as my mum gave it to him before she died didn’t get an apology from staff until I complained about my trip

    Pool Could fill up water bottles with filtered water Beds and pillows comfy Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and marvelous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I appreciated the quietness of the hotel, the beauty of the lobby, the nice music, making me feel so well there. A unique atmosphere I recommend. Front desk and Valet staff is so great and nice !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    An amazing week in Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only issue for us was getting deck chairs around the pool. It seemed like people would just leave towels around to save a chair while they left the pool. They do have someone walking around checking but it always seems like the chairs were empty half the day.

    We had an amazing time at this hotel. Check in was simple and the rooms were newly renovated. The bathroom was on the small side but didn't bother us too much. We had an amazing view from the ocean front balcony of Waikiki Beach and didn't notice any loud noise from the street. Bar on the roof was really nice and enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, beautiful new hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never found place at the pool. Too small and too crowded. The staff is not well trained at all yet, a pity as the hotel is now even out of the soft opening phase.

    Excellent location, beautiful new hotel. The restaurant was great, very nice food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Classy home in Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is quite pricey - venture out if you’re looking to save cash

    The pool was next level - we loved spending time there, particularly to get away from the hustle and bustle down below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, well designed rooms with extra comfortable beds. Lots of options for a family traveling with a toddler. Staff were extra helpful and kind. We couldn't be happier with our choice of hotel and will definitely come back to stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is $30 a day !

    Close to everything! Right across the street from the beach. Even with partial ocean view , the view of the ocean is very good. Hotel is new and clean , pool is fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    The view was amazing , the staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the alcoholic drinks in the bar area were expensive , which meant we didn’t sit and enjoy the facilities as much as we would have liked too.

    The view was amazing , the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great ! The bed was super comfy and the pillows were amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    We loved it! Had such a wonderful time, thank you!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only very very minor thing - Waitresses by the pool area were a little slow and we had to go to the bar often to get our drinks. We would have ordered more if the service was faster. However some days were better than others.

    The bed was so comfortable, lovely room and a lovely view. Staff were super friendly and very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. We really realy loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent oceanside resort with recent renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Swell bar and pool was closed for a wedding one afternoon/evening.

    Oceanfront view with a Comfy bed with brand new furnishings and facilities. The infinity pool with accompanying Swell bar with sunset happy hour hit the spot as did a mean noodle dish at Mamosan. Room cleanliness and staff flexibile and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Very stylish hotel in the heart of Waikiki Beach Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds and Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    For us the Alohilani Hotel was perfect because of the location in the middle of the Waikiki Beach Area and its very modern style! We had a two queen size bed bedroom which was very spacious and had a fantastic view from the big balcony of the beach and the gorgeous sunset. We tried the breakfast buffet several times and were not disappointed. Friendly helpful staff, a nice atmosphere and many other amenities like a japanyse style toilet in the bathroom, a very stylish pool area and big towls for the beach made our stay very pleasant!absolutly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Ocean view of Waikiki AMAZING.
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ocean view of Waikiki AMAZING. Best view from our patio and my son lives there he has stayed many of hotels and he said best of the best. Lived it. Clean comfortable beds. Awesume hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Bathroom were extremely small, you couldn’t move in them.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom were extremely small, you couldn’t move in them. Even though the rooms were nice you could tell the hotel was refurbished, for the money you pay to stay here there was no atmosphere no entertainment within the hotel at . No complimentary robes, no supplies in bar fridge, coffee machine only in the room with capsules which were disgusting. Only one luggage/storage holder so nowhere to layout or store second suitcase apart from the floor. Overall very disappointing as far a value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Great position, on Kalakaua avenue: you cross the road and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Diamond Head Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom is a bit small. The sliding window in the room does not isolate well from the noise of the city. The resort fee is a bit high considering what it is offering.

    Great position, on Kalakaua avenue: you cross the road and you are on the beach. The structure has a wonderful swimming pool and a fitness center. The aquarium in the hall is very scenic. The staff at the concierge always smiling and helpful. Our room was a "Diamond Head Ocean View" room, but being at 29th floor the Diamond Head view was partially occluded by a nearby building. Neverthelss, the view was wonderful. Moreover, we were assigned a room at the corner of the building, so we had also a second window with a fantastic ocean view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff from housekeeping to the desk were amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff from housekeeping to the desk were amazing and very welcoming. We had the king room with a view which was comfortable and big enough for us. The rooms were cleaned daily, Mahalo to housekeeping. The facilities were amazing especially the infinity pool and the deck. The view from the pool is breathtaking. My husband and I enjoyed evenings on the deck. Mahalo to the staff on the pool deck you were very helpful. The location of Alohilani is awesome, across from the beach and access to all the shops. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alohilani. Mahalo to all the staff at Alohilani.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful stay, great location and had a fantastic view of the beach. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shame it doesn't have double glazing, construction noise from nearby hotel was annoying Need more front of staff - large number of people waiting to be booked in.

    Fantastic location. Very comfortable bed. Had a very good view from the 14th floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location in Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was meant to be with two queen beds however they seemed to be the size of a double.

    Recently renovated so has all the modern facilities, our room was adequate, comfortable beds. Bathroom is very small however it was also adequate. Lovely pool/spa area with view of the beach and well equipped gym.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel overall in a prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The $35 dollar a day resort fee seems like a bit of a cash grab. With the hotel being right across the street from the beach, it seems like the daily resort fee is too high and possibly unwarranted considering there is a hotel room/destination tax on top of the daily resort fee. The pool can get busy at times and there are members of the public who decide to use the facilities - so it can be hard to find a beach chair. Also: I found the concierge staff to not be that helpful. They seemed a bit jaded. And they gave us the wrong information more than once. For example - the pink line trolley to the mall. We are travelling with our daughter and the concierge told us it wouldn’t be full fare for her. The bus driver called us out over $1 - which was minimal - but we were caught scrambling for change. We also wanted to enjoy the Sunday brunch at the hotel. Food was of superior quality and service top notch. But it turns out they’ve cancelled brunch - even though it’s still advertised to be available until 2:30 pm with live music. So we felt a little bit rushed and, again, mislead by the concierge staff. To pay $33 per adult per person is pricey.

    The swell pool and bar is fantastic. The staff are super attentive especially Avery, Alison and Mikki. We rented a cabana for 1/2 the day and it was pure bliss. There’s nothing inexpensive about Waikiki and the drinks at the hotel and bar are no exception. But the lava flow iced drink was so tasty. As was the kid’s grilled panini sandwich. The rooms were also very clean and a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Our stay was wonderful and magic! Mahalo for their hospitality 😘
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The WiFi connection was so-so but still okay - the activities suggested by the hotel were quite expensive (mostly booked via Expedia!)

    Everything : from check-in to check out ; the cleanliness of the hotel ; its modernity! The oceanarium ; the ABC store right in the hotel in front of the elevators (our favorite tourist trap 😝) the Aloha greetings ; the breakfast buffet in Lychee restaurant...everything was awesome 😎🤩

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small bathroom. Only basic TV channels.

    Very good location. Friendly personnel. Fantastic view but you have to pay extra for it. Modern room. Good cleaning service. Very nice lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel + great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything at the Alohilani is top quality from the reception, to the rooms to the pool area. We found the staff were all super friendly and we loved the view from our room. Highly recommend this hotel- very well priced compared to other options on Waikiki beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was chaos up to a 10 minute wait sometimes. Noisy rooms, you could hear every toilet in the hotel flush and people talking.

    Staff were great. Great clean location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Property is great has a true resort feel, something that is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Diamond Head Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The infinity pool should be adult only

    Property is great has a true resort feel, something that is unique to Alohilani as it doesn’t exist here in Waikiki

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms a bit tiny but we managed.

    Great location. Incredible view from our balcony. Spacious bedroom and everything is new and clean, including the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    The bathroom was great, room was very clean, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was great, room was very clean, comfortable carpet bed and pillow, great location great beach front awesome staff and food. I had the time of my life

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    The view was great, bed was super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Diamond Head Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room had been renovated you could tell it was an older facility because of the layout/structure. For example the bathroom was so tiny that there was barely any room (maybe 1-2 inches) between the door and the toilet when you opened the door. Since the common areas of the hotel including lobby was updated to be super modern and luxurious, and seems the hotel advertises itself to be that way too, couldn’t help feeling a little disappointed with the room itself.

    The view was great, bed was super comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in the heart of Waikiki beach, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful hotel in the heart of Waikiki beach, beautiful views from rooms and especially from the swimming pool. Very luxurious amenities aroung the pool area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again! We loved everything about the hotel and its perfect location! A++
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A few utensils would in the room for coffee making would have been nice. Some of the wait staff in the lounge bar could have been a little more friendly, there was one staff member that was quite rude and not helpful at all.

    Rooms were very clean & tidy, beds were comfy and hotel facilities excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent design hôtel with resort facilities in the heart of waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive experience but it’s waikiki ...

    Excellent hôtel with resort facilities (top deck pool with view and marvellous lounge bar with live music in the evening, delicious mai tai and good food) and still in the heart of Waikiki, you don’t need to take the car to go there. Lovely staff. Comfortable bedroom. Fantastic decoration.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Very good location especially for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very good location especially for families with children. In front of the hotel is Kuhio beach, which is very safe for kids. Most of must-visit sites and necessary facilities such as a bus stop, car rental, major shopping centre, park, and well-rated restaurants are within walking distance. Also, staff are helpful and flexible. Ocean front room provides a really nice view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Not a hotel if you have small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dangerous for children. We informed the staff of specific issues and nothing was done or followed up. The rooms are small and the bathroom is so small you will hardly believe it.

    Nice aquarium.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    Over price! I could have stayed somewhere much nicer for the price I've paid. I felt rob!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My first impression of the hotel was great but once you go to your room after paying $900.00 for two nights then see your small room, you get the feeling of being rob. My room didn't even have a clock or bottle water which is usually free at other hotels. What made it worst, I book my room weeks ahead and to get on the elevator and hear quest check in that day and paid much less then what I did and they was on a higher floor. The feeling of getting rob once again came over me. I would never stay here again......where was the staff?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location. Across the street from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We reserved an ocean view and while we had view of the ocean it was not a complete ocean view like the photos on the website. overall part of our view was the ocean and the other part was of the mountains.

    The bed was very comfortable. Location was close to everything. Great restuarants within a few minute walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious hotel surrounded by restaurants, shopping and the beach .... oh and the view !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping worked extremely hard and did a lovely job. My only feedback would be that 8.30am is too early for housekeeping. I understand they have a number of rooms to clean but vacation time usually means sleep ins. I quickly learned to put the do not disturb sign up and they always came back later in the day.

    Facilities, location and staff were amazing. Sina checked me in and after a long flight was very welcoming and accommodating. Beach across the road was beautiful and the hotel is close to restaurants and shopping also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    They stay was fine after we got into the right room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Diamond Head Ocean View Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved a Diamond Head Oceanview 2 queen room to celebrate my grandma's 85th birthday, but they put my party of 3 in a single king room without telling us at the front desk. When we got to our room, I called to notify them of the mix up, but all the 2 queen rooms were already filled. What is the point of making a reservation in advance and getting a confirmation if it would not be fulfilled? My diabetic grandmother had not had dinner after our 5 hour flight, but they kept us waiting for next steps in the wrong room for a half hour before we couldn't stand it anymore and went down to the lobby to resolve the situation. Instead of upgrading us to a suite or a nicer view with 2 Queens, they shoved us in a room similar to a Bunker. The "window" was a 2x10 ft slot at the top of the wall, looking out to some vents. By that time, it was around midnight Hawaiian time, 3am California time, so we were honestly too tired to go back and argue. They offered to waive our resort fees, which amounted to about $140 as "consolation." Honestly, I think the difference in pricing that between the room they placed us in the first night and our actual reserved room was more than $140. I don't even know who would ever stay in that Bunker room, as they only offer "partial views" and above on the reservation site.

    The diamond head ocean view is gorgeous. Lobby and pool area are also very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Generally comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The high winds outside could be heard through the windows. They made a loud whistling sound throughout the night that made it difficult to sleep. There was an unexplained fire alarm our first night and another during the day a couple of days later.

    Turn around service was great. very friendly and informative staff. nice atmosphere at pool and O bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel but did not feel like a resort given the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction and noise! The resort is right in the heart of Waikiki but every morning was like waking up to being in the middle of the city with lots of loud banging from machinery, beeping from construction vehicles backing up, and traffic. It did not feel like being in a resort in that respect. Also, in the middle of the night, anytime one of the surrounding rooms opened or closed their balcony door, definitely woke up to hear that.

    Proximity to the beach was great, however! There was construction taking place around the hotel so honestly, spending time at the close-by beach wasn't great? Resort was clean and spacious and had lots of nice areas to lounge and relax. Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    We treated ourselves to a 2 night stay after spending most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We treated ourselves to a 2 night stay after spending most our trip exploring the island and staying at a budget friendly place. It turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. It was the most relaxing place to unwind, whether in the room, on the balcony (overlooking the ocean and city), in the lobby, poolside or in the cabana. Beautifully designed rooms with luxury toiletries. Complimentary drink by the hot tub was a nice, theres also live music in the lobby. Beach is at your doorstep, close to transit routes and restaurants and shopping. We were able to check-in early and check out late. We didn't want to leave! Didn't have enough time to enjoy sunset yoga or swim in the infinity pool during the day this trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall, a pleasant three-night stay before we headed to the next island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were sun chairs in the pool that one night we sat on and chatted with other guests. The next day, they told us these were chairs that you needed to reserve and pay for and to move. Bad form for a five-star hotel!

    This newly renovated hotel was a beautiful choice. The only drawback was the tiny bathroom. Otherwise, the hotel itself was lovely, staff was excellent,infinity pool and pool area was attractive. Also, the beds were very comfy. Thank you for a wonderful stay to celebrate our tenth anniversary!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Great bar at the pool, great and clean room, amazing staff. We are sure that we are coming back to this hotel. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Gorgeous spot for a luxury break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great rooms, comfy bed with an awesome beachfront location (just across the road)! The pool and some rooms are further back from the beachfront but you can walk through the building rather than down the roads to the beach. The infinity pool is cool but there is a hot spa right next to it. There is also a restaurant next to the pool are with comfy loungers and staff didnt mind you hanging out there as there was lots of room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Hotel matches the stunning location - worth paying for a ocean front room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The newly renovated hotel is simply incredible! We stayed at the previous Pacific Beach hotel 2 years ago which was nice, but the Alohilani is amazing. We stayed their for our honeymoon and would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this recently renovated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    My only criticism is the size of the bathroom - very small with only enough room for one person.

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this recently renovated resort. The decor is modern yet has a beautiful Hawaiian touch. The pool area is gorgeous and plenty of lounge areas. Great live entertainment two nights a week too. We didn't eat in the restaurant but both the O Bar and the Swell Bar served light meals and we chose to eat breakfast or a light dinner at these as they had a nice selection which was more affordable than the breakfast buffet option (USD 35.00 per person per day). We stayed in a Premium Ocean Front room which had the best views of Waikiki beach and sunsets!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Thought the hotel entrance and facilities were impressive but the rooms did not match the standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms were not to the standard I would have expected. There was water damage on the ceilings, the shower leaked a lot of water onto the bathroom floors, the balconies were small and pokey.

    The pool and outdoor bar area - including the menu was great. The fish tank in the lobby bar was also very beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms were a little on the small side

    Not a front ocean view room but a side view room near front which was just as nice. Hotel was modern , looks like most renovations had been completed , just a little disruption near the entrance but not noisy. Beautiful aquarium in the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No major issues. Half the path by the front entrance was still under construction when we got there, but completed by the time we left. Momosan (casual restaurant) was still not open.

    Excellent location - close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Staff were friendly & helpful. Morimoto Asia restaurant was also very good. The gym/spa is not huge but has a good selection of machines. You can use the studio for floor exercise when it is not used for a class (you need to ask the gym reception to let you in the studio though).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice tidy rooms with excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We drove our hire car to the hotel and found it a little hard to find the entrance. The address listed is for the main street however the driveway is on the side street. Maybe with a little more research i could have found this but i simply put the address into google maps and it didn't come up. The Safe in our room didnt work so i found myself hiding our passports and cash which wasn't ideal. The bed was also very creaky. Every time i rolled over I woke myself up. All up nothing to stop you from staying there though!

    Excellent renovations done to this hotel. Was particularly impressed with the aquarium in the bar and of our rooms views. We had an ocean view with perfect views of the sunset each night. The hotel is a little further down the strip so its a little quieter which is nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    awesome with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing to dislike really.

    they gave us an upgrade and the view was spectacular. the location was close to all the activities and shopping in the area. i'll probably stay here again if i visit Hawaii next year.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Fab family holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds and Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced food and limited food options. Not having room service was disappointing.

    Fabulous location, great pool area. Friendly staff. Loved the view of the beach and mountains from our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable rooms and decent location for beach access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was not very well equipped or experienced. The rooms didn’t have a mini bar or any regular tea facilities.

    The pool was great with views of the beach and comfy loungers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Aloha!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few teething issues, but renovations almost complete. Room wasn't spotless on arrival, but quickly resolved. Can hear TV noise and conversations from next room. No room service.

    Stylish, renovated resort. Great location. Gorgeous pool and outdoor bar on Level 5. We were spoiled with a special gift for our anniversary. Any issues we had were resolved quickly. Attentive, warm, caring staff. Thank you Alohilani Resort 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    overall the stay was nice, for the price we paid per night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were slightly taken aback by the size of the restroom it quite small. The size of the room was normal. My husband and I being from Las Vegas we tend to expect a lot from hotels such as 24hr room service which this property did not have

    I have never slept in a bed so comfortable, when I say my husband and I slept like babies I mean it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    The room itself was nice and the hotel is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls seemed to be really thin so I could hear the person next door talking on the phone. Not cool when you're trying to get some sleep.

    The room itself was nice and the hotel is clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.4
    Soulless hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff who checked us in at the Japanese desk. I have never experienced such an unfriendly reception, especially in Hawaii. She didn’t say welcome or even hello! And no smile!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hotel with very friendly staff and amazing facilities. Enjoyed our time there and the best part is the location. Heart of Waikiki close to all shops and attractions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended, I hope I can come back one day soon .😀
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing the bed and the pillows were to soft So I purchased pillows for our 2 week stay .

    Lord the place overall , a fantastic pool area loved the music , being out side watching the amazing sunsets truly spectacular stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Extremely comfortable and treated so well by the staff on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Premier Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisy fellow guests too late into the night. This needs to be better monitored and discouraged.

    Excellent Bed. Terrific daily cleaning and room service.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse 'Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: