Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Grant Park Hotel 3 stars

1100 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago Loop, Chicago, IL 60605, USA

#138 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1294 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Satisfactory overall ,the position of the hotel makes up for the miserable receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our original room was next to the hotels air con unit which was running continuously.We asked to be moved and at first were we told there were none available..Not very helpful,and miserable attitude.However, the other receptionist was entirely the opposite and found a room in a matter of seconds.

    The location was fantastic and close to public transport.Easy to get to fromO'Hare airport and a direct line from midway airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Loved the location, the staff was great, very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room drove my allergies crazy, I'm allergic to mold and mildew. Each morning I woke up and my ears and throat was hurting, my eyes was watery. It didn't have a refrigerator or microwave.

    Loved the location, the staff was great, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Liked location and cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator or microwave in room and no free breakfast that I’m used to at best western. Air conditioner worked but made a junking sound after each cycle. I told them when I was checking out and they’re going to fix

    Liked location and cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Rooms not entirely wheelchair accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not accessible for my daughter's wheelchair. Even after I contacted them 3 times and gave them measurements, my daughter did not have access to the beds.

    Clean. Friendly helpful staff. Convenient location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    Nothing more than a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small, old, outdated rooms. Housekeeping began knocking on our door beginning at 9:15 am and woke everyone up (check out was noon). She knocked separate 3 times before we left at 11.

    Valet parking was nice, though it took a long time to get our car at check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    The location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows to small, the elevators made noise, restaurant slow and weird, parking $52 per day! sofa bed mattress was very thin and spring stuck out, no breakfast!

    The location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    I liked that it was close to attractions and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access/Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there were no parking and it cost so much to park

    I liked that it was close to attractions and restaurants. I also liked that the hotel was clean and the employees were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Close to tourist attractions and a close walk to shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit dated & noisy during the night. No fridge in our room to keep water cold.

    Close to tourist attractions and a close walk to shops and restaurants. Friendly and very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Great for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No mini fridge. Walls are very thin. A lot of people speaking very loudly at night (always past 10 pm). No executive or meeting room.

    Nice room and good beds. Super clean, and very nice housekeeping personnel. Trader's Joe very close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    It was on the pricey side for what you are getting. It was really just OK for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise, A few things like construction right behind the hotel and you usual city noise is out of their control, but the heater/ac unit was crazy loud specially when starting up. Also there was a constant noise coming from the ventilation system in the hallways. Also the most exercise equipment was broken.

    Location is great for our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Staff was very friendly, location is perfect, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect :)

    Staff was very friendly, location is perfect, close to Roosevelt metro station, where you can easily take the orange line to Midway Airport or to the other side of the loop. Good restaurants and shops (e.g. Walgreens) are close to the hotel. Room was also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    It was a good stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The handle on the shower was a little broken. You had to push in and turn to make the water come out when you should just be able to turn the handle for that. Sometimes I would turn the handle and nothing would come out. There was “a trick” you had to do to get it to work. But it wasn’t the most terrible thing in the world.

    Staff was really nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    A most pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great view from bedroom, bed very comfortable, safe available for valuables, very convenient for use of the Loop rail connection. Very pleasant and helpful staff on duty at Reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioning unit and bathroom vent.

    Good value for the money! Perfect central location close to everything Nice rooms and great beds Nice and helpful staff Good wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Great spot, comfy bed, great room staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was $52 a night - bit of a stretch but that was it

    Great spot, comfy bed, great room staff were great On our honeymoon and was one of the best rooms we had

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Won't be staying here again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv's are Outdated (i.e. can't use Fire stick in HDMI ports). Bathrooms need paint job & Outside Windows need to be cleaned. Unless you use Overpriced Valet Parking, Self Parking is 2 blocks away (& Don't expect any Parking Assistance from Staff).

    Location was excellent (directly across from Grant Park). Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Soldier Field Stadium were easy walks from here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Hotel was not good . Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty! We had half roll of toilet paper. Very old and dirty . Cold water for shower Sunday morning. Peeling paint in shower

    Location close to shedd aquarium.very good customer. Service at desk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    It would have been fine if it was $50-$70 less a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt like it was overpriced for the accommodations. I went with Best Western because I thought I knew what I was getting but this location lacks many of the ammenities all other Best Westerns I've stayed in had such as complimentary breakfast, a refrigerator and microwave in the room. In addition, the heating system is terribly noisy and goes on and off about every two minutes. Also, our first day there housekeeping came in and tore apart the beds and left it that way. I hadn't asked for the sheets to be changed. There were blankets and sheets everywhere. When I called the front desk to report it they asked me what it was I needed for them to do and I had to literally tell them to call their housekeeping staff to remake the beds and finishing cleaning the room. They had left rags as well! It was a bit odd.

    This hotel is in a great location, across the street from the museum campus at Grant Park close to restaurants, Trader Joes and the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more amenities like fridge in the room or pool at the hotel. Room & bathroom very small in both rooms we rented

    Very nice staff. Doorman that worked on evening of 4-4-18 was extremely helpful & went extra mile to help us & recommend local attractions & restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice, but next time I’ll take the train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. I was under the impression the hotel covered parking. Not the case. You do have to either valet or self park 5 min away in a garage.

    I like the location of the hotel. There was some construction going on next door but other than that the neighborhood was great. Awesome deli within a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff at average facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HVAC was loud & old. Remodel missed a few things. Cold air came through the wall of windows, but this is Chicago.

    Staff at the front desk...superb! Very kind & helpful. Best part of stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location next to the museum campus and South Loop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ceiling above my shower was in disrepair and the water would not stop running out of the faucet.

    Great location next to the museum campus and South Loop. Hotel is about what you would expect for the price point.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Very clean hotel with friendly staff, i was in Chicago...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel with friendly staff, i was in Chicago attending a conference over there in mccormick place so the hotel was already connected to that llace but little bit away from the centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unexpectedly great. It's on Michigan Avenue and near to a CTA train station. Bus stop is across the street and the routes are also very convenient. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.0
    Very noisy, bring earplugs!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotelroom was very noisy. I slept very poorly for three days due to noise from the street and inside the hotel. The heater was also very noisy and switched on in the middle of the night to do a anti-freeze cycle. Also the heater did not work. When I dropped something on the Floor and checked under the bed Where it was I found several items from previous guests.

    Nice restaurant attached to it with friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    I would probably stay t
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no refrigerator in the room. The price per day for the valet parking was high.

    The manager and staff were very friendly and courious. Issues were immediately handled.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a $52 per day charge for parking with valet service that should probably just be included in the room charge. The facilities are fairly basic, but clean and comfortable. We had two small children with us, which made the room feel small, but again, everything was clean and comfortable. Even with the parking/valet charge, the room was a good value.

    The room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Museum Campus, and there were numerous dining options close by as well. The valet service was efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear everything going on in the rooms next to us. Made the experience less relaxing than hoped.

    Great view. Close to the loop. Valet parking at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    I was able to get a fridge in my room at no extra charge.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no microwave available to guests. One of the beds in my room was very lopsided, but thankfully I didn't need it.

    I was able to get a fridge in my room at no extra charge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    Hotel was fine. Disappointed couldn't get more help with customer service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was booking rooms for business travel and accidentally double booked room. Staff was unwilling/ unable to help reschedule room/ cancel reservation.

    Location is great. Staff is attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.4
    The room I live is not wind proof, I always feel so cold,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I live is not wind proof, I always feel so cold, and the window heater keep kicking on time by time, noisy, when I turn it off, the cold wind come in from some where, feel so cold. ROOM 316

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, Price, Staff super nice. I really liked this place>great for me
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    AC was loud and room a bit hot, had to turn it off, soundproofing was not amazing garbage trucks woke me up a couple of times

    the room was quite comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access/Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a no frills hotel, but a good value for the price.

    We arrived into town several hours before check-in. My husband was not feeling well so I called to see if they could take us early. They found us a room and he was able to take a much needed nap before our son's volleyball match.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.0
    Great location but heating system meant sleepless night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating unit on room 1 didntwork and only blew cold air plus could not be turned off so switched rooms. Second room had heating working but as soon as it reached key room temp it would blow cold and the return to heating later with loud rattling and roaring as it sputtered to life. We didnt sleep a wink as non of the units could be turned off

    When we needed to change rooms after a fault with the heating they quickly sent staff member to us with new key rather than us having to return to reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable beds;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have offered free bottle of water and bedroom slippers just like in Best Western Hotel in Hongkong

    Very comfortable beds; Staff especially the guy named Loreto were very helpful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Great View. Close to Shedd, Field Museum and Planetarium.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room. Very spacious. Close to Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Planetarium - Which was perfect for our stay! The view was amazing too! Great price for location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    The room was a great value for the money and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access/Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a great value for the money and a great location. They even upgraded the room for free since it was my birthday! Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    All in all, I loved this hotel. The location was great because it was close to all the attractions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the doors of the hotel room. They were tough to close, and made loud noises whenever I tried to shut them. Same went for all the other doors I guess, because they made sounds whenever entered their room.

    I loved how my hotel room faced the park - and the windows were huge so I could see the view from my room. That may be a minus for some people, but I usually love huge windows so this was a huge plus for me. I also asked for a recommendation for deep dish pizza, and they said Lou Malnati's. There is one not far from the hotel, and they gave me a little referral code that gave me a free cookie pizza with ice cream or bruschetta. I totally loved the cookie pizza.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    It was a place to sleep that was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not the hotel's fault but our room was above the front entrance. There was street construction and a big sheet of metal on the street where cars went over. It was loud and went on all night. I thought it was thundering at times. There was cold air coming in from the window even though the curtains were shut.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    This is a great place to stay that offers amenities and location for a very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were portions of the ceiling around the windows that were not spackled and painted. It looked like there might have been a water leak. Also, there was no refrigerator ~ appeared to have been taken out. The only other item was beyond their control. There was construction next door.

    The staff is the most friendly crew I have had the pleasure speaking to. They were extremely professional and very accommodating. The room was clean, and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Beds are really comfortable, there’s a complimentary coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no mini fridge at the room, so the hotel kinda obligates you to have breakfast at their restaurant and it’s not the best and as everything in chicago, is quite expensive! The complimentary coffee was replaced at our room, but not the sugar, etc!

    Beds are really comfortable, there’s a complimentary coffee at the room, the air conditioning and heating work fine, shower is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Had an awesome time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need an indoor pool. Especially when kids are there for more than one day and weather is bad outside.

    Loved the view. Especially watching the sunrise on Lake Michigan from my room. Staff was friendly. Price was good. Everything was walking distance. Would definitely come again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Everything was awesome overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need an indoor pool. Kids definitely wanted to swim and they ended up sad they had to keep their swimming suits in their luggage.

    View was great, price was good, staff was very helpful, friendly. Loved how the park, lake, museums, Shedd Aquarium were very close. Everything was walking distance. Weather wasn’t bad for being November. Would definitely come again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Staff were friendly, helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were flat, felt like you didn’t have any and the toilet paper felt like sandpaper.

    Staff were friendly, helpful. Rooms were clean. Great location for a lot of activities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    4.6
    My reservation was for a king suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel like the whole situation was not what I booked. Disappointed.

    My reservation was for a king suite. I didnt get a suite, only a king bed. The bed was very uncomfortable. Then they promised a fridge, but we never got it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    The Best Western was very clean, comfortable and everyone was very friendly. Will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint was the doors were so heavy that they slammed every time someone went in and out.

    It was conveniently located to our desired destination. The restaurant was amazing, food and service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    great experience
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is conveniently located near the conference that I attended (McCormick Place). The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Great location in the South Loop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access/Non Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater/ac old and loud couldn't sleep straight. Furniture old and room smells humid.

    Last minute decided to have a trip to Chicago. So it was one of chepeast I've found. Location Quite far from the center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    I would add a little snack area I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking! $50 per night is outrageous. I was able to park in a lot a couple of blocks away for $12-24 (depending on how long I was going to park the car) but it was also POURING, so while I was able to find affordable parking, i was drenched by the time I got to the hotel

    The staff was very friendly and the rooms were nice. The location was perfect for visiting my daughter at Columbia

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent except for the bad checking in experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception we got from the female staff was frosty and cold. The staff member did not want to engage with us and would not make eye contact. We tried the pay our account in full on arrival with our debit card and they would not accept it. Some advice when traveling throughout America - They DO NOT like Debit Cards as there is no name on the card, only the card number.

    The hotel was very comfortable, rooms clean, bathroom acceptable and the TV was great as we got all channels and the reception didn't die on us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Central location - worked really well with our group as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No refrigeration and pot for boiling water in the room. It takes a while before hot water comes out of the shower. Service in the restaurant was below par.

    Central location - worked really well with our group as we were there for the Chicago Marathon. Millennium and Grant parks are well within walking dis trance. Train stiation is also nearby. Close to the theaters, museums and restaurants (deep-dish pizza legends!!!). Front desk staff were helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    2.9
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same answer i didnt like much,

    Not much, the clogs at tub, no fridge( but the space was there to have one) no offer???? No shuttle No prepare to welcome runners with Bank of America event every year!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Best Western Grant is the economical and cool place to Park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To move to perfect only required a breakfast room but hey, this is the US of A food and a coffee besides the one in your room is no problem. Actually we used oats in a pot and boiled water along with banana and orange from nearby Trader Joe's to set us up until we got DownTown. Do ascend Willis Tower and /or John Hancock's. Get a Ventra card to travel on Loop, buses and an $8 one way water taxi to see the skyscrapers from the Chicago River.

    BW Grant is a great location. Very comfortable and welcoming. Tracy and her staff, especially Raymond who meets you at the door then tells you the best places to eat, including breakfast (no breakfast service at the Grant - the only draw back but not an issue for a big city hotel). Raymond suggest several for our evening meal on Wabash. He also told us about the bus 1 that stops across South Michigan that at peak times takes you down town to Union Station and stops out the door on return. The 29 bus on State Street, two blocks left takes you to Navy Pier and 126 up the Michigan shoreline. Roosevelt Loop is easy walk too. Across from the hotel Grant Park itself and then to the museums and the shoreline - great of an evening with Willis Tower and a sunset backdrop. Chicago is truly a wonderful town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.7
    Good location and modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other front desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful almost like they are forced to assist you. The beds were the most uncomfortable and the pillows.

    Octavio the duty manager and lareto the baggage assistant. Quiet good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    the staff was very helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the view from my room was to a construction site just across the hotel. when i oped the curtains i did NOT feel comfortable at all.

    the staff was very helpfull. the room was big. the bed was comfortable. great shower too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    The staff was welcoming and were respectful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with 2 double beds, as stated in my confirmation email. Once I got to the hotel, the receptionist insisted that I booked a king suite. It wasn't the end of ur world, as long as we had a bed. So I didn't care to keep insisting that she was wrong. Once we got to the room, the pull out bed was not made and the cushions were on the floor. The pool that was advertised looked like it has not been used for months and was not filled. Pretty sketchy and not worth the $280 we paid.

    The staff was welcoming and were respectful. They were very busy when we checked in and when we checked out. They seemed stressed with the other customers they were helping, but were polite and kind to me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is very small You had to ask for a fridge? I mean who does that anymore ??? Seemed very old school and an annoyance for the price of one nights stay with parking

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    I would use this location again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor issue was size of elevators. six people with bags max..

    The lady who checked us in was very friendly and recommended places in see while in town. I wish I could remember her name.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location and price, but a bit rundown and not the cleanest as well as organisational issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After quoting my name (from passport) and booking number multiple times the front desk staff couldn't find our booking from booking.com and since it was too late in the evening to do anything else we had to accept getting a room with a different (more expensive) rate. This was eventually sorted and we got a refund, but only after we complained to booking.com which confirmed the booking was sent to the hotel and requested they refund us the difference. Rooms are also fairly dated and not the cleanest. I suffer from dust mite allergies and wouldn't recommend it to follow allergy sufferers as there is quite a bit of old and dirty carpet and furniture in the room.

    Convenient location next to the Grant Park, within walking distance most downtown sights, and with good public transport links in the area. We also go a fairly reasonable rate compared to other downtown Chicago hotels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Stay was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No availability of breakfast included. Pillows not comfortable AC very noisey when kicking on about every 8-10 minutes.

    Picked this hotel due to location of family and the ability to walk to many attractions. Would have preferred breakfast included. Was not available through Booking.com

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Touring Chicago was interesting , awesome , delightful, intriguing & exciting !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that it bothered me personally because I went strictly for sightseeing so the hotel is a perfect base for that , however for someone that is looking for a Hotel with extra amenities for relaxing this Best Western location does not yet have that , the outside pool that was once here is not going to be reopened but plans are in place to replace that with a relaxing lounge are which will really extend the amenities in the future 😀👍👌

    The lady at reception called Amena was extrodinary , her advise & guidance was amazing , I was so blessed to receive her help --- Thank you 😇 The on site Restaurant is delightful especially for breakfast , the food is good , the service is great & if breakfast is included in your room rate well then it is a gem ! I loved my room , extremely comfortable with everything I needed , a true home away from home 😀👍👌 What a super location for sightseeing & transit connections , I navigated my way around to all the sights and sounds easily and had a delightful holiday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect spot to stay to visit the museums and aquarium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A/C was very loud and windows were dirty.

    The room was very clean. The bathroom was spotless. We felt very comfortable in the room. The restaurant on the first floor was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Ecxeptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of a difficulty in closing and opening the room door. This could have been avoided. But the excellent service received made up for that wee bit of inconvenience.

    The staff were very friendly - from the Receptionists to the House Cleaning staff. We felt at home! The room was always very clean. Someone was always available to assist with any queries we had relating to getting around Chicago.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    excellent service, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We passed by the hotel twice as there are no street level signs. Parking was ok, several options, we chose public parking next door as it was less expensive than the hotel valet and more secure with less hassle than street parking.

    Excellent location, very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice and have been updated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Close to some nice attractions, also easy transportation access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our window wasn't too nice, but we didn't stay in much.

    The staff was very nice and helpful..very friendly. Our hostess Erica was exceptional!! What a sweetheart!! Rooms were clean and comfy. When we return we will be staying with you again. Thanx-a-bunch!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    I loved it the hotel is one that i will only rent when staying in chicago no other hotels for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Lake View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    I love best westren grant park hotel its my only hotel i will rent in chicago i love the staff i love the room are so clean quiet a just my all time farvotie hotel in chicago

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Very nice. We would definitely return to this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our über promo given to us by the staff was not applicable to our first ride.

    The front desk staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. We loved the ice cold flavoured water at the front desk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    This hotel and its location made my stay almost 'heaven on earth'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have loved to have a small microwave oven and fridge to store and heat up leftovers taken to the room. The food is so tasty you don't want to just throw it away.

    I liked the opportunity to have breakfast and dinner inside the hotel and the quick attention given to concerns. The staff was attentive and kind. The restaurant personnel was professional and patient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel easy access from public transport to get into and out of downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The additional local taxes considerably added to the headline price quoted by booking.com and as they were a total of 17.5 % meant the bill was circa $100 more than I had budgeted for . It was in the booking . Com small print so I'd missed it . Nevertheless making the total price applicable clearer would be more helpful when booking

    Good room facilities and coffee shop in same building for good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel for a reasonable price in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and there was still a lot of construction going on. Parking was not the easiest, but that's typical for Chicago.

    The property has recently been renovated, but is still a little dated. Rooms are nice, but pretty small. The staff, though, was very friendly and helpful. Wifi was quick and the location is fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a pool. i didn't read the fine print.

    Nice affordable hotel. 30 minutes to state street. Grant park, the aquarium, and the natural history museum a few minutes away. Two great breakfast joints outside of the hotel. Fitness room adequate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location for Museum Campus and downtown area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no swimming pool available during construction and the noise of jackhammers during the week.

    The location of the hotel was within walking distance to the Field Museum and Shedd Aquarium. The room was very clean and the view from our room was amazing! We had a view of Grant Park, skyline and Navy Pier. Staff was very accommodating with our request for an upper floor room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Location, easy access to public transports and metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel window isn't well isolated that noise came into the room from busy streets.. there is no good sattelite TV channels and no paid TV available...

    Location, easy access to public transports and metro...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Mostly excellent
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the bathroom because there was more coffee grinds than coffee itself.

    Basically everything! Did not hit up the gym because I was there for Lollapalooza.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    View of city and location to attractions
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No link to savings on museum discounts when booking on booking.com got there and could've saved money getting in field museum and parking.

    View of city and location to attractions

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: