Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Berkeley Inn 1 stars

1720 San Pablo Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94702, USA

#21 of 23 hotels in Berkeley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    good location, friendly staff. Met expectations for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a scent like former guests probably smoked in there. The room was clean, but the scent made the room musty. The swing lock on the door was missing and so was the screen on the window- this was a little off putting, even if the facilities were safe.

    This location was walking distance from most of the places we wanted to see or a short ride away from further locations. We also liked that there was parking at the location. This gave us peace of mind when leaving our cars to explore the area. The coffee shop next door was also great and perfectly located for a quick coffee run in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls. You can hear everything in the other rooms. Also, the bathroom door was hard to operate.

    Wonderful location. Very clean and neat. Free parking, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    A bit expensive but the bed was comfortable, the wifi worked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was a no smoking room but still smelled so smokey (to be fair I did not asked to be moved)

    A bit expensive but the bed was comfortable, the wifi worked, and the staff were flexible to my checking in and checking out needs. It was among the cheapest I could find and I was pleased with my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.6
    Didn't sleep well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard. Though there has been some remodeling the furniture was still beat up and old.

    I didn't have to drive in traffic in the morning to get to my seminar. It was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Looks rough on the outside however, The room was clean...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some vagrants smoking on the steps several of the nights. The price of this motel was very high for such a basic room. Perhaps this is because Berkley is a very expensive place to stay.

    Looks rough on the outside however, The room was clean quiet and basic. The Manager and his family are very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.6
    Clean
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and there owners did not provide room with bottled water, glasses and electric teapot. I wanted to drink a tea, but could not find neither glasses, nor teapot.

    Clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.0
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room. No place in bathroom to put anything. No coffee facilities-not even in office. No hair dryer. All furniture was like cheap hand me downs. Very limited parking. We had to park on the street. The door was not easy to open or close securely. Hallways and stairs were not clean.

    It was clean. It had a modern TV with a very limited number of channels. It had a microwave. The bed was small, but comfortable. It was not $200+ per night like most of the accommodations in the Berkeley area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No big problems, parking is limited but at night you can park on the streets. The building is a little old but is a good value.

    Good neighborhood near the metro, bars, liquor store and a couple restaurants. Relatively near Berkeley University too. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    The location is good for the varied food outlets in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a pity that there are no laundry facilities on site, however, there are a few service wash places within a few miles. Parking is first come, first served, with a parking space for every 2-3 rooms, street parking is free.

    The location is good for the varied food outlets in the vicinity - pizza, Cajun, "Indian" or just plain steak and cheese subs. It is a 10 minute walk from the Berkley North BART station and costs $4.10 each way to Embarcadero in the business district in San Francisco.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    Okay, but with deep cigar smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to sign that if my room smell like cigarettes I would be charged a 200 USD fee. When I arrived at my room, however, it smelled terrible to cigar. The smell was actually pretty bad, hard to fall asleep for that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Stay and price were just right for running kid back to school, then heading home.
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking lot is very tight, but there is street parking (under trees though, and BIRDS)

    Room was very basic, but very clean - comfortable enough for my brief stay. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    3.8
    This sucks.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. The door locks were not functioning properly so that I had to go to the man at the front desk in order to leave and to return. The parking lot is much too small. It is difficult to turn my minivan around so that I would not have to back into a major thorough fare.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay for a night while traveling - easy to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no breakfast (but a great cafe around the corner). The reception desk is attached to the owner's apartment so it's not clear when/whether someone is manning the desk. However, the owner (and family) were friendly and willing to help out whenever I rang the bell.

    Great place to stay for a night while traveling - easy to get to get to and from the highway. Easy parking and ample space in the room. The bed was hard but comfortable. The furnishings and bathroom amenities are very basic, but there is a mini-fridge and microwave in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    6.7
    Pricey for the standard offered, but adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricey for standard of accommodation relative to others stayed in, no breakfast, I think the sheets may have had bugs in them (I was left with insect bites that I belive resulted from my overnight stay).

    Quiet location, adequate facilities in room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    5.0
    Basic facility Ok for short transit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room.They don't have elevator, so watch you dont have heavy luggage. Put on the room heater at night, but the room floor was full of water in morning. Do not feel the facility proportionate with the charges I paid.

    advisable for one night transit. Close to transport & road approach but with only basic facility.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    3.8
    Stay away!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the dirtiest, nastiest, most broke down room I have ever stayed in. Locks broken, funky smell, stained bedding, broken dresser, dirty shower floor, missing smoke detectors with holes in the ceiling where it once was, exposed wires, duct tape on the wall to cover holes. I can go on and on. For the price and the fact it was last minute I wasn't expecting much, but this was beyond terrible.

    The location was good for the purposes of my stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    6.3
    Affordable, in a good neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good hotel if you are looking for something affordable in the area. They are very close to ACME Bread, a great bakery and within walking distance (7 - 10 minutes) to a whole foods and the BART station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Adequate Quarters
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This property is a little rundown like the surrounding neighborhood. People on the street are a mixed bag, from students to homeless.

    There are eateries within walking distance. Cafe Leila next door serves breakfast. Across the street is Casa Latina, a Mexican restaurant. Down the block is Luca Cucina, an Italian restaurant that serves gluten-free pasta.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    2.5
    They should pay you to stay there.
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a nightmare; few tightly packed spots meant I took literally 10 tries to get in and out of a spot. Some people left their car windows down to avoid having them broken by anyone wanting to steal things from their car. The room stank and there was no security bolt on the door, only chipped wood where someone may have once opened the door with a crowbar. The room was tiny, the carpets were filthy. The plastic table looked like it came from a camping store, yet I paid an equivalent price to a room in a nice hotel. It was hard to find the office as the sign wasn't lit, yet when I called to ask where it was the manager was slightly irritated with me. The rooms were vastly overpriced; next time I'll drive all the way into Oakland if I have to in order to get a safer, cleaner and cheaper room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.0
    Look for something newer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dirty room, stained walls,small room, old bed, old tv, neds serious upgrades. understanding we had a smoking room you can still get air fresheners..

    nice people

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Pleasant and professional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant and professional

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.2
    Cheaper than other locations during graduation season, but overpriced any other time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dingy and old, small room, old everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.8
    Mercifully brief!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Th place is really a dump!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    San Quentin.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    2.9
    Unconterble
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Kindly
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The avaliability of Smoking inside the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.6
    Fair
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating out of commission parking space too tight

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Property was clean and has parking on property which is hard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was clean and has parking on property which is hard to get in Berkeley

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    It was okay, but had no choice to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in the room and no elevators. I was on the 3rd floor

    quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    2.9
    Too bad on the price to stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything should be improved if the same price.

    Too bad on the price to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Clean rooms and nice showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was rude and you can hear every sound from the other rooms.

    Clean rooms and nice showers. Check out at 11 am.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    There is a fantastic coffee shop right next door with great...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a fantastic coffee shop right next door with great breakfast and cute patio in the rear.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.2
    The receptionist didn't accept payment with European...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist didn't accept payment with European cards. Very basic motel. Ok for one night though expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Everything ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great area to walk. Restaurants all around. T-mobil store really close. The room was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Suited my needs for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The vending machine is old and out of order. The parking is scarce and difficult to get out of the lot.

    It suited my needs for a nights stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Clean & comfortable. Bad area.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor area. Lots of homeless on the streets at night. This motel is a bit high for this reason, alone.

    No coffee, no nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.0
    Front desk person was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price.

    Front desk person was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.1
    Value for price, austere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior and trash on ground in parking lot

    Clean bathrooms, price,location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.0
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 21 nights

    hygiene

    Quiet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.5
    Clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very small room.

    Freshly painted room and renovated bathroom. Off street parking. Convenient location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Best value motel in berkeley
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value, helpful owner, super clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.0
    Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Free parking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.5
    It was quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quiet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    2.5
    Don't stop there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You go there only if you have nowhere else to go.

    Nothing - rien

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    3.8
    Would not book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets were not clean. Bathroom not clean. Floor felt moist Parking was full because there was only about 6 spots.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    A great place to stay and save a little money, but untidy grounds and limited guest parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking lot was full the first night & we had to park on the street.

    Walking distance to restaurants and BART.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    4.6
    affordable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is not safe to come back alone late at night in the area. The room was generally cleaned, but there were problems with the washroom: the sink was heavily leaking and the towels were not very clean.

    affordable price

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    3.3
    That the door locked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The window lock was broken. The top bed sheet was covered in stains. The toilet seat was the wrong size for the toilet. The whole place was dirty. I will never return to that hotel. It looked like a no-tell-motel.

    That the door locked.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    7.9
    The room was spotless, newly painted, new-ish bed spread...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Two glasses or at least plastic cups - none were available. A water kettle so one could make tea or coffee (no such service at the hotel). No proper lobby or reservation desk - just a window under stairs.

    The room was spotless, newly painted, new-ish bed spread with no spots or stains. Comfortable bed, good fridge, microwave and TV. Help up to 3rd floor w suitcase, thank you, dear Nepalese daddy in a lovely caretaker-family!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    3.8
    Price was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to understand manager. Grounds dirty and unkempt.

    Price was good. Close to what we wanted. Fridge and microwave in room. That was a bonus. In Australia fridges are in all motel rooms plus cups milk etc. Was a surprise that these things are mostly not standard in all rooms in US

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    The best parts were parking, wifi & microwave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The worst was the smell of cigarette smoke in the bathroom. When we were in the room and had the bathroom fan running, the smoke smell diminished. But after being gone all day the bathroom smelled like somebody had been smoking in there. I think the motel ventilation needs adjusting.

    The best parts were parking, wifi & microwave. The neighborhood was less scary than around the two motels we stayed in down the BART line.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    2.5
    Nothing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking available , wi fi didn't work , room was gasliy no pictures no color , TV was made in the 80s, shower was at atrsious , clerk was rude, barly spoke English, had to park my car two blocks away in a bad neiborhood. No coffee in room, bed was hard !!!! I threw away 100.00 bucks should of just slept in my car !!!!

    Nothing !!!!!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    5.0
    Arrived after a very long flight with two suitcases.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arrived after a very long flight with two suitcases. Asked whether there is a lift. Manager simply said no. That's it. Would have been nice to offer a hand. Room had a smell I personally didn't like (carpet as if cats are in the house).

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.5
    - I stayed from July 1 2015 and I had to change my plan...
    • Family with young children

    These are not Berkeley Inn's fault, - My wife said that there were no grocery in the neighborhood. - My friend visited us from SFO by BART and he mistook the station to get off. The nearest "North Berkeley" is confusing to "Downtown Berkeley". The signature of "Downtown Berkeley" station on the wall was only "Berkeley".

    - I stayed from July 1 2015 and I had to change my plan (11days->10days). I told to a landlord on July 7, he was kind enough to accept. - We don't have a car but we could visit some nice shops and restaurants on foot (such as flight001 and vik's chaat on the 4th street within 10 minutes) - I could walk to UCB for35-40 minutes, it was good exercise.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    8.8
    We hardly spend time in the room .
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We hardly spend time in the room . However , at the end of the day . We just want a place to take a shower, and get a good nights rest to venture out the next day. Berkely Inn, did just that . It provided us the assurity of having a place to go to at the end if the day. The microwave and the small fridge were perfect! Drinks were kept cool... Microwave popcorn was delicious as we relaxed and watch a good movie before dozing off!

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was a gamble rooms was small for the price bathroom had no ! Counter space room did not look very clean electric outlet was bad had move cord to make fridg work off the top desk person was not friendly so that set the tone for the stay

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    3.8
    this is a bare bones motel - the parking is very tight and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    this is a bare bones motel - the parking is very tight and difficult to enter and leave - there was no clock in the room - the towels were very thin -

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.3
    Room was clean and everything worked as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking lot was small. I checked in late and there was no spot left but the staff let me park at the handicap space.

    Room was clean and everything worked as expected. The Wifi worked without issue and was very fast. It was a good place to stay 2 days for a graduation. Great value.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    5.0
    Free parking and fairly easy check in and check out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was not ready at check in, we waited 30 minutes after check in for them to clean and the room still smelled bad with air freshener to try and cover it. Poor draining in shower. Fridge and microwave had to be rigged to work. Paper thin walls, I was able to hear conversations on the neighbors television from my room.

    Free parking and fairly easy check in and check out. Room came with a fridge and microwave and a small table and chair. Easy access to room from parking lot. Good location to gas stations and food places.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners need to spend some money on cleaning (exterior) and painting. For the amount charged this place should be in better condition. Parking limited.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.1
    They had the best price I could find and for a one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had mismatched thrift store looking furniture and not in a neat funky way. , so not much care taken in making the room feel comfortable. No tub, just a small shower, fine for one night. Old school TV was large and hard to watch because of its placement and how small the room was (quite small).

    They had the best price I could find and for a one night stay that's important to me. The bed was comfortable and clean. WiFi worked well and location was good. Room also came with fridge and microwave which was convenient.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    3.8
    It was conveniently located to my work place.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Upon arrival, I checked the room. The bed spread was dirty and the room was very small. I had to insist that I get a clean blanket, because the attendant said he didn't have any more. Also the room above mine a running toilet that ran off and on the entire night. Didn't sleep well at all.

    It was conveniently located to my work place.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    2.5
    Not much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    so dingy and dirty. my non smoking room smelled like tobacco and indian food which transfered to my clothes. It was so dirty that my allergies were going crazy. The staff was unhelpful and unfriendly, and the walls were paper thin. Moreover, its near a train and busy road so the whole place shakes every few minutes when the train goes by... oh and no elevator or assistance dragging your stuff up four flights of stairs. worst motel experience I've ever had, by far. I booked and paid for two nights but left after the first. don't waste your money.

    Not much.. they had wifi and a fridge.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    5.0
    The internet connection was not working in the room although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet connection was not working in the room although I booked a room with internet connection. I was rather disappointed, so I complained and they discounted the rate of the room by 10 dollars (but I had to ask for)

    The internet connection was not working in the room although I booked a room with internet connection. I was rather disappointed, so I complained and they discounted the rate of the room by 10 dollars (but I had to ask for)

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    3.8
    nothing
    • Couple

    very bad experience

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    5.0
    The room was pretty clean.
    • Solo traveller

    The whole place needs updating. Rough and seedy!

    The room was pretty clean. Satisfactory at best.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    6.7
    they took good care of what they had
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    t

    they took good care of what they had

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    5.0
    Food & stores close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stains on sheets,light didn't work next to bed, small bathroom, stuffy room, small parking.

    Food & stores close by

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    9.6
    We were in walking distance to the boardwalk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room I booked was supposed to have a bathtub and when we arrived no tub 😩.

    We were in walking distance to the boardwalk.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    2.5
    Nothing at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything.

    Nothing at all.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location. Friendly staff. This was my 5th stay in 2 years!

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit dusty

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    5.0
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bed was uncomfortable and hard to sleep on lots of street noise.

    location

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    Great location for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for our needs...location parking, and food nearby

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Berkeley Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: