Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 3 stars

555 West Ash Street, Downtown San Diego, San Diego, CA 92101, USA

#49 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1530 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    The lady that checked us in was not the best help at all.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady that checked us in was not the best help at all. I asked her a couple of questions and she wasn't very helpful until she seen a dissatisfied expression on my face.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    The location and room is very nice, bed is very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a little bit construction noise from outside, but it is ok.

    The location and room is very nice, bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    IT WAS A FANTASTIC STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made our stay extra special. I was so tired, feverish and nauseated when we got to San Diego. We arrived 3 hours earlier than their check in time. The Front Desk personnel, Horacio saw my tired face, red eyes and flushed skin and instantly knew that I can use an earlier check in. And he did allow us to go to our room earlier than scheduled. The 3 hours of rest helped a lot in fact, that night my husband and I were on a Hornblower Dinner Cruise because I felt a lot better after I took some Motrin and rested, thanks to Horacio.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Excellent would highly recommend, ask for a high floor for a better view of the Bayside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cant say there wasn't anything we didn't like about this hotel

    Loved the rooms, ours was overlooking the pool and view of the bay. Beds very comfy and rooms spotlessly clean. Location was perfect to strike out to anywhere and also 10 min walk to Santa Fe station so we could pick up our Amtrak train to LA

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Good family friendly hotel by Little Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was older than I realized. Its 1985 heritage has been covered up for the most part after renovation.

    Good staff. They didn't have an airport shuttle but if you take a cab from the airport to the hotel they will reimburse you for the $15 fare. Breakfast was decent. It is in a small restaurant next to the hotel. Get there early if you want a table without having to wait.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall, a reasonable hotel for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast left a lot to be desired, although they offered hot items they weren’t worth it. The hotel also had outdated rooms even though the lobby and hallways were all updated.

    We stayed here for a few nights in SD. The hotel was in a great location and parking was cheap in comparison to other places. The rooms were a good size and they were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking. The set up of the garage was cumbersome.

    The location was great. Within easy walking distance to the water and Little Italy. Close to the zoo

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Location was perfect! Few steps from Little Italy area and Gas Lamp area. 5 mins walk to the harbour. Rooms were clean and comfy. A pool view room is a must! Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Plenty of parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Beds are soft and comfy if you like that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose this place for a marathon (location to finish line, and it had a restaurant on site) but the restaurant was closed all weekend. Was not aware of this. I would have picked a different place. Because I'd rather not walk much after a marathon.

    Beds are soft and comfy if you like that. Rooms were quite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction in area.

    Shuttle from airport to cruise line great Shuttle from airport & to cruise port great extras. Good breakfast included. Great valve for all we got . Nice room too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    great location to many places
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    our stay was one night before starting a cruise. Location was good to both the port and to restaurants in the area. We were able to walk to most places. The free shuttle to the port was also something we used and booked a time for the previous night, so very little waiting in the am. Bonus was that there is a drug store just down the street if you forgot anything travelling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View.

    Great breakfast. Good location. We had the quiet side. Ask for pool view but know you will be looking at the parking lot. However, super quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not the best and of not good quality as didn’t bother the 2nd morning checked out early and went and had a lovely breakfast in La Jolla

    Room was comfy with an ok view on the 4th floor but did have a bay view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Started my vacation on a positive note which continued.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was ready but weather was cool-out of their control unfortunatey,

    Free transfer from airport & to cruise terminal. Within walking distance to Midway Museum & bus service & train service . Well supplied pharmacy nearby. A nice selection for complementary breakfast & nice dinner. Staff was very guest oriented. Would book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Will DEFINITELY stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Pool View - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction nearby but not too loud

    Very friendly staff and accommodating. They were able to check us in early and got us a better room w/o even asking. Very clean and modern decor. Complementary continental breakfast was great but it is located in the restaurant/bar that is just next door. Allowed us to do a late check out as well. Walking distance to the museums and harbor cruise pick-ups! Jacuzzi was nice and hot and open until 11pm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Happy Travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not smoke..did not know there were smoking options, waited over 1 hr for shuttle van which never came

    Location excellent for everything we did, staff courteous, friendly and efficient, very comfortable beds, very clean thruout property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    We did like the hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. May be free parking would be better for guests:)

    We did like the hotel and location. Room was clean, bed comfortable. Breakfast was ok. We did like the city view from the 12 floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Room was nice although toilet got plugged and TV stopped...
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant is around the corner and you have to go outside. Bed was very comfortable. Lots of construction going on all around the downtown area, and more specifically across the street so the noise level was terrible.

    Room was nice although toilet got plugged and TV stopped working at one point. However, both were fixed within a couple of hours. Check-in staff was very nice and worked hard to accommodate what I wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Loved staying here well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing

    The room was a good size, bed comfy Great views of the city Great Location Loved having a fridge in the room Meals in the restaurant very satisfying Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay if you're looking to stay in the city and enjoy the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The daily breakfast was different ever other day which is nice. And the hotel restaurant was very good too. Good food. Our room was indeed city view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Met our needs completely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with City View - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms need to have a comfortable lounge chair - the wooden chairs at the table/desk are not great for just sitting to watch TV or read.

    The bed and bedding were very comfortable and the room was nice and modern and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location, high quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location to explore the city. Convenient For USS Midway, Little Italy and the Gaslamp district. Really good complimentary buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Fabulously central location for all the must do things in San Diego
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very minor dislike but having to remember to bring the voucher for breakfast. We forgot it the first day and so had to go back into the hotel ( breakfast is in a building beside the hotel) and up to the 7th floor to retrieve it. We didn’t forget it again though!

    We enjoyed being so close to Little Italy, the Oceanside attractions such as the whale watching boat and USS Midway aircraft carrier, the Santa Fe railway and the local bus/tram services. The hotel is kept beautifully clean and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Security is good. You can only access the lifts to rooms, and the pool, by using your room key. The choices at breakfast are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location! It wasn't highlighted well in site or did I miss? Happy with stay
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Both the lifts weren't working the day of our stay. It didn't impact us slightly but not much. Could see multiple old aged people waiting for lift with huge luggage few times. The staff in the hotel restaurant seems to be attending few tables (particular) frequently and not talking to many others.

    + Front desk staff Tracy (hope i remembered the name fine) was courteous. + Location is a big plus. Just a walk away from Sea shore and Midway museum and near by to few public city transport (when public transport itself is very rare in USA). + There was white rice kept with some sushi reasoning (might have pleased Sushi favorites). They could keep some much veggie salsa or dressing that goes with Rice for Vegan folks too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homeless people near hotel...not a pleasent walk from Gaslamp at night through some streets...of course this has nothing to do with a hotel... Breakfast for European standard's is quite poor

    Great location.walking distance to all points of interests.public transportation nearby, exit to highway as well nearby...Little Italy great place to grab a quick bite and a drink

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay and a Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be nice to have a Bar that's open on the weekends

    Great please to stay when visiting Beautiful San Diego with an easy walk to the Gaslamp. The hotel was quite & clean and a Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    We arrived about 2 hours before check in hoping to store our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived about 2 hours before check in hoping to store our luggage. The man at reception allowed us to check in early which was great as we were traveling with young children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Great value and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and carpeting need refurbishment

    The staff are wonderful. Worked to help on a package delivery for me. Great with dining recommendations and sights to see. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    A great location for your stay in SD. Facilities good, and good breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only disappointment is there is now high rise built between hotel and bay so a lot of view (not all) is lost. We could still see the Star of India tall ship from our window. Hotel needs to update its photo online.

    Room was a good size for 2 without being large. Location is great. Near Little Italy, 150 metres to light rail and 200 metres to the bay. A 20 minute walk to Gaslamp district or get light rail.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    2.5
    Worst experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not clean. My baby almost put a dirty pacifier that was left on the ground in the room and put it in his mouth. Night staff was rude. Tv was not working properly

    Morning staffs were pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Room was still occupied when I walked into my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was still occupied when I walked into my room.got key to new room and it did not work. Not off to a good start. On site resturant not open. Not happy about that either.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel with nice staff in a super location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    A great hotel in a super location. The staff are most helpful, breakfast was good with lots of choice. It’s the perfect location for conferences, with the Italy quarter very close for a nice choice of restaurants. It’s has a small, but fine gym and pool. It’s also great value for money, defo stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel, breakfast was a money saver and great locale. I'd recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get my room to stay warm, there was always a cold draft. The thermastat was easy to use. We couldn't figure out how to turn the t.v. on, possibly user error, but that was okay. We werent in the room for long periods of time.

    The complimentary breakfast q as more than I expected. Pancakes, eggs, sausage, waffles, and the usual. The staff was friendly and always making sure there was enough food foe everyone. The location was close to Little Italy where can find amazing food and desserts. A few blocks to the water to Seaport Village and the USS Museum. It's not close to Gaslamp, however, we used Lyft to get around and never waited more than 5mim for a ride and the rides were short and inexpensive. Fairly close to Balboa Park too. The hotel was clean, and staff was friendly. Didn't check out the pool. I also liked their airport shuttle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely noisy night traffic. Second morning had cold water shower. No apology for hot water problem no offer to have price adjustment. Very expensive for this experience.

    Very easy to walk to the harbor area. Good hot breakfast in good setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    We will be back! Thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N.A.

    Best possible location for us, a few steps from pharmacy that had everything we could want or need; plus, a few steps from Little Italy, so fascinating and growing so much; also, quite close to the Gaslamp as well as the beautiful bay! Also, a sumptuous and varied breakfast like we never have at home. Pleasant, helpful staff, too. Thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable hotel in a convenient location and with an airport shuttle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-in Shower - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was sometimes very crowded and we had to wait a short time for a table and for the buffet to be replenished.

    Large, comfortable and quiet room. Staff very helpful in providing information, calling taxis, storing luggage The hotel is in a good location within walking distance of the waterfront and public transport and close to restaurants in Little Italy. There is a free shuttle to the airport, a small gym and pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Good starting point for exploring San Diego
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction site next door starting work at 6:30am with deliveries of concrete (peep-peep-peep-vehicle reversing).

    Spacious room, good breakfast, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable hotel with friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to the airport - between $10-20 in a cab - though the train to the airport & surrounding areas was accessible easily too. It’s close to the historic Little Italy area - so lots of restaurant choices within walking distance. The staff were super helpful - and the hotel was clean & comfortable - good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    Disgusting. If I wasn’t traveling on Navy orders, I would pay extra for somewhere clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely disgusting. There was gross unsettling stains all over the room, and I felt dirty after showering and walking bare foot. The toilet had poop stains stuck to the bowl and underside of the seat. The drawers for clothing had crumbs of god only knows what. I was barely able to feel ok due to the disgusting stains everywhere. Also,The staff barely spoke English.

    The location to the harbor and the restaurants and breweries in and around little Italy was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Quiet, cheaper place in the center, but no the best trained staff and probably skip breakfast option
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-in Shower - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Problems with shower that staff couldn't fix, the water was too hot and you couldn't make it cooler. Worse that average breakfast.

    It was extremely quiet for such a central location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is located in a walking distance from tons of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some one was smoking on the same floor and the smoke was even in my room

    Hotel is located in a walking distance from tons of attractions. Spacious rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel because of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a bay view room and paid extra for it. When we got here we found a new building had blocked about 90% of the view, which is now limited to what can be seen by looking down Ash St between the buildings. Other new construction is literally surrounding the hotel. Any reference to views should be removed. The hotel restaurant cannot be accessed from inside the hotel, so you have to walk down the street to get to it.

    Good location. Free shuttle service to and from the cruise terminal. Staff at the front desk were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    Would look at other choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bath Tub - Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had various temps while in it. Had to keep adjusting. Carpet could be cleaned. Housekeeping never emptied ice bucket and kept giving us body lotion instead of conditioner

    Buffet breakfast so so. Glad no cost

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Good value for centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was not as advertised as taller high rise buildings are surrounding this 14 story hotel. Pictures of view on website should be updated.

    Good location. Very clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is in a reasonable location and breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is noisy. Paid extra for a bay view which no longer exist a new taller building has been built in front of it attached a photo to show this.

    The hotel is in a reasonable location and breakfast is decent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Pleasant hotel for a good price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prime location, near everything whether you go for business or vacation. The bathrooms look updated compared to the pics posted by previous travelers. The rooms are clean. It has a small but convenient fitness room. The breakfast is really good. I like the fact that the hotel gas a complementary shuttle to the airport. Overall very pleasant and a good deal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay at a great location with excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Location was excellent. Walking distance to many interests like Little Italy & the waterfront. Breakfast was wonderful. Not just a basic continental breakfast but hot delicious choices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Convenient to walking sites in Little Italy, Harbor, and theGaslamp Wuarter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside pool w/ cool temps was not tempting even though heated, but it is Feb..

    All staff were professional and most helpful. Breakfast items were varied, plentiful and tasty. Shuttle from/to airport was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Clean and adequate accommodation that is well located for visiting the sites of San Diego.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was not great - either visually or in the food on offer.

    The location is good and the rooms are comfortable and adequate. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable overall would stay again. (After the construction has finished!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    that there’s construction going on over the road. Nothing you can do about it and buildings get built in a city...

    The complimentary breakfast buffet! Good stuff! Very helpful staff. Arranged for a shuttle to take me back to the airport to collect my luggage after the airline put it on the wrong flight. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Free Shuttle service from the airport, and back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything I would change :)

    Free Shuttle service from the airport, and back. Hot breakfast buffet served at the restaurant downstairs. Heated pool and nice hot tub. Very clean rooms. We arrived early, and the front desk let us check in early, plus on our last day there, they stored our bags while we did a little more exploring before our flight. Property is super close to lots of attractions, either walking or cheap uber/lyft.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Rest place to stay, in the ❤️ Of San Diego!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant & bar were closed on Saturday night, What?! so we ordered out, the desk crew, brought us up all of our dinning needs! TY!

    Love the breakfast and our server, Eduardo, was awesome. He made our day! If he is not a manager he should be! Great location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Appreciated the location most.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Appreciated the location most. It was within a few blocks to the waterfront activities, things to do downtown and to public transportation. Felt safe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    An excellent choice in an appealing, friendly city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast variety limited - but sufficient in quantity and quality.

    Location - ideal to access many interesting parts of San Diego and waterfront - on foot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice hotel, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't love the per room, per morning vouchers for breakfast. It was frustrating to have a 4 person breakfast voucher which meant if I went in with less than 4 people, we lost that 4th ticket essentially. Apparently other guests complained about our noise level which was frustrating because it was New Year's in Downtown San Diego - we felt like family travelers probably should have chosen other locations if they wanted peace & quiet.

    Location was great - walking distance to all the bars and restaurants we wanted to visit! Great views, breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    I'd stay there again.. The location is great and easy to get everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the parking onsite is a bit expensive at $18pn, but really convenient. My shower could have had more pressure and didn't seem to drain properly, leaving you standing in a pool of water during your shower.

    Great bed and room, really comfortable and modern. The spa was great and the pool as well, had them to myself on both nights I used it. Excellent location and the staff were efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Perfect spot to base a San Diego vacation, especially if you include the breakfast!Great value for m
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It met all criteria for a 10! Couldn't fault it. Great for us grandparents down to the grandchildren with us. We parked the car and walked everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Nice place, very convenient, and a good value in San Diego!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is actually in the building next door, but not inconvenient. We booked for three adults and only had towels, coffee etc in the room for two people. When we told the staff they took care of it quickly.

    The hotel is in a great location downtown San Diego. Staff was very helpful in every way. The breakfast was plentiful and well prepared. The room although a little small for a family was what we expected and are very satisfied. Our room had a nice view of the bay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    The rooms, comfort, pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were varied in choice and delicious. I especially enjoyed the eggs, potatoes, yogurt and granola. My grandchildren loved the rice and peanut butter on toast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Good location for downtown San Diego and accessibility to cruise terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Even though the hotel was very busy at reception as it was embarking and disembarking day for the cruise port, the reception staff handled the "rush" very well. The shuttle bus was very prompt to the cruise terminal; if I had realised it was so close I would have walked. Hearty breakfast included and lots of good eateries nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Great value for your money, and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been a little more varied and less bland.

    We loved the floor-to-ceiling windows and the view of the bay, the plush towels, very comfortable king bed, and the security. Staff was wonderful as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Beds were very comfortable. The view was horrible, overlooking the parking garage. No view of the city as it described. Great walking distance to little Italy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall good stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I paid extra for a room with a Bay view. This turned out to be a room that overlooks a multi-store car park and behind this there are tall buildings which completely obscure the bay except for a small patch in between two buildings.

    Overall - good. The free airport shuttle is an extra bonus although they did overbook which meant that 4 of us had to squeeze into 3 seats at the back. The location is great for restaurants bars etc. Very clean - all areas were spotless. Most staff were great although a few issues at check-in with someone who was clearly a trainee and wasn't 100% sure of what she was doing. This was solved by the more experienced staff soon enough though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    I couldn't recommend this place more highly enough for an accessible stay in San Diego.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Week days are noisy, but that's the downside of any city.

    We had the best nights sleep at Bayside Inn. The best location for exploring Little Italy and bayside. A quick über ride to anywhere else. Friendly and helpful staff make this place a pleasure to stay in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    We would recommend this place for cruise ship travellers and to those wanting a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot tub /pool area is too shaded (sun doesn't really get to that area. The hot tub is wearing with age and should be upgraded. The pool likely has the same vintage. It was too cool to use. Hot tub was pleasant !

    Great access to cruise ship terminal and several walkable sights and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    easy in and out with vehicle. comfortable walk to midway, seaport village, gaslight district, etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    new construction has blocked view. not properties fault.

    people were very nice and possess great problem solving skills. Computer glitch at check in was handled very well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Great location, very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I have to choose one thing it would be the construction going on two sides of the hotel. But that is out of the hotels' control.

    Great location, very central

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Almost perfect, great location/comfortable, construction across the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction across the street (in evening and Saturday !!!) but well insonorized, slow reception, almost no pressure in shower

    Nice view/balcony, good breakfast, close to city center, great airport shuttle

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice friendly staff and hotel in good place for sightseeing. Excellent shuttle service to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room with Bay View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little more variety at breakfast time but otherwise suited us just fine.

    Lovely comfortable bed, my wife said it was nice to have a decent hairdryer and quality shampoo/conditioner. Hotel very close to waterfront and 5 minutes from Little Italy and the Sante Fe rail depot, and other public transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Has Potential to be Perfect for a Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-in Shower - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    While we weren't happy that both bathroom sink faucets leaked at their bases, we can't complain about that because we didn't report it until check out. Biggest problem was road noise. We first noticed it around 4am and it didn't seem to let up. When we mentioned it to the front desk later in the morning, we were advised to ask for a higher room if we come back again. We might do that.

    Bed was comfortable, and temp/fan control easy and not too noisy. Staff was friendly and efficient. We got from airport to hotel via hotel shuttle in record time. In the room less than 45 min. after plane landed (no checked bags). We had a fantastic dinner at the Bayside Bar and Grill, using a 15% discount from the hotel. Same place for free buffet breakfast. Good, but not a huge amount of options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were outstanding. I cannot praise their efforts enough when we in need of help. Room was very pleasant and clean. Location good 13 minutes walk from the Gaslamp District.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    We like hotel accommodations and the fact that there was so much to do in walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had breakfast at their restaurant next door to the hotel. We had a nice buffet breakfast each morning which was included. Also transportation was provided the morning we left to the ship that we would be cruising on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Stayed a couple of nights as flew in for a cruise. San Diego is a great city to explore on your own.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all

    Fantastic location; great shuttle service from airport - just a quick call (using free phone at airport) and they collected us 10 mins later. Same effecient service to get to the port for our cruise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Pool View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have healthier breads, cereals and muffins instead of the sugary processed stuff

    Little Italy is a very short walk and very nice for couples

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location, everything you need in a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub was out of order while we were there, which was a bummer.

    The included buffet breakfast was fantastic - hot options included pancakes, sausages and scrambled eggs. The parking did cost, but was right next to the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: