Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Beacon 4 stars

2130 Broadway, Upper West Side, New York, NY 10023, USA

#49 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3236 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as in every other Hotel you can get more towels but never bath sheets!!!

    a lively bar scene especially when there is a concert at the Beacon Theater -- love that it is near everything> dining theater Lincoln Center street fairs and so many shops -- definitely a go back to hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For a hotel of this category, I would expect better towels - on the small side, and not so thick. The bathroom could benefit of additional places to hang things like towels, toiled bags, etc... There is no clothesline if you plan to wash clothes (we didn't). Although the water in the shower had good pressure, the shower-head nozzle only let out a rather weak jet. The mixer is the kind that has a single control that only adjusts the water temperature but not the volume. The power outlet was coming apart from the wall. These are small things that would not prevent me from going back; as usual, there's always room for improvement!

    The room was spacious, the kitchenette very convenient. The neighborhood is quiet, more residential, and there are numerous restaurants and shops nearby. It is close to Central Park and midtown attractions. Toiletries and room facilities are very good, including some dishes and cooking ware if you are up to it. We bought some food at the Fairway market across the street and had breakfast in the room a couple of times. Maison Kayser, a couple of blocks north, has excellent breads and croissants. Wifi worked great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smallish Bedroom and bathroom compared to others on our 3 week tour of California. we stopped via NY on our way back to England. Maybe it was me but the concierges/ bellboys seemed to expect gratuities for everything

    Great location on 74th and Broadway. It is a 5 minute walk from Central park, tour bus pick up and the national history museum. There are some great Diners and restaurants close by so you have to get in early to avoid a 40 minute wait for a table. If you like a quieter location out of the madness of NY central then this hotel is for you.we were on the 25th floor and overlooked central park and the Chrysler tower in the distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception could have been more helpful.

    The property was far enough out of the city centre to avoid the crowds but close enough to access the subway, 72nd street. Our room on the 19th floor was quiet and the bed very comfortable. Our room had a kitchenette and the hotel was opposite a large grocery store.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a bit dated, but still comfortable!

    Great location in the city - subway and bus nearby; really spacious rooms/suites; nice to have kitchenette for breakfasts; beds very comfortable; staff extremely cordial and helpful. Good bar food at Barbeacon, too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect. You are nestled right there in the upper west side neighborhood, with markets right across the street. I was so grateful to have a room on 22nd floor with a spectacular view. Thank you for how CLEAN the room was. Thank you for offering guests a full cable listing of channels including TCM! (Classic films). Thank you for bringing more k-cups when we asked! Thank you fo the happy hour glass of wine! Thank you for an air conditioned lobby!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jym was nice but lack of weights. And more facilities for heavy lifting.

    Hotel beacon was the perfect honeymoon hotel for us! Big room, clean and nice. The kitchen in the room makes all the difference. There is a supermarket near the hotel and we felt like we’re living in nyc :) great location!! Great stuff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is a large pot in the kitchen. Normally we need a small pot.

    The rooms are large and comfortable. They have big bathrooms and always a kitchen. The staff has finally solved a problem encountered to my full satisfaction. A big supermarket always open is over the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I can think of is that there are few 'major' restaurants in the area. But there are lots of local eateries and the Levain bakery is a block away.

    Excellent hotel in a wonderful location on the Upper West Side. Away from the tourist hordes, the hotel had restful neighborhood vibe yet it was very close to the subway and bus routes. We had a deluxe corner king that had a kitchenette so we took full advantage of the Fairway Market across the street, and the Trader Joe's a few blocks down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Always a brilliant place to stay in New York. Located close to Central Park, the subway, and food outlets means everything is within easy reach. Staff are always fabulous and the rooms like a home away from home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathtub had rust spots

    The location was wonderful. Room size was terrific for New York and the kitchenette was very convenient. Staff super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bedding for our child was extremely uncomfortable, very small bathroom, only one person could barely fit, too noisy room at all times.

    Good location, nice view and friendly stuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My luggage was lost while in storage (they promised to locate it and ship it to me), leaving without changing clothes, among other inconveniences, problem with ensuing travel arrangement, etc. What a headache!

    The location is convenient. The room was clean, fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Double Beds, Corner
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Everything was great.

    We loved the position of the Beacon. It was in a lovely area close to Central Park and close to the Metro to take us down town. We had a corner room ...1 bedroom suite as there were 3 of us ..it was a bit pricey but worth every cent to us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have stayed at the Beacon a few times so I obviously like it. Toiletries and things like shoe polish were not replaced the way they have been in the past. Our Do not disturb notice was greeted with a hassling letter saying we would not automatically have our room serviced.

    Rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable. The location opposite Fairway supermarket is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues noted

    Great location to access all of New York Attentive staff Great views back to Central Park Able to open some windows for fresh air when weather was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Double Beds, Corner
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unusable due to the noise so couldn't use at night. Bathrooms a little small but OK.

    Very spacious rooms great views from apartment, very quiet at night for new york.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location - facilities - space - front desk staff and concierge were very helpful. The housekeeper on our floor 1805 and 1807 was so friendly and kind a joy to see her in the mornings!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I appreciated the kitchenette and excellent grocery store across the street. Also the hotel is within walking distance of many fabulous restaurants. Great to receive maps and subway info upon arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in our hotel room was a little tired. Wall paper had been patched up and some curtains were not properly hung. The kitchen area had some damage to the cupboards and the oven handle prevented an adjacent drawer from opening properly. There were no teaspoons supplied.

    Great location for hopping on the Subway for sightseeing. An atmospheric, historical hotel with a pleasant bar area. Good sized rooms with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed at this property four times and every time I’ve checked in has been v unpleasant as front desk staff are surly and belong in a Super 8 along a deserted highway, not on the UWS in NYC. I’ve reserved at every price point offered and yet each time end up the least nice room (across from elevator, facilities not as promised, not the View I paid for) until requesting a change. Kitchens are tired and need new appliances, more suited to cheap beach hotel. Hotel is pricey for what it is - everything is done on the cheap and it shows everywhere but the room rate. Never again.

    The housekeeping and valet staff were friendly and helpful. Location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and entire floor had a skunk smell the minute we stepped off the elevator. It was coming from the room next to us, we found out by security the next day. The occupant next to us was actually a tenant. Apparently the hotel used to be apartments and some stayed with the changeover. They were extremely loud. The walls were paper thin. The staff said we weren’t the first to complain and probably not the last. And they were “working” on the situation.

    Beds were comfortable. Hotel is conveniently located to where we had to go. Many restaurants and stores were close and easily accessible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a room on a high floor before arrival as this was recommended for good views however but we were given a room on the 4th floor. Having said this it was stated that there was no guarantee that requests would be met.

    Spacious accommodation with good facilities. Daily replenishment of quality toiletries/tea/coffee/condiments.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not get the rooms we booked. We booked a 2 bed suite for 6 people and instead we got 2 1 bed suites. It would have been nicer to all be together but we were right beside each other. I dealt with two different gentlemen at reception. Neither were very pleasant especially on arrival when we found out we were not getting the rooms we booked.

    Hotel is in great location beside subway stations and a huge supermarket across the road. Lots of great shops nearby and restaurants too. Be sure to check out Amsterdam Avenue which has lots of options for eating and drinking. Sarabeths was our favourite for brunch. The hotel did provide some wine and chocolates for our birthday which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse WiFi ever , we almost had no signal and even though we have complained from the first day, the hotel stuff weren’t able to sort it out after 7 days !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is exactly as it was in 2002 when I was there. The hair dryer should be in the Smithsonian museum. The cushions on the sofa did not match. And I wouldn’t go near the telephone with a 10 foot pole. The Upholstery on the chair was sprayed. Unfortunately when I asked for another room there were none available.

    The Beacon has been my home away from home since 1990’s. I love the apartments and the location and views. The bar is great and so many great restaurants in every block. Subway a few blocks away and the Park and Museums etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things need to be updated to truly call this a 5 star hotel. Old furniture and peeling pain in the room need to be addressed. The lobby was beautiful. The room should have been as luxurious.

    The Bed was comfortable, and I was originally booked for a 2 double; but I was in a wheelchair and the room did not have a walk in shower. They upgraded us to a suite with a king size bed, that had a walk in shower; which also had a seat for disabled persons. That was very nice. All of the staff were wonderful and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. There wasn’t an individual night lamp by each bed and therefore it disturbs the other person with whom you shared the room. 2. The room was packed with all sort of unnecessary furniture and therefore it was hard to move around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked everything with the exception of the front desk staff after 5:00PM. My daughter and I were notified that our flights were cancelled and we couldn't get a flight our for 2 more days. I went to the front desk to see if we could extend our stay for the same rate we had and the desk clerk said they couldn't do reservations at the desk after 5PM. I tried booking.com but because we had already started the stay they could do anything for us. We were upset and very frustrated! We ended up moving to an extremely nice hotel near times square.

    We stayed in a Deluxe Suite and it was fantastic! Roomy, clean, good view, bellman was extremely nice! Kitchen was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Two Double Beds, Corner
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    We booked a corner room and got upgraded to the 21st floor and the view was incredible. Tastefully decorated, very confortable bed, useful kitchenette with complementary coffee every day, spacious room with lots of space, small extra heater in the bathroom, complementary toiletries.. everything was perfect and we loved staying there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Great food market across the street,and room had a kitchenette. Also a great diner type restaurant next door. Convenient to Lincoln Center. Fine service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some early mornings NO HOT WATER IN SHOWER. Later in the morning if the water was left running long enough it would get comfortable warm. No such thing as a fast hot shower!

    Location great for our needs. Nice to have Viand right next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first day, we found 2-3 cockroaches running from kitchen to living room and accidentally I step on one of it. So gross!

    The location is unbeatable. 10-15 to Central Park by easy walking. There’s a fairway supermarket in front of the hotel. The bed is super comfy. Free wifi and the hotel provides dryer and washer for 2 dollar each.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great visit and will be back in a week with additional family members. The Beacon will be our top choice on future visits to NYC👍😀. The staff are exceptional!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi! The hotel was awesome and the staff was very helpful and kind!!! The only thing that needs to change is the sofa bed. Our kids were able to sleep on it, but it would be impossible for an adult to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was overly crowded and thus, our room was cleaned hastily. There were previous guests' hairs missed in the bathroom sink and tub, and the strong smell of men's cologne in the room that lingered for our stay. Like many hotels in NYC, the building has been renovated over the years and in our room, the bathroom (toilet, etc.) was immediately visible when the main room door was opened (door opened on that side). Would've made sense if the door opened to the opposite direction of the kitchen for obvious privacy reasons. Sometimes the obvious never occurs to designers/renovators? One other negative was the attitude of one particular staff member (not all) who secured our departure taxi with a cab driver with whom he was already friendly. We did not have cash at hand but it seemed he expected a tip and both he and the driver were rude (and I tipped the cab driver over 25% on my card). We are European and I watched many guests of other national origins - Japanese - who did not tip hotel staff when taxis were secured on their behalf (as it is not always customary) and these guests were not treated in that manner.

    Location was perfect for our needs to get to Manhattan School of Music and Central Park. Hotel staff was helpful for directions and other advice. Exterior and interior of hotel lobby well maintained. We were also able to store our luggage upon arrival and the afternoon of our departure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was great, as usual but it was TINY! We’ve stayed there a few times over the years but have never gotten a room this small. I realize we got it on sale on Cyber Monday, but had I known, there was no info given about the room size except a King bed room, We definitely would have upgraded. That being said, it’s a great hotel in a great location, close to major subway and across from the street from Fairway, so easy shopping, which is so great because each room has s little kitchenette and also, it has a laundry room, big plus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not told about the security deposit at arrival and this was taken out of my account.

    Beautiful spacious hotel rooms and excellent customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a minor issue with the room when I first checked in. However, it was fixed before I returned for the night.

    The location of this hotel is very convenient for me. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing about the hotel. The taxi from the airport was a rip off. I didn't know it was a flat fare of $52 and he charged us $75. That won't happen again.

    Everyone from the maids to the doormen were friendly helpful and attentive. The bar was great we only used it one night but what a gem, great ambience. The underground was only a short walk, and in minutes we were downtown.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an older property showing its age. A GIGANTIC cockroach appeared in the first room assigned, which hotel staff referred to as a 'water bug"...same thing! The second room provided on a different floor was comfortable with older furnishings. The bathroom pedestal sink leaked from the bottom, but was promptly fixed. No further encounters with creepy crawlies but I was wary the entire stay.

    Hotel is very well situated-great location. Large rooms, friendly accommodating staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as with most hotel rooms there are never enough outlets but these at least were easy to get to

    we sleep in and breakfast in the room so it's nice that housekeeping does a late clean up--the location is the best -- found a new sushi place on Amsterdam -- it's fun to try all the convenient restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service as each time we left a do not disturb sign on the door they contacted us by phone to query it which was quite irritating. Complimentary toiletries were only available on arrival at the hotel and were never replenished which I think is very shoddy for a hotel of this calibre and something I have never experienced before during my extensive travels. The beds and pillows were of poor quality and not comfortable also there was a rough blanket inside a duvet cover as opposed to an actual duvet ! Very bizarre and rather unpleasant The lighting in the room was not conducive to reading.

    The location was excellent plenty of local supermarkets such as Fairway which provides hit food to rake away and Trader Joes. Excellent Serafina restaurant about 5 minutes walk away also underground station within shirt walking distanceand staff were all courteous helpful and efficient. The room was spacious and the layout was excellent with good kitchenette area which even included a toaster as well 2 electric rings,microwave and fridge. We didn't even have to wash up as the housekeepers remove dirty crockery when they service the room each day and replace with clean items!There was a table and chairs and easy chair also.Closet and drawer space were ample and a room safe was available also an iron. There were elevators which we rarely had to wait for and very rapid ( first time I have experienced this in NYC hotel)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They didnt have a tea pot. No in house food.

    Great for families. Supermarket over the road. Close to subway and shops. Only a few blocks for Central Park and Museum. Concierge were great. Gave us lots of good advice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the foot of the bed behind the bed skirt on the floor was a old dirty baby pacifier. No hand towels in the kitchenette ,great water pressure except when it came to the shower head

    The bed was very comfortable and It was quiet The employees where so nice and helpful. The room was roomy and pretty Nice kitchenette too. We would definitely recommend and return to the Beacon hotel. Great power saving idea every progressive .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The following is more a list of suggestions, not that I didn't like * Water Filters for fridge * Regular Coffee makers for those that don't like Keurig * New Hair Dryers ( coils exposed and smelled like it was burning ) * Ventilation for bathroom and Kitchenettes * Plastic Spatula and spoon instead of metal ( scratches coating on pan )

    Everything was very clean which was my main concern. I don't like to eat out, so I was very happy the Kitchenette had everything. Don't forget to buy paper towels or napkins at the Market across the street along with groceries. The staff was friendly and helpful, check out and check in was a breeze and they were very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was adequate, cupboards high and not a lot of usable space. Need wine glasses as a matter of course.

    The location was excellent. Room was very comfortable. Good bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water plumbing was loud. We could hear the water from the other room like it was running in our room.

    Staff was kind, informative and took care of us. Check in was quick. Room was awesome and spacious. View was amazing. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On one day during our stay it was obvious that someone was smoking in a room above, below or adjacent to our [non-smoking] room and had entirely pervaved our room. The staff gave us an option to move which we declined, but went out of their way to clear the smell. However, these days surely all hotel rooms and floors should be non-smkoing and the policy enforced.

    Hotel Beacon is in a great location on the Upper West Side, only a short walk from Central Park and close to 72nd Street Subway. Also adjacent to the famous Beacon Theater, which hosted Robert Plant and John Petrucci's G3 tour on consecutive nights during our stay....I'm a semi-pro rock musician, say no more! The room was clean and really comfortable and the hotel staff very courteous and helpful, esp. the doorman. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There needs to be more than one powerpoint above the kitchenette stove-top in the kitchen because many travellers need to charge phones and laptops; moreover, international visitors also use adaptors.

    Excellent location and a very comfortable bed and pillows. The in-house laundry is a great option - clean, easy to use, and affordable - for long-term travellers. If I'm lucky enough to come back to New York in future I would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed wasn’t comfortable for an adult, but fine for kids.

    The suite was excellent with everything we could need.staff were helpful and friendly, hotel facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    My pillow was very uncomfortable and hurt my neck. The bed did have a lot of pillow on it so I should have just changed pillows or asked in advance for a different pillow. They did have a extra one in the closet so I used that one that was more comfortable for me.

    My husband and I were upgraded to a King suite it had a small kitchen a very nice room attached to it. We were only there for Valentines Day but we had a lovely time in the city with a little shopping, dinner and then a show. Everything is very close since you are only one stop away on the the express stop subway line to Time Square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Please have some kettlebells or small weights in the gym? Or perhaps the ability to check those things out (like a library book) for the duration of the stay.

    The kitchen was truly "fully equipped" and everything I needed was there. The housekeeping service is excellent, with regard to cleaning the kitchen and dishes and not mixing up my things with theirs (and taking my things away by accident). The heating system was great for winter. The special "welcome" basket with wine and chocolate from the Manager was wonderful as I had a longer stay. The provision of the computer and printers (without charge) was wonderful, and free wifi (if I recall) was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The kitchenette was extremely handy, fresh coffee, clean towels and room provided every day. Super helpful and friendly staff. Location was excellent for Central Park and Uptown NYC. Not close to Times Square, but we loved the walk every day to visit the site. Plus if you book a Hop on Hop bus you can be dropped off near 72nd street, so all good! We would definitely use this hotel again. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent: close to subway, excellent supermarket opposite, great cafe next door. Having suites with kitchenette offers option of eating in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed wasn’t super comfortable but it was just fine for our nine year old.

    Loved the restaurant recommendations provided by staff. Superb location, wonderful views east from our 18th floor room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a complimentary upgraded room that was like a lovely apartment. Clean, quiet, well-stocked (great variety of toiletries) and comfortable. Loved the bed pillows. The neighborhood is the best. Great shopping, restaurants galore, best supermarket directly across the street, a Starbucks 10 feet away, a sleek bar right in the hotel, and the subway just one block down. Home run.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t complain .... very happy with everything.

    Room was large and we paid to upgrade to a floor above 15th and were on the 23rd. Views were over the city towards the Hudson River. Everything worked, maybe it looked a little worn in places but it was clean and well serviced. The staff were friendly but unobtrusive. Location was excellent if you intend to use the subway and the most amazing food market is opposite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They could do a better job of keeping the elevators and corridors clean. And they should get the stains off the carpets in those areas.

    The beds were comfortable, the rooms were well appointed, the staff was friendly and responsive. For those looking for luxury, this is not the place to stay. But for families and people who want value, comfort and location, this is the hotel to stay in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Queen Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bed making forunchanged sheets; cockroach in kitchen;furniture upholstery worn (use arm protectors)

    Location, staff, rooms extremely comfortable,bar convenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom could have had more storage/flat surface for toiletries.

    Great location near a subway station and Central Park, well priced and comfortable with a good size family suite. The bar downstairs was cozy and so convenient for a drink and a snack after a day sightseeing, and the cafe next door was perfect for breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was recommended by a friend, and I would recommend it to others too. Great value for NYC.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no complaints.

    The Hotel was in the perfect location for the activities we had planned. It was easy to get to via Subway (we came in by train from CT). The room was comfortable and clean, the fridge in the room was handy for restaurant leftovers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services a little below usual standard, amenities not always replaced , fridge and TV getting a bit tired

    Location, kitchenette, view , really comfortable beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little near where I was staying but nothing major. I believe my room was near a utility area for staff; not sure.

    Front desk staff were extremely helpful in getting me in my room and made it convenient for me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Double Beds, Corner
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great and rooms were nicely appointed. Suite met expectations and everything we could have needed in a kitchen was provided. Even premade ice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning. A little bit far walking distance to main turist attractions if you are with children. On the other hand, subway is close and it's a good alternative.

    The unit is quite big for a NY hotel. It's comfortable for 2+2 adults or 2 + 4 children. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better or more info on tours around nyc

    Great sized room, close to transport and shops and restaurants. Walk to Central Park. Fantastic staff we had a great time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Two Double Beds, Corner
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Please note that the hotel is not new, and it is not luxurious. Just clean, comfortable, and so very very convenient.

    We stayed one week and loved it. Location - just a few blocks from Central Park. Ease of transportation - one block from 72nd street station which is an express stop; nearby groceries - Fairway, Citerella; bakeries - Levain, Mille Feuille; decent room size, kitchenette good for breakfast and minimum cooking. Friendly, accommodating staff and housekeeping; views from upper floors. Quiet (we were on the East side of the building).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was very slow. I sometimes went to the nearby Starbucks to use the internet. The lobby door opens right to the outside, and since the weather was extremely cold, the lobby was basically unusable. The front desk and door attendants appeared mostly indifferent to the guests.

    See above.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This doesn't apply. Everything was great.

    The staff was attentive. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. We absolutely loved the stocked kitchenette. Would absolutely come again. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are small.

    Located within walking distance to Central Park and Lincoln Center. 2 steps next door is a very good, reasonably priced restaurant. 2 great markets across the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sound on the TV was set too low, with no way to turn it up a notch. There is nothing wrong with my hearing, but I had a hard time with people speaking too softly, which was frustrating. News readers were the best. They know how to articulate and project. I understand that hotels want to keep TV noise down, but guests shouldn't be inconvenienced when watching TV.

    My room was large with a kitchen area and great coffee. The heating system and shower pressure were very good, both important to me. The hotel is well located, near Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum, and not far from the theater district, with easy access by cab. Also a plus is a large grocery store across the street and a reasonably-priced restaurant with a good menu right next door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very well appointed but a replacement of the shower in the bath with no bath and instead a walk in shower would give more effective use of the space.

    Hotel Beacon provided us with all we needed. Amazing views. Very well set out comfortable room. We were there in a record sub zero two week Christmas and Beacon was warm and inviting. The kitchenette gave us options to do some eat in meals. The area is full of excellent eating options from bagels to French cuisine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we did not like

    Location being near the subway and fresh food market was fantastic and great value.All staff were very helpful and knowledgeable which was important for our first visit too New York and we were surprised how the General manager Thomas came and introduced himself and talked to us for around 40 minutes.All in all a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa bed was basic in terms of comfort for sleeping. You could feel the rails underneath the mattress.

    The convenience of kitchenette and the living room space in addition to the bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Beacon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: