Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Andrew Pinckney Inn 4 stars

40 Pinckney Street, Historic District, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

#35 of 89 hotels in Charleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 636 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    All in all it was a very good stay , hospitality by all workers was superior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was kinda small , hard to move around with 2 people and luggage, balcony was closed had to eat breakfast at Doubletree, was ok but wanted to experience the balcony.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Great plae and location, but be SURE to avoid the PETITE QUEEN rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were sold a queen room, but it was so tiny you could hardly move around in it. Upon voicing my concerns, I Was told it was a PETITE QUEEN, which is so small that you literally have to move sideways to enter and exit your bed. PLEASE be very careful when you book to ensure you do not get this size room. Very disappointing for the price.

    The location is excellent, the staff was friendly. I expect the other rooms are lovely, but ours was much too small for even one person.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The location to the Market and Restaurants in Charleston (...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no pool & lots of construction going on . The gym was not located on premises either - a bit of a distance .

    The location to the Market and Restaurants in Charleston ( aka lots of activities- Bull Dog Tours - Hirse & Carriage tides- Candy Kitchen - beautiful area- clean , friendly people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, friendly staff, relaxed ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are renovating their roof top breakfast room and offer a voucher for Doubletree café instead. But this café ist is not really a valuable substitution.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, relaxed ambience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation in the heart of historic Charleston!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They started renovating the rooftop breakfast area on our last day and we received vouchers for the Doubletree down the street. That breakfast was pretty disgusting, and I would recommend that the Inn finds another solution for the breakfast while the renovations are undergoing. It was definitely not on par with the rest of our stay at the Inn.

    Excellent room (the tower suite) and friendly staff. The location was amazing (right in the middle of everything).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    I enjoyed the inn’s historical charm and great location.
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed the inn’s historical charm and great location. Even though its in a quiet area, you’re within a short walking distance to restaurants as well as Market Street shopping. King Street is also a quick walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit better. Loved happy hour but could have improved on some of the wine choices.

    Loved the 4th balcony that overlooked downtown Charleston!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Loved the location-within walking distance of the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been a little larger , however being in the heart of the tourist attractions it was probably a trade off.

    Loved the location-within walking distance of the main attractions and it was easy to come back in the afternoon for their absolutely wonderful afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. Breakfast was also sumptuous and a great way to start the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful time, will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have preferred a hotel with an included restaurant or bar, but still a great place.

    Nice location, friendly & professional staff, updated rooms. Boutique charm with franchise hotel experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    I was surprised that there was a room available at the last minute! We were also with a group IO0
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting security! The doors to the outside remained open to anyone walking by and no one was in the lobby or front office when we arrived at 3:00 pm, when we came back at 8:00pm and when we came and went at 10 pm! This is the first time I was traveling with a female friend! It was clean and roomy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing, romantic, good food and visually pleasing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would book directly with the hotel next time. Pictures on line of rooms were deceiving. We changed rooms and they were lovely about it.

    It was a perfect location. The staff were very nice. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was lovely. Wine in the afternoon with lovely fruit and cheeses . Please note Charleston has, like many cities today, outgrown car parking. We valeted our car each day we were there and walked everywhere we went.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel. Small room. Location is ideal for sightseeing and dining options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small but the location made up for that. My main complaint is that there was an overwhelming smell of perfumed air freshener. While I understand hotels like to smell nice they need to consider that some clientele have allergies and that perfumed air fresheners can set off allergies. We opened the window but needed to close it after awhile due to their being no screens in the windows (didn't want bugs coming in).

    The concierge were very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do and see. The hotel is beautiful and the front office has cookies and lemonade, which was a nice treat after walking around Charleston in the hot sun. We checked out very early due to bridge problems leaving Charleston and not wanting to get stuck in traffic all morning. The morning hotel concierge was very accommodating in getting our car from valet parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    It was very clean in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was so so. There were “water bugs” in that area at night when I went up to the rooftop. But I know they are common in Charleston.

    It was very clean in the room. And location was great. I was able to park my car the whole next day as well which was good. I didn’t have to find alternative parking after checking out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous Charleston! We’ll be back and we will stay at this Inn again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some public areas need sprucing up. Old tired furniture and rugs in common areas

    Great location. 1 block from the market. Rooftop terrace for cocktails and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Historic inn in the center of the French quarter - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at the check-in was extremely unfriendly and rude during our entire stay. She kind of spoiled it for us. How can a manager place someone like her at the front desk? The rest of the staff, the room maids and the lady at breakfast very friendly and hardworking by contrast.

    Great accommodation directly in the French Quarter of Charleston in a historic building. Very cute inn, antique furniture, good beds, and an amazing breakfast on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice location. Would try something else next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets felt like they were 100% polyester. No facial tissue (Kleenex) in the room. Rooms looked more updated online. Corners and edges of the floor (baseboards) were very dirty.

    Good location. Good view from rooftop lounge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Bed was fine, no coffee in room, breakfast served late, had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Petite Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thermostat had a mind of its own. Never knew if it was going to be hot or cold when I came back to the room, and it never stopped blowing.

    Bed was fine, no coffee in room, breakfast served late, had to go across the street for coffee or juice, cookies were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    I probably would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a little cleaner. Trash under bed skirt and night stand.

    The breakfast was great and loved the ballet parking. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location in the city but not a real good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Petite Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roof terrace is fine for breakfast, excepted when it is cold and windy outside as it was mid April. No Inside restaurant. Interior room means no window, bad surprise and no possibility to change for another room.

    The situation in the historic district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    2.5
    I travel every week for work and this was by far my worse experience at a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude and didn’t value its customers.

    The staff was incompetent, not to mentioned most of them looked like they where on meth. Stay away. So many better options. I wish I Airbnb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Bed and sheets were really comfortable, the location, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls were very thin and could hear the neighbors get home every night

    Bed and sheets were really comfortable, the location, the breakfast, the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.3
    After the glowing endorsements we were very disappointed. Will not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are going through a reno and staff are disgruntled, unhelpful, unhappy. No safe in room - no safe in hotel. Had to bring a safe from other site when I complained. No coffee/ tea in room. Instead, a lovely sitting room with sofas, restroom, coffe/tea, available all day for 1st two days. Then it was converted to a guest room and unavailable. Very, very noisy inside from guests and outside from street traffic. A lovely patio for breakfast on top floor but too cold to use when we were there. So no place to eat breakfast except 2nd floor atrium, which was always full, or our room. When we left our breakfast tray in room we were scolded by the the cleaning staff (we were supposed to take it back up to the breakfast buffet ourselves). Very bad lighting. Old, tired rooms and bath.

    Walking distance to everything downtown. They make good cookies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Great location but overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from expectations. Clearly not worth the price tag. Staff were far from professional and welcoming. A couple of times they saw us walking towards the elevator and continued talking with other staff without holding the elevator door. The breakfast was ok but nothing.

    We liked the location. The room style was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Location was within walking distance to everything otherwise not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were in a building with no elevator and we are older so this was somewhat of a problem there was no coffee in the room, had to dress and go across the street we had an early morning flight out of Charleston and there was no valet available ... the man in the office offered to help us which we greatly appreciated,

    Location was excellent; room was quiet; bed comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Liked the size of the room, the bed and linens were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good!

    Liked the size of the room, the bed and linens were outstanding. Liked the wine and cheese on rooftop overlooking city, and the complimentary breakfast was outstanding!!! Location was good too!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    We loved it.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the room and the location was excellent. Near great restaurants and many historical sites. We were there on a medical issue and the location we had to visit was only 6 walking minutes away. Our only complaint is that the coffee in room 101 wasn’t kept fresh. I know that is trivial, but to us old caffeine hounds it’s pretty important. The breakfast setup was behind schedule also, again a trivial complaint. Overall, this is an excellent place to stay. We have service dogs and the staff was so understanding. Thank you Andrew Pinckney employees.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    Great location in historic district but our last minute booking ensured us their dumpiest room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was so small and the only window was open to another lobby. The mirrored closet door was cracked, making us nervous to use the closet. There was a peanut (or cashew) on the floor when we came in. Overall, very cramped room that was mostly bed for a high price. The inn was also under renovation and we were staying in the building across the street instead of the one on the booking.com advertisement. The staff offered to switch us for our second night but we opte to just leave early.

    The location was fine. The breakfast area was really cure and overlooked the battery.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Not sure I’d stay again for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid a lot for a suite with a non functional sofa bed. There are also multiple buildings (not mentioned) and enormous sets of stairs - no elevator.

    Staff,location and breakfast were amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful location in a charming hotel that started off unpleasantly by being reprimanded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem with the reservation I made on Booking.com. They said they were unaware that I was traveling with a child and that they did not honor requests made on Booking.com. There were a few tense minutes when they said they were unsure that they would have a rollaway bed for the 10 year old and they were unwelcoming and bordering on rude.

    Location is wonderful and lovely rooftop terrance,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Quiet location, comfortable bed, helpful staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quiet location, comfortable bed, helpful staff, good breakfast (more options than your typical continental breakfast), great location, nice happy hour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable; very courteous staff whether it was front desk, housekeeping, hospitality, or valet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest that they have fans in the bathroom. Our room, #305, does have a fan installed but there wasn’t a switch to activate it.

    Bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Noisy luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to the service door for a restaurant. It was very noisy when they threw out the trash after midnight and took deliveries before 7 am. Room was also across from a common room where people talked loudly while we were trying to settle down for the night. Our sleep quality was very poor for the entire stay.

    Great location. Can walk almost anywhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Pretty southern room- helpful staff- friendly and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was next to elevator and noisy as folks congregate in hallway and chat

    Breakfast area and afternoon wine We were given an upgraded room with a jetted tub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful experience and we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Configuration of bathroom was very cramped.

    Location of the hotel within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see. A quiet room with a very comfy bed. Eating breakfast outside overlooking the City, refreshments available all day and in addition, a wine and cheese reception every afternoon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    I loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were super thin. The woman next door was sick and coughed all night long both nights. It was a really gross wet cough and she would spit at the end. I can give such great detail because the walls were so thin it was like she was in the same room with us. I guess I should be grateful it wasn’t someone on their honeymoon. It’s a very charming old building built in the 1800’s I think so there’s probably nothing they can do to address the thin walls. Maybe they could blow in some insulation or something. The lobby was under construction although that wasn’t mentioned at booking. Part of the reason I chose this hotel was because I liked the pictures of the lobby and could picture myself by the fireplace there. That was disappointing. The staff at breakfast on the veranda was a little too chatty. 😬 The coffee was empty and all the tables were dirty while she chatted for 30 minutes with some guests. Several parties cleaned off tables themselves so they could sit down. No tables were wiped. She just kept talking.

    I loved the location. Beds were very comfy. Room was a nice size. The veranda has a lovely view and the breakfast buffet was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Felt at home!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Interior Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was so kind! The entire staff went out of their way always to make sure we were well! The way to ines heart is food and it’s a nice touch that there is always coffee, cookies, cheese, apples, teas etc. I really felt at home!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    We highly recommend the Andrew Pinkney!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect! We were able to walk to dinner every night. And Market street was right outside the door. Several museums and old homes were nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendliest of staffs, excellent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setup of the bathroom was a little inconvenient, but remembering it's an old house with little options of moving things, it's ok.

    Great location, friendliest of staffs, excellent breakfast and awesome atmosphere. Will definitely book again in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Amazing location for a long weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great, no complaints.

    Amazing location, tons of great food and attractions are very walkable from the hotel. Staff was great. Really nice continental breakfast as well as wine and cheese at 4:00pm each day were very nice. Also offering gym passes for the facility around the corner is a nice touch for anyone staying for a few days or longer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    Grade B - lots of potential but unfulfilled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Improve the overall building, especially the exterior - almost looks like a prison. Also the receptionist Thursday morning didn't have a clue on who Andrew Pinkner was and his historic significance.

    the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    The room, though small, was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, though small, was beautiful. The staff was incredible even dealing with the snow, ice and incredible cold. Breakfast was very good as well as the wine and cheese in the afternoon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    We love Charleston!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To have to pay an additional $25 a day for parking is ridiculous, especially since we stayed in the main part of the Inn and there is a parking lot right there. The bathroom was not as clean as I would have expected.

    We love Charleston and the location of the Inn was awesome. The roof top wine and cheese and breakfast was enjoyable except there was no sitting inside out of the freezing weather. Being able to get hot tea in the lobby each evening was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location but expensive hotel for the facilites offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception area is too small and the breakfast seating area has to be outside (rooftop terrace), which was impossible when we travelled, since it was freezing cold outside. Too expensive for a hotel without breakfast area, no bar and a minimal reception.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was beautiful and very safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 401 was great, except for breakfast being served 10 feet from the door. If you have this room expect to be awake very early.

    The hotel was beautiful and very safe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    My complaint is with booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Petite Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My complaint is with booking.com and not the hotel. When I booked I was told that the room rate was about $200 a night with tax. After my stay, I realized that I was charged about $300 for the second and third nights. I blame booking.com for not making it explicit that the room rate would change after the first night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    3.8
    Really poor experience in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior Petite Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid quite a high price for two rooms without any window. There is no place to have the breakfast other than the rooftop outside, so when the weather is not not good, you can take your breakfast in your room, which are the smallest I ever had in the US. Any apologies from employees of the hotel... So we had a really poor experience and certainly would not recommend it.

    Only the location of the hotel can be positive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Mediocre service. Beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet took my keys for parking without communicating that there was a $25 cost. The parking lot was right behind my room and is a part of the property. He parked it under a tree and the next day I received it covered in bird droppings (all over the windshield and hood). The at checkin I did not receive any info about valet parking either. The other property I frequent is very transparent about parking. My room was next to the street, which I enjoyed until the city started waking up. Definitely no sleeping in! Also, the maid came in the room at 9:30 without knocking.

    Location, Location, Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    There is a place to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a horrible loud noise every morning at 6 oclock, trash truck or cleaners or recycling. Not the best way to wake up. The valet parking is a rip off. The reception staff is not kind at all.

    Lovely inn, in the heart of the beautiful historic centre. Nicely decorated. Our suite was great, bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    Had never been to Charleston before so we enjoyed our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee pot in room. Had to walk across the street at 5:30 am to get coffee in lobby. Thought the room was over priced. Front desk people not very friendly.

    Bed was comfortable. Location was great. Valet people were great. Lady who did the afternoon wine and cheese was delightful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with fantastic staff in a great location to see Downtown Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, full of incredibly friendly staff who went above and beyond to make our stay great. (They even cooked us bacon for breakfast when we noticed they had changed the options one morning) Couldn’t ask for more

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Great stay. I’ll look them up on my next visit, and recommend others do the same.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the bathrooms isn’t exactly “weak”, but it could definitely benefit from a bit more. Also, (and this is very much a subjective thing) the bathroom sink is outside the bathroom door, in the common area. Some may find this to be a plus. Many will be indifferent. Personally, I’d prefer it to be within the bathroom itself.

    Convenient location to much of what Charleston has to offer leisure travelers. Room size is ample. Beds are very comfortable. Rooftop deck is a nice option for having breakfast. Breakfast is excellent by comparison to most hotel/motel breakfast offerings, having several high quality choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    My stay in Charleston was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in room 202 and the noise from the street was awful, room had no mirror in the room only in the bathroom, I mentioned it to the desk. I asked at the time I booked for a king bed and one was not available, my reservations was made 3 month ahead of my arrival. I did call ahead just to remind them of my request.

    Loved most everything, the staff was excellent, friendly, warm and caring. Breakfast was lovely, clean room and bathroom, location perfect, bed was great after a wonderful day of walking, no complaint. I look forward to returning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    On balance, OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other than the ceiling light above the entry door, there was only one one light -- on the night stand. So, if you wanted to read something after dark, you did so in bed. No desk/small table. Night stand, two chairs and dresser-- that's it. No place to put down a cup of coffee or the breakfast tray when it was too cold to eat outside or/if the two small tables and three smaller coffee tables on the second floor "lounge" were full. One wastebasket -- in the bathroom & small -- for the entire hotel room. No room safe or equivalent. Mattresses pitched to the nightstand side of the bed.

    Location is great. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The ladies cleaning the room were excellent. Interesting architecture of the hotel and its interior. Good internet service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Footsteps and creaks from room above was annoying, but it’s a very old building.

    Excellent location. Wine and cheese cocktail on the roof top was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Very nice I will stay again, but ask for a nicer room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had no window with an outside view just a window with a blind I kept closed because it looked out on the hall. The bathroom exhaust fan did not work and the toilet rocked, need to be re-set.

    The complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese was a nice bonus. I liked the 4th floor terrace. Also it was centrally located to everything which is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    It was good. Great dinner recommendation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All documention said parking was $20, including in the room. When we arrived we were told it was 25. Confusing and they should have fixed it on line and in the rooms as they announced it. When I brought it up at checkout, I felt that the staff member that I was talking to, was very condescending in his answer.

    Easy location to what we wanted. Staff was generally very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    The Andrew Pickney provides A triue Charleston experience .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the trip - personal/ family there is no complaint.

    Staff friendly, professional and provided great customer service! Accommodations -room comfortable and peaceful in colors and bedding Location : perfect for ease of car and walking events Valet service excellent For an experienced traveler - the Andrew Pickney hits all the reasons one would want in a hotel of the Pickneys size. The Andrew Pickneys description on the website is accurate -

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Staff & location are great, a nice find for a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls were very thin, and hotel noise was an issue (unavoidable with an older building). I downloaded a whitenoise machine on my phone, which helped. Would have been nice to have robes in-room.

    This hotel had the best bedding/pillows/sheets I've encountered (soft and plush). Location was perfect, easy walk to tourist areas and the free shuttle, while also being on a quieter street than a lot of the other hotels. Continental breakfast always had a hot option. Staff was superlative, worked hard to get me and my parents into our rooms early and next door to each other.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    We would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would get rid of the pillow shams on the beds! They are hard to keep clean, and someone had overlooked a stain on one of them. Other than that, the bed was very comfortable and the sheets were soft.

    Location was great, and the outside patio for breakfast and wine and cheese from 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM was lovely. Both were included in the room price and were delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Palms, skyline, history, ten stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was well.

    Excellent Staff, Mrs Elizabeth Morgan's knowledge of INN and Charleston unmatched. From the roof top and skyline she makes one feel welcome and part of the town. The Inn becomes your launch point.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Charleston is a wonderful place for walking. Very pleasant, except for humidity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Petite Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was more like Holiday Inn Express than expected. Rooms were relatively small with little space in the bathroom for toiletries. Air conditioning units were fairly loud.

    Very convenient to everything. Generally a quiet area. Pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Great location, delicious breakfast and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I stayed in was very noisy - street noise. Early morning trucks woke me up.

    Lovely breakfast and deck to sit on. Comfortable beds and nicely decorated rooms. Staff helpful. Really good location - close to the market and many great restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Historic Inn that oozes Charleston charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic Inn that oozes Charleston charm!!! Service was outstanding! Loved our room and easy to walk to shooing and restaurants. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    nice room, fabulous location, great breakfast included,could use a bit more training for some staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some staff outstanding, and pleasant, others, not so much- a bit rough around the edges, a bit rude.

    Convenient location - walkable to just about everything. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    This was a beautiful hotel in a convenient and safe area. I would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room would have been more cozy if there was a soft rug(s) or carpet. It felt kind of cold.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautiful and historic, and the location can't be beat!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    I loved the complimentary wine and cheese when I checked in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the complimentary wine and cheese when I checked in and the complimentary breakfast was amazing. The staff was so welcoming and friendly.i wish I could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was great. Very comfy bed and covers. Very clean and all of the staff were very pleasant. Loved the breakfast and happy hour on the terrace. Excellent location!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel but in a noisy area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right underneath the area where they served breakfast so at 5:30 am the noise would wake us up. Garbage trucks were also around early in morning. No fan in the bathroom

    Nice breakfast but was the same everyday. Always had cookies, apples , water and lemonade throughout the day. Provided umbrellas!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location with lovely extra touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good to have a little more choice for breakfast. Lots of fruit and pastry based offerings but less pure protein.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location close to sights and dining. Comfortable and clean and welcome refreshments a lovely extra touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    The buildings are charming and well-kept, very pleasing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    queen beds would be nice instead of doubles!

    The buildings are charming and well-kept, very pleasing interiors. The wine and cheese was high-quality, and the breakfast was, too. Excellent and prompt service all around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    It was delightful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from above was frustrating when there were children bouncing around and people went up and down the stairs. Breakfast was adequate and not much left at 9:30. Fans on porch would have been good.

    Beds were comfy. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Lovely! We will be back to stay with them again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is wonderfully accommodating for any need or request you may have. Breakfast is included with excellent selections on a terrace for added charm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall we were disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a room at this price, I was disappointed in a few things: the dresser looked pretty worn and the bathroom door locked via a shabby hook and eye. There was also a missing slat in a shutter on one window. Breakfast was very good but was served on a HOT veranda facing the morning sun. Another time of year, this location would have been fine, but other provisions should be made on a day when the heat index tops 100 degrees!

    The location was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly, courteous, and efficient. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Our stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn has etched a place in my memory that won't be easily forgotten
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Continental breakfast was good but scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage would have made it even better. Parking was a little difficult but the valet parking makes things much easier.

    The location truly gave my friend and me a sense of the history and charm of Charleston. Rooms were very quiet all the while the entire hotel was filled to capacity because of the eclipse. Beds were very comfortable and soft.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent apart from expensive parking and no coffee facilities in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Petite Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked to have coffee facilities in room. Coffee and biscuits were available in main building, but not in annex where we stayed.

    The staff were brilliant, the room and hotel location was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: