Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Comfort Suites Avenel 3 stars

1275 Route 1 South, Avenel, NJ 07001, USA

#2 of 7 hotels in Avenel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 93 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a snow storm and it took a day to get the tv back. It's Direct tv

    Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff was pleasant. Free ride from train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.7
    NOT HANDICAP FRIENDLY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have stayed at this hotel before. My husband is retired law enforcement officer who is retired disabled. It is unconceivable how a handicap room has only a full size bed. My husband is 6' 10" 450 and our sleep was not comfortable. Also the handicap rooms are small. We requested the handicap due to the toilet being taller. We travel quite a bit to this area and will NOT be staying at this hotel again and I do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone who is handicap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    W stayed one night, pre-cruise, but we liked the hotel. Easy check in and check out, comfortable bed and friendly staff. The hotel is situated conveniently near shopping areas. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    Okay staff, not great cleanliness or preparedness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stain on comforter Waited 15 minutes for staff to come out of back room when we stood at the front desk Not nearly enough parking Room not ready after check-in; maid still there when we went up

    Minifridge, microwave and bathtub were great Water stayed nice and hot unlike some other local hotels

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Make sure you have a car because it not near anything!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a Kleenex stuck in the peephole the whole time. The housekeeping staff made the bed but didn’t tidy anything else. The location is mostly the problem- it is on a highway not near anything at all, not a single restaurant within walking distance. Also it was nice to have the free breakfast but it was kinda crummy. Super watery juice and unripened fruit and some bread to toast.

    They had a free shuttle to the airport which was great. They had a free breakfast and coffee too. Staff was friendly. Room was mostly nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Overall i enjoyed my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning lady blocking elevevator daily, including when leaving and my suit case barely got through because this lady decided to sit and fold towels.

    Clean bed sheets and fresh towels daily despite sign in room stating towel are only changed every 3 days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean hotel for an airport stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really around, and I think the address of the hotel on Google is messed up, making it hard to find by GPS and food delivery (but they know where the hotel is). There is nothing much to do around, so you are probably stuck in the hotel if you don't have a car. However, I'm only staying for a night all these are minor and I don't really care.

    Super clean guest room (what I care the most); free airport shuttle because I had to go to EWR the next day; there was also free breakfast served too bad I didn't have time to have a try

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.7
    It was clean and the front desk personel very professinal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. My confrimation room and price could not be accomodated. (Could not be found even though I had an official copy on hand and in my phone data) 2. My wait at the airport was very long because they are not close, only had one shuttle running on a Friday evening and you must call and let them know that you are at the airport. 3. There are NO resturants nearby and no information for food delivery.

    It was clean and the front desk personel very professinal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband had an item stollen off his motorcycle while it was parked over night. It was directly under the light in the parking lot.

    The decor was very nice & inviting. The room was clean & the staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was so comfortable! I enjoyed my shower so much. Especially the red heater that comes on when you come out the shower. The beds were more than comfortable. Everything was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was ok, the eggs could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Utility vehicles taking up a lot of the parking spaces.

    The breakfast was ok, the eggs could be better. There could be a choice of egg whites also. They need a new toaster, the one they currently have doesn't work. People were lined up trying to toast their bread. Other than that, it was a good stay. The staff, very accommodating n pleasurable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.3
    When we checked in half hour later one of the housekeepers...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in half hour later one of the housekeepers nocked and opened the door immediately. I think its a privacy issue. Not happy about that. Other than that issue everything else was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    This is a great hotel to stay in. Will definately stay again. Great location, easy to get in and out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fantastic but you could hear all the traffic in the hallway. Therefore making the guests across the hall heard at 1am.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    6.7
    Definitely not for longer or repeated stays!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not understand how this can be called breakfast! This is low class! The noise of the AC (heating at the same time) is HORRIBLY loud, like a truck diesel, and switches on and off every couple of minutes. NOT acceptable!

    Staff is friendly and helpful, flexible! Beds & bathroom are fine, towels are very nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    8.8
    Top cleanliness and a real comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirrors in the whole suite!!! Only in the bathroom.. No balcony and very poor breakfast bag because we had to leave early in the morning before opening of the buffet..

    Cleanliness, comfortable bed, spacious room, decent breakfast, helpful staff and good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Thank u for giving me a beautiful date night sexy atmosphere..!!!!! Staff Dope!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a comfortable smoking area outside with a bench out on the side not to much in front of building but on the side...

    That's going to be my New need to get away for a night date night for a Lil get away place ...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    I enjoyed my bed, my room , it's was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the breakfast food it Seemed so microwaveable.

    I enjoyed my bed, my room , it's was very clean. The bed was so fluffy and comfortable they have cable which was a plus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    You need to have car to move around. I may not be comfortable walking around,maybe the area is new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was spacious , clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    The bathroom is so complete!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is so complete!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Property is pretty clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were not too willing to serve

    Property is pretty clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    From the moment you stepped in EVERYTHING was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the moment you stepped in EVERYTHING was perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clean ,the bed very comfortable, everything was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.8
    Comfortable , clean and spacious room reasonable price, difficult to access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad entrance to hotel from freeway. No coffee jug in room.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Quietness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice , the whole place is like New.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    it was like a was on bacation, staff friendly and proffessional.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is nothing to be dislike.

    good small gym, laundry room for guess

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    My stay was excellant
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nonething

    Your breakfast was great. Everything was great. Staff is pretty good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Clean and nice place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be a bit better.

    Clean and nice place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    My stay was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV wasn't working properly, it kept cutting of.

    The Beds are wonderfully comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    4.2
    They charged my creditcard twice for the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged my creditcard twice for the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.2
    comfy but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not comfortable. The heater/ac unit always ran.

    The hotel seemed up to date. Loved the fresh lemon water offered in lobby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little smallish.

    Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice budget hotel in avenel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was quite accommodative to requests. Great value for money. Their shuttle service is a big help.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    AWESOME
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    THERE WAS NOTHING I DID NOT LIKE

    THE STAFF

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Cramped breakfast area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cramped breakfast area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.8
    Need to check for bedbugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke up with bite all over mine and my kids bodies.

    I swear they had bed bugs!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Great place to stay great staff clean and comfortable rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful! The room was very clean and. Comfortable!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    didnt wake up in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    didnt wake up in time

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    4.2
    No
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No com

    No

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    7.9
    Bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought room was clean until we found a few dots of blood on sheet??! Jacuzzi had one head that kept popping off.

    Bed very comfortable. Received free upgrade to jacuzzi. Room looked clean but…

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    6.7
    The room was nicely decoratedand the bed comfortable.
    • Couple

    tub was dirty and when fixing the bed because we didn't use all the covers were stained. Also the lounge area closed before midnight on a friday night.

    The room was nicely decoratedand the bed comfortable. Location was good.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    The lady at the front desk was excellent had an issue with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was terrible

    The lady at the front desk was excellent had an issue with my card that was resolved but not once did she make us feel uncomfortable ... Great Customer service love it here every time I come back to jersey I stay here

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.1
    Overall clean, decent selection of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Walls too thin. We could hear everyone in the hallway, outside and in the next room.

    Overall clean, decent selection of breakfast. Really liked my King Suit! Staff was welcoming and professional.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    9.2
    Me and my wife enjoyed stay at comfort suites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi

    Me and my wife enjoyed stay at comfort suites. However, free wifi is terrible and couldn't work while we stayed there! Overall, very confortable stay! We lived it!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Na

    Clean

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    Best hotel in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Best hotel in the area. Clean and organized. Excellent staff!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.3
    The room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was very clean and comfortable. Staff members were very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    very clean and confortable
    • Couple

    very clean and confortable

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    7.5
    Large size room, location of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Large size room, location of hotel. Great Internet speed

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    8.8
    Comfort of beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds too small

    Comfort of beds

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    9.2
    Room was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking around hotel was limited after 11 pm.

    Room was very comfortable. Cleanliness of hotel was awesome.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.5
    location close to new york, shuttle service was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location close to new york, shuttle service was good.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    The style of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The style of the room.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.2
    Wish it had a swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish it had a swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.5
    I really like this hotel, very good breakfast, peaceful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really like this hotel, very good breakfast, peaceful, even is located on route 1&9 no noise at all

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    Very clean room,bed was very comforting, location is great,
    • Family with young children

    Very clean room,bed was very comforting, location is great,

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    wish it were longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not really, only one tissue in box and bathroom sink stopper was not connected

    wish it were longer

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.5
    No pool or hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No pool or hot tub

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.3
    No swimming pool or hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No swimming pool or hot tub

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    6.7
    Clean room
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Noise in the first floor due to church service.

    Clean room

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: