Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van Ness Inn 2 stars

2850 Van Ness Avenue, Polk Gulch, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#157 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1670 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is ok now but look for alot of road construction right at the entrance in july 2018, as I post this in june they wre tearing up the van ness two blocks away

    Excelent value location 4 blocks from the action many small places to eat nearby easy to find when you drive into town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast selection (croissants, cupcakes, fruit, fresh juice, coffee). Huge comfy bed, clean bathroom, cable TV (with sports channels). There is a bus stop right outside making it very easy to get around the city. Cheaper than most hotels of this quality in San fran, We would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heating/cooling system is old and not very comfortable. It smells when turned on and it makes the air either too hot and dry or too chilly when turned off. The price is over the top, but I gues it's the way it is in San Francisco

    The room was clean and pretty spacious nice bedsheets and nice bathroom with a big shower. There is TV in one of the two rooms. The location is great, very close to Ghirardelli Plaza and 10/15 mins walk to Fisherman's warf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent motel in an excellent location. Would return tomorrow if I could. Loved San Fran and this motel was a great place to use as a base to explore. Local bus services stopped on the corner outside, cafe and food shop opposite. 10 mins walk to fisherman’s wharf. Plenty of parking. Overall pretty good place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed there several times and will stay again. It is very convenient for travelers with car as it has good parking and it is in close vicinity of the walking area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The looks of the free breakfast was very small.

    The bed was pretty good, although the fitted sheet came off easily and the blankets were not very soft.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect walk to Fisherman's wharf and trolleys restaurants ect. Super clean and free parking . The other hotel charged for parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bed. I booked for two. bed assignment loophole not apparent in H.com booking process. Should have been apparent up front. Caveat emptor, caveat emptor. I will not use H.com. Again. Other choices. Need to double park. A new travel experience.

    Proximity to bay tour piers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door didn't closed properly therefore it caused a flood in the washroom, also the coat rack is over the table. The bedsheet isn't completely clean. The parking lot was full. You can hear people walking that stayed above you.

    Nothing much we like about this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in bathroom and dressing area went on & off automatically so when you got up in the middle of the night all lights when on.

    Close to everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt uncomfortable and watched closely by staff..... The bed was to firm. Had to leave car keys with office staff, cause parking was only tandem for free. Keys were not in a locked location and office was often unattended. The continental breakfast was ok...... not much for choice though.

    It was centrally located for the things we wanted to do there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the shady scam like business model of extra charging tenants for things that did not happen.

    I did not like the morning staff. The brother of the manager in the mornings accused my of driving two vehicles and tried to charge me extra because somebody else parked an unauthorized car on the hotel property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all its not INN it is MOTEL. Booking .com is misleading. No customer service, dirty, smelling, sticky carpet, people are smoking all over the place. took for 2 nights and full Payment was taken while check in only, we want to leave next day they did not refund any thing like use it or loose it.

    Nothing Good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very run down, mold in bathroom, shower door did not close so water all over floor when we showered, had to leave keys with staff to our vehicle as there was not enough room to park and when we wanted to leave at 5am there was a car parked behind us and we had to wait for the staff to find the keys to move that persons car, the chain on the door was broken off so that didn't give us reasuarance that the room was safe, their "continental breakfast" was one store bought container of day old mini muffins...would not stay here again... find someplace else and was way overpriced... a rip off for sure!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pressure in the shower was poor. Bit noisey but it is on one of the main roads!

    Really good location on Van Ness, short walk to fisherman’s wharf. Staff were friendly, room was spacious and while it’s old it has been kept really well. Bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Night staff, the guy was neither friendly nor exactly honest as it appeared later. Breakfeast was just croissants and coffe/tea at the reception.

    Good location, free parking for guests, rooms were ok, many attractions and eating places were at walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and tight. Breakfast was so so. Could walk to Lombard Street. Free parking was a BIG plus. Parked the car, got on the bus and off we went.

    Close to bus line and cable cars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking. 30min walk to Pier 39.

    I knew that is their trick. Low price = the worst room and worst service. The room is in corner of the street, very noise over whole night. Bus stop is next to the window. I ordered a king-bed room, they gave me a queen-bed. But there are other rooms available, but they asked for more money to change room. The breakfast: ugly coffee, a box of croissant, a box of mini cupcake, a bunch of banana. That is it. Only two chairs in the front counter room, even without a table for you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite small. A lot of noise can be heard from the street and other rooms. Could use some some work on the rooms - door chain was broken, aircon look like it exploded though it was working.

    Good location, good wifi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ended at 9:00 a.m., but it was just coffee, tea, juice, croissants and mini muffins so if you missed it, you didn’t miss much. Also no where to eat it as there was only one chair in the room and it wouldn’t fit by the small table.

    Very convenient location— we walked everywhere. The room was a bit small with the king size bed, but the bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. Refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker were a bonus. Only negative, there was only one straight back chair in the room. It is a great place to sleep and shower in the morning before you head out for the day but not a great place to spend much time hanging out during the day or in the evening, although it did have a nice flat screen TV you could watch from the bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like that there was no microwave to warm up leftovers. Also, we didn't like that the shower floor didn't have a barrier on the floor and was the same level as the floor of the remainder bathroom. This caused the shower water to spread all over the bathroom floor and when through wall into the carpet. We did mention this to the hotel so I hope they take care of this problem.

    We liked that the there was on-site parking even after we checked out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    i got injured in the room took the object to the front desk they were rude. i left my name n number so i can talk to the manager no answer since april 12th 2018 now its April 24 and still no call or concern from that hotel. i will make sure all friends n family never stay there and i will spread the word if i don't hear from manager.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really poor (you have to take it at the reception desk and bring it to your room) Noisy

    Location to visit SF and close to public transportation The best you can expect for this price in SF

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are a bit stiff and lumpy and the electrical outlets were loose.

    The location of the property is good. It was not noisy and staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated, but the location and parking makes up for it

    Location was great., walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and other attractions..The room was neat and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was ok but VERY EPENSIVE for the facilites that we paid for. For $250 a night and a free breakfast?? with just a few cold croissants and mini muffins but that is it.... Not anything to feed teenagers with a healthy appetite. It did have free parking but double parked meaning you have to leave your keys and move cars around.

    This hotel is in a great location to walk to many tourist attractions like the Fisherman's Wharf and Lombard Street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelling of cigarettes and the bed clothes were a bit too worn out. The room is big and comfortable, but there are small details that need care, such as ensuring a good and nice smell in the room and bed sheet.

    The location is awesome! The room had a clean bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free breakfast was really not a breakfast as I know it, thank god there were two breakfast places right across the street, especially Chestnut diner!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically had no wi-fi, would connect and lost internet half way through loading a web page, was better to go to Denny’s to get wi-fi to search places to go during the day

    The king size bed was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning personal were not pay attention to clean the bathroom, we were asking for more tissue, the towels are very old . the second day of our stay they did not make the bed.

    I like the location the hotel has a potential for people to stay but need more security , friendly receptionist, the balconies are old needs to care and attention we were afraid that fall down. we did not find a closet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staircase to the second floor was a nasty storage room full of trash. I thought I was in the wrong place at first because there was random junk everyone. Very dirty external place not worth $277!

    Great location, nice room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark, no luggage rack since the room was small, no instructions for tv remote or anything around the motel, toilet seat loose even after maintenance called, had to ask for wash clothes everyday of our stay

    Close to where we wanted to be

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi only worked half of the time, the was a mold-like substance in the shower, the top sheet on the bed had black marks on it and was never washed while we were there, the continental breakfast consisted of mini muffins and croissants.

    The bed was really comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff was horrible i booked he was so it after e little gave a hard abd ultimately refused to let us stay due to me confronting about his rudeness asked to talk to manager and or owner and refused. Souldn't be waste of my time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guy at desk was a bit glum. Seems incapable of a smile and I saw him interact with several people. To be clear though he was not rude.

    Every thing in the room was very clean. And the property is quiet and without vagrants, which in San Francisco is no small feat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though breakfast was included in the price, there was practically nothing apart from coffee and a box of croissants Double parking - you will most likely need to leave your car keys at the front office if you're coming in late.

    Location was excellent - the pier was within a walking distance; Rooms were nice and clean Great value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room cold on arrival, heater was very noisy. There were two different bed options: 1 double bed and 1 extra-large double bed. I wrote in the comments while booking that I needed 1 extra-large double bed because I travel with my two sons 13 and 10 years old, and that we would be 3 persons and that we'll fit just fine the large bed, though it said max 2 people in the description. No reply. I had double checked that the price stated was per room and not per person. On arrival (after a 12 hour flight without sleeping, and a long, dark, rainy and stressful drive in a rental car from Oakland Airport) I was told that they don't have an option of the extra-large double beds at all (!) and that I would have to pay extra to get a room with two double beds because we were 3 persons. I was in no condition to argue with them at that moment.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was in the room, I wish they had in bathroom one more, and there was enough space for it.

    We booked it at the same evening with big discount. We had 2 big beds devided by wall, so it was like in separate rooms. No space for breakfast in lobby, but they offer to take food in room where 2 tables, comfortable to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so clean as I saw trash in my room, overall quality was not great for amount of money/price, I didn’t find parking and had to double park and had to give my car key to staff for possible moving the car. Breakfast was pathetic, offered croissants that had no taste and mini muffins that I didn’t try. People from both sides made noises and was able to sleep because I took sleeping pills

    Staff (niel) was curious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was there because of work, Friday was cancel because of rain (construction work). When I call hotel and see if I could get credit pr reimbursed for 1 day of my reservation, they told me to call booking,com and they would be able to help me. I got in touch with booking.com and told me same thing, you could not do anything that I needed to call hotel, I had made reservations for 2 days (I started work on Wednesday). So, company/hotel got $85 for nothing. Not fair and/or professional way of handling situations like this!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even with low expectations we've got disappointed. Heater broken.. low maintenance in a dated room. Sink flooded and damaged my phone which was there because it was the only energy point. Coffee machine also broken. Bed is not comfortable ... so, we went there just to rest and sleep... after all we didn't sleep well!

    Breakfast is ok for a motel. Location, walking distance to port.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection was poor, breakfast contains stale croissants and muffins. Room was not 100% clean - carpet was dirty and there were hair in a shower. Showe door did not close all the way so the water was everywhere.

    Nice location, close to the ocean, bus stop that takes you to the Golden Gate Bridge is a few meters away. We got a good deal when booking a room but we did not know what kind of room will be asigned to us - we ended up with a room with two bedrooms even though there was two of us so we had a lot of space. It was better than I expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room window shades let light in We couldn’t sleep well because people passing by the room can see inside there’s no privacy. Shades don’t fully close the floor carpet smells did not look so clean there was mold inside the bathroom fan vent The room air was stale inside without fresh air. Owner could make the room smell fresher and clean for visitors spending time the morning breakfast is not good it sucks big time but you can go across the street buy something.

    1. Location, 2. Price, 3. Safe and Secure 4. Awesome Muni bus transportation 5. Quite at night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater was broken and made a lot of noise. The walls were too thin and we could hear the people next door snoring at night. The lock on the door worked after using the key at least 5 times. The parking spots are not enough for all the cars. We had to sneak the car into a narrow spot (not a parking space) next to the cleaning closet. I guess I shouldn’t complain given that it was free. The room was however clean.

    Location was excellent. Free parking. Cost comparable to other places in the same area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was expensive for what you get. I did not like that the breakfast was very small and not filling. The walls are very thin so you can hear people next door or outside very easily. They did not give us enough towels for the amount of people in the reservation.

    The location was within walking distance from the Fisherman's Wharf. The staff responds to issues in a timely manner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn’t have milk for children. Lobby not very practical especially when busy for breakfast

    Location location location! Easy to take the bus or cable car.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive. When we were leaving at 5:30 we had to wake the receptionist up because our car was blocked by other guest's cars. What if the receptionist would have slept harder? They should not allow to block cars each other. First come first served.

    Location is perfect. Fisherman Wharf is about 20 minutes on foot. Room was big and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was woken up twice in the night with drunks trying to get into my room. Not hotels fault but made for a poor nights sleep. A little seedy but ok value for the money.

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room door did not fully seal closed. Very noisy. Bathroom shower door didn't close, thus water all over. Stains on sheets and side table.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot,lot of humidity,slow wifi,breakfeasts are more of a joke.

    Good for SF on budget,great location for exploring.Comfy beds,clean room,no problems with staff plus free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. One of the cheaper hotels in San Francisco, but offers much.

    This is rather a motel than a hotel, but the rooms are very clean and spacious. The location is actually very good, close to the water. Very safe and a short walk to pier 39 and a bit of a longer walk to the San Francisco bridge. Competitive prices. And free parking. Exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is run down and is too expensive for what it is. The room is old and the furniture is outdated. There was a musty odour when you walked into the room. San Francisco accommodation is very expensive and is of low standard. This hotel needs a little makeover.

    Locaction and staff were the only good things about this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower booth was very clean, and I guess they removated it, but the shower booth door wasn’t completely closed. Water came out from the bathroom to the floor of the room.

    The room is very clean, and the location is good. (Near Fishermen’s warf and comfortable to use public transportation)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The color of the motel is a garage grey which made it look really old and run down. The rooms needs some TLC. I stayed in a handicapped unit and all the grout was coming up, Microwave handle broken, coffee maker was dirty.Burn hole in our sheets, bathroom rod moldy. I had hope for more storage options, luggage rack. In the bathroom no mirrors or shelving for personal items. Extremely noisy location at all times of night Sensitive sleepers beware.

    The location is ideal for commuting. Good value in comparison to how pricey SF is. The breakfast was very minimal but enough to get your day started. A cup of Joe, Coffee crossiant and banana. More of a pick up and go. Which was encouraged because the office is very small. Staff was helpful and responsive. The rooms include a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Convenient to have.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the rooms very much. The first one assigned to us had a dirty bed cover, the refrigerator door came off hinges, (photo attached), was no longer attached, and the microwave was dirty (photo attached). The second room we went to also had a dirty bed cover and the microwave was dirty and did not work properly. You had to manually stop the timer on the microwave. The bathroom door didn't close, the top hinge was not attached together well so you had to lift the door everytime you had to shut it (photo attached), it was annoying. The bathroom ceiling had some mold. (Photo attached). Me and my best friend also believed that someone came into our room when we were out during the day and was not notified about it. Made us feel uncomfortable after that but decided to stay and not lose our $240 room for 2 nights, which is, I believe overcharged, all things considered. The walls between the rooms were so thin, you can hear the full coversations of people next door, the music and the slamming of doors were ridiculously loud. Stomping of feet, people laughing, it was all too much! The breakfast they "supposedly" have is not breakfast. Just coffee, bananas, lil one bite muffins and a hard baby croissant. It was disappointing. Also, the parking condition, its set up where two cars are parked to one stall front to back, so if the other parking spaces are taken up, you have to leave your key with the counter person if the people parked in front of you needs to leave, the counter person will move your car for you to allow the others to leave.

    I liked that it was close to where I needed to be. It was also close to a few lil sandwich shops and coffee shops, plus a liquor store and close to fisherman's wharf. It was walking distance away. Customer service was ok, there's room for improvements.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear EVERYTHING! People walking above you or on your floor, neighbors knocking to get in their room, everything echoes due to the build of the structure. The refrigerator in our room clicked all night so that kept us up. Only one ice machine which was located on the complete other side of the hotel and downstairs by the office. Same as the elevator to take down luggage. It’s not that big of a deal just a pain in the middle of the night. Room was ok some noticeable usage which is typical (wear and tear)

    Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. It only took us about 15-20 minutes to reach the wharf/ pier 39 so that was great! Tons of near by shopping to do down there and eating! It was very easy to locate everything. Parking was free so that is always a bonus! And the hotels restroom inside our room was nice! The shower was a great size but the door didn’t shut all the way so there was water everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could have left my car a couple hours after check-out, but I understand there are practical restrictions :) Door was missing the extra bolt typical in hotels. Parking area and area near stairs are like under construction/dusty (hint: it is not, I was there last year, and it was the same). Some painting and cleaning would make it beautiful.

    The outside is unassuming, but the inside of our room was really good - probably recently renovated or something. Same for the bathroom. Very pleasantly surprised! Liked the free parking, especially in a city like San Fransisco. Location is great, walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Black mold—they need more ventilation in bathroom. Rooms are dimly lit. Pretty noisy as this is on a main street. Staff was not very friendly.

    Location is great. Very safe, beautiful neighborhood in the Marina, close to public transportation, walkable to sites. The free parking is a HUGE plus as SF parking is difficult, expensive, and not always secure on the street. Price was fair for what was provided. Bed was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom was updated and space was clean. It's great for a short stay, a decent place to sleep with a nice bed, and good location with free, secure parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY outdated room and fixtures. There were several holes in the walls stuffed with pieces of tissues. I took them out to see if there was anything that wasn’t supposed to be there, but luckily there was none. Some electrical outlets were very loose and exposed. The toilet water in the tank was not filling up the entire way, so the toilet was not flushing at full capacity. This was an easy fix by filling up the tank wth a little more water, but a hotel guest should not be having to do these kind of things.

    Convenient location, parking area is brightly lit. Close to Fisherman’s Wharf, Fort Mason, and Ghirardelli Square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The glass in my foot told me they do not vacuum floors between customers. The stench from the towel underneath soap & shampoo told me they do not change all towels between customers. The screen-less window told me their care for security is not high on the priority list.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heater option on air conditioner didn't work - they gave us a portable heater. Breakfast is basically a croissant + coffee + orange juice (you have to take it up to your room)

    Location is great. 10 mins walking from Fishermans Wharf.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really dirty! We even found a phone in the room, next to the bed, that belonged to previous guests, and that the cleaning staff didn’t find! Breakfast really scarce, no tea in the room, only coffee.

    Great location; very nice and helpful guy at reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing that I did not like. Everything was great!

    Great experience and was very accommodating during our stay. We would leave for activities and come back to a well made and comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is a joke. Small table next to reception desk, and there are bananas, some small croissants, some small cakes, there is coffee/tea machine and that's it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is tiny and you can’t even eat inside, you have to take your food in your bedroom. The personnel is careless.

    The only good thing was the position

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy and the bed was a l;little hard

    I liked that the hotel was close to the Fishermans Wharf and 10 minutes by car to the golden gate bridge welcome center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic value for the money. When searching for the cheapest hotels, the concern is that you will wind up with a dirty hotel room that will give you some kind of disease by staying there. This place is very clean, has cable tv, and a great location near the pier.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location with many bus lines in front Free parking, fisherman's wharf at walking distance. Only negative point: insufficient lighting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy (traffic - but then it is on a busy road), constantly dripping shower which also leaked across bathroom floor - thankfully shower mat soaked it up!)

    Close to Fisherman's Wharf, on Muni bus route, has parking (tho may have to double park and leave keys at reception), lift if you don't want to climb stairs!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower leaked all over the place due to design.

    Location. Location. Location. two bus stops across the street. 3 coffee shops across the street. A couple blocks from the Warf. The fridge and micro allows you to save money on eating out. Pack lunches. And reheat left overs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. Not city noise, but ...this is a “motor inn” (rare in a big city) with only 2 floors, directly above the parking. We could hear people getting in and out of their cars below us all night long, and the family upstairs seemed to be moving furniture around! This seems to be a place where people stay a single night or two, only to hit the road early in the morning. But we knew that going in - we chose it for the price ( the cheapest available during Fleet Week).

    Free parking!!! Location is very good, between Ghirardelli and Marina Green. Room was nicely decorated, with a large table/desk, microwave & fridge. 2 coffee shops across the street!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just regular motel. Nothing really bad and nothing really great. The parking is free but really tight, so, sometimes you need to leave yours car key at the reception. The only one major complain is about a breakfast. It is really limited and lasts very fast: at 8-30am you might find just empty plates and bottles.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a usual motel, but it was the most expensive accommodation in my west coast trip. I expected better rooms for the price, but it is SF.

    Excellent location. Parking. Escalator.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, no breakfast, sleezy motel. I don't know why they write breakfast for junk only until 9 and coffee from thermos and no milk...

    It was cheap, the parking was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A motel shouldn't be called an Inn or a hotel. Hair dryer didn't work. The bathroom flooded with every shower. The ironing board was so gross I wouldn't use it on any shirt worth ironing. And lights with sensors shouldn't be used for normal rooms: The light in the bathroom went out after a few minutes shower. Shampooing in the dark, awesome.

    Fun location. Neighborhood is a little bit sketchy, but there are nice attractions nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van Ness Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: