Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Basin Harbor 3 stars

4800 Basin Harbor Road, Vergennes, VT 05491, USA

#2 of 2 hotels in Vergennes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 7 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 9

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    2.5
    Rip off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Use Air bnb for this area!

    Their cancellation policy is awful. I forgot to cancel the first night did cancel the second but, they still charged me $818 for two nights. It was already price gauging but, that took it to new heights!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    The atmosphere is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Main Lodge Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old air condition systems which are noisy

    The atmosphere is fantastic. It is like a club but it is not a club as everyone can be on its own.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    our memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Cottage with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    having to leave

    our memories

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.6
    Location, a landscape, a lake, clean air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I learned that Vermont state law prohibits to bring wine bought outside of restaurant. We expected a cork fee.

    Location, a landscape, a lake, clean air.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    Location, facilities, golf, staff, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner in main dining room was mediocre and overpriced. Also there is lack of dining facilities. Either main dining room or local pub though pub food was good.

    Location, facilities, golf, staff, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People tying there dogs outside the restaurant when we were having breakfast and instead of looking and enjoying the magnificent views we were seeing dogs defacating and barking their heads off when the owners left them to come into breakfast. The Red Barn, the food is very poor unless you eat steak and chips everyday. No one knows how to make a decent salad, Gnocchi is not left over mashed potato with a sauce. Moules Marinare does not have an indistingable sauce thrown over it. It should come with crusty bread to soak up the delicious white wine sauce. In fact I don't think you have changed the menu for at least 10 years. It has been a very expensive trip for us for what we got. Far too many dogs, far too many bicycles flying about, it was not a restful holiday .dogs were supposed to be kept on a leash but that rarely happened. Our room wallpaper was starting to peel off the wall, in fact a lot of the lodge needs redecoration.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    There are wonderful views of the lake and facilities for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Concierge was not experienced and couldn't answer many questions such as, how many coins needed for the laundry service, changes to restaurant bookings did not reliably get through to the restaurant etc. not a very smiley service, especially since we were there for a week. Similar with restaurant 'managers' who need guidance from someone more professional and experienced. For example, one told us we couldn't bring the wine we had just bought from the bar into the restaurant! The Red Mill was a big disappointment. Inspite of it's cheerful potential and friendly waiting staff, it has a stale air about it as if it needed a deep clean, a new carpet and the windows opening on a regular basis. The food was disappointing and overpriced. We waited 30 - 40 minutes for a take out since we were not allowed to sit outside. Whilst waiting the manager asked us at least 3 times "how we were doing" without apparently realising that we were waiting a long time or that he had already asked us the same question. It did not give a good impression.

    There are wonderful views of the lake and facilities for children. The highlight of our stay was the harbor dinner on the lakeside. We had a spacious room which was well serviced. Pity about the old mattress! There are lots of family groups which return year after year and this gives a special atmosphere. Very good breakfasts! The Reception staff were very helpful and professional.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    It was a very pretty spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Leaving

    It was a very pretty spot. They created an overall relaxing environment.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    Some difficulty checking out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some difficulty checking out

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 9

Guests also reviewed these properties: