Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Americas Best Value Inn - Livermore 3 stars

1421 First Street, Livermore, CA 94550, USA

#15 of 15 hotels in Livermore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 66 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible the best I can say . Smells . Furniture nasty . Bed nasty. bathroom nasty . Hot . No coffee in room for coffee pot . They said come to office for coffee . Refrigerator nasty . Booking.com should do a inspection of places before placing them up on line . The last two pictures are of the room .

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.0
    I wouldn't stay at this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't seem like any investment had been done to the place in decades. Rust aligned the bathroom window. Appeared someone had fell into the blinds to the shower so it was partially visible from the window. Appliances, clock, sinks, everything seemed old, worn & outdated. This should have been a $60 room & at $200, I was disappointed.

    Night watchman seemed friendly & accommodating. The room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    Kicked us out at 9am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and not well kept. Smelled old. Carpet was nasty. Basically kicked us out at 9am so they could clean.

    Bed was ok, comfortable enough. Shower was pretty good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    It was fine.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very old motel and the rooms showed it. The pool wasn't open even though it looked fine. The breakfast left a little to be desired. If you're not expecting deluxe accommodations, this place fits the bill.

    It was comfortable. We have stayed here before because it is the closest to the VA hospital

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    I would stay again for work events due to the Location to Downtown, but not for Leisure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice if the pool was open, and the rooms were updated,

    The location, I had a Business Dinner in Downtown and the location was perfect for a last minute Reservation. I would stay for any work event, but not stay for Leisure. It would be nice if the Pool was available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down. The guy that checked me in looked at me kinda funny. Probably cuz of my tattoos and the fact that I look kinda thuggish. I'm guessing that's why he put me in the very front room. To make sure I wasn't partying with a bunch of people. I was with my wife and kids😅

    Good for the price. Very quiet for a family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    Needed a place to lay our head. It was sufficient ,but wouldn't recommend it to anyone
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Holes in the walls. Air condition wasn't on so it took most of the night to cool room down..it seemed as if they gave us a room that hasn't been remodeled yet there were two rooms next to us that were empty and newly remodeled.

    The staff was friendly. Seemed to be family ran.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Was a pleasant stay for me now my girlfriend, ventured out into Livermore's outside dining now drin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was half empty and dirty with algae not debris, plus room had no mirrors except in bathroom plus no phone in room

    Comfortable room and manager was so accommodating not courtious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Older hotel great location and price for work purposes on short notice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable wifi was great especially if you have multiple phones breakfast was better than nothing but according to location happy it was all individual packages..... service was understanding about late arrival and reassuring that my room would be there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    2.9
    To be avoided
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old. Not very many guests but they couldn't even get my room clean. I let them know I was going out, not cleaned when I got back. The pool was closed and had been for a long time.

    It's the least expensive hotel in the area. The wifi worked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    2.9
    Americas worst Inn
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing about this business I liked nor would I ever recommend it!! The staff/management was horrible! I see why this business is a client of Booking.com, its the only way it would ever get customers

    N/a

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    4.6
    Good location but not very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mold in the bathroom, the water that wouldn't cool down enough to take a shower and the breakfast is danishes from the bag The mold was by far the nastiest th where I wore my Sandles while in there

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    A cheap dive
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is basically a truck stop for men. The men stood outside their rooms, drank and smoked and gawked at any women staying there. It was extremely uncomfortable. The place is old and very worn out. It is basically a dive. I was very uncomfortable staying there and would not recommend it. It is a smoke free motel but the men smoke so much outside that the rooms really smell like smoke. I thought I was in a smoking room but the owners told me all the rooms are smoke free. The carpet is very old and dirty. The bathroom is very old with cracks and worn out. The only updated part is the tv in the room. The owners are very sweet but don't do anything about it.

    Only the price and location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    5.0
    Price and location made this work, but a bare bones property - just a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was less than helpful, the coffee was not available early in the morning because the lobby door is locked between certain hours, the hotel was not especially clean, the cleaning staff did not replace items such as soap, or tissues, when our room was cleaned. Pool was closed for winter, no hot tub. I've never felt rougher towels!

    Location to downtown Livermore was very convenient. Walkable to downtown for our event. The price was lower than most hotels in Livermore, and especially lower than anything located downtown, or anything from a quality chain.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    5.0
    50/50 stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few broken things such as the shower head mount, bathroom fixtures, bathroom door. Carpet was damp upon arrival. It made the room humid and stuffy all night. A/C wasn't cooling properly either. Red spot in door entry on the floor. Carpet is dark and stuff it showed through. I know this might be picky but I notice the metal curtain rod was rusted as soon as I looked up to step into the shower. Awkward hand soap dispenser in shower lol. Not even bad. Just awkward.

    The room was very clean. Toilet, shower, etc. Super spacious. Furniture is well maintained and cleaned. Very quiet surroundings. Conveniently located next to a Starbucks cvs Walgreens and Safeway. Close to san Fransisco without the chaos of the city. Easy parking. No hassle there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    4.6
    complete lack of maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    complete lack of maintenance. there where repairs in the room and the walls where unfinished. "guys a gallon of paint is not that expensive". the shower caulking was dismal. The keys worked half the time. we had to wake up the attendant at 2 Am because the keys did not work and we could not enter the room

    the price was reasonable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    3.3
    The bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in need of paint. It wasn't that clean. Black stuff around the shower/tub. Apparently the roof must have leaked and the patch job wasn't very bad. I wouldn't stay there again.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    4.2
    This place sucked!!!!
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodations were old and dirty. Rooms are run down and not worth the money. I could have stayed at a different hotel near the frwy with better accommodations & cleaner room for $2 more without having to utilize booking.com. I will never go back there.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Great location 1 1/2 blocks from Skilled Nursing Facility where my wife was but too expensive.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facility was old and unpainted. Room appeared clean; bed and mattress were good. No phone; no alarm clock

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Close to everything, nice bed, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use upgrade

    Close to everything, nice bed, clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.6
    Not much
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    What breakfast, packaged sweet rolls, cold box cereal, no place to sit

    Not much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.4
    Served a purpose for a one night stay cheaply.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture seen better days. It was old and appeared to be dirty.

    Large room. Easy to access.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room. Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.0
    It was okay for a stop over but would not have stayed for multiple nightd
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't even get in the shower.

    Bed was comfortable. Good TV service. Room was not painted and the shower was unacceptable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    room was ok but over priced
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was closed seems like for along time washer and dry out of order

    The room was fine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    2.9
    Fleas and Ants infested
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom was infested with fleas. spiders over the toilet seat. the room had ants on the beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Very nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy, worn bed. Bathroom needed some repairs.

    Very nice staff. Above average cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quite and close to downtown

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    good
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    2.5
    Bedbugs
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedbugs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    At the center of Livermore, with many restaurants and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    small place. not well decorated.

    At the center of Livermore, with many restaurants and shopping places nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.5
    I liked it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C did not work well Needs a little painting inside.

    Big bed, clean, firm. Friendly stuff. Big TV screen.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    6.7
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.5
    Basic motel in downtown liver.ore
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit older place and shows inside.

    Location in downtown.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    6.7
    N/A
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    N/A

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    6.3
    Execively noisie next door guest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisie next door guest

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.5
    we would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foot traffic in the neighborhood was kind of creepy!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    5.4
    Large television
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms/bathrooms

    Large television

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    2.5
    Son bad condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Son bad condition

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.5
    The room was clean, the bedding was fresh;
    • Solo traveller

    The phone system needed some help before I could get it to work; there was a shade missing from one of the lamps---but these are minor details, not complaints

    The room was clean, the bedding was fresh; the place is not new but it has been well maintained and it served my purposes very well.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is not worthy of being a hotel. It was horribly dirty, dust collected on all surfaces even the soap dispenser, microwave, heater/ac unit and hair dryer. The shower knobs were covered in mildew, the lampshades were falling apart or stained, the carpet and curtains were stained and grimey, the bedspread was stained with what looked like cum and grease, and the ceiling was splattered with something reddish-brown. It was just filthy and disgusting. It is just...Yuck! And the staff does not care about the cleanliness because we complained and the cleaning just shrugged it off. Worst experience ever! (I wasn't able to upload all the photos but would be happy to send the rest).

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    7.1
    The place was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place was ok. It looked and probably was a bit old, but the location was great. We looked for a place just before san fran, and this was a great choice. It was at the end of a cosy street with restaurants, shops and a movie theater. Appartently a lot of people live her that commute to San fran. It takes you an hour by car or 45 minutes with bart

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    I really enjoyed the desk attendant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't have the opportunity to stay longer.

    I really enjoyed the desk attendant. He was very informative and enjoyable to talk with. I always choose this facility when I am in town.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.5
    I really enjoy how nice the staff were.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms are really old looking. The room felt dirty. They had to clean and make up our room when we checked in at 9 pm. Just didn't seem like they cleaned the rooms.

    I really enjoy how nice the staff were. They were very helpful. The beds and pillows were better than my own really got a few good night's sleep.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    Old school
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old school

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    It was clean, comfortable and very close to lots of nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we had to leave. Thot Livermore was a great little town

    It was clean, comfortable and very close to lots of nice restaurants

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.6
    Location near all great sites in Livermore.
    • Couple

    Wifi isn't good there. TV didn't work very well.

    Location near all great sites in Livermore. Relaxing time by pool.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room could stand a make over, especially the bathroom.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Barrak gave detailed directions in and out of town, plus tip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Barrak gave detailed directions in and out of town, plus tip for food.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kind of old and the bed isn't real comfortable.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    3.3
    Shower and bed worn out.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Shower and bed worn out.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: