Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Beach Motel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

4211 Judah Street, San Francisco, CA 94122, United States of America

#218 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 219 hotel reviews

5.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.4

  • Comfort

    5.1

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    6.1

  • Value for money

    4.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    5.0
    It's pretty bad when the best thing you can say is that there were no bugs.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The photos in the ad on booking.com are not completely of this property . The photos are from a different property, at least in part . I have photos but not on the electronic device that I'm typing from . The floor was spongy. The carpet was filthy and ripped, frayed. The older oak furniture had extreme dirt at the edge of the top /drawer. The room needed paint. The TV did not work. There was mold on the shower curtain. Tile was loose at the window. Street Car ran all night except for between 5 a.m. and 7 a.m., apparently. The room was extremely overpriced at nearly $200 a night. I had requested a discount. The manager told me on Sunday that what I paid on Friday was the full amount I verified number and had been prepared to pay byond when I had paid on Friday in cash if necessary. looking at my bank on line I was first charged a lesser amount and then within 7 Days of my stay that charge was doubled to match what booking.com had stated. So much for the 50% discount Mr Bob Patel had inferred when I checked out. I cannot recommend this property. It seriously needs some money thrown on t to bring it up to standard. the price needs to be adjusted quite downward to match the 1930s or 40s narrow accommodations. It was barely enough room to walk around the bed comfortably. The one chair was stored in the closet and it barely fit between the bed and the window to use it. There was a plastic coating on the bathroom window and it was ripped about 4 inches off a corner. I don't know if the heater worked but the vent on the wall heater was rusted. There were no screens on the windows.

    there were no bugs. The sheets for clean. It was close to where I needed to be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed the walking distance to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking lot at the hotel needs to be bigger because it not a lot of cars fit and parking around the hotel was hard to find.

    I liked that the beach was at walking distance. There is also MUNI transportation to get to different locations near by as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    8.3
    It was fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is an iconic San Francisco location. As long as you know what your getting into it’s awesome. It’s typical beach stay for the price you pay. I enjoy off the beaten path. The MUNI is right out front and while convenient it’s loud. Stops at 11 PM

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    5.0
    Could have been way better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Caution tape at the bottom of stairs, our flight landed late and we were told that we had to be there before midnight because they were going to bed, charged for first night before I got there, than charged me for full stay instead of at the end of trip, 2 very small pillows, building was built in the 50’s and hasn’t been renovated since, actual tile in the bathroom, it matched the bathroom tub and walls, PEPTO pink...... refrigerator was set so cold everything we placed in it was ruined due to freezing, microwave barely cooked, was supposed have a kitchen net, nope just a fridge and micro on top both from the early 80’s / 90’s I won’t be back

    The streetcar stopped right outside the front door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    I liked the hotel but then I'm not one with their nose in the air when not everything is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maintenance could be better, the freezer compartment door was broken off allowing excessive ice to form on the compartment. and the drip tray was full to overflowing. Otherwise everything worked. I personally like older buildings so I was not concerned that the room was dated.

    The room was good sized, made the king size bed look in proportion with the space. Lots of room for the other items in the room; table, dresser, refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV. Heat was by a gas wall furnace. The buildings floors are numbered in the European style so the 1st floor is the floor above street level. There is no elevator so if you can not climb stairs this is not for you. The street side of the room is floor to ceiling windows with insulated drapes. The trolley line runs on this street so there is some street noise but not objectionable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, big city price for bare minimum
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to ask 3 times for extra blanket and pillow. Curtain was broken and wouldn’t close all the way

    Like the location with easy access to beach and muni and cafes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    2.5
    Don't stay here. But if you do, go into it with low expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing met my expectations: Staff unfriendly, location ordinary, noise level poor - next to tram line and could hear other tenants from both sides, and above - I slept 2 hours tops, extremely overpriced for what it was, back home I could rent a 5 star hotel for cheaper. This place is also well overdue for a facelift. Don't stay here, anything else will be better value and more comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    2.5
    Terrible experience, I will never return nor recommend to anyone. I’d rather sleep in my car.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is rude and disrespectful. Sold me a room that smelled bad and had leaking pipes. Wouldn’t give me a refund or change my room. Curtains torn and blankets smelled like they weren’t cleaned.

    Nothing was good about this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.6
    Late night beach party refuge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was exactly what we needed. A motel walking distance from the beach and right on the train.

    We arrived late at night, ok well, 3am, and woke up the night clerk (owner?) Who guessed immediately that we had made a reservation for tomorrow night, since we had made the reservation in the taxi on the way over... Booking.com said no refunds, but the sweet night clerk refunded our money and got us into a room for the night. He made it clear that we'd have to be out by 11 before we agreed to stay. I felt a lot like I was waking up my friends dad at a nousy party...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    4.6
    The location is what turned me onto this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As soon as I opened the door to the room I was creeped out by the long hallway before getting to the room itself. The closet door had a hole kicked into it. Another door inside the room was locked making me wonder what could be on the other side, (very creepy). The floor boards were uneven possibly caving in at any moment. Carpet had stains. The room was directly above a bar that was very noisy with music playing late into the night. The train that would pass by throughout the day was also noisy and shook the whole place. Overall disappointing to say the least and not worth the price.

    The location is what turned me onto this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    3.8
    Pictures and advertisements portraying the Motel in a good light emphatically fraudulent in scope’
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broken down, dilapidated, uncared for in years property; defective/malfunctioning indoor plumbing; defective/malfunctioning wall heaters, worn, torn carpeting, wallpaper, wall paint, electrical outlets, window coverings, missing window screens; damaged doors; insect infestation; Motel rooms directly above Night Club/Bar; homeless abound immediate vacinity; secondhand tobacco smoke throughout Motel and motel rooms; proximate to rail crossings and construction sites; excessive noise 24/7! Illicit activities late at night! One of the worst motels ever experienced!

    Close to the beach and UCSF medical center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    2.9
    The location would be nice enough, nice little neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty and had bugs. There where bed bugs but the owner denied it. Booking.com was helpful with canceling the rest of my stay. Price is way too high for the quality. The place literally shakes every time a tram drives trough. Walls had brown fluid stains and holes that where covered up with grey duct tape. There was a refrigerator in the room but it made so much noise it was unbearable. I know this is a Motel but i thought since the price is very high it would be better. Can not recommend.

    The location would be nice enough, nice little neighborhood.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    2.9
    Noisy, shade, not clean and not recommended
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible rooms with scary staircases that lead to them, moldy, oils, carpet with stains, old over used towels, heat didn't work,horrible matters woke up all sore, crazy noise from outside, mainly from the cable train that is shaking the room, scary neighborhood location, doesn't feel safe at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    7.1
    owner friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the stairs tram went past door could to get to city not so good noise at night.

    owner friendly and helpful. rooms need some renovations and stairs need to be made safer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    5.4
    Will not go there again.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is heavily infested with bugs. My husband is totally covered with bites and I am more on my right side. This is a health hazard and has to be changed at once!

    The location so close to the beach is very nice although the tram noise and rattling is pretty bad. Restaurants and coffee shops close by are VERY good. The basic cleanness is OK but the bug infestation of the bed is very problematic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.6
    Nearly a perfect hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV felt far from the bed and the outlets were few and didn't look like they were in the best condition.

    The property was very close to the park and the beach plus a few good places to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    5.4
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A/c didn't seem to work.

    It's fine, but you only get a bed for the night and it was quite expensive for just that. I guess that's the market rate here. I got a much nicer motel in Washington State for a quarter of the price here! The proprietor was very helpful and lent me a phone charger, for which I am grateful! I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    5.0
    The location is pretty good for the beach and the Golden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally over priced. The rooms are dated and very basic which is not a problem if they are priced accordingly. The place is so noisy, not least of all because the trams that pass outside shake the entire building when they pass. If they halved the nightly stay it would be worth it.

    The location is pretty good for the beach and the Golden Gate Park and the man that checked me in seemed nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    2.9
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the worst motel in my life )) The room was partial renovated after the gun shooting )) No air conditioner The cheep shampoo and soap The strong smell into the room Very loudly by night from the pub and trains

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    6.3
    Location is great for the beach and the Sunset area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated, can be noisy

    Location is great for the beach and the Sunset area! If you don't need fancy accommodation, this is fine. Big fridge a nice feature. Small car park but we were in luck. Nice breakfast cafes nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    7.5
    Very basic accommodation, but also very clean, secure, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is extremely dated, there's no getting away from it. However, this is purely aesthetic, and it's also one of the cheapest lodgings in town.

    Very basic accommodation, but also very clean, secure, and well located - major public transport lines stop right outside, and two excellent cafes and Ocean Beach are just minutes down the road on foot. Staff were all very friendly and approachable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    3.3
    Consider Your Choice Carefully
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clearly, the owners or managers do not reinvest into their aging motel business. Routine 'quality' maintenance doesn't happen. Our room was not properly cleaned. For $200 per night, I personally could have made a better choice. But, having said the former I may stay again depending on my needs.

    What we liked was the free parking; many hotels in San Francisco do not offer free parking. There were restaurants and convenience stores, a big plus for me! I choose this place because it was away from the central part of San Francisco, and away from all the tourists foot-traffic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    8.3
    It is a basic medium hotel, we didn't expect much more than we got. It is clean and comfortable and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a basic medium hotel, we didn't expect much more than we got. It is clean and comfortable and seems to be cheaper than most of the other hotels in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    5.4
    Beware the noise of the streetcar
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is directly in front of where the J-Judah streetcar stops and there is tremendous noise all day long from the streetcar with any room that has a window on Judah St.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    3.8
    The location was perfect for the activity we were attending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proximity to the trains made the accommodations loud and created a lot of foot traffic, of the undesirable kind. My teenage son did not feel safe at the location.

    The location was perfect for the activity we were attending in Golden Gate Park.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    2.9
    There is a bar right next to the motel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a bar right next to the motel. Bus went right in front of the motel every 15_30 mibs. Super noicy up until 2am. Won't be able to sleep until then

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    7.5
    average hotel with good public transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no information to tell you was multi floors with no lift, limited parking within tight space, a little bit of noise from trams

    close to tram into San Fransisco and close to beach, short travel to lovely beaches with view of Golden Gate bridge

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    5.8
    Just above average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking lot is very small, so if you find a place to park try to stay there, parking on the street is always a gamble. The noise coming from the bar downstairs is terrible, the bar is independent from the motel but close enough to be a problem when you want to get some rest. Don't get a room on the east side of the building

    The location, it's close to the ocean, close to the park and there's some good restaurants around

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    5.4
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the windows were an endangerment to small children. Staff communication was difficult to understand. No trash can in the room only in the restroom.

    The view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    6.3
    No sleep for beach lovers
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise of the tram kept us awake all night. The old windows barely closed and it sounded as if the tramway was screeching through the room all night.

    The room was ready, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2017

    7.5
    Nice place at a good spot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although it may seem expensive, San Francisco in general is expensive, so I think you get good enough for what you pay.

    I liked the location, that it had free parking and the wifi was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    2.9
    was bitten by insects in bed, either bed bugs or spiders, he...
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    was bitten by insects in bed, either bed bugs or spiders, he heating system on mid wall ,by the bed, made it very difficult to sleep, I won't go back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    3.8
    Cheap but not worth it!
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was VERY unprofessoional. The staff was unfriendly and housekeeping didn't cleaned the room well. The bed had hair and carpet was not cleaned. You can see dirt, hair, etc. The facility is Very old and needs upgrading.

    I like the wifi and it's near the beach. It is also near the park. It's close to 7Eleven and laundry. But the motel should have that in there own building.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2016

    5.0
    I am pissed
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I got there they told me that my reservation got cancelled which it didn't and then said but they have a room for 135. I feel like I was conned and I am very upset. They also told us not to book on line because it will get cancelled since I am not paying with credit card

    I like the location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2016

    7.5
    Convenient location, pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was aware this is an older place, and it shows. Small hole in the blanket, things in general run down.

    Everything was very clean, bed was comfortable, owners were nice - not smiley, but welcoming and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2016

    2.5
    Smelly Fire Trap
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were abrupt and rude. The room smelled of mildew and Pinesol. There was visible mildew around the windows and the skylight in the bathroom. Only one window could be opened and it wasn't the one that led to the fire escape! This place was completely misrepresented on the website. It was a disgusting dump and a fire trap!

    It was close to the ocean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    5.8
    Close 2 the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Motel is above a terribly loud bar & the bar patrons were incredibly noisy iutside! They played really loud electric guitar in the street after midnite & were yelling & trying 2 sing. The electric train ends there & even that breaking & rumbling noise every few minutes wasn't as bad as the bar!

    Close 2 the ocean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2016

    4.6
    we got no rest we were on the third floor with no elevator and bad knees you can not cancel
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning and the train that ran every five min. all night it was so loud and the vibration would rattle the windows!!

    not any thing with our stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2016

    2.5
    Never will I recommend the Beach Motel
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) My room was over a bar that played loud music until 2:30am. 2) It was located on the Muni Rail Transit line street that ran all night, every 20 minutes. 3) The room was terrible with large holes in the wall, torn curtains, filthy carpeting, and no convenient electrical outlets to charge lap top/cell phone. I would have left immediately but arrived late (11:30 pm, due to flight delays) and too exhausted and unfamiliar with the area to look for another place at that hour.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    5.0
    Basic Hotel Found Neighbours Noisy,Wouldn't Stay Again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Found the Manager very grim, quizzed my passport clearly doesn't see too many European passports.

    No food eaten here but the room was very clean, fresh towels every day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    2.5
    Dirty and Uncomfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elavator to assist with transferring luggage. The room was dark, carpets were filthy, overall the room was unviting. The noise from the tram caused vibrations through the room. And prevented us from sleeping.

    The room was made up the next day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    2.9
    We didn't sleep. We were cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelt mouldy and s hint of gas!!??. The Windows looked out to the ocean, but they were so dirty on the outside we could hardly see it. The fridge made a rattle noise and the heater shut down and didn't work all night. You can't call the reception after 10pm so if you get cold in the night, which we did you have to apparently run down stairs and knock on someone's door to have them relight the pilot for the gas heating system. We paid cash 200 up front. We demanded to have a refund we eventually got back $75. A hotel is meant to be about sleeping. We were so cold we didn't sleep well at all.

    Location was the best thing about this place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2016

    2.9
    Gross
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Umm well asked,for a ground floor because I was on crutches but had to climb 3 flights of rickety stairs ..no AC ..no ice machine ...will give ice out of owners PERSONAL REFRIDGERATOR..rooms were GROSS

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    4.6
    It was right on a tram way & the trams shook the building every time they went past and were noisy 2
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was right on a tram way & the trams shook the building every time they went past and were noisy 24 hours a day. Had trouble sleeping the first night so booked out & found another hotel. Do not rate it at all, should really mention the Tram noise in the account of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    5.0
    Very expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Scary looking place with wallpaper peeling off, a squeaky floor and a tram going over your room at night. You also have to carry your suitcases two flights of stairs up. There is no elevator.

    The location was close to a team stop, but otherwise in an area of San Francisco where you don't want to be. The Internet connection was good!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2016

    3.8
    If you have to sleep and the only other option is the streets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was uncomfortable, black mold in between the cracks in bathroom tile, stains on carpet, light bulb broken in lamp, no coffee, hefty walk up to third floor, all for over $170. And an hour drive to everything in the city we wanted to do. And the n-judah turnaround shaking the building every so often.

    There was a place to sleep. There was a place to park. It didn't cost $500.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air flow in room. Thermostat seems to have only marginal effect on room. Confusing room service where towels were taken but bed not turned down by 3pm when we returned to the room. We made the bed but didn't realise about the towels until it was too late. Parking is a real issue! Admittedly this is largely due to inconsiderate guests. Overall the owners don't seem to take any pride in the place. Definitely just a place to rest your head if you can't be picky for whatever reason.

    Short walk to beach and Golden Gate Park

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    7.9
    Decent stay for budget traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Do not expect renovated rooms. But space was clean and confortable.

    Decent place for San Francisco. Good place for budget traveler. We were worried about arriving late as our plane flew in after midnight. Owner had a night window so we were able to still check in which was a relief.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2016

    5.4
    Friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise-right on Muni. While convenient, it was noisy. Above a bar, which was also noisy.

    Friendly staff. Two blocks from ocean. Free parking. People we met in the neighborhood were nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    7.5
    To find lodging in SF under $1500.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, to get to any freeway requires at least a 5 mile drive. All units are on the second floor with no elevator.

    To find lodging in SF under $1500.oo is rare if not impossible

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    7.1
    Not for a disadi to sleep before 1 am and after 5 am
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift and no first floor rooms. I had a disabled person. It was to hard to get him 22 stairs up. There was nothing about it in description. Loud noise from trams ends at 1 am and atarts at 5 am again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    5.0
    Look elsewhere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was incredibly run down. What could be a cute or at least simple hotel has been severely neglected. The carpets were filthy, broken chair, stained fabric on chairs, gaping hole in bathroom where vent should be, dirty walls. They really have a diamond in the rough here but instead they are taking advantage of SF housing market and overcharging for substandard accommodations.

    The location was good. A couple blocks from beach. There was parking which was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    2.9
    Absolute dump. Shame on Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the worst place we have stayed. It is a total dump with stains everywhere, literally bugs in the bed, missing tile and exposed wiring in the bathroom.

    Truly, the only thing we liked was leaving.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    4.6
    Good Location but Limited Comfort - Use Caution
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy because of public transportation (runs through the night), local bar also loud (this was during the week), and thin walls between rooms.

    Great location close to the beach and public transportation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    7.5
    Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in accommodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The local area was a little rundown and the motel overlooks the metro track which is quite noisy

    Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in accommodating several unusual requests. Main bed in queen room was comfortable. Travel cot was less so. Travel into town is fairly convenient on the N line of the metro but can take a little while as the motel is at the far end of SF. Within easy walking distance of the Golden Gate Park.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    6.3
    Good location but could use some renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Corner neighborhood bar below my room was loud at night. The gas heater leaked a little gas even though it was shut off. Internet was free but slow at times making hard to work over VPN.

    Booked this hotel for its location by Ocean Beach in San Francisco; otherwise, consider something else if you don't need the location. Hotel was a little dumpy but suited my needs. Most rooms were window in front and not very private but I was lucky enough to get a rear room with plenty of privacy to leave the window open. Even though the building was dated, the room had nice furnishing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    6.7
    Very helpful owner and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very helpful owner and very friendly. Gave advice on how to use the trams and where to eat. Very comfortable bed and good sized room. Easy tram ride to central San Francisco.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    4.6
    be careful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not very clean. However the most disturbing part of our week long trip happened on the one night we stayed here. The ad advertised a 24 hr front desk. At about midnight we heard a knocking on our door. after the third knock, we peeked thru the curtain and saw a man who looked impaired and was drooling / foaming at the mouth. he told us he wanted to let us know he was laying outside our door! we didn't want to open the door, but were extremely uncomfortable with him being directly outside of our room by our window / door. after trying to call the front desk several times, we finally opened the door to ask him to leave or go somewhere other than right outside our room. when my sister opened the door, the mans pants were down and he was masturbating!!!!! Since we weren't able to contact anyone at the front desk, we ended up having to call the police. After the police came and left, some other people who were living there got into a huge, loud fight screaming, other residents were yelling out of their room for them to shut up. We got no sleep that night and got up the kids early the next morning and got out of there as soon as we could. I do not recommend this hotel for anyone with children, or who isn't prepared to deal with some wild / scary scenario throughout the night.

    The man at the desk was helpful in advising us on which train to take to get to union station to catch the cable cars since we had never been to the city before. The location is next to the train pick up / drop off location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    6.3
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property needs updating. Paint peeling, rugs very worn, small bed.

    Location was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality of rooms were way below standard for what we paid. Stale smell in rooms, stains on carpet & chair, & no elevator

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.0
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Requested 10 am check in room was not ready. Shower temperature was poor and hard to control.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    6.3
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated and unclean

    The location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, a room to sleep in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pictures out the room window are always nice before hand.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    5.4
    Old, dirty, beach like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The train right outside window (makes it hard to sleep)

    Old, dirty, beach like. Typical west Bay Area motel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    6.3
    Good bag for your buck. The place is run down a bit , but our room was clean( the main thing) !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The train going by so often-and the rug really should have been replaced.

    The rates

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    4.6
    Hardly strictly was a good job but the hotel racer price from 100 to $300 a night for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Run down felt like you were going to fall through the floor and noisy outside

    Close to the event I was attending

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    3.8
    not worth the money i paid for the rent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff.

    Near the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    4.6
    I would not book this motel anymore.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was so old and dirty. The carpet was broken. No coffee machine. All those conditions, the price I paid was too high.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loud pub below

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    7.5
    Summer of Love Accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is age-worn and on a busy street.

    The location and size of the room and included parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    5.8
    real shabby but good location for beach and public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no ice, no coffee, no tissues, noisey, but that's true everywhere. bed was sagging,

    close to beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    4.6
    The bar and its loud company
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar and its loud company

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    7.5
    Very clean, team right outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old fashioned, not very much parking

    Very clean, team right outside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    3.3
    Blah
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty, sketchy, not comfortable. No coffee.

    It was close to the beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    6.3
    Property is a little old, I understand that it is that way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is a little old, I understand that it is that way in SF, just not very used to it

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Beach Motel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: