Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of American Inn of Bethesda 3 stars

8130 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814, USA

#9 of 10 hotels in Bethesda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 576 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Good option in Bethesda
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage doesn’t accommodate all the guests, first come first served. There was food stuck in the sink, though they came to clean it, but maybe they could have cleaned it up before we got the room.

    The localization: it is at Wisconsin Avenue, near to the downtown Bethesda and a few miles from DC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great place for short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. 😋

    We’ve been here many times. Very wonderful, kind, helpful staff for handicapped people. They literally treat you like returning family. “Welcome Back.” The housekeeper even remembered how I like my bed made. Excellent handicapped room. Help in Breakfast Room available. Nice outdoor pool. Renovated Lobby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    It is a great location right next to the Hotel is a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking spaces first come basic, you can park across the street in a meter parking lot, but free on Sat and Sun. They really do not have enough parking in front of the hotel.

    It is a great location right next to the Hotel is a great Mexican Restaurant great food and drinks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.5
    Couldn’t get out of there fast enough. Do NOT stay here. Gross.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. And I’ve rated it Poor on all questions but the score is coming out 2.5. It should be ZERO.

    Nothing. The photos lie. The reality is dark, dank, moldy, smelly, dirty, and overall yuck.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Rooms and property are good but it was so hot in the property entrance corridor area
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking not sufficient. I was told parking is free when I booked the rooms but when I get there no room for parking and they show me the meter parking. They should inform me earlier about the meter parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Will stay again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool hours, parking. Beware when street parking , make sure you read well the signs. My car was towed :/ and that goes for the entire area. They are very strict about parking restrictions. We found out there was a public parking close by.

    The place was nice, very close to Everything. Breakfast was nice, staff was kind. Best of all, they gave me an accessible room for my son which was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    The rooms were clean and spacious, the free hot breakfast was good and staff were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a sewer type smell in the old part of the hotel at certain times of the day.

    Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient if not chain hotel quality. Perfect for short stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biggest selling point is proximity to NIH and Walter Reed campus, with shuttle service to NIH. The South Tower harkens back to when it must have been a motel: there are stairs and very dated but neither detract much. Parking is a bit tight. Included breakfast is hot: cheese omelets, sausage, home fries from warming trays. Full selection of pastry, muffins, cereal. Also a make your own waffle station. Juice, standard coffee. In room coffee maker and mini fridge. LOTS of food choices on Cordell Ave. just across the street: wide range of cuisines in the middle range of price: very little for casual family dining. Rate is a bit pricy compared to more up to date in the neighborhood but the north end of Bethesda is rapidly being redeveloped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff is really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is really helpful. Our toilet was not working, and we are there as a family, even the hotel is fully booked, the manager accommodated us with great effort, really appreciated!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I read all the reviews and told myself see it for yourself. When we went up to our room the hall way had a strong odor. I can't describe it but it wasn't in my room and they explain some remodeling was being done. Ok I let it go. Then we went down to the pool and there was a strong sewage smell. Ok we just got in I let it go. The next day that sewage smell was in our room and it was bad. It was my daughters birthday so we had plans to go out so we left hoping that smell was gone. We got back the smell was gone until am hour later it came back we were up all night trying to deal with the smell. They had no more rooms available. The next day we moved rooms and it was not what I wanted to do. Especially because I was on VACATION! The pool was nice but again the area around needed to be clean. I tried to speak to management and she really didn't care. The cost and what they say on their website don't match up. It could be a great place to stay but they need to clean and update. The staff is wonderful but management needs to start caring too.

    The staff was great. Most of them were very friendly. Breakfast was good if the restaurant didn't smell like sewage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in great location. Friendly staff. Room very clean, comfortable beds, loads of TV channels, bathroom clean, nice amenities. Great value for the money. Walked around the corner to terrific Italian restaurant. Perfect one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    It was just what we needed: clean, comfortable and convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is pretty awful, but not a deal breaker. The other guests were rather loud, but oddly enough, only from inside the bathroom.

    The location was PERFECT! The Staff was great! The price was right! I'll definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    The location of this hotel is perfect for being right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast had variety, but the quality was somewhat lacking. The fresh fruit and the waffles were nice. It would have been great to have fresh eggs rather than packaged hard boiled ones and pre-made packaged omelets.

    The location of this hotel is perfect for being right in the midst of Bethesda. The beds were great to sleep on and the maid service was super. The small touches within the hotel were nice, i.e. the bathroom products, computer in the lounge, free coffee, and the USA Today newspaper. Unfortunately, this hotel needs a lot of love and a renovation. With some renovations, this hotel would be a super place to return to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    The continental breakfast included a broad selection of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The continental breakfast included a broad selection of items (yoghurt, granola, berries, waffles, eggs, omelet and toast) Very nice, small pool area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can’t control your own air, it got so hot in room they gave me a fan😩, the rooms are so small reminds of a n.y city room. An the breakfast is 🤢the place wasn’t even that clean. Waste of money. Only reason I stayed , is we had tickets 2 a show I really wanted too see.

    Area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Short, but necessary. No view, but we are not city people.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise levels from room to room and from street were loud. Room was clean, however frig seemed lopsided.

    Afternoon staff was very friendly and helpful, but really did not feel same for morning staff. Felt hurried, unwelcome, and unsafe, after checking-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed for the money we paid.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't use the pool, because there was no lifeguard. If you are going to have an aminity like a pool then paying guest should be able to use it. Since we were traveling with children, this was one of the main reasons we picked this hotel. Also, when we went to turn down the sheets to go to bed, there was blood and hairs all over the sheet. We called the front desk for new sheets and had to wait over 30 minutes for new ones.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    The shuttle to the nearby Metro station was free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were first given a room with one window that faced an interior covered corridor and provided no natural light. It was also up an outdoor flight of stairs. They had difficulty finding another room, but eventually did so. The booking information didn't indicate that this was a possibility, and we would never have booked here if we knew this.

    The shuttle to the nearby Metro station was free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    Ask for a room in the main section of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was located away from the main desk, outside and through 2 locked doors. This out of door area was where all of the smoking guests gathered. The hair dryer did not work,our pillows were lumpy, the water in the shower was either scalding or freezing and we could hear people on either side of us. We used the fitness center and one treadmill would not work at all and the other one only ran with the setting of the highest incline. We had stayed in this hotel before and had a room in the main part of the hotel and even though our room was small it was quiet and everything worked.

    The staff was super nice. They even arranged for us a car to the airport after a portion of the metro was closed for repairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    I wish I stayed somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't ready at 6:00am. Only one person setting up. Dropped lids of beverages on floor and then put back on. Walkways were old and dirty. I had to ask for cups for the complimentary coffee. There wasn't enough parking on site to accommodate guest. Had to walk across busy road with luggage to get to hotel. Staff couldn't tell us where to park etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Convenient but pricey
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit dated and could use some modernisation. The price per night is quite high. Breakfast choices were very limited and bland.

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Location is convenient for visiting the NIH campus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very positive and upbeat;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. it was fine.

    The staff were very positive and upbeat; the quality of the facility was good and the value for the dollar was high. They had a decent restaurant (I travel a ton and have to eat out a lot) with what I would have expected--but it was really welcomed at the end of along day of meetings and travel. It was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice smaller hotel in the heart od Bethesda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally inadequate parking. Fortunately we were there on the weekend and there was a municipal lot across the street with free weekend parking.

    While not large, the room size was adequate but a little tight with a pair of 18 YO grandsons.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Front desk very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not the best. Breakfast area didn’t seem to kept clean. No microwaves in room.

    Front desk very nice. Great location. Close to metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    Squeaky plumbing in basement apt closet, dangerous and filthy. Unacceptable. See photo.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor, lighting, heating, cooling, very dated. Coffee weak, breakfast was plentiful but difficult to eat. I was alone & shown a lower basement apartment-looking room, scary, dirty, asked for new.

    The staff. Close to good restaurants & downtown Bethesda walking areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    The best part of the American Inn are the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best part of the American Inn are the staff. They were super nice and accomodating. The hotel is tired, and the food was not great. The room was clean, but unfortunately really hot, even with the fan! Again the staff couldn't be more helpful, kind, welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    The location is good, many restaurants and stores around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheet was not clear, I find a few hairs on there. Also the parking garage is easy to get full.

    The location is good, many restaurants and stores around there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Convenient for our visits into DC. We were fortunate to get a parking spot upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unsure if were received the two worst rooms because we booked through a third party? We travel a lot and are not super-picky nor do we stay at only 5-star hotels. We read reviews and try to choose hotels that are clean and convenient. Our two rooms needed a complete remodel: paint was peeling, the bathroom counter was tilted at an alarming angle (no cabinet to support it), very dirty areas around door knobs, bedside table was glued together (and not professionally). The ceiling light in the bathroom was burned out. The TV had no signal the first night but the morning desk attendee was able to describe how we could adjust it to get a signal (and it worked). Tub drain plug was left sitting on bathroom counter, with hair attached. Some sheets had holes, others were too small didn't fit the (double) bed. Cold air was blowing through the large gaps in the door, which led directly to the outside. Our off-white pillow cases on our personal pillows from home were removed when the room was cleaned, never to be seen again (I had put my pillow in the closet so it wouldn't be confused). Found our pillows among the others by identifying the protective cases underneath. The coffee, breakfast omelettes & sausage were bad, the muffins were stale, and the bagel my DIL chose was completely frozen to the point she couldn't even pull it apart to toast it.

    Short (4-5 block) walk to the subway. Convenience store and restaurants within walking distance. Safe neighborhood. Beds were comfortable. Hot water was plentiful and water pressure in the shower was excellent. Fresh fruit & waffles at breakfast were good! I gave a list of problems to the front desk attendee, with the maintenance issues that needed to be addressed. The light bulb in the bathroom was replaced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    4.2
    Bathtub did not drain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub did not drain. Took two days before we were put in new room. Walls must be paper thin because you could hear people in next rooms and hallway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    I liked my stay at this hotel & would recommend others to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room needs some renovation. Door lock was hanging during opening.

    Hot breakfast was very good & serving staff was efficient. Parking is available onsite hotel premises & free of charge. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The breakfast offerings came out slowly when refills were...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast offerings came out slowly when refills were needed (eggs, muffins which still felt frozen). The server worked hard to keep everything filled and fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    American Inn WDC 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please please no air in the rooms is really unbearable even with the windows open. The ONLY thing that was wrong. BUT all of the above really made up for this one bad experience. However, no sleep because it is so hot could make for a very cranky experience.

    Basically everything!! From Thomas at the front desk who was MORE than accommodating when it came to what could have been a really bad credit card experience to John and all the drivers! I definitely would stay here again and again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Definitely would stay again! Great value and very clean with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small, which was fine since I was alone but would be difficult if traveling with friends.

    The staff was very friendly and arranged a free shuttle for me to the NIH. The drivers were exceptionally friendly and made trips through security a breeze!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.2
    TERRIBLE HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! No parking, ONE microwave in the entire hote, ONE ice maker in the entire hotel and their both on the FOURTH floor. There is hardly any parking because the hotel staff takes up what little Parking they do have, oh but they'll give you a parking pass for the night in a shady public parking lot a block away that you have to move your car out of by 9am or be towed. The bathrooms are a whole other story, takes 10 minutes to get hot water, the drains take forever to drain. ABSOLUTELY NOT WORTH $149 a night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    We saved some $ by staying here and taking the Metro or Ubers into DC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They first tried to shunt us off to a walk-up set of rooms, but "relented" when we complained. I don't recall seeing anything about this possibility at booking.com. The breakfast room was dingy in the extreme and the breakfast was awful. Plus it closed at 9:30 am on Sunday as well as weekdays. Front desk often unstaffed.

    The price was good. The room was reasonable clean but smelled strongly from deodorizing spray. The parking space was ample.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    I would stay here again, but not in this section of the hotel, and certainly not in room 128!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (128) was shabby and was in the worst location. To access it, you go up a utility staircase. It is on an outside corridor, but in an alcove, so the window is across from a utility room and receives no direct light. A heavy door to another corridor was right outside our door, and people were opening it all night. The noise of the restaurant could be heard in our bathroom, and people smoked outside our room.

    The location is good: 10 min walk to the Bethesda Metro Station. There is free parking, which is rare in a big city. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the heat unit was quiet, all things I like. The included breakfast was good, with two hot items. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Kind of disappointing, but the price was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking for the hotel is not located on-site, which I think should have been clearer, especially for guests with limited mobility or with small children. The fitness center is also not located IN the hotel, but rather in the garage, which doesn't seem safe, either. The room was TINY, but it was comfortable at the very least. Horrible hairdryer. Breakfast was really disappointing, too. It was sort of in-between a continental breakfast and a hot breakfast, but it didn't succeed in either category.

    The staff was quite helpful and welcoming, and the location in relation to the Bethesda metro was adequate. The room was comfortable, even though it was very small.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.6
    Not pleasant. Poor managed. Only the free shuttle is very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In one night, a staff came to my room without knocking and asking for permission. He thought that was another room he would stay the night. Very unprofessional! The Wifi was very unstable, and was out for almost an entire day.

    free shuttle service to local places

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    The stay was good. With restaurants, the NIH and shopping close by, not much more is needed!
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were able to successfully change rooms, but it seems like a bit of a production to do so. Staff very willing but not necessarily that knowledgeable.

    The location is the most important - as many of the hotel guests that stay there, we were going back and forth from the NIH - not only does the shuttle stop there, but it is close enough to walk to and from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Room was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels were taken and not replaced. No cups in bathroom, had to request both. Parking was a block away, or inaccessible which was not noted when I booked. Staff was often rude. Hot food ran out first morning, and not refilled while we were there. Hot eggs only one day, then just greasy meat and fried potatoes as hot food. Rooms were very small.

    Room was quiet. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant. But housekeeping don't give you enough time when it's not check out time yet.
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a higher floor and wasn't accommodated and not by elevator and was put there anyways was put on the ground floor. Ppl running around about room.

    The payment and rooms were decent

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.8
    Like better chains, but less nice all around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like one of the other chains, but less nice: room dirtier and older; service mediocre and grumpy; etc. (Breakfast not worth it.)

    Main attraction is walking distance to NIH and Walter Reed, plus free parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    The property was well located
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolute night mare Had me move my car two nights in a row to let someone else park there how wasn’t even staying in the hotel Went for breakfast two morning to be told there was nothing left that was at 8am Staff very unfriendly I would definitely not be staying there again

    The property was well located

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Not bad, but there are better places for the same price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the staff were rude, there was very limited parking (not enough for everyone), continental breakfast was mediocre

    Close to restaurants, lots of public parking nearby (paid), close enough to metro (1/2 mile walk)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    It was ok.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some days there were not fried eggs, one time the only out of hash browns, eggs and sausage were the potatoes.

    When the dryer on premesis would not accept cash, the clothes were dried by the staff at the request of the front desk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    I like the location,,,,,and everything apart from the front...
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the parking,,,, it’s not enough. And the customer service at front desk the lady she has a scary face she is not helpful at all, She was their at around 4-6pm, I didn’t like her service at all,

    I like the location,,,,,and everything apart from the front desk lady

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.8
    Not worth the money we spent on it. Will not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult. We were put in the oldest part of the hotel that included going up outside steps. There was trash under the steps. The room was small. It was NOT a queen size bed. The shower had one setting which was too high. The room could not be secured since the device that would block unauthorized key access was broken.

    The location was the only thing I would recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size on the website is photo shopped and seems larger than actual, we booked along with parking availability, but there was no parking on the site and the offsite parking was for chargeable after limited duration.

    The location of the property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.0
    Fair hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not meet my expectations

    Limited parking. Facilities were not as nice as displayed in pictures. Hot problem with my room key twice. Had to be rearranged in a different room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    2.5
    read all to the end
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    now I have lived in this hotel for so long! I would like to turn to the superiors of this hotel! at the entrance to me they denied me to pay the cash what kind of nonsense? I had to go to the ATM at night and such a cold day! Secondly, you need to write that you have a limited parking space! in the third I went out for dinner asked a guy on retsepshene to hold the place I'll be in 10 minutes! when I arrived the place was gone, I went inside and asked him what just shook my head and that's it! the second day was so awful that I was awakened at 5 am so I cleaned the car it was generally a shock for me! Well of course the third day was even more terrible! I booked again through booking.com the price was $ 72 but when I went down to pay me they said we do not have such prices! The superiors of this hotel will teach you to use your booking.com customer service! and all exactly they took off from me $ 77 instead of $ 72 or it's a problem with booking.com! after which today I went to dinner, when I came to the room, the cleaning lady threw out my personal razor, toothpaste and toothbrush! I was given a one-off accessory, but as it was understood there were my personal things because I have problem gums and I use a special toothpaste for me! and they said they will solve the problem, but I've been waiting more than four hours! but why did I stop here because the location is right I'm engaged in YouTube project about America to be more precise hotels, city and attractions! I have more than 5 million subscribers and I always share with them about my travels! hotel is good but the staff I personally did not like this attitude I felt to myself that I live in their homes for free,yet they scammers I lived there for three days, after a couple of days as I left for another state, I see that this hotel withdrew money from me for 4 days. I doubt that this is a mistake but they are just scammers

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    V.good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking lot. And was charged more than told by booking. I was told i will be credited for the difference within the next five business days. Hope they are right.

    V.good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining area where breakfast is served is a little dated. The bathroom in our room also felt dated and the number of safety rails made it feel like a retirement home.

    Great location for Bethesda. Incredibly friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.4
    It's okay. Not exceptional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a hole in my bed sheet. The staff looks confused when I check in and gave me the wrong key.

    I like the complimentary breakfast and the smell of their shampoo. Great location with free shuttle to anywhere within a mile away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    The room was clean and the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking kinda sucks. The parking lot is tiny and if you drive a SUV you have to get lucky to find a spot. There is the possibility to park the car across the street behind a store but you pay for that during the week. The Breakfast room was freezing cold, next to us was a family sitting in their winter jackets. The second day we came down a little bit later than usual but still " in time" - nearly nothing to eat was left and when I asked it it would be possible to get a Yoghurt I just got a NO. Very disappointing.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfy. You just have to walk down the street to get to the Metro Station. About 15 min.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Helpful front desk, good restaurant, clean. Very worn carpet, bedding. Did not feel safe.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were paper thin. We heard WAY too much. View out our window was of neighboring apartment building with people hanging out of the windows. Not inviting.

    Breakfast is hot and delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.3
    Cheap, free parking, good location, nice staff. Not very clean and very small, cramped room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very clean. There were crumbs on chair and desk in my room. Coffee maker had residue inside. Comforter looked a little dingy. Room was very small, felt cramped.

    It was a really good bargain for the location, staff was nice, and free parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    The location of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat was on due to centralized heating, and the room got very hot as it was hot outside.

    The location of the hotel. It is a walking distance from everything. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Great service and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff front desk was very helpful going out of her way to get pencils from her own personal belongings because there was none available. Also left my wallet nd the cleaning staff had turned it in along with other random items I had left behind. Thanks so much!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location in Bethesda
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are a bit thin - at night, I could hear other people speaking either in the hallway or in the neighboring room. The room overall is a bit tiny as well, but it serves its purpose and wouldn't consider it a drawback. Only real complaint was the sound of the heat kicking on - the first few seconds are very loud and kept me awake for most of the night.

    Fantastic location, walkable to NIH or Bethesda metro. The front desk staff were extraordinarily accommodating and helpful. The best part is parking on site - there aren't many spots, but it's a great perk!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfort and friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is worn out, but they manage to keep the cleanliness.

    I like the breakfast, though did not try the bacon. The staffs are super friendly. Location is good in Bethesda area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    Facilities convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you check in late there is a possibility they won’t have a room for you in which case you will be left helpless.

    Facilities convenient. Small rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    A place to stay if you're on a budget and desperately need a place to stay somewhere to close to DC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two things: (1) Facilities are very old. Particularly the humming air-conditioning, which needs an urgent rebuild! The AC was so loud that I had to wear earplugs to be able to sleep. (2) The check-in experience: The unfriendly lady at the desk had no idea what I was talking about when I said I reserved my room via booking.com and showed her my reservation details. Then she asked a male staff for help (he also helped me to find a parking spot in the garage) so I could get my room key.

    I liked the convenient location: This hotel is 15 minutes walk from the Bethesda Metro Station. Also, a big 24hrs open grocery store is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. I also liked having free parking. However it was packed and I could hardly find an available spot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym was a bit small and with not much equipment.

    Good for the price. Well located near the NIH/NCI and with a shuttle that drives you to the place. Comfortable rooms with all you can need for a business trip. Good breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.0
    I will only stay here again if there is absolutely no where else to stay!!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if this place was located anywhere other than Bethesda it would only be worth $29.99 a night. only the bare basics are provided, the parking was terrible when I arrived I had to wait for a staff member to move their car.

    it had a bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Near DC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was dated. Although it was clean the door in my room had a dent and slight opening that I could the outside. The bathroom had mold on the corners and the the caulking.

    The location was great. Also the free parking was unbeatable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely love this place!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only not so great thing was the view from our room.

    It smelled amazing, everything was clean, and decorated beautifully. The staff was friendly, there's free breakfast in the hotel restaurant and i this hotel is located in an excellent spot in town. I even left my favorite jammies by accident, and the manager graciously held them for me, and proceeded to assist me with arranging a pick up/delivery to my home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.6
    affordable, good location, but poor facilities. ok in summer.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at this hotel in the middle of October and it often got very cold (5 deg C or so) in early morning. Surprisingly the room was not equipped with a heater. After reporting this to the front, a small personal heater was supplied, which could not warm the room sufficiently.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing. Tremendous amount of street noise. The District hotels are far superior.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallway was musty; smelled like mildew. Street noise was terrible! Our room opened less than 12 inches from an open stairway to the outside. There was a sign posted outside our door that requested quiet for a "seriously ill guest" which we asked about but never got an answer. We requested another room but staff never got back to us yes or no. We could hear traffic, loading trucks & conversations from the sidewalk all night long. No sleep.

    The room/bathroom was very clean and the bed was comfortable. It's less than a mile to downtown Bethesda shops, Metro, theater and restaurants. Checkin/out was a breeze.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    It’s a shock how much hotels cost in this area!
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where I live paying over $150 for a hotel would mean a 5 Star!

    It’s a shock how much hotels cost in this area! My room was simple and clean. It’s a bit older property but adequate for my needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    Location to D.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC system was old out of date did not work all that well. Towels were frayed and over used. Toilet did not work very well clogged twice had to have someone come up and fix. The carpet seemed very old and not that clean. Mattress not comfortable.

    Location to D.C. Maryland and VA

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    Mediocre
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - South Wing
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient parking space. There was some piping in the ceiling, which was very ugly. No free newspaper. Internet was down for a while. Room wasn't as clean as I thought.

    Just ordinary hotel. Staff member was helpful at removing some fees.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Good for 1 night but not any longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird smell in the hall and in the room, low quality breakfast, old facilities

    Location (near the subway), free parking, comfortable bed, friendly staff - we could check in earlier

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    Good place to stay on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is terrible and if you don't get there in a timely manner you have to park across the street from the hotel behind the beer store in a public lot. That's depressing.

    Reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    An overall disappointment
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I got there, the front desk said that they couldn't find my reservation. Which was strange since I had booked weeks in advance. She was going to just give me another room but then noticed that she was sold out of double rooms. I was given a room in the end but it was smaller and seemed to be set up for people with disabilities. The bathroom was equipped for wheelchair access and the tub had a bench across it that made it uncomfortable for an able-bodied person to use. The room was also in the worst location, right next to a restaurant, which was open late. I was not able to sleep the entire weekend because of the noise and because few drunk guests thought it would be funny to knock on doors in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    A place to sleep before NIH visits
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a pool but if the life guard isn't there, you can't even sit at the tables by the pool or use the sun chairs. Maybe the pool could be gated off from the patio so the outdoor space could be used w.o the guard Breakfast is pretty pathetic.

    Very good location. Near medical facilities (the reason for our visit) and plenty of restaurants within walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: