Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ascot - Inn at the Rock 3 stars

260 Morro Bay Boulevard, Morro Bay, 93422, USA

#5 of 33 hotels in Morro Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception was not friendly at all - I had a feeling that the lady had other important things to do... However the lady who served the breakfast and cleaned the tables was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needed alot of upkeep and because there were holes in the drapes etc. It felt dirty. The fire place was broken and even shower curtain was torn. I'm sure at one time the establishment was beautiful.

    I enjoyed the jetted tub and the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy room style. Central location. Great view from rooftop. Good breakfast. When entering Morro Bay we expected less - this hotel was a pleasant surprise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laundry room.

    We were very happy with the motel. All California prices were expensive, the Ascot was more reasonable than some we stayed at. In all we had no complaints.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks like an elder.

    The breakfast is eating on the corner near the lobby staring from 8am. The first drink is orange juice,apples juice and milk. Hot water,tea and variety of coffee. Pan fried eggs and beef cake on the container are hotter foods. This hotel is enjoying the food more than others. The free red wine is tasting time from 5pm to 6pm on Friday and Saturday only for one hour,because of too tired missed the happy hour, strongly recommended for the best tasting experience. The room was so clean and vintage style but the rooftop is on the forth floor with the best view places.It is an important thing to prepare the warm blanket and jackets and then view sunset at the rock. it's so cold with the strong winds!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    to many moter- cycles, making noise,at 6;30 am .Sat 9;20am, they didn't refill eggs, sausage,ran out of coffee. I had to ask them to for more. Breakfast hours are form 7-10am . . We were not the only ones that notice that there was not enough food for everyone,at 9;30-9;45. Not Good !

    the room was nice, staff were Ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lumpy bed, small pillows, small TV that took forever to come on and change channels. Fireplace that didn’t work and an outdated jetted tub cobbled into the bathroom. Mediocre breakfast, very tight parking spaces, steep uphill/downhill hike to eateries, poor ocean view over roofs of adjacent buildings. Certainly not as nice as their website would lead you to believe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were missing the sofa in the room just had 2 wooden low back chairs and a coffee table. The TV was a cheap flat screen that had 1 speaker and had a very tinny sound to it. bad cutting corners like that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and friendly - they had notified us that the room we booked did not have a working fireplace and offered to switch our rooms, but we did not really care about the fireplace. The room was great - especially the spa tub. We enjoyed complimentary wine hour and then walked to Morro Bay rock - the beach is very close! We loved the rooftop patio with lots of couches and tables and blankets. The breakfast was also stellar with hot items like eggs, potatoes and ham. There also had waffle makers and other assorted breakfast items. The area for breakfast was a little small, but it was not too crowded when we went.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very good breakfast options. Nice location, walking distance to promenade. Under roof parking possible. Sun roof with a nice view. Clean room, nice bathroom with a window to the room. Fire place (gas). The room was tidy and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Threadbare carpet, shower didn’t work- freezing cold or scalding hot, the mid range turned off water. Old and musty smell, 189.00 a night was way out of line.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super soft and pillows fluffy which combined into feeling like you just melted into the bed. The staff was all super nice and helpful, gave excellent recommendations and actively cared about you and your stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looks a little different from the pictures. Specifically, thought the tub was as big as the pictures but was not.

    everyone was very nice and i loved the view from the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Joseph at the front desk was super helpful and polite. He went out of his way to accommodate our two very large surfboards. The room was cozy and the fireplace was a bonus that added that extra touch to the room. The rooftop view was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too big and hard for sleeping; good though for watching TV; the television set was poor quality--right side of screen was dark;

    Breakfast room cozy and "English" in flavor. Spacious room with good light.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fireplaces in the two rooms we looked at did not work. The walls in the rooms are in need of some serious repair. There were patches that hadnn't been painted, there were scratches on the walls. The caulking at the tub was loose and no doubt leaked. The dresser was banged up. The room needed some serious work.

    Great location, off street parking, helpful front desk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    Our experience at the Ascot inn was absolutely Great. We have stayed in many places all around the world and can say that this place is top-notch the people were nice, friendly and very helpful.We will definitely stay at the Ascot Inn next time we’re at Morro Bay. For sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the third time that I have stayed at this property in the past two years and it looks like it is time for from renovating. The property is worn and needs to be freshened up.

    It is a great location and easy to get to everything. Also, the decor of the property is "cutesy"... very ornate!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My last visit here was going to be my last. The room was filthy and run down. The carpet looked like someone vomited all over it, the table top was broken, the windows were very dirty, the walls and baseboards had black marks and scratches as did the furniture. The Ascot use to have high standards that were consistent. No longer is this the case. I do not like staying anyplace else when visiting Morro Bay but do not go there as often because the Ascot, which was our gem, has lowered its standards. Time to update. Lastly, they now serve breakfast on paper plates w plastic ware.

    The staff is great😃😃😃 My room was comfortable and quite which is why I have been returning to this place for many years.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 4posterbed was very comfortable; the gas log fire added extra ambience to the room especially as it was blustery and cold outside. The bath had a Jacuzzi we we also took advantage of.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vending machines. You should at least have one.

    I thought the breakfast was a good variety. The staff was very friendly! The parking was easy and free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fireplace didn't work and didn't receive a balcony. Even though we didn't use the air conditioner at night, the neighboring room did and the compressor kept waking us as it went off and on. The hotel promised a discount for the fireplace, but didn't give us one on checkout because we book through booking.com.

    Staff was nice but didn't follow through with the promised 10% off the room stay. The breakfast was decent for a free buffet, including scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, toast and muffins, yogurt, fruit and juice, waffle maker and microwave. Coffee was very good. View from the rooftop was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have any complaints.

    Loved how our hotel was within walking distance of everything. We loved having lot parking, the only time we had to move our car was upon checkout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 205 in major need of upgrading. bathroom was in need of repair - patched old bathtub rotting caulking - no way would I ever sit in it. Water leaks as you take a shower. Broken tile in front of fireplace., mattress like a rock, balcony was in need of repair - the wood in the balcony was soft, I was afraid I would fall through it .Tv cut in and out, needs replaced. Room is very old and outdated. The hotel is nothing like the pictures advertised. I paid 388 to stay 2 nights not worth it! Never again. Lesson learned.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls and doors particularly in the bathroom are grimy. Use touch up paint or the very least a magic eraser. The carpets are need of some TLC as well.

    The location is wonderful, the wine happy hour is good and the breakfast is good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very comfortable stay in an excellent location. Decent free breakfast and very nice staff. The facilities are a bit old fashioned but overall it’s a nice charming place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    elevator was out which was hard on my 80 year old mom, and there needs to be some sort of lighting up on the rooftop at night... I fell over an ottoman since I couldn't see...

    comfy beds, free wine & breakfast, and good service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs a little refreshing but we still love it. I highly recommend some lights on the steps between the sidewalk and the front entrance. Those steps are dark at night.

    For years, the staff have always been nice, friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need some updating maybe? I like the outdated decor, reminds me of staying at my Grandma's house, lol.. But there were tears in the carpet, stain on the fireplace mantle.. Our clogged sink was fixed immediately tho, service here is excellent.. My only suggestion is that it might be time to update some furnishings and some fresh paint..

    Staff here is amazing, front desk and housekeeping are wonderful! Coffee is great, 7:30 is a little late to begin services tho, if you're an early bird like me😊

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    King with balcony view of power plant. No ocean view from room.

    Wheelchair accessibility good. Near center of town. Big bedroom with fireplace. Gorgeous view from top deck.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was OK but a little firm.

    The staff was excellent. Friendly, helpful, quick response to TV issue. Very nice to have a wine tasting in the evening! Cozy room. Our room had a "retro" feel - sort of like an old fashioned B&B. Nice to have a fireplace in the room, even if we didn't use it. Next time we have to get to the rooftop garden.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was fantastic, 3rd floor with a beautiful view of Morro Rock...Breakfast was excellent, staff outstanding and very detail oriented..we will be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free undercover parking. Great location. Beautiful staff, very friendly and accommodating. Terrific breakfast covering all tastes/great variety (hot, healthy, sweet and great coffee). Roof top area is awesome with lovely view. It was nice having breakfast up there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. Spacious room. Perfect locationfor exploring the town and waterfront on foot. Good choice of eating places to walk to.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the furniture is getting a bit threadbare. It seems like the prices have risen a bit more than we expected for the area - but the room is still a good value.

    The staff is very friendly. Check-in is always quick and easy. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We really enjoyed the complimentary wine-tasting each evening, the complimentary breakfast (very tasty offerings) and the roof lounge. The beds are very comfortable and the deep tubs are a delight.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More options for breakfast and the bed was a bit shaky (but not that bad).

    Close to the beach and easily accessible restaurants. Nice and clean rooms and good views of the rock.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is very tight, both covered and uncovered. Bfast is the exact same every morning. It is very basic and not much of it. I felt guilty taking any for fear other guests might not get any. Lady receptionist was less then helpful and always had a scowl on her face. We were in a second floor room and every night it sounded like the people above us were jumping up and down. I don't believe they were, I think it was just the way the floor reacted to people walking on it.

    Nice view. Good patio on top floor for eating bfast. Easy walk to Embarcadero.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was a little small and therefore pretty crammed

    Friendly staff, great rooms, comfy beds, with a 5 minute walk to the waterfront - we stayed there for one night and would have loved to stay longer

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location at Morro Bay!! Walking distance to some amazing shops and restaurants. Also 2 blocks from the beach!! The room was perfect. Big room! Also has a small refrigerator. The breakfast was really good. (Scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, fresh fruit, Belgium waffles, juice)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had indicated in my reservation that we were celebrating my partner's 60th birthday. The first room they sent us to was atrocious. The room looked dirty. The bedspread the arms of both chairs were worn through the upholstery where you can see the stuff. My partner was very gracious in insisting it's "okay" because he didn't want me to feel bad since I elected the facility. Bu the straw that broke the camels back was the live ants crawling in the dirty bathtub, and two piles of dead ants on the window sill between the bathroom and the bedroom. The staff sent us to the room next door which was cleaner and upholstery not as worn. Some curtains in the hall were torn... Despite the friendly staff, we would never return nor recommend this property. Same breakfast items (old crumbly mini muffins) two consecutive days.

    The friendly staff is definitely the best thing about this property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each restaurant in the area has its own unique qualities. The fact that they are all located along the bay and close to each other makes it’s a plus for customers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Holes in couch and furniture you cannot sit on. They need to update the furniture and carpets.the room had an odor even though it appeared clean.

    The upstairs garden

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    furniture was old and legs on desk was loose. armchairs were worn and threadbare. IRONING BOARD IN CLOSET WAS IN THE WAY.

    Great breakfast and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All was good considering the hotels in the area and other choices. It was again better than anything we could find. There are no 5 star resorts in the immediate area.

    Nice breakfast for the value, friendly staff, great access to the area, compared to other properties for the cost in the area it was a cut above the rest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfy sitting area outside of bedroom available between 11 pm and seven. Needed to let others sleep but the benches were not comfortable to settle in to read. It was too dark to go out walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little soft for our liking.

    Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was excellent with hot and cold choices. There was a wonderful rooftop "lounge" with great views of the rock and sunsets, very comfortable furniture, and lovely plants in pots. There was even an elevator - the missing element for us older people in all the other places we've stayed this trip. It was an easy stroll to the water front and many options for eating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Morro Bayis a beautiful spot we picked from a Google map. We were pleasantly surpised with the laid back nature of the town and the shops and restaurants at the pier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in need of updating. The canopy was dusty. The tub panel was falling off. The property seemed tired and was still living in the 60's, maybe 70's.

    The Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated decor, lamp didn't work, cable remote control didn't work, fireplace didn't work and the door to the bathroom had to pulled very hard to close

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very pretty and old fashioned; in a good way! Beds were comfy and the location cant be beat ( waterfront, restaurants, antiquing, etc.) The rooftop deck is fabulous! Very sunny and modern with couches and a spectacular view. Nice view of "The Rock" from our room as well and a tasty breakfast to boot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd tv in room Did not work! Told staff and did not help me or give me a discount! Also could not connect to wifi no help from staff when told the problems!! Too expensive for what was there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff seemed courteous but stressed, not really friendly. This may have been circumstantial, so I wouldn't put too much emphasis on it. I have bad days myself! Also, all of the hotels in Morro Bay are a bit pricey, and this is one of the most expensive, but I suppose the location demands it.

    Comfortable, clean, fairly private. We are repeat customers because of the location and the larger rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot and the air conditioner sounded like a train so we could not use it. The lobby is locked at 11 PM and there is no staff at night. We were on the second floor and It was kind of creepy getting ice up on the third floor, which is the only place that is available

    There was a nice view on the upstairs deck. The breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows weren't great. There was an insightly stain in one of the chair cushions, and the hall carpets weren't very clean. Didn't care for the smell of room deodorizer. Kind of cloying.

    Breakfast was a great variety. Loved the waffles. Nice wine tasting in the early evening. Close to everything. Staff was very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shrieking seagulls all night kept us from being able to sleep with windows/doors open. Bed was too soft. Parking made it difficult to unload and load luggage.

    Breakfast was great. Roof top area was nice.. Employees were very nice and cordial.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs a remodel bad and the property needs to upgrade and make major repairs. Our balcony had major weather wood damage on railing.

    Room was large

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is entirely subjective, but I like soft, flat pillows. The couch in the sitting room needs to be replaced, one side has no support when you sit down. I could/should have skipped their breakfast---several years ago when we stayed here they had wine and cheese in the afternoon, I preferred that to the breakfast.

    Beautiful view of the rock from our room, and an even better view from their roof top deck!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have used a foam topper or whatever. The breakfast was excellent but they need to brown the sausage better!

    The staff was the best we've encountered in the 30 years we have been visiting Morro Bay. Cheerful, friendly, helpful and accommodating!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Balcony - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inclusive breakfast was a bit limited.

    The hotel, room (clean & spacious) and staff were lovely, the location was good too. The view from the lovely roof terrace was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was also excellent. My dad has been enjoying himself and that makes me very happy. His wife, my mom, passed away june 3, 2016 so this is his first trip alone in over 40 years. Thank you for making this such an amazing experience for him and so stress free for me to book as I was diagnosed with a progessive disease called Multiple Sclerosis in 2014. I appreciate it all. Thank you!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couch in front room was shabby and when I sat on it I went almost to the floor. Bed like a rock in couch. Tv volume in both rooms kept going up and down. The jacuzzi tub had white stuff coming out of it. When I complained all they did was offer a ten per cent discount. I've been going there over ten years but will not go back again. The hotel needs updating.

    King bed comfortable Loved the view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really don't know

    Loved this hotel, location is close to the wharf for shopping or dining. The staff at the hotel could not be more helpful or friendly. The hotel itself is very clean and charming. Some rooms I noticed had a balcony. Our room had a wonderful view of the rock and a lovely fireplace. We made use of the roof top garden, great view from there. Loved everything about this hotel and will be back. The room was a great size. The breakfast which is included runs until 10 every day which was wonderful, since were on vacation and don't want to have to get up early just to grab a bite to ear. We also arrived a little earlier than check in but they were so gracious and gave us the room earlier. The customer service here is over the top, such a rare treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the dirty windows in our rooms. I didn't like how hot and stuffy my friend's rooms were.

    The hotel was classy. It felt elegant but comfortable at the same time. We all loved the rooftop terrace. The only thing it was lacking was a fire pit or outdoor heater. The view was amazing and the furniture was very comfortable. I really loved the layout and size of my room. Two of my friends decided not to book rooms with a balcony and their rooms were smaller and VERY hot & stuffy. We were disappointed about that. All 4 rooms had very dirty windows. That was a bummer because we all faced the ocean but it was really hard to see out of the dirty windows. I was the only one in our party of 5 that chose to eat breakfast at the hotel. I thought the breakfast was delicious. They offered scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, make your own waffles, 3 or 4 varieties of cold cereal, 3 or 4 different fresh baked options like mini muffins and scones. They had juices, water, milk, several varieties of hot coffee, hot water for tea with 3 kinds of tea to pick from. The gravy for the biscuits and gravy was very thin but the flavor was good. The eggs were fresh when I arrived. The sausage was hard for me to eat because it seemed like it wasn't fully cooked (it was but had no color so they seemed uncooked.) I did not care for the sausage but that is an individual taste thing. The biscuits were good. A very nice lady who worked for the hotel checked on and refilled the food regularly. It is an open eating area with small tables and chairs. You sit where you can find an open spot and clear your own dishes once you are done eating. Be aware, if you are coming in late from a night out in town you will have to get back into the hotel through the garage, using your room key. They lock the front door at 11 p.m. Check in and check out were very easy. The lady at the front desk even agreed to giving us a half hour extension on our check out. I highly recommend this hotel!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to be nitpicking it would be the bed was too tall (have to use steps). We are late risers so thicker curtains would have been nice. But in all honesty there were truly no negatives.

    The staff was amazing, accommodating and very knowledgeable about the restaurants and specialty shopping. Everything is within easy walking distance from the property, literally from a short block and at the most three short blocks to the Embarcadero/Morro Bay. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise, alot of variety and fresh.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel need renovation. Some of the furniture was broken. The decode is very old. It has to be updated. The sink had a crack.

    The breakfast was midioker.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking spaces need to be wider. No microwave. Chairs too far from the television

    Excellent view (except for the fog). Breakfast was good. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two armchairs very worn on arms which gave the room an air of being tatty which it definitely was not. Suggest either replace with new ones or have recovered.

    Beds comfy room very spacious, but overdone on flowery drapes, bedding etc. and two armchairs were vert worn but everything very clean which is very important to us. Breakfast could be a little better but since we don't usually eat much it did not worry us. Coffee was good and that is important. Sraff were very helpful and efficient. I was ill with chest infection and the reception desk even phoned to enquire fir us to visit the emergency walk in centre who themselves were most helpful and efficient. Prescribed medication and was not too costly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!! I love this place.

    Good, hot breakfast for a hotel. Dining room is inviting, and if you want, you can go up to the 4th Floor Sunroof and enjoy the view, if it's warm enough. Very comfortable beds and lovely view of the Rock if it's not too foggy. I liked the noise of the sea gulls and the harbor seals, and fog horn. Only 2 blocks from the Embarcadero.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cost for the quality of the room was not worth it. We paid about 200 dollars a night, which is a premium for Hotels on the same street (similar modern room with view is about 130 for a weeknight) and here is why: -The room is aged in a negative way (felt old and dirty) -Carpet is aged. -The tub is aged with what appears to be filled divots and is in disrepair on the outside (I had a mini flood on the floor but I'm not sure if it was because of escaping water or the tub was leaking) -There is a window looking out into the Bedroom from the bathroom. More odd than anything. -Unfortunately the view is blocked by a big tree across the street (not much to do about this one) We certainly weren't miserable at the location, we just felt that the premium paid for the unique venue was not worth it at this time.

    The venue was unique. If you like a unique victorian feel with an older style setup, this is for you. - The fireplace is the room was very nice touch. - The staff were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't recall what we didn't like.

    The staff, Beth and Sean went out of their way to help. Not discounting the other employees, but those two helped quite a bit. The location and view couldn't be better. The traditional breakfast we didn't frequent because we wanted to try the local restaurants. By 9:00 pm the whole town nearly shuts down. How peaceful and quiet, other than the sea lions barking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was stuffy. Furniture was shabby--chair was threadbare. Bed was okay. No jacuzzi tub although that was advertised. No balcony--room was over entrance canopy. Breakfast was skimpy.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was wonderful, especially the waffles! Beverly who checked us in was absolutely wonderful. So friendly and helpful with a beautiful smile all the time. She moved us to a room with a view of the bay with no hassles and more than happy to help. She is a true asset to your company! We have our place to stay from now on in Morro Bay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    $$ expensive room

    The breakfast is amazing ! There is a rooftop over looking the bay with tables and chairs. We watched the sun se- it was amazing. The restaurants and bars were just a walk down steps or a hill. Everything you can want from morro was a minute walk. It was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was too understaffed in the early evening (6:30), causing me to have to wait 10 minutes, before the nice woman was back from her errand. Even though I told her I had trouble walking, she gave me a room that was about as far away from the elevator as one could get. She did move me to a closer room, when I requested it, but this required an even lengthier wait because of her other work obligations. This all was unnecessarily exhausting, after my long drive that day. The upholstered furniture is a bit threadbare.

    The rooms are nice, in an old-fashioned way, with fire places in the two I saw. I liked the jacuzzi tub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Ascot - Inn at the Rock is located about a block from the harbor in Morro Bay, an easy walk to restaurants and shopping. This is a rather charming, English-themed hotel (think tea room?), aimed at comfort. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms all appear to face the harbor and Morro Rock. I will say, if you want to see the Rock from your balcony, request a room on floors 3 and 4; we couldn't see much of it from the 2nd floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: