Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Belleclaire 4 stars

250 West 77th Street, Upper West Side, New York, NY 10024, USA

#305 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2887 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable and wonderfully located stay in the UWS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have enjoyed a mini bar (alcohol wise) in the room since there is no bar on site but was not a deal breaker nor in our expectations since the amenity description was clear during booking.

    Check in was smooth and the room was ready before the stated check in time. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet with no noise being heard from the other rooms even though the entry doors seemed very close together. The bed was comfortable and the property was in an excellent location. They enabled our 5 year wedding anniversary to go very smoothly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.2
    I checked out on the same same.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. The pictures not showyhow old this hotel is. Rooms are small and there is only one bathroom

    I checked out on the same same. I have not tried anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    good base for sightseeing. good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    our room was very small so the manager changed it for us.

    the manager was very helpful when we had a problem. great location away from hustle and bustle of time square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    reasonable accommodation in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly designed rooms, shabby furnishings, terrible internet, overpriced coffee shop, moderate value overall due mainly to location.

    Good location, reasonable facilities, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff were extremely helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with two double beds - the room was cramped with the two beds. It was cleanish but could have been cleaner. There was an air con unit in the room that was great to keep us cool as it was so hot outside, but it was very noisy which wasn’t so great when trying to sleep.

    The staff were extremely helpful and polite. Location was great, very good places to get breakfast within a short walking distance and the subway just down the road. Staff arranged an excellent car service back to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Great base for exploring New York with decent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite cramped. No facilities in the room for making hot drinks e.g. kettle, teabags, coffee

    Comfy beds. Friendly helpful staff. Good location. Lots of hot water and clean towels. Rooms quiet. Iced tea was very refreshing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Belleclaire an NYC gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying in over-valued American dollars, which of course is not the fault of the hotel..

    Location, staff, attention to detail, historic building well maintained

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel quiet area great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed a set of drawers and more space for clothes especially as it had 2 double beds to fit 4 The room was great but we struggled to unpack everything from all cases

    The hotel is in a good location quiet and within walking distance just a few blocks to central park. Lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Great Location, Reasonably priced. Stayed here 3 times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Broadway King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms on the street-side are very noisy. Insist on a quiet room upon booking or you will not sleep. The furniture in the rooms are very dated and needed replacement years ago, but the bed is very comfortable so don't be concerned about that.

    We have stayed here 3 times. The location on the upper west side is excellent near beautiful Central Park. Away from the crazy and expensive Times Square, the subway is less than a 2 block walk away and a 10 minute fun, easy train ride to Times Square and Broadway. Plus, there are so many very good reasonable restaurants nearby as opposed to the not-so-good and pricey Times Square restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    A gem in the upper west side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great so this is a nitpick - the only glasses they provided were plastic so we asked, and promptly got, regular drinking glasses

    Location, friendly and very efficient staff, good value in NYC. Definitely recommend for those interested in the experience of N.Y. neighborhood, away from, but easily accessible, touristy areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wash cloths were too thick for me.

    Clean, comfortable hotel. The lobby option of having coffee and pastries in the morning was nice. The room price was reasonable, be prepared for startling NY taxes. Tea and water in the lobby was nice. Great location for restaurants and Subway. The Upper West side is a good location for wide boulevards, shops and interesting architecture.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish they allowed dogs!!!!!!!!!

    loved the towels! room was small but very well appointed and clean. Staff was very helpful. Location was perfect for our group.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    We`d go back here anytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Parlor Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Was a little disappointed that a lot of the time we had to wait nearly 15 mins for the hot water to come through the tap and the plug in the sink didnt work, and If Im honest the suite was a little rough around the edges. little things but I just wasnt expecting that in one of the most expensive rooms in the hotel. And a few times the bed wasnt made. But apart from that It was perfect for us.

    The hotel itself is gorgeous from the outside. The reception staff couldnt do enough for us. The location is awesome. Ideal for the subway. And lots of places to eat and the excellent FAIRWAY supermarket. The best breakfast deal was at the GRAY`S PAPAYA, breakfast sandwich and a coffee $3 ! Less than 2 blocks from the East River and only 3 blocks from Central Park. AND CHECK THE VIEW FROM THE WINDOW! .... WHAT`S NOT TO LOVE?!?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building of the hotel itself is absolutely stunning and full of that old world charm. The inside was spotless and all the staff, from the valet to the receptionists to the maids, were so sweet, friendly, and most importantly: knowledgeable of the area. We asked several different staff members about where to have dinner and what avenues were the best to shop. All of them knew a little piece of something and we were never disappointed. I would definitely come back!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet connection, very slow and at times not working at all. Also rooms are small with tiny windows, feels claustrophobic

    It was clean and towels were changed every day, nice and safe location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    location is great and air con was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom was very small for a family of four! and beware NYC is very noisy all night - nothing you can do about that though!

    location is great and air con was good! beds are comfy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfy nights rest, great customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window faced another brick building with an opague window. There was a ball of hair in the shower that was not even clogged to the drain, which made me think the hotel only makes sure its appears clean although it may not be. Stop at the CVS dont drink $4 fiji water from mini bar. So many small items i was afraid i would get charged for something i didnt eat.

    The bed is comfortable. Have covers over the pillows as expected. Everything’s seemed clean, just wear flip flops when u shower to be safe. Small refrigerator which was great. Extra pillows in the closet but didnt have sealed covers so we didnt use them. Lots of closet space. Quiet stay. Front desk very friendly and accommodating! Would stay here again, esp. if prices were alittle cheaper.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Seems like a lot of money for a hotel which is in need of maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toilet flusher broke repeatedly - took 3 calls over 2 days to finally get someone to truly repair it (rather than telling me to hold the handle down, which didn't work), on our last night we found a LARGE cockroach in the shower, when I tried to close the drain in the sink a piece fell off (so no closing of the drain), there is no way to make coffee in the room, which means getting dressed in the morning and going downstairs to stand in line and pay for coffee.

    Location, air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would have been nice to be able to have breakfast and perhaps a bar in the hotel, we would have like to have a drink after a long day of sightseeing

    The bed was very comfy, rooms were very clean, staff were courteous and helpful at all times

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel but bad wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free Wifi is terrible

    Nice hotel, great location near the subway. Easy access to Penn Station and Times Square via subway. CVS just across the street and many grocery shops and stores nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Spacious comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in a deluxe queen room, a family with two teen-aged girls. The room had a very small gardrobe, and limited further space for luggages.

    Spacious comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellen location, good stay, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A more attractive fit out of the lobby hall would give this hotel a better visit card

    Very good location in the Upper West Side. Nearby Subway lines (max. 150 meters to walk) Standard equipement in the room including ironing equipement. Room rather small. Very clean. Hotel staff is very friendly and service minded. Small breakfast offered in the lobby hall. Good restuarants and "on the go" shops and retailers in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool No spa Clean room walls and sheets without stains would have been nice One day there was no water and no WiFi and no electricity Bums come into hotel to use bathroom or use elevator for some reason?! Cleaning person cleaned up and threw or took away ear buds and was caught sitting in bed texting once when we came in Shower leaked water onto the floor Toilet had black rim of dirt around top piece Walls are paper thin Right by fire station which is used multi times a day and night They recommend taking a taxi from airport-taxis are the worst there There pastries aren’t complimentary-$5 a piece Only complimentary items are soaps in room

    That I had somewhere to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice boutique hotel. Noisy Window Air Condtioner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is ok. Laminate floors in room. Window air conditioner very noisy. Couldn't sleep.

    Lovely boutique hotel, great location. Iced tea and water in the lobby is a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, quiet hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no coffee maker which was an unpleasant surprise.Having to go to the front desk for beverages was not as convenient.

    Great location, short walk to Central Park, subway, coffee shops and restaurants. Rooms were clean and comfortable despite being older style. We had no noise issues at all. Fridge and in-room safe were appreciated. Given the cost of other hotels we felt this was good value and would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Broadway King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite small and old, so furniture looked old as well. Price is quite high. Coz of windows you can hear street life very very well.

    Staff was very very nice, kind and polite. For our honeymoon they upgraded our room for free and gave us a champagne :) location is also very convenient just 7 mins to central park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    The 2 bedroom suite was the perfect room for our group in the city that never sleeps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This property is a great place to stay in New York. After being out all day it was a nice place to get back to and settle in for the night. Very close to the metro, lots of places within walking distance to eat or get a great bit to eat. Staff was kind, helpful and courteous. Neighborhood was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location at Upper West Side with stores, subway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was somewhat outdated. Hallways, rooms and reception show a bit of wear.

    Excellent location at Upper West Side with stores, subway and many restaurants on Broadway but also on Amsterdam Avenue within minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    I expected a little more from this “boutique hotel”.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “Deluxe Queen” Room was very small. The window ac was noisy all night, as well as street noise. The bathroom was dark and tiny.

    It was a good value for NYC. The location was perfect to be close to our family on Riverside Drive. The bed was comfortable. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Not what was expected. Rating said 8.2z. More like 2.8
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work properly. Almost got burned. Reservation got messed up. Rooms were in bad shape—paint peeling. Not clean. Would not recommend and would never stay again.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was noisy and the temperature of one room (we took the family suite) could not be adjusted.

    We liked the front desk service! The staff were professional and warm. The location was also strategic to visit New York, and not as chaotic as staying near Times Square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    I have stayed here several times.
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather.

    I have stayed here several times. The staff is very respectful and considerate. The staff is always friendly, informative, helpful, and welcoming. The location is laid back for a busy city but a short ride, (either subway or cab) away from everything you would want to do. The food surrounding this hotel has always been better than good. There is a drug store, Starbucks, grocery, deli, and department store within three blocks. When I don't want to venture out too far, everything I need is close. My favorite hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    At $136/night taxes in, it was an excellent deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window AC unit looked like installed by an amateur. More maintenance attention required - shower draining slowly, sink faucet flowing slowly, AC remote dead batteries. Those were some minor issues.

    Room 728 quiet, facing the backyard, no other building directly opposite. Very good deal in Manhattan - great location. Also, originally booked 3 months ahead with free cancellation option. A week before our trip we were able to re-book for 37% lower price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, and good value. But needs improved quality control. But, I would still come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a locker room smell, and we were terrorized by two water bugs throughout the night. The room seemed dated compared to the photo when I booked the room. My wife stayed at this hotel before, and she was very pleased with her prior stay. However, she wasn't as pleased this second time. We had to wait a half hour for the room to get ready when we arrived, but the hotel manager gave us a discounted rate to make up for the inconvenience. After checkout, the total room charges appeared twice on my credit card.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    This was our 4th time staying and as always, a lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had trouble with the TV, it kept buffering, we only got one channel, but we were so tired, it didn't matter

    We left behind some of our items in the hotel room, my daughter who lives there went by the hotel and was able to retrieve the item from Martha. She was extremely helpful, as was the doorman who parked our car, Sare.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    First: NY is expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First: NY is expensive! Given this, it was a good stay. Clean room. All necessary things there. Room itself small, but the bath was big enough for both of us in parallel. Breakfast around the corner (also expensive - it's NY...), but complimentary lemon water in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have really liked to have a coffee maker in the room!

    I liked the "old world" atmosphere, the location and the friendliness of the staff. All being well, I'll be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location in the upper west side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs to be refreshed. Window air conditioner is noisy

    Great location in the upper west side. Close to the 72 and 79 subway stops, restaurants, services and places of interest

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    If you need a hotel on Upper West Side, Hotel Belleclaire is a good option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed wasn't that comfortable, relatively old mattress. Room was dark. A coffee machine in the room would have made a big difference to me.

    The fact that it offers valet parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.5
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights

    crowded lobby, small rooms, toilet valve not fixed til day 8. construction going on, rooms and lobby not clean after numerous requests. poorly trained cleaning and maintenance staff. 10% price reduction not equal to inconveniences.

    great location. polite staff,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    The air conditioner was the noisiest unit I've ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was the noisiest unit I've ever heard, and it woke me up repeatedly every time it went on. They badly need to upgrade their AC units.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location but not very restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is quite a noisy hotel. Our room was by the lifts which we could hear both day and night and the building works downstairs were very noisy during week days. A few days stay would have been fine but we were there for a week.

    The location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We had a room for 6 people and it was huge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed everything especially the free iced tea. Also try the cake shop round the corner they do the best croissants ever.

    We had a room for 6 people and it was huge! Loved it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    I recommend spending a few more $ to get higher room standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was below standard: noise from the street went right through holes in the window frames (old aircondition); we got a room with a 30 % discount, but with this standard the price was too high!

    Good location, very kind staff, impressive entrance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Always a convenient and comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel continues to put money into its lobby, it needs to update the exercise facility and rooms. In particular, the AC units need replacing.

    The convince of the location is the main reason we continue to stay at the hotel on our trips to NYC.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    We’ve had a great time at Hotel Belleclaire, with a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the lobby was undergoing a refreshment during our stay, but we ´re sure it’ll be perfect again soon.

    We’ve had a great time at Hotel Belleclaire, with a very welcoming and helpful staff, a quiet bedroom (priceless after a long day of walking through NYC), and a perfect location: 2 blocks away from the metro and only 3 blocks away from Central Parc. Mille-feuilles breakfast was very convenient in the lobby of the hotel, as well as fresh Iced tea in the afternoon. We recommand!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Great find if you want to stay on the Upper West side. Rates are much higher on the weekend.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevators are tiny, and for most of our visit, only one of the two was operational. (I'm told by regular visitors that this isn't unusual.) This made for long waits and uncomfortable rides when the elevator arrived.

    Location was great. It's a short walk to Zabars to get your deli fix.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was like a cupboard. It was very dark and there was hardly any room with having 2 suitcases. The tv was useless as there was no signal for most of the channels.

    Location and the staff were lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    The room was as pictured.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a lot of noise from the street. The radiator was loud and it prevented you from sleeping.

    The room was as pictured. The bathroom was of a normal size. Near Central Park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    The room was as pictured.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a lot of noise from the street. The radiator was loud and it prevented you from sleeping.

    The room was as pictured. The bathroom was of a normal size. Near Central Park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    the great old building near the Central Park, nice, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The building is old so from time to time need fixing. It was not an issue for us but they refurnished the lobby at the time, and do some construction work in the lobby.

    the great old building near the Central Park, nice, and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Came to NYC for a whirlwind vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came to NYC for a whirlwind vacation. This was a great safe location close to everything we needed. A little tight space wise but didn’t spend much time there. Was super quiet and clean. Just what we needed. Great value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient and good value but showing signs of age.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired accommodation; noisy window air conditioner; tiny work table. Hallways and rooms could do with a makeover.

    Good location with access to loads of bars and restaurants on Amsterdam Ave and Broadway. Two minute walk to 79th St subway for Times Square and Penn Station. No scam resort fee (unlike its neighbor across Broadway).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    The Accessible Room is really accessible for a wheelchair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other rooms are a little bit small, but we’re talking about a historic building that has been transformed into a hotel.

    The Accessible Room is really accessible for a wheelchair. But wait a second, isn’t that obvious? Not it isn’t! The hotel is totally accessible and the room is great: it has a huge bathroom with a roll in shower. Just what my father needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    The desk manager made accommodations for us as we had no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was construction in the lobby. No notice on Booking. The water and electricity were turned off at intervals with no warning.

    The desk manager made accommodations for us as we had no water, the heater was broken and the elevators were out on the Sunday we stayed there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    Decent place to stay for a nights rest without having to spend too much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is on the small side, hallways are narrow, elevator is very tiny. The room has snacks & a mini bar in it but buyer beware they charge an exorbitant amount ($4.50 for a Snickers bar).

    Close to Central park and places to eat & shop (Marshall's is just across the street).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub / shower drain was clogged. I asked them to fix it, but it barely changed. The elavator was quite scary. It did not seem safe.

    Location, some of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff was friendly, room was clean and bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restuartant or bar in the hotel but the area was plentiful with places to eat and drink

    Staff was friendly, room was clean and bed was comfortable. A great central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean and quiet room in a premium upper west side location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having allergies, I would have loved it if there had been a box of tissues in my room! The lobby was an absolute zoo in the mornings! Many groups gathering prior to boarding buses in a very small space. There were renovations under way, so I am hopeful that there will be more lobby space to accommodate people the next time I visit.

    Super location for my purposes. That was the #1 factor in my decision to stay at the Belleclaire. My room was small, but clean and well appointed. The free wifi was appreciated. My room was dark, but very quiet (my request) as it faced the interior space between buildings. The mechanical below did not make noise. All I did was sleep here, so that was perfect. My room had a kitchenette in it, and although I did not use it, I can see how making my own breakfast, for example, could have been very helpful option for saving money. I did use the mini-refrigerator to keep beverages that I purchased cold. That was a nice bonus. No restaurant but coffee and pastries were available for purchase in the lobby in the mornings. (A nice gesture, but cheaper, quieter, and more seating at the Starbucks nearby.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    It’s New York so you need a clean,comfortable hotel in a good location and this works!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was small and didn’t always work. Maid didn’t leave enough towels and facecloths a couple times. Thought coffee and pastries were complimentary but I was wrong. We were upgraded to a bigger room with a view, which facing Broadway ended up being very noisy!

    Location- close to Central Park, museums and many restaurants in the area. Lots of subway stations close making getting around easy. It’s walkable fo theatre/ Chelsea district. Because of all the walking did not need fitness room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff but old building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was dreadful and was straight out of the window so was super noisy when on. The place is a very old building and could do with some good double glazing you can hear all outside. Yes we are in the city but it was like i was on the street.

    The staff were lovely and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Welcoming Parisian Style Hotel on the Upper West Side of Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel felt like a small hotel in Paris. The lobby is beautiful. The room we had was a little small but very comfortable. The location on the Upper West Side is perfect--you can walk to Central Park, Lincoln Center and Midtown. The Downtown Financial district is a short subway ride away. The staff were very helpful. There is a nice coffee bar in the lobby and lots of places to get breakfast nearby to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small, dark, noisy, not very clean. The bed went down on one side. The bath did not hold water. The sink did not drain properly. Even though I was sick with food poisoning the staff did not find another room for me.

    In my opinion the only good thing about this hotel was the location, a couple of the staff and the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    I love the location, but it needs some sprucing up and put in new air conditioning units.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so stuffy and when we plug in the air conditioner it made so much noise. Bed was hard as a rock so a bit difficult to sleep.

    The location is great, room size was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.6
    Gross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very dirty. There was left over hair from a previous guest. A pubic hair on the bed, gross white residue on the headboard, hair on the toilet, in the sink and in the shower. Dirty floors. No complimentary anything at all.. not even a coffee maker in the room. Tiny rooms, tiny hallways, tiny elevators. The hall floors were so disgusting.

    The hairdryer and tv worked....I don't recommend staying here even though it has a lot of decent reviews. It is nothing like in the photos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location and helpful staff. Easy access to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room is small. the closet miniscule. probably typical for NYC but it felt even smaller than usual. 2 women of below average size could manage but it would have been tight if it had been my husband and I instead.

    We arrived on a red eye at 0600. The staff was very nice. They did provide early check in with the room ready by 1100. The location is perfect. Just off Broadway on the Upper West side. Not too crowded. near central park. 2 blocks to subway line that got us everywhere we wanted to go. excellent bakery just around the corner. many restaurants as well as 24hr CVS across the street. Hotel provided umbrella.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    3.8
    We enjoyed New York emensley. But won't return to the belleclaire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the Staff were quite rude at times and not at all helpful. No information offered about the area or facilities at the hotel. One of our party asked for a glass of water and was told they didn't have water!! The rooms were not as clean as was expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    It was fine. Staff was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I walked into the deluxe king before making the switch and knew that a “smaller” room could not be any more disappointing. The king room was small, dark and entirely unappealing. There’s no dresser, so unpacking entirely was not an option. Bathroom is only big enough for one person at a time. Cleanliness was meh and the one day we asked for service, the cleaning staff did not come. Location was ok but had to travel to get to any place we wanted. Valet was expensive and brought my car back absolutely filthy.

    The staff at the desk and coffee bar were so nice. I wanted to stay an extra night but my room was unavailable so before i settled into my deluxe king, i talked to the front desk and “downgraded” to the deluxe queen. Best decision I made. The room felt spacious and bright. It felt like they did not want me to make this switch, and maybe it was for this exact reason. I think it was the better room but they charge more for the king.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Super friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioners are loud, though rooms, otherwise, are quite quiet.

    Super friendly and helpful staff! Superb Upper West Side location with intimate European feel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of 2 elevators one was constantly out of order. Construction ongoing. Sound isolation poor, was able to hear other guests slamming their doors. No breakfast/dining area. Standard room was very small, there was barely a space to open up a suitcase, totally overpriced!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.8
    It was soso
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t sleep because we could hear all the noise from the street. A window was open because there was a regular AC unit installed in it. For the amount of money I paid there was no parking we had to pay valet parking for 24 $60+ tax given NYC I guess that was “a deal” the elevators were a very small they could only squeeze 4-5 persons at a time and I mean squeez. The bed had a peculiar smell to it. For the amount of money I paid breakfast was not included we paid $740.00 for two nights

    The location and the two rooms in one

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff, the location, the French Restaurant bakery visits...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having any drawer or storage space (but the staff got us an extra luggage rack.) One of the elevators was down for a short time.

    The staff, the location, the French Restaurant bakery visits in the lobby and around the corner. A good room safe, an ironing board and iron, the room fridge with a bit of room for my sore thumb ice pack and cheese sticks! Also, the magnetic door signs for the cleaning crew!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Location was excellent - close to inexpensive and delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Facilities were being renovated -- lots of active construction in lobby. No coffee maker in room -- coffee and pastries were for sale in lobby, but no tea bags available. No drawers or bureau in room to put items and clothing. No shelves or space on sink in bathroom to place personal items -- had to set up the ironing board for use as a shelf. Mattress was lumpy. Beverages in and snacks on top of refrigerator were for sale at ridiculous mark-up.

    Location was excellent - close to inexpensive and delicious restaurants, drug stores, subway. Easy to get a cab.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and friendly.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi wasn't working--which was a Verizon problem and out of your control, but it meant leaving the building to do any work.

    The staff at the desk was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice, away from the crowd place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A dresser of some sort would be nice. Maybe in the closet?

    The coffee and pastry counter was great. The staff was very nice. The hotel is right behind the Museum of Natural History and the park. We asked if we would like to arrange a car to the airport. It was so nice to have a nice ride at the end of a busy trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Belleclaire traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: