Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Americana Inn 2 stars

69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018, USA

#362 of 418 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1228 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Paid WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, very small room. We were charged without informing us for a bottle of water that was on the table. There was no indication that it is not complimentary.

    The location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.0
    I loved the location of the Hotel but would not stay there again. Below average in my opinion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny and no room safe as advertised, The staff on the front desk were apathetic and gave the impression of being uninterested especially the night staff.

    Location was perfect. Close to lots of things to do and travel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    2.5
    Close to Time Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not comfortable. Very springy and noisy. Security deposit was not held. It was charged to my account, which unexpectantly left us with no spending funds.

    Close to Time Square.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Plesent stay at New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little rough around the edges here and there but that's to be expected for the price.

    Everything was just the way i expected, even with a couple of plesent surprises! The bed was super comfortable and it was fixed daily. Every day they supply you with two bottled waters per person and clean towels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Location was great, in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad was very uncomfortable and was squeaking every time you would try to move. Common bathroom could have been cleaner.

    Location was great, in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Convenient hotel in the heart of NY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a little cramped, and would likely be unsuitable for a visit of more than a few days. Noise from the street was occasionally distracting.

    This hotel was very reasonably priced with an excellent location right in the heart of New York, making it very easy to get everywhere I wanted to go. The rooms were considerably nicer than I was expecting, and quite comfortable for a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location! In the heart of Manhattan, 2 blocks from Bryant Park, National Public Library, Times Square, few minutes walking to Empire State Building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall I was pleased with my stay and I would come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was smaller than I expected and no carpet on the floor but it was okay. The only complaint I had was that my bed was very squeaky. The mattress needs to be replaced.

    The location was awesome. The staff were friendly and accommodating of my needs. Even though I had to share the bathroom they were clean. I had a great view from my window.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    3.8
    Nice location but room and bedroom not so comfortable for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff and price paid for the room. No free parking during the day Room was too small and very small bed We paid more than what Booking estimate (Paid 175$ instead of 117$)

    location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    I had an awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It was perfect for our trip. I was taking my daughter to college. It was 3 adults, we had 3 twin beds, room was spacious, had a sink and a loveseat. Had a window room facing 6th ave. Bathroom shared, but there was 3-4 bathrooms on the floor. Never had to wait. Has a cute little area by the lobby for coffee and muffins/bagels in the morning. It was very clean. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    Location would be the only thing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not even a small toilet in the room. You have to go to the shared bathroom on the floor...

    Location would be the only thing. And service is ok. But you can not ask for much more...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Location, location location and the staff were friendly as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no table lamp in the room which is really needed. The breakfast is very basic, it should be better.

    Location, location location and the staff were friendly as well :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was bad and they charged us for it and internet we never used. room was tiny and they managed to put 3 twin beds in it! barely any room to move

    great value. super clean. shared bathrooms were nice and clean. great location. discount on parking. helpful staff. qq

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Decent stay at a key location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing in specific. I would have been even more happy if it was a little bit cheaper, but I guess I can't complain because it's NY.

    Location! Staff was nice. Shared facilities were clean. Room had no problems.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    The location and the personal are the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I changed rooms I began to have flea bites, the cleaning of everything else was fine, but the mattress I think should be cleaned much better

    The location and the personal are the best

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Quaint but Cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the fact that bathrooms aren't located in the room and rather are spread out among the floor instead.

    Clean rooms, complimentary water, decent room temperatures, nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    The only good thing about the hotel is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is very noisy, if you move a little bit while you are sleeping, the noise what It does is horrible. We had a phone call around 6:00am from reception, asking if someone came into our room, no apologies or explanations from reception. We were a little bit scare. And also Dan from reception could be a little be more nicer, absolutely unhelpful.

    The only good thing about the hotel is the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    the position is great, on the 6th Avenue, very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noise of cars, ambulances and police in the night. You definitely need ear-plugs.

    the position is great, on the 6th Avenue, very close to Bryant Park and Penn Station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom/ restroom is sheared ( the cheapest toilet paper, cleaning materials that stinks very very bad, the facilities very old, stinks very much, super tiny room, very squeaky bed (like it has a plastic under the bed sheets. The staff gives a very unwelcome feeling. The price when you get into the facility is much higher than what you had made your reservation (full of taxes, facility fees, room service...). It's a place that really gives you the feeling that the only thing they want from you is the money (Tourists Trap).

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, clean facilities, but not-so-cordial staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I'm complaining, but I didn't find the behaviour of the staff at the front desk quite cordial. He kept explaining that the room is a non-smoking room, and I will be in a big trouble if I don't follow the rules and all. I didn't find the interaction quite pleasant (after a long flight to NYC). Of course, this must be a one-off incident; but that particular staff could have definitely be friendlier.

    The good part of this place is that, it is located in a good location. Very close to Times Square and all, so you have something to look upto, even in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, pretty close to Bryant Park and Times Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, pretty close to Bryant Park and Times Square. The room was very charming and even we make the check out before the hour of the breakfast, the guy let us take a couple of apples an cookies.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, bad smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a bad smell in our room like garbage. The room was clean in itself but there was some smell from somewhere. We put up with it as we got used to it but when you first walked in it was so obvious. If the hotel could sort this out or at least use an air freshener this would have made the stay much more comfortable.

    Great location. Excellent breakfast included. The staff were all polite and helpful. Our room was facing the street but it wasn't all too noisy. The rooms and bathroom were cleaned to a satisfactory standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, iffy accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was fine, if a little pricey for the accommodations. And they tried to sneak a phantom $38 charge on my credit card. If I hadn't noticed, they would have gotten away with it. When I called, they agreed to remove the charge.

    The location was terrific.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.2
    The staff was very nice and respectful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have no bathrooms. You gotta share the bathrooms with the people staying on the same floor. The rooms were dingy.

    The staff was very nice and respectful. Definitely good customer service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    I stayed in Americana Inn for 2 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from other rooms and from the street Bed could be more comfty

    I stayed in Americana Inn for 2 days. Hostel is pretty clean with lots of tiny rooms. I must admit that price was rather high for me, but in that location - it was rather cheap (those prices in Manhattan...). Nonetheless, I really enjoyed the stay. Wifi speed is really decent, you could watch NBA semifinals on TV :) Extremely close to most sightseeing spots in NYC, lots of nice cafes restaurants etc. Personnel was really helpful and easy-going which is truly a benefit of this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    Americana Inn New York 2-stars ** hotel review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) No shower no wc in your room 2) trash on windowsill in my room (see photo enclosed: half-eaten pizza and cigarette stub on it) 3) check in very late: at 4(FOUR)AM, never seen before!!!! 4) small bed 5) worst view ever seen: on the wall in 2 metres in front 6) receptionist with long black curly hair speaks english very bad and cannot read your name correct, several times corrected him 7) old rooms 8) receptionist is talking on the phone half an hour despite long line (VERY IMPOLITE, dont respect their clients) 9) additional USD150 for deposit 10) there's no noise insulation (was hearing caugh in the neighbour room for hours) 11) considerably overpriced for two (in fact ONE star) hotel! 12) WCs are bad with no fresheners and brushes moreover occupied in the mornings in this funny hostel-type hotel 13) location is under repairs, bad road around and noisy 14) there's NO possibility to cancel reservation looking at that mess!!!! PS. the only advice: if you have no choice and have to book this despite all that: dont book for more than ONE day or find a good lawyer to prove innapropriate services!! PPS. this hotel not deserve to be presented in booking.com list

    I stayed in two-stars hotels before and it was much more better. They have luggage room at least.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel for New York City visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For those not used to it, the shared bathrooms are a bit odd. Hotel prices are quite high in Manhattan and this place is not an exception.

    The hotel is very centrally located, with many tourist destinations at walking distance as well as various subway stations nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    It is similar to the "Y" except with a sink and no refrig. An expensive alternative. May stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the hotel and Booking .com didn't state the extra charges. The true cost of the room was about $175.00. They have an extra charge called facility charge which is really part of the room charge. When I checked out I had one bill for $160 plus city and state taxes and another for $14 plus . When I discussed this with the dest clerk he said it was really part of the hotel stay. The changes were for water in the room ,internet and their breakfast, which I didn't find worthwhile -hot water and instant coffee and some rolls ,cookies. I took a banana and went next door to a Pretty a Manger.

    Small but very clean .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows are extremely thin and because it’s cental NYC all you hear is traffic and cars beeping throughout the night and early hours.

    The location was great, a place to put your head down for a good price. The rooms are always clean as are the shared bathrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Cozy minimal rooms in the heart of mid-town for the adventure minded travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not awesome, however, I had no issues with back pain or falling asleep so it wasn't an issue either.

    The location is hard to beat. Very Central to many notable places makes it easy to get places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden charge on wifi and light breakfast, both are required options and couldn't avoid. Noise from the street.

    Shared bathroom was alwsys kept clean and one shared among three guest rooms. Private basin in the room wad good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Location was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic facilities for its price. It's a "single" room, so don't expect much space on the bed or in the room itself.

    Location was awesome! Short walk to Time Square. Everything was clean and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    I enjoyed it immensely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't take my tax exempt for and the return of my deposit is taking longer then expected. Still have not received it yet.

    It was very accessible to the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok for a short stay if you are sticking to a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was old fashioned and difficult to use with a child. V dated hotel

    Good enough location for the price, free safe in room, stored luggage after check out so we could enjoy our day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    The location could not possibly be any better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bring earplugs because it gets very noisy in the rooms, NYC truly doesn't sleep.

    The location could not possibly be any better. Located very close to Bryant Park, which is well-known for the many free activities and within walking distance (10 minutes) from Times Square. The rooms are quite comfortable and tidy. They are cleaned everyday and so are the restrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Not bad, but I will look for Smth else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was higher then in information from Booking.com reservation!!!! The hotel took money for the breakfast (if it is possible to call tea and coffee with cookies- breakfast) and WiFi separately and it was unpleasant surprise for me(((( and be ready that all rooms with two separate beds are looking to the street and it’s really loud during all night!

    Place of the hotel is really great, it was very easy to get anywhere you want

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little extras like facility fees which were not noted on booking.com but they tried to charge me.

    Location was good. Good price value. A bathroom in my room not important. Room size is tiny for two people but manageable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Best deal in town price and location, although shared bathroom. But great place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel has awesome price but rooms do not have private bathroom. Carry flip flops. A table desk would be welcome and a bedtime light. Breakfast is simple but you have coffee shops all over.

    Travelling solo. Clean comfortable single bed. A location with great restaurants and eateries. Blocks from best tourist sites and busy 6th street. Quiet room with TV. Wifi speed excellent. Zacarias very helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Very like personal and every day cleaning room , location ,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like that hotel don't have storage room for luggage .

    Very like personal and every day cleaning room , location , very good place !!! Love !!!❤️

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Good budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being located in the very heart of Manhattan, a 24h live neighboorhood, the room was a bit noisy at night.

    Comfortable and perfectly clean budget hotel, great staff always available to support. A few steps away from Time Square, the Empire State Building and several subway stops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, good price, good quality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old window frame does not block the sound at all. Breakfast is kind of there, but not really :)

    It's all about location and price. Both are very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Good quick stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had nothing gluten free except bananas. Shared bathroom meant no soap at the basins after the toilet. Basin inside room did have some.👍

    Position position! Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.7
    it was a good experience and it would probably be the best if they could address the room temp/noise
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really appreciate this place for letting me stay for the night due to the noreastern storm. my room was very nice and comfy it was just near the street and there's so much noise! sirens and all! the room was really cold due to draft coming from the window. I heard bangings beside my room and on top of my room all throughout the night.

    I liked the place because it was accessible to all the attractions and my classroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking should forbid mandatory hidden fees (like what Americana inn started billing in last couple of months) I had 3 customers in front of me and all of them didn’t know about the 15$ fee per night.

    Location, staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was not much pleasant and the bathroom was disgusting most of the time. Awful. Also, we are not informed, during the reservation, about a fee (aside from the usual taxes) we must pay at the end, which is almost a third of the price for the room. So the price gets more expensive than what is expected.

    We were very close to the main attractions of NY.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay, room was small but as we just have to spend one night, it was Ok for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small though and you have to share washrooms with others.

    The best part is its location, you cant get a hotel at this price at this location. The property was fairly clean, staff is also Ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    3.3
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty room..very small. Cold and heater does not work. Staff are vert rude. I was ripped off because they charged me more than the booking price. I dont recommend at all.

    I liked nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    room little bit narrow but it's ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast look nothing, no choise. cookies taste suck. first time when i checked in staff ask me my credit card and passport then copy my card with passport. he scan my data under the counter. but that time i don't know what is he doing. next date when i walk pass i saw printer-scanner under that counter. it's not safe for me. my card number very important. actually just check name on card correct. that's it. i never give another one hold my card like this. if something happen. no doubt who is. skimmer in newyork is everywhere. be careful.

    room little bit narrow but it's ok. if too much stuff for pack it's not comfort. but in room has small space to hide your luggage. bathroom are clean. 2 bathrooms each floor. quiet place. hotel close with subway 34th street (harrow square) 5 minutes walk. easy walk to time square, bryant park. easy to find food this area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Could not have asked for both, a more ideally situated and reasonably priced hotel in New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very well looked after and ideally situated hotel, for when visiting Manhattan. Staff are both polite and helpful, when called upon for assistance. The hotel itself is also surprising quiet, considering that it is in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel, I would definitely book it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room on the 2nd floor was a bit noisy, but its New York, the streets are always loud

    Nice hotel, clean rooms, clean shared bathroom, very good location! A lot of attractions are 10-20walk away. The staff was very helpful too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    The location of property is simply superb, just 5 mins walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was little small but it was not much of a concern as we needed a place to spend the night.

    The location of property is simply superb, just 5 mins walk from Times Square. It has multiple shared bathrooms in a floor. It does have a refrigerator and microwave in a common room, which is pretty good at this price. Also it does provide free baggage storage and an airport shuttle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay, great cost and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to share the vbathroom with the floor, although it was not so full so we never waited for the bathroom. One of the staff members was not very kind.

    The bedroom was super clean and comfortable, we had a lot of channels on the TV. There was a sink in the bedroom. The water pressure and heat for the shower were amazing. It was very quiet and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Overall, very impressed. Clean and comfy. Friendly staff. Would stay again, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did find it was noisy at night from the outside; traffic, cars beeping etc but then I guess that’s what you get from the prime location right next to Times Square. Suppose you could just get some ear plugs!

    The location was absolutely brilliant as it was so close to Times Square! Very clean hotel, bed was comfy and room was made up nicely every day. Very comfy pillows! Room was lovely and warm too! Really happy we stayed here!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.8
    Hotel needs to be up front with what they offer and not corner people with extra charges when they a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were only sweet biscuits, and a bit of fruit, the water was always warm for tea and coffee, and there were no bagels or toast as i was told so we had to eat out for breakfast. I only booked a room only but when i arrived i was told i had to pay for wifi and breakfast which i had not asked for but was given no choice so i had a further daily charge

    Breakfast was poor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    2.9
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mention of the $14 facility tax when we booked. It said breakfast not included when booked then we had to pay the tax for breakfast which we didn’t even have. The staff weren’t very understanding just said well you have to pay it. Not to mention that we had a communal toilet and shower which was not listed when we booked the room. Neither was there any mention of the load noises across the road from midnight to 3am...trucks and bottles and so much noise. Did not get a wink of sleep. Very very disappointed would not recommend A 2.9 review is too good for the night we spent there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and helpful but the overal stay was really not good, you HAVE to share a bathroom AND shower, we could not sleep because of the street noise, sirens, we wouldn’t stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone honestly.

    The staff was nice! THAT WAS IT! PERIOD!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good value for the money
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the facilities comfortable and clean. I was a bit nervous about having to share a bathroom. However, I needn't have worried because there is more than one bathroom on each floor. The location is fantastic! it's an easy walk to Times Square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    An expensive place to sleep for what you get, but you sleep in a great, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very weak and almost a ‘token gesture’. Despite it being advertised that showers were shared I feel the experience/price would’ve been more applicable to a facility that included private bathrooms not shared

    The location of the hotel is exceptional with central access to many if the main attractions

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of bathrooms in the rooms. otherwise a great place. The bathrooms were really clean though

    The hotel is nice, everything except the lack of bathrooms in the rooms. But it was manageable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of a sport locker room .

    You should restroom that wasn't even clean. How to wait 15 minutes to check in because the front desk person was on the phone for 15 minutes he didn't even tell me to wait or that he'll be right with me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Value for money, friendly staff, easy budget hotel with decent rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels are small, could do with proper sized bath towels, especially as dressing gowns are not provided... perhaps provide dressing gowns

    The rooms and bathrooms were kept clean, impressed with shared bathrooms being as clean as they were

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Would return next time we are near times square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was nice for the price, restroom was shared, but only between 2 rooms, and it was directly outside our door. Check in and out was simple and easy. Location was great. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    The perfect hotel to explore New York City on a budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was always so friendly and helpful. My room was small, but cozy and very clean. It was great to have a sink in the room!! The shared bathrooms were always clean. The hotel offered a small breakfast free of charge: fruits, cookies, coffee and tea. And the location in midtown is superb. I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Location (city centre, only few blocks from time square),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was really cold in the room, lack of space in the room, little noisy (big traffic outside the hotel, but that is probably normal for that location)

    Location (city centre, only few blocks from time square), cleanliness, helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    good clean hotel with a good location at a good price for new york.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights

    No response to the two emails about airport shuttle or a query i had, Even though it was three months to reply, Found my own way so wasn't an issue in the end. Two coat hangers and no pegs in room for clothes , even in the bathrooms 1 tiny hook for hanging things. putting clothes on floor in a shared bathroom isn't the ideal. Charging for wifi $5 a day is a bit mean, Its free all over the world, why? free wifi in most food places in NY and using linknyc, cheaper to get a new tourist sim card for 4g than use hotels.

    Good price for central manhattan. friendly staff and really clean, rooms are basic but warm with good air conditioning. Quite a few bathrooms per floor so always one available. they were also spotless. very good cleaning staff. Reception staff were friendly and willing to help, was also a very safe area for first time visitors to new york You really don't need any more facilities, restaurants and bars and shops are literally next door , It really is the perfect location Subway is 5 minutes away for all over manhattan.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Location location location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay for wifi

    Location location location.you can walk to lots of attractions.subway only few mins walk away.Good few Shared bathroom on the floor we were stayed.We never wait for use it.Room is not big but enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    We liked the location which is why we booked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and located above the loading zone on the street. So the single glazing and sash window did not stop any street noise. The late 8am time for breakfast was no good for early departures.

    We liked the location which is why we booked it. Short distances to our transport and mid town attractions and restruants. The room and facilities were nice and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    A clean room and bed in a good location; didn't sleep because noise from street was so loud.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    So so so so loud at night. I was on the second floor with a window facing the street. I felt like garbage trucks and sirens were driving next to my face. I barely slept. Also, the vending machine didn't dispense waters (I tried three times) and then, when I returned home, I found out that my card was charged for all three attempts!! I wonder how many people this has happened to. If your pure goal is location and cleanliness, this place is great. And perhaps if you get a room not facing the street on a higher floor, it would be okay. But stay away from 2nd floor facing the street.

    Great location and a bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    3.8
    Not worth the money, should've paid the extra $20 for somewhere cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unhelpful, the room was not clean and nor were the shared bathrooms. The bedsheets were dirty and the wall was falling apart in the room. The blind was broken and there was limited hot water. We booked the hotel as a pit stop for one night knowing that for the price we wouldn't expect wonders but general cleanileness and wifi are expected. Hugely disappointed with our stay and will definitely pay the extra 20$ to go up the road.

    The location of the hotel was great being so close to broadway and Times Square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Good for NY prices, average in general
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to stay for a week or so it would be just a place to sleep, nothing else.

    Nice place for one night, bathrooms are clean, good for NY prices, very close to just about everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Value price allows you to enjoy NYC more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No real issues but remember the price you pay means this is not for those who need many extras.

    Great location close to all major needs. New foyer is a better set up then prior ring the bell process. Always friendly staff. Restaurants in walking distance. Bryant Park 1 block away, great Holiday Market and skating along with people watching.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi cost money

    Excellent location, very clean hotel, friendly and smiling team , change towels every day, there are enough bathrooms for everyone ,hot shower 24 h

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    september in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny bed for two people and was too noisy to move around at night. Street reconstruction at night was annoying.

    location is perfect - Bryant Park just around the corner. Subway station in a walking distance - 5 min. Staff was helpful and nice, always helped. Bathrooms were all clean and nice and there were many of them on the floor we stayed in, so no waiting or lines.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.0
    Never again but you get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All of it! The very small double bed was broken, the lift pinged every time someone got in it and we were right out by the lift on floor 4. The bathroom smelt of urine.

    Being out of there!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Good that it is close to everything but bad because of the amount of money you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was high for a room with shared bath. The kitchen looked suspicious, the microwave started to smell funny while it was used.

    The location was the best part of the accommodation to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Americana Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: