Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Red Roof Inn & Suites - Dekalb 3 stars

1212 West Lincoln Highway, DeKalb, IL 60115, USA

#1 of 3 hotels in DeKalb

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key cards rarely worked. Had to walk to office several times to have them reset. Exterior walkways somewhat rough and worn. Room did not have microwave or refrigerator.

    Pets stay free. Good size of room. Nice interior. Nice tv. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like.

    I liked a location. Also thought the bed was comfortable and they were plenty of pillows. It was easy to adjust the temperature in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff was a little bit unprofessional. When I approached the front desk, the lady was talking with some person about her life story, while a new employee ( I assume, as she did not really know what was she doing) was registering me.

    Pretty nice place, clean and peaceful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi seemed iffy but that might have been our devices' fault -- one connected, the other didn't -- but be sure to ask for a room near the router. Also, I LOVED the frequent trains racing by within yards of our door, but others might not -- just be aware that dozens of freight trains run through DeKalb daily (and nightly) and this motel is close to the tracks. Nothing to be done about that but to enjoy it.

    Basic, clean, comfortable, good walking distance (1.3 miles) of downtown, closer than that to NIU campus. Hairdryer. In-room coffee -- no breakfast, but more coffee in the lobby, local paper also. Ample reading lights. Comfortable beds. Just what we needed to park for a few days in DeKalb and mostly be in town doing things. Great value for the money. We've stayed here before and probably will again. (Note: When approaching, don't look for a red roof. It's green).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First night the refrigerator froze our food/drinks which caused a bottle to break leaving small pieces of glass on the floor. Informed the maid of the incident and to make sure to vacuum in front of the refrig. Very responsive and friendly. She contacted maintenance and between the two of them the refrig was turned down to an appropriate temp. Appreciated the fast response and correction of the problem. Wallpaper in bath coming off wall and needs to be repaired.

    Staff friendly and helpful/responsive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was tiny and can use an upgrade.

    The location was excellent since we were in DeKalb to see a NIU football game. We could keep the car parked in front of the room and walk to the game. There are also some great restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually the train, but so tired didn’t hear it second nite. No handicapped accessible to second floor.

    The beds were comfortable, had 2 room for my grown up children, they liked the cleanliness of their room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked two rooms. The one on Booking.com was $10.00 dollars more than the one I booked on Hotel.com. Most Hotels have at least a small breakfast,but Red Roof does not.

    Close to where we were going.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train directly behind hotel... Room covered in centipedes.. Have to go to front desk to get ice.. Pop machine was in a utility room

    Soft piilows.. Comfortable bed..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing....it was exactly as I expected for the money I paid.

    Look, it's a Red Roof Inn in DeKalb, so don't expect glorious luxury. Its sandwiched between train tracks and a main road so the view isn't spectacular. However.....the room was clean and tidy and the property overall, from what I saw, was clean and well kept. We had an event at NIU, which is right across the street and there are plenty of eating places nearby. Would I stay there again....yes, for the money you get a clean room and it just so happens I like the sound of trains at night, so it helped me sleep!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only could get ice at front desk but front desk was very nice about it but should get an ice machine fixed

    Quite,comfortable rooms,nice and clean, easy to get to food etc. Great that it was close to NIU as our Grandson had a sports competition there 🤗 🏈

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cooler for drinks but only one night stay too.

    Comfortable beds and room smelled clean. Good location attending college graduation. Good value for the money. Coffee in lobby was OK too. Fitness center was clean. Staff was pleasant and checked in early too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just needed a comfy place to sleep after travel and a busy night. it was perfect for that. The ladies at the desk were delightful and playful with our overtired goofiness. They told us the best place to watch the trains from the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a $70/night, there was no extra service provided. For e.g. no complimentary breakfast. Also, the air conditioning there was so loud and making noises that myself and my wife could not sleep well and we had to take a test the next morning. Imagine how it could affect our mindset.

    Nothing special. Just a room with 2 beds.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner worked so noisy and the room was so hot . I could not figure out to change the heat of room. Because ıt didn't has any button . That why I could not sleep very well.

    It was so clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Says offers breakfast on web site and there was none.

    The rooms were comfortable and clean. Beds were nice. Staff friendly. The facility is very close to the railroad and multiple trains come through day and night. If someone is a light sleeper, this might be a concern. The biggest problem we found is that both Booking.com and Trip Advisor sites say the hotel offers breakfast. There is NO BREAKFAST. This is the main reason I choose this hotel. The sites need to be updated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only had shampoo not conditioner bottles

    The bed was comfy and the staff was friendly!! The free breakfast wasn't bad! I enjoyed it and the fun make your own waffles!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value. Very nice rooms, comfy beds, very affordable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi among other things.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    broken things in my room that went on dead ears when reported.

    clean, quiet and in good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water???

    Housekeeper was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't very comfy. The drain in the sink didn't drain very good. The towels smelled like smoke.

    The price was right.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t accept cash payment!

    Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located next to busy and loud train tracks. No fridge in room. No work space (table & chairs) in room

    Price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the beds was not comfortable. Could do with more comfortable arm chair.

    Value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to stores

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like an inferno, even turned off heat and put air on and it never did cool down.

    The customer service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old

    Close to football field

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t quite as comfortable as I would have liked, but I still slept well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi didn't work

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very dark and dreary. Flushing the toilet was incredibly loud and the tub drain was clogged.

    staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price. I was told if I called the hotel directly it would have been much cheaper

    The room seemed clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cut-rate. I'll swing for the upgrade from now on.

    Price was right

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast on site

    Rooms were clean and fairly modern

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Then internet was not available in our room.

    The checkin and checkout staff (same person) was very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to NIU football stadium

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues in room. Food from previous guest was still in refrigerator.

    Location. Ease of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was saggy, bathroom old with poor attempt to renovate,carpet old, room smelled, pet allergens appeared present, (sneezing)

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels horrible, room wasn't cleaned when we asked for maid service.(hang tag fell off door)

    Location to the college, affordable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no microwave, no refrig, 1 cup coffee pot really!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    the size of the room,the locationof the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Super comfy bed - if you are used to firmer pillows you may consider bringing one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt like stale smoke for cigarettes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refridgerator or microwave in room. Dirty tub. No face rags. No cleenex in room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool not being open

    Everything except that the pool was not open

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    More supplies for the coffee

    The pillows were amazing!! If i wasn't so honest, I would have stolen one...lol

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great workout room! Pool. Close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi did not work.

    The management is awesome. The rooms are spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small television

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC quit working in the middle of night and its right next to a HEAVILY used freight train tracks that had trains every 20 min!

    Very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet had issues and sink didn't drain good

    Bed was Awesome!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size could have been bigger

    Very Comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked nice. and updated. Comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no refrigerator, toilet broke after one flushing, WiFi was very poor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold air from the door, Need new towels, No Breakfast, Didnt like the closet space in the bathroom and Need more television channels.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time here and stay was excellent! Very clean and quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dirty and musty. Did not receive daily maid service. Staff ignored my feedback on problems.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very large. Nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful manager /' very helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access - Roll-In Shower/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No jacuzzi or mini fridge

    We could pull right up to our room. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Feather pillows,couldn't. Find alternative had to go buy . Cleaning crew didn,t.

    Breakfast good. Most staff excellent. Room convient. Check in person very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Couple

    All good

    Office hard to find drove around twice no signs posted where office was, was impressed how clean and stock room was 5 stars to cleaning staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I especially like that they put us into a suite without us asking. They upgraded us at no extra charge. The Manager also brought us water and cookies in the morning for our drive home. The hot breakfast was awesome. I will definitely recommend this place to everyone. So worth the money and it was a great price compared to others in the area.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The a/c wasn't working on the low setting. We walked into our room late at night and it was hot. We adjusted the setting to high and it cooled right off.

    The ease of checking in (we were able to check in early), the room was clean and comfortable, and staff was friendly. Plus it was quiet. It was move in weekend for the University and I expected it to be noisy. No loud guest, no slamming doors, and I only heard the train rumble by a couple of times. No big deal.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Family with older children

    When we arrived, the person checking us in upgraded us to a suite wich was really nice since we had our teenage son with us. It was nice having the extra room.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Family with young children

    There were a few things that could've been cleaned better (ie: tile floors and kitchen). There was also an instance where our cleaning lady didn't show up???

    I liked how comfortable the beds were, the furniture was nice and the fact we could make the rooms very cool with the AC.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise of having a door to the outside (motel style) on my room, tithe heater ran constantly so it was either too warm in the room or too cold if I turned the heater off, the toilet ran nonstop, there was no mini fridge in the fridge cabinet (it was empty), the door knob to my room was breaking (didn't make me feel very secure in my room ) and there were no gluten-free options at breakfast except an apple, Oranjestad juice and rubbery scrambled eggs.

    The price, the staff and cleanliness of the room.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were lumpy and the shower head in the shower needs to be looked over.

    The location of the building was a few blocks from all the bars and shops. There was also a large selection of do it yourself breakfast. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Group

    room

    food

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One issue that has been addressed by the manager.

    Bed and room were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Family with young children

    Walk outside to lobby!

    Great breakfast for kids!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    N/A

    N/A

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Thin walls. If a late checkout is granted, I don't want to be hounded by the cleaning staff

    Clean and comfortable

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: