Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Banana Bay Resort & Marina 3 stars

4590 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050, USA

#17 of 30 hotels in Marathon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 554 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful Resort very relaxing Fab room & beds still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bar open or food onsite rooms cleaned everyday but sheets not changed & orange was spilt on it first day & remained there for the 3days ☹️

    Beautiful Resort very relaxing Fab room & beds still getting back after Hurricane Lovely Pool & Hot tub Robert at check in very friendly & helpful all staff great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Real Florida scenery with modern comfort
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. Sometimes plastic static key cards don't work. No vending machine in building. Unpaved parking area. Smoke detector was beeping when we arrived, they provided the batteries but no maintenance tech, so I replaced them myself.

    Rooms in the marina view building are very spacious. Bed and linens are nice. Bath is modern, sophisticated. Very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    3.8
    Dont think we'll be returning to Banana Bay "Resort"
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was sinking in the middle . Did not have a comfortable night sleep at all. Given drink coupons upon check in however no one was serving at the bar.Seems Banana bay should not be calling this a resort by any means. Looks like they gave up on the property. Upon check out notified staff of uncomfortable night & all we got was an insincere apology. Resort Fee could have been waived at least for the trouble.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    3.8
    The rooms were also
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was bad , I have 3 kids and inside the pool electric cables were out , the pool bar the lobby told me they open till 9pm and the left at 7 and I couldn’t do nothing at night because there was a wedding going , bad expirence .

    The rooms were also

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Staff was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    Staff was awesome. Went snorkeling with better than most. They are right on property. Marissa was great. She helped us out alot. Very clean. Close to everything we wanted to do. Enjoyed our stay and will be back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    OK but doubt I would go back as there's nothing to do at night,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were in the only room without a balcony and the hotel was less than 1/4 full. also the grounds needed to be cleaned up.

    The interior of the room was awesome, the bed was awesome too

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is well worth money and it's really updated and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The older blond bartender in the back lacked any personality and made us feel like a bother. The scenery was great but her service or lack of was pitiful.

    I travel frequently and stay in good hotels this bed was by far the most comfortable of them all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the room entry system. Tech problems

    Everything!!! Staff was amazing. So clean and cozy. Beach theme. Free wifi. From seat to sunrise

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    I won’t be back. There are too many other hotels to try.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no place to put soap or shampoo in the shower. Had to drop the bar of soap into the floor. There was one glass door to the shower so water sprayed onto the outside all over the floor. There was a pile of poop in the side of the pool all day. No one cleaned it up. I had to call front desk for room service twice and didn’t get any new towels until the evening after I had to go out. The bartender at the pool admitted the brands of liquor were ‘rock gut’ and she was correct. Awful, cheap brands. I asked for a receipt (which couldn’t be printed at check out, printer wouldn’t work day 2 the front desk said) to be emailed to me. I still haven’t received it. This could be a stand out hotel with just a little bit more attention. Unacceptable for the cost.

    Location in Marathon is good. I liked the decor in the hotel. The back by the water has stunning views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.6
    Go elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as advertised. Pictures not current. Run down. Bad shape. Room had dirty bandage on floor upon arrival. Fridge was smaller than standard mini fridge. Wife made a pie for my bday and wouldnt fit in fridge. Definatly not worth $540 for 3 days. Gang members present during our stay. They had furniture in pool playing dominos on patio table in pool. Liquor bottles present while tiki was open. Pool in desperate need of repair. Hot tub was cold and full of debris. I was embarrassed I took my wife there. I work at a 70 yr old beachfront property in daytona and it is in fantastic shape in comparison. It would cost a fortune to bring banana bay back to advertised pictures.

    I wasn't shot!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    BAD MANAGEMENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed 3 nights and room was not made up until after 4 every day. Added a increased "resort fee with no notice. management very bad

    nice room but no instructions for anything. pool towels available but no one will tell you that

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no food facilities onsite at all, even if we had a microwave in the room that would have helped. The pool area could do with an upgrade and let the beautiful property down a little, however, it was clean

    The Room was spacious, tastefully decorated and spotless, we had a lovely balcony, the king size bed was very comfortable, the air conditioning was noisy at night so we turned it off and just used the ceiling fan, there was a mini fridge which was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful, good location central for local restaurants and supermarkets. We stopped here on our way to Key West for 2 nights and were very happy with our choice of accommodation and would highly recommend this resort

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Great stay at this nice location, very nice pool area and small marina bay for watching the sunset
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things could use some maintenance (tiki bar pool), jacuzzi was not available due to renovation.

    Very nice, clean spacious rooms, good beds. Location Large pool, kids really enjoyed it. Nice garden with BBQ facilities. Sunset at the beach tiki bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    We have stayed here in the past, and will always be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We have stayed here in the past, and will always be returning every year! We love this resort due to the location (on the water), and mainly because they have a private boat ramp with slips and trailer parking. This is necessary for people with boats, as it makes it so convenient to drop in the water anytime! The rooms are gorgeous and newly renovated as well as the building itself. We love the property !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Location, on sight boat ramp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Gulf View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a room, with gulf view that was not available at check in. They compensated us with a boat slip, when we got back they had other boat in our spot. Staff had no answers so we had to take boat out of water. Pool area is very run down.

    Location, on sight boat ramp.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Room was very nice and updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor was dirty and the grounds were not maintained. Pool area was dirty but not the pool itself.

    Room was very nice and updated. Marina was very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.8
    resort view was of a parking lot with dead trees and plants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    resort view was of a parking lot with dead trees and plants, the pool restrooms were fifthy, could not get any wifi, this property looked like they really never tried to recover from Irma....It was extremely disappointing...one last point on the way to the pool I was greeted by a large dog that looked to be in the pit bull family wandering with no owner or leash in sight.....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Great little place in the middle keys!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to everything we wanted to do. An hour to Key West,an hour up to Key Largo. Great tiki bar at sunset point in the evenings. Nice pool area. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Would definately stay there again! !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed a microwave in room, not a big deal.

    Location was great. The sunset point was beautiful at night, and shaded during the day for fishing. Quiet place, and very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    kitschy marina hotel with great rooms but faded beauty when it comes to property grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was rather dated and in need of some repair. It looks like it was a beautiful place once upon a time but it's rather faded now. The pool area could use the same updating that's been done to their rooms - which are beautiful.

    Our room was beautiful and the view perfect. The staff was very friendly. Loved they had bikes available to use.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    LOVE Banana Bay Resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a little problem with the A/C when we first checked in, but it was fixed immediately.

    The room was beautiful. The beds were super comfortable. The whole building we were in was clean, quaint, and decorated beautifully. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, and made us feel more than welcome. We loved our stay at Banana Bay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay at Banana Bay Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was not in the best condition but I'm not sure how much was due to last year's hurricane. The pool needs to be resurfaced.

    The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was friendly. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do over our three days in the Keys.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The beds were so comfortable and the rooms were immaculate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I brought my family here and we only stayed for one night but the facilities and the amenities were on point.

    The beds were so comfortable and the rooms were immaculate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    2.5
    350 usd a night is way too high to lack of basic things like a breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Gulf View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the facilities, the restrictions everywhere, the lack of restaurant, the check in.

    350 usd for 1 night, and they did not have restaurant, breakfast nothing than the room with beds and towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Very laid back!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The resort is still being renovated, there was no food on site. Wish the web site would had mentioned this.

    Very nice clean BIG rooms. The bed was very comfortable!!!! Will be back!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    Not pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For how early I booked reservation was not happy with where our room was located, felt we should of been on water side with balcony for price we paid. Also I stated we had 4 adults and 15yr old but had no bed so son had to sleep in ground. Air condition leaked and ruined my bag and clothes in bag, when I told desk they did nothing about it. Unhappy with no good at Tiki Bars. Looked much more entertaining on internet versus in person.

    The rooms being remodeled.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Clean comfortable rooms nice resort, facilities very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were all a little disappointed with the bar facilities and entertainment, we were expecting to use the resort for entertainment and drinks so that we did not need to drive somewhere and therefore not drink and drive. We asked for the bar to be opened and the entertainment on the first night but they said it would be closed due to the weather, it was not raining and the forecast gave it no rain, when we insisted that it be opened there was eventually 16 people using the facility. The second night the bar did not open, we were told that it would open, although the sign at the front of the resort advertised bar and entertainment that night. This was disappointing. At booking we also were told there would be complimentary breakfast, this was not the case.

    The resort looked great seeing they were still recovering from the hurricane. The room was comfortable and clean. The pool area was great and staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was free and just outside our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, nice updated rooms and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loud neighbors is the next room over, it was ongoing till 2am. The floor was dirty, I took a shower and walked to the bed and the bottom of my feet looked like I ran a mile on the road barefoot

    Great location, nice updated rooms and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Needs some TLC, more updated music, entertainment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have some of the resort fee amenities listed and no hot tub - was under construction, the beds were not very comfortable

    The view of the marina/water, the tiki bars, pool, and beautiful area down by the marina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food and Beverage service lack. There is no longer a restaurant on the property. The Tiki Bars are hit and miss for being open and are not full bars. Since you can't bring outside drinks into the pool area it would be nice if that tiki bar would be open consistantly.

    Beautiful location. Loved sitting down at the little beach area. Laid back vibe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Very specious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very specious room. The Tili bar at sunset was memorable! Very good location to explore surroundings and get to other Keys as well. Staff was very friendly and helpful, I had a great time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were the best part, comfortable, clean and newly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were the best part, comfortable, clean and newly redone. The landscaping of the property needs some work. It looks like they are still working on post hurricane improvements. It would’ve made a huge difference if there was someone working at the poolside to sell cold drinks or at least have water and fresh towels. You have to have change for the vending machine or a cup to go back to the hotel for a cup of ice water. It would’ve been nice to have coffee or drinks for sale down by the bay. Looks like they intend to do that but for $300 a night there weren’t the little services you’d expect. The staff was really nice and friendly - a poolside attendant would’ve made a huge difference.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    3.8
    BAD, BAD, BAD
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool and whirlpool was a construction site. Pool area dirty and unplesant. Pool Bar closed; should have been open since hotel was fully booked. Booked higher room category to get view on water, called 2 hours prior to arrival to ensure we have 1st floor room with water view what was confirmed. At check-in ended up with a parking lot view and a dark room. I hated that experience and it is totally over-prized with $300 per night. I will issue formal complaint. Pictures in Internet due not represent truth and sometimes do not match with this hotel.

    Room was "nicely decorated"; however, it needed several repairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Awesome stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, from the location to the room set up. The facility is well designed and the atmosphere is so nature oriented which in my opinion makes it wonderful. We enjoyed a bike ride and seating at the marina. We look forward to be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    The facility has been remodeled but it was poorly done and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Accessible Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility has been remodeled but it was poorly done and looked far nicer online. Sadly I have a severe mold allergy and the room smelled strongly of mold and was intensified by the window AC unit. Beyond the room, the swimming pool and grounds were trashy and dated. I would not recommend this place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the batteries in the smoke detector died and it woke us beeping low battery at 2:00 am, not a complaint about the hotel at all!!

    Overall this place was wonderful, very accommodating and friendly. No complaints amazing place, we will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Unpleasant extra fees ruined the nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly the AC in the room didn't work. Also we were very disappointed to see that at the check-out we had to pay some extra money for hidden fees that were not mentioned on booking.com when we booked the room. Those were the following ones: room tax-country ,room tax- state, state sales tax-resort fee, country tax-resort fee. In total we paid around extra 34$ plus 16$ fee for mastercard. It wasn't very good to see these amounts of extra payments while checking out. Would be fair to display them all on time when booking a place!

    The bathroom was well equipped and looked very stylish. The check-in late at night was very friendly and welcoming by introducing all the available opportunities (breakfast nearby, free bike rental, free drink tickets).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Room was clean and pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bocce & tennis courts were still in rough condition from the hurricane, so we didn't use those. The location is beautiful. I'd love to return with our boat and get the balcony marina view for the same price I paid this visit. That would make it perfect!

    Room was clean and pretty. Paid a little too much to not have a balcony & view, but it was spring break, I guess. The bikes were a nice bonus, but there were only 4. My daughter and I took a bike ride to get cuban coffee. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel value in Marathon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are very few downsides to Banana Bay. The shower has a glass partition that only extends half way and no door. So it was difficult to shower without wetting the bathroom floor. By the marina there is obviously a strong smell of fish and salt, which I didn’t mind but other guests might.

    The resort property is spacious and the dockside bar is a great place to watch the sunset while sipping a complimentary beer or wine. The room was big, clean and comfortable. Loved the fluffy and soft mattress, pillows and comforter. There isn’t a fridge in the room, but there is an ice machine in the hall. I didn’t get a chance to swim in the pool but the friendly front desk staff member who checked us in said it was heated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely gorgeous property that I would return to and base from if on Marathon Key again.
    • Group
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We always missed the hours of the two tiki bars! There is an added resort fee for wifi, pool, etc. so it is unfortunate if you are required to pay it and don't really have access to all of the amenities.

    The rooms were gorgeous. There has been some hurricane damage to the property but they have clearly tried very hard to clean up the grounds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay - very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should have been included but is no longer offered. This should be made clear on booking.

    Banana Bay resort was excellent! If it had a restaurant it would be almost perfect! Our room was lovely - we were upgraded to a sea view. The pool area was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bar area down by the marina was relaxing and a great place to end the day. I would definitely recommend the Banana Bay resort to anyone looking for an overnight stay halfway down to Key West.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    a bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe they were still recovering from Hurricane damage but the pool needed to be cleaned , the floor in the room was dirty.

    Location- Decor - room size and set up - front desk agents - bikes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing!
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel lacks a bar. There is not much to do in the area and nor the pool bar, which never opened during our 3 day stay or the Tiki Bar in the back, which only opened for a short period of time in the afternoon were really a place to sit back and relax with a drink, no live music. We had to leave the resort to go for drinks and food. Really would have liked to grab a drink by the pool, it was such hot days!

    BEAUTIFUL ROOM, Amazing view from the Tiki Bar area out back, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Good not great. But the sunset view from the bar is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. It's too expensive for the atmosphere.

    The rooms are beautiful and newly remodeled. Great location. Staff is friendly. Its a strange atmosphere. No music at the pool few people at the beautiful bar on the sand. Almost too quiet. The floors in our room were new but very dirty. You can tell they are still getting back on their feet after the hurricane. Will try again sometime.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t recommend it at that price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Gulf View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free breakfast as promised! No hot tub as advertised! Pool was not heated, too cool. Way overpriced for service and facilities! Bars were not open or staffs most of time. Balcony was facin north so we didn’t see sunsets or sunrise!

    The rooms were new, modern and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great place! Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was nice but there was not full lighting in case needed.

    Cleqn and spacious room with a nice view. If you are to spend some days in Marathon, Banana Bay Resort is perfect. Great facilities- you can spend several days just chilling at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Really clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well lit back toward marina and tiki bar. Kind of scary when you don’t know where you’re going

    Really clean Soft sheets Comfortable bed Dreamy pillows Really clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    Good for a stop over but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is I still recovering from recent hurricane so the place still looks a bit of a mess. Our room was spacious and comfortable. However, pillows were lumpy, a/c very noisy and bathroom floor was dirty. We borrowed a couple of bikes but had to return quickly as tyres needed air.

    Spacious room and Mary (receptionist) was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We understand the hurricane did alot of damage, but putting people in a water damaged room is not only not a good thing but also very unhealthy. The mold and other damage from storm is not safe. When asked for an ocean view and got a boat view which was very sad . We drove for days to get there and we were very disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.0
    No beech even if it is advertise as if it had one, no...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No beech even if it is advertise as if it had one, no Jacuzzi, bar at swimming pool was a complete joke, you can´t call that a bar! Piña colada horrible. Room was nice and clean. Instalations very poor and price ridiculous for what it has to offer which is NOTHING!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    I really enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was out of order, the tiki bar at the pool wasn’t opened while I was there! Other than that it was a very nice, and neat stay!!

    The rooms were really nice and clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Great place with a great staff and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My view from my room balcony was the parking lot but nothing to really complain about.

    Liked that I could just leave my room and the pool was to the right or turn left and play a game of tennis. We rather enjoyed the view at the tiki bar. Nothing like sitting out their with a great daily special drink in the hand and watch the sunset. Entertainment there was enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location in the keys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities outside need a clean up and modernising,I know there still cleaning up after the hurricane.we also had a bad sewage smell in our bathroom. Receptionist the day after we arrived very rude needs to take lessons from receptionist from when we arrived .

    Receptionist when we arrived most welcoming and friendly,the best that I have met and I have traveled all over the world.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.4
    Nice rooms but there is nothing special to justify a resort fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Resort View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Resort fee should be built in price. Very little value for extra per day. No breakfast. Bar was closed, fence around tennis court has not been repaired months after hurricane. Lots of kids with toys in pool.

    Newly renovated rooms were stylish and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Great staff, location and facilities. Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NA

    The staff were incredible and go out of their way to meet your every need. The location, facilities and cleanliness were also important to me and I appreciated the quality very much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    Due to the hurricane not all facilities were accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort Room 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked the facility including breakfast through this website, but due to the hurricane the facilities were not accessible, therefore breakfast was not served, and when asked for compensation they did not give it and referred to wrong conditions on Booking.com

    The room was very nice, with a wonderful view, and they did a great job after the hurricane to clean up the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Staff and cleanliness great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff and cleanliness great. I almost did not go there due to some bad reviews. But called and talked to them. Very helpful. Highly recommend. Price, value and cleanliness wonderful. Natasha great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice rooms, average service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gulf View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not really friendly and the recommendations were bad if available at all. Breakfast was offered on booking.com but not available at the hotel (allegedly also because of the hurricane). The staff just said 'you have to look for breakfast somewhere else, we don't have.' Thank you... (Ok, they reduced the price a bit at the end, but you should have some alternatives for your guests) Also, when I asked to call a diving center for a snorkling trip, the staff at the front desk said 'call it from your room' instead of supporting me.

    Nice Rooms in good condition. Free parking close to the rooms. The sea is close (right behind the hotel) but it is not really good to swim (big stones, not really a 'beach'), better just to watch the sea. If you want to go out in the evening it is better you have a car. There are not many things around. Best place to have dinner is 'Burdines Waterfront' (lovely place!), a 5 min drive away from the hotel. Can't say anything about the pool because it was still closed because auf hurricane Irma.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    The room was really big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Resort missed a lot of stuff, (as a consequence for the hurricane) but they didn't report it at the customer before the booking. The resort in the picture was amazing, the pool, jacuzi and all general aspect, but in fact wasn't like in the picture. Plus, during the night there was a really strange noise (i don't know what it was) and we called the receptionist to fix it. She told as that someone was caming to see the problem but nobody coming. So in the end we sleept all nigh with that noise. My opinion the resort was totally over priced!

    The room was really big and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Considering the stay was just after the hurricane went threw, we were very happy with it.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Resort View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways were very noisy and the floors in the room were not scrubbed very well, my feet were black at all times.

    The bed was amazing and the room was beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    LOVE IT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t find any thing that I didn’t like

    Room was excellent extremely nice, clean and all new and well kept, I will definitely recommend, there were areas that do to hurricane Irma were not available yet, but was they finished will be a nice place to spend part of your vacation, also for those that like a nice and quietly place, you will ;love this place, which also has a marina

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    LOved the way they redid the rooms beautiful and functional.
    • Couple
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the hurricane they didn't have cable. And the internet was hard to sign into. Not heir fault.

    LOved the way they redid the rooms beautiful and functional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    A little pricey for what you get, don't bother with the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds and Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was horrible, no variety very overcrowded and they served fruit in plastic cups imported from Thailand.(in Florida?!) There was one very small ice machine for the whole facility that runs out of ice very very quickly, and our sink was clogged and it took until the next day to get the problem fixed. Otherwise it was a beautiful place

    Very clean rooms, beds were very comfortable, there's a beautiful spot on the water behind the hotel to watch the sunset where you can lay in a hammock or get a drink from the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    It was amazing and memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Accessible Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer

    The sunset views are amazing. The beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. Customer Service was great. The bar at the marina was a great place to lay in a hammock enjoying the beautiful sunset.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Very nice stay except there should be microwave in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I slipped and fell in the bath tub there was no non slip surface in the tub. Had to use bath towel. in order not to slip again.

    Bed was very comfortable slept very well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Fien
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathtub was clogged small refrigerator was not working, turn out it was unplugged. room too big for AC capacity, room never quite cooled down Cost: Price is misleading since original booking.com pricing did not include local taxes which are like 25%

    Size of room, bed, bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.8
    Air conditioning never got cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning never got cool. We moved rooms and it was always 80 except at night. Internet is horrible. Has to leave my room to get some work done

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful resort, excellent and friendly staff, and amazingly comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire resort seemed newly renovated with beautiful coastal decor and design. The lobby even smelled so good walking in, the rooms were brand new and beautifully decorated. The pool was clean, there were areas for privacy as well as social areas around the resort. The beds in our room were so comfortable, and honestly had one of the best nights rest I have had in a while. We LOVED this place. We also loved that we could bring our boat !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Convenient location, but there are improvement for cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tile floor in the room was very dirty, our feet would turn black if we walked barefoot on the floor. The sand bar at the back of the hotel has fleas in the sand, so our feet got bites all over.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is close to supermarket, restaurants, and the high way. I also like it is also a marina with easy access to a boat ramp. The room is decorate nicely with easy access to the pool and other amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    3.3
    overpriced and falsely advertised and poorly trained staff who did not care if you were happy.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    just about everything. lazy rude customer service at the front desk. Did not get what they said I had when I called to confirm the details (my water front room was occupied by others who booked after I did). Just a falsely advertised roadside motel that should not be called a resort. Even the pool was being used for diving instructions and a large net was up so people played volley ball and no one else could use the pool. If booking.com tells you they will see that you get the lowest price or they will match it - try to find someone to talk to. I could not.

    The location was in the center of the Keys. That is all can say that is positive. The staff was unfriendly and not helpful. I was charged over $300 on Booking.com and they offered the same room for less than $200. MY water front view was a parking lot filled with empty boat trailers. There was no beach that you could swim at, the Tiki bar was poor at best with just beer and cheap wine. Breakfast was poorly presented pastries, toast, and cold cereal if you were lucky enough to get a seat. The entire place was like a cheap roadside motel. If booking.com has pricing policies that ensure best pricing I could not find a phone number or a website that I could place a complaint at. I fee I was scammed out of close to $2,000 by false advertising. Booking.com now lists the place for $129 a night. What is going on?????

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was terrible. outdoor spa needs updated railing & decking. would have been nice if bar at pool was open even if only for soft drinks & snacks

    Pool was nice. the area on the gulf was a wonderful place to chill out in the evening. wood looking tile floors throughout room. comfortable bed & seating area. nice shower & sink

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    A very disappointing stay. If advertised for 4 people it would have been ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was advertised for 4 adults and 2 children. Upon check in we were informed that was too many people. So, we had to book another hotel for 2 of the adults, with no discounted amount from Banana Bay. They blamed booking.com. I expect a discount from either the hotel or booking.com since I could have booked another hotel for 6 without spending an additional $500

    Convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    very clean, helpful staff, comfortable room, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cold breakfast items. a resort f this level should at least have a waffle maker but eggs & breakfast meat for the price of the room was what we expected

    very clean, helpful staff, comfortable room, location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Area down by the water with chairs and hammocks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Resort View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra fees we had to pay. I should only haf to pay for the room and taxes.

    Area down by the water with chairs and hammocks. The cleanliness in whole.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    great, except for the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Gulf View Balcony 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool was very old and dirty, the pool bar wasn't open the breakfast was ok, but only 3 little tables for alot of people

    the room and view was great

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Banana Bay Resort & Marina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: