Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amsterdam Hostel 2 stars

749 Taylor Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#174 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2272 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner of this property… he's none humain heart. treating peopler like he is the king.. Talking out loud, unrespectfully, saying that he can chase me or throw my luggage away if he wants… I had mentionned my luggage to a Lady working at the desk she told me NO PROBLEM for me to leave my luggage there… TO STAY IN THIS HIOSTEL means supporting this owner who got no respect to humain being.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some things that you should be aware of: The rooms don't look nice nor modern, and the lockers are super noisy. The lamp in the bathroom took ages to turn on, but it eventually it worked - maybe the staff would want to change it some time. All in all, it was a fair stay.

    The dorm beds are comfy, lockers are provided in the rooms, and my room also had a private bathroom (I don't know if all of them have private ones). Also the location is great, in the midst of restaurants and bars and still on a relatively quiet street. For a hostel, it was a good stay for two nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is basic hostel and therefore little expensive. But that is normal in SF. Breakfast is only pancakes and you have to prepare them on your own. No juice, no water, but coffee

    Good location. You can walk to a lot of locations easily and the trainstation is nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not that clean, kitchen is discusting. If you are looking for a place to sleep come at 12 and leave it at 6, it is okay. But I highly recommend not to use kitchen. Be careful around the hostel!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wifi connection is not steady enough.

    Room is much bigger than I thought and the bed is comfy. This is the cheapest hostel I can find which did not disappoint me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was pancakes, tea and coffee. However, as it was a hostel there was always a queue to make your pancakes for breakfast.

    We stayed six nights in a private room which was clean and had all amenities that we needed. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Friendly staff. Good location close to plenty of bars and restaurants. If you don't want to make your own breakfast there is a lovely coffee shop just around the corner but also plenty of coffee shops nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pretty good place to stay! The localization is just amazing! 10 min walking to the union square! The hostel is not a new brand hostel, but the localization really pays for it. There is a pub just in the corner of the street that is an amazing place to have a breakfast, brunch and also a beer at night (sutter st). We would definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hostel could be revised, but if this will be done the price will probably be higher as well. It’s quite noisy in the hostel, so use ear plugs if you want to sleep.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is underground, and the curtain works just fair, would recommend an eye mask if sensitive to light when sleeping.

    There is a laundry room which is very helpful in long trip. The location is close to union square. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were unclean, lots of dirt and trash under the beds, bathrooms were also not very clean. Very few plug sockets for the number of beds, door would open properly due to obstruction, just generally felt run down.

    It was cheap, easy to find, there was a bus shuttle to the airport that was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kitchen area was messy and although breakfast was included for us, it was basically only pancake batter that you had to fry yourself, among a lot of other people standing in line. So we didn't really go to the kitchen and had to get something to eat outside. Rooms are quite small, but that's expected from a hostel.

    Very good location, a nice neighborhood, close to shops, restaurants, public transportation, Chinatown. Private room was clean, had everything that was expected. Not much noise, although the walls were pretty thin. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Everything is really nice, clean and well organised. The bed was actually amazing, with a very good mattress. It's also very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work with my laptop, but with my phone. Sometimes, there's a long queue at the reception. The beds could need a ladder, it's quiet dangerous, to climb to the top bunk

    It's a good place. I stayed in the 4 bed dorm and liked the own bathroom. Room is big enough for 4 people and was clean. Breakfast pancakes were alright

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Show a little empathy for my situation who h was to change pants quickly

    I needed to use Bathroom badly a d did that but asked to change my pants b4 check in and was unreservedly turned down. Not great experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too hot at the beginning of may (door wide open and heating on) Vacuum non adapted for the corner and carpet, quite dusty rooms and corridors No staff in the kitchen : people are leaving their food and dishes everywhere, not clean at all No breakfast : only one pot of coffee (empty at 9am), one pot of pancake batter (empty at 9am) Staff is not there enough to keep the house clean and at a good temperature...

    Private room with bathroom Quiet but thin walls Well situated Very beautiful house

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locker wasn't lockable if your lock isn't big enough.

    Dorm room include an ensuite. Pancake breakfast was great. Usb socket in room was convenient for international traveler. Facilities were complete

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains in my private room were old & dirty, should be replaced. New carpets required.

    Communal kitchen, great place to meet people from all over the world.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole building had an awful smell but a bit better in our room. We just kept the window up which helped.

    It was clean with a comfy bed. Awesome location. Great brewery and bar round the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The overall state of the hostel wasn't very clean

    Breakfast was nice for what they offered, and having the laundry room was very helpful for travelers that are staying for more than just a few days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was really uncomfortable..breakfast is included but it's a bit messy...they give you pancake dough and you have to make your own pancake...you can imagine the mess when many people are trying to cook at the same time with only few pans.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fungus in bathroom and under the window, worn out (very, very soft) mattress, but not that bad.

    Great location if you don't have a car :) Union Square, a Bus and two Cable Car within two blocks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very old and not clean enough. There was no info about the price for car parking in public parking. Kitchen is awful. Only for 1 night is possible. It is not costs its money.

    Very good location, staff is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, smelled like curry it fried food, no toilet paper or napkins. Reservations were all messed up with every room that when I walked into my all female dorm there was a guy laying in one of the beds.

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a big disappointment when a staff member cleaned my bed while I was away, when I arrived back from my day in the evening someone was sleeping in my bed and I had no sheets etc.. to prepare another bed. Staff told me basically that it is not their fault and didn’t offer any refund or anything while I slept completely dressed on the mattress.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Private Room with 4 Beds
    • Stayed 15 nights

    To start with Amex credit card didn't work. First room we were at, was awful. Truly depressing. No sun light, sink didn't flush, was stuck. It was tiny, dirty and smelly. The second room was a bit better, and at least we had a window and more space. Bathroom was better. Still not great though. Still dirty, badly maintained and smelly.

    Staff was helpful most of the times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor organization. They signed same bed to two people so when I came back to hostel in the middle of the night, I had to change my bed. Very poor cleaning and beds smells terrible. Only good thing about this place is central location other than that, doesn’t worth to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't give very clear direction about check in/check out.

    It was nice having a bathroom in the room, and the option to stay in all female dorms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of shower was totally out of control. In the lounge room next to the laundry we couldn’t get wifi connection.

    Warm atmosphere made me comfortable and I could make a lot of friends!! Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never stayed in such a horrible hostel, smell and dirt everywhere. Everything is old and looks horrible. They say breakfast included, but you have to make you pancakes yourself on dirty dishes, so we obviously didn't do it. Please stay away from this hostel! And I hope Booking.com will post this review, because fist time they decline it, I wondered why we have not seen bad reviews.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said free breakfast but just had pancakes and we had to make it ourselves. No bread, cornflakes or anything else. They do not have filtered water amd their lockers are very small.

    Bed was good. The rooms and washroom were clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, they don’t have a good organization with the beds, the breakfast every single day is the same, the personal have a bad attitude with the schedules to use the kitchen

    Love the people that you can meet there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room was super old, and not 100% clean. Staff was very unfriendly. No one mentioned that included breakfast mean "do your pankcake".

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Each time entering the hostel's common areas, it smelled like urine (that's not even a phrase, it literally did). The "included breakfast" consists of nothing more than pancake dough. Plus, 90% of our food and drinks in the fridge got stolen, which has never happened to me before in a hostel but seems to be a regular problem in this hostel.

    The personnel was quite friendly and the location is quite convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small things were difficult in the hostel, like when you want to extent and stay in the same room. The social area isn't great. Old hostel.

    Good location, literally close to everything! Nice they have free breakfast, it was always nice that everyone was making pancakes together in the morning. Safe and quit street. Not the best hostel to meet people, although met some cool people staying there. Good wifi also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The upper bunk beds don't have a railing so it's not for someone who's scared of falling off the bed. Whole bed is also rickety so any small movement you make will shake it. Not a very nice experience. Common area doesn't have a table where you can sit and do work. My room had a table, but since it was a dorm, I couldn't stay up late to work. Dining area is also too small; when I ate breakfast, I had to go to the lounge/TV room to eat and since there were no tables there for eating, it made for an uncomfortable dining experience. The kitchen is also closed at night until 7am so you can't even access your food in that time period.

    The dorm rooms were spacious (I stayed in a 4-bed dorm) and there was free pancake for breakfast (that you had to make yourself). Receptionists were also friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower didnt work proper. water was very hot or very cold. i was not able to take shower. i mean my expectations about a hostel are not very high. i just need a good shower and a place to sleep at night. this hostel had NO good shower,and they need to fix it.

    kind staff. 3 computers with free internet access.the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were no many things I didn't like. Everything was nice and easy-going, maybe one thing what I did not like was the breakfast. You basically have to prepare your breakfast for yourself, and there is only one choice - pancakes, but for me, not that big deal.

    The bed was comfy, big room, so clean! They care about their cleanness a lot I really like the location as well near many restaurants, shops and bike rentals. Loved the people there as well and nice/relaxing atmosphere in whole hostel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny. There was no breakfast despite what it was written in the reservation so they lied us for this. We wouldn't go there again because you can't trust them that you will get what it says you will get.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot. First of all, it all seemed very dirty. That got confirmed when I found a blood stain on my mattress. It smelled like pee in some places. Generally the whole place had a gross feeling to it. On top of that, I put my food in the fridge, WROTE MY NAME ON IT and someone still stole it. There's a sign in the kitchen saying that food thieves will get kicked out of the hostel but guess what? That's not going to bother people who are about to check out that day! The bunk beds seemed VERY instable. When you slightly move, the person under you can feel it. You feel every movement they make no matter how faint. When you can't sleep and you have to roll around a lot, that could really keep the whole room awake because it makes a creaking sound too. The breakfast is pancakes you make yourself, which is fine for a day or two but not really meant for long term. Generally this hostel is cheap considering the area, but i would personally not stay again, i would also not recommend this to anybody who has high standards or wants to stay for longer than 1-2 nights

    The staff was very friendly, the price was cheap, the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 9 nights

    You need your own padlock to close the lockers - I didn't know this beforehand (should be added to the website) Sometimes the corridors smell strange, but rooms are ok.

    You pay for a bed, you get a bed. Bathrooms are per room and depending on the hygienic skills of your roommates, they are clean. Mattresses are actually confortable There are cooking facilities and social spaces. Internet works but is slow at times

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a shuttle to the airport because the price was cheaper than BART and a ride share, but the front desk employee never scheduled it, even after I paid the deposit. He wasn’t helpful on how early I should leave during rush hour, made me guess how long it would take, and then never even booked it. I called the shuttle company and they had no record of any shuttles needed. I had to them pay an extra 15$ for a Lyft and was very inconvenienced with almost missing my flight with the late start. Other than that one employee, the staff and hostel were perfect.

    The staff, other than CB.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is somewhat down at heel and shabby, and there was a lot of dust in the corners, although the staff vacuumed every day.

    The location is great, and the hostel has a kitchen, and a laundry room. I had a private room which had a fridge, microwave, and bath, so it was perfect for my purposes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The kitchen was a bit messy, breakfast is not good, and the hostel gets really noisy at night. Get ear plugs ready if you need to wake up early in the morning.

    The staff was friendly and very helpful, and the location was really great. Close to Union Square, but not close enough to get the traffic and noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Creepy furniture and heating that doesn't look very safe. Heating system makes strange weird noises all night long. Hard to sleep on that conditions. Not very clean either, stairs had a lot of dusting. Luggage room very small.

    Room had decent sized refrigerator and microwave. Bed, showers and Wi-Fi were good. Breakfast included (coffee and pancakes that you make it yourself).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand that this is a shared room, but someone come in after mid night and they check out around 4-5am. They were so loud when they open the locker. One of the girl got either phone call or alarm, and she not turn it of, while there is another 5 people sleep in the room. One other think is that they provide locker without lock & didn’t sell the lock, so you have to go around to buy a lock. Since this is my first time tried Hostel, I’m a little bit shock.

    It was so easy to make friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast is vey limited,coffee, tea and paincakes that you should make by yourself. sometimes you should wait other people to finish cooking. the worst part of my stay, is that i went to the kitchen at 9h30 without finding coffee nor paincakes, and no one was there to ask. notmally the breakfast should be served till 10AM. so i left the hostel and paid a meal 10$ (SFO is expensive). apart from that, my stay was fine. reception was fine and also bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible breakfast, idk European hostels are far more advanced compare to the USA. At least San Fran has some hostels so all good.

    Location. Staff was ok at their job. Not super friendly or making me welcome enough

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The conditions were definitely indecent. Too old, there was nothing in the bathroom even a soap. The bad was also not comfortable and not in line with what I saw in booking.

    Only the position and the staff was nice but not extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a revamp as carpet is so old makes it looks dirtier than it might actually be. I however was not impress with hair in the shower on my first day.

    Central to everything. Loved the option of the washing machine and dryer. Served me well as I only used it for sleep, was out everyday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "24 hour desk" was often suspiciously unavailable. Only one washing machine worked and only from 5pm until early morning, had to stay up until 2am to wash our clothes.

    Great price for the location. Room was spacious and well equipped (private room). Joint facilities seemed nice and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a hostel vibe to the place. No community events. Common spaces were small. Free breakfast is only pancake mix. The ladder bars to go on the top bed are super thin and hurt a lot.

    The location, free wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lounge cannot connect to the WIFI

    i didn’t try the breakfast as you need to wait to 7:20to get the flavor to cook by yourself~ the coffee and macro wave are cool! I love it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not really free. You have to make your own pancakes. It’s pretty dirty and they wanted to cheat me on 10 dollars deposit... For 100 dollars for a night they really could clean up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast was a little lackluster. Not extremely clean in general. Shared kitchen has a few thieves (bye sandwich!)

    good value for the price, generally good if you book a whole room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The included breakfast consisted of "make your own pancakes" which felt unorganized and a bit complicated since the kitchen was pretty small. The staff were not very companionable.

    Comfortable beds, quiet, clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are not so nice, you can get a movernos hostel at fisherman's wharf for the same money, but you have to choose between facilities or location.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness - awful. Our room was like a sauna, the whole room was like something from a horror movie it was so outdated and disgusting. The curtains were dirty and ripped, the chair was broken, the bed was awful...I just don’t understand why they wouldn’t do a little updating as I’m sure that despite all this they are getting good money from budget travellers!! The whole building smelt like urine. Go here for location and budget and for a roof over your head.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Hostel in San Francisco. The bedding is a little bit outdated and the building is quite old but everything was clean and the price quality ratio is very decent. Breakfast included means coffee/tea + self made pancakes from the pancakes pastry available in the kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty: you expecting a fresh bad and there is already blood, hairs and other stuff on it. Broken: almost everything is so old that it not works or just somehow. Shower got no pressure of water, soap??? Not to find in the whole hostel. WiFi you loose connection non stop and it’s sooo slow. Electronic spots are mostly broke in the whole room. Breakfast: not even milk!! Some powder and a pancakes in a boiler from the 90s. Horrible Staff: ok but that’s it. One chair in the whole room for 4ppl. Lockers: most of them are broke or demolished, not safe anymore. Think they never changed anything there. Just fixed the already old and broke things.

    Location in downtown is good, laundry possibilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was absolutely horrible! I left my key in my room and when I went to the front desk the guy freaked out and thought I was a thief! Even though I provided with ID. Also the shower wasn't functioning properly. Spend some more money somewhere else you won't regret it.

    Good location. You pretty much get for what you pay for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get ready to have 10$ deposit for the key but you will get your money back.

    Great location. Enjoyed private bathroom in the room. I walked everywhere on foot. Breakfast - you just should make pancakes for yourself but usually kitchen isn't crowded and you can make as many pancakes as you want. Tea is accessible all the time. Comfortable blanket. When I just arrived it was hot in the room but I told it at the front desk and they immediately solved the problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom smell very bad (the entire hostel does), bed is uncomfortable, there are no hangers (neither inside the bathroom), walls have holes. "Breakfast" is not really a breakfast, they only provide coffee (there is no liquid milk!) and self-made pancakes. I recommend staying somewhere else, you can find much better hostels for the same price (personal experience)

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor Breakfast , only pancakes and you need to cook for himself. Very dirty in breakfast area, no tissue. No barrier on the beds on second floor .

    Good for this price . Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk bed frame and the bathroom door always had that squeaky sound! This is hard when you try not to wake other person up while you just move your body just a little.

    The location is quite convenient to get around with.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Booking.com said has parking, First come first served, was told do not have parking. Other guest keep us awake, until we told them to shut up this was 1:30am. Condition of room, blinds damage, so no privacy, ceiling has a bad repair to it. Electric socket damage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Guy at the reception being rude to an old man who didn't speak english. "The customer is always right" should be lived by. Lack of patience by this staff member to deal with the situation, surely needs training or to move to another position.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    DIY pancakes for breakfast should NOT be advertised as 'breakfast included'. Even if it was edible (it was not, the kitchen is dirty and we certainly didn't want to eat there) no one wants to eat pancakes every single day for a week. It's called bait and switch: customers are "baited" by merchants advertising products or services at a low price, but the advertised goods are either not available or are not as good as expected. Well, when someone decide to sue the hotel or Booking.com they'll change it I guess. Anyway, we've spent $200 more on breakfast and if we knew, we would definitely go somewhere else. One day I stayed in bed longer and went to the kitchen 5minutes before closing. There was no coffee in the machine and the ladies there told me that the breakfast is finished. Really unprofessional, lazy people who were sitting, not doing anything else but not wanting to give me a cup of coffee.They have written their review by themselves. If you want clean towels you have to ask, but they didn't clean our room, not once in a week. Really disappointed.

    Good internet, some of the stuff are nice and some are terrible. Location is not bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dirty and noisy! We stayed here the first night of our arrival and we had a room enough big to open our lagguage and nice bathroom with hair dryer and no noise. We decided to stay there the last 4 days of our trip and we got a room with tv not working, smelling, dirty and so noisy that every hours we were woke up by neightbour shower and screaming people.

    Cheap (for the price in san francisco, but expensive for what you get!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old and poorly maintained. The carpet was filthy, the wardrobe’s inside was full of dust and there’s no air conditioning in the room, only a centrally operated heater.

    The location is good. Three blocks from Union Square

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were awful with cranky beds and the washrooms without soap. In a male dorm room, female were given beds too and the breakfast was nothing but just pancakes that you had to make by yourself, no bread, no butter. The kitchen was dirty too

    The location was the only good part. However in such a price you can’t get enough facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelled like mildew, had a hard time getting my full key deposit back from the main desk when I checked out. Car was broken into outside so be careful where you park. Walls are paper thin as well.

    Very cheap so that was great. I had no use for the kitchen, laundry, or common room area but that was awesome for longer term travelers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    i wish there was aircon in the rooms as it was a little hot. I wouldn't want to stay there is i had children as there was used needles out the front one morning.

    comfy room, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 6 beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pancakes aren't my idea of breakfast.

    Comfortable size rooms with lockers, great location not far from downtown, nice facilities and communal spaces.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bed in Mixed Shared Dorm Room: 4 beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there is no daily cleaning of the room, staff is not too helpful

    very cheap Hostel in downtown San Francisco. It's worth staying if for not much money. 4-bed room It has its own bathroom. Lockers. Breakfast is just pancakes and coffee, but is ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Shared Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing major - power stations on each bed did not work, had to use wall sockets. Only complaint is staff booked a man in our all female room - he was as surprised as we were when he opened the door. She sent him back twice before coming up to ask why we said there were no free beds in the room. 2 fyi's - Beds were good but no curtains - inconsiderate late-night travellers will turn on lights occasionally. Heritage bldg - no elevator & lots of stairs, request ground floor if you have mobility issues.

    Great value for money! Staff was great when room next door was too noisy. Breakfast was nice but can't eat pancakes every day - eggs, apples would be nice. Patio, tv room, laundry, secure bldg, lockers in rooms, luggage storage room, shuttle booking to airport (not from), clean kitchen, lots of space to cook & store food.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amsterdam Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: