Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Austria Haus Hotel 3 stars

242 East Meadow Drive, Vail, CO 81657, USA

#2 of 41 hotels in Vail

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Austria Hous Hotel has exceded our expectations in everything! The staff is wonderful, the location is right in the middle of Veil Village near by gourmet restaurants and sites such as gondola and parks, and, last but not least, the style of the hotel is beautiful! If you want to feel like you are in an Austrian quaint village or Swiss village, go to this hotel; everything from the furniture to the building itself takes you far away to Europe. Beautiful and comfortable stay! I would definitely try to be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on property dining but concierge service for take out .

    Awesome location. Amazing staff. Beautiful building and furnishings very European. Great to have breakfast included, makes getting to slopes faster.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in the room was not working. We had to get a portable heater. The room we were assigned was right next to the Main Street that had a lot of foot traffic. The TV remote in the room for the Was not working. It took the front desk my entire stay to correct the credit card that was charged.

    The hotel was very charming and cute. The location was great and the overall property was beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet paper was a little "harsh" but after visiting other places in town, I suspect it has something to do with plumbing or being environmentally conscious.

    Everybody at the hotel was so kind and treated us practically like family! I had a medical emergency and they handled it such compassion. The bed and pillows were a dream and the room was generous in proportion.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service needs major improvement. One day we came back from skiing to find the door to our hotel room open. Just open, with all our stuff in the room. There were cleaning rags left in the room. On 2 of our 4 day stay there were no bathroom amenities (shampoo, moisturizer, etc). We had to call the hotel to bring some so we can take a shower. Also breakfast quality and service was highly variable. On 2 of our days breakfast was dismal. The fruits in the bowl were frozen, chunks of ice. Often items that were finished were not replenished. It is a shame to pay close to $600 a night and get such s service. The room had this very loud flushing noise frequently at night and made us wake up often. It was not a restful sleep. Also the door to the room was hard to open. I complained about that but it did not get fixed

    Location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there for a post operative surgical appointment and I was sad I couldn't soak in that gorgeous tub!

    The bed was amazing!!! The cute little glass bottles of water.. ;-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day we arrived steeets were blocked with farmers market. Very confusing. Called and received instructions for entry.

    Wonderful property within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Loved the fireplace in our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Great place to stay, the staff and accommodations were wonderful. Very clean, comfortable room. Breakfast had a lot of choices. Nice boutique hotel at an excellent location. We loved it and will return whenever possible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a wonderful hotel in a perfect location. The staff was excellent and very helpful. This was my wife's first trip to Vail and I wanted the experience to be memorable, and it will be a trip that we'll never forget.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was excellent and very accommodating. We got in late at night and they valeted our car for us and were very helpful in providing information on what to do and where to go.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Daily resort fee of $45 seems excessive--include it in price for transparency.

    Very convenient location. Excellent, friendly, helpful staff. Very nice breakfast in very pleasant dining area. Room (King Deluxe) was excellent, very comfortable, spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is wonderful. The bed perfect. The warm tile floors. We. Are here in the summer and loved every minute. Highly recommend this place. Cozy and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Phenomenal location in vail village. Maybe a 5 minute walk to the slopes. I hesitated to book at first, but when we arrived at the hotel, the staff were amazing and set a great tone for the rest of our stay. They have a ski/snowboard check area. The beds were great and the rooms were very spacious. One of my girlfriends is pregnant, so she couldn't ski. The front desk got her checked into her room early and upgraded her to a suite -- amazing customer service! On the day of our departure, the mountain pass closed due to a snow storm. The staff walked us through every option and was immediately willing to accommodate us if we had to stay extra.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was the most I have paid for 5 days of skiing. The location and the staff made up for it but I still think this is more than I would normally pay.

    Staff gave the feeling of HOME

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    water heater broke so only cold water out of the shower while it's only 28 degrees outside. wasn't fixed until after midnight. room was too hot and couldn't find thermostat that worked so we called the front desk and the guy rudely said "well the thermostat is on the wall or open a window"

    the location was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three electrical outlets weren't working so charged iPads and cell phones at bathroom outlets. Did not notify front desk because it was of little inconvenience to charge electronics in bathroom.

    Two gals sharing a room, came to shop. Boutique hotel with only 25 rooms so excellent attention from staff. Room service, valet parking, front desk...all employees were so very gracious and accommodating! Clean. 4 pillows to each bed so have choice of loft. Comfortable bed, double sheeted. Warm ambiance with fireplace. Chalet type feeling in room with rustic beamed ceilings. Bathroom floor heated. Double bedded room with both tub and shower and view of snow on hillside with pedestrian street below. Great choices at delicious breakfast, so much fresh fruit!. Buttery treats in the afternoon. Will choose Austria Haus again because of quaintness, excellent service, located in Vail Village across from ice rink, location could not have been better for shopping or skiing or bus pickup. Excellent recommendation for dinner next door at La Tour.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was beautiful and so relaxing! Unique, quaint hotel with cozy feel and nice amenities. Location was perfect for walking to everything! Loved being by the creek!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for our Honeymoon. The staff was so friendly. They set a little snack basket outside our room the first morning we were there. They have great recommendations. I can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Staff especially. They went above & beyond. The facilite was wonderful too. Only complaint is the sinage. We got to the walking mall in the car and a guy on a scoter sent us right 3 times. If we could have seena sign on the building we could have found it fine. But again your staff came out and walked us back to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a little high but we considered it a splurge on our week-long road trip.

    Excellent location in Vail Village with superb staff. The little pool and hot tub overlooking the creek were very nice. Room was very comfortable with a gorgeous bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Austria Haus is very charming with an understated luxury that can't be beat. The location is perfect, the rooms are very comfortable with nice views, the pool and hot tub area is well maintained, and the staff is courteous and helpful. I loved the authentic Austrian feel and would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't know you could drive your car across the pedestrian walkway (it specficically says no unautherized vehicles) so we ended up paying $20 for about 15 mins of parking in the ramp kitty-corner from the hotel. We did bring our car to get valeted once we found out we could drive right to the hotel.

    The room we had was a two double bed room. Very roomy. Bathroom was big and tub with the shower was really nice to relax in. Did not go see the pool, or eat breakfast so cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    Great central location, staff was very helpful, everyone greeted you with a smile and was ready to help. Room was clean, comfortable and accommodated a party of three with ease.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely poor. Not attentive nor helpful. I am not a needy client but the staff was lousy. I got better service from a mom/pop motel the night before!

    Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was nice but fairly small. It did however have a very nice bathroom with a soaking tub.

    Great location in Vail Village. Very friendly staff. Nice patio overlooking Gore Creek and the pool--great place for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was so nice and helpful. The views from our room were of the village.Views from the back of the hotel were of the mountains and water. Breath taking!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service! Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfasts let the property down, which is a shame, as the property is in a superb location. The bar also lacks atmosphere.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, valet parking

    Very warm and cozy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress and pillows😳

    Boutique European style, friendly staff, proximity to slope.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Better lighting in the room and bathroom.

    The breakfast, ski storage, hot tub and afternoon cookies were all wonderful amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff and services provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was great, breakfast was included, and the location was perfect. First trip to Vail, enjoyed every minute

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish I could have stayed longer.....but I will return.

    Comfortable; excellent location; wonderful rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice rooms. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything at this hotel was top-notch...the staff, the food, the bed, the room literally everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony for hotel rooms. No view from room.

    Small quaint hotel in the center of town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and beautiful site!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly/helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable. The location was fantastic and the views were remarkable. The staff were very accommodating and took good care of us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good morning complimentary breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, comfy beds, luxurious rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no criticism.

    The staff were enormously helpful. They gave us great tips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just okay. No eggs or hot meats. Would have been nice.

    Very helpful staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, extremely clean, lovely view. Very spacious rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went above and beyond to accommodate our every need. Everyone was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible location, friendly staff and beautful property

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a hotel, more a vacation condo building. No hotel service.

    Outside pool and hot tub

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fabulous breakfast. Lovely room appointments. Great staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I bought "two queens" and was given two fulls.

    The location and the atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    - breakfast - location - staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location and staff were wonderful. Great breakfast. Would definately recommend hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In one word...everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed comforter was too warm at night. Also, sloping ceiling over bed was awkward.

    Charming place, felt very cozy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators could have been faster.

    Valet staff was good. Front desk was helpful and responsive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    soft throw blankets to take off the chill

    Balcony, heated bathroom floors, plenty of towels, comp breakfast had lots of good choices

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and Room very comfortable, facilities excellent, Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very small hotel with European flair. Love it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small TV - needs updating

    Excellent staff, lovely room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overhead fan broke and we had to make due with a floor fan.

    Staff was outstanding. Location is the best in Vail Village.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was wonderful and the staff was very frendly and helpful. We plan to stay at this hotel the next time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a very nice property. We liked that it was a small property and we didn't have to go far to check out shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely little hotel with the best location. The staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ceiling fan was out of balance and made a lot of noise.

    Staff/customer service, location, room size, breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything. Just a sugestion: the possibility of small dinner in the evening would be appreciated.

    Excelent breakfast, with a great variety of options. Very nice bedroom and very confortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing could have been improved. Wonderful staff, beautuful room and great breakfast included.

    The room was amazing! Think I must have gotten a random upgrade.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our view was of the air conditioning units, but we really didn't hang out in our room that much for it to be a bad thing

    Great location. You can walk to everything. We went for the farmers market and just walk around Vail. This was the best place ever!! They had a great breakfast every morning and a little happy hour. Even had a pool! Love the Austria Haus!!!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem was finding it a night! Once you get there, it has a awesome location!

    This is a beautiful hotel! We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing is that pulling into your valet parking area. Once you turn off main road it's pedestrian area not sure if we could pull up or if it was a NO car zone? Should have a sign to pull your customers forward in that area.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air conditioning unit made a buzzing noise all night on a 45 minute schedule.

    Beautiful property, attentive staff. Valet parking was convenient and breakfast was generous.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room 309 is fabulous BUT the bus sits outside idling every 30 mins for at least 5- 7 mins...6:30am-12:30am.

    Breakfast! Room! Location! pool and hot tub!

There are also 61 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: