Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Atwood Hotel San Diego - SeaWorld/Zoo 2 stars

1201 Hotel Circle South, Mission Valley, San Diego, CA 92108 , USA

#101 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2979 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: -room was dirty upon arrival (we had to have maid sweep, change sheets, and clean room when we arrived as the room appeared mearly "picked up" before we checked in.) -second day, sheets were not changed and no towels were left in the room -pool and hot tub are dirty -not enough towels on premises (each day I had to ask from desk for towels (both for the pool and for the room. They only had towels one time I asked, luckily it was the time the maid forgot to put any towels in the room) -walls in the room are very dirty, they desperately NEED to be wiped down. -even after sheets were asked to be replaced, the new sheets had bed bug stains. For the price, you're getting a decent low end hotel, just understand, it's still a low end hotel. Too bad though, a few adjustments and this place could be a much more comfortable stay. At least the staff is very nice and willing to help.

    Pros: -inexpensive -recently remodeled -nice staff (both the front desk and maid service) -big pool and hot tub -convenient/liquor and pizza restaurant on premises Great location, by old town without the old town price. -usb and outlets by bed to charge phones -great WiFi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never seemed to be enough towels/washcloths left for us ( 4 ppl). We had to keep requesting.

    Very friendly staff. Clean rooms. Great location close to everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower wasn't great. Not great water pressure and temp kept changing.

    Convenient travelmart and restraunt in parking lot. Close to freeway. Good place for the price!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sink was very difficult for little ones and short ones (me) to effectively use. No fan in the bathroom - which would have been nice. Our rooms didn't provide seating for the number of people staying in the room. The fridge was too small; we couldn't put left overs containers in it but it kept our wine nicely chilled.

    The beds were comfortable, staff was very helpful, and this hotel was centrally located for all our excursions! The pool and hot tub were clean and cool. We all enjoyed swimming in the afternoons. Plenty of lounge chairs for our relaxing after a swim.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house cleaning staff seemed put off when I asked for clean towels as ours were wet from the beach & the pool. Instead of just taking the dirty towels & handing us clean ones, the house cleaner took our dirty towels, went washed those & brought those ones back to us so we had to wait for clean towels.

    The room was nicely decorated, the beds were comfortable but a little high & a little difficult to get on, and the pool hours were too short, for a vacation location I would have expected the pool to be open later than 8pm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool closed at 8pmi wish the hotel had a communal area (benches or tables) so you could enjoy the evey

    The staff were extremely helpful. One of the managers Anthony helped me out and went above and beyond what was expected. My family and I spent hours in the pool it was quiet, clean and lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool seem to be a little dirty, but there was a lot of kids and family's staying in the hotel . to bad the hot tub wasn't for adults only. Kids used it for their own little pool.

    Very easy to get to everywhere we wanted to go. Staff kept rooms clean. Definitely would go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would be nice to have a laundry area available

    Everything that a hotel should be. Clean,comfortable rooms and convenient location, Staff was friendly and efficient. There is a restaurant, a convenience store, and an ATM on the property. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to many attractions, easy access to freeway..Nicely renovated rooms..Great place to stay for the money....I would recommend this place and look forward to staying there on a future trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    that the toiletries are so minimal and you have to go to the front desk to ask for more

    we had a safe and comfortable stay. the hotel is accessible to the theme parks and there is a restaurant and convenience store nearby for your needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The faucet in the bathroom was very loose. The tub/shower handle was extremely hard to pull out and hot water never came out of the faucet. It did in the sink so we took turns getting clean that way. The door in didn't want to close. The blinds on the back windows were missing parts so that it was hard to get full privacy.

    THe pool was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Pet-friendly
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a little small but otherwise very clean & kept up.

    The stay was above what we thought. We had stayed when it was Travelodge & liked it but we really like everything about the Atwood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Restaurant and convenience store right out front and came in handy several times.

    Super clean and comfortable and affordably priced. Staff was always outside tending to the surroundings, and the housekeepers were very thorough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom sink too high.

    Room was neat and tidy. Staff was friendly, patient and responded quickly to any need we might have had! ( we locked ourselves out of the safe and demagnitized our room keys! ) Best bet for the money and close to freeway. - We had breakfast at The Crust which was good and large portions (priced high, but everything is in a tourist town)...and the coffee was great!!! BTW they open at 7:00 am which worked out well if you like a fresh cup first thing in the AM.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like paint. The restroom was gross. The lock on the restroom door was broken and door kept getting stuck. No hand towels. Tv remote was not working could not Change the tv. The pool was dirty looked yellow. Oh and lots of ants in restroom too.

    The staff was super friendly and inviting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioner in the room was in a far corner and was too noisy. Also the number of power points in the room were fairly limited.

    bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice and quiet, all the staff was really nice , the rooms were very clean and you felt like you were right at home , definitely going back on my next trip to San Diego everything was near by restaurants and entertainment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the room was so dark and didnt have enough light. No alarm clock or tv guide. Pool closed way too late and i never saw a vending machine. Kids skateboarding and running around above me all,night sucked.

    Location was good. Not too far from attractions. Pool was nice they play music which was cool. Room was nice and remodeled. Beds were comfy but the AC could have worked a little better. Staff was super friendly. I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was awful. Small, sink/counter were extremely high. No exhaust fan. Beds were rock hard.

    Location was great. Parking was not a problem. Bit noisy from traffic as I had a street facing room. Pool was clean. Store and delicious restaurant steps away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Pet-friendly
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No central air, tv didn't work, had to call frnt desk to get it going, shower was hard to turn on...old, not enough towels & toiletries had to wait 1/2 hour for someone to bring some.

    No carpet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please put some more paper cups in the room. A room which accommodates 4 persons has only one paper cup is not meaningful.

    Everything was pretty good - staff, location, cleanliness, lighting, amenities all of them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One can feel the smell of bleach (might be used to clean the floor) when you enter afresh into the closed room. A door stopper would have been useful. Hard to find free electric points for charging devices.

    The location was peaceful, ideal for a family stay. The instant coffee sachet in the room was an extra perk. The restroom was clean and provided with basic necessities. Availability of a wired extension for charging electronic items such as the laptop and mobile, close to the working table would have been helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was so pleased with my stay at the Atwood. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are kept so clean. The location is right off the highway making it easy to get anywhere you need to be within 10 minutes. The staff is so friendly and always smiling. I would definitely recommend the Atwood for anyone traveling to San Diego.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The room was immaculate the bed very comfy. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant. Pierre at the front desk was very courteous Great customer service. We highly recommend you stay here. We definitely will be coming back. We were there to celebrate my Bday. We had an Amazing time although it was Memorial Day Weekend the overall noise level was not an issue.btw they have a convenient store fully stocked & Italian deli on the premises. Happy Travels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Pet-Friendly
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator so if you stay on the top floor you have to carry your luggage upstairs

    Very nice from the moment we walked in, always someone there to help. The room itself is just as nice as the pictures, I loved everything about it. There is a pool outside and multiple restaurants right outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first trip to San Diego my experience at the Attwood Hotel by far met all my expectations the staff was very helpful and friendly,very clean and close to everything will stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Pet-Friendly
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon checking in, the man (Albert? Andre?) was on a personal phone call handling his card information. He did not hang up, he did not apologize for making me wait. My partner and I had drove 9 hours and it was now 3:30am and we wanted to sleep. So it was very frustrating to be ignored and have to wait. He also did not go over any of the documentation that I was to sign. The room was VERY noisy. Seriously we didn’t sleep much. We could hear all the footsteps of the hotel room above us and we could hear every voice and car door outside of the room in the parking lot. Also if you’re handicapped physically don’t stay here. The beds and the sink are very elevated.

    Nice looking room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    THe hotel room had a lot of water damage on the inside. The cups were plastic and water went through them. The paint was coming off the doors in the bathroom and the toilet made me feel like i was in a public restroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Pet-friendly
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took a long time for the toilet to fill so that it would flush. Maybe it was a water saver and we stayed just a single night, so it wasn't a big deal. We were pretty close to the freeway, which was loud, but given how tired we were, that was minor.

    Very comfortable. I loved the fact that there was no carpeting and that we had a little refrigerator. It was very convenient to Balboa Park, Old, town, and the zoo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very small. Stayed on ground floor and heard a child running back in forth, most of the night, in the room above us. Neighborhood was a little sketchy.

    Very friendly staff at check-in. Cleanliness of room and property. Location is convenient to restaurants, and downtown San Diego.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I had to ask for the sheets to be changed on one bed as there was hair and a dirty stain in the bed. I had to remake the bed and then ph reception for another sheet as I didn’t get enough. The door was almost off its hinges and I had to put a chair under the door handle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the room would turn cold periodically, but not a deal breaker.

    The staff was amazing! They took care of all my needs and were very knowledgeable of all the attractions I was there to see. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Missing little table for glass of wine or coffee with friends. One more chair if you invited friends to room and changed bathroom windows - they are poor quality,noise resistant will be better.Sink is too high.

    cleanliness,comfortable beding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I checked in, the AC was not switching on manually and the AC remote had not been placed. The personnel at the desk helped me with a remote after some search and efforts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very handy location. Staff very helpful and the room cleanliness excellent. The staff at the crust restaurant were really friendly and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy music and ppl running on balcony. Had to have key redone 3 times couldn't get in apartment

    Guatalope the cleaning lady was excellent and friendly front desk was helpful with directions. Parking spots tight and noisy at 200 ppl running and car parked below window music bladtinh

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken lid on coffee maker, not enough coffee for two people or cups. (Not a big deal)

    Rooms are clean, staff very friendly, great location, good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major construction next door to property. Noise started at 7a.m. My room was right next to construction site. Not very nice. That side of hotel should not be used.

    Clean comfortable rooms. Nice property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just small things: the bathroom didn't have a fan; there were no water glasses and only 2 cups of coffee, 1 decaf and 1 regular, single use only.

    The rooms are good sized and clean. Even though it is close to the freeway, once you close the door it's quiet inside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night there it seemed as if they hadn't changed the sheets and because I pointed out it seemed as if they gave me a little trouble at first but after things got a little better.

    Location was great and the staff were very attentive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very fresh smell when I walked into my room, very clean , great central location , excellent staff & housekeepers !! THANK YOU for a great stay !!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner didn’t work properly, it was extremely loud when it turned on. Staff entered our room when gone to make room improvements and left a mess in the room for us to clean up

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy No towel rack for wet towels Trash truck at 6am was horrible No one answered calls to front desk “Do not disturb “ sign stolen from door 2 days in a row.

    The wood floors were great for my allergies. Bed was comfortable Parking was good Close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waking up to the noise of construction wasn’t very relaxing and the view of the construction site wasn’t very pretty either.

    I really liked how the room was decorated. I was very impressed with how beautiful the room was and for such a great price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in back had no dark shade so light out side window kept room light at night. Construction in back started early, pretty loud.

    Location to Sea World and Old town was great. Good restaurants nearby, walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t understand why the pool closed at 7pm?? With this a vacation destination and your busy sightseeing and come back to hotel after 8pm and you can’t unwind in the jacuzzi makes no sense!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like climbing three flights of stairs to the second floor room.

    Location was good - bathroom and beds were ok. We did not like climbing several flights of stairs to the second floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE ONLY THING I DID NOT LIKE WAS THAT THE FIRST NIGHT WE STAYED THERE WAS LIKE DOGS OR CHILDREN RUNNING AROUND ALL NIGHT, FROM THE ROOM ABOVE US AND WOULDNT LET ME OR MY 1 YEAR OLD SLEEP.

    I LOVED THE BEDS THEY WERE SO COMFY AND ALL THE LIGHT THAT WOULD SHOW THRU WINDOWS, IT WAS A PERFECT STAY.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean enough, the shower was a nightmare and the noise of the a.c. and fridge annoying. The pillows were ridiculuosly cheap. The websit pictures are not true to this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors in the room left your feet and socks black, wouldn’t have minded for the price but I had a 1.5 yr old.

    The location and price. Warm/hot water never went cold.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This place is in the process of renovating but do not charge your guest $130+ and provide this level of quality. I felt like this was a bait and switch. Our hotel room was infested with Mold in the bathroom, tiles had mold, cracks, and the grout in the vanity was popping out. The shower curtain had black spots. The bed sheets/blanket also had stains on them. We got moved into another hotel room and there was no mold, thank goodness! However the bathroom tiles was crack and also had missing tile.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner made a really loud noise every half hour couldn't sleep worth a crap. The crust restuarnt was horrible they screwed up our order then told us they accidentally gave it to another table we waited 45 minutes then finally walked out

    The staff is really great. Easy access to freeways and attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They kept taking charges out a little at a time and it got me confused about how much I actually spent . Some days the maids wouldn’t come till 5 o’clock to clean the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start.... we check in and get the top floor seeing how we have a disabled 5 year old unable to walk and they don’t have elevators only stairs! Then they couldn’t provide a baby crib. The walls were so thin, we could hear the couple next to us arguing about lasagna. We had soap when we checked in... Don’t know what happened to it. The tv remote barely worked, and it was odd how it was set up. After a while, apparently it would turn off, then you hit power and the tv automatically switched to ESPN. We never received straight answers on basic questions. The bathroom door closed, but didn’t lock. On the bright side, GrubHub was able to deliver.

    The beds were ok.....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They would only partly clean the room

    I loved the comfortability of the room. It was very relaxing and the bed was amazing. We also enjoyed the convenience of the liquor store and cafe right next door. The pool was also incredible it was the perfect temperature

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t really like the placement of the a/c; it was on the opposite side of the room where the bathroom was and not near the bed which is where a/c units usually are. So at times I had to really crank the a/c to feel it. Also the bathroom was really small. Could not fit two people in it. The door swung wide-ish and so it would practically touch the toilet.

    It was definitely and older hotel that had been renovated, but it was pretty nice. Bed was pretty comfortable. There was an on-site restaurant, that I didn’t get to try, and an on-site liquor store that was open until 2. Despite it being right next to a major freeway, I didn’t really notice the noise by the time I went to bed. I’m not a light sleeper though. I sleep pretty easily. It was also like 8 mins from the downtown area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HIGHLY overrated. I had so many issues! First, the room faces the pool where music is blasted through speakers, key cards for door didn’t work 9 out of 10 times, giant room windows let in light and noise at night, big gap in room door where peddlars shoved restaurant menus in to, bed box spring has metal brackets that stick out that scrape you as you get into bed, walls and doors have been painted over so many times that the doors stick, everything looks old, and chippy, and run down, walls had patched holes, I had two bugs in the room. A giant mosquito, and a spider on the bed pillow, walls are paper thin, so expect to hear everything about your neighbors, previous guests pubic hair in the tub. A/C was loud and rattling. I am not a picky person AT ALL. The resort is just old, and dingy and glossed over with paint to make it appear clean. It is called a hotel, but is more like an old west motel. There was also a giant pile of bagged planting soil near my room door. The rooms are next to freeway noise. How did they get rated?! You come to relax, but that was not even possible. Never again. This was my daughters first trip in 11 years, and it was not good. They need a re-do.

    Location in proximity to my planned destination. Painting/ Art behind check in desk. Housekeeping was prompt when asked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a decent coffee maker in room or lobby.

    The pool was great, wonderful job renovating the property, and location was ideal for visiting beaches.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No pressure in the shower, no place in the bathroom to hang clothes or wet towels - only one small towel bar, no cups or coffee by the coffee maker, toothpaste in sink and on the wall when we arrived.

    Good location to local activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the bed was hard,but my husband loved it.the pillows were a little lumpy.

    The weather was too cool to swim, but it looked very inviting. The location was fabulous. Very good value! I love older motels/hotels that have been updated. They have character and aren't boring and generic. I will stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable even too sit on, you can feel the springs, in the bathroom there was hair on the sink. On the toilet seat & in the toilet bowl & in the tub & on the towels when you opened them up. the door way to the restroom was obviously just painted, ( there was fresh paint on the floor ) but you could still see the rotted & moldy wood at the bottom....The air conditioner did not blow cold air, just air.

    The young lady at check in & check out was super nice & very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst part- the walls seem paper thin. Check in night which was around midnight, I heard the next door neighbors doing EVERYTHING. From showering, to loud music, tv, shouting, talking laughing and other loud bed activities until about 3 AM. I turned the AC/fan on and my own tv to help drown out the noise but it was fruitless. I thought at one point I made a terrible mistake and booked a hour by hour hotel rental for shady activities! Not the case, thankfully!! I was tempted to call management but, Who am I to ruin the loud strangers drunken soirée. (We've all been there!) The next day was quiet, no issues until the 3rd day (the morning I was checking out) there were a group of guys staying in that adjoining room and began their daily getting ready routine around 5 AM and got louder by the minute. So for about 2-3 hrs I heard the entire plans for the day, the girls they met out the night before, what they were going to wear for the day....A bit much before 6 am! I believe next time, if there is one, I will request a corner room with no adjoining door! Also, the beds and pillows aren't the top of the line but they do the job for short term.

    For the price- Rooms were very clean, I really liked the height of the sink I am tall and didn't have to bend over to use it...short people may not agree but I loved it, plenty of room and storage area. Great amenities such as coffee pot (not the best but it works!), fridge, hairdryer, and microwave. Also, the pool was great. Not a lot of vegetation so you can't escape the fact the pool is in the middle of a parking lot but, the lounging couches around the periphery were a super touch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have two kids and we were only in the room for about an hour and the bottoms of their feet were nearly black from walking around in the room barefoot. The floors need a MAJOR cleaning. The bath tub also needs a good clean up. The towels were also super shabby and literally unraveling. I know it’s a smaller hotel so I didn’t expect the fanciest or highest end qualities and amenities, but I also didn’t expect certain corners to be cut.

    The bed was the most comfortable part of the room. It was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in is at 3.30 pm. But thetas allowed you to libe your baggage at the lobby.

    Located 5 minutes from zoo, 15 min to La Jolla, 15 to Coronado (by car). Nice staff. Nearby a dinner and liquor store (where you can find almost everything)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Pet-friendly
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Floors were filthy distrusting, bath had a lot of mildew, box spring mattress had blood on it. And the staff shrug it all off like it was normal.

    The restaurant on property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The patio for room 300 needs an umbrella for the morning

    I loved the restaurant, amenities, and pool! Close to the fwy, 10min drives to places to different eateries. Professional, kind, hospitable staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that the spa n pool closed at 8 my room made me feel wet there was like a lot of moist in the air made me feel wet the whole time I slept in the room my bath tub kept over flowing water didn’t go down well I showered the ac is way to far from the beds to much money for what we got...

    I liked that the pool was heated and there was a spa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's basically a really old motel that has been partially updated. Walls dirty/scuffed, we had NO towels in the room, much of it was new/trendy, but they missed the details that would have made the room feel like it was updated well. Smelled of pot when we arrived, people smoking on balcony. Might be a good spot for 20-somethings passing through. Also, the door was unlocked and a jar when we arrived at 10 pm, which was creepy (and likely explains the missing towels).

    Very friendly receptionist at check-in. Motel has fresh looking exterior paint. Was very inexpensive for San Diego.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little gem! Beds/pillows comfortable. Stayed 4 days and able to do some light meals. Front desk, housekeeping and maintenance cheerful and helpful. Location very good. Crust restaurant on site has excellent food. Stayed on 2nd floor at the back and no problems with either street noise or neighbor noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy A/C (had to be switched-off for night). Strong noise coming from the highway through crevices at doors and windows (there were not tight enough). No breakfast.

    Comfortable beds. Luggage storage after check-out. Wi-fi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a hard time controlling the temperature in the room.

    I loved the value. This hotel had a great rate, the rooms were awesome, and the location is good. Check-in was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel for the price. Music at the pool was way too loud during the day. It was nice that the room has three mirrors for women to be able to get ready at the same time. The hotel is in a great location close to everything San Diego has to offer. We would consider staying there again.

    Great hotel for the price. Music at the pool was way too loud during the day. It was nice that the room has three mirrors for women to be able to get ready at the same time. The hotel is in a great location close to everything San Diego has to offer. We would consider staying there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our first night, the people above us seemed to be walking and stomping or maybe jumping almost all night. 4 am, u could still hear them. So we had to change rooms the next night. Not really the hotels problem but maybe if walls and floors were thicker, it could help.

    I was happy to see no carpet. Yay floors. Bed was really comfortable. In fact, we are going to order one of them. I though the room was cute and cozy and was glad there was a lil fridge, microwave and coffee maker

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor paint discoloration/damage on wall/baseboard in bathroom. My first impression of the bathroom was "Wow! It's pretty and clean" but after seeing the small area behind the door, it changed my perspective and made it seem as though the bathroom was dirty.

    Modern interior finishes, fresh linens, new furniture and fast wi-fi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because it was such a bargain price wise, there was a lot of families staying there. This of course causes noise issues at times. Not unbearable, but if you are a light sleeper you may want to request a room on the top floor. This way you will avoid the sound of little feet running around on what is your ceiling.

    Room was quite large and comfortable. Staff was very helpful ( I had a couple of minor issues that were resolved quickly). The location was great as it was close enough to allow easy access to the freeway. Hotel is as centrally located as possible to the various attractions San Diego has to offer.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75