Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Americas Best Value Inn - San Carlos 2 stars

1562 El Camino Real , San Carlos, CA 94070, USA

#6 of 6 hotels in San Carlos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fire alarm went off at 9pm due to a guy smoking in his room. Scared wife, not able to sleep rest of night. exhaust fan shook. At 10pm guy in room next to us took an hour long shower, walls are thin, bed next to wall with water pipes, don't have to explain :-(

    Motel had recently completed updates, still in need of more though. Area outside was well lit. Manger on duty was friendly and without question refunded us on our second day when we decided to check out early.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was horrible. We left early due to what we experienced Breakfast: bagels and croissants were hard as a rock. When saying this to the manager on duty he said to just put it in the toaster to get soft. TV didn't work properly Chairs iron board stained Mattress stained and skirting. ceiling in bathroom flaking paint black marks on wall in bathroom and shower curtain very noisy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to wait over 15 minutes to check in as the clerk was busy with something else and told me to wait. I then had to go up to counter he did not call me back up. Hallway was very hot, no a/c on way to room and the facilities are very dated at best. Bed was not comfortable and room was dark and smelled of cigarette smoke, even though it was a no smoking room. Cancelled my stay for the next week and stayed elsewhere in San Jose.

    It was in a quiet park of San Jose by the drive in. Parking was good for large truck.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    its my very 1st time at this motel and its the place that i was looking for. strong smell inside the whole room, the table and chair was steady. Bathroom had a strong smell of paints. The sink handle fall off everytime i turn on. The bed was the worst didnt feel comfortable at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan was noisy. Bathroom updates in shower area were poorly done. Hotel for where it is located and what they charge should be completely updated.

    Room size was adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    No key. Mgr had to let us in and out. Fire in the unit above with water damage in our room. Mgr said that since not on our bed, we should stay. Late at night no argue. Fire alarm around 1pm fire dept showed up.loud

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a loud vacuum noise going off for 48 hours and I complained and the property Managers said there isn't anything they could do. I requested to speak to their boss and they refused to pass on my request. The fire alarm went off due to my lighting candles and I was denied my deposit. The manager screamed at me and I am a female. He was hostile and aggressive. This man is a liar. If there was smoke in my room he by law has to call the fire marshal. He is a disrespectful man and sexist. He treats women as they are inferior. N

    The room was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Second time we stayed, was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but it had a really bad cigarette smoke smell.

    Very convenient place, near a lot of restaurants and only a block away from Trader Joe's. Light meal in the morning was great, nothing fancy, but it was free! Manager/Owner was very friendly!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt like someone was smoking in there even though it was a non smoking room. Noticed a lot of people go outside of their room to smoke, but their window is open so the smoke goes inside.

    Staff I encountered were very friendly, location us good wuth a lot of eating places within walking dustance, also has a Trader Joe's a block away! Continental breakfast included cereals, muffins, bagels, waffels, bread for toast, yogurt, orange juice and coffee!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to like. It's the worst Motel I've ever encountered. Sleazy manager, sleazy everything. Dirty as well. Just a total ripoff. I will never stay at another "America's Best Value Inn" If this is America's best, god help us all.

    Absolutely Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The one outlet that was accessible for traveler use was so loose that plugs fell out of it. All of the electrical plugs and lights should be inspected by the fire marshal for compliance with local codes

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free continental breakfast- it is hard to call toast, cereals and yesterdays croissants continental breakfast.

    Little old facilities but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room smelled like cigarette smoke. Table was sticky with years of caked-on grime. Continental breakfast consisted of bad coffee and Fruit Loops cereal. Nice staff--they tried.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked some bread / toast and croissants instead of cakes for breakfast.

    The Manager and his wife are really friendly and helpful. They have laundry facilities, which we found very useful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning and temperature control in the refrigerator.

    Centrally located. Able to get needed rest due to noise level was almost non-existent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pandit at reception was very welcoming. One of the few affordable places in the area, and a real find in terms of cleanliness, quiet, etc. in a basic motel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, noisy all nite till 3am out side my room. When telling the staff they did nothing. Will never stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to busy road and railway. Dirty coffee machine, pathetic breakfast, staff do not speak English much.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Location freidlly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the process if being remodeled. Hair Dryer broken. TV difficult to use.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    drapes

    I enjoyed the waffles cold milk an d fruitthe curtains anyone could walk,by the room and see right ind

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cleanliness of the carpets big stains really dirty

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was very dated and not clean.. a place for construction workers not familes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty, on the main road, noisy, ...Would not stay here again

    It was cheap

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, noise, staff did not speak hardly any english.

    No real breakfast. Too noisy, door stock, felt unsafe.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was run down neighbors with loud Street out front now hard to sleep

    Nice staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was inadequate.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a corner room and it was great and quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was nice. The room was clean. Breakfast was satisfactory.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The high cost, the noise, the old rundown look of it

    It was very noisy old run down smack on highway

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast should be better and could be improved

    Its nice small hotel with good basic facilities. Having good courteous manager.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy railroad and road just adjacent.

    Correct for the price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not up to par. Same every day and not much choice.

    The soap and shampoo in shower...great idea. Bed very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Room was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    something out of the 70's......way over priced....very noisy with traffic and trains .....

    location to train station and freeway

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A refrigerator and more soap would have been convenient

    This was a central location with access to several highways and many food options

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. Owner very hospitable and the rooms clean

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little worn out but otherwise no complaints

    Front desk/management

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to be renovated very old fixtures everything is so outdated and not modern breakfast is poor

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Couple

    Parking markers are to tight for cars. More closer parking to rooms.

    Great bath facilities. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Good continental breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    First off the reason for my stay at this hotel was for a funeral. As soon as I checked in I procedded to the room that I was given. As soon as I stepped in the door with my children, which one of my children have asthma the room was full of cigarette smoke. I immediately asked for another room and the 2nd room that I received was the same. I was informed that those were the only rooms available and had to settle for either of those rooms. The 2nd room that I took had hair on the bathroom floor as well as I was itching during the night when I layed down in the bed to go to sleep and ended with bumps on my legs and arms. I was so dissatisfied and dissapointed with the service. I would like a refund and I would like for someone to give me a call back as soon as possible. Thank you

    It was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was lacking in every way. Door lock/unlock was very difficult to open using room key. Room was overpriced for what I got.

    Comfortable bed and location to business needs.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked decaf coffee.

    The owners are great. Very efficient and very helpful. Bed is good and cleanliness excellent. We've stayed here several times.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Im a smoker and i believe that the. Wallpaper has absorbed as much nicotine as it can handle.... needs to be removed or scrubbed up4

    Hot breakfast would be a c highlite for me

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The place is low end...no pool...no excercise room...no nothing really. The carpet had burns. The room was at least 90 degrees when I arrived...it took 3-4 hours to get the temp down.

    The lady at the front desk was very nice. The bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is near a highway and is noisy. Needs sound-proof windows. The management is not always friendly.

    The hotel is located near a Trader Joes. This is very convenient. The room is clean and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    We requested a wake-up call and did not get one. Spotted a spider and a small black bug (not sure what kind) crawling around the room.

    The bed was comfortable and the WiFi worked.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WIFI connection was poor at best. They need to upgrade to a useable router. Horrible WIFI

    No Eggs! Staff was great!

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    price is ok

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Street noise during daytime.

    Location. Near Trader's Joe.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didnt like the Jacuzzi Spa Area definitely needs updates

    The room was nice and big

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    When the house keeping knok on the door earlier then what it supposed to be

    I liked the cleanliness of it was excellent

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor service attitude, the boss's son will come out swear at people.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Couple

    Everything especially the bed as it was so comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room the smell horrible

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Insufficient parking; forced to park in a poorly lighted area invisible from office/room.

    price

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast wasn't very big or that good.

    Rooms are quite nice and very comfy.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Trash cans were full in the room. Hot Tub didn't work

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    leaving

    atmostphere

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: