Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3 stars

2425 Kuhio Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, HI 96815, USA

#52 of 210 hotels in Honolulu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 346 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant place to stay at Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No kettle in our kitchenette room!! Had to boil water in small pot :-(. Very basic kitchen utensils provided. Had to buy our own spatula. Remote didn't match the ty and dvd didn't work...had to get replaced. At the time we were there, the nights were warm, and the air conditioner was quite noisey...couldn't leave on all night! No fans above beds which would be our recommendation for a comfort improvement. Also, the road is busy and quite noisey at times, so if you after peace and quiet, this wouldn't be the right choice.

    We liked the compact size of the place, pool area lovely, kept immaculately clean and tidy and the BBQ was handy for a poolside lunch one day. Room maids very obliging and liked the range of Hawaiian bathroom toiletries placed in our room each day. Was good to have clean fresh towels available as required for the pool or take to the beach anytime. Aqua bamboo is well situated to walk to close by food outlets and the food pantry is only a short walk to get groceries for our breakfasts we cooked in our kitchenette. This resort ticked all the standard/average boxes, totally suitable for couples who are content with decent 3 star accomodation in an up-market/pricey destination. The BEST pineapple shop is just a few doors down, and bus stops a handy 1 min walk from hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.7
    Location and the smaller size of the resort means less...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort could do such more There are no real food and beverage options in the resort at minimum a Breakfast cafe would be great

    Location and the smaller size of the resort means less people

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    excellent kitchen system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough parking lots. you can park in the parking lots of next hotel as same price. but, you can’t take elevator that is only allowed for the next hotel guests. don’t park upper floors.

    excellent kitchen system. a microwave and inductions can be used in the room with a small sink. great location. you can reach the waikiki beach in 3min by walk. and if you are japanese or korean, you will yell because iyasume musubi is next building!! you don’t need to worry about breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Had the best time ever and loved coming back to our hotel. Loved Hawaii will be going again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Air conditioning a bit noisy

    Lovely hotel with friendly staff very courteous had everything. Great coffee machine on ground floor. Great pool and spa. Close to beach and transport. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Old
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Durty and old

    The pictures in booking.com doesn’t looks like the reality. I was waiting something better. In paid more than in others hotels...much better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    The swimming pool area was lovely and the staff very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit small and could do with an update but was clean and comfortable

    The swimming pool area was lovely and the staff very helpful , great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    The location is awesome, a short walk to Waikiki beach (if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is awesome, a short walk to Waikiki beach (if you have to carry a surfboard that’s important). It’s set back from the hustle and bustle of the area, so quiet at night. Loved the pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool area could be cleaner. Lack of parking slots. In the neighbourhood you will be charged about 30 USD.

    Easy check-in and check-out, free wifi, nice reception employees. Large and spacious room. Laundry in the house. Comfortable beds and quite area. Perfect location, just few steps from the beach and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Complimentary shuttle service, fresh lemon water in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary shuttle service, fresh lemon water in reception every day, friendly and helpful staff including reception and room service. Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    While there were quite a few down sides to the hotel the location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The hotel is very tired & badly needs refurbish. Carpets are dark & badly in need of a shampoo, air conditioner noisy, & our room was one of the smallest we have ever stayed in. I am 6'2" & was allocated a double bed. My feet were overhanging the bed considerably. The TV was positioned at a 90 degree angle to the bed.

    The location is ideal. Close to the beach, bus stops opposite & the center of the area. The pool also has a nice tropical feel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main balcony very hard to open and the tv played up for the first ten or so minutes but settled to a decent picture you could watch. Maybe the pool could be heated as the ocean is about 7-10 degrees warmer.

    Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Hotel always clean. overall enjoyed my stay there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    The beds were sooooo comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The second lift broke and was not fixed a week later, it made wait times for lifts very long. I also would have liked if there was a bar area in the pool or reception, but that wasn't a deal breaker.

    The beds were sooooo comfy. I loved how relaxed and maintained the pool area was and the location is absolutely ideal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    The outdoor pool area recently worked on and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture chipped. Bathroom walls peeling. Tub rusted and painted over, with hair still in the tub.

    The outdoor pool area recently worked on and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airco is terribly loud and the building is really oldschool. I missed a bar at the lobby.

    Perfect location! Nice staff and atmosphere. Overall it was really good to stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice location central location in Waikiki Beach with bus stop across the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The building is old, has an old fashion air conditioner in the wall that is very loud, but does the job of keeping the room a nice temperature.

    There was no breakfast included as each room has a fridge, microwave and mine had a kitchenette. The pool area is nice. On Thursday nights, they have a manager's drinks, snacks, live music and lei making for an hour, which is a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    wouldn't go back.. but great location...?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room grossed us out. - numerous Random hairs in the bathroom - towels did not look or smell clean - overpowering musty smell in the room - balcony door didn't work/lock - stains on bed cushions - rips and stains on the curtains nothing about this room felt clean.. and the air unit was so noisy that it couldn't be left on.. but also when it was turned off due to the massive hole that was in the wall to fit it all you can hear is the traffic. If we were staying longer than 3 nights I would have found another hotel.

    The staff were easy to deal with and helpful. Located really handy to the beach just enough to be away from the hustle and bustle. Not too far from Diamond head etc either

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    2.9
    Cleanliness very very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Cleanliness very very poor. Needs renovation. Beat up battered hotel. No second security lock on door. Ceiling in bathroom leaked water over toilet, they never fixed it. Wet sticky Tar in hot tub got on my child. Booking.com asked on the initial reservation if we needed transportation from airport I said yes. It was not provided. We paid double fare to what we paid returning to airport at end of our stay. We only stayed 6 of 10 nights, and moved to a different hotel, The Hilton. Which was 100 times superior and not much more money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Aqua Bamboo and look forward to our return in the future!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfy! The bathroom was nice and clean and We loved the Hawaiian Tropics favours! The flowers left all over the room and the personal letters on the beds added such a warm and welcoming experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    A good budget space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside of the room the property is quite dated- the lobby/reception smells a bit fusty. The place would do with a lick of paint and a thorough clean and it would be good to go- the sunloungers look about 20 years old. The ‘resort’ fee is a scam- you can have free water, coffee or tea (like all other hotels give you for free/complimentary), a newspaper that costs less than $1 and that’s about it- all for $25 a day! Such a rip off (most hotels do it but our previous hotel was much better). You can also get a shuttle to Ala Moana, but a return on the bus is $5.50, so again, struggling to understand where the value is in $25. Other guests were a little unfriendly- one couple seem to have taken up residence and sat in the same place all week (maybe they own the place, they certainly act like it) and got grumpy if you wanted to use the facilities. The ‘restaurant’ never seemed open and is in fact closed two days a week- as if that’s even a thing in 2018- do you want to make money? Also our room faced the street- it was very loud. I live in a flat above the busiest street in Hong Kong and I found it was loud at all times.

    The room we got was lovely- like a studio apartment with a kitchenette and a blender was super good for us. The room was nicely decorated on the 8/F. It faced the street and had two balaconies. Easy to make your own breakfast. The pool had a jacuzzi- a nice warmer after a long hike! Very central too and 2 mins to the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing, can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much, nothing stood out. It is a well run hotel that looks after their guests.

    The staff were great, was nice to have a pool area to go to get away from the crowds on the beach and just relax and read. Having towels to bring to the beach was also a nice touch. Very centrally located, minutes to the beach and shopping.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed slightly disorganised. Only one public bathroom in communal area which needs a key. Bathroom was a bit below average.

    Location was fantastic. Close to beach and good restaurants, including great pizza onsite. Nice pool area, good wifi and free hot drinks. Great Value!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air cons were out of date. They would switch on and off not keeping the temp consistent. Very noisy!

    Staff great, very clean. Decent shower and bed. Stunning pool area!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, closer to the diamond head end of Waikiki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and inconsistent air conditioner! Although most things have been updated here this needs some work.

    Great location, closer to the diamond head end of Waikiki. Cross the road and you’re on the gorgeous beach! Slightly quieter up this end too I think. Loved the pool and hot tub area. Stunning! The cocktail reception on Thursday and little touches like different snacks in the foyer each day were nice too. Great staff. Decent beds and shower. All lovely!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    So spacious for just myself, clean and a decent price for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking on site (not free) is an underground garage that could be a problem for a person who is claustrophobic.

    So spacious for just myself, clean and a decent price for the excellent location. Sitting by the pool, one would never know she was in downtown Waikiki.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Bedroom Suite with Full Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level of street Noise of air conditioner

    Staff staff very friendly Towel towel service Hot tub and swimming area Coffee and newspaper in lobby Bus right outside Location Cleaning staff excellence

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    The elderly lady on reception (I think her name is Fee), is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The older female in the reception. Also the rooms could do with an update, especially the air conditioners

    The elderly lady on reception (I think her name is Fee), is certainly in need of some customer relation education. Her attitude was very sub standard and to the point of being downright rude. She had the attitude of she was doing us a favour by finding us a room. I had many communications with the hotel before arrival regarding one room to have two beds in the room. On arrival she tried to give us a 2 bed room with a queen bed and a sofa bed. She could see that both female persons in the 2 bed room were six feet tall and neither could not spend eight nights on a sofa bed. After much demanding, she found a room with two beds and said that it caused her a lot of trouble by looking for that room. Then over the 8 days, we came to the reception to obtain beach towels or beach chairs, there was not one word of acknowledgement and she did not hand us the towels with any pleasure. It got to the point that we were quite vocal to the other staff of her attitude and we arranged our visits to the reception when she was not there. It was a rather disgraceful performance from one of your very elderly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Aqua Bamboo Hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and the decor was very cute with the bamboo. It was very close to the beach and stores.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location, only a few minutes walk to Waikiki beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit old and the air con is quite loud...good thing is I got my ear plug with me hahaha

    Great location, only a few minutes walk to Waikiki beach. They provide parking at the hotel for USD30. Staff were helpful and cheerful. They upgraded my room after they know that it was my honeymoon trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value, location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac unit a bit noisy, turned on/off throughout the night. Later learnt this is common across many hotels throughout the US.

    Upgraded us and gave us a gift for our honeymoon. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location, close to beach and food pantry and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit loud at night from street noise. Also, he front desk booked us a taxi to the airport and when they arrived they only took cash, which wasn't very cool of the desk to book a cash only taxi for us.

    Great location, close to beach and food pantry and restaurants etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    This is a very nice older hotel about three blocks from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a very nice older hotel about three blocks from Waikiki Beach. The staff were great. We really felt welcome. We also especially loved the Pizza place on the property. They do only plant-based (vegan) pizza, but my wife and I (non-vegans) really loved the taste, texture, thin crust - it was all awesome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    Adequate but disappointed with lack of staff help
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Initial room was damp/musty. Staff tried to freshen it up twice with no luck. Asked to be moved - was given a much smaller room. Was told a larger room would be available the next day but it was given to someone else. Also rooms were VERY noisy.

    Good location.Beds comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    I’d come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    Common areas, pool, free coffee, location right in the centre of Waikiki, view from the room, good complimentary choice of beauty products.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.4
    We did not have high expectations and was for the most part was as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our lanai looked over an alley way with "street" activities very visible and directly into another unit.. extremely noisy from the street.. sketchy neighbourhood that I would not be comfortable walking through unaccompanied or want teens or younger walking alone either..a higher unit might have helped (4 th floor) the unit is functional though very dated and worn.. it is not a place I would stay for an extended stay but it served our overnight transition requirements.

    Bed we're decently comfortable.. appreciated having lots of pillows..nice touches like the flowers in the towels .. the pool area while small is nicely laid out and the landscaping detracts from the rustic area of its location..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    Dingy and time-worn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very aged, rooms are dingy, dark, and uncomfortable. Furnishings are worn out. Lizards and cockroaches everywhere.

    Good location in the heart of Waikiki

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.9
    Fun! Good place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 concierge was very good, the other very poor and they gave different information. Our door did not open most of the time.

    Location, Pool, Towel service, Free coffee and water

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit difficult to adjust correctly and I dislike bath/shower hybrids full stop.

    Our name was printed on the welcome information sheet. Great in-room coffee. The location is convenient too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Location for price was good-
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive $30 a day- ridiculous! I parked a few blocks away for free, the bath tub had rust stains, water pressure wasn't very good and the water water didn't get hot, the hot tub wasn't as hot as I like, at check in we were advised the Navy were in town and they had just been paid- unsure why or how that would be at all relevant information for us? Some of the staff didn't even acknowledge us and were rude, My key card didn't work a few times, the front door locks at night and my key card wouldn't work- the security guard out front and the staff inside did not ask if they could help me. Not great customer service from many staff- the ones who were good were great though

    Great location, some staff were very friendly, kitchen amenities were good, the Hawaiian Tropic shower products were awesome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location and handy if you don't plan to stay in your room much
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not very clean. I had multiple instances of stained towels and linens/sheets, which I had to report. To their credit, the hotel staff quickly acted on it The room was also quite stuffy and dusty.

    The location is great as you're only a 5 minute walk to Waikiki Beach and a 2 minute walk from shops and restaurants. They offer a free beach towel service and have a good arrangement with a local airport shuttle service that's very cost effective. They have a decent drinks machine available for use all day and some cookies/fruit for snacks in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic customer service with all info needed to spend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic customer service with all info needed to spend eventful week in paradise, fully equiped rooms with kitchenette and daily cleaning services, quiet neighbors.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Would be nice if not for the terrible noise issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy!! Busy road right outside and no noise insulation whatsoever. Also noise from the fridge - with no way to switch it off. Air-con also super noisy.

    Nice, helpful staff. Few minutes walk to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    Great friendly and helpful staff, good coffee in lobby, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were barebones, but well kept. We booked three rooms and they were all very different from each other in size, plus one room didn't have the two beds we requested - staff brought up a cot when asked but that's not a perfect substitute.

    Great friendly and helpful staff, good coffee in lobby, good location for price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.4
    Okay for those who only need a place to sleep/shower, and don't care about amenities/cleanliness.
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While the employees and front desk staff were polite and ready to help, and the valet service and bell service was good...the room itself felt grimy and unclean. The sheets looked and seemed cleaned, but there was hair in some areas as though the washing didn't catch it. The bed itself was not comfortable and the pillows were all firm. Most hotels provide a variety of pillow firmness. The towels were dingy, did not smell clean (or dirty...just blah), yellow-stained, and also had strands of hair. The first time I went to use the bathroom, I noticed two yellow dots on the seat...not sure if that was urine or a yellow soap or?? The seat meant for the desk provided was disgusting. There were crumbs on it, strands of blonde hair, and a sticker from someone who may have purchased a item of clothing and taken off the size (Medium) sticker and left on the chair. I did not feel comfortable in touching the remotes; overall...nothing in the room felt clean, looked clean or enough, or gave an aroma of cleanliness. I had to buy lysol wipes to wipe down on my own. I appreciated the coffee and water provided; perhaps breakfast items should be provided...at least for the guest who is on the go...there for business. Again though...the employees were awesome; very helpful and polite.

    The coffee and water offered each morning and friendly staff. Valet is a plus, but there are times that parking may not be available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    jacuzzi was being "renovated" & noted 3 days duration with pool open throughout however not pleasant to have workmen doing repairs, angle grinding/concreting whilst trying to relax by the pool - also not sure 3 days would have been enough. Hopefully an improvement at the end of works.

    Great price, convenient location only 2 blocks from beach, easy walk to shops/restaurants, supermarket (Food Pantry) nearby, courtesy bus (tip: use wifi to track bus arrival rather than rely on reception estimates which were way off), friendly staff, complimentary tea/coffee/fruit in foyer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall, a good place to stay for self-catering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Suite with Full Kitchen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air con was wall units which were noisy.

    Aqua Bamboo is a block or two back from the beach, which is no problem at all, especially if the beach is not your main focus. Our one bedroom apartment was roomy and quite well equipped for the self-caterer. A DVD player was an unexpected bonus. Hotel is adjacent to regular pick-up points for tour operators. Staff were helpful when needed. Wifi was free and refreshingly fast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.6
    Boo the BAMBOO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough time. Online description of the facility commented on updated accommodations, as well as some reviews. I saw NOTHING renovated. The room had a mildew ambience, needed some paint, clean sheets and a little room to move. I'm 67 years old and I've NEVER seen towels this disgusting. I'm hoping my some-timers conditon doesn't kick in and I mistakenly rebook.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    We will be back to our home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Very quiet and comfortable. The staff are welcoming and willing to help. Love the privacy. The Lovin Oven has the best eats. Will be back❤️

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area is OK. Could be decorated more nicely.

    Nice location in the heart of Waikiki. 2 minutes away from the beach. Rooms are quite big with a kitchen and very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Very clean. Staff always maintaining and cleaning. Very friendly staff and helpful. Would recommend to anyone who is thinking of visiting Honululu. Only 5 mins walk from beach. Stayed here for our honeymoon

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Strategic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strategic location. Along Waikiki and very near to International Market. Bus stop is just opposite hotel. We stayed in Studio style room and were satisfied with all features and clealiness. A notch better than the air bnb unit we booked before Aqua Bamboo thought at slightly higher price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    My second time at the property. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were so thick and hard. Stiff neck in the morning. Rooms could have benefitted from ceiling fan.

    Beds were comfy, but needs softer pillows. Staff super !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    It was nice and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was loud. Dual pane windows would probably have helping to reduce road noise. It would have been nice if the pool was heated. I wish there would have been a shuttle from the airport to the hotel.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice having a kitchen. The lobby was nice It was nice to be so close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    great place to stay in waikiki - good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is a bit old and the facilities are a bit dated, would need a renovation, however it was all very clean, so i cant really complain about anything

    really nice little hotel - we had fresh orchids in the bathroom on the towels, which was a nice touch. the toiletries provided were really good too. The room was on a smaller side, however it was equipped well and we found everything we needed. The reception staff were quite helpful and nice as well. A great value for money option in central Waikiki

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    Good accomodation in waikiki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff gave poor information about how to move along the island, often unsmiling and no greetings.

    Excellent position for waikiki's life and for buses. Room clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Awesome location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, just around the corner from the beach. They offer clean towels for the beach or the pool along with chairs, mats! Staff were very friendly and very helpful and always happy to give recommendations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    The pool was nice and the staff was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were never changed and I stayed for a week. And the floors were also never swept. I was also charged an extra $50 service deposit and then it took more than a week to get the money back.

    The pool was nice and the staff was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Loved my stay at the Bamboo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air conditioner was a little loud and old, but worked well regardless. I was told that the hotel is upgrading these in December though, so they are working on improvements.

    From the moment we arrived the staff were exceptionally friendly and professional. The hotel is old style Hawaiian and super clean. The pool area is great with ice machine and restaurant. Free DVD rental, in room wi-fi and shuttle to shopping centre. Just a short walk to the main street and about 10 minutes to the beach in front of the Royal Hawaiian hotel. Loved my stay here!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.8
    Good customer service with disgusting housekeeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two studios booked....Housekeeping was terrible and gross. Didn't change the bedsheets that were thrown on the floor .For example one day we took off our bed sheets to place it on the floor and housekeeping used the same sheet to make the bed. Additionally Torn sheets and stain sheets were visible . The bathroom was not vacuumed or swept because the same item that was on the floor was visible through the duration of our stay. Last day of our stay we encountered a huge cockroach coming out of our closet. I'm not surprised given the lack of cleaning.

    Customerservice and staff were accommodating and friendly. The location was convenient and very close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    The hotel seemed like it really needs a renovation because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed like it really needs a renovation because the lighting and set up in the lobby seemed very outdated. And the AC unit in my room was constantly shutting off then I would have to get up in the middle of the night to reset it for it to shut off about 30 minutes later.I could go down a list of things I disliked in the room or hotel in general. The hotel was very cheap but for the price I paid,I was expecting a little more for my money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    The location was great two blocks off the beach with lots of surrounding activities. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and ok but an it dated, no view from hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Not close to as awesome as Aqua Pearl
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a king bed, got 2 fulls instead. Rock hard pillows, an a/c that had a filthy filter, & kept shutting off/on, sheets were rough due to pilling. Hot water in shower was barely lukewarm. But other than that....

    It was in a good central Waikiki location. Easy walk to all of Waikiki.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location. I was aware of the street facing traffic noise but no worries
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No complaints

    Loved the fresh apples daily and percolated coffee (I didn't use the one in the room as my friend is not a coffee drinker). My previous stay in 2011, I commented on the soft mattress and was delighted that this has been rectified. Had fun with Dylan on the front desk as he resembles Buddy Franklin, Sydney Swans AFL player (checkout the photos in reception)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.8
    Noisy Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise could not sleep stayed in room 402 Air Con in room very noisy plus outside noise from road very loud. Would not stay again.

    Everything you need in room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains didn't block out the light so difficult to slept. Road noise all night made it difficult to sleep too. Plenty of coffee supplied but tea would also be nice in the room

    It was nice to have a bath. Spacious room fully equipped. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Allowing us to change rooms when we found our original...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The original room we had was very noisy (traffic and air con) which made it impossible to sleep.

    Allowing us to change rooms when we found our original allocated room very noisy was much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, close to beach and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent location, close to beach and shopping. The staff were very friendly and accomodating - I would recommend this hotel as a good value for money stay in Waikiki.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    This hotel needs some renovation and cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities, not clean at all -the corridors smells horrible and there were some bugs in my room. Not enough value for money!

    Perfectly located 2 minutes by foot from the waikiki beach. The staff at the reception were nice and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel just 2 blocks from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Free beer!

    location, in room kitchen, pool area, staff, amenities. Nice small hotel with everything we want. We have stayed here 6 times and never had a bad experience. Perfect rest stop for those making a round trip to Oz. Jet Drag Lag goes away here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Value for money in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, out of date decor and a leaky air con unit

    Staff did all they could to make it an enjoyable stay. Location is excellent, value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    6.3
    Dissapointed. Was expecting a much nicer resort for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Suite with Full Kitchen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bedroom suite with full kitchen is much smaller than pictures suggest. It would be ok for Parents with 2 kids. Room could use update. It was very noisy lots of street noise and no way to close bathroom window. You must have ear plugs to sleep. Hot tub way too small. Managers reception drink and food a dissapointment.

    Loved the location. Pool area was nice. Staff friendly and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.6
    the property was one of the cheapest but it was definatly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel could really do with a bar so that you can enjoy a drink if you dont want to venture out. The pool only gets sunlight from around noon to 3pm

    the property was one of the cheapest but it was definatly worth the money. the room was huge with two double beds for my friend and I, and they were comfy too! the kitchenette made it easy to cook meals too. they offered free beach towels. the location was fantastic, a short stroll to the beach and the shops

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    Calm retreat in the heart of Waikiki
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stone floors always felt a bit dirty.

    The staff were amazingly helpful. Free transport to Ala Moana shopping centre via shuttle. Easy walk to beaches and zoo, shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.3
    Good value old-world hotel for Waikiki beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was variable, elevators were under-going repairs, air conditioning units were noisy.

    Faded glory and in need of a refresh, this well-worn hotel, five minutes walk from Waikiki Beach, is comfy and functional. Nice mid-century Hawaiian-style decoration and features gave it a friendly vibe. Desk staff attentive. Excellent swimming pool, cabanas and small spa. Book exchange and free coffee in the lobby. Concierge service was knowledgeable and helpful. Close to all services; supermarket, restaurants, rental car hire, cafes etc. The in-hotel pizza bar looked good but we didn't try it. Good value for money in an expensive area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    A good stay overall :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Room with Partial City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy air con, the twisty thing that rotates the the lower glass panels was broken

    Amazing location - it's central to everything Room was really tidy and clean when we arrived Wifi worked well

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    Great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Kitchenette Partial City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the staff members at the front desk wasn't cheerful and didn't seem happy to book a taxi for us to go to the airport the next day (didn't even look at me to acknowledge she would do it). I almost felt like she wouldn't book it by the way she acted. Calling the taxi with the customer there would give satisfaction.

    Great rooms. Loved the DVD service downstairs (getting the range expanded would be a great idea). Beautiful pool area with pizza kitchen.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aqua Bamboo Waikiki traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: