Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ambassador Chicago 4 stars

1301 North State Parkway, Chicago, 60610, USA

#117 of 154 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    Main floor amenities were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated and in need of repairs. Room heater was non functional. Repairs to wall and shower fixture needed. For the price I expected more. $6 for bottle of water in room Pillows not supportive. Closet bigger than bathroom

    Main floor amenities were good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent would recommend
    • Group
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was on the expensive side. Bit probably worth it. Was waiting a number of hours to have a bed made up, but wasn’t a big deal.

    Great location. Nice room. Great bar and restaurant. Close to the beach

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    4.6
    Doesn’t live up to its appearence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not communicate prior to arrival, could not locate recieved deliveries and was confused and uninformed. Room was not always cleaned properly, especially the bathroom and beds. When I found a hanger in one of the doors on my floor (a sign of a break-in) they did not respond with any sense of urgency. Items such as water were seriously overpriced (6 dollars for a smal bottle!). Not enough storage room (3 tiny drawers that don’t open properly).

    Location was comfortable, lobby bar was very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Grandeur withotu pretentions. A smaller landmark hotel with a good price & friendly informal staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath tub and bathroom tile was a bit chipped .

    Great history and the staff knew their history and legends: Frank Sinatra, Marilyn Munroe, the secret tunnel etc. Good housekeeping service. Breakfast was good and ample, and fast and elegant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Staff was friendly, the bar and breakfast wee good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner was noisy and ran constantly Finally had to shut if off to get sleep. Mold in the bathroom. The desk chair in the room was not adequate (just a regular dining room type chair) and mold on the ceiling in the bathroom.

    Staff was friendly, the bar and breakfast wee good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker in the room. The room and mini bar was well stocked with alcohol...but no coffee. I like my coffee while getting ready for the day and hated having to walk through the lobby at 6 am to get some

    The staff was excellent. There was a strike of hotel workers and still not a problem at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    It is a beautiful hotel in a safe central and beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our king deluxe room had an adjoining (locked) door so we heard our neighbours conversations through it which was most unpleasant. We complained after 2 disturbed nights and were upgraded to a suite which was quiet and lovely. The bathrooms are tired though and we had issues with the staff waking us to service the room at 8.15 am until we asked them not to. Also on 2 days the fresh towels were not replaced

    It is a beautiful hotel in a safe central and beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend this hotel for its location, nearby restaurants and friendly efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A picket one morning which pointed to the issue of irregular contracts for workers.

    The location was in a lovely suburban area near nice restaurants where you could sit out and eat. The buses to the centre were frequent and the subway was nearby. The staff were extremely helpful and customer-oriented. The rooms were spacious and the bed extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Great days at Oak Street Beach watching volleyball tournament and weekend was improved by CA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little pricey, there was not a room ready but they gave us a $25 bar credit even though we only waited about 15 minutes. That goes a long way!

    Bed was comfortable, place was clean and bright. Location is great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel... close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just had a little problem with charges being applied to our credit card for valet parking when we didn't use that service. However Rachel at front desk was helpful in correcting this issue.

    Location was awesome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While checking in told reception that I will pay cash. They still took money from my visa and now have to wait 30 days before the money is back on my account.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.3
    The location and the porters and bell boys were extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nowhere to put our clothes- no shelves only an overstocked minibar with plenty of merchandise to purchase, but nowhere to put our clothes. The lighting in the room was very dim and the electrical outlets were very inconveniently placed. Service in the breakfast room was extremely slow and food was overpriced for what you got. The $500 incidental charge on each room was steeper than typical and not explicit in the booking. No one seemed to know how to make a decent cup of tea and i ended up getting my own and making it myself.

    The location and the porters and bell boys were extremely friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Everything about the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything about the hotel was great. The friendliness of staff on check-in, the room service staff and the rooms themselves were very clean and spacious. We were lucky enough to have a room facing downtown which gave great views from the window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant and comfortable stay in a very friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym was a little dated and small and could use an update.

    The staff here are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, modern, well maintained and comfortable. Lifts arrive fast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    The best Ambassador Chicago could have
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a breakfast included in the booking options.

    Magnificent hotel in one of the most exclusive, quiet areas of Chicago. Walking distance from Lake Michigan, the "Magnificent Mile" stores and downtown. Subway nearby. Excellent and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay as always at The Ambassador Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A rescued, but not free, parking "package" perhaps charged up front that would ease the high parking fees.

    An old icon in Chicago that continues to be my favorite hotel. Lovely neighborhood, friendly staff and great accommodations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location but avoid if you're a light sleeper
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls were paper thin! There were a number of bachelorette groups staying and unfortunately one group were staying on our floor. They were loud and obnoxious. Reception and security were great and resolved the issue but if you're a light sleeper you may want to give this hotel a miss. We could hear the guest next door on their phone, sounded like they were in our room.

    The room was stylish and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed room service and the one Booth restaurant (although a little on the pricey side). Location was great, in a really nice area. You can walk 20/25 minutes downtown or walk a short distance to the Red Line.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    We’d go back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only restaurant option at hotel was upscale, fancy, expensive.

    Big room, huge tv, comfotable bed, quiet room, luxury sundries, free bikes, wonderful Gold Coast neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, lovely people and fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would only suggest that perhaps a kettle or coffee machine would have been good. Unfortunately if you want either you have to purchase them at the bar - $12 for a pot of tea is far too much. Tea bags and water don’t cost the earth so to have that ability in the room would have been perfect.

    We really enjoyed our 5 nights at the Ambassador. Everyone from Front of House to all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The location is excellent. Literally next to the beach front, perfect for runners & cyclists as it has a wide running path & what looks like a veiled Tom style tilted path for cyclists. You’re also just off of the Main Street where there are some fantastic restaurants. Overall we loved our stay and were quite sad to leave the ambassador and Chicago.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    get coffee!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for a four stay + hotel, i would at least expect a room coffee maker. and the gym was very small - inhabitable.

    the bed was very comfortable, the location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Old school charm meets modern conveniences and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A rooftop pool for those sweltering hot and humid days??

    If you are one that appreciates traditional architecture with a confluence of old school charm and modern conveniences and amenities, you will like this property that harkens back to the jet set days of the 1960s amidst 1920s/1930s Chicago Jazz....AND it's only 3 red line stops from the cathedral that is Wrigley Field!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Super comfy bed, very quiet, lovely lobby and restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk put us in a double when we booked a king but changed it for us no problem after we corrected them. Really wish someone had told us there were bikes you could rent! We found out the morning we were flying out and we could have used them all week.

    Super comfy bed, very quiet, lovely lobby and restaurant, amazing hash brown Benedict breakfast and decent fitness room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We didn't have breakfast st the hotel but did eat locally. Hotel great and within walking distance to everything. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think maybe all hotels in Chicago might charge an exorbitant amount for bottled water, but I still don’t think it is right.

    Great location! Nice neighborhood. Cool lobby and “hang-out” room. Staff couldn’t have been friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Room service = food options as well as the quality of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service = called one night after 11 pm to order a late dinner but I was informed that the kitchen was closed when service is supposed to be available until midnight.

    Room service = food options as well as the quality of the food has drastically improved since the last time I stayed in this property - Two thumps up Late check-out = I was able to get a 5 pm check out for an additional fee - Two thumps up

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    3.8
    Way overpriced. It should cost a fraction of what they charge. We will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was dirty and stained and ripped up in some areas. There wasn’t a coffee pot in the room. The towels were rough and scratchy. The bed and pillows were awful. The whole hotel needs an upgrade.

    The staff was super helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The library bar was being refurbished so was closed, which was a shame. One of the lifts was also being refurbished and the back stairwell s a bit 'rustic'. Although the room was clean the carpet was quite stained.

    Lovely hotel in nice quieter location but just a short walk from shops & restaurants. The lobby area and rooms where very stylish and the staff friendly. Great shower and very comfy bed & bedding!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Perfect location and walkable to everything, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location and walkable to everything, the staff were so helpful and friendly and the room was better then expected, and a very nice cosy lobby to drink at

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Our favourite Chicago hotel ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the history, the location, the well appointed, very well taken care of spacious room and the gracious staff. We plan on staying here any time we come into the city. Thank You ❤️

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel that ticks all boxes. would highly recommend. excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    nothing bad to report

    beautiful hotel. excellent rooms. cleanliness high standard. overall very satisfied with the hotel and customer service was exception before the stay and a during. little note left and gift for birthday which was very touching. very happy to recommend and would not hesitate to stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    I loved my spacious (upgraded at a price) room with its super comfy bedding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is dark, oddly shaped and not very welcoming - I would place the reception in a more receptive location! In process of being renovated which should make the corridors and reception feel less shabby. Gym is ridonkulously small.

    Loved the peaceful location near beautiful homes, the loop, the lake, weekend farmer’s market and high end shops and good selection of restaurants!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Super excellent and worth every minute of stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After learning that its our 1st time in chicago and will be celebrating our anniversary, they upgraded our accomodation and even sent a champagne to celebrate it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    The bar was nice (cocktails, wine, snacks).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Constant loud humming noise, day and night, coming from the inner court. It was okay with earplugs, but, still, they should do something about it.

    The bar was nice (cocktails, wine, snacks).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.8
    Even though the place isn't perfect, I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are noisy - you can hear activity in the halls and the doors closing. Not great if you are a light sleeper. The elevator broke down one morning and I ended up walking down 5 floors. Everything needs a little freshening up.

    The hotel has a cool vibe even though it is an old property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    4.6
    Good weather!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Price was high for very very small room. Morning papers where always gone. Four dollar coffee, really!

    Great location. Elevators are great when they are both working but terrible when one is down.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've stayed here before, under previous management/ownership, and I truly hope this is just a transition period. The bar/restaurant is closed, which I didn't know when booking; one of the elevators trapped some patrons and no one seemed to care; the bartenders are enamored with themselves/unengaged/seem young; my tub wasn't clean; and my breakfast (room service) was totally dreadful--muffin from a grocery store package, eggs that seemed watered down--and clearly didn't come from the pretty tasty selection in the bar/cafe. Parking was $60+. All in all not great, and I was embarrassed by how much I'd raved about this place to my friend, with whom I visited.

    The location is great; near the lake. The beds and pillows are very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    4.6
    proximity to the lakefront trail, free bike rentals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the quality of the renovation is poor: 2-3 star quality for 4+ star prices Pump Room no longer there

    proximity to the lakefront trail, free bike rentals

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When elevator was occupied decided to take the stairs down. They stairs way was extremely smelly and almost seemed to have people living or using them?? Iron boards and garbage.

    Was located in a perfect location close to down town and lots of restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    I would definitely recommend this place we loved it and look forward to our next trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV took some working out And the lighting was flicking on and off but sorted by messing with the bulbs

    Just the style of the place and the setting and location which is just a short walk from the Mag Mile

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    Extra small breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Start Location

    Extra small breakfast. Ny such price will be fair price breakfast free of charge. Hotel old style, nothing special, staré very friendly, atmosphere and location very good. Total = Í recommend for bussiness trip or weekend on two, not family, not children recommendable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Overall the stay is pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is small. Good if more shelves and vent in bathroom would be good to have. Also cottonbuds and cotton squared to be replaced when room is made.

    Room comfy and clean. Location is good and handy to eating places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    I was disappointed because the famous Pump Room was being renovated so it was closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. The thermostat wouldn't cool the room below 80 degrees and I sleep best at 60 degrees. No exhaust fan in the bathroom.

    It was very convenient to cool activities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Location and price were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No top sheet on the bed. Only two towels provided. Room not vacuumed and drinking glasses not replaced daily. No coffee.

    Location and price were awesome. Free upgrade for staying three nights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful memorable trip. We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive but this is the same for all of Chicago. We only needed it for one night before returning the rental car.

    Staff were so friendly. They made our visit very special for us! The location is lovely and nearby restaurants are a nice stroll away. Gold Coast beach is also very close as are the shops

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    Iconic hotel with lots of promise under new managementtt
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facility a little tired. AC didn't work but was fixed promptly. Can't wait for new management to upgrade the facility - hallways need freshening.

    The staff was terrific. Very responsive to my requests. Room service was very good. Iconic hotel in a great location. I used to stay here a lot 15 years ago when it was a corporate approved hotel and loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was served in the bar, which was very depressing in the morning so I had breakfast outside the hotel. Rooms were so small, furnishings haven't been changed in a while it was quite drab but to be fair it was clean. Porters will not help with luggage and were snooty. Overall would not recommend.

    Wonderful location and neighborhood, other than that wouldn't stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Needs to be updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No handicap access. We had to carry the child's stroller up the stairs to the lobby and the restaurant

    Breakfast was very expensive they charged 5 bucks for a banana

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Best value for money I have ever had, lovely spacious bright rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing I didn't like about this hotel, it's brilliant!

    The bed's are amazing and our room was so bright and sunny, this hotel is very swanky, unbelievable value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Great location. Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Could have had coffee maker in room but coffee was available in lounge for a cost.

    Liked that room was large. Miss the old style of the Ambassador East but new style is cool. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    I liked the soft pillows and the beds were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi wasn't very good. We had a construction site just outside of our window and was woken up at 8 am. The noise was incredibly loud and annoying. We complained to reception and we got the option to move to a different room, which we did. But they should not have given us this room in the first place since they knew about the construction noises.

    I liked the soft pillows and the beds were good. The size of the room was good, plenty of space to move around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Styilsh hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Styilsh hotel with friendly staff. Nice bar with great cocktails for predrinks. Location was great for bars and restaurants in the city. We alked everywhere we needed to go.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    A great find hotel off the beaten path with a modern yet sophisticated feel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was a little dirty in the hallway and the bedroom. I didn't feel comfortable walking around in my bare feet because of it.

    The bed was very comfy and we liked the style of the room. Modern and not overly fancy. The big closet was a bonus. We were there very early because of our flight and we were still allowed to check in and go to our room. This was a bonus!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a problem with the air conditioner. It wouldn't turn of or adjust. We reported it twice over a 5 day visit but nothing was done. Our room was not cleaned or made up one of the days. We were delivered towels. Would have been nice to have a coffee maker in the room and a magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Elevators were slow.

    Simple yet comfortable room and bed. The coffee lounge was comfortable and relaxed. Staff all pleasant. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Public Hotel away from hustle of downtown yet close to everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was construction happening outside our window.

    Excellent beds and amenities. I love this hotel and the calm and friendly vibe. The location is unbeatable. Close to everything yet far enough away to be quiet. I love that you can be on the lakeshore path within just a few minutes walking. Walk to shops and restaurants on Rush/Wells but retreat to a quiet place at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Extra spacious rooms and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extra spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Gold Coast is an amazing area to stay in, central but residential. Also greater value for money than down the road in the Mag Mile area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.8
    Doesn't look like its pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small, smelled like bleach, but wasn't clean. The chair, bed, and carpet were full of stains.

    The lounge and restaurant were chic and nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Super service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I asked questions through booking.com I got most of the time no reply.

    Our/your 11 guests got towels for the beach in their rooms when we asked for it. It was decorated very very nice! We are very thankful for this help! The employees were very friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.7
    Would not book at this hotel again. Staff was pleasant.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel daily clean up was not good. Bathtub was not clean every day, no paper toilet left, pillows were not good at all, sheets were not changed out every day as it should have been. Back of bed was not clean at all, food was over price and no taste. Not even a complimentary coffee in the mornings. It was not worth the price we paid although we booked on a special, I'm so glad because I would have made big mistake if we booked full price.

    The location was great nearby all restaurants and shopping, and places to visit. But traffic was a nightmare.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    You should stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was very expensive so we found somewhere else to park.

    The hotel staff was very friendly, the hotel was in a great location and very reasonably priced. The bed was comfortable and the room had everything you would need but with a minimalist style. It was a great place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Would Definitely Stay Here Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted to take the bed home, especially the pillows and comforter.The neighborhood was quiet and quaint.The hotel was a couple of blocks from the lake and within walking distance of Michigan Ave. Shopping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a bit disappointing that there weren't any blackout curtains in my room. I think they would be nice to have.

    Such a beautiful hotel, great location, fantastic staff. Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Good but not great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room amenities were lacking. For the price point at around $250 a night for the most basic room I'd expect to have things like robes & slippers available. As well as perhaps a coffee/tea machine. Room was lacking little details and therefore didn't look the same as the pictures. Things like fireplace were photoshopped in (I also spent time at the elizabeth taylor suite) and props were staged to make the basic room look better in pictures. Those little details make a big difference in creating an ambiance for guests.

    Mainly the aesthetic of the hotel itself

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    worse experience Ever:
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The check in was horrible. I have requested for early check In but they have not even given me room on check in time and keep on saying that room is not ready. Then they have given me other room which worth less then the room I booked. On site it is written that they might need credit card for booking which is a standard statement for all bookings around the globe but the fact is they don't allow check in with out credit card so it must be written that Credit card is Mandatory. I am a frequent visitor around the globe but this never happened with me any where else as I mostly carry cash and pay through cash. I experienced a lot of trouble due to this.

    Rooms and wifi are good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.0
    Don't waste your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel arranged to have work done to the facade starting at EIGHT IN THE MORNING. I was awoken by a worker literally right outside my window jack hammering the facade 2/4 mornings of my visit. It would have been more weather permitting. I was horrified and suggested that this type of work be scheduled to start at 10 or later- they did not care. Clearly guest satisfaction and experience is not a top priority for them, which at this price point is not acceptable. To top it all off the thermostat in my room didn't work, I was woken up by housekeeping before 9am, and they returned around 9:30a and simply entered my room. Thank god the latch was on the door. So invasive!

    Common area of the hotel are gorgeous and inviting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.0
    Really nice staff, but I wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel just isn't as well maintained as it should be. And it's not inexpensive. There was, for example, slow drainage in the bathtub that left a ring. And the bathtub hadn't been cleaned properly so the ring was still visible. The fitness room is poorly equipped and in the basement. Clearly this used to be a really nice place, but now it's dated and needs some sprucing up and additional attention to detail.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Can't wait to stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This will seem curmudgeonly, but I miss the artwork and photos on the walls, the piano in the Pump Room Bar, the separation of the Pump Room from the lobby by a wall partition (it's REALLY loud in the evening), and, most of all, the old front desk (you can still see it in Hitchcock's "North by Northwest"). Also, the bed was perfect for my husband, but a little too firm for my taste.

    We have loved this hotel for 25 years. When it was Omni Ambassador I stayed here with my parents and son. When my husband and I married this was our honeymoon hotel. We came here for the sad occasion of burying my parents. We have returned now that it is PUBLIC Chicago and are pleased with the room renovations. The neighborhood is fantastic. Smack in the middle of the Gold Coast which means you can walk everywhere. Walk to the lake, walk to great restaurants (our closest favorite is Bistro Zinc - go there for a delicious brunch!), walk to the zoo in Lincoln Park, walk to Second City, and, if you love walking as much as we do, walk to the river! The L stops at Division and Clark - about 3 blocks away. A few blocks up Goethe there is a public bike rack, so, technically, you could get a bike there, ride around and return to the hotel later in the day. It's a nice system (we have it in SF, too, but too many darned hills here!) Also, the bus to Wrigley Field stops on N. Clark. Excellent. The staff is perfection. At the front desk Thomas made us feel welcome and accommodated our very early check-in. We had breakfast once in the new breakfast area (in the lounge) which was lovely. It's nice to be greeted each time with a huge smile and a "how is your day going/nice to see you again" from the lobby staff. All requests are handled seamlessly. Impressive. We love the architecture close by and the view from our room was like a postcard! I highly recommend this location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    Reception extremely understaffed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception extremely understaffed. Had to wait at least 10 minutes every time I had a question for them. And receptionists didn't have a clue what they were doing there. I guess too much stress for them. Booked 3 nights and on the second day I was told to leave by 5 pm or they will charge me for an additional day. Forwarded them my prepaid booking for 3 nights and left. Next day received an email apologizing for the mistake. Hope to get a refund. Their booking system is a mess.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Weekend Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a puddle outside of the bathroom after we used the shower. Plumbing issues? The building is quite old. Also, the barback in the hotel bar was kind of rude.

    The vast majority of the staff was great, and the building was very pretty. The bed was very comfortable, and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Amazing quite stay in the Gold Coast of Chicago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was firm, but the linens made up for it. The toiletries they provided aren't the best choice. There was very loud construction on our side of the building during just the weekdays. Thought the hotel did warn us and told us we could have chosen a different room at check in, we just wanted to get into a room earlier so we didn't mind. It didn't bother us, if we slept longer it most likely would have. For warmer months wish it had a roof top deck or pool. Honestly it was a great hotel. That is just me going a bit more into detail!

    Loved staying at the Public Chicago! Great quaint little hotel. Situated in a beautiful quite neighborhood in the gold coast. Near the lake and walking distance to a favorite cafe of ours "3 Arts Cafe" in the Restoration Hardware. Linens were comfortable, room was comfortable, lobby area was amazing! Coffee in the morning by the fire was incredible. We will definitely return and stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful older hotel. They do the core things right- bed, showers, fixtures , design. Can't say enough about this place. 5 min walk to the lake. In a wonderful area of the city Felt very safe.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Not saying I wouldn't stay there again, but ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The desk staff was friendly, but didn't seem to be all that competent. A friend had delivered balloons in the morning to be put into our room for a surprise - they weren't there when we checked in. Turns out they (or we?) were put in the wrong room - sort of ruined the surprise and certainly put my friend in a crabby mood since she had to go track them down. In addition, we placed our room service tag on our door at around 11 p.m. (the tag said it could be placed there as late as 3 a.m.), asking for coffee to be delivered between 9-10 a.m. It never came, so I called and cancelled the order. When we left the room, the tag was still on the door. Not all that egregious, but for the money - and considering it's on Chicago's Gold Coast - it should have been exemplary, and it wasn't.

    The room was very clean, but for a glass in the bathroom that still had toothpaste on the rim.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Superb service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived in Chicago but my suitcase didn't. The reception team - particularly Travis - made me feel welcome and told to rest whilst they would contact the airport and monitor the situation. I also got an upgrade. It was a spectacular display of professionalism and true customer care. Amazing. Room was superb, bar area and service a delight, and the minimal breakfast was served with style and no fuss. I truly loved this hotel - one night is not enough!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    Amazing value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not soundproof, locations near elevators can be noisy.

    Very stylish, love the modern decor in this historical building. Rooms are simple, clean. The pumproom restaurant is exquisite. Great bar for some nightcap.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    i'll probably stay there again. But definitely get coffee someplace else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They used to have free coffee for guests which was nice. When I stay at the W or places like that, it's a nice perk. Now it's $3.50 for an average tasting coffee. Not cool. Also, my heating unit in my room wasn't working so it was really cold

    Good room size, friendly staff, stylish hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.9
    Staff is efficient
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Loft
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Room service needs to be upgraded No robe in bathroom Water not receding in tub or sink in bathroom

    Staff is efficient Location Bed very confortable

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: