Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avalon Hotel 3 stars

700 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#204 of 415 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 691 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfy but the noise from the construction disrupted our sleep on a couple of occassions. Decor dated and restaurants close by extremely expensive cocktails!!

    Great location and staff, hotel very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was right across the street from beachfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food with in the hotel wasn't very reasonable or appetizing. Rooms weren't very big. But comfortable.

    Hotel was right across the street from beachfront

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    My stay was peaceful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial View Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is undergoing slight renovation and on a few occasions the construction workers were a bit noisy, though I know they’re not direct hotel staff.

    The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Edith is the greatest!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location due to close proximity to beach, shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. A full breakfast wasn’t offered but there was complimentary coffee/tea, cereals and some bakery items that were pretty good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Had an excellent time at this hotel. Met all our needs and expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    Really nice hotel and staff friendly and helpful. They were renovating the hotel whilst we were there but this didn't affect us apart from a little drilling noise during breakfast. No other impact of this on our stay. Location is right on Miami Beach in the busy art deco area. Shops and other amenities just a short walk from the hotel. Valet parking really helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.2
    I enjoyed the hotel being right on ocean drive where is are...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Real small rooms, up on check in the front desk person didn't give any information about anything not did she suggest anything. If we wanted chairs for the beach we had to carry them ourselves. No pool on the property.

    I enjoyed the hotel being right on ocean drive where is are a lot of restaurants. And the hotel not being that far from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Hotel was close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not friendly. Room was really small. Construction was being done and the building looked a mess. Ice machine did not work, tv did not work. Staff didn’t want to provide additional toiletries.

    It was very close to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but renovations going on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated rooms. Renovations going on so whole front of hotel covered in scaffolding & work starts early, so no lay ins! Parking is expensive, $29 a day.

    Great location. Bed really large & comfy. Friendly staff. Restaurant at front of hotel sells cheap breakfast & guests get 10% off. Free wifi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy hotel, horrible customer service from Alex front desk. Room extremely small. Not enough outlets, not enough linen. One elevator took forever to get around...walls were thin we got complaints for talking. Just horrible

    It was across the street from the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny with 2 double beds on the first floor. The window was facing an alley. From 7-8 am in the morning garbage cans were being dragged making so much noice we could not sleep. At around 9am the construction began- building is being renovated on the outside, once more making it impossible to sleep. The air conditioning was wall mounted making huge noise, approx 20 inches away from one the beds. The room’s original price was around $450 and purchased for $217 but was not worth more than $100. The front desk person at night was helpful but could not give us another room. The front desk lady in the morning only said “Ok” when I gave her my feedback showing genuinely uninterested.

    The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. I think they should hang the tv on the wall and remove the desk for more room.

    Location and service were great. We got there early and was able to check in right away!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Good way to stay on Ocean Dr. without paying a small fortune.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is pretty old and there is construction going on now. We just needed a place for one night and it met our needs. Guy at the front desk was nice upon check-in, but the service was not real friendly at check-out. She was probably just busy...

    Great location - very busy area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Me and my friends had a great time staying in Avalon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. For some reason the room is humid if the AC is off. Maybe it's because they don't have exhaust fan in the bathroom. 2. The restaurant closes early around 10 PM. If you are hungry at night you might need to go out to get food. 3. The plugs in the room are hard to find, either behind the desk or under the TV. You might need a longer wire.

    1. The check-in and check-out service is fast and nice. 2. The room is clean and the cleaning lady did a good job for the five nights that we have been staying in. 3. The location is perfect, it's right next to the beach. 4. A guy at the front dest was so nice. he literally wrote down a whole list for us with local bars, clubs, and restaurants. And we checked them out and found out all of them were worth going! 5. If you are a beach person, they provide beach towels and beach chairs, which is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Good breakfast, wonderful restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are under reconstruction at the moment. Reconstrunstruction works are going on at the daytime, it is not possible to stay at your room.

    Good breakfast, wonderful restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Great staff in reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial View Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff in reception. I forgot my laptop and my passport in the safe, but George took care of it for me. Owe him a big tip, but he wasn´t on duty when I returned. But, I will remember him next year - same time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting hotel. So so unclean. Hair all over the bathroom. Uncomfortable pillows, dirty entrance. Damaged doors. It’s terrible. I do NOT recommend. Avoid it. The room service is no-existent. They come change the towels and that’s it. The carpet, I don’t even know how to describe such dirt.

    Location was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    A nice place to stay on South Beach for short 1or 2 nights. Pricey for what it is, but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or breakfast until 8am. Should have coffee maker in hotel room. A little worn but under renovations. Charged $54 more than quoted _$183 a night for high season even though Jan 5 and 45 degrees in Miami.

    Location on south beach, was able to get into room at 0930 am, accommodating staff, nice continental breakfast included.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    May be nice when renovations over, but currently a building site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was aware some renovations underway but very disappointed that entire building covered up so you couldn’t see it - like being in a cave. Breakfast only from 8am, so I missed it on two out of my three days there. (also nowhere else in the vicinity open for coffee at 6am)

    Great location Interior had character

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    4.6
    Awful,depressing, and couldn’t wait to get out of there. Worst hotel I have ever been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Partial View Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenities. Old furniture. Uncomfortable bed and pillows.horrible old bsthroom. Plastic cups in the bathroom. Sink was cracked.I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Depressing. Also lobby was dingy like the whole hotel. Garbage dump from the hotel under my window. Everything was old and dingy. Not worth more than $25.00 a night. No value for your money.

    Nothing. Hotel was horrible

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.3
    The people was nice and helpful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room I was not informed that It was a noicy construction work in the building. Every day from 10 - 16.

    The people was nice and helpful. It has a excelent location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.4
    NOT GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front of this hotel is under going renovations and was covered in a black tarp. The power went out one of the nights we stayed there for several hours. We had just come back to the hotel in the early evening with our dinner and even thought there was no power in our room we were told by the bartender we could NOT eat our dinner downstairs in the bar area. After the power went out everyone left the restaurant but we still couldn't eat our dinner where there was minimal light. The room was small, the hotel is old and dated and I was only allowed breakfast 1 of the 2 mornings we stayed there. Breakfast consisted of a croissant, cup of coffee and small plastic cup of fruit but they would only allow us the free breakfast once. I DO NOT recommend this hotel.

    The hotel is directly across from South Beach so that was the best part of my stay at Avalon. The desk clerk when I checked in was pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in the restaurant , room relatively small with no view... needs to be renovated . Restaurant is very expensive but hey it's Miami beach :)

    Location excellent. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Very comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So upset to see scaffolding and black sheeting over front of hotel. We did see some decoration taking place when booked but didn't realise complete black out! In saying that we were given side room and could see the sea and even had breakfast under the scaffolding in the morning which was decorated to make you feel like in a beach bar , so all was good in the end.

    Very comfy beds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    The staff was the best part of the whole stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking. But we were able to find street parking for $4/hour and you only pay up till 2am. I paid $24 for unprotected street parking. I had an oversized van FORD TRANSIT. The only available lot is on 16th street. Protected parking for 24 hrs...$16. Well worth it.

    The staff was the best part of the whole stay. The manager, security guard, waiter answered all my questions and gave great advice. I was exhausted after a 200 mile team run and they really lowered mt stress level. Left them beer, water and 2 coolers when we left. The guard just kept shaking my hand, smiling and thanking me!!! lol. Beer is rediculously expensive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    The staff is very friendly and supportive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first look is not great right now as the facade is undergoing renovation. But apart from that no complaints.

    The staff is very friendly and supportive. For a foreign traveller, they make the stay very comfortable. Location cant get better. Right at south beach and the restaurant has amazing food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Checkout is so early but the hotel is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The early checkout! 11 am is too early and we had a late flight .... when we ask for an extend, he said 12 pm ! Not forgetting this is my 3rd stay

    The location of course Music outside the hotel Clean hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty poor, especially for the vegans in our party

    For a hotel on ocean drive the rooms were very spacious. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment and mostly hidden under a black shroud. However we didn’t experience any disruption to our vacation and had a very pleasant 2 night stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old. Especially carpets. There was exterior renovation.. The Hotel was like under contraction.

    Location and staff was amazing. Especially George and Alex. They are kind, helpful and smiling. Thank you George. Thank you Alex. The room was old and need to be renovated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.4
    I have to come back to really see the beauty of miami and the Avalon Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They never said that construction was going on and the building façade was covered up with scaffolding and you only could have rooms in the back of the hotel because of construction to the front.

    The area that the hotel was in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not informed that there was building work outside the hotel. However this was probably reflected in the price as we had a really good deal and as we were only staying for one night before boarding a cruise so it was not an issue to us.

    The location is fantastic. You step out of the hotel and cross the road onto Miami Beach. The hotel provides free deck chairs and beach towels. It is only about a 10 minute taxi journey to the port for cruise ships.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Good Times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets and towels were ok but had seen better days it might be time to upgrade them.

    The facility was clean with an air of sofistication. The staff were friendly happy and professional. We had a very pleasant stay. I would stay there again no doubt about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bring back managers happy hour and maybe a breakfast with less carbs and more protein.

    Our room was a corner room with great views of the park and ocean. It is in amazing shape for a hotel built 60 or 70 plus years ago. If you're into old Florida or Art-deco style places it is awesome. Comfortable beds and great air conditioning as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.6
    The location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ask the receptionist if there was a bathroom in the lobby they said no and to go outside and use the bathroom across the street for the ppl that are at the beach 2nd day there I had left about 1.35 or 1.40 in change on my dresser left the room around 9 can back around 2 to the room being cleaned and my money being missing Hotel staff all of a sudden couldn't speak English and who did they didn't even care JUST TERRIBLE!!!!!!

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Not the most extravagant, but perfect for friends or couples...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the style and date of the hotel, I don't know that much could be different without total renovations. It's not the Hilton, W or Marriot, but it's clean and comfortable.

    Not the most extravagant, but perfect for friends or couples that want a quick get away and don't want to spend a ton. The location is EXCELLENT, right on the Ocean Blvd strip in the heart of everything! Beach is right across the street. Room was comfortable enough, but definitely a place that will keep you from staying inside all day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Perfect location in Miami South Beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was in the perfect location for what I was traveling to Miami for. Me and my friend wanted to be right in the middle of everything abd this hotel provided that and more . I have absolutely nothing bad to say the staff was amazing and the hotel was just as good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located right across the road from the beach. What more could you ask for? Ocean Drive is quite loud at night and a light sleeper may have difficulty falling asleep, however we experienced no issues with this.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.8
    Avalon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower grubby, windows and frames dirty, very meagre and basic breakfast, the open to all restaurant prices looked very high. To clarify staff check in very pleasant and helpful, breakfast server miserable.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    2.5
    Do not stay here ever...will take your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extremely rude. They are so money hungry. That they will try to hold your money for your room. Then expected you to pay when you check out again because it takes 3 days to process the original payment. After the rudeness of the front desk women I never even want to come to Miami again. 5 other guest at my hotel had the same experience. They will rip you off. Hotel smelt like pure gas they didn't even mention nothing to the guest we all were just smelling it and said something. Worst experience ever. Please do not stay here.

    Nothing worst hotel experience ever.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.4
    Great spot to be near every attraction you want
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too pricey for the way the hotel actually is inside. Cleanliness was not that great. Uncomfortable beds. Had to ask for more beach towels they don't put them in for you. No microwave.

    Staff was great, location was awesome right across the beach and near bars and resturants . Pricey resturants but is also walking distance from other resturants on Collins ave and stores near by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.0
    Good location, not so good facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is quite old, and it wasn't refurbished for quite a while. Also, we found property charges to be quite high (20 USD a day), so it was not such a nice surprise.

    If you look for accommodation in South Beach, this is the right place. Also, very close to the beach, man options around to have fun.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    South Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was real small and we could hear most every move the people above us made. The continental breakfast was very limited. No microwave. Very few outlets.

    The room was clean and the location was great. The continental breakfast lasted until 1:00 which was good. It was a neat older hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Great value, excellent location and amenities. Clean and right across the street from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach chairs were an added bonus, but the newer chair was flimsy as compared to the one with the wooden handle. Staff was able to switch the newer one out for a older one (sturdier and more comfortable) the second day. Again, excellent staff and service.

    The staff was very polite, professional and helpful. The sheets were clean and the bed was very comfortable! The iron worked well. The tv served its purpose. The safe was great! Awesome location. I love the car in the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Very bad not happy will not go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible. I ask for a tea bag to make a cup of tea and was ask to pay!!!!!!! And a small pot of jam was $3😂😂

    Not much very disappointing....😔

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    6.3
    Basic rooms, great location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) The room could have been cleaner - it was perfectly ok but there was dust in the corners and behind things. The air conditioner was very noisy. 2) I had asked in advance (by email) for a rollaway bed but at reception was told they were not available - we were 3 women sharing the room so 2 people had to share a bed the whole time. I would have booked a different hotel had I known that. 2) There was little or no communication between staff at reception - as we were leaving for a couple of days and then returning we asked to leave a couple of suitcases behind - one member of reception staff agreed but when we were checking out at 5.30am the following morning a different member of staff on reception said that wasn't allowed so we eventually compromised and left one bag! 3)The restaurant staff ignored me on my first evening - I was trying to order dinner and after a lot of repeated asking I finally got to see a menu and eventually got served - it was annoying as I had just arrived from a long-haul flight and just wanted to eat something quickly and go to bed. In fact the restaurant was mega expensive and although the food and wine were very good I didn't eat there again - although I did sit and have a glass of wine on the terrace a couple of evenings - even then I had to beg to be allowed to sit there as they were keeping tables for potential diners - which I understand but at 10.30pm when the restaurant is half empty abit of common sense should have prevailed - I suppose it did as we did get to sit there eventually after asking to speak to the manager - its kind of a bad start to the evening when you have to argue (albeit politely!) with the staff!

    1)The free breakfast - the tubs of fruit were really nice. 2)The beach towels in the room - it was great to have those to take to the beach everyday. 3)The location is brilliant and because it has a very expensive restaurant rather than a club downstairs we weren't bothered by noise. Some nearby hotels looked like they would be very noisy in the evenings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Great as always!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, rate,I have stayed at the Avalon for the last 10+ years.... love love love love.... always great service! Can't beat this property on ocean drive!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    The staff were great and it was an easy walk to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were pretty small, but then we didn't spend much time in the room.

    The staff were great and it was an easy walk to the beach. Hotel provided beach chairs, towels and little water bottles.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Sophisticated and lively
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy in the evenings Somewhere comfortable to sit when checked out and waiting for taxi.

    Location great Staff v friendly Liked live Spanish guitar music and more upmarket diners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Calm haven in the heart of South Beach mayhem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was average. Great treat to get fresh fruit as an option. Unheard of in most places we visited in Florida on this trip. Confused and amused to see coca cola as one of the option along with cereal and croissant. Terribly wasteful putting everything in disposable plastic containers for eating in breakfast. I asked for a glass for water from the cooler and was made to take a plastic cup. Disappointed by this but clearly a nationwide epidemic.

    Amazing location on South Beach which is notoriously bit trashy and very touristy but Avalon somehow feels like a quiet haven in the middle of the mayhem. Totally calm. Amazing for people watching. Excellent chocolate croissant for breakfast. Nice paraben free toiletries in the room. Lovely bar with an amazing Serbian bartender who kept me and my friend entertained during our night cap.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.4
    Rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price! tiny rooms and bathroom you could not open two suit cases in the room,breakfast is a joke, a cup of coffee and a pastry is not a continental breakfast,no plaits you had to eat it off the table or a napkin ,plus €29 to park your car, we felt all they wanted was to get as much money from you as possible with the least effort.They don't need to make a effort the only reason people will stay there is because of the location never again

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    The complimentary breakfast was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary breakfast was okay. I miss the variety of breakfast items previously served. Embracing the new breakfast service for returning guest is a quite different experience from those experiencing it for the first time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    4.6
    South Beach hotels - no parking at the Inn!😟
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have our reservation even though I gave them the Booking.com confirmation email. Check in was a hassle. They finally found a room, but then we were told there was no parking for our motorcycles in any garage. What to do? Took an hour and a half driving from garage to garage, turned away from each, until finally parking in one 10 blocks away since there was not an attendant on duty. Major problem for anyone who wants to stay in South Beach but arrives on a motorcycle!

    Location oceanside

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Front staff and valet was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beachfront Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With breakfast had to buy jam, jelly. Should be provided. It is the small things that matter. Cafe staff behind the counter wasn't friendly.

    Front staff and valet was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.2
    Small and Cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small and cramped and you can't tell by the pictures on their website. Breakfast says it is included and you get to choose from 3 very small items like a yogurt. That was not my definition of breakfast. From Valet parking it would have been nice for assistance with our luggage to and from the car.

    Overall the staff were very friendly, especially the desk clerk he advised us on different restaurants and clubs to go out to. Had on issue with the tub draining and they fixed it right away. Close and convenient to everything. My car was super safe in valet, just make sure you get everything you need out of it because you don't get access to it unless you have it valeted again. I would definitely stay again. If you are a family, you might need multiple rooms due to the size. I think all the rooms are probable small due to the age of the properties in South Beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.1
    The staff was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very noisy. Not just because of the location, but also room to room. Could hear everything our neighbour said and did.

    The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.5
    Good value but I'd rated a two star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Partial View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a clog, rooms are small and old.

    Staff was excellent, location was perfect if you want to be in the heart of South Beach. Very good value for the money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.1
    Great place, poor breakfast, lots of unreleased potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant seems wonderful, but we didnt get to try it for dinner. For lunch it is closed, and breakfast was an insufficient and sorry little meal. With the location and apparently the kitchen for it, why not feed your guests properly through the day?

    Fantastic location and a great place to stay to enjoy the time travel and sun of South Beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    4.6
    Wrong choice. Horrible customer service!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Beachfront Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Had third floor room and there was no working elevator!!! Welcome staff was kind enough to help us up with bags. Final desk person was a total asshole. Sorry for words. He made us feel like we were unworthy of help to carry bags down stairs. He told us that we shouldn't have even asked for help... he said nobody but us ever asked for help. He said that the lack of working elevator wasn't his fault. I'm almost 60 yrs old. Bad back and knees. Well.... the lack of working elevator isn't MY fault!!! We had to drag up and down our luggage through old staircases. I paid over $300 for one night. I will dispute our charges. Told him I would write a review. That guy had NO regard for a guest. He had no respect for anyone. Highly DO NOT recommend.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location right on ocean drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be noisy at night

    Perfect location right on ocean drive. I think some people are missing the point - this is an original Art Deco hotel - if you want all facilities book into a big chain hotel. The staff in my experience were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.7
    Great location with some problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Beachfront Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too noisy! No insulation on the windows to cut sound from the street. Heard the upstairs neighbors walking around all night.

    Great location across from the beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    6.3
    Top location - but that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - very noisy room (cooling engines of adjacent building) - No coffee available at night - no coffee maker in room, contrary to description - Breakfast meager

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    7.1
    Best location, JORGE DIAZ best front desk clerk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location. Continental breakfast was ok...literally.... 1 cup of coffee, roll and choice of fruit cup or cereal. Elevator was broken entire time. Restaurant in the evening was best on the beach, beautiful quiet music, fine dining, very expensive but worth it for a special night out. Quiet rooms, bed not bad. DON"T choose room 309 the toilet paper holder is sticking right into your hip when you sit down...crazy!!!! Talk to JORGE DIAZ, the Concierge, if you have any problems, he is what every front desk should have for an employee. He was friendly, classy, sympathetic, caring, smart, patient, sincere, clean and handsome. All the hotels on the strip automatically add on 18 - 20 gratuity to your bill. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    8.8
    Small but quaint, great location on Icean Blvd
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eggs with breakfast! Room was very small but quaint ...great location.... Next few nights we had mini suite at Hilton downtown on corner 21st floor for same price as Avalon ...it was spectacular!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Great Location, even better staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor

    Staff we're superb, friendly and so helpful. Great Hotel don't be put off by initial perception of being old fashioned, it's clean well kept and well rum

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.6
    Nicely priced hotel in the heart of South Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial View Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise easily heard in our 3rd floor room. Doors close noisily and guests coming and going heard all night long.

    Great location. Valet parking. Ditched the car and walked everywhere.Loved the Art Deco style. Right across from the beach and room came with 2 beach chairs and 2 beach towels. Very friendly and efficient staff. Light breakfast included.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.5
    Great location. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't call a croissant and coffee served in a paper cup breakfast. For the price of stay. . . a little buffet with some eggs, bacon/sausage and potatoes would be nice.

    Bed was comfortable and room and bedsheets clean. . but carpeting has to go.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.5
    Good location and price/value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing. It is not a "continental breakfast", as stated in the description. The breakfast menu is composed by three items: 1) coffee or tea; 2) a croissant 3) a fruit cup or cereals. it's OK for a one night stay, but if you stay longer, it means you're basically eating the same exact thing every day. Also, the cleaning staff was very loud. Not only they scream to each other in the corridors, but they also use a very loud radio to talk to each other. This woke us every morning, and was a bit frustrating.

    The location of the hotel is certainly a big plus, and the price is good. The rooms and bathroom were clean, although small and old style (but it is an art-deco hotel!). Bathroom supplies were provided daily. Another plus is the availability of beach towels and chairs. The stuff was very nice, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was served until 1pm, which is great if you like to sleep a bit more.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    2.9
    Wasted time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as described! No coffee maker in room & no on site parking. Valet service was terrible & "lost" an item. Hotel is not far behind, as old, needs new mattresses & a lot of TLC in rooms ( peeling paint on ceilings, cigarette burns) Ocean Dr & side streets closed to guest cars all weekend for festival, so had to walk to find a cab because couldn't find parking when driving anywhere in town. A lot of wasted time and money! Not an enjoyable weekend :( Make sure you know prices before ordering at hotels too, as waiters will try to sell you with a picture. Big trap (see photo) $45 mixed drinks & below average seafood platters. It's stone crab season ffs, granted the end, but those were too small & didn't have fresh flavor. Snow crab legs small, with little meat. Calamari appetizer was good & shrimp cocktail. Not $95 worthy. Just disappointed for friend visiting from Great Britain. Will not recommend Miami as a destination.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Great location and friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel also is art deco is also in need of updating and bathrooms are old although clean enough with daily chance of towels and toiletries. Breakfast was disappointing with a choice of 3 for continental being a coffee, cerial and fruit and not enough to fill you up to start your day.

    The location is brilliant right opposite the beach and central to bars, restaurants and shops. Also had sun chairs and beach towels in the room free of charge to take down to the beach. There was also a small fridge in room. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    6.3
    Not the same as past experiences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC did not cool the room and kept shutting off and turning back on. We had it set to 65 and there was no way that it ever was 65 degrees ib our room. Room furniture and rooms outdated.

    nice staff, nice location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.2
    Great place to explore South Beach from
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the streets are busy, as they mostly are, then the beach facing rooms can be noisy.

    On the 'strip' od South beach. Albeit expensive, it is a funky hotel in an excellent spot with a great restaurant: the tuna are to die for.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.3
    The real South Beach experience in a charming Deco beach front Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Beachfront Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slight refurbishment would be needed especially in the lounge areas and the old moquette in the rooms would need a fresh up as the way too basic furniture

    Awesome location on lively and buzzy Ocean Drive, amazing beach view and the unique experience of staying in one of the landmark buildings of the Deco district in South Beach

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.3
    Although I booked a king 👑 room it turned out to be a double...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I booked a king 👑 room it turned out to be a double that made a small room even smaller for my husband and I . All that aside we would definitely go back for the location, kind service and a dinner ( paella ) my husband and I will never forget.. over looking the ocean 🌊 was a complete bonus. Excellent !!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    Very good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night we were in a room with a very noisy A/C but that was very well handled the next day with a free upgrade to a better room

    Very good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.8
    perfect location to stay on south beach ,in iconic art deco hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location..... excellent food ...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, lovely staff. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Avalon Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: