Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Poway/San Diego Hotel 3 stars

13845 Poway Road, Poway, CA 92064, USA

Review score

Based on 62 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.6
    Will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queens Beds with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was awful. They came late and didn’t even change the sheets our entire week long stay. Rooms need updating badly, breakfast was not good at all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    This
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet made a terrible noise when flushed and the barlthroom fan was way too noisy.

    The staff was very nice. Our room wasn’t ready so we waited in the breakfast room. The lady at the desk had coffee made for us while we waited.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Good one - satisfied all-around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Pet Friendly/Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Main street lanes for entry should be more convenient. Talk to the city. Best-Western is the only game in town.

    Breakfast bar was excellent, and all-around very helpful, well-informed staff people... each one!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    The location was convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking spaces are not for large trucks. There was a road crew staying there and they parked their large trucks in the spaces.

    The location was convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.6
    Adequate only as a place to lay your head down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this hotel because we wanted a pool. Got there & was told "pool was broken".... Reduced our planned 2 night stay to 1 night. Still had to pay full price. Also, room smelled bad.....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    2.9
    Would not stay or recommend this to anyone
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was broke had a sign saying hazardous to swim, bugs in the room, rust everywhere, blow dryers didn't work, air conditioning barely worked, cover plates falling off the wall

    Unfortunately nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.0
    Would never stay here again and would not recommend to friends or family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have emailed the property with my concerns and received no communication back. I requested first floor accommodations in January of this year for our July visit. I am handicapped, but not - thank goodness - in a wheel chair. despite my request and explanation I was given a second floor room. I can only feel one of my feet from chemotherapy and I use a cane for balance. Stairs - particularly the type of stairs at the hotel - are treacherous for me. We were walked over to the room and the door was opened by the desk person. We thought that was odd, but we realized as we tried to leave the next day why. the door locking mechanism was broken and the keys and lock would not work. We had to wait while first a maid and then a handy man came. They were great and the handy man fixed the problem within minutes. We were ok with that, but thought it was pretty awful that the desk person took us to that room knowing the lock didn't work.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.8
    Conviently located but bring your Clorox disinfecting wipes.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The back of the bathroom door was covered with black finger and hand prints. It bothered me so much I took a washcloth, soap and cleaned the door. There was a large purple ink stain on the frame of the bathroom door which someone had tried to clean. This combined with the black finger prints made me wonder how clean was the bathroom. The back of the shower curtain was badly stained.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    Appreciated having a room at the back of the property---very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window screen had a large tear in it, which they happily taped up. We quickly discovered the dead bolt didn't close and the door latch was broken. Effectively, we could not lock our room door. 2 very nice guys came out (9 pm] and spent about 45 mins fixing both issues. Later, we discovered the toilet was leaking water onto the bathroom floor. We told the front desk when we checked out. This motel is old and in need of a real facelift. Wish Best Western would go back to full sized pillows. The tiny square pillows just don't make for a good night's sleel.

    Appreciated having a room at the back of the property---very quiet. Staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    6.3
    Nice but needs update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture was old. Bath fan too noisy. Breakfast was so-so.

    Bed was comfy. Pillows were great. Location was great for visiting my family in Poway. Good value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    6.3
    Sorry, wasn't very impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room-Disabilty Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much bleach used on the sheets and pillowcases and I'm allergic. Noisy wall unit. I felt like there were fleas or something in the room. The person who checked me in initially didn't tell me where the room was, or tell me where anything was. I had to call the office after ten minutes of trying to get the remote control to work and I was told, oh, you have to use the buttons on the side of the t.v. Should have told me that when I checked in.

    I left very early so did not get to have breakfast. The gentleman that checked me out was very courteous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    3.3
    Poor Costumer Service
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to happy charge more for 1 bedroom with 1bed instead of getting 1bed room woth 2 queen bed. I want some of the money back

    None i didn't get the the room that i booked

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.5
    It wss fine
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, when we arrived the bed wasn't made. The housekeeping though that im in that room. Explain just check in. But the house keeping manager gave us a room with 2 beds which is pair. Good costumer svc.

    No comments at this time

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.3
    The room was fine and the staff very nice & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls & doors are thin so it got noisy when people (incl cleaning staff) were outside.

    The room was fine and the staff very nice & helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    2.5
    Not impressed and spoke with management about it. I would like my money back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of Service, Too much Noise, No quiet hours enforced, Smoking and ashtrays right outside my non smoking room, breakfast was not very good (microwaved eggs, broken waffle machine and dispenser, lousy fruit) and the breakfast room was filthy dirty.

    Bathroom was new but extremely cold

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.7
    My stay was what and where I needed it to be
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my room hadn't been thoroughly cleaned upon my arrival at 5:30 pm walls thin enough to hear arguing next door noises from housekeepers carts, upstairs walking wasn't offered info on AAA discount or Best Western membership discounts, both of which I have

    breakfast foods okay, after we asked items to be restocked location of room on first floor parking close by staff helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    2.9
    Don't stay here unless you have no other option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Pet Friendly/Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty, hair and pee marks on the bottom of the toilet, halfway cleaned. The beds are very stale, not soft especially if you've driven a distance to get there. The door keys were terrible didn't ever work until after 10-15 swipes. There was no spa, it should have been less than 60$ to stay not 122. Definately not worth 122$

    It was close to where we needed to be, that's the only plus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Pet Friendly/Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not accommodate for handicap. Room cleaning service was minimal at best bedding was not changed in our 1 week stay. The toilet seat was nearly falling off and we requested repair several times, my wife is handicapped and felt very unsafe when using the toilet.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    the breakfast was sparse- but what we liked was how fast the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was sparse- but what we liked was how fast the team worked on getting more food out for everyone. and the waffles were wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Blood splatter on the wall bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blood splatter on the wall bathroom. Musty type of smell. Window did not lock.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Pet Friendly/Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much too expensive for the quality of hotel.

    Good location for me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    good location for my purpose, clean quiet
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast area unattended and syrup spilled on floor and counter top. otherwise breakfast offering was good.

    good location for my purpose, clean quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Great Place to Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Love the location , very quite and peaceful and the staff very friendly very clean room and bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    4.6
    Over due for a facelift
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty run down. Cobwebs, clogged drain, in serious need of a facelift

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.9
    great location, rooms were clean, oue room looked like it was newly remodled in the bathromm area. w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed was not that comfortable

    good breakfast nice location for what we had to do

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    I loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Very nice bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    NICE STAY REALLY EASY TO CONDUCT BUSINESS
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Pet Friendly/Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    LIKED THE EASY ACCESS TO OTHER SHOPPING AND THE DOG RUN WOULD CERTAINLY BE A PLUS FOR TRAVELING WITH A PET.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    6.3
    The staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Pet Friendly/Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Older hotel and could use upgrades

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Pet Friendly/Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location pretty far from freeway

    King size bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    I would definitely stay again, the staff was very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Pet Friendly/Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean room!

    Stayed in August 2016

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: