Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beresford Arms 3 stars

701 Post Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#75 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4528 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy main road, although this cant be helped in a major city.

    Basic free breakfast, was good to get you atarted for the day. Good value compared to other hotels in San Fransico.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smelly and hallway and outdoor noise was pretty noisy. Didn’t have any AC so unfortunately needed the window open for air circulation which made it so noisy.

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we could not park in front od the hotel and the parking is not included, you have to pay additonal 45 $ for parking or park it yourself. But near hotel you can find a garage.

    Room size was okay, but the windows are not sound proof and you can hear everything from the streets. Beds were comfortable and bathroom was clean. Staff was nice. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A lot of the staff need to cheer up a bit and be more forthcoming. The hotel states that it serves continental breakfast, which is very misleading, as the breakfast consist of muffins and a variety of different melons and apples, which is simply not a continental breakfast. Wine and cheese is being served daily at 16.00, however we never made it to that, as we were always busy sightseeing, so I feel that they could have saved themselves this and offered some cheese and ham at breakfast instead. Breakfast was also served in the lobby, so there wasn't always enough space for people to sit down and you had to keep plates on your lap. The plates and cutlery was also plastic, which is such a waste. The rooms are very basic and do the job, given that you will most likely be out and about for most of the day, however, I did not like the fact that there was no safe in the room. You can leave your valuables in a safety deposit box at reception but that didn't make it feel any more secure, as it feels like it's out of your control and everyone can see what you put into the box.

    The location of this hotel is great and I would stay there again for that. Our room was clean and whilst it was basic, it was enough for us overall, as we were out sightseeing most of the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was large and comfortable however some update would improve overall impression

    Good location, clean and good beds, very pleasant staff, afternoon "happy hour" nice touch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had a problem with the coffee machine in my room that the staff was never really able to fix! Considering that the hotel has no cafe, this was a real problem especially early in the morning. They aught to keep spare coffee machines for situations like this!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast needs to improve as it was too basic with only coffee and croissants. Otherwise a great stay. The hotel has lots of character and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except 1 small thing the breakfast would like to have seen a bit of savoury items too much sweet things

    The junior suite great room had a kitchenette was quiet too we were at back of property standard rooms are good too had 1 first but very noisy from outside but then San Francisco is a buzz so u expect it i woukd def stay here again so central too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a city centre hotel in really needs to improve the windows as it can be very noisy during the night. Some of the areas of the rooms and hotel do need up grading as they look tired.

    Great sized room with 2 beds. Staff helpful and friendly especially the housekeeping team. Old world charm which is nice but looking a little faded.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    having to ask for a key to use toilet in lounge, one lift which at times got busy but no big deal.

    we new before we went it was a continental type breakfast, so no disappointment, room was 809 very bright and very clean, wine & cheese in the afternoon very good met some lovely people, good position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint we have is the noise. We faced the street and it was incredibly noisy all night long. Absolutely nothing the staff could have done about that but if you do stay then maybe request a room not facing the street! Also the breakfast is not really a breakfast.. just some pastries and fruit and coffee.

    The rooms were clean, the beds were super comfortable, the staff was pleasant and the location was great. I ended up switching our booking to this hotel at the last minute and I'm so glad we did!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    I highly recommend Beresford Arm Hotel. The Location is perfect and staffs are really nice and helpful. I arrived early around 8:30am and check in was supposed to be at 3:00pm but I was able to do early check in and I got an upgrade room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was cold and seemed bothered when we talked to them at all even from the min we entered the hotel and it continued with most every staff that was at the front desk other staff at the hotel was nice

    Clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged us for the third person in the room which was a queen suite (two queen beds) Been traveling all week and this didn't happen anywhere else! Weren't too sure about the area.

    Rooms were large and our bathroom had just been renovated. Small kitchen area with microwave and fridge. Nice lobby with wine and snacks in the afternoon and fruit and pastry in the morning. Coffee not great. Styrofoam cups.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed on “6th” floor which was actually the 3rd; the noise from the street was ridiculous despite the window being closed. Room was clean, but the smell of bleach was overwhelming. Staff was lukewarm in all interactions and elevator was incredibly slow.

    Proximity to Union Square and great restaurants. Room clean, good water pressure in shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Already mentioned above

    The Room was looking to the side street which was extremely noisy; we complained at check-out and the person in-charged did not speak English or pretended did not understand. They almost crushed my car the person driving my car while using valet services. Extremely annoying and irresponsible. We will never stay at this hotel ever again. The good continental breakfast and mid-snack was overtaking by the negative experience about noise by construction, peoples voices and poor service at our checked-out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, rundown lobby, untrained staff

    Rooms are well kept, and have an air of elegance. However, the lobby is run down, the corridors gloomy and the breakfast experience very poor. The staff though helpful have no concept of service;for example will continue to chat in the presence of guests. The Manager is never visible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms are adequate at best but it’s something you can get past in most places. Not this place! The staff was ungrateful, grumpy and at points down right rude. Staying at three other properties during this trip this was a horrible start to our trip. I would not recommend this property due to the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has parking (valet), but quite expensive, since it is in downtown SF. We found a parking garage about 5 minutes walk to the hotel and parked there for less (about $30 per 24 hours).

    The room is large, clean and elegantly furnished. Included breakfast (coffee, tea, muffins, fruit salad ) provides a good start to the day. Will stay again next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is lobby self-served. Including fruits, croissants & coffee. It’s not a real breakfast (no dining room) So consider to eat outside.

    Everything was great. Very clean. Very beautiful hotel. Nice staff. The evening complementary wine and crackers is just great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tip jar on the wine and cheese table during social hour; clerk restocking table while eating a bag of chips. Booked a room with a queen bed, bed was a full :-(

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating could have been better. Granted it's a very old building, but when the steam heater that supplies heat to the entire building is turned off at certain times of the day, the suite can get pretty cold.

    The beds were wonderful! Very Soft and comfy. We loved that our suite was so large. Plenty of room for three people. And we loved the location with so many great restaurants well within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are from a small town in Michigan so the city noise was an adjustment but we managed to get use to it.

    Location was great, breakfast in the am ample for myself and my two sisters and the wine, cheese in the early evening was a nice touch. Beautiful lobby and met some interesting travelers. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not book this hotel! DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL! 1, Location, it's in the Tenderloin district, the worst and most dangerous area of San Francisco. You will know what "Tenderloin" means if you talk to a local. 2, The hotel is somewhat haunted. When I entered the room after checking in, I CANNOT turn on the light (the switch did not work) and it lasted for about 5 minutes until weirdly the light was finally on. Then the toilet started to FLUSH itself, while I haven't even checked out the bathroom yet. And, the TV, it was FUZZY for no reason, while there was tv program playing on TV underneath that layer of fuzz. They finally agreed to change the room for me, even though they refused to do so in the beginning until they saw the weird TV situation. So this hotel is absolutely haunted. 3, The check-in desk is messy, and the staffs are not very professional. It's more like a storage room than a check-in desk - the staff will grab your toothbrush for you from the big box right behind his chair. 4, The so-called breakfast is just a bunch of cupcakes and some fruit in the lobby - that should not be marketed as "breakfast provided", Ok?!

    NOTHING AT ALL!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OLD hotel, no Air Conditioning, windows didn't fully close, meaning there was a lot of street noise. The room had a strange musty smell.

    Great Location, friendly staff and fun "Wine and cheese" during the afternoons.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    sent us to a room which hadnt been cleaned yet. breakfast very basic. acoustically challenged with windows letting in street sound

    big room. extra space. views on the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the coffee. the first few mornings were terrific, the latter were undrinkable

    no they were not. the bed was not extra comfy. the whole experience was adequate, except for the staff, who were excellent. m

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect place. Good location. Very safe ..No homeless at the door. Perfect for supermarket over the road and ithai restaurant which served great sensibly priced food. Hotel rooms perfect, fresh and clean. Nothing to much bother. Recommend car service to save driving. Lovely touch of cheese a nd wine each evening. Nice breakfast. Perfect postion in the city. Highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t say i didn’t like it, but the radiator heater left a little to be desired; while it is very cool to know it still works, it took a while to start up and the radiator got too hot to the touch once it did heat. But i worked!!

    Loved the larger space, the kitchenette, the double sinks, the bathtub, the fact there even was a kitchen was excellent! Loved the race friendly environment the day before and day of the Bay to Breakers Race! Provided water, Powerbars, excellent breakfast items in general but especially great for racers! I paid a little more to stay this weekend, but a great value compared to other hotels. Staff were excellent and helpful!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was dated in the suite and unlike the room and bathroom fell short on cleanliness

    Bed was comfy. Room was clean, bathroom was extremely clean. Breakfast was good, variety of pastries and fruit available. Additional perk of wine and cheese served in the afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk clerk was not overly friendly. We stood there a few minutes before she asked if we needed anything. The complimentary breakfast was fruit and pastries.

    We chose this hotel because of the price and it was only 3 blocks from Union Square. Easy to walk to restaurants. Closer hotels to Union Square were much more expensive! The rooms were very nice, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was unique in a good way! Retro. We had a wall phone in ours and a bidet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a somewhat rundown area, but is close to union square. It’s on the edge of the shabby tenderloin area, and there were a lot of homeless folks sleeping in alleys and on the street. You could smell the tang of urine in the air. The hotel must also be on a direct route from a fire-hall as there were fire trucks (and police cars) roaring down the street many times each night. Not a quiet sleeping area.

    The beds were lovely, and the bathroom was very European - quite elegant. Tall ceilings throughout. The hotel provides wine and cheese every afternoon and your basic continental breakfast in the AM down in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise was loud at times but has to be expected in a big city.

    We booked the junior suite as we were travelling with our daughter and were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms, in fact it could best be described as an apartment rather than a suite. Sunny, light filled, spacious and very comfortable with a nice view over the city. The concierge and other staff were the best and most helpful that we had come across in our travels. The rooms were spotless and the free wine and cheese happy hour each afternoon was also great. Best of all we loved the old world ambience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front desk were incredibly rude both days we were there. Their poor attitudes and rude remarks/facial expressions were our first impressions of the hotel. My husband and I travel often and have NEVER been to a hotel were it’s acceptable for the staff to roll their eyes at paying customers. The hotel is also advertised as pet friendly which is almost totally false. Definitely not pet friendly. We brought our two, small well behaved dogs and received judge mental stares anytime we walked through the lobby. We waited for valet for over an hour to pull around our car every time. I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE traveling to San Fransisco.

    The water pressure in the shower was great, it was clean, and the bed was decently comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed for two weeks and the only complain that I have is that the breakfast is really poor and not at all varied. So much that I can literally list everything below: -Two types of coffees -Hot chocolate -Bananas -Croissants -Two types of muffins -Two types of other sweets whose names I don't know -(Ocasionally: mixed pieces of watermelon and pears) Also, there are not proper breakfast tables or anything, it's just a big room with 3 or 4 low tables in the middle, where 4 persons can sit around each one, and then some chairs scattered around the room (without any table). Paperboard cups and plates...

    The beds are really comfy, the rooms are really clean, and the location is ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing, unless having so many French speaking guests made you want English speaking company around. We liked talking to foreign visitors. This was a treat.

    Surprised we were given a suite with a kitchen! The wine in the afternoon was excellent in the room with the chandelier and tall windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had an outside room so it was a little noise.

    excellent staff, including the maid. And it was very close to the bus stop for the bus going to the downtown area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's lots of street noise on weekends, especially when the windows are open. But otherwise, this place was great.

    This place is like stepping into the past! It's immaculate, but everything is very old. For example, the kitchenette had wallpaper that reminded me of my grandmother's kitchen in the '70's, and the windows were counter-weighted with rope mechanisms. But EVERYTHING worked and looked almost new! Also, the bedding was definitely new, so there was no "ick" factor there. This was a really unique place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The acoustic insulation could be better, but is according to the historic building's substance.

    We had a pleasant stay at the Beresford Arms. The bed was very comfortable, the room spacious enough - and everything was very clean! The breakfast provided rather good pastry, fresh fruits and good coffee. Also, the hotel is well located (Union Sq, Cable Cars etc) and the neighbourhood felt quite safe. We would consider the hotel for another trip to SFO.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None,

    Instant upgrade of one room. Free afternoon tea & breakfast, generously supplied. Staff were accommodating. Clean & comfortable beddings conducive to good sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is being a bit picky but would have appreciated some cereal as part of the continental breakfast provided. We would also recommend requesting a room towards the back of the hotel as San Francisco can be noisy at night.

    Great ambience to the place. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were always obliging. The afternoon drinks is a nice touch and in some ways says a lot about the friendly atmosphere that is created by the staff. The majority of the touristy stuff is easily accessible from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls and windows were paper thin. Could hear everything outside, and the area isn't the greatest so you hear it ALL.

    Staff was friendly and courteous, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could use updating. The location is convenient to the center of the city, but the neighborhood itself is bordering on sketchy. No air conditioning but room was mostly comfortable.

    Staff was great and very nice. Although the one elevator was slow, there is a central staircase so I really didn't need it. There was a nice area for socializing and afternoon wine socials everyday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a great place. The staff were all so happy, friendly and helpful. The location was excellent for getting around San Francisco and in a safe area. The afternoon wine, cheese, tea, coffee get together is a wonderful opportunity to meet at her guests and discuss your San Francisco experience. The breakfast was a delicious continental breakfast with fresh fruit, crossiants, Danish pastries, muffins and of course tea, coffee juice, I would definitely stay at the Beresford Arms next time I am in San Francisco and will be recommending it to my friends and associates.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a quaint and charming hotel that feels like the height of 1920's lifestyle elite. Afternoon wine and coffee service, comfortable rooms, and central location was ideal for our stay in San Francisco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some street noise the first night, but think this was due to the proximity of union square.

    The complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese hour in the afternoon was a lovely touch. The location was good for getting around. The room was large and also contained a kitchen with fridge which was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Oooooooooold fixtures in the room - brass that had warn off so much that it was borderline gross. Area is not that great - lots and lots and LOTS of sirens at night, more than normal in a big city.

    Charming. Boutique. It even had a bidet! That's pretty cool. Continental breakfast was standard fare, nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee and tea could have been improved

    Very comfortable bed and room, nice touch with wine and cheese in the afternoon. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had a view of a junk filled alley so that could have been better I suppose.

    Vintage class. And clean as well. Very close to Union square and high end shopping and gourmet dining. Lots of parking nearby and the staff was attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected it to be a boutique hotel with the victorian feel to it but I was a little disappointed. Breakfast was meh. The staff were OK but I think you get better service in other hotels for the cost. Some parts of the room looks like it's going to break.

    The bed was comfortable, I slept so good. They upgraded me to a junior suite which was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little to warm

    The location is perfect...The breakfast and wine in the afternoon is an added bonus. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from outside is pretty prominent at night, but it is a city.

    Good location to explore the city. Our room had a broken tap and the staff quickly and kindly upgraded us with no fuss.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hi, I'm Hyunmin Lee staying room no. 715 for a week. It was a great experience with kind frond desk and room condition compared to its accommodation fee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been a bonus to have a breakfast staff/person at breakfast to assist, it would have been a bonus to have a little nicer presentation of food - however given the number of people coming and going for the sake of sanitation perhaps they have to keep that area minimal in details.

    The bed was very comfortable. They automatically upgraded our room which was a very nice bonus - to two queen beds. The location was excellent walking distance to Union Square. The Staff were eager to please, with minimal employees they were very organized, helpful, trustworthy and parking and retrieving our rental car, money for the valet parking worth every penny given the outside world. The price was excellent considering costs in general in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the street side. Impossible to have your windows open and you could even hear noise with them closed. I was woken several times.

    The size of the room along with its amenities were impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air, lift BREAKFAST, and lift (elevator) power

    The Beresford Arms is a magnificently presented and maintained hotel. However the blunt instrument of your questions is entirely inappropriate to give a clear picture of the pro's and con's of staying there. The breakfast was deplorable but the wine and cheese (unfortunately American soap!) was pleasant and attractive. Our room was very pleasant but incredibly noisy and on top of all this there was no air conditioning. Finally, the inside of the lift (there was only one) was darker than the black hole of Calcutta and it creaked ominously whenever it moved. At $206 per night it was an experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and spacious suite, fresh bed linens. Spacious bathroom. Very good location, only 7mins walk from Union Square. Good customer service. Free breakfast. Near public parking garage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is a bit slow if you have multiple devices such iPad and Laptop.

    Very nice location, well-maintained furniture, friendly staff and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was just croisssants and melon so not an actual American breakfast. The neighborhood is not that good since there are plenty homeless people and the cleaning was not excellent.

    We liked the beds and the junior suite as a total. Everyday cleaning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SF was quite warm and not having Air conditioner was very uncomfortable; there was a portable fan on the room was not very efficient.

    The continental breakfast was very good, everything fresh. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is elegant and comfortable. I liked the convenience of the valet parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of air conditioning would be an issue in the summer, but since we were there in April the ability to open one of the windows was sufficient. There was a large fan available in the room that could have been used. Quite a bit of dust surrounding the inner area of the light fixtures over the bed was disturbing.

    Walking distance to Union Square, cable cars and stores.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees of the check in and check out weren’t friendly and welcoming. We didn’t happy especially when we were checking. Even the checking staff didn’t say welcome to us. Over we were happy about clean room.

    It was close to the restaurants and market food. It was easy to go visit and walk around the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there wasn’t a safe for valuables

    The room was clean and comfortable, good value for money with a mini fridge that was stocked with reasonable priced soft drinks. Plenty of storage in the bedroom and the bathroom was very lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got the junior suite and didn't expect it to be spacious enough, even the bathroom, and we also have a kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave and ref to use. The bed is quite comfortable. And the staff were courteous, accommodating and helpful. On top of that, we stayed in a 100-year old hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no sound proofing in the rooms or windows, heard fire truck sirens all night plus walls thin to next rooms, keeping me awake much of the nights No coffee machine in the room

    Bed comfortable, wine & cheese afternoon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Terrible Custumer Service --> Front Desk Staff and Door Man. Be aware that Breakfast included = plain continental (Cup of Coffee + Cupcake or Bun, don´t expect a full breakfast).

    Comfortable and clean Hotel at fair price for SF. Good location but has a downside as it is located in the border of an ugly neighborhood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took the valet an hour to bring us our car

    The bidet in the bathroom wasn't very clean so I called down to the desk and the apologized and upgraded us to a bigger room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelling marijuana and cigarette smoke wafting through the hallways right by the lobby was not too classy! Thin windows also let in a lot of street noise.

    Loved having a kitchen and the bathroom was nice, beds comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning! We had to open the window to have fresh air and the area is so full of homeless people and bums! All you hear is people fighting, dragging carts, bags, and vandolizing property. As soon as we got there they told us to take everything out of our car because our sense of value may be different than others. A man walked by the entrance while we were checking in and scraped the windows with something sharp and it left scratches on the entry window! There are beggers just feet from the door. They charge you 40 bucks for valet and then it takes 30 minutes to get your car and then they leave your car in the street where it can 90% get damaged within a few minutes until they decide to take it back to parking. They also warned me that my car may or may not be damaged because the area they park the valet cars in is not guarded or fenced. I would stay in little italy or china town or close to the wharf. The desk lady actually laughed at a guest in her face bc she asked for a good view. She even asked her "Where do you think you are staying?" Value and safety in this city are not found in this area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There's only one elevator and sometimes the wait was a bit long.

    The lobby is old-style luxury, with beautiful chandeliers, large arch windows, and comfortable furniture.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was street level on Jones Street. VERY noisy and I did not sleep till 4am, there were people on the footpath outside our windows yelling etc and at times I felt they were trying to get in our window. Breakfast was very poor. Not even any butter or jam to put on the cold croissants . No cereals. Only watermelon and cantaloupe as fruit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited and no tea making facility in the room or lounge area

    The friendly and helpful staff, the wine and cheese in the afternoon in a very comfortable space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hills of San Francisco were tough on unconditioned shins!

    The Coffee Pod Machine was excellent. Surrounded by fantastic restaurants. The old-world charm of the Beresford was just lovely and the location was within reach of everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just don't turn left when leaving. Lots of homeless people nearby but they won't annoy you, just looks sad when you see them.

    Location, restaurants, transport, shops and everything else nearby. At 4.30pm every night free wine, cheese and nuts available. We met lots of international people as you sit together having the drink and food. Fantastic idea and wish more hotels did this. It's always good to chat to someone else and learn about there culture, why they are travelling etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was that the breakfast was terrible. If you book this hotel (and you should) just pretend like it does not serve breakfast and head to one of SF's great bakeries for avocado toast or walk to nearby Chinatown for delicious dim sum.

    Really nice, clean, and comfortable historic hotel. I loved that the elevator was always waiting with the door open when you walk into the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Beresford Arms traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: