Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn 3 stars

818 North Hill Street, Downtown Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA 90012, USA

#119 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 563 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Consistent good standard at all of the Best Western Hotel that we have stayed during this holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The façade of the building look run down.

    Room was spacious. The overall cleanliness, comfort and ambience in the room was very good. Good value for money based on the area we reside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    It was a 20 minute drive wherever I believe it was centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location cleaning was excellent. Staff was very hospitable. Breakfast was excellent. Post office hair salon n convenient store all located in the lil plaza

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Best hotel in Chinatown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking attendant was very unfriendly. First person that we came in contact with so that was a drag Our view of the roof

    Maid service was wonderful. Very personable! Love the large bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Good deal for a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soda machines were broken/off. Could only get a bottle of water from the front desk. Had to go to another floor to get ice.

    Room was clean and had good amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, updated, clean and comfortable room only a 10 minute walk to Union Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Room was on the main road a little noisy in the morning.

    Staff excellent, updated, comfortable clean room, breakfast included. Only a 10 minute walk to Union station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the property. The location was okay if you are wanting to visit downtown or Hollywood.

    Friendly Staff, cleanliness of the room and property, breakfast was amazing with a large selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.2
    Morning prepacked "to go" bags and endless supply...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would have been acceptable had I not discovered a giant sized bed bug ontop of my sheets my 2nd to last night there. The fruit from our morning breakfast selection could have been fresher.

    Morning prepacked "to go" bags and endless supply of water bottles were both nice to have.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    If you have financially managed to reach LA as a tourist, pay a little more to stay elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel changed my perspective of Best Western Plus Chain. It looked more like a highway motel than a proper hotel or maybe that is what it was supposed to be! Facility looked pretty old. Rooms were dark and not comfortable. Poor toilets/washroom. No help available to move the luggage. The elevator was a riddle and you have to swipe the card with 'precision' to select your floor. Saw many guests struggling with it.

    Breakfast was included in the stay and was a reasonable one. Parking was OK but not free

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    + Cleanliness and comfort (spacious twin bed room)
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Front desk staff (particularly the lady in day hours is not all friendly /not ready ). She would not enable our two keys properly and most often, it wouldn't work. Couldn't use 'elevator' as it needed to be actived with room key. Without working room kay, lift can't be used. No guidance to near by tourist places, food chains/restaurant. 2. breakfast ; Most of the food in brkfast were processed food. Nothing gets prepared there. and not even fresh 'cut' fruits. Even, whole fruits quality wot much choice for Veggitarian 3. The cost of stay (room charges) was very high 4. When u walk iin/out of the hotel, there is a smoking zone.

    + Cleanliness and comfort (spacious twin bed room) + Closure to Universal Studios, Griffith Observatory

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Not bad for 1-2 nights in LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For these money in LA I cant pretend for more that I've got

    Price. It was my transit point in USA and I could not find hotel with price like this. Near is metro stantion, this is convenient. A lot of china cafe with cheap food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice and recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not find anything wrong. I think the price was right for what we had.

    The bed was very comfy! The room had a nice Chinese touch, and the shower was awesome. Also the breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't allowed a late check out. It would have been great, if after running the LA marathon, I would have had a chance to quickly shower before my flight.

    Good hotel. Perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly everything was great

    I liked the style of the room and the chinese decoration from the outside. I likes the downtown view from room. I liked the room was perfect for my partner and I.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was wonderful although most of house keeping did not speak English ;)) proves even with a language barrier we can do business well. Also loved that fact that all my basic needs was only feet away from my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was way too pricey for the services offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a lean spread. Also didn't like the fact they asked for a huge deposit because I paid cash. For the cost of the hotel...there was no help with your bags or even getting a Taxi.

    The room was large and comfy. Location was within walking distance of the cathedral of Angels...which was a bonus for me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    The place Is nice to stay for one to two nights I left safe the staff was helpful, the room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room had carpet and it had a weird smell. From my room I can hear people closing doors, talking in the hallway and I could the guest next to us blowing his nose and taking a shower it was gross. The stores downstairs all close at 8 pm

    I liked the second room had no carpet, bed was comfortable. Room also had a balcony and the staff was wonderful from front desk, the maid, and the lady at the dining room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    This Best Western in Chinatown is within walking distance of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has an open courtyard with limited access but does not feel as secure as some places. Chinatown has a significant homeless population and you will encounter people who are asking for money. It is not especially bothersome but maybe not the best place for people with children or fears of such encounters.

    This Best Western in Chinatown is within walking distance of Union Station and the California Endowment. You can easily take the FlyAway bus from LAX to Union Station for $10 and stay out of traffic as the bus goes in the restricted lanes. Easy to get just about anywhere from Union Station, which connects to Amtrak, Regional Rail and Los Angeles transit and is also near downtown. Go to LA without driving is the best!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love that every time I stay here the customer service gets better. And I love the breakfast because it’s actual food. Bacon, sausage, waffles, and more. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in LA.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money. Didn’t know what to expect but was very happy. Very comfortable!! And staff very nice. Location is fairly good for what we wanted

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    We were there to see the USC Health Campus and the proximity was great and were happy with our stay!
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have had blankets available in the closet.

    Large comfortable bed. Good heating/cooling. Large bathroom. Proximity to great restaurant: Ocean Seafood. Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    should have More fruits in breakfast.

    Staff are friendly, good breakfast and ladies there, close to Chinatown Gold Line and bus stops just a few steps away, beds are comfortable and huge rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Not what I expected from Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many things..see previous comment. Poor amenities, outdated facilities, outdated property, not up to date at all. Also very poor breakfast quality...although several different options provided. This hotel is a 3 star property and should not cost more than $149 - $169

    For the price, this place is way over rated...way too expensive. I've booked many 4 star properties through Booking.com for less that were much better than this property.... Also, breakfast was a "cheap" experience as well. FYI...I've booked properties with you in the USA and Europe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is great, they give a welcome snacks and water which is rare and better than fancy hotels; location inside Chinatown near shops and restaurants; comfortable; great breakfast; parking fee is low.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing....somewhat dicey neighborhood

    What a surprise...Great staff at from t desk and breakfast and rooms were much nicer than I expected ....excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    restaurant is too small while the hotel is full occupied.

    Breakfast is good. Location is strategies, not too far from union station, near good chinese restaurants, staff is helpful. Value for Money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Parking was easy and big enough to accommodate a full size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really when you consider age of property.

    Parking was easy and big enough to accommodate a full size 3500 ram truck so that was a great start. Staff continued the great experience attentive professional and knowledgeable easy access to downtown and Chinatown I went to hockey at staples center and uber ride was approx 10 mins each way so less than $ 10. Highly recommend and will definitely use again when I'm in the area. Oh and free breakfast was also more than adequate bacon sausage eggs toast etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.0
    I WAS THERE ONE NIGHT,
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO TOWEL HOLDER BY THE SINK, AND NO SHOWER DOOR OR THEY GAVE ME A WRONG ROOM,

    I LIKE THE LITTLE SHOPS RIGHT THERE, ATTENDANTS WERE VERY FRIENDLY AT BREAKFAST, AND YES THE WAFFLE WAS VERY FLUFFY.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Pleasantly surprised!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really couldn't think of much. Staff is always hiding inside the front desk room, they could smile a little..

    Surprised how well the hotel is managed..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    Be prepared for lots of walking if you stay here and want to sight- see!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not great for a first time visitor to LA. Staff could do more to assist with public transport information, etc. It was about 20-30 minutes swift walking to downtown LA and about 45 minutes to well over an hour to the airport - depending on the time of the day and traffic. Hotel was very tired but rooms recently refurbished and were comfortable. There were no real cups or teaspoons, etc. in room- all paper and plastic cups; plus no milk provided for coffee/tea. Bathroom was extremely small. The only restaurants/supermarkets were Chinese so dining and grocery shopping limited to those options.

    Price point was good and breakfast included was a bonus- and good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    Not very impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing more off putting than having breakfast on paper plates, with plastic knives and forks, paper cups. Breakfast OK.. Location Nothing to do and everything so far away had to use taxis as too hot to walk. No bar, had a late flight home and ended sitting in the breakfast room as it was cool. A long time to spend with nothing to do.

    Breakfast ok. Room clean and reception staff helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newspapers should be complimentary and a bottle of water should be provided in the room.

    Very accessable, big clean and super comfortable room. Easily controllable air-conditioning and windows can be opened, which are protected by screens. No need for the provided earplugs, had sound sleep without them. Breakfast is superb, considering the usual fare for inns and motels. The lady in charge and her help were fantastic. I will certainly go back. Good, safe location for all destinations within L.A. and surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Lace for sleep no more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothin close to eat or spend our night and ther is no place for run around. U have to drive to do some sport.

    Nice place. It is in China town. Stuff is helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    A good enough place to stay when passing through
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was a bit finicky. The room wasn’t very quiet, sometimes there was a loud fan noise coming through the bathroom ventilator. Breakfast options were limited and stuff like eggs and bacon were always running out

    Staff was nice and the room was comfortable. We stayed here just passing through LA so it was good enough and with good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    Decent rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from downtown if you dont drive,wifi was slow on 3rd floor so i had to move to 2nd floor,bathroom slippers not available,no complimentary water in room though I saw small bottles on house keeping trolleys (sud i ask for it??)no shopping malls within walking distance.Lift card reader didnt work so had to wait for sometime before it was fixed.No room service.Housekeeping staff didnt understand english.

    Quick early check in,quiet rooms,late check out was honoured,breakfast was good,rooms are much better than most high end hotels in downtown,washrooms are small but its manageable.Coffee ws good in room.Bath products were good.Loads of chinese restaurants around the hotel,felt safe walking at night compared to downtown hotels where there are homeless and drunkards everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.3
    Almost nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The behaviour of the staff. Particularly those to the reception when I was checking out. They seemed to joke me in an unprofessional way.

    Almost nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    This staff were very family friendly! Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! We loved everything about this hotel!

    Customer service was excellent, and the hotel was very clean, my family and I absolutely would stay there again! The best breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    nice hotel with nice staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a little concerned about the location but it ended up being a cool little place to stay. The parking was a bit sketchy.

    HIdden gem in the city .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    " I'd do it again"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The driveway leaving the parking garage is to steep. I almost hit a women at the top on the sidewalk.

    I liked the lay out of the hotel. I loved my room and would love to stay in that room for a month. I enjoyed the daily life around the hotel during my stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value for downtown stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Before checking in I called to ask if they could store our luggage while we waited for check-in time. They said yes but when I asked about the safety of our luggage they got offended. This was unnecessary. All they had to do was tell me the reasons why I shouldn't worry.

    The staff at breakfast was very nice and helpful. The maids were very friendly. The bedroom was clean and the bed was a king size -- which was nice. They had an elevator to get you to the upper floors -- nice! For breakfast, they had adequate accommodations for non-meat lovers. We are vegan. There were plenty of towels in the bedroom and hot water. They provided ear plugs even though we didn't need them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    From the fast checkin, to the beautiful rooms, to the amazing staff and breakfast, we loved it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautiful and clean. Breakfast buffet was awesome, considering it was complimentary. And the staff were really nice. Ana Canton, the older lady taking care of us at breakfast was the sweetest and most helpful staff I've experienced in a hotel. She really deserves recognition for how guests should be treated. We'll be back here for sure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with good customer service. The facilities were up to a good standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cable TV in room did not work properly.

    I received a free upgrade into one of the superior suites. The room had a reception area, two bathing areas in bathroom and a large king size bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Definitely a place you worth staying at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to restock the vending machine more often.

    The staff really care and made sure that our stay was a good one. They try to see to all your needs. The Dragon Inn is located in an easily accessible area, within walking distance of the center of Chinatown. If your not afraid the city bus and the Metro, the stops is close by and just about reaches a parts of LA. Everything you need is close by; restaurants and a small convenience store in the plaza and down the block. Parking is on site in the lower level; the attendant is really helpful and a really nice guy. The continental breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choices. Housekeeping was pleasant and they did a awesome job; they didn't miss a thing. In my honest opinion I would recommend the Dragon Inn to everyone looking for a great experience in Los Angeles. It's right next door to downtown, so everything is close by

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    The room was very spacious, really above our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area had a strange smell ( like toilet). Breakfast was very poor.

    The room was very spacious, really above our expectations. Quite area, right in China town, people are very nice and friendly. It is in downtown L.A., 10 km away from Hollywood walk of fame for example, but 19$ Uber ride worth it. On the day of the check-out we could print something we needed for free (you don't get that in Vegas for example). Waffles at breakfast were really good (pretty mich the only good thing abt the breakfast)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist at check-in is in desperate need of a refresher course in hospitality. Honestly can't recall ever meeting a ruder person. Was attending to a personal matter when we arrived and didn't even acknowledge us for 5 minutes. Had reserved a disability access room, the elevator was out of order and rather than offer assistance to get to 2nd floor room told us to just try the elevator "might be working now " When I questioned the safety she literally just walked away. My family just stood there looking at each other in disbelief

    Location was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Good price for the location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    *The supposedly free wifi didn't work. I was there from late (1:30am) until early morning start of business & so the fact that I couldn't get a quick check in on wifi (& had to call some external customer service, which did not resolve the issue) wasted me precious sleep time, while I was unable to accomplish what I needed to. *The room was mediocre and the shower panel was just a door with no glass next to it, so only somewhat enclosed.

    Good price for the location. Happy that there was a breakfast availabe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.7
    big and comfortable room but very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the parking taxes would be incluided in the room prize because it is so expensive. The hotel location doesn't have a good parkings next to the hotel. For me, room + parking is very expensive. You must pay room + taxes room + parking = a lot of money!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and friendly staff. Location great loved shopping and restaurants nearby was convenient. Es
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vending machines were empty. Staff suggested that a woman walk to the corner gas station at midnight for beverage alone. Gap under door was too big.

    Location and swap meet and Vang Chows around corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Best hotel experience in recent memory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have provided a (better) selection of tea in room and made the balcony more attractive.

    The room was big and tastefully decorated. Loved the king size bed, mini-fridge, and shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Did not want to leave the room all morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I did not like was that at the breakfast I found a german roach, and when I came back home I saw one crawl out of my bag. Gross.

    Did not want to leave the room all morning. Great beds pretty good breakfast. Really clean bathroom with nice shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Cool spot to stay in Chinatown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    The rooms were really clean and up to date. The location was perfect for hanging out it downtown LA. The staff was extremely friendly. The breakfast was impressive. I really felt comfortable there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Compact, comfortable hotel in Chinatown near Union Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in an urban area. Some of the nearby buildings are rundown, and some unfortunate souls live on the streets. I did not find it troubling to walk around at night but people not used to this might.

    This is a small hotel tucked into the heart of Chinatown. The facilities overall are compact but I did not find that this detracted from the experience. Check in is right inside the door. The staff was friendly and competent. Great family run Chinese restaurant right behind the hotel. The room was compact but everything was good quality and well arranged. I like rooms like this without a lot of ruffles but with a high quality desk chair. Window opens. The breakfast was above average for free breakfasts. It is close to Union Station and related places, and that is a huge plus for me as I do not drive in LA if I can possibly help it. You can get anywhere by train from Union Station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    5.8
    Thankfully we got a refund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Finding a tick in our bed. 2. Was on the phone several times trying to get WiFi support which never worked. We pick the property because it stated it had WiFi. 3. Hair dryer didn't work.

    The manager refunded our money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.1
    Good safe hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff enjoyed personal chatting with other customer while I was waiting. She should have made her personal conversation short and serve the next customer in line.

    Basement parking lot has a guard 24/7.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.2
    Awesome!!!!! I want to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the parking was free or a lot cheaper, saying that it's cheaper than $30 which other hotels charge.

    The rooms were a lot bigger than expected, pleasantly surpirsddd as we came with a 5 month old baby. The cleaners & the cafeteria staff (think Ana) were all amazing...oh & the front desk staffs too. Breakfast & parking was an added bonus!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    5.8
    Too noisy to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely noisy ! Impossible to sleep. It is located on a very busy street next to the freeway, so they need to improve this situation - double glass windows? if they want happy guests..

    The room was spacious as was the bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very nice and helpful especially the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy you could hear traffic outside foot traffic outside the door we just could not get a peaceful night sleep. The bed comfort was just average. The bathroom sink area was very small very tight quarters to get ready in.

    The staff was very nice and helpful especially the staff working the breakfast in the morning's. The breakfast area was very clean they even had trays made up with your plate and silverware on it they were very attentive

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't find anything I didn't like.

    The breakfast was good. Check in was pleasant and fast. Staff was nice including parking attendant. Rooms were nice and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.5
    Great stay, fresh modern rooms, awesome breakfast!
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways to the were rooms were a bit tohnight, hard to fit a dolly through especially when housekeepers equipment was in the way

    Complimentary breakfast a major plus, room and bathdoom had great modern design, the oriental decor made us was a great fit being in Chinatown

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Middle of lots of attractions perfect place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People in Chinatown are really rude and mean to your little ones that are curious

    Perfect spot to visit downtown LA famous alleys Market also Chinatown and Hollywood

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.9
    A nice comfortable place to stay but a little pricey.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was mediocre. There was construction going on when I was there but it wasn't to bad. Also, the ice machine was not working.

    The staff was very helpful and the rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Roll-in Shower - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were people in my room having a conversation and drinking coffee/tea - when I went in my room -right after check in which is very odd. When I expressed this to the front desk, it was dismissed.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    amazing service, location and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottlo close to buy a wine - 1st world problem though.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Good breaky too - both ladies exceptionally friendly and helpful. great service and coffee.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Charming old hotel, with modern rooms
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is actually a short walk from City Hall and the Music Center downtown. However, very few people walk it (being California I guess). I walked it after 10:00 P.M. and felt quite unsafe on the overpass and in the part before you get into Chinatown because it was so deserted. I also felt a little unsafe coming into Chinatown Station after 10:00 P.M. UBER is $5.95 from the Music Center (Dorothy Chandler Pavilion/Walt Disney Concert Hall).

    The rooms were large and had a modern, clean feel to them. The staff, the front desk clerks, the cleaners, and the breakfast people, were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Buses to downtown, stop across the street from the hotel. It is a short walk to Union Station, which is quite handy if you are going to or from the airport on FlyAway, or using the Metro Trains. Metro Train stop Chinatown Station for the orange line is right around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice and Pleasant stay in Chinatown
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did like the cost for parking and we had to leave before the free breakfast and were not offered anything at time of leaving. A few bit noisy guests.

    Very Clean, front desk guy was nice and pleasant. Parking garage was convenient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    The comfort and cleanliness of the room were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast food could have been better quality

    The comfort and cleanliness of the room were great. Plus the location being so close to Dodger stadium was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    Chinatown stay for Dodger baseball outing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the room seemed dim...a good lamp by the nice chair and hassock would have made it a good reading chair. A luggage rack would have been nice to have. Real food meant a walk around to Broadway (also where the touristy shops for fun were) or down a couple blocks....we arrived late first night and missed dinner, as Grandma with grandson not comfortable walking after 9 dark, looking for food.

    Was a good close location for us attending Dodger baseball...but too far uphill to walk to stadium. Clean rooms, the updated bathroom was very nice. Good towels and linens. Liked that there were REAL boiled eggs at breakfast. Wi-Fi worked very well. Staff helpful about calling Taxi's for us....though an option is a bus to nearby Union Station and catch a free shuttle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.5
    It serves our purpose , prepare to manage your food needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no recent food places around . We found a Louisiana food place after a few minutes walk. All around Chinese food which we do not like. The coffee machine was not working for two days and it seems like it was just left unattended.

    Rooms are cleaned and comfi. The breakfast is basic and no complains. We picked the hotel because it was near the place we have to take a bus tour and return; for that purpose it was ideal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    Overall a good hotel to stay in the city on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is so slow it sometimes drove us crazy plus the walls are very thin and you can hear everything your neighbors do...

    Overall a good hotel to stay in the city on a budget

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.3
    Clean spacious room was a pleasant surprise. Excellence in hospitality service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't stay longer

    Staff was informative and professional. We were provided with excellent referrals to restaurants and entertainment venues. We opted to extend our stay an additional night and were very pleased with the hotel and its exceptional staff. We we highly recommend choosing the Best Western Plus Dragon Gates for hotel accommodations to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    It was just one night and it was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-in Shower - Non-Smoking/Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was unimaginative and there was no fresh juice

    The hotel was conveniently located for downtown and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    I like the breakfast an the view was nice to.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't have smoking rooms

    I like the breakfast an the view was nice to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Good bed and nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit noise from outside of the door, but not to bad.

    Good bed and nice room. Serviceminded staff. Short walk to the metro. Parking in basement

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay if you’re catching a Dodgers game, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay if you’re catching a Dodgers game, nice rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near 301 flat there is a noise all night. It looks like a machine turn on and turn out.

    This is the 6th time I return there. It is excelent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    perfect for solo travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little further from main city

    amazing breakfast amazing room helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: