Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beacon Inn 1750 2 stars

1750 Beacon Street, Brookline, MA 02446, USA

#6 of 13 hotels in Brookline

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 262 B&B reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location on a neat street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the fourth floor and had to lug our suitcase up a very winding staircase. When we entered the room it smelled awful - very musty. We cranked up the AC and that helped. The room had potential but it was finished sloppily with old wallpaper and unfinished walls. The shower was a very lukewarm trickle. I didn’t even wash my hair because there wasn’t sufficient water pressure to rinse. Breakfast was just danishes in the crowded lobby Perhaps the other rooms in the building are nicer - it really does have a lot of potential and in a great neighborhood.

    Great location on a neat street. Building had a lot of great potential.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.8
    They forgot to provide towels in the room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    They forgot to provide towels in the room; there was no one in the front desk as we came late at night. So we had no towels overnight until the morning. The parking is a big issue if you do not arrive by 9 pm to park where they designate, street parking is impossible. Overall, this is too much inconvenience for this price, I will not be staying here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice place to stay, but owners are getting away with advertising breakfast without seating for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had breakfast standing up! No place to sit, other than to go outside! Unsatisfactory! A/C was loud and insistent; better unit urgently required.

    Room was above average. Quiet. Staff was helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Good, but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was competent, but the unit had to work all the time. TV could supposed do HD, but couldn't display it when switching to an HD channel. Shampoo supplied but no soap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Right on Beacon st, near T and Cleveland Circle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to check in by 830 PM, which can be inconvenient . Also, there are 2 locations, both on Beacon st. Check to be sure which one you are staying in !

    Right on Beacon st, near T and Cleveland Circle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    the stay was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was very old and didn't work well.

    I like the room on second floor, very friendly staff , like the area where the hotel is located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.4
    Expected more
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy, the single-glazed windows did nothing to keep the road noise out and the trolley/tram car is right outside the window. Everything seemed a bit disorganised. Cheaper than other options, but still over priced

    It was located in a nice area with good restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    Service only upon repeated request. Won't return, so long as other options exist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had to carry our bagels, danishes, and tea up three flights to our room to eat it, since there's no dining room, nor even a chair where food is served.

    Right near the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.6
    Hope the property owner get all the above fix
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there for eight nights. It seems that the house-keeper only cleared the rubbish without vacuuming the floor or clean the toilet. She didn't even do-up the bedsheet. The TV without signal & required fixing on the following day. The heater does not seem to function well.

    Good location - There is a Star Market and subway station opposite the property which is very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Cute and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Unfortunately noise travels easily here. Bring a noise machine or use a white noise app on your phone.

    Fridge with free water, juice, etc. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Nice old building with rather simplistic but comfortable and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice old building with rather simplistic but comfortable and clean rooms. Location is perfect, two branches of the green line are within a very close walking distance. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable, seems more like a house than a hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very light. Was expecting more. Also, they have at least two locations (both in the same street though), so I found out only when I got there that I had to take one more ( short) train ride than expected.

    Very comfortable room. Wasn't expecting such a nice big bed for what I paid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a fourth floor walk up with no elevator. On our fourth night there was a very bad smell of solvent or bug spray throughout the whole building. My son got a headache and I was dizzy. We asked the manager about it and were told there had been a spill of something but that it had been cleaned up. He told us to open our window and the emergency exit door that was in our room. Then he put a towel under the outside of our door. No offer of reimbursement. It was a bad way to end our vacation.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    The location was right next to the T, which made it really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was dated and the cable did not work but we didn't come to Boston to stay in our hotel room. The breakfast was okay.

    The location was right next to the T, which made it really easy to go into the city. The area seemed safe and there were restaurants within walking distance. The room was spacious and the great for the price. I paid $99 a night and parking was also cheap at $25 a night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Decent place to sleep for decent money, but spend most of your time sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the worst shower ever, pressure so low... - not very clean - no A/C (it's listed on booking though) - loud from the street - very old heater - heats when it wants and you can't regulate it. It's extremely hot or you sleep in cold.

    Remarcable bed. Very good location. Good deal for the money in Boston, nice, helpful staff, But...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Adequate but not one I would repeat or recommend to friends or business associates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was right by the front desk, walls were paper thin so was very noisy - especially early in the morning. No luggage racks. Room was very hot, radiator clanked & hissed & valve was broken so couldn't adjust or turn off. No one was anywhere in sight for over half an hour for checkin even after I called ahead to advise of my arrival time. TV didn't work the whole 1st day. Shower stall was way too small to maneuver comfortably.

    Jill was very friendly & interested in correcting the problems encountered. Nice to have coffee available, but ran out of hot chocolate after the 1st day & never restocked. Nice, opaque curtains. Bed was reasonably comfortable. Staff waited until left each morning to make beds & empty trash. Good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    Quite average accomodation, big room, nothing special good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You hardly could catch someone at reception desk and if you need some formal check-out documents you have to request by e-mail that takes you many reminding letters and days. Still unsucessful in my case.

    Quite average accomodation, big room, nothing special good or bad except total avoidence of your requests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Awesome place, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literally nothing lol

    I loved everything about this Inn. Friendly staff, beautiful old building, a quaint little free breakfast set up in the morning. I booked this last minute and I was thoroughly pleased that I made that decision.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable, quiet, pleasant and very convenient for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to be in Brookline specifically so I loved the location. 1750 however, may be a bit “ out” if someone wanted to tour the city. But nothing really is far away in Boston, and the T is right in front.

    Very comfortable, quiet, simple, affordable, and the exact location I needed for my visit. Lovely old building with modern comforts. Convenient continental style breakfast items and coffee. Great croissants, T stop right on the street block. A very nice perk is parking availability if you need it. Finding parking is a bit hard in that neighborhood

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Cheap but depressing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was freezing cold. Old house. Rust in the tub. Needs updating. The coffee/breakfast was depressing.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff are all kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    I loved the room it was very quaint, looking forward to staying again.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking, since it was in the back and with such a small space. Visitors should be told when booking that there is a $35.00 extra charge for parking, still the rooms are very reasonable so I guess it is not really a big deal.

    The room was very nice and really clean, the bed was comfortable. The staff was very good, especially when I locked myself out of my car. One of the male staff was really helpful, he made sure I was safe while waiting for AAA to come and helped me with calling them. I would recommend this hotel. I will be staying there in the future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.3
    The location was good a lovely leafy, safe area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to compensate for very steep, narrow staircase. Breakfast was 'self-serve' downstairs and not available until after 8am. We had to leave around 7.30am - so missed out.

    The location was good a lovely leafy, safe area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    Will not be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra $25.00 to park the car over night ?!! Stall and old breakfast?!! Room door has a gap of a e inches off the ground?!! Heat not working at 28 degrees night?'n I think this wan way overpriced for $250.00 a night .

    Distance to my meeting .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Good value and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was minimal and there was no dining room, so you had to manage on paper plates eating standing up.

    Nice room and pleasant surroundings and decor in a nice Victorian style. Comfy bed. Convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    2.5
    Stay was below my expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy access by public transportation.

    Location makes the building very noisy and hard to sleep at night.Bathroom was too small. Property was not very clean. There is no place to eat breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.3
    They shouldn't say that they serve breakfast because...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They shouldn't say that they serve breakfast because they don't! I was really disappointed because they wouldn't serve (bagels and toast) before 8 and I had an important interview at 9 so I couldn't have a dissent breakfast beforehand... very disappointed because the reason I took this hotel was for the dissent price and that they offered breakfast... next time I will take an Airbnb.......

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Probably find another place next time with a real breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs a separate room for breakfast, which was meager, at best. You had to eat standing in the lobby or take the little store bought Danish or toast back to your room. Should be ashamed to call themselves a Bed and Breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    This facility might be suitable for budget travelers but be cautious for the top floor rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was on the attic and the AC was not powerful enough to cool it. WiFi was out of the range- no connectivity at all!!!!!!Might be other rooms are different - I do not know though! Breakfast means some packed snacks and few fruits only - I never had!

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.8
    disapointaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I didn't get the impression that the room was cleaned - the sheets didn't seem cleaned as ' new' - the carpet in the bathroom as well didn't seem clean - the window where the AC was mounted had cracks all around... and the list goes on

    the guy at the reception was nice but in other words Its very hard to tell...I wasn't impressed about anything particularly. The room was old, everything was old and not properly maintained. The breakfast was poor but that my last concern to be fair. I didn't feel comfortable inside that room, overall disappointed and not fair value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Quite dirty, would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are a few problems with this place, so be advised before you book that: - some rooms (ours for sure) are located upstairs and have a very low ceiling - our room was dirty and had some insects crawling up walls (no joke) - the staff seems unmotivated and slightly rude at times

    The location is better than expected - the tramway departs practically outside your doorstep and takes 30min to the center. The staff was efficient and generally helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    Good location, run down property.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What didn't we like? There was a off putting smell as you entered. The place is tired looking. Rugs are very worn. It's an old property it needs some TLC. The room was fair. The window was very dirty. The bathroom needed painting. The bathroom door wouldn't close. The parking is ridiculous for the charge! Owner is getting 6 cars in where maybe they should be getting 3. Not rushing back.

    Location was good for our visit to Boston College.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.2
    Stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place needs a good scrub. Cleanliness was awful - hairballs on the rug, dust bunnies in every corner, and the bathroom was a horror. The bed was pushed up against an unused, open fireplace with no headboard or covering over the opening - the pillow disappeared into that icky abyss. It felt like maintenance had been totally abandoned. Breakfast was a bagel and coffee pods. Definitely not value received for the price.

    The staff were friendly, the location on a transit line was good, walkable restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Conveniently located, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sparsely furnished especially since there was no place in the property to have one's breakfast other than in one's room

    Conveniently located, clean. Helpful staff when they are around

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean facility and close to public transportation and good restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No breakfast room for the very, very light breakfast. Meant carrying food up to the 3rd floor. Apparently, they converted the breakfast room to a room which they rent out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    I'd stay again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator - got in late and had to drag my 50 lb bag up to the 4th floor via winding staircases! The breakfast is pretty minimal.

    Friendly staff and GREAT neighborhood! Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Clean room, very comfortable beds, a charming place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, very comfortable beds, a charming place! Not too far from Fenway area. Our room was on the back side of the building, so there was absolutely no street noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Love the Beacon Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walkway leading from the back parking area to the front entrance of the Inn could use some improvement. Just be super vigilant!

    Great location. The "T" was right across the street. A short walk to restaurants & market. Friendly staff, answered all questions we had. Clean, quaint, & comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Would rate Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was okay. Had king size bed at the back of the B & B. Very quiet but we overlooked the parking lot. The breakfast they offered was not the greatest.

    Chris was excellent in explaining everything. Helped show us the parking. Asked for light bulbs in the bathroom as only 2 out of 4 worked. Came back that night and had been replaced. He was very friendly. Had Starbucks k-cups, my favourite brand. Went to the Red Sox game and the train was right there. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Warm, Cozy accommodations for weekend vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the fourth floor and the air conditioning was not sufficient. It would have also been nice to have accommodations of water, ice, etc available on the fourth floor.

    It was a cozy place with a home like feel and good accommodations. I appreciated the check in experience that accommodated our late night arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    1750 Beacon is a comfortable, friendly inn with an accommodating staff.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bumped my knee on the handle to the cabinet in the bathroom, a little tight...a little tired, not glam but certainly ok.

    This was a family visit, so we didn't wander in Brookline, but we used to live there and thought we might...Staff was beyond accommodating, just so kind and helpful, the inn is immaculate, beds comfy, linens very nice. We had been scheduled for a 4th floor room but couldn't do the stairs. We were switched twice to accommodate us and guest following us. So room was prepared an extra time. No fuss, just good service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Location is great and walking distance to a fun and...
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not informed about needing to make a reservation for space to park my car when I booked.

    Location is great and walking distance to a fun and delicious restaurant down the street. The building has old style charm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Great service and price for a great location. The food bit was a extra bonus andpaid parking a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was on wheels. The room was all the way on the top floor and felt claustrophobic because ceilings were so low. Very hot day and could feel the heat on the ceiling.

    The staff was super friendly and very helpful with recommendations and directions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Big room, nice bed and closet, air conditioner worked, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was falling apart, literally. A hole in the bathroom ceiling, rough caulking throughout the bath.

    Big room, nice bed and closet, air conditioner worked, great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast consisted of coffee or tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Site could have mentioned that there were no elevators. Our room was on the fourth floor and as you went up the stairs they became more narrow almost like going to the attic. The windows had sheer curtains no shades so as soon as the sun rose so did you. Also, the lights outside shown in at night through the window so agin disturbed sleep.

    Breakfast consisted of coffee or tea. Small personal cereal boxes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old brownstone bldg with old pipes displayed in room; window air conditioner and small bathroom. There is nothing luxury about this room but it is advertised as such.

    Beds were comfortable. The Inn is outside Boston but the train stations are very close for travel. The room was quaint.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Far but close to train, good for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dining table for breakfast (not easy to carry food and hot coffee up 4 flights either). Google maps shows alternative location so it was farther than I expected and I paid extra taxi looking for the place. The guy at the counter said they know that happens, why not tell people about it???

    Staff was friendly, room was large.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    The bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was small - could be more updated. Breakfast is minimal. Not good for people with walking/steps limitations. Parking is a compromise!!!

    The bed. Character. The size of the room. Well-kept and decorated comfortably. Location was perfect. Host was responsive, helpful, friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Picturesque old town home directly on one streetcar line and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in a 4th floor walk up , with the last flight a narrow stairway. Not a problem for me ( mid 60s ) but not suitable for someone with mobility problems

    Picturesque old town home directly on one streetcar line and a block from another, so great access to public transportation. About 15-20 minutes to the middle of Boston. Beautiful neighborhood for a walk .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Creeky and old but got the job done
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like a few things: there was no counter in the bathroom, the floors were very creeky and loud during the night, and here was. I ironing board. Oh yes, I thought they had advertised being 1 mile away from Boston College and were in fact 2 miles away.

    The staff was down to earth and easy going when it came to my questions and requests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    Located near my daughter, who I was visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No water glass or cup in the room. Had to go down stairs for water.

    Located near my daughter, who I was visiting. Located near transit system making the sights accessable and inexpensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again on a lower floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning. Broken remote to TV. No place to sit to eat breakfast and we were on the fourth floor. Too far to go up and down as we both had medical issues.

    Location, friendly staff. Quaint inn. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Weekend stay in Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but did lack fresh fruit. Also we happened to stay over during heavy rain, and due to some gutter issues and our window AC unit, we were kept awake due to the noise of dripping rain!

    The pace has a great, quaint feel to it. The room was large and well equipped. Cannot beat the price for its location! We came to see a Red Sox game and the location was perfect. It's also walking distance to great bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    A Gem of a place to stay and great location, we will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I genuinely have nothing to complain about, everything was great

    This was a great hotel. Rooms were very spacious, clean and location was very safe. It was easy to get around the city with tramline right out front of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt really welcome and would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    It is great overall, considering the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility is a bit old and it is a bit noisy when neighbor do late checkin.

    Staying here is pretty easy. The location is good, very close to the Green Line and getting to sightseeing places are easy (roughly 20-30 mins) to Downtown places. I loved the complimentary drink bar (milk, coffee, juice etc.) in the front desk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.4
    Friendly staff and proximity to downtown Boston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole parking situation is rough in Brookline and the inn didn't help much. The noise level is that of a creaky old house.

    Friendly staff and proximity to downtown Boston.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Old Time Boston Haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't figure out the heater and the windows let in more cold air than I would have liked.

    Beacon Inn is adorable! It gave us the old time Boston feel that we were hoping for. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They gave great tips on where to explore in the city. I will definitely keep this place in mind next time I am in the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.8
    We were in a safe residential area and right on the T stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to regulate the temperature in the room.

    We were in a safe residential area and right on the T stop. Variety of options for eating within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    Great location to access the T, local restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of stairs with some very narrow to get baggage upto top floor, heating was shared throughout the building so turned on and off automatically.

    Great location to access the T, local restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young man who did check in and check out was absolutely the nicest, most helpful, caring and courteous person I have experienced at a hotel. Just a wonderful stay. Will absolutely return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    6.7
    Great location; unpretentious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast seating area for "free breakfast." Terrible Upstate yogurt. Dirty, discomfiting comforters. Bathroom ceiling peeling. Loud radiators.

    Old building, like a small European hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    Great little hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a nice little hotel which was close to where we wanted to be. The place was quiet. You hear the streetcar outside, but that stopped late in the evening. Not much of a breakfast, but again a great value. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    5.8
    Decent, Best for Its Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were cold. The temperature is the same throughout all of the rooms and the heat was not very high. The breakfast was disappointing.

    The bed was comfortable and the shower was warm. The hotel was fairly quiet. The location is great in Brookline.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    5.0
    ratty place
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very worn out place, ratty. heat ran high or not at all. not maintained although is was clean. the owner needs to invest a bit more in the place. its run down.

    location and staff were helpful but they originally gave our room to someone else!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.9
    The convenient snack center was much appreciated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a plastic cup in the bathroom. And the room was chillywhen we arrived in the evening, with central heat and no thermostat in the room. Spare blankets would have been nice. It did warm up later in the night.

    The convenient snack center was much appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    great location and price is right!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was either on - and hot or off in the morning - and cold. breakfast was a bit bare-bones but adequate

    Given the option of being on the ground floor instead of the 4th - no elevator. Location - close to neat restaurants given good suggestions for restaurants by person at desk

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in the room for valuables, no laundry service, Coffe and tea are available but not in the room, heating system is old so no regulators except opening the windows to reduce overheating. Breakfast is served at 8 am, I leave earlier. No staff after 9 pm for emergencies.

    Very clean and comfortable hotel, friendly staff, very good value for money, location near green line is wonderful. Overall a wonderful experience, sure I will consider coming again when I visit Boston.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    4.6
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was in rear of building, needed to walk through strange corridor, to get back and forth to car, some areas not well lit. Staff requested we leave key to move car, 6 parking spaces 14 rooms? 6 spaces were 3 pull in 3 pull in behind other cars hence need to leave car keys at front desk. Room was "quaint", in need of repairs. No place to sit and eat "continental breakfast". Friday morning, Bagels, croissants muffins cold cereal, oatmeal, coffee. Second day, Saturday morning, all rooms booked, only bagels, cereals and coffee.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    Great little get away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very convenient and reasonable. The room was very comfortable and clean. Would have loved to have had a place to sit and enjoy coffee and bagel in the am..but there just isn't room.. Thank you and will be back again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I agree with the person who mentioned lots of commotion at night. This was true the night I stayed there. I think having staff on site at night would be very helpful.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    4.2
    The staff did accommodate my late night (After 10:00 pm)...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't aware the room I was booking was a tiny fourth floor walk up. The bed itself was clean but needs to be replaced due to sagging in the middle. There were no drinking glasses provided. Very slow check out, and a somewhat confusing bill. (Booked through Booking.com) But in the end that part sorted itself out. There was also some confusion about where the 1750 Beacon was. Apparently there are two Beacon locations and I had been looking at the other one online for things such as nearby amenities and restaurants. Based on the reservation confirmation I received, I went to the wrong location instead of the one I had actually booked, which turned out to be rather isolated. In the end, I consider the accommodations fine enough to stay but rather expensive for what it was and will likely look elsewhere in the future.

    The staff did accommodate my late night (After 10:00 pm) check in, which was beyond expectations. I appreciated that.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    A convenient and comfortable stay in Brookline.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top floor room a bit claustrophobic. Also needed option when booking to specify disabled.

    Everything very clean. Good to have parking option in back. Helpful staff. Very close to transit to downtown Boston.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    could use improvement...not senior friendly
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the parking the steps..to many steps the noise at night trying to sleep from the building next door, it was awful and didn't stop till after 2am. didn't like the walkway from rear of building to get around to front of building. not a great place for seniors.

    bed was comfortable. staff was very friendly nice to sit outdoors for breakfast nice location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Great value, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly need more space to hang and put cloths during stay.

    Really nice area of quiet suberbs. A short 20 minutes on the "T" into the centre with tram stop just across road and very frequent service. Helpful staff. Enjoyed staying at Beacon Inn

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    A relaxed, reasonably priced alternative to staying in a downtown Boston hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could use more seats in the breakfast room. I should have known there was no elevator and asked for a room on a lower floor. (I'm a senior citizen with creaky knees.)

    Convenient location near the T, shops, and restaurants. Classic architecture in an attractive, quiet neighborhood. Chris at the reception desk was very helpful with directions and purchasing tickets online for the Old Town Trolley tour in Boston. Several staff members helped carry our luggage up and down the stairs. Glad to have parking available. The other guests were interesting and friendly. Croissants were very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Lovely old building, convenient location, nice neighborhood.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not obvious on site that there is a$30 parking fee.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: