Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4 stars

0455 Southwest Hamilton Court, Portland, OR 97239, USA

#53 of 124 hotels in Portland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 205 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice, but needs more attention to cleaning details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, sticky balcony that was not cleaned before or during our stay. Waiting for car during busy hours, being that valet parking is required if you bring a car. Having to drive by protesters (ICE bldg).

    The view and location on the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave. “Hillside” room actually faced the back of the next building.

    Lovely hotel. Fairly new. Felt upscale. Near street car. Provided delivery menu from August Moon Chinese restaurant. Some of the best Chinese food I’ve ever had. Massage at spa by Ryan was fabulous!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall very nice accommodations. A bit out of the hustle and bustle of the city but easy bike acces
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River View Double King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit disappointed in the view from the room - the river is blocked by trees. We were on the third floor

    Everything about this hotel was the awesome complimentary bikes and helmets they offer.... we were able to get to the middle of downtown for dinner in 20 minutes on them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Riverside Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made reservations for four in our room and there was no bedding for the couch bed, only coffee,cups and wine glasses for two people. We didn’t recieve clean towels one day and no maid service at all one day which made us have no coffee the next day.

    The room was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Not sure the pictures online did it justice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River King with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised by the $30 a day valet parking fee. It’s not really optional because the only street parking is uphill and two blocks away.

    Not sure the pictures online did it justice. Very nice hotel room and particularly if you are on the side with the river as those units have “private” balconies you can sit on. No smoking ANYWHERE!!! Hooray!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.0
    I picked your place to celebrate our 35th anniversary. So disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were suppose to have had bathrobes... NO robes. Coffee station not complete. NO cream. Went downstairs to the 24/7 coffee station. NO coffee. Asked the front desk for cream she said she would bring it up to our room, after half an hour I call down and she said oh..... I got busy. No shower gel in dispenser in shower ... NONE! The divider between the rooms on balcony was down and not fixed .

    Breakfast, bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Felt well cared for
    • Solo traveller
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minimalist contemporary so some of furniture uncomfortable

    Staff prompt and very helpful. Beautiful river view from room. Convenient to nearby medical center I was attending.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    great bed, great location for us, friendly/helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee pot in the lobby area was empty one morning. Employee in that area did attend to it promptly after contacted.

    great bed, great location for us, friendly/helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Not happy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were so thin I had to sleep fully dressed. No one cleaned my room on the second day. Valet parking is required at $30/night.

    The spa was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice view.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was still dirty. Had a half drank bottle of wine left in the fridge and we don’t drink. When I asked for housekeeping to come touch up the room he didn’t even bring any chemicals or anything. The toilet And the tub were still dirty and when my partner showed him what we were talking about he said oh those are just water spots. She used her finger to wipe off the soap scum and showed him and he took a towel from our room and wiped it off. We left the room to maybe give him some space and let him do his thing. When we came back he didn’t even clean anything. I’m assuming he left right after we did. I worked in a hotel as a supervisor for 5 years and if my team left a room like that or treated a guest that way it wouldn’t have gone well for them.... I understand the frustration but when paying over 300 for a room I would expect good quality and understanding. Not someone to be getting upset at me because the job wasn’t done properly.

    Nice view. Housekeeping was in doubt about their quality.... The other staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    The beds were super comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • Urban Double King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We specifically got this hotel room for the spa since our daughter was having lots of testing at ohsu and we needed to keep her as relaxed as possible and when we got checked in they told us the Jacuzzi was clothing optional so we couldnt use it.

    The beds were super comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good environment, also very quiet at night, there is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to pay attention in cleaning bathroom. The shower curtain has been used for a long time, saw some places dirty

    Very good environment, also very quiet at night, there is a free shuttle to the city center. The employees are very kind!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Best hotel with pets!
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding is very sparse and not very comfortable

    Best hotel with pets!! So many places to walk! Plus a fantastic doggie day care close by. Love the new opening of the restaurant! The location is convenient and beautiful! Lovely staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable, relaxing and in a beautiful/scenic part of Portland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of these are minor, but since you asked..Ice machines not yet operating on all floors - understand this is temporary. Often out of robes in the men’s half of the spa - has happened on my last two stays. And - was sad to see the continental breakfast go! :/

    Love this hotel! And was very happy to have the restaurant open again! Friendly/helpful staff!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Great staff, comfy beds, dog friendly, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating system did not work properly, moved to another room and it had an odor and carpets weren't vacuumed well. Fee for dog cleaning needs Rio be posted. Restaurant closed, not posted and due to weather and holiday everywhere was closed.

    Dog friendly staff, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are spa'ish

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Restful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top cover on our bed was a little thin. I should have looked for or asked for a blanket, but didn't. Also restaurant is currently under renovation, but there is a small continental breakfast offering instead.

    Location, rooms, staff all excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound proofing for the rooms. Walking in the halls we were easily able to hear "extra curricular activities" taking place which wasn't a problem in our case, but I was really glad my kids weren't along on this trip.

    Beautiful rooms. Great views. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    4.6
    STAY AWAY! You'll probably do better even at a Super 8 motel!
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • River View Double King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was filthy! Little if anything done after previous guest aside from changing out towels. There was even a used washcloth left behind, dried onto the shower door, and there were small hair (pubic?) on the toilet seat. Everything was covered in smears and dust. Water glasses and coffee mugs rinsed at best, and left to air dry with stains, streaks and smudges. The heater was very loud, unable to run overnight, and there was only one comforter provided for two beds. The fireplace kept going out every 20 minutes. The complementary continental breakfast (laid out in the lobby, but there's nowhere to sit) consisted of bananas, day old bagels and croissants. The restaurant was being renovated, so there was no hot food, just the overpriced drinks and snacks in the room ($25 for a tiny bottle of basic white or red wine; $4 for a can of soda; $3 for a small bottle of water; etc.). The website mentions the cost of breakfast (14$) and dinner ($25) per person, but neglects to tell you that they do charge for parking and pets and, how much. When you complain about the filthy room, they generously forego the extra charges you were never told about as a compensation.

    The location is nice on account of being on the river's edge, so would be good if you're looking for relaxation. If you want restaurants, shops, and entertainment close by, this isn't it! The place is newly decorated, so updated furnishings (etc.) is nice. Valet parking service was convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and quick to move us rooms when the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    $30 charge for parking was not apparent until after booking, hotel is under construction, restaurant is closed and no other options within walking distance for dinner.

    The staff were friendly and quick to move us rooms when the one we were booked in had a broken door (stuck open) to the outside porch. Convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place for business, nice and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not know until booked that parking was xtra cost and valet only. The room service food was sorry to say. :(

    The staff were very nice and personable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Require payment for the parking if you must but allow...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Require payment for the parking if you must but allow customers to park their own cars. The fee for pets is far higher than any other hotel in the area. People are more likely to use the spa if an information card is included not just a price list.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    We'll Be Back
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was undergoing remodel, so a bit of dust and smells. Bed a bit too firm to our liking, but that's better than too soft.

    Location next to river is lovely. Nice neighborhood for walking. Restaurant quite good. HUGE portions. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    The lobby was under terribly loud construction during my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was under terribly loud construction during my stay. I wish I had known prior to booking my room. Was looking for some quiet time and didn't get it. Could hear the family in the room next to me clear as day. Very thin walls.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant very expensive. $12.00 for a bowl of oatmeal is over the top. The hotel is further from downtown Portland than I expected.

    Staff very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    This property is overpriced and their restaurant far below par.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prior to arrival I received an email offering a 10% discount on meals provided by the on-site restaurant. The mail instructed me to present a copy of the offer at the time of check in. I did exactly that, and the person checking me in, without reading the document, just said that is was only a promotional piece for the restaurant, and refused to accept it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Last minute booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Urban Double King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction noises early in the morning on the floor above us. It probably won't be an issue in the near future. There should be ice makers on every floor.

    The staff was excellent and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice. Will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC vents probably need clean as the AC was a bit loud. Maybe needs to have a screen on door to patio so you could leave it open with less worry that someone would step off the path and into the room. Charge for parking was too high.

    Access to the walking path along the river was excellent. Room was spacious. View was nice. Really liked that the AC did not blow across the bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.2
    There's better places in Portland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Riverside Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what it is. Lacking general facilities, not even a bar. Parking was expensive. Thin walls, thus noisy. Kitchen with no utensils, glasses or plates. Far too expensive for the standard of hotel.

    Staff are very nice & helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice and clean, but enough little things that made us want to try a different place next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from the air conditioner, and the room next-door (after 11:30). Valet only parking, so every time we went in and out we felt we should tip the doorman who RAN to get our car. We had a room that overlooked NOT the river, but the business buildings across the street, and there were lots of windows, so we couldn't keep the drapes open all the time or people were looking in at us.

    Hotel is on the Willamette River, and there is a nice walking/biking path for a couple of miles right in front. The gym is terrific.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • River View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two of the bikes were in need of repair leaving only two other bikes for guests to use. I'm sure they'll get them fixed soon but it was slightly inconvenient for me to have to wait for a bike to become available each morning.

    The location was perfect-- beautiful river view, walking distance to several restaurants, bikes available to use, very close to public transportation, the workout facility is the best I've ever experienced in a hotel. I appreciated the coffe, tea and fresh infused water that was available all the time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel convenient to the surrounding Portland area.
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charge for parking and resort fees.

    The room was very comfortable, staff friendly, nice location for walking along the river. The extra charges for overnight parking and amenities (which we did not use) makes this a pricey stay. The restaurant has nice views but the food is very average.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    4.6
    OKAY, BUT JUST OKAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very far from the city center which is okay, but no one was able to effectively direct us to the streetcar. The rest of the staff was nice, but fairly indifferent to our being there. No one really told us much about the amenities when we checked in, so I had no idea the restaurant even served breakfast. Pleasant enough, but for $340, I was hoping for a bit more than "pleasant enough".

    They had water in the lobby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel for travelers of any pedigree
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only that would have made the stay better, would have been access to things like bottled water, soda, and snacks through the front desk at later hours. Apparently after the cleaning staff goes home for the day, there is no access to those items. I had to go to the nearest gas station for simple items.

    Even with a second floor room, the balcony view was comfortable. Very serene being that close to the river. The restaurant directly next to the hotel had great selections and the wait staff was amazingly nice and helpful about suggestions for traveling in the area. The gym size and accouterments was very surprising. It was welcoming to see a hotel with a gym that had a full squat rack, dumbbell set and Olympic bench.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    We would stay here again if given the chance to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman that checked us in seemed "put out" when we arrived. We arrived after being on the road for several hours and he didnt smile once or say, "Enjoy your stay." or "Hi, welcome!" There was one nice front desk gentleman, all others acted as if they were doing you a favor by being there.

    The location was great! Close to a trail that had access to city center and local business. The workout room was really nice! The view from the room was so nice! The room was spacious and pretty clean. We brought our own bikes, but they have bikes you can borrow. The valet were very nice and willing to answer questions and make suggestions of locations to go and giving great directions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Peaceful River's Edge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Urban Double King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made reservation for river view room which turned into a regular room at time of check-in. Kids are not allowed In the Jacuzzi/spa area at all. Parking is valley only and extra.

    Fantastic location right by he river's edge, nestled away from traffic, with direct access to walking path by the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    No Pool, No View....No motr!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River View Double King
    • Stayed 1 night

    no pool, river view of the suite was obstructed by the trees. Very, very disappointed. That was the whole point of staying there, the View!!

    The room and staff!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place to relax right in the city of Portland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The valet parking was sort of a pain primarily due to the additional cost of tipping. $30 a night to park isn't great but tolerable, However, if you need to access your vehicle multiple times per day the tips add up!

    The bed was very comfortable and we had a beautiful view of the river. We especially enjoyed access to the steam, sauna, whirlpool and the gym facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River View King
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The spa was available for guests of the hotel to use but only those over 18. So we could not use it.

    Breakfast was very good, convenient and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff with customer service.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Urban Double King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit surprised that you have to pay for parking and it rubbed me the wrong way but the staff gave me a better deal on my room to compensate for the parking fee.

    The location was wonderful and easy to find. Being on the river was gorgouse and created great memories for our family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    My colleague and I had a good experience at your location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms didn't seem like they were as clean as they could have been. There were things on the floor as if the room hadn't been vacuumed.

    My colleague and I had a good experience at your location. We loved the staff at the restaurant during breakfast as well as the menu available during that time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    The best part of my accommodations was the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best part of my accommodations was the balcony. Being able to sit outside and have the sounds and views of the river was highly relaxing. I also liked the restaurant being separate and closer to the river than the hotel. The stroll was nice and inviting. The food at the restaurant was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    We would recommend River's Edge Hotel and Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Urban Double King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very accommodating with all our needs. The restaurant Aquariva was superb. We ate breakfast there and the wait staff was very friendly. There is also a walking/bike trail along the riverside and it was a lovely stroll in nature.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.8
    Not for families or those who like to have fun, but laid back. Not worth the money.
    • Family with young children
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their location is terrible, like anything else on the south waterfront, our room had a big crusty stain on the floor, one of the light knobs was missing, their spa / hot tub was clothing-optional so you couldn't use it with your family, AND the prices are ridiculous for the value you get. If you take a candy bar or a beer from the room, they charge you 5-6 bucks for each. Valet service is required as you can't park yourself (not allowed), and they charge $30 for that. Absolutely ridiculous!

    Very quiet and laid back place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.0
    The location of the property has beautiful view. Service has space to improve. Thanks.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The bedspread was not clean (blood on it). 2. No one can explain what the charge of "TID Assessment" is, which doesn't seem reasonable.

    The location of the property is near to where I need to go.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice secluded place in SW Portland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant is terrible. Many of Hillside rooms overlook the building HVAC/exhaust system which is noisy.

    Nice spa and gym facilities. Good walking path along the river. Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Good access to Reed and Lewis&Clark colleges.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.3
    Can't sleep there
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst uncomfortable bed I've slept in. Makes it hard to give better rating since hotel is largely a place to sleep! People working there were nice.

    Convenient to conference at OHSU

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Great work retreat hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Riverside Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cost of parking was steep, next time I'll take public transportation.

    So many places were a 10-minute walk away, lots of opportunities for fresh air and exercise, beautiful walking path along the river. The location was quiet, too!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Riverside Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Urban Double King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only valet parking. There was no free parking.

    The staff were super friendly. The beds were comfy and the room felt nice and welcoming. The spa was very nice as well. I loved the location and how it was only a short drive to the freeways and downtown Portland.My friends and I loved our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.5
    Ok Stay but not four star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many amenities included in price. Parking was additional, which didn't make sense given that it was not in city center. No close convenience store or coffee shop

    Nice staff. Price was cheaper than other similar hotels

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Handy South Waterfront accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mandatory valet parking, even for short stay.

    Rooms were nicely decorated and arranged. River view was very pleasant. Was close to the event that we were attending.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    6.3
    View from room was lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • River View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    called ahead to check parking - was told there was street parking - "street parking" turned out to be 2 miles away - forced to use expensive valet service - would not have rented a car except for what I was told prior to my arrival

    View from room was lovely

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.6
    I have never slept in a bed more comfortable than the one in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night

    No improvements to suggest - everything was delightful.

    I have never slept in a bed more comfortable than the one in my room. It was wonderful after a long day! We ate at the on-site restaurant. It had delicious farm-to-table offerings and the waiter, Curtis G, was a true gemstone. I'll definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.1
    Mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found weed in our room, I don't judge but it's supposed to be a nonsmoking hotel and the whole floor smelt like weed.

    The location was really nice. The staff was professional as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.3
    Nice view, but not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold on the curtains. One of the paintings had handprints on the glass. Found boogers on the painting as well and on the shower curtain. Paying for valet parking when the lot is literally 15 feet from the door and was completely empty was painful. And $30 a night for parking in an empty lot made this even less of a deal.

    The front desk staff was very friendly. The location was great, right along the river. Nice walking trail nearby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    4.6
    Not as great as it appears to be! Don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable. I asked for an extra rollaway (we had 3 people 1 bed) that's what booking.com gave us. The rollaway bed literally springs poking out in my back.The king bed wasn't even a pillow top or anything fancy for the cost it should've been. It was just a regular old mattress.The spa was extremely tiny and not everything including steam room was fully functioning. Staff wasn't friendly in anyway, and the front desk couldn't figure out how to reimburse my incidental hold. I would rather stay at the Monaco,Benson,Heathman or the Vintage Hotel. This place just didn't meet the standards for what it is. I was so displeased that this is my first time EVER writing a review for a hotel. People should know. If your standards aren't 4-5 Star,you will think it's fine.

    The hotel was clean and it looks nice & restaurant had excellent food & drinks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.7
    River view was nice but bad hotel smell and parking fee with no breakfast made it 3 star - NOT 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Halls and lobby area had an overwhelming spa/pool and cleaning smell on top of old building smell. Bed sagged in the middle and had an older topper for a 4 star hotel. Didn't catch the $30 parking fee on site (my mistake) but it still made our booking.com price seem not as good when we discovered the parking fee. Especially since the valet took it to a lot about 50 feet from the front door we could have easily parked it in ourselves...

    It was clean and decorated nicely for the holidays and valet person was very helpful and attentive the night we stayed. View was nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    7.1
    Flawed yet beautiful and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was shocked I had not been informed of a $30 per night parking fee. Bathroom had hair on the floor in several places. Awkward bedding (who makes a slippery comforter?) and lumpy bed and pillows. One staff person was incredibly pretentious.

    Two of three staff people I interacted with were stellar. Great food via room service from the restaurant next door. Beautiful views of a bay of the river. Lovely, huge flatscreen TV's.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Hotel had ideal location over looking the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water was always warm but at times was not hot.

    Hotel had ideal location over looking the river. It was very well appointed and rooms were very nice. Bed was very comfortable and nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location and superior service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and room overall could use a little updating but I loved the small touches like the make-up mirror in the bathroom.

    Beautiful location on the river and close to public transit; fabulous breakfasts and super friendly service at the nextdoor restaurant. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice Value but out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    It has a difficult location, you need to get in the car for everything.

    Hotel is very nice. Ithas a great walking trail and a river view all with great parking. It is also quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel but with very little staff cohesiveness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My entire reservation was lost. They allowed a random member of my traveling group to check in using my private Credit card as well as to check out. While not only being illegal this also caused great confusion regarding the final cost of our stay. Instead of a large suite we were given to smaller rooms and then told we would not have to pay the $25 dollars per night per car, But upon checkout, they did indeed add this to our bill. One of the vehicles was using a handicap placard and should not have been charged at all.

    The hotel is beautiful and the spa, while expensive, does provide an array services.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.7
    With one initial exception, our stay was delightful. See above.
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only serious complaint concerns the night manager when we arrived. She was rude, unaccommodating, inflexible, and inconsiderate. Otherwise, our stay was delightful. The remaining staff was wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.7
    If you like a place that is tucked away then this is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little further out of town than expected. Price was pretty high, expected the room to be nicer. "View of the river" was not what we expected. Could not see river for the trees. Service at the Acquaviva was terrible at night. We waited a long time for anyone to notice us and when we were finally seated, it took 15 minutes before a server acknowledged we were there and offered to take our order.

    We loved the bikes and the running path! It was fun to ride/run along the river.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    3.3
    Not worth it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude. Room was very dirty. No coffee before 7am. Carpet was very dirty. Bath was dirty. Not booking.com friendly. Stuck in the 80s.

    Good walking path

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    6.3
    Bike,jogging trail was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • River View King
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Missed my connecting flight to due the weather and told them in advance but they wrote "no show" therefore my room was not ready (after 30 hrs travelling...). Room carpet was very dirty. Was told that a shuttle would bring me to the airport but was not true. Was not told that a shuttle could bring me downtown every day. Restaurant food was greasy . Food was not cooked consistently and steak can not be cooked properly.

    Bike,jogging trail was very nice. Valets were awesome, always in a good mood, and very professional especially Scott. Spa was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    6.7
    The hotel advertisement made it sound like it was closer to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • River View Double King
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel advertisement made it sound like it was closer to downtown Portland. Overall, the view of the river was nice and the restaurant next door was good. But the hotel was pricey and the rooms were nice but not $350 a night nice. Nothing special for that price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    6.3
    Doesn't deliver as promised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Urban Double King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior is poorly designed, old and shabby. Didn't like the extra $25 to park. The Riverwalk wasn't much.

    The building is a nice design, the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Looking out at river and being so close to river walk was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking out at river and being so close to river walk was awesome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Looking forward to our next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Temperature turned down to 52 degrees last day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    River view room was beautiful and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    River view room was beautiful and quiet. Enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Would have like a comforter or thicker blanket on the bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like a comforter or thicker blanket on the bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great decor, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was great but could use some updating

    Great decor, great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced, but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Urban King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a broken blind so you couldn’t see out. It was dark, no lights in the main space except lamps.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Once is enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar of soap at the sink instead of a tub of shower gel and a blanket

    Not much

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: