Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3 stars

1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712, USA

#2 of 3 hotels in Asbury Park

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 966 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Paid WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful location great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent Staff... Excellent Value and Location.. booked 3 rooms for Children and Grandchildren. Rooms Exceptionally large,.....Greeted by friendly Belllman Theo Brown who guided us to the best parking options which saved us money by parking with the city meters

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Extremely Annoyed and new will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and there was no where to park. Wanted us to pay and park on the street at a parking meter. We complained and suddenly they found a spot InTheir lot. Our room was not ready had to wait when finally got room clerk said she was giving us a better room. Which was not true . We we're to have two queen and received a king. Romm was of lesser value. The room was freezing and we could not shut off the air conditioning. Went to take a bath since recently had back injury and the tub stopped was broken along with the light not working. Maintenance came while we were out. . Fixed the light And never looked at tub. This hotel is very over priced . Pool area had broken ladder on pool, the pool water was dirty. It advertised a bar area on roof . Come to find out only on Friday. Check in staff were not welcoming. Many areas need repair. They seem to cater to outside parties etc and not customers coming to vacation. Very loud when cleaning halls. Over all very displeased and disgusted for spending well over $400.00 one night. After saying he we really do not nor will return to Asbury Park agaim

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. It was large but iconic Jersey shore. Parking was tricky. Not tricky cozy due to size.

    The neighborhood. Loved having my coffee in the roof

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Just a great get-away and chill place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think some of the furniture in the room looks like it needs to be replaced. Also the hallways could be vacuumed a bit more often.

    We love this hotel. The staff is great. The location is amazing. The pool and the area around the pool is great. Also the clientele is a not loud and obnoxious. Just overall its a great place to chill. Oh and the free coffee which was not always available last year, but I was told is now a daily thing is the best!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean room, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn't a knock on the hotel, since they cannot control who stays at their establishment. Some of the other guests were downright rude, entitled, needy, drama filled, especially in public spaces. It's a turn off.

    Great location, clean room, attentive staff. Easy walk to the beach, boardwalk, local restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful hotel in good location near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking & WiFi not included. Some of the front desk staff was rude. Different front office staff would indicate different hotel policies than other staff.

    Beautiful hotel in good location near the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, and the price was right. Not the fanciest, but an older hotel that serves you well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pattern on the carpet was interesting. There could be parking, rather than having to pay on the street. To me, the biggest issue was that you had to pay for wifi. In this day and age, where there is plenty of free wifi available, $10 per night is a throwback. And, not to better times.

    We were only there overnight, but the accommodations were fine. I read some reviews on other websites that talked about the poor quality of the renovations, and I saw a couple little odd things, but overall, everything was fine. There was a clunk when the A/C turned off, and a bit of a gap below the door, but that was it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Good, not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hallways upstairs were dark,dreary. No fridge in room and one blind was broken. No fan or towel racks in bathroom.

    Location was great, friendly, helpful staff, nice pool area. Lovely outdoor seating at restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Love and and we’ll be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your computers were down and couldn’t find my reservation through booking.com but manager came out and straightened everything out!!

    Been coming for years and love the upgrades!!! AP STEAKHOUSE..love the tiki bar outside.. just everything we love!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Staying at the hotel for the Fourth of July festivities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at the hotel for the Fourth of July festivities and then finding out on the day of the holiday you could only watch fireworks on rooftop for a coverage charge fee. Not right Also chophouse waited for dinner over an hour and no one said anything. Manager did not apologize. Did give credit to bill but also thought he should of been more apologetic. Just said something happened in the kitchen meanwhile people came in after us and got their meals. Not happy and won’t recommend Alecia

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt weird maybe musty. My allergies were inflamed. The mattress was horrible, it visible sloped in the middle and was so uncomfortable.

    Location is great. Walk to boardwalk and beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall it's nice, would recommend if you don't need free wifi, like to explore and walk around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no free wifi at all. You must pay around $10 a day. Sorta far from all local restaurant. At least 20 minutes walk.

    It's really close to the beach, a great location. Parking is really easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    The pool was very nice and had a great bar and it was nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t much in the surrounding area other than the beach, but the restaurant across the street was good.

    The pool was very nice and had a great bar and it was nice to be able to order food there!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice but a bit Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful bathtub jets didn’t work! And no bath bombs or bath bubbles were provided. There was no extra sheets and blankets for the pull out couch, had to call for them. And breakfast not being included is really no good. The price for the night was just way too expensive for the lack of amenities. Include breakfast, fix the bathtub, provide more products/blankets/etc and the cost would be appropriate. We basically paid for the nice view, and nice decorations.

    The view, the close proximity to all Asbury Park, the friendly staff, the decor and fancy feel of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    We liked the location and the beauty of this old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well, I booked the room late in the afternoon, and headed out for the hour plus drive that it takes to get there. When we arrived in the evening, a wedding reception was under way, and we discovered that the hotel had put us down as a "no show" and had given our room to someone else. It was chaotic and confusing at first, but they found us a room.

    We liked the location and the beauty of this old hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    I want to help you improve your business
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tone of your hotel needs tweaking and the overall warmth the hotel gives your guests the moment they enter your foyer ... you ONLY get 1 shot to impress & create that lasting impression... then that moment passes & your hotel will suffer instead of prospering as it should be with my help! My room had NO WIFI ( even though your front desk clerk INSISTED it did! I went to take a nice hot bath... NO HOT not even Luke warm! So I have a proven method to get those guests such as myself too babe yo your hotel AGAIN to REDO this wonderful unforgettable experience so these guests will run to rate your hotel on all the popular social media apps EVERY One uses everyday to book their hotel stays! Don’t miss this opportunity for us to discuss my proven marketing plan & how I will implement into your daily business day... I cane to your hotel last Thursday for this s tusk purpose to critique your hotel services, customer services, your staff your amenities etc... my proven marketing plan is simply $1,500 & I will meet with you while I stay over for the night ...& in the morning we will meet to go thru step by step my last experience at your hotel compared to this current experience...& how we will implement my proven method to improve your business I look forward to meeting with you... I am available this Thursday June 28, 2018 ...? Let me know so you can start ASAP improving your existing & new business I am an independent marketing consultant and I specialize in improving what’s missing for your hotel to receive the BEST reviews!

    The location to the beach and the desk clerk was nice/helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not advertise parking as that is not true, I was able to get street parking as I have a handicapped placard. Other people parked blocks away. Rooms were very small compared to what I was expecting.

    The look of the hotel is very nice and you are paying for a great location which you do get. The staff is very pleasant and go above and beyond to accommodate all your needs if feasible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    The proximity to the beach/boardwalk.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms should have mini fridges. There should be some type of free breakfast food.

    The proximity to the beach/boardwalk. The rooftop access. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Asbury has few Hotels -I like the Berkeley becasue of the price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Gym is in bad shape - Universal equipment was in bad shape with some cables broken . Hotel was being upgraded during stay - Gift shop was either getting a makeover or is not going to be there anymore.

    Location is Excellent . Pool is nice .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location, hotel decently renovated, awful pillows and no place to park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were a total disaster and no sound insulation in the room doors, also there was no parking available at the hotel so had to find a meter spot. Lobby area smelled like an egg fart.

    Ocean view and walk to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    The pool was great as well as the pool and inside bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the rooms were very overpriced......349 for a one night stay is a lot of money to me especially since it is still early June....we were able to check in at 1:00 pm however normal check in is at 3pm however you can check in your belongings at any time in the lobby ....the biggest issue is the parking....when we arrived the parking lost was already full as well as all the spots on the street so we had to walk a few blocks and park in a lot which was 20 dollars....I feel like if you are paying that much money for a night's stay parking should be a free accommodation ..I didn't mind parking in the lot however they should provide free vouchers to park if your a guest at the hotel

    The pool was great as well as the pool and inside bar....I ordered the lobster roll at the pool bar it was well worth the price of 15.00 they gave you a lot of lobster meat and fries were great....staff at the pool and bar were very friendly..the hotel location is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is an issue. I checked in on Friday around 3pm and was told the lot was full all weekend. Since there is a cost to park on the street the hotel should give some king of monetary allowance also there should not be a fee to use wifi at the prices of these rooms.

    The hotel and staff was excellent. We had drinks and a meal in the bar and we also had diner in the restaurant which I highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The Berkley was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some construction in the hotel and nearby areas.

    The Berkley was amazing! Within walking distance to everything, very clean and staff was very friendly. We hope to come back again soon!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful hotel but not fully functional when we arrived. Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities for food were not so good. The bar only opened in the evening and the only snacks or food available even when the bar was open was front vending machine. The pool was closed and we didn’t even get told where it was but would not have used as only vending snacks during day. On leaving asked staff to book us a taxi to the ferry to New York. The taxi they used was late, filthy inside and the taxi driver did not know where to take us and did in fact drop us in completely the wrong place which resulted in us missing ferry and having to ask local people where we should be this obviously cost us more money. Would have been a great big problem if in the evening and we had ended up stranded.

    The bedrooms were large airy and beds very comfortable. Lobby area was beautiful and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    it sucked only plus was teh steak house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First day you never made up our room, when we called down they said to bad. It is after 5 everyone has gone home. After we pushed and pushed and got a manager involved they finally made up our room at 7pm. For what you charge. this is BS..will never come back and will tell everyone I know to stay away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall an okay experience. No frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner wasn't working in some rooms. Kind of strange you had to pay for wifi for the price.

    Air conditioner wasnt working in some rooms. Kind of strange you had to pay for wifi for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location, big rooms but hotel could use a little capital investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little on site parking. Very loud clientele. Was woken up several times after midnight. Hotel could use some capital.

    Great location. Staff got us extra blankets right away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Not a good first experience and not planning to return. Turned off by a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have been free parking with a larger hotel parking lot to accommodate guests, no extra “hotel fee”, more amenities in the hotel rooms, more dining options, ...comfortable beds.

    Ocean view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the lobby was horrible. The AC in the room was not good. The window was leaking badly. There was a puddle in the hall outside the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    AC did not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC did not work. Parking was not free. Smoke detector beeped at 3am. Rain leaked inside water came on ledge. Shower faucet broken. Poor water pressure.Too expensive!! Swimming pool was not inservice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Expensive but nice and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking, hallways were a little sad looking. $200+ a night seems a little high.

    Nice well kept rooms, beautiful big bathroom, room facing beach had beautiful view and light. Close to boardwalk, food, shopping and water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.3
    Avoid at all costs! Worst place I have come across in 30+ years of business travel. A nightmare!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally run down Dirty room, windows falling apart, sticky stained carpets No duvet Bed linen straight out of the drier, all scrunched up No coffee or tea available No water No restaurant No bar No staff anywhere to be seen No one answering the phone at reception Poor WiFi Etc .........

    Avoid at all costs! Worst place I have come across in 30+ years of business travel. This is not a hotel - a nightmare!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Spectacular view of beach! Clean, roomy and comfy digs. Helpful, friendly staff. V. pet friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very minor note to an overall fantastic experience...there is no roomy trash can within the room itself. There is an itty, bitty one, only in the bathroom. With the hotel restaurant closed for refurbishment, it meant some local take-out for some meals, resulting in a trash pile up. Not a deal breaker, certainly, but a small inconvenience.

    The view from the room was spectacular, and it was a very short walk to the beach and boardwalk. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. Great dining experiences within walking distance. Both the facility and the area are super dog-friendly, so it was an easygoing experience to include a family pet. Overall, best Mother's Day weekend celebration with family ever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Roomy, comfy, clean rooms with a dynamite view and great proximity to beach/boardwalk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a delightful experience! The rooms are spacious and clean. Awesome views and proximity to the beach and boardwalk. Very dog friendly. Helpful and friendly staff. Overall, a great time was had by all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was about 90% empty, yet I was given a room overlooking a utility area on the west side. AC in room did not work. Upon arrival, staff was very nice. Informed me that room AC was just fixed and room would take some time to cool down, however it did not and remained at 80 degrees through the night. I paid $15 extra for a fast WiFi service which was too slow to stream video. There was a barking dog on the floor down the hall. Hotel is an iconic landmark but older and lacking amenities such as coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator included in other hotels in the same price or lower price range.

    Room was clean. Staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean, lovely looking hotel. Excellent staff. Hot rooms (a/c in room was not working)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lower rate. $300 a night is overpriced when I found out my friends stayed down the street at The Empress for $109 a night. Also, the air conditioner was not working in my room. If I had a roommate, it would have been intolerable.

    My room was a nice size (1 king size bed; plenty of room to walk around in); the bed was comfortable, and was made very nicely. Plenty of towels, and great toiletries. Staff was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    A two bit motel masquerading as a five star hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was exorbitant for what we received, parking situation was a nightmare, room appeared to be under repair with broken windows, hanging tiles, missing amenities.

    Great pillows

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty pricey for one night and parking wasn’t included and had to pay another $20. For $250/night, parking should be included.

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    3.8
    Horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service. They didn't explain their wifi. We paid for parking and no spaces were available. The room did not have cups, was missing a lamp and had no signal on the tv and remote was held together with duck tape. Too add, they never made up the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Book it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe make the coffee cups a little larger. Less trip from upper floors.

    Honestly, for only one night being there. Everything. Especially the lady who checked us in. Very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    A good stay overall. Would recommend and go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No ice in the ice machine on the 8th floor and our phone did not work.

    Everything was clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. Great location and great view in the oceanfront room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    The fast check in and the closeness to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fast check in and the closeness to the beach. Being able to walk across the street and be on the boardwalk. They just redid the place a few years ago. My wife love the design. The room was clean and comfortable. We will be looking to see what the rate for the summer is.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Very friendly hotel staff made us feel welcome. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms are clean and spacious but there are a few details that they missed that cheapens the experience. Examples, torn screens on the window, paint on the shade, and a sloppy paint job in the bathroom.

    Devin at the front desk was super friendly and was able to suggest restaurants and things to do in the area on a rainy day. The hotel is in close proximity to everything you want to be doing in Asbury. We could see the wonder bar and convention hall from our room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    4.2
    My stay was a nightmare, this was an overpriced dump.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no idea how this site gave the rating of 4.2 all my answers were 2 or lower except for counter staff. This property was under construction. There was no hot water the handle to the faucet fell off the iron stained my clothes and left them soaked prior to my meeting. My complaints went ignored.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Hotel room was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is terrible

    Hotel room was very comfortable. Bathroom and room had recently been updated. Very Nice. The Bellman Theo greeted us and was so friendly. Would recommend this hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location for the event we attended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of available onsite parking & staff being unknowledgeable of same but charging the $25 fee, no coffee maker or refrigerator in room

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    We had a great experience at the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we found that was a problem was that the windows in the room were very drafty. Given that it was extremely cold and windy during our stay it too cold to sit near the window.

    We had a great experience at the hotel! Our stay included my wife, daughter her husband and two small dogs. The hotel and room was very clean roomy and the staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    Close to the venue i was going to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outlet in bathroom did not work. Main light did not work. TV remote did not work. Put the temperature to cool for 68 degrees kept climbing hight and hight to 74 degrees.

    Close to the venue i was going to.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Started off a little rocky, but overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overhead light did not work upon arrival and it took two hours to have maintenance come. I requested a mini fridge that was not in the room upon arrival. When I first arrived, the keys to the room were not activated so I had to go down to the lobby to have that fixed. I understand that mistakes happen, but it was very inconvenient.

    I liked the layout of the room and the overall cleanliness of the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice but disappointed in the limited amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No refrigerator in the room. No restaurant on premise (or bar). There is a restaurant across the street that opens at 11am. Wifi for one device costs $10 a day.

    Beds were comfortable and size of room was substantial.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    We checked in at in the late afternoon, we heard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in at in the late afternoon, we heard construction noise, a sort of vibration/riveting/drilling noise, which eventually stopped. This construction noise started again at 9:30 am the following morning, which was very annoying. In addition, the maids kept knocking on our door at least 3 times before we checked out at 11 am. With modern communication technology, I'm sure its possible for the front desk to relay information to the staff as to what time someone checks out so that they do not continuously knock. Another suggestion, PLEASE! do not put guests near any construction.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Easy to book and hassle free experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Can walk to many great restaurants and venues for music. Beach and boardwalk across street. Nice room with comfortable bed Although we booked in off season, rates were great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    It was pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a microwave or a coffee maker in the room that I stayed! To tell you the true, even in the smalles hotel that I had been, there was those things

    I liked everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Jersey.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More time to relax and enjoy visit.

    The bed was as comfy as sleeping on a cloud. The extra pillows were appreciated. We enjoyed a lovely partial view of the ocean. It would be nice to stay again in the spring or summer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a beautiful view but couldnt really enjoy it because they were doing work on the oceanside of the building. So there were men working in front of our window at times and the noise was so loud we couldn't sit in the room. That was annoying but the weather was great so we walked the boardwalk.

    The hotel is in a great location. Every member of the staff I came in to contact with was extremely nice and helpful. Hotel has a great style.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    I think you should have comp whole bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 day stay wedding band so loud kept us up to 12:35am jose said ending 10:30pm said did not know where noise is coming from he lied offered to move room .troy talked to wed plan.no good. sheila davis knocked off 1/2 day bill,room not cleaned at 330pm, If this is a big wedding spot you should think of other quest not fair to them!Was told no complained then found out you moved other quests

    went to the 12$ buffet & was told it was 15$ No hair drier,1 tissue in box,parking full walked 2 blocks with luggage,both room keys stopped working, parking was good to 2am did not know from2 to 9 was free so paid twice for same spot

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Will likely spend the extra money and stay at The Asbury next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one person at the front desk at night while there was a very large wedding and a very full hotel. There also happened to be several police officers investigating something (out of the hotel’s control) that required the front desk staff assistance. The one lone staff member had his hands more than full and was not adequately capable of assisting the lines of customers. Shame on the hotel management for putting their employee in this position. Also, the lack of free WiFi is ridiculous. There were also issues in our room that were minor but very sloppy for the price. The bathroom door stuck so bad that it awoke other members in the room at night because of the noise it made. The plastic cover on the bench was torn and there was a strange stain on the bathroom mirror that looked like it hadn’t been cleaned.

    Friendly staff at check in. Easy check in/out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.2
    If you love those small cute pests and have a stuffed nose then this is the place for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We took a deluxe room. Poorly lit, gloomy and dingy, door is on a tilt making it hard to lock, beds are right near the doorway making them visible to a passerby, filthy and smelly. Microwave, refrigerator and WiFi are NOT included. Full of roaches and mice! As soon as we saw the mouse we packed up fast and got out of there. They were nice enough to refund us the unused portion of our stay.

    Good location, nice lobby, scenic rooftop, hot water, and courteous (but helpless) staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.3
    Did the job of providing me a place to sleep.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a no service hotel...or the services were hidden. No restaurant, unpredictable bar hours, iffy neighborhood. I was told not to walk there at night. Room was nice, but not close to worth the price.

    Beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Big room, comfortable bed, sofa in room, proximity to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for Wi-Fi, 4pm check in and receiving email that room might not be ready at 4. (It was ready at 4). Expensive valet parking.

    Big room, comfortable bed, sofa in room, proximity to beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact I had to pay for parking. They left bottles of water on the night stand and if u did not notice the sign in it they charged u $3.00 a bottle. I just really don't think it was worth 163.00 a night. The standards for that money was not there.and then there is a charge for breakfast of 15.00.

    The beds were good. The banquet room was nice and clean. Lobbys were nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Room was spacious- ocean view terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was annoying. We knew upfront about the valet/pay lot. But the lot was full all the time so we couldn't self park for $25 vs. $35 for valet. So we went for the meters. Which only cost $10 per day. But you had to replenish daily. Fortunately Asbury park has a great parking app. Free Wi-Fi only in lobby was the pits. And you had to re-login every time you came into lobby. Room was not thoroughly vacuumed on the second day-- my potato chip crumbs were still there. And you could not reach housekeeping or front desk using the buttons on the phone-- just went into busy signal. Breakfast was blah-- some of the hot buffet was cold.

    Room was spacious- ocean view terrific. Bed extremely comfortable. We were there for a family wedding, and the wedding venue was excellent! The location on the boardwalk couldn't be better! The breakfast restaurant staff was gracious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for Asbury Park attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the hotel's fault, and in fact a credit to the hotel, but....there were so many wedding happening that every space and floor had parties happening. Nothing too wild or out of control but still rightfully loud. I wouldn't consider this a serious negative.

    Close to ocean, close to Stone Pony, nice big room with remodeled bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.8
    Was extremely loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was extremely loud. Hotel was very unaccomodating except for the bell boy. If it wasn't for the bell boy being so helpful, I would have given this place a 0 star. Having to pay for internet in 2017 is ridiculous

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great location. We have stayed at the Berkely before. Staff is friendly. We went after labor day, and it was great, not at all crowded, very crowded now that it is gentrified...beach beautiful as always.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but a little hit or miss overall.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was little light in the room, and the two floor lamps near the couch only worked part of the time, so half the room was dark for most of our stay. The outlet they were plugged into was loose, too. The sink design in the bathroom is terrible. the basin is square and flat, and maybe 4 inches deep, which meant water easily splashed out and all over the small counter. Plus the faucet they chose left only about 3.5 inches from the spout to the sink bottom; just a pain to use. Our first room had an overpowering musty smell upon checking in., We came back a few hours later and took off our shoes for the first time, to discover the reason for the smell was several square feet of wet carpeting. We switched rooms, but lost our view in the process. The hotel breakfast was adequate at best; watery eggs and very little by way of choices. And the gift shop in the lobby had ridiculously inconsistent ( and unposted) hours.

    Staff we encountered was friendly, and welcoming to our dog, too. Street parking was a breeze with the Asbury Park app. Location is terrific.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    probably stay elsewhere next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gave us the wrong room (standard when it should have been deluxe) and the window washers started working early Saturday morning. It was loud and having a guy on a platform right outside our window wasn't very relaxing or enjoyable.

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid and cleaning staff banging on the doors to check out. Complimentary coffee Monday through Friday not just the weekends.

    Friendly staff clean room easy access to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    4.2
    Would never return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They messed up our reservations and when I called down to try to fix it the girl at the desk with curly blonde hair hung up on me. We took cold showers, and twice our keys didn't work to get in the room

    Some of the stuff was friendly and helpful except for the girl with the curly blonde hair at the desk who messed up our reservation and tried to pin it on me it's her job not mine to get things straight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice weekend but hotel could have been better for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel rooms needs to be updated. Very little on site parking. Had to use meters which were difficult to find on a Sat afternoon. It took over an hour to park

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king size bed was terrible, sunk down in the middle!! Sand and Q-tip on the floor in the bathroom when we checked in...

    Location!! It's a pretty place..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    The location, service, and value for the price we paid was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows could use some fixing. We had bugs crawling into the room which freaked me out because the windoes would not shut sealed.

    The location, service, and value for the price we paid was beyong amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Good prices on rooms; would like to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit blew cold air directly on to bed.

    Staff members were friendly and helpful. Location is great - right across the street from the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall the place was clean, modern and up to date but they really need to accommodate the parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking situation was outrageous! There is a valet on site , but if there's and event like a wedding etc. you as a paying customer cannot use it for its reserved only for that event. Street parking is especially hard during the weekend. Parking is $2 per hour and you have to pay 9am to 12am . Finding a spot near the hotel was impossible. My biggest gripe with this hotel was definitely the parking situation.

    The beds were nice and comfortable and the ocean view was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    2.9
    For the 2 nights that we stayed it was ok. I had higher expectations based on the reviews and photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old and dark when we arrived. Lighting was really poor. Hotel looked new online but was a bit run down. Front desk was short staffed and the staff working there looked unhappy.

    The pictures of the hotel was different from what we experienced. Hotel staff was short staffed. Our room didn't even have a number on the door. Thought it was a janitors closet.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: