Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. San Diego hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Andaz San Diego - a Concept by Hyatt

Reviews of Andaz San Diego - a Concept by Hyatt 4 stars

600 F Street, Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

#27 of 233 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 381 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2018

    6.3
    Bed was very comfortable, the hotel location is great in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking situation. Pool was only 3 feet deep and closes at sunset, not super family friendly. The bathroom counter was installed backwards so the faucet and sink is far away from you - hard for shorter people to reach. Hair found in the tub and not super clean.

    Bed was very comfortable, the hotel location is great in the glaslamp district area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    7.5
    very comfortable hotel in a great location
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not enough hanging space for clothes in bathroom - odd no towel/clothes hooks in the inner part of the bathroom

    Friendly staff, decent sized rooms, very comfy beds and pillows

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    4.6
    Housekeeping girl very polite and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keys not ready, when ready did not work, (Receptionists said, you will be surprised, this happens all the time). I am a hotelier, if that’s what the receptionist tells guests, , it is NOT acceptable. comforter not on bed, bathrobe was used (room not completely ready when given to us), remote not working, happy hour appetizers were charged to us at full price. Valet was good and helpful.

    Housekeeping girl very polite and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    Good central location in lively gas town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help with luggage offered Poor service in roof bar Strange shower set up and poor shower

    Excellent location Very comfortable bed Good roof terrace

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Drinks on rooftop very very expensive. Having to pay extra for cabana - again very expensive.

    The room was very clean. Comfortable bed. Free drinks and snacks replenished every day in mini fridge.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful lobby, love the scent in the ventilation system.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Andaz Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought we’d have a different room configuration, pics shown were confusing

    Beautiful lobby, love the scent in the ventilation system. Room was nice bed amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, the rooftop bar and pool was amazing and so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was, I stayed on the 3rd floor towards the back and the hallway and right outside my room had such a foul odor! It was horrible. Luckily it didn’t travel into our room but it was still a headache when walking in or out.

    Beautiful hotel, the rooftop bar and pool was amazing and so convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Hands down the best property I’ve stayed at!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Andaz was in a great location to all things downtown, it was very clean, the amenities that were offered were top notch, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful! The rooftop bar and pool area was the best part—the views of downtown were beautiful! This is the only place I’ll stay when visiting San Diego from now on!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is really small, the staff at the bar could nice (especially if compared to the hotels once...) and it is little bit too expensive.. If you get a “central room” (Located towards the inside) is dark and you get no sun whatsoever.

    Almost everything: nice rooms, nice staff, rooftop bar, furniture, gym, .. The hotel is really nice, has basically everything you need and the staff is very young and helpful. They even help us to check-in earlier. In the room there is a a very assorted mini-bar with even some food and sodas for free:) The location is perfect to reach most of the interesting point by in San Diego by walking (locals, little Italy, baseball stadium etc.)... it is expensive but compared to other hotels in San Diego well not so much...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    A fantastic situated hotel, from arriving, everyone so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fantastic situated hotel, from arriving, everyone so helpful, friendly and welcoming. Beautiful room, roof top bar and pool, superb. Steak bar downstairs, vibrant and fantastic food. If going to treat yourself, definitely the place to be in San Diego.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    It was enjoyable at the hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The area was not good for me. it was geared to people who want to drink, music and eat. There was little to do in the immediate area that interested me. No galleries, shopping or book stores. But, it was a lovely stay. Thank you.

    The fiendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice welcome drinks and free snacks in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym is very minimal: few cardio machines and only some free weights with a cable machine.

    Nice welcome drinks and free snacks in the room. Beautiful and very clean room. Great location in Gaslamp, close to parking structures and well served by public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    It was clean and roomy. Staff was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The specifications on what is complimentary, for example the reception told us everything was free in the fridge except for the alcohol. We drank 4 Red Bull’s and didn’t know they were not free until we checked out :(

    The room was super clean, never heard anything or anyone... rooms are definitely sound proof.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in the middle of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to get a warning about all of the shouting that occurs at night. We were kept up throughout the night by screaming transients. They provided ear plugs, but that didn’t help. Thry definitely need better windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    The room and the hotel itself was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the rooftop bar was a little disappointing.

    The room and the hotel itself was beautiful! The staff always very friendly and helpful. The free welcome beer upon check in was awesome. Hotel was in perfect location and in walking distance to all the great restaurants and bars in the Gaslamp.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    We had an amazing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an amazing time. When we first got there, they let us do early check in(most hotels don't) but when we got to our room there was no pull out couch when we requested one. The girl at the front desk was very on-top of it and got straight to our room and put us in a new one right away. SO helpful and very easy to work with. Great customer service. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    The room was comfortable and clean for the most part.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a strange smell coming from the AC Unit in the room. It might need a filter change. I had to use a couple of air fresheners to correct the issue. It took some time to get the hot water going with the shower. Not sure if their boiler system was overwhelmed or this is a part of their normal operations. I will ask next time. Be aware that that on the second floor you may experience trouble sleeping, especially if your room is located near the intersection. The noise coming from the nearby bars is the main culprit. The hotel acknowledges this issue by providing the room with fresh ear plugs.

    The room was comfortable and clean for the most part. I enjoyed the view and the mini-bar setup was a plus. The staff was very courteous and were quick to help me with my requests. The location is very ideal and you'll find pretty much any items you need for your trip with the nearby stores.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel with great roof top bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey throughout the night from both indoor and outdoors.

    Beautiful hotel with great roof top bar. Fab location but very noise throughout the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Mod, hip, hotel with a welcoming and friendly staff, incredible room and great amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single thing, in our opinion.

    Yes, the bed was like a cloud, and the pillows made our heads just perfect. The front staff was very welcoming and helpful, even searched the internet for a wee discount on the zoo. The housekeeping staff deserve a lot of praise. We loved the capable and hard-working ladies on the fifth floor. We really enjoyed the room a lot, loved the feel of the place with its mod decor, and we lived at the pool for a day. The food was delicious at the restaurant and we felt safe in the hotel. Top notch, top score, we will be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really noisy, definitely do not come here for a relaxing time. I understand it's in a nightlife area but their windows offer no barrier from the after midnight ruckus on the streets.

    The rooftop pool is the only thing worth staying for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Might ask for a room with a view next time. Although, we were staying with friends and requested a room next to theirs so can't really complain there!

    If one was to look up the word "swanky" in the dictionary, they would surely find a picture of the hotel Andaz. This place was beautiful! The decor in the lobby was the first clue that whomever designed this hotel took pride in it. The lobby staff was wonderful, all young, attractive employees but with nice warm personalities. We were even offered free beer on check in! Our king room was beautifully decorated with modern, yet comfortable flare. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean as well as the rest of the room. Fully stocked mini bar with liquor people would actually enjoy (ie. not the cheap stuff)! The location of the hotel could not have been better! A short walk to PetCo Stadium, and right in the heart of the Gaslamp District. I could go on about how impressed I was with the Andaz, but I'll leave it at this; would, and definitely will, be staying at this hotel again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable, friendly staff and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a chic modern hotel perfectly located on the edge of the Gas Lamp district. The rooms were small but well appointed and comfortable. The location was fantastic, being easy walking distance to all of the restaurants and bars in the Gas Lamp district. We even rented some bicycles and rode our way to Balboa Park, a couple miles away. The staff were very friendly - and the complimentary glass of beer or wine when you check in is a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    The staff were subpar and there were a series 3 incidents...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were subpar and there were a series 3 incidents during our stay of less than 24 hours. It was St. Patrick’s Day weekend and there was a block party literally outside of their doors so I’m trying to give them the benefit of the doubt that it was because it was a crazy weekend. But from someone who’s has been working in the customer service industry for well over 10 years I’m concerned. Staff was rude! Only one person was kind and that was the lady at check out who comped us for our issues.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Weekend in SD
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was excellent. Walking distance to a ton of bars and restaurants. Gaslamp district was right there and Little Italy was a 5 minute car ride. We loved walking around the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Loved loved loved the andaz hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved loved loved the andaz hotel !!!! Everything was perfect the location, the room, the roof top and the staff was super amazing they provide wonderful customer service. I am definitely coming back to stay here when I come back to San Diego !! Everything that you see in the picture is exactly how the room looks .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall, very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overnight valet parking is $50. The hotel just around the corner (similar class/quality of hotel) had a sign outside advertising the same thing for $30. No idea and no explanation why the parking fee at Andaz is so overpriced. If you're coming to San Diego and stay here, I recommend using Uber for everything. It will likely end up being significantly less expensive than renting a car and paying to park it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I appreciate they put ear plugs by the bed, but you could definitely hear the noise from outside. Maybe if i was on a higher floor, it would have been quieter?

    the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location is great - many restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    very cool property! Very chic but not pretentious !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit disappointed with the amount of homeless people in the vicinity of the hotel. It is obvious at this point that the area is still in a revitalization. But, what can we do about that? It does not take away from the hotel- but if I were alone I may have felt uncomfortable and a little intimidated.

    The hotel is beautiful and very chic. The minute you walked in the lobby it felt artistic and special. The rooftop is absolutely beautiful- even if we were older people, we enjoyed it. It is obviously popular with the young and beautiful people. We also used Lyft transportation and the service was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    modern hotel in the middle of nightlife, but way too expensive for what is offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff did not have knowledge about what is going on we booked the new years roof top party which was a disaster and way too expensive for the service that was offered

    trendy furniture, modern style, free snacks and some free beverages nice rooftop bar with pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Awesome plce, dirty sheets.
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent except one thing. When room service came to clean the room, they put dirty sheets on the bed with blantant stains on them. That was my only complaint.

    Everything was excellent except one thing. When room service came to clean the room, they put dirty sheets on the bed with blantant stains on them. That was my only complaint.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Disability Access with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy the bathrooms were beautiful and clean and the roof top was to die for. San Diego has so many attractions but I wanted to stay at my hotel the whole time because how beautiful it was!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed due to a wedding buy out on Saturday. I would have booked somewhere else if I had known. What giod is a rooftop pool on a hot day, if you can't use it?

    The staff was great. Very friendly, and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was hip and nicely designed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much smaller than the square footage listed online and the window faced almost directly to another interior building wall. I was changed incorrectly on my mini bar bill which would have gone unnoticed had I not checked my statement. They did fix it once I called, however, just take note. Loved the hotel but found it to be a bit overpriced for such a tiny room.

    The hotel was hip and nicely designed. The rooftop bar and pool is spectacular, wow! Amazing views of downtown and the staff was friendly and helpful. Room service was prompt and the grilled cheese tomato soup was amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    It is a very comfortable hotel with a fabulous rooftop pool and bar / dining area with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a big room only two drawers for clothes seems inadequate. Perhaps they are primarily catering for one-night business users rather than a vacation resort for multiple days. Big wardrobe with a rather measly number of hangers.

    Very nicely appointed room with a very comfortable bed and excellent pillows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    This is a modern hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool seems to be rented out to outside parties so not always available to guests and if it is then not a relaxing area

    This is a modern hotel in a good location. The staff were really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing left early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff refused to match better rate being offered on same bookings.com site you or they owe us $100 night credit Way over priced property and we are normally easy to please

    Staff on rooftop exceptional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    There are cheaper options just as nice w larger rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overpriced. Very small room. Couldn't hardly move in there or leave open suitcases. Kicked damn chair everytime I squeezed between desk and bed. $50 a night for parking is insane on top of room rates.

    Free glass of wine at arrival was nice touch. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Bathroom nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay and will be returning again
    • Group
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in our room was not clean when we arrived.

    I love staying at this property. I stayed here with my fiancé and some friends before I deployed and had an excellent time. The most important after I left my fiancé told me that they went above and beyond to insure that the rest of her time was pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.0
    The window in the room, I can't open- air was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window in the room, I can't open- air was not enough for me, despite AC was working. I don't have a phobia from close places, but it seems to me, was developed there. The stuff was perfect! Only the pool area was messy, especially the cabins!!! Everything was dropped on the floor, like after earthquake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in Gaslamp!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was one time that my husband and I had arrived at the same hotel and were greeted with a glass of wine. That didn't happen this time for some reason. Maybe they stopped it, but that would have been a nice touch.

    The bed was comfortable. The room had a large bathtub (you have to request it because not all rooms have one). I liked that my room was at the very end of the hall. I was able to sleep soundly even with the rooftop bar above the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Andaz gets an A for customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered room service which was quite pricey, I got the smallest bottle of water I had ever seen for $6 and oddly enough they gave me a free regular size bottle when I arrived.

    Amazing customer service!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    I checked in late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked in late..the room i had originally booked was not avail.due to someone stealing a tv out of the room that was intended for me. They put me in a small queen room. They said they would give complimentary breakfast and try and upgrade my room feom the originally booked large king to a suite if available. They would let the manager know. I had to go to a wedding the next day and had a lot of luggage to pack up. Packed everything up..and moved to the originaly booked room. The room was ok.. but they never followed through with the upgrade..nor did a manager ever call to apologize about the issue for the inconvenience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Wait for a deal, then steal (the deal)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the window consisted of the other exterior windows of other rooms in he hotel. Walls were thin and noise easily heard from other rooms.

    Got an upgrade to king bed and up to the top floor. Staff was super friendly. Very close walk to whatever you like food/entertainment wise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    2.5
    Eff The Andaz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was unfriendly, unprofessional, unsympathetic corporate robots. The pool bar on the hotel roof over serves patrons causing many issues/problems with hotel guests. The hotel is loud, the pool is murky, and the hotel staff is undertrained. There is also minimal security available to help deal with drunk overserved patrons of the hotel's pool bar.

    The staff was unfriendly, unprofessional, unsympathetic. The pool bar on the hotel roof over serves patrons causing many issues/problems with hotel guests. The Andaz, in general, undervalues their hotel guests in order to pursue making money; ie letting drunk pool patrons to verbally assault hotel guests w/o any repercussions. For a relaxing time be sure to check out Sol Sundays at the pool for crappy loud music and tons of drunk people dancing in bikinis/trunks! Not.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    The nice touch of free bottled water, soft drinks and some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of parking, just a tad steep. I know it's in the middle of city, but I stopped at the Hollywood Roosevelt on Hollywood boulevard straight after stopping here and that was cheaper.

    The nice touch of free bottled water, soft drinks and some snacks in the room. Great location, I didn't have any noise problems either that other guests had mentioned. Staff at check in where superb with cos I'd arrived a little early and my room wasn't ready. So sat by the pool for a short while (less than a hour), I knew I was early and the sun was out. Me being early isn't the hotels fault, however when I did go to check in they'd already taken my bags to the room. Nice touch to me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and curteous staff made the stay very enjoyable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pool bar couldnt make a michelada but used bloody mary mix - clamado mix & lemon juice should be on hand

    Room service was awesome & hanging out at the pool after check out was definitely a fabulous perk!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Modern, great location, clean , avoid roof top
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top area was a disappointment. It had loud music and was a not very well kept . The public is allowed up there and it lended to a very unwelcoming and unappealing feel. It had no ambience . We left after one minute . The rooms were not too sound proof. I often heard people in other rooms and in the hallway.

    Bathroom and room were quite clean and modern. The hotel well managed and they provided free water and snacks which is really nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Great anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints had a great experience.

    Great room, comfy bed, big shower, free snacks and soda, even the paid snacks were priced reasonably. Room laid out well and looked very modern.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing experience at San Diego Andaz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was miniscule. Sink and vanity area resembled an airplane washroom space. Pool was dirty, specifically dirty Hopkins and food floating in the pool. Wait staff were not informed about happy hour pricing and service was very very slow.

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, location, and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wall was glass, so you could see the other person using the bathroom.

    The pillows and bed were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and polite. The hotel is really nice and they gave us each a glass of wine to start our night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    My new favorite SD hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Was told it's no problem to get a taxi in the early morning. Was not that easy after all. So if you have an early flight, insist to preorder.

    Modern, chic, central, quiet room in a noisy area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.4
    Don't expect a lie in, better don't expect anything at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms located on the side street are above a truck garage of some sorts. Noisy beyond belief each Mng between 7and 9am. Bouncer at restaurant on the roof was rude while stinking of alcohol on his breath. Reception staff ok . Overall nothing like the andaz in London or Maui. Oh yes, 50 dollar a day for valet is ridiculous for that Location

    The condiments in the room were good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Good spot - but rooftop bar service not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to say that the rooftop bar is generally great, but I wasn't impressed with the bar staff. I arrived just as the tender was cashing out and his back was to me. To his credit, he saw me and said he'd be right over - nice move. Then a guy rolled up and asked for 3 more cocktails and he served him first rather than the guy who was first and only wanted a bottle of beer - strange move. Table service not great either.

    Location superb, good shower, wifi strong, bed comfortable, cleaning excellent and a really good feel about the place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    The decor is great, the room is small but well appointed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were a bit too fat, and one each extra would have been nice, although we could have asked if we'd thought of it. We asked for a room near the top on the west side, however, nobody warned us when we came to check in that this would put us right under the rooftop bar, and the noise would keep us up, and then offer us an alternative if that was a concern. The phone was a bit glitchy. Valet was understaffed at check in, and slow. And the lobby was hot as hell when we checked out because the girl at reception felt it should be. Bottom line, not enough overall focus was put on guest comfort, or concerns, considering what we paid for the one night we could afford for our anniversary "getaway."

    The decor is great, the room is small but well appointed, the shower was great. The bed was fairly comfortable, and climate control was pretty good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the rug was dirty, my pet was all over the hotel and he likes to go under the tables, curtain or under the bed just on the sides and he is dusting dusts in his face because it wasn't vaccuum, overall it was fancy inside.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.6
    Think twice before spending your money here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool (nowhere near enough room for guests), unclean room, toilet open to the room, poorly designed layout of room, proximity of room to hotel lifts (and the constant noises of...), disinterested staff, overpriced.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Great experience! We'll definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small and there were no hooks to hang wet towels on in the shower area. More counter space or a place to put toiletries in the bathroom would be nice.

    Fantastic king size bed. The roof top patio, restaurant and pool was awesome. The room was clean and complementary water, soda and coffee/tea was great. Really friendly and helpful staff. Even the housekeepers would go out of their way to say hello when you walked by in the hall. Great location. Easy to walk to downtown.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Great breakfast and lovely place in Gaslamp Quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I loved so much the breakfast! It was delicious and they have a great menu which includes spicy chicken burrito and Benedict eggs. I really enjoyed it! Roof top and swimming pool was very nice. Complimentary snacks every day and fresh water. Thanks!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    My mom had a great birthday in downtown San Diego
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sink in our room had a smell. I notified the front desk upon check out. Also, they need a hook in the bathroom for clothes/hangers. didn't like the setup of the bathroom.

    the host Matt was very nice. they offered beverages upon check in. they also had free snacks and beverages in the room (water, juices, popcorn)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous rooftop pool!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Glass door on bathroom doesn't hide your bathroom noises... wish they had music or an air filter to blend out bathroom sounds when with friends! lol.

    Gorgeous roof top pool. Free glass of wine upon check in. Happy hour complimentary wine. Walking distance to great restaurants nearby (checkout the cafe 21 or 24) yummy!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    3.3
    MOLDs: worst for the price you can get in San Diego
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had molds in bathtub, condescending staffs, not the best location, rooftop doesn't have view and controlled by third party which forces you to buy drinks to enjoy one of the 'amenities' of hotel. I recommend omni or kimpton which is cheaper and better. Their updated remodeled room was still outdated. Construction goes on from 9-7 everyday including weekends. I stayed in large king room and definitely wasn't worse the price and this is the first time I feel like I got ripped off by a hotel de to false advertising. This hotel doesn't worth $700 for weekend stay. such a disappointment. I never write reviews but I wanted to let others know so they can have better San Diego experience by avoiding this hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.6
    Great place would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just temporary but the little construction that was being done on the floor I was staying on

    Offered free wine at check in, as well as sodas & water in the room...Staff is very helpful...Hotel is very nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.1
    The location of the hotel was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The triple room we booked should have been a single occupancy extremely small roOm, the music from the terrace lounge was extremely loud, no natural light in the room, in room dining very limited options and not accommodating

    The location of the hotel was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed by the noise of the workers thoughout the day.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise thoughout the day. I should have been given a room away from where the work was being done. Noise from people partying in their rooms all into the night is constant.

    Very comfortable bed. Nice rooftop bar/pool

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    5.0
    5 star name--2 star reality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Andaz Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't tell me they were in huge renovation and construction process. Was very loud and didn't have water for a few hours. Extended my stay for a night for business reasons. they promised to change my room, and made me wait till the evening just to tell me they didn't have any available even though they promised they saved me one the previous night.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.9
    Restaurant closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed. Alternative for breakfast (open air rooftop) unacceptable as weather bad. Meant we had to walk 3 blocks to find a place for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    Loved the complimentary mini bar items.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very basic and took ages to heat up! Valet parking very expensive.

    Loved the complimentary mini bar items. The bed was very comfortable. The rooftop bar and pool were great, even in the winter. Fab location for the Gaslamp District.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    By far the best hotel I've ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By far the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Would highly recommend to anyone who visits San Diego. Very friendly and helpful staff! Outstanding facilities, rooftop pool area and lounge as well as the gym were amazing. Free snacks as well as drinks in the room. Fresh coffee or Hot apple cider available all day as well as treats in the main lobby. Location was great, very central with a lot of restaurants in close proximity.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Amazing, will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was in San Diego surprising my parents who were staying in the Gaslamp Quarter. This place was relatively cheap compared to most other hotels. Not sure why because it was a fantastic hotel! The staff were really nice & once they had learnt that I had just got off a 15 hour flight to surprise my parents, the kind gentleman at reception upgraded me to a beautiful room. The rooftop is amazing. great views over the city & a lovely setting with a fire pit surrounded by lounges which is great for entertaining guests. Thanks Andaz, your hospitality made my stay a memorable one!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    7.9
    Clean and friendly staffs
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy on a Thursday and Saturday

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    10
    Location to restaurants, roof top bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to restaurants, roof top bar

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great service and nice amenities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfy bed. nice room. free shancks in room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel. Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Andaz Large King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy outside in the street. Not the hotels fault but I still didn’t sleep!

    Staff were great. Room was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: