Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Americania Hotel 3 stars

121 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, USA

#159 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 699 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Paid WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    The rooms were great we fit 5 people very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 35.00 parking per day was high. No help with luggage to your room. The location was not great lot of homeless people. Saw some ugly things in the area. The hotel seemed out of place for the neighborhood. Could not see walking around at night with 2 teenagers,

    The rooms were great we fit 5 people very comfortable. The bar and restaurant downstairs were great very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    We liked the rooftop pool, the onsite bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn’t have air con which probably is fine most of the time but we happen to be there during a heat wave.

    We liked the rooftop pool, the onsite bar and restaurant. Location was good for shopping and union square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    It was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Two Double Beds and Sofabed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice and clean. Room was a bit small for 5 people, but over all it was fine since we didn’t spend much time in the room. The neighborhood wasn’t the greatest, but still safe enough to walk a few blocks if we needed to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.0
    The property is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The neighborhood could be a bit unsafe at night. A few homeless people sleeping on the street just outside of the hotel.

    The property is clean. The location is convenient, within walking distance to the Civic Center. The on-site restaurant is quite nice with good dishes at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Good gym and pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    PARKING is extortionate. $40 a night for hotel guests seems excessive. It’s in an area with lots of homeless so can feel threatening at times. $3 bottled water in the room not necessary. No AC in our room. Room decor is also a bit dated. A lot of money to stay but maybe that’s just San Fran!

    Good gym and pool area. Free coffee in the morning and water throughout the day in the lobby. Comfortable beds. Reception staff were always friendly. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms bit outdated. Friendliness and service level of staff in K-Oz bar varied greatly. Having to leave the bar at 10PM as one of our party was a 16-year old.

    Good location. Good value for money. Heated swimmingpool on the roof. Bar. Service of young woman working in K-Oz bar on Monday and Tuesday evening was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Pillows were lumpy, some rooms don’t have air conditioning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were lumpy, some rooms don’t have air conditioning so those rooms are stuffy. Windows had to be left open. And there was a man walking around trying to get into the windows and doors, security did catch up with him but it was still a scary thought. Restaurant and bar on location have great food/drinks but need more staff to accommodate crowds. The worst part about this hotel is the location. If you want to walk into the city center from this location you will encounter a lot of homeless people. The streets smell like urine and human feces. Based on the pricing, you can find better accommodation in a nicer area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely stay here again for the close proximity to downtown and public transportation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not great. I work around the corner so I am familiar with the Civic Center Area and know what to avoid, ect. But not the safest spot if you are a woman alone at night. As long as you are aware of your surroundings and take care the location is fine and you cannot beat the price.

    Hotel is immaculate. Clean and bright, great staff. Great restaurant attached to lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall I'd choose it again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The morning breakfast snack was fairly much a joke, free coffee and juice was the best part.

    Rooftop pool was awesome. Floating around in the heated pool and watching the fog rolling in overhead!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    It was great place to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I didn't feel safe walking outside of the hotel especially at night because there were a lot of homeless people.

    The staff were very nice, accommodating and helpful, most especially Ben, Glenn and Merlisa. I like having a coin operated laundromat in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Quirky and comfortable. Staff was extra-nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There should be a designated area for smokers, The Mac guest computers were odd, the mouse was poor and the location too exposed (monitors face lobby!)

    the associated restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Tidy, friendly, but pretty expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were among the last to get the free "breakfast" which is best because it was pretty poor. The restaurant on site is good and inexpensive so I think it is a better bet. The area is a little rough around the edges, but it is close to the main transport routes. Beds were only doubles so be prepared for that. San Fran is so expensive, so it seems like not great value for money, but it isn't bad.

    The staff were very accommodating when we asked to move rooms because the first room was unsuitable for 3 people for 7 nights. The second room was bright, airy, quiet and removed from the hubbub of the motel. The room was tidied daily with friendly housekeeping staff. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    Never again and wouldn’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looking for a place with a pool. Kids got to swim 10 minutes due to the pool closing at 9pm. We had been on the road all day and checked in late. Another issue was the toilet was defective, when we called to report the issue, it took the maintenance guy a good hour to come up. Finally got a functioning toilet after midnight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Convenient and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Two Double Beds and Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn’t feel safe walking in the area bec of so many homeless people around but they’re a ually harmless

    Very friendly staff. Ben was extra helpful when we checked-in. Clean and big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    THE ROOMS ARE CLEAN AND GOOD SIZE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE ROOMS NEED WINDOWS THAT OPEN TO LET FRESH AIR IN. OUR ROOM WAS STUFFY AND HAD TO OPEN THE DOOR TO GET FRESH AIR, I NOTICED OTHER PEOPLE OPENING THEIR DOORS TOO. THE AREA AROUND THE HOTEL IS NOT TOO CLEAN AND YOU DON'T FEEL VERY SAFE.

    THE ROOMS ARE CLEAN AND GOOD SIZE. THE HOTEL IS NEAR A BIG MALL AND LOTS OF PLACES TO EAT. NICE OUTDOOR POOL.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Booking.com paints an accurate picture of this one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While it was one of the lower priced hotels we shopped for, it still seemed a bit steep. We were in San Francisco the same time last year and prices doubled, and in some cases tripled in price from last year.

    Good location. Clean and quiet at night for a big city hotel. Excellent brewery style restaurant located on the property. The staff is very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Reservations were canceled on the week of the travel and...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservations were canceled on the week of the travel and took a few calls to solve it. I would not trust a business trip preparation on this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant staff, modern looking hotel with a relatively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls towards outer corridors are all glass, which makes it difficult to get sunlight without being completely exposed. Beds are small for two adults.

    Pleasant staff, modern looking hotel with a relatively central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Location is great, although a lot of homeless around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet smells like is quite dirty, and it needs to be cleaned deeply, but the rest of the facilities and the room were clean.

    Location is great, although a lot of homeless around. It seems dangerous at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, pool is good, everything fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite with Two Double Beds and Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not so good. There are a lot of homeless people on the street around sunset and in the morning. Maybe is something from the government to these people sleep. Anyway, is a quite bit annoying.

    Clean, comfortable, pool is good, everything fair.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel but unpleasant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not close to many of the tourist sights or restaurants, and it is quite an unpleasant area with the dirty streets and large amount of homeless people.

    Nice decor and airy layout. Restaurant/bar on site is well reviewed and the fitness centre and pool are good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Quaint hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was little slow We got locked out in a stair well and had to call for the bell boy to come get us, luckily we had our phones. Stairwells that lock, or lead no where are not marked

    Quaint and had character Rooms were well decorated Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    It's super loud in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's super loud in the morning. You can hear everyone talking in the courtyard. There are no beverages besides water available except for a vending machine which the front desk cannot make any change for you if you need. It was really expensive, probably because we booked last minute, but the value for the money was a huge disappointment. Also, it was in a rough part of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were upgraded in a tasteful way.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were facing a courtyard so if you were to leave your curtains open everyone can see into your room. There were no sheer curtains. I also felt my room had a weird musty chemical smell when I stayed the first night. The elevator was broken half the time I was there...The front desk staff was hit or miss in terms of courtesy.

    The rooms were upgraded in a tasteful way. Feels like a motel turned boutique hotel. Neighbourhood a little seedy mixed with hipster cafes. Short walk to Downtown/shopping areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Really liked the facility, including a nice local...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My one nit: You can't help the location but I did witness a drug deal on the sidewalk outside the hotel. Just needed to be careful outside at night. Otherwise great facility, walking distance to Moscone, and comfortable room.

    Really liked the facility, including a nice local restaurant/bar immediately next door w/ good breakfasts. Room itself was large, clean, stylish and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, Clean, and Convenient
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The surrounding area is a bit dangerous at night, but it's more to do with the city itself. During our stay, they had a problem with booking.com. The bookings were not reflecting on their system so that caused some confusion.

    This place is quite near Union Square and Moscone Center (within walking distance). The staff was accommodating and the restaurant on the first floor served nice food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.2
    Not their fault but hotel location is horrible - next to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not their fault but hotel location is horrible - next to large amount of very disturbed / mentally troubled homeless people made the area feel very unsafe. Feces extremely common on sidewalks as soon as you leave hotel in all directions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel widely surpassed my expectations. Pleasant and clean rooms, good beds, kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking at the hotel garage causes substantial extra costs. The hotel rate was relatively high, but this is probably due to the general level of hotel rates in downtown SF.

    The overall impression of the hotel is that of a clean, nicely designed, comfortably furnished place to stay close to Market Street, one of the main commercial street in downtown SF. The staff way very helpful und kind. There is a nice cafe and a well populated bar with good local beers in/at the hotel. The rooms have reasonable size and seem to have been redesigned and refurnished recently. Very good beds and a relatively spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Good value in a busy City. Location not te best for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Two Double Beds and Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location wasn't great, a lot of homeless people on the streets around the hotel. The beds were hard and uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for young families.

    The restaurant was really good food was perfect. The bar was great staff was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t recommend this location due to multiple power outages from insufficient wiring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their electrical system was having issues. The power kept going out in multiple rooms. Guests were in the lobby all complaining of outages. Ours went out five separate times. (3 in one day). We had to unplug the fridge and turn off the air conditioner in order to use their hair dryer. They told us that we couldn’t use the air conditioner at night or we would loose our power again. There was a lack of concern from the front desk suggesting that this was not unusual for them. The elevator also broke the day we were checking out so we had to carry our luggage down three flight of stairs. The parking was expensive at $38 a day plus the $4 in daily taxes. With exterior entrances into a shared corridor the noise from partying guests was very loud making sleep a challenge. Noise went til 3:00 am and hotel didn’t quiet guests. Sorrounding neighborhood is a little rough. We felt secure in the building but didn’t venture out on foot in the evening.

    Nicely updated, fun decor, convenient location not far from tourist destinations. Pool was all to ourselves, Nice size room for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Great budget option for visiting SF
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motel-like hotel with a modern feel to it. Pool heated well so nice even in the cold! Breakfast wasn't included but you could buy it in the attached restaurant and it was superb. Attached bar probably has best prices in SF during happy hour!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Horrible location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many drug addicts around the location, we couldn't even take our kids for a walk. We seen at least 3 people shooting up dope on the sidewalk within 1 block.

    The pool was pretty much the only thing anyone enjoyed, the rooms are really small.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More weights could be used in the gym, but this is just to point out a bad thing. Still a nice place

    The stuff was amazing and super friendly. Yes the area had a lot of homeless and crazy people but the staff was on top of it. There was twice that I saw unfriend and crazy people walk into the hotel, but staff removed then as fast as they could. Hotel was nice in the inside and staff is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed the retro feel of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that the pool was closed by 9pm. I also didn't like that I was charged an additional amount for parking my vehicle in their parking. I was already paying a large amount for my rooms and felt the parking should be included.

    Enjoyed the retro feel of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean updated hip hotel and great jump off point for San Francisco day adventures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major complaints about hotel for the price in a major city it was great. More outlets in room would have been nice. I just want to communicate to future guests that this area has gentrified in the past decade. It feels hip and safe now. However, it is not too far from the infamously sketchy Tenderloin. SF police hang out on each block of Market St to keep an eye on things which is very smart. They are friendly and were very helpful answering some questions we had. We encountered a few homeless and mentally ill people while waiting for bus Civic Center stop on Market St. If you have small kids with you, I recommend not walking back to hotel after dark if you have to walk on Market St. Better to be back before dark or be driven back to hotel. The mentaly ill people are more psychologically scary (talking to themselves or cussing out load) then physically threatening in SF. We felt totally safe in the SOMA area in the daytime. I truly hope the city finds a way to help the homeless and mental ill more effectively. It’s the one bummer in visiting this great city.

    We appreciated convenience to transpertation on Market St. We found great restaurants around in the area like Viva la Tart. I liked the modern style of the hotel. Nice warm pool. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. We also appreciated the safety measure that a key card was needed for elevators and stairwells.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    The staff was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard double beds were smaller than we thought they would be. People did not want to share beds anymore and we ended up having people take turns sleeping on the floor. The room keys to our room would only work in one of the two doors.

    The staff was excellent! 24 hour front desk. The views are nice if it's sunny outside. Always helpful and able to answer our questions. Came and delivered us extra blankets and pillows when we realized the beds were smaller than we thought. Made checkout really easy for us by splitting the bill among all guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Other than a minor hiccup at the beginning my staff and I...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue I had was at the moment of check in. I had chosen this location because my staff and I were traveling by night and were going to show up around 5 am. When we get to the hotel the night time front desk guy says that check in is at 3pm and if I wanted to check in earlier it would cost me $199 more and I still wouldn't be able to get into my room until 12pm. Need less to say I was very upset and refused to pay that extra money, so my staff and I were forced to sleep in our van for a few hrs until the valet guy saw us sleeping in our car and offed us to check in early at no extra cost.

    Other than a minor hiccup at the beginning my staff and I really enjoyed our stay at the Americana Hotel. The location was very central to almost everything and most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    It was dope!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be very nice if the card keys were keyed for the lobby bathrooms.

    Has a sweet retro feel. Was well kept with very nice staff. Loved that we were able to get a room for a big group! A great place to stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay with family/group.. Strategic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The homeless people kinda make us tourist a bit uncomfortable considering we afraid to become victim of a crime..

    Its situated near many restaurants.. And there is also a bar.. The guy at the bar also a cool guy.. The location just 5-10 minutes to the wharf/pier and union sq by car.. You can always use taxi app/ride sharing app.. Dont walk especially after 6pm..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like how house keeping kept making us feel uncomfortable about being in our room before check out. They knocked on our door around 10 and kept peeking in the window to see if we were finally leaving while we were gathering our belongings.

    The rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. Valet was very easy and convenient. Awesome view of the city. Great management and staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.0
    Heated pool, valet parking was nice but at $40 a night very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was terrible. Homeless and shady looking people everywhere. The rooms had no sound proofing so you could clearly hear anyone's conversation, and strangely no fridge in the room

    Heated pool, valet parking was nice but at $40 a night very expensive. K-Oz brewery downstairs was amazing, a must do while in San Fran

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms not very sound-proof. The breakfast bags were a great touch but maybe could have been promoted more and the breakfast room lit better.

    Funky clean and bright rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Very modern and it’s clean they even do origami folding with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power outage and never said anything about it

    Very modern and it’s clean they even do origami folding with toilette paper and towels...its worth the money, it looks REAL SKETCHY outside and everywhere around it but the room makes up for it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hote for you and your furry friend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was dirty and area around pool was dirty. Water pressure was kinda low in shower.

    Great onsite cafe and all staff super nice. Pet friendly but 20.00 a day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    I put the hang tag on my door to NOT have my room serviced...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I put the hang tag on my door to NOT have my room serviced and they came in anyway, did not make up my bed but left the curtains wide open for everyone to see my belongings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.0
    Suite was over priced for what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the room was over priced especially for the space of the suite. It was very small, no sitting area. There were lumps in our beds which I think are the springs coming out. We we’re uncomfortable sleeping. Also we went looking for the ice machine... the sign said it was around the corner.. no.. it was the vending machine and the ice was on the floor under us.

    Our room was close to the elevator.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    3.8
    For booking last minute, maybe it was my fault for not researching more; very uncomfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This location makes me uneasy. Some of the staff at times was not very knowledgeable (check in / when my key didn’t work). Maybe they brought in new staff to help cover since we have our big conference in town. I was scared to go outside the hotel if remotely dark. When I came home from dinner one night, there were four local possibly homeless men creeping in the entrance alleyway. Even my Uber drivers every time they dropped off were tell me to make sure I’m very careful and they brought me up as close to the entrance doors as possible. Another night a stray dog was exiting the open doors to the lobby as I was entering the hotel. Small thing, but I also can’t turn the light in the sink area on at all without a very loud fan running. Bizarre. Such a weird stay.

    Cute retro decor. Having to use your key to get to your floor was needed and a little bit more reassuring.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.3
    Organised an early check in via email in advance when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Organised an early check in via email in advance when arrived at the property was told abruptly that check in was at 3 come back then. Had to get the room key reactivated multiple times during our 3 day stay as we could not access the room or elevator. After putting the don't not disturb sign on door every day of our stay housekeeping still entered our room and moved our belonging g around. Organised a late check out of day of departure and housekeeping came to the room 3 times prior to check out to see when we would be leaving. Really overly noisy enviroment at night. Overall very poor experience will not return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Good overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like pool being used by Gay Men, up to no good in the pool, ( Not nice to see ) !

    Beds comfortable facilities good pool safe for children, ( 1 Depth only and not too big ) would rate 4 out of 5

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant pretty loud noise in the room from ventilation system of the building through panels in the wall.

    Modern. Friendly. Nice small pool. Very fast wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Never use bwa again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No ac on one of the hottest days in sf? Very uncomfortable at night in mid 80-90 heat. The power kept going off/on... We checked out the following days and moved to another hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    3.8
    I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone going to see San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is located in a very rough area of town. There are no quality restaurant choices nearby other than SUBWAY. You must take a taxi after dark - this area is not safe - especially if you have children. Taxis are not readily available because you are not that close to Union Square. The restaurant at the hotel was terrible. Very disappointing. Mold growing on the carpet in our room as air conditioner leaked. Room didn't get cleaned daily. Everyone at the hotel was complaining.

    I didn't like anything about this hotel or it's location!!! Basically located on skid row! WiFi didn't work for most of the 4 days we were there. Restaurant in hotel was crappy. Horrible experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were ants in the room, the refrigerator didn't close properly, so the breast milk I to had pumped went bad. The bathroom didn't look like it was clean from previous tendent. I have yet to hear back from a random $160 charge after I left and signed for the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    Pretty good value for a large group.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little close to a rough area, rooms could be a little bigger. Some sort of breakfast inclusion would be nice.

    Decent location, fair size rooms but attentive staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice, comfortable hotel with the bonus of a pool. Dubious area but close to Union Square .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area is a virtual no go zone at night. We had locals telling us to avoid walking in the area after 7pm, streets are full of homeless people who seem to gather in the vicinity. We had no problems but it is uncomfortable walking back with the kids when you aren't expecting it!

    The heated swimming pool on the roof was a great facility!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.8
    Terrible nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible nights sleep. The noise of the garbage truck at 4 am in the morning was awful. I thought the window was open but it was just too flimsy to block the noise. Someone outside turned on their music or alarm at full volume that same morning and left it on for 30 minutes. Terrible sleep. The beds were too soft. The toilet only flushed after 2-4 flushes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.0
    Not a fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is $35 a day, on top of your room rate. Outrageous!! The sofa bed was the worst bed I have ever slept on. It should be illegal to call it an amenity. Absolutely terrible.

    The restaurant/bar was great! Friendly staff, good food and drinks. Definitely the best part of the hotel, by far.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    we had a great time and would book the family room next time which does have 2 beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the booking.com pix of the queen suite showed 2 queen beds and there was only one so we used the pullout couch which was, as one who slept on it said, like sleeping in a silverware drawer--no cushion between the springs and the sleeper!

    design and style very interesting, cafe was good and reasonable prices, lobby also interesting and good coffee, beds comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    2.9
    I would never stay nor recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible hotel! Room kept blowing electrical fuse so we didn't have AC OR ELECTRICITY and it was HOT! The room was dirty! It was a 2 bedroom "suite" and the AC was a single wall unit in one room. So even when the AC Would turn on, before the fuse blows, the AC wouldn't cool the other room that slept the majority of people!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    The swimming pool on the roof top
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is located close to the Tenderloin with a lot of homeless hanging around in the Streets around the hotel. Quite insecure feeling when the night falls.

    The swimming pool on the roof top

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    I liked that it was close to Muir Woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the surprise that the gay pride parade was held on the day we arrived and it took over 2 hours to move 1 and a half miles to get to the hotel. Especially when I called ahead to the hotel and asked about traffic and directions, the man should have told me about the traffic nightmare I was about to experience. I would have went out for dinner first and let traffic settle down. I feel like it was a complete disregard for me. Also not happy about the 35 dollar per day parking fee. HIDDEN COST !! No good restaurants near hotel either.

    I liked that it was close to Muir Woods

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    My vist was great.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I almost got stuck in the elevator.

    Everything was nice. I read the review before I booked and I was worried about noise but my boyfriend and I didn't really hear any noise. The location was great right in the hear of San Francisco. The staff was really nice and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location, very well kept property, good for a short stay in San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No sheer curtains in our room which meant we could not open the heavy curtains and this made the room dark. We had a problem with the electricity in the room which went off a number of times - the hotel to be fair apologised and gave us free parking to make up for the inconvenience. The Manager handled our complaint extremely well and mentioned that this problem is being worked on. Vending machine needed to be restocked - it was out of water but again to be fair to the hotel they filled up our empty water bottles. The bar attached to the hotel takes last orders at 10.45 - no exceptions even if you are a resident - it is not a hotel bar rather a bar attached to the hotel - staff not particularly friendly in this establishment. Restaurants and bars not in abundance around this hotel - you would need to walk towards Union Square for choice. Be prepared to encounter many homeless people while walking around San Franciso not just in the area of the hotel.

    The location is very good - close to public transport links. Walking distance (15 mins) to Union Square. Cleanliness excellent. Family room was as described and while it was ok for a short stay (3 nights) five people in this size room would not be recommended for a longer stay. A couple of minor complaints we had were handled exceptionally well by the Manager. Heated pool was popular with the children as weather wasn't great. A practical choice for a short stay if you want luxury you need to go up a star.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.0
    I didn't like the Hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were uncomfortable, view of the suite on the corridor, Air conditioner in the master bedroom only, other room didn't have one.

    Location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    3.8
    First day staff was welcoming and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many issues with the room and kept calling front desk as no one would answer, finally sent maintenance to check power since it went out. Maintenance didn't arrive to the room until 1am, next day same thing happened only to our room air conditioning and tv power went off plus tub was clogged. Was hard to contact front desk no one would answer and they weren't busy. After the first day staff was not helpful and seemed not to care. Plus the area is not good or nice. A lot of homeless on the streets and people selling drugs.

    First day staff was welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.0
    Way overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no option to park your car on the property. It is valet only. ( which is an extra cost). There was no water pressure in the shower. The room was small and noisy. Don't bother with the breakfast. I didn't feel it was safe to step outside the hotel at night.The restaurant on site seemed like a skid row pub. This is a 2 star property charging a 4 star price. Our 3 night stay cost us $ 1000. CAD.

    I liked the pool and our TV.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    3.8
    Do not stay here or book with booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear all noise from street, people, staff etc. Needed a plunger waited 2 hrs. Housekeeping came in while we had do not disturb. Do not stay here if you want to rest. Water took forever to get warm. I do not recommended this place nor booking.com

    The room was small but nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Good value for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking put our car in an impossibly small space. We had to retrieve belongings and were a bit surprised as we couldn't enter the vehicle. Wondered how valet was able to exit without damaging car.

    Pleasant decor, plenty of pillows. Overall nice appearance. Room was attractive and tidy, adequate but tiny. We didn't use the facilities like the pool, but it was also nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    2.9
    Do not make a reservation here !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've got a room for 6 people. But, I found sofa bed was broken. I called the front desk. The operator said that a manager would fix it. However, when he came to check, he said he wan unable to fix it. Basically I knew that he would be able to fix it. Everybody knows that nobody can fix sofa bed except sofa bed technician. Then, finally I've got another room. But, this room also had a problem. Electricity failed. The most terrible thing was that the room which was right by my room had some people who were having a party. I was hardly getting to sleep on that night. Surely I complained to Front Desk on 4 AM and let the manager know they were having a party. But, the hotel manager merely called them, they stopped music but they were still having party. Then, early morning, when I complained at the front desk, the hotel manager got me a credit for parking 35 dollar for my inconvinience.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.8
    Horrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a room filled with people partying all day long & even after I called hotel staff to shut it down the security guard that came over basically did nothing. He simply asked the visitors to not drink outside the rooms which they continued once he left. Might as well had a puppy go out there since it would have been just as useless.

    The size of the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    3.3
    Poor amenities and useless staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in the room. The staff was unfriendly and did not want to help to fix the problem. 3 nights in this hotel was a nightmare. The hotel is located in a rough neighbourhood of SF. Full refund please!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Nicest hotel of the whole West Roadtrip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking costs 35 $ per day even if you do not park the whole day and arrive late / leave early. It would have been nice to pay at least not the last day but the hotel staff was not able to promise so instead we chose to drop off our car earlier and save money.

    The heated pool is amazing. And the staff was nice to shut it down a little bit later than the official closing time of 9 pm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    the room is very nice, big, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking is expensive 35 dollars per night (but thats all san francisco problem) the staff bad part: the property manager EVELYN FERNANDEZ - doesnt know how to talk and treat costumers, start shouting and repeating phrases like a small child if not of her - i would rate the property much higher, but she does not deserve it

    the room is very nice, big, clean and comfortable the good part of the staff is the reception manager lorence dizon, very nice and helpful (about the bad part of the staff read in the next comment)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Hotel - yes, SOMA - no
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SOMA is apparently not the most welcoming neighbourhood in San Fran. It's clearly not the hotel's fault but if you're sensitive to drug addicts out in the streets - you might want to look for a different place to stay.

    Hotel's design is great - it matches San Francisco's spirit beautifully. Very cool interior designs, loved it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.7
    The room was comfortable, spacious and the staff was nice.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was available on site, but it was really expensive. There was a lot of homeless people in the hotel area.

    The room was comfortable, spacious and the staff was nice. Restaurants, bars and coffees just a few minutes walking.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Americania Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: