Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Asticou Inn 3 stars

15 Peabody Drive, Northeast Harbor, ME 04662, USA

#3 of 4 hotels in Northeast Harbor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 58 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Location was good but lack of amenities at the inn was a disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning or tv. The wallpaper was curling off walls in places, paint chipped, bathroom small, not ventilated, and not thoroughly cleaned.

    Wonderful location......gardens were beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Essentially a nice enough hotel but over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ok, but for a $250 a night hotel it is lacking in many things that I would expect. The room had no tv, air conditioning, no coffee making facilities in the room. There is WiFi but it continuously dropped out. For an additional premium you can pay for a sea view, but this is a big gamble as there was no view for fog the entire time we were there, apparently not uncommon. Breakfast buffet provided, which was disappointing.

    The hotel is comfortable, scenic, has plentiful parking and friendly staff. There is an outside pool and the restaurant is pleasant. Rooms are clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    The oceanview was heavenly, and the room was spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the windows and fences could have stood little paint.

    The oceanview was heavenly, and the room was spacious and charming! Also, dinner was out-of-this-world. I had the mushroom ravioli with chicken and my boyfriend had the seared salmon. Except for the young lady at breakfast who was refilling things, every one of the staff was super friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    This is a really charming country inn, superbly located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really dated decor, wallpaper peeling off walls in the bathroom. No air conditioning in the rooms - could have been indicated more clearly/prominently on the website. Wifi service extremely spotty. Tiny elevator that must be operated by a staff - not good for someone needing mobility assistance.

    This is a really charming country inn, superbly located across the street from Asticou Azalea Gardens and with a lovely view of the harbor. Island Explorer Route 5 shuttle picks up and drops off on request in front of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Pretty but dated. Bring ear plugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst part was probably the thin walls, you could hear everything going on upstairs and downstairs. I went two nights sleeping an average about 4.5 hours a night. Parking got hairy when the restaurant was crowded. Dated bathrooms and no air conditioning.

    Beautiful grounds and location with lovely staff. The breakfast was a treat every morning since it was both well stocked and tasty. The housecleaning staff did a good job with what they could. My room was cleaned and taken care of everyday - we even left friendly notes to each other. This spot could be a real gem with facility updates.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    A magical setting that preserves a golden age--secluded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Temperamental shower temperatures and thin walls could be disturbing to some--we found these a small price to pay for the pleasure of staying in one of the lovely historic building of the late 19th century, a rare survival of this era on Mount Desert Island.

    A magical setting that preserves a golden age--secluded between azalea and terrace gardens and ocean, with marvelous food and approachable, thoughtful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast which was included in the price was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was extremely small, the decor needed a little TLC and we had issues getting enough hot water.

    The breakfast which was included in the price was wonderful. The bed was super comfortable and the people were really nice. The location was great and the pool looks beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Very charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small but comfortable.

    The Asticou is a very charming hotel. The view was very nice and the food was delicious. Coffee also amazing. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Quaint accommodations in a beautiful park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was a little small. Wish there were more restaurants nearby.

    Appreciated the breakfast. Staff prepared a breakfast takeout for us on the last day because we had to leave early— thx! Quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    This hotel is old but has a lot of character. The views are tremendous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little noisy. We moved rooms and upgraded to a balcony with a view. That improved our stay. There is no elevator but the staff will assist you to use the staff elevator which is very old. We thought the restaurant would be better if it used white linens but as the outside deck is wonderful it is not a. If issue.

    Views are tremendous. Rooms are old but roomy Bar and wait staff were great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing. Promised much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was terrible - no shower head. Bed terrible - creaked every time you moved. Pillows size of postage stamps. Way over-priced.

    staff and setting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Very restorative, restful and fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms lack air conditioning, but window fans are provided.

    Very comfortable classic inn with an attentive staff and extradiordinaryly good food. Beautiful setting in Northeast Harbor, convenient to Acadia National Park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    We stayed two nights at the inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we stayed in needed updating. Although the bed was comfortable, there were no comfortable chairs in the room. The roller shade kept falling down from window. Noisy traffic heard in the early am.

    Plenty of pillows on the bed ! Eating dinner at the restaurant out on the deck with the view of the harbor was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was quiet, had amazing views of the Harbor and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and bathroom facilities challenging to use. It appeared they reserve a certain group of rooms for these bookings sites and the accommodations may not be as comfortable as the rooms Booked directly through the hotel. The check out was awkward and the quality of service inconsistent. Overall slightly disappointed as I have wanted to stay at this Inn for a number years and had higher expectations of the stay.

    The hotel was quiet, had amazing views of the Harbor and centrally located. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and activities and helpful with suggestions on where to go. The surrounding area is the most beautiful picturesque place you could be. Acadia National Park is a gem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the third floor. Only elevator was staff operated for luggage transport. Bed was hard pillows were wimpy.

    Loved the charm of the furnishings. Couch on the porch. View of Northeast harbor from the breakfast area/ restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    great location, beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no chairs to sit outside unless you are eating in the restaurant or at the small fenced in pool. Would be great to have some adirondack chairs on the hillside overlooking the ocean.

    setting was beautiful, overlooking the water, beautiful gardens

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    Historic Inn still bustling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening registration desk was not nearly as warm and inviting as the morning crew. Thank you Miss Morning for the bright smile, and welcoming attitude!

    We liked the idea that the Asticou is an old historic inn and still grand and alive!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    Pretty setting but lacking in some basic comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on a not-busy morning was scant, ran out of basics like eggs and fruit, took a very long time to replenish. Uncomfortable mattress.

    Close driving distance to Acadia Ntl. Park and Bar Harbor, pretty setting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.3
    Quaint Inn, beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am afraid we are so used to having tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a TV that it was a disappointment not to have them and would have liked them as an option. Bathroom was tiny!

    Beautiful view, nice bar with views over the gardens and water, good informal food at the bar. comfy room and bed, very quaint.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful Historic Asticou Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It cost a bit more than we wanted to spend but that was to be expected, I guess, for the area.

    We loved the overall experience staying at this beautiful historic inn! We literally found it by accident traveling from NH to Bar Harbor and so pleased that we did! The staff was top notch and so helpful with the little things we needed! The view from our room and balcony was just breathtaking as we are from Florida and haven't seen the leaves change in several years. Loved it!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location near Bar Harbor and Acacia National Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location near Bar Harbor and Acacia National Park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Very comfy and cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy and cute. Restaurant and bar was excellent food, drinks and service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    very hot in room, no a/c just a window fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very hot in room, no a/c just a window fan bathtub plug didnt work

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    perfect location for the Northeast Harbor 5 mile run
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a 30 minute late check out which they would not accommodate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was extraordinary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was extraordinary. Clean and friendly old-fashioned inn.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    It was wonderful to share the joy of my Godson’s wedding weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiny elevator is a challenge, as are the steps to the 4th floor, and the low ceilings.

    The charm of the place and the staff. Love the setting!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    The view from the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for shower.

    The view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    I felt I had made the good choice in Mount Desert Island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are large and comfortable. Very friendly staff! Easy access to Acadia National Park

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    2.5
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To old an in bad shape

    The view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Ok for one night, but not more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room way too small. Tub & shower impossible. No grab handles. Not safe.

    Historical old hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    My wife and I had a wonderful time relaxing and taking in the beautiful sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Inn was amazing and the location was breathtaking. Would stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    Pretty place and great location. Room too tiny and pillows awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Food was very good at happy hour and dinner, not great at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in need of renovation.

    Large room and bed. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    No TV and no one told us no tv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV and no one told us no tv

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Everything was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A group of noisy guests/cyclists woke us very early--right beneath our room. Certainly not the fault of AI.

    Everything was fine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    3.8
    The only perk was that we wanted to get out of the hotel so we ended up hiking more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv. Bad breakfast. Restaurant closes too early. Staff refused to upgrade us despite us being one of 2 guests in the hotel. Tiny room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    5.4
    Location and staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facility is very old, thus bathrooms too small, not functional; bathroom could not use mirrors, etc; no tv or internet; considering the building, very over priced, better values in Bar Harbor.

    Location and staff; however the area is very isolated, with little activity.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    location and tennis with Mr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    elevator primitive, wife, who has suffered a stroke had difficulty with the staris. I don't believe the inn is in compliance with the ADM act. The bed was ok, except that, the heavy quilt was too hot and without it, the sheets were too cold.

    location and tennis with Mr.Granholm food,, view. nearby gardens

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    6.7
    Staff was accommodating after it made a mistake on our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked a suite for my family and small dog, but when we arrived the suite was not available.

    Staff was accommodating after it made a mistake on our reservation. We were there at the beginning of the Inn's season and it felt as though there were kinks to work out.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    6.3
    The food and the bartenders were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ghosts

    The food and the bartenders were excellent!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    6.3
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too expensive for very average hotel

    The view

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good value Excellent food with stunning views

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.9
    Location was great for mom and dad who wanted to chill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location was great for mom and dad who wanted to chill. Young adult children found it too isolated.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The staff was excellent and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!!

    The staff was excellent and attentive. The rooms were very clean. \

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: