Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo 4 stars

28951 Los Alisos Boulevard, Mission Viejo, CA 92692, USA

#4 of 4 hotels in Mission Viejo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 68

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    4.2
    A necessary disappointing stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV didn't work, the cleanliness of the room was dismal, the facilities (even just controlling the aircon or switching on the lights was not working in the bedroom), the fitness centre was tiny. Certainly not what is expected based on photos.

    Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. The general facilities were okay and parking being free is great!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    Desapointed with the condition of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under refurbishment. The garden were we would like to stay a relax was closed and the halls were being painted. The price was expensive for this condition. The internet was not working. And they didn't not know when it would be working as they said it was a third part company. It took 2 hours at the end. IWe should have sent and email advising us.

    The room was clean and nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think Assisted rooms should have walk in showers .... tubs can be difficult. Room had no “printed” information the ammenities, where was food. Pool . TV Chanel. Phone system ... the usual .... front desk said nothing existed. Wanted a facial . She was on Nury Duty😤

    Comfortable Bed Large room Breakfast High boy cammofe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Short stay but pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very pleasant and check in was quick and easy. My stay was short but the room was clean- it smelled a bit musty but I turned the air and it was better. The hotel as very convenient on/off to the 241 Toll Rd in Orange County which was good for my travel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Not a bad stay at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning machine leaked a little so the floor was wet when I arrived. The pool is across the carpark at the other hotel.

    The bed was comfortable, there was a bath, free breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The staff was so accommodating and treated us very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so accommodating and treated us very well. The rooms were clean, spacious and affordable!! We took our family and they enjoyed it too. Breakfast was GREAT!!! They keep everything warm and replenish food right away. Can’t wait to go back!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Almost perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found a $5 bottled water charge show up on my credit card statement 3 days after checking out even though we did not drink nor use the water (even specifically mentioned this fact at check-out.) Took several calls to get the charge removed.

    Breakfast was good. Room air conditioning unit worked great. Nice pool and hot tub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    I would stay here again! 5 star!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    I like everything about staying Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo. Breakfast was wonderful. The room was great. The staff was so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for attending a wedding as we were all able to stay at the same place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that there were two bottles of mineral water in the room but you were charged for drinking them rather than them being complimentary.

    Free parking, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Never again and will tell others of bad service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't believe this hotel gets the good reviews we read. Me and my girlfriend wanted a nice romantic 1 year anniversary stay and the hotel management turned off the firepit and waterfall at night and that is the night time ambiance that we were looking forward to. Maid Service did not even knock in the morning just tried to open the door twice and no apologies. We would never stay here again. Was not even asked how our stay was at checkout?

    The bed was comfortable. That's it..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    I had a very pleasant stay in this luxurious and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The waffles you could bake yourself at breakfast were great! The bed was great, the room was clean and quiet, even with traffic nearby. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Good value for a comfortable, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the bathroom was directly at the foot of the bed, which was a bit strange... the lighting in the bathroom was also somewhat dim.

    Great selection of breakfast foods, room was spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    It was just alright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were very uncomfortable. The hallways and elevator always looked unkept with debri on the floors. The overall feel was not what I expected. Older hotel that was just ok. Common areas were nice but room was just okay and kind of dingy feeling. Clean but just not upscale like I was expecting.

    The room space was adequate. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    I would recommend Ayres to anyone I know coming to your vicinity. Thanx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our first room impression was not good...someone defecated something awlful in the bathroom - THE SMELL, WHEW! Desperately needed to change room, which happened immediately, thank God.

    Eggs were delicious, coffee good, good selection - wish I had room on my plate for waffles. Slept great, sheets felt great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Very happy with everything. Plan to use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find anything I wasn't happy with.

    The bed was heavenly. Most hotel beds are not as good as theirs. That was very noticeable. The omelettes were also great!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed are stay, but will probably go to a different location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t feel the restaurant had a lot to offer food wise for dinner. The room was dark letting a little bit of sunshine only in the sleeping area. There wasn’t any info in the room about things to do around us.

    It was comfortable and the grounds were well kept. The check in and out process was easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Outstanding stay, highest quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed that the chef did not come to work on day 1 of our arrival and we had to eat at the other facility, which was okay, but not as good as the Hotel & SPA restaurant. Food was good all the same, no worries.

    The Hotel & Spa chef was amazing! She was worth the wait, quite capable and pleasant. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant downstairs didn't have much selection. A little noisy around the courtyard, but was quiet at 10pm.

    Very accommodating. Friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    6.7
    Location is the best part.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are frankly very outdated and I expected more for the rate. The property itself and public areas are inviting, but the room decor is devoid of any character.

    Location is great and the staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    10
    Large clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large clean rooms. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful courtyard, staff was accomodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was more than adequate

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    4.6
    Housekeeping needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk needs to keep the residence updated with breakfast timings, as they change from weekends and weekdays. Housekeeping can be improved.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    Pleasurable stay in Mission Viejo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, restaurant, employees were excellent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.1
    clean room close to my venue
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    people everywhere

    clean room close to my venue

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Bed and pillows were fabulous for being away from home.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All is good

    Bed and pillows were fabulous for being away from home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Will always stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues, we stay here always when in the area.

    Answered above

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great rate, helpful staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great rate, helpful staff and good breakfast. No complaints! Would stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Location was close to local grocery and restaurants, yet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!!!!

    Location was close to local grocery and restaurants, yet just enough away from the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Met our needs nicely.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complimentary bottles of water. Instead, $2 per bottle sold downstairs.

    Very plain breakfast, but lots of it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Continental free breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Very Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet & Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints here.

    Love the pillows and the spacious room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.0
    Room smelled.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled. Food was terrible

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    The online images shown of the room, were not as nice as in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The online images shown of the room, were not as nice as in actuality. A bit disappointing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing.
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Lovely location. Quiet. Has the feel of a boutique hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    The smell in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Free parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    vending machine food was out of date
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    vending machine food was out of date

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Love Ayres!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact that the pool was across the parking lot at the other facility

    Great food and staff was awesome

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Excellent well run hotel

    Room size. Staff. Gardens. Bar and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    2.5
    This place is a complete dump.
    • Couple

    This place is a complete dump. The second we walked in the door there was a musty smell. The carpet is worn and dirty. The shower head is broken and only has one setting. The beds are as hard as a rock. We're getting married tomorrow in Mission Viejo. The front desk was aware and still put us in this horrible dilapidated room! I would never recommend that anyone stay here. Go to motel 6, don't waste your money here! This place reeks of an old 80's motel on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere. Yuck!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    7.1
    The housekeeping staff were excellent, pleasant, and did a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed is not soft and the mattress on the pullout was old looking. I have never stayed in a motel or hotel that did not have a safe in the room so I always had to wear my jewelry. The refrigerator mad an annoying humming noise. If I turned it off and back on it would stop for a while. My daughter said the waffles tasted like plastic. The patio furniture did not look the way it actually was in the pictures. It looked old and worn up close. The fitness center is not even the size of the sitting areas in the rooms. There were 2 treadmills, an elliptical and a bike. On the front wall near the window sits a stand of hand weights and a weight bench. The pool and Jacuzzi were closed. Unfortunately because I travel with a lot of electronic equipment an jewelry I probably would not stay here again because there is no safe. Our room was on the street side and you could hear the cars all night.

    The housekeeping staff were excellent, pleasant, and did a great job cleaning. The front desk at check in and check out were very friendly. When I checked in staff told me about the hotel and where things were. Water in the fitness center and the lobby was a nice touch. The WiFi was very fast, It cut off a few times but was back quickly. Parking was free and plenty of spaces.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    7.1
    The outside areas are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 1 bedroom suites are underwhelming. Updated Motel look. The "mountain view" overlooks a freeway. No bars or fun things nearby.

    The outside areas are beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast with omlettes and ample no fuss parking. There is a shoping center nearby with a delicious pizza place and CVS in case you forgot some things. South Coast plaza also nearby.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    9.6
    I liked the roominess of my room, the double tv's, extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is a rattling ice maker compressor fan (I think that's the culprit) that is nearby room 369, and actually kept me awake for awhile. Also, I looked for a brochure in my room,but found none. That would help, especially for things like room service. My coffeemaker leaked water. I would suggest finding better quality (better tasting) coffee service for the rooms. You might try having quality coffee in the lobby early in the morning, for those of us that like a big cup of coffee and a newspaper to start the day. The seating area in the tub was a little different (I see you're trying to be helpful)- you might want to have a diagram on the bathroom wall, showing how to set it aside if it is not needed. I figured it out, but others may not.

    I liked the roominess of my room, the double tv's, extra seating, modern features, views, location, and amenities like the spa, pool, restaurant, and nearby shops. I had the Grilled Salmon w/rice and vegetables in the restaurant, and I LOVED IT. The meal was delicious and perfectly balanced. Wonderful! The thermostat worked perfectly. This was a relief, after being too hot or cold in other rooms I've stayed. The room stayed just cool enough, so no need for extra blankets. The Unit came on in the morning for a few minutes. I came down from Santa Cruz for the Southern California Marathon and 5K. I needed a good night's sleep and I got it, and had a good run. Not having to hunt all over town for a good meal was a huge plus.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast.
    • Couple

    When we turned up the thermostat it never did get very warm in there. Plus the blower was so very loud we couldn't even hear the tv. We finally turned the whole thing off and just snuggled under the covers to sleep.

    Breakfast. Cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.2
    New restaurant facility on property is excellent;
    • Solo traveller

    The only improvement would be that housekeeping monitor the gym amenities as there were no towels in the gym on Monday, November 16, 2015, and the sanitary wipes were all gone. The sanitary wipes were either all gone or jammed inside compartment as none were available from the start of my stay until I checked out. Hence, I was not able to clean the equipment before and after use.

    New restaurant facility on property is excellent; the full complimentary breakfast is amazing with eggs made to order; excellent wifi; suite was very nice with 2 flat screens; many TV channels.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.2
    The room was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I went to the spa for a facial. The facial was nice but thought it was a little too pricey. I can get a better facial here for less and it's more thorough. Mary was wonderful in making sure I was happy with my experience.

    The room was fantastic! Loved the full breakfast each morning. Jennifer and Tanya at the front desk were very friendly!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.3
    Quality, nice hotel with clean rooms, though a bit small.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, really.

    Quality, nice hotel with clean rooms, though a bit small. TV mounted in odd place on wall, internet was TERRIBLE. Really slow. AC was decent, but not great. Good, free parking, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Because we used Booking.com we somehow got a handicapped room. No tub or regular shower & small closet. We were only staying three nights so we make it work.

    Location. We went to Mission Viejo to see family. It was a 10 minute drive. Perfect!!

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    4.6
    I liked the breakfast bar and water in the Lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was very plain and dorm like. The bed was hard. The elevators were out a couple times. I wasn't impressed with it for the price.

    I liked the breakfast bar and water in the Lobby.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    10
    The front desk staff was extremely welcoming & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The front desk staff was extremely welcoming & helpful. Thank you Jennifer! You made our stay a fabulous one!

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.2
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    10
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great value. Very spacious and well appointed room for the money.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    8.3
    It was quite
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows are to soft. Limited food in resturant

    It was quite

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.2
    Everyone who works there was very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's soemthing small, but I love it when hotels have good shampoo and conditioner instead of a combo.

    Everyone who works there was very kind.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent!!!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Great staff - they provided free coupons for yogurt to my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great staff - they provided free coupons for yogurt to my teenage boys and helped make their time there very enjoyable!!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    The front desk staff were extremely accommodating and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to note.

    The front desk staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. The room was immaculate.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    4.2
    the waffles in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The carpets were dirty in the halls. The room was damp and smelly

    the waffles in the morning

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.3
    Smoke and cleaning smell very strong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smoke and cleaning smell very strong.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.1
    Clean establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Booking.com over booked this hotel and they did NOT have my reservation in the system. I almost diden't get a room.

    Clean establishment.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    Very modern, clean and comfortable
    • Couple

    Very modern, clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Loved the location, the staff, the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the location, the staff, the property. Would love to visit again.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Very clean, great breakfast bar or eggs to order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No real issues, there was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom but we had some ouselves.

    Very clean, great breakfast bar or eggs to order.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.5
    ThAt the hotel got the dates mixed up .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    ThAt the hotel got the dates mixed up ...

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.6
    I liked that it was a small and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked that it was a small and comfortable hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    I liked the spacious rooms and the amenities.
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing that comes to mind

    I liked the spacious rooms and the amenities.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Freeway access
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Freeway access

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 68

Browse Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: