Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Beresford 2 stars

635 Sutter Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#145 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6023 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ice machine on any floor. Had to ask for ice at the desk in the lobby.

    The location and price are excellent. The included breakfast is pretty good. The room is clean and comfortable, and quite. I would stay here again, in fact I already have another reservation for next weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is small although quite functional. Biggest issue is that the water is very tricky in the shower. When adjusting between hot and cold the graduations are very small so the tiniest movement of the knobs makes it too hot or too cold. I was able to get it adjusted and take a reasonable shower.

    The bed was comfortable and the room while cozy was well appointed. My room had a nice view. The hotel is close to shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. I like older architecture and the building is a classic. Having bar attached was very convenient to stop into before settling in to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much to complain about for the money. Breakfast was primarily sweet (but by experience says this is the norm in this part of the world). Would have liked some cheese or something as a supplement... Rooms are a bit worn, bathroom not exactly large...

    Complimentary breakfast is a nice addition - I personally like having a cup of coffee etc. before leaving for business of the day. Very helpful staff, good location, and reasonable price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms, shower in room 309 no flow or cold, noise of fan at night from next property

    The breakfast was served from 7 to 10 am, first morning no choice of cereal and only muffins left at 8:50 am. Very poor service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no smiles or exchange of pleasantries by the staff who all seemed to be pre-occupied. There were unnecessary delays at the reception. A little bit of courtesy by the staff would transform the experience. Breakfast was very basic and presentation far from desirable.

    Liked the room and bed was comfortable. Toilet basic but clean and hygienic. Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the only negative was the Continental breakfast. They didn’t have juice one day (it simply didn’t arrive) and unless you get there early all of the muffins and pastries are gone. O5erwise, we loved this place

    Room was great, location was super, the bar had a great feel about it and was fun to hang out in and meet other travellers. The Beresford was great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would have considered the breakfast closer to complete if it included some eggs.

    The things I liked most: the quiet ambiance; the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms; the very friendly and helpful staff; and the location with easy access to much that is of interest in SF

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of insulation in windows - an icy wind blew in. We slept with our coats on the first night due to the cold (early June!) and the second night when we requested a blanket were very reluctantly given one by the women in reception who said they were ‘in short supply’. Luckily heating went on the second night.

    Good value for the location and an obvious effort made to keep the place clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very small. TV in the rooms are with bad cable connections. Very poor. NO AC in the room, but have a small fan (poor again) Inadequately staffed. No variety in breakfast. Overall poor experience.

    Location is the only plus point being close to Union Square!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some part of hotel need refurbisment and rooms towards backyard need sound proof glases in the windows - AC on neighbour Scool is very noicy

    The old english atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street at night was a bit annoying.

    I am a fairly frequent visitor here. The location is excellent and the food at the pub is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Uphill walk, 5 blocks, from Powell BART. Good walk after being on plane for 4 hours.

    Location. 1and 1/2 blocks away from Powell Cable Car line. Close to Chinatown. Downhill walk to Powell and Market MUNI and BART. Friendly staff. Use of computer and printer helpful for airline check in. 1900's classic hotel in excellent condition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people on reception weren't welcoming. They did what they had to do but were aloof and you didn't get a very friendly first impression.

    Location was good. The hotel was quaint and old fashioned. Breakfast( included) was fine with cereals, croissants, fresh fruits, muffins , orange juice and tea and coffee. No view from the room, but it was comfortable enough and a decent size with nice decor( not modern).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was a very obnoxious old lady at the front desk. moody and was irritated when i asked her a couple of questions regarding their free breakfast

    the location was great,amenities complete and rooms were clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff not very friendly/helpful. Did not go out of their way to interact with customers.

    The Room was large and the bed large and comfy. The location was very good. It would have been nice to have coffee available in reception or to make in you room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor hospitality. Room was very small. Extra charges.Breakfast was horrible poor( bread, juice and coffee) people at the desk very inattentive.Bad in general. Definitely not coming Back again to this place. The only good thing about it was the location.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices were slim. Donuts, muffins cereal and apples. Would have liked additional fruit choices. Lots of street noise and no AC so had to have window open. Awake most of the night as a result. One staff person very helpful, another not so much.

    Good location. Valet parking made getting luggage in and out easy but costs additional $45 for a night. Expected though due to location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but would have been nice that someone was available to wipe down the tables between sittings as they were messy

    Close to the centre of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not that friendly

    The location is perfect for me and the minibar was reasonably priced. The room was more than adequate and the TV works perfectly which doesn’t always happen with other hotels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charged by booking.com was a rip off no aircon no fan breakfast was horrible.Whatever pictures and features about the hotel on the website were not true Got a Holiday Inn booking perfect location with much lower rate from a different website. I sent an email asking for a refund but it seems I am being ignored. I am attaching pictures to let you know that there was no fan nor aircon and room was really hot. Charging me $180 was a rip off really.

    location is ok..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitress in white horse restaurant connected to the hotel did not put our order in and ignored us. Served us our first drink, then avoided us. Forcing me and my pregnant wife to eat somewhere else after waiting for an hour. Believe she purposely ignored us because we informed her we were visiting from Los Angeles

    Bed was comfortable and connected restaurant pub was convienient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bread at breakfast. Gym really tiny. Wait really long to get ur car, valet takes $45 right out as a tip off ur bill on top of about $40/day for parking.

    Comfi bed, great location, White horse bar right accessible in the hotel. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were helpful at first and then quickly turned quite surly. Our room was directly above the bar which meant we got no sleep until after 3am most nights as once the bar closed at 2am the patrons would stand outside talking loudly until 3am ... my worst experience in any hotel ever and I will be writing to both the manager and the governing body for tourism of San Francisco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave.

    This is a great place to stay if you aren’t looking for all of the frills of a chain. It is located a block from Union Square and is a walk away from other “City” attractions. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was barely adequate and very monotous rooms were quite small.

    Very centrally located. Quaint has character. Most of the staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have appreciated a hair dryer in the room

    Very happy with our stay. Loved the complimentary breakfast, old fashioned charm and very comfortable bed!! Very close to cable car stops and area felt safe to walk around. We also enjoyed the old style British pub attached to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower had some issues but we figured it out.

    the location is wonderful..no need for a car... close to cable cars buses and you can walk to China Town. Union Square and lots of restaurants . The staff is friendly. I love the lobby with the old fashioned stairs. It is a good price for its location. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in this hotel King room small with one window to open. To hot so moved to a end Queen rm with two widows with great air circulation. Would not stay again unless in end unit back of building

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise! The room was next to an elevator, which made so much noise all the time, and caused the floor to vibrate. We did not get much sleep... +the windows were old, and thus let in street sounds.

    Location was ok, the size of the room was ok, cleanness was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was located close to the industrial fan and it was relatively noisy.

    Room was great: clean, spacious and nice-looking. Breakfast included. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small. The bathroom extremely small in our queen sized bed room. Room 701. The bathroom sink is one of the smallest I've ever seen. Extremely difficult to even wash your face without getting water on the floor and elsewhere. The location of the room is one door away from the elevator; you can hear it traversing up and down the floors. Also, this room faces Sutter Street. Though it is on the seventh floor, one can still hear the traffic below. All in all, for San Francisco, which is very expensive for hotels, is a decent value. When you can find a room in the downtown area for under $200, that's a find.

    The location and the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy and the room although small , served a perpose , it was clean, the maids do a good job , apart from them , we found the staff to be very rude , did not strike us as being happy in their work at all , although the older man who took our luggage from us did at least say he hoped we enjoyed our stay in San Francisco and smile. We did go into the white horse on the first night , but the girl who served us again was very miserable , the bar man was outside , smoking ( I guess ) and didn’t hurry back , a few people who sat at the bar laughed and said I think it’s self service . It’s looks as if some decorating improvements have tried to be put in place but to be honest it’s the staff who make or break a hotel , lots of things you put up with if you are greeted with a smile , and that didn’t happen once .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was very overpriced and nowhere near worth the value for what we were charged. The older staff at reception on the evening of 20 May 2018 were ignorant and rude beyond belief. The breakfast was poor and we were expected to use paper plates and plastic utensils.

    N/A

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, you could barely walk around the bed! There was no coffee/tea available in my room or hotel (apart from breakfast) which was disappointing. Nice to have an option of a free complimentary breakfast but the options were so limited I actually preferred to go elsewhere and pay for the breakfast.

    The location was good, not great. Around 1 hours walk to the sea front. The staff were generally all friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We stayed here last year that's why we returned - Friendly professional staff, comfortable rooms, clean & tidy - windows that opened a bonus - Cheap drinks in the mini-bar - Honour bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the stuff is on a "doing a favor" mode. Minimum as possible. The older ones in the reception, are more cooperative, but most of them are very dificult to communicate in English! We arrived at ~ 01:00 AM. Two guys in the reception, hardly raised their heads towards us. We asked if we received packages we pre-ordered and they found one. In the morning, after I insisted to check by myself - I found 3 more, that were allready there. Breakfast is sufficient, but when I asked one of the stuff if he could please bring a cloth to clean a table (All were occupied or left with leftovers), he smiled and never reruned. So we cleaned by ourselves. When Cereal finished at ~08:30 , there was no re-fill and no one was there to serve. Room was freezing 1st night we came. I had to use cusions to block the cold air coming from the bath room below the door. Day after, room was boiling and there is no option to control it. Sun block curtain was broken, so I had to catch it in a certain way to block the early morning light. Bathroom was clean, but the window was closed & broken (couldn't open or close it). Without a venta or window, one can imagine the meaning.

    The location, the hotel character is special, the hotel has a nice pub / bar below.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom window didn't quite shut.

    Bed was comfortable. I like older, boutique hotels, this fit the bill! Price was best around the area and the area was wonderful. So close to Union Square, cable cars, bart, metro. And free continental breakfast -- which was not fancy but saved even more money. Updated bathrooms. I would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel vaguely tries to claim British quaintness as an excuse for a hotel that desperately needs updating. The staff were very unwelcoming on our arrival, the room's windows are only single glazed and coupled with thin walls, noisy radiators/pipes and a particularly noisy area - definitely don't expect a lie in past 6am! Only one of the plugs in the room actually worked, the "bath" was about two foot squared and less than 10 inches deep. Finally, there were black garage bags in the hallway that weren't moved throughout our stay. We will not stay here again!

    The location was good for viewing tourist attractions near union square but a long way from the coastline and any good dining options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room does not have a control for the radiator heater. One night it was very warm. Called the front desk and they informed us that it is controlled at the front desk. I don't know how they can determine how warm or cold the room is.

    The location was very central for us. Near the theatre district, lots of nice restaurants and bars to choose from. The continental breakfast was ok, good coffee!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at front desk was very rude and unhelpful. We had arrived before check in time and I was trying to get information regarding parking (which is $40 a night when you valet with the hotel btw). The staff member who jumped into the conversation that I was having with another staff member, Vince I believe his name was, was very rude when I was asking for information on when our room would be ready, parking and holding our luggage. He then proceeded to check us in (which we didn’t know he did) and didn’t issue us a room key. So later on when we went back to actually check in they spent about 10 mins trying to find our reservation. Aside from those mishaps at the front desk everything else went smoothly.

    Rooms were clean. Bathroom looked like it had just been renovated. Location was perfect and close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and bathroom but clean. The bed was a little too soft. The free breakfast was lacking but free coffee and a danish was appreciated to get your day going. There were not really any extra power outlets.

    A good value when comparing to other hotels in area. Good location around Union Square with easy access to cable cars and shopping. Also good starting point to walk to different areas. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was advertised as free when in fact they only offered Valet parking for $38 per night. Breakfast was breads, coffee, juice and cereal.

    Great location in the middle of Union Station with lots of restaurants and shopping in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet needed resetting constantly. Valet parking $42!!! Ugh

    Friendly staff! The breakfast/bar, Whitehorse, was quite unique. The food was nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the bathroom was terrible, the temperature varied a lot. Reserved morning call did not happened.

    Good location if you spend most of the time in downtown. Clean and safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hair dryers in bathroom

    My daughters stayed together and loved their stay. My daughter actually recommended to her coworker but Beresford was booked. Breakfast was good, especially muffins and croissants. Daughter said water pressure in shower was great !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff smoke right outside the main entrance so you can't walk in or out without walking right through the haze. It also caused the whole lobby area to smell like smoke. Rooms are small. A coffee pot in the room is always a must for me. Also no hair dryer - these are things typically found in hotels these days so I was disappointed by the lack of them. No desk. Bed was lumpy and not particularly comfortable.

    Tavern next door is nice for evening and has a cool old school feel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was stuffy, no air-conditioning, a fan didn't work (they did replace it) but overnight the room was stifling hot. The breakfast was terrrible - only pastries & some fruit. And, located in a dimly lit kind of depressing room. Not good for my huaband, who's diabetic. We ended up skipping breakfast the 2nd day and going to a nearby diner.

    The location was the best part.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No A/C in the room so it got a little stuffy.

    The pub next door was really cool. The hotel was boutique, authentic, and provided a neat experience for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is my second time coming to this hotel and we love it. Great location its a safe area, very friendly staff!! the room is so cozy and the bed is comfortable it is nice and quiet and close to bars and some places to eat. Great location next to downtown malls and shops. Always a pleasure each time we go! not to mention the convenience of the Valet parking so your car is safe during your stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast included muffins and/or croissants. Though Hotel truthfully named it "Continental breakfast", I expected eggs/cheese/beef/ham sliced as well.

    Location is perfect, personnel is awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very small and the bathroom was the size of a small closet. Overall it was doable but kind of cramped for a couple. I wouldn't choose this hotel again. Most of the staff were very gracious.

    The bed was quite comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, the front desk could not find our booking which stressed me out a little. We were told the information was "probably" in the office downstairs. Had to go down the street to Starbucks and come back. Stay was good other than that.

    Great value and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old property for which a traveler should not have high expectations. It looks like its heyday would have been the post-Victorian Barbary Coast era. But, in pricey San Francisco, this its what a bargain in lodging looks like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit cold and there was no way of adjusting the temperature.

    Location was just perfect. Very good price for such a location. Exactly in the center of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was advertised as a queen bed, but they only have doubles. The rooms do not have heat control. You have to complain to the front desk for them to turn on heat for the entire hotel. The bathroom windows do not close completely, allowing noise and insects in all day and night. The complimentary breakfast had very limited offerings.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were dark and dingy and without a desk. The place is pretty run down/dated and breakfast was average-poor (just mass produced pastries a little fruit).

    Rooms were clean and thankfully it was in a good (central) location, so easy to get out and about and find a decent meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was ice cold and remained that way because the heater did not work properly. It was an old fashioned heater that took 45 minutes to get hot and the shut off. The croissants were at least day old.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. The pillows lumpy, TV didn’t work, broken items such as light switch and shower handle. No enough selection for breakfast.

    The room was clean and the shower pressure was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot and right next to the noisy elevator. Foam rubber pillows were way too thick and difficult to make flatter. I ended up sleeping without one at all.

    Location was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice and cosy, exactly what I wanted and expected! Located in the very heart of San Francisco, close to Powell and with dozens of Diners, Cafés and some shops around the corner. Room was small, but for one person on a business trip perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 205 which is next to the noisy elevator and over the bar. It was outrageously noisy. If I hadn't had ear plugs, I would have been up all night. Some staff had thick accents and must have been very low paid. The didn't tell me that it would cost $46 for the valet parking.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double room but looks like a single room just with 2 beds. Right as hell that we bumped into everything. No AC, just a decade old box fan, a small fan that would blow a magnolia leaf, remote that doesn't work and when u ask for them to fix it they doubt you rudely and just replaced batteries which doesn't fix the problem. Carpets, stained and filthy looking. Blinds, does not work, tug-o-war fiasco. No blowdryer. Just should've booked a cheaper hotel

    Location in center of downtown is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a better selection for breakfast. Even toast making facility and extra cereals

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. Perfect location ask easy to access public transport 0

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice stay.Beautiful old hotel. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Would like a coffee maker in the room. Most hotels have them . Central to everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning would have been welcomed.

    The location was excellent. The hotel had a lot of old charm. The "English pub" was a real bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Television channels awful. Smell of smoke in room and noisy radiator.

    Liked the old english look of hotel and bar next door. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Initially, when I walked into our room it looked a little shabby. Where it was wallpapered, there were places where it was peeling. The furniture also looked like it was well used. However, all in all, it did meet our needs. Again, clean overall with a comfortable bed and new linens.

    The location is what the Beresford Hotel has going for it. It is located just a few blocks from Union Square with lots of restaurant options and close to sites of interest. The room was small but comfortable. Walls looked freshly painted and bathroom shower pressure and water temperature were very good which isn't always true in older hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No locker in the room, but locker is available at reception. However, it seemed like a hassle and cumbersome for the staff to keep the stuff at their lockers. They don't look happy whenever I keep or collect my item.

    Good location. Comfortable room. Free breakfast and decent variety of food. Loved the coffee. Nice bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Property was very dated Rooms and other areas in desperate need of a refurbishment Staff apart from the chambermaid were very surly Had to move hotels as it was a bad experience after traveling from the Uk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Two Twin Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too hot in room. Can’t open windows

    Location was good. Hotel is old. At first thought it was not going to be good but stayed for 2 nights. Bed comfortable and place was old but clean. Breakfast simple.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My first room (#110) was literally a nightmare. At midnight I went to the front desk to plead for a move and I was moved to #305 which was 100% better. The gigantic exhaust fan outside the window of #110 should have been enough to warn me but the constant traffic outside the room was unbearable. It's the ground floor and everyone including the staff are constantly walking by and talking. It's also cold because the front door of the hotel is always fully open. As I said, the move made my visit comfortable. I'm 72 years old. Why was I given this horrible room to begin with? They have to know about this dud room. One more thing. They serve a limited continental breakfast consisting of 3 things. Cheerios, grapes and mini-pastries. Why do they serve the mini-pastries in an industrial sized cardboard box? Could that possibly be more un-appetizing? How tough would it be to get a couple of plastic serving trays and stack them to look like something you might want to eat? Instead, everyone digs them from these unclean looking boxes. No thought there. It's food folks. Make it look apealing. On the positive side, the front desk personel were very nice. Would I stay there again? NO.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place seemed a little run down and not clean to my standards. There was a questionable spatter of something on the bathroom wall near the toilet when we checked in to our room, and a little mold growing on the ceiling in the shower. Also, the room didn't have any cooling mechanism other than a box fan and to open the window. The complimentary continental wasn't too impressive. Not like they usually are, but I wan't very happy they only provided paper plates and plastic utensils.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was really convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price we paid was good but probably not always available. This is what it should always be for this hotel. Would have been disappointed if I’d paid any more. Wish on site parking was available for longer time.

    Location and price. Very basic hotel but if you just need a place to sleep, this is a good choice for San Francisco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old and lot of noise from the outside that i couldn't sleep. Room was very small and old furniture. The smell inside the room was a little disturbing. No hair dryer. You can hear all the noise from the other rooms. Not worth the price at all.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very receptive to noise from outside and the corridors.

    The hotel was absolutely gorgeous. Old world charm with all modern day comforts. We were upgraded to a king superior and the room was a great size with plenty of space to move around. The bathroom was also a good size. Stepping out of the hotel gave us so many options for drinking and dining and location was literally around the corner from Union Square. Great place to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Beresford traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: