Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3 stars

4041 Harney Street, Old Town, San Diego, CA 92110, USA

#99 of 226 hotels in San Diego

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 757 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    We love old town San Diego!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fiancé & his friends went up to get their free breakfast in the morning. They were sent back down to the front desk to receive a voucher. The guest service representative did not give them a voucher upon check in. They almost missed out on their free breakfast! Make sure you get a voucher before you’re done checking in!

    We love old town San Diego! There’s so many shops & touristy areas around town. We did the trolley tour & got to stop at 10 different locations without having the headache of trying to find parking. We also did the Whaley House tour & my fiancé & his friends did a tour at a brewery!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing at the Plaza level with everything close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does not apply since everything was great.

    The whole experience was great. The front office staff most accommodating and friendly. Tequilas was great. Coupons sure helped and the convenience to purchase trolley tickets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Was in good location for public transport for buses, trains...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is an older looking hotel that could possibly be given an update to rooms, but then again it is in "Old Town" so fits in the surroundings. Wi fi kept dropping out.

    Was in good location for public transport for buses, trains and trolly once we worked out the way it all worked. Was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location for Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to number of buildings, we'd get lost in facility..You'd get an elevator and end up in an unfamiliar area but people were friendly and helpful.

    Great location for Old Town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only setback. Water pressure at the hotel is a little weak.

    Great place to stay. Location awesome. Right near old town. Good walking for those how enjoy it. The hotel restaurant had a wonderful view of the city and bay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer. Next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything

    This motel is next to Old Town which is a hub for Hop On-Hop Off trolley, Amtrak, City bus and electric Trolley. Good food in the area. The Property is beautiful and many room have ocean views, rooms are large and everything is very clean. Friendly staff. Plan to stay here again. We arrived by Amtrak to the Old Town station. Made life very easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Better then expected and I/we can't wait to stay again, extend our visit next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vending machine took money without dispensing product, but only lost $5.00.

    Food, atmosphere, views, location were all wonderful. The bed was so comfortable and linens soft and warm. AC/Heating was pleasant and wonderful service. Check-in and out was easy and efficient. Honestly look forward to a repeat stay and have shared with family and friends to include in their travels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    The view was phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ran out of facial tissues and there was no backup stocked. In-room coffee cups were badly chipped. Parking is cramped and limited, but we were always able to find a space. Breakfast buffet ran out of coffee and did not replenish it.

    The view was phenomenal. Staff were all friendly and courteous. The room was clean and well-kept. We were in Building 6 - at the top - but access to stairs and elevators was quite convenient. The atmosphere and décor was Old Spanish and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel, perfect weather...perfect trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure was a little funky...

    The staff - "Marites" was especially gracious and helpful! The location - perfect! The room spacious, clean and perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    The pool and laundry facilities were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    finding our way around the hotel and taking 3 different elevators to get to our room was a challenge. The elevators were not well marked the the buttons did not light up to indicate where you were.

    The pool and laundry facilities were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC leaked. Parking $19. No sofa bed as promised. Rollaway was dusty. Black mold/ dirt on top of tile in shower. No extra toilet paper. Had to use Kleenex stain on sheets

    Great location. Friendly staff. Free kids meals and comp drinks. Gave comp rollaway due to sofa bed not avail. Early check in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.0
    It was at the right location for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofabed and Kitchenette - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not real comfortable, too hard. The check in experience was not what I expected. I thought I had gotten two of the same type rooms. We arrived early, about 10 am and was told the room was not ready. When check on the rooms was told the rooms were not the same. One was a king suite and the other was a king room, the rooms were in two different blogs. We spent some time in town and about 3:30 or so checked on the rooms. Found out the king suite room was ready and the other room was a room with a queen bed. When asked about why I was not getting the room I was promised the response was the king rooms were not ready and that is why it was changed. They then said I could have rooms 700 and 703 in bldg 7. This was what I thought I was getting when I made the reservation originally. I then asked about breakfast and was told it was not included. It was only included with AAA rooms. On my reservation it said breakfast was included. I was not happy but let it go. We usually stay at the Best western hacienda when in old town but based on this I will look at other hotels when planning my next visit. Would not think of doing this before but based on this experience I will consider other options.

    It was at the right location for us. Always stay here when in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel grounds and great restaurant/bar on property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the fact that I had to pay $19 per night for parking because I booked through a 3rd party website like Booking.com. I was shocked to see a sign in the front of the lobby indicating that parking was $5 some days and $12 other days but if I was staying the night at the hotel, I had to pay the higher rate. I was not happy with that and the hotel wouldn't do anything about it because of how I had booked the room.

    The Hotel is right in Old Town with all the shops and restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the staff is super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with great Old Town San Diego location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although very new, the toilet was very low (would prefer chair height toilet). There was only one small swimming pool for many guests.

    Excellent location; very close, walking distance to Old Town shops and restaurants. Easy access to freeways; downtown; Hotel Circle shopping and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful; excellent onsite parking was available (for extra fee). Our room was very large with two comfortable Queen beds; had high ceilings and large bathroom. We are planning to stay here again in the near future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    This historic property is well maintained be friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complex is multi levels with elevators and steps. Anyone with mobility issues should let the hotel know so their room can accommodate

    Location is spectacular with wonderful views and things to do close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    The style of hotel was great but parking was horrible not...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking parking parking

    The style of hotel was great but parking was horrible not enough parking for building 6 we had to park by the restaurant and walk and take stairs take take elevators and stairs again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Property is beautiful and immaculately maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is beautiful and immaculately maintained. Front desk staff is very friendly and they work hard to make sure you get the room you want. All staff greets you or at least gives a smile. I've stayed here many times and have not been disappointed. The location in Old Town is very convenient to shopping, restaurants and public transportation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Old Town San Diego Weekend Get Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautiful , clean and rich on old California history .

    Loved this beautiful hotel . It felt so old California and well maintained . Close to all the shops and dining .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    would probably not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was dirty and not heated. Walls in room were not clean. The air conditioning unit was right next to the bed resulting in cold air to be blow right on you at night-bad design. When neighbors next door were using their shower, it was very loud in our room as if they were using our bathroom. Cost of parking is high for guest.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    This is one of my favorite hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are lots of steps to drag your suitcase up and down, but it is the price for having an awesome hillside view.

    This hotel is in an incredible location! You can park and walk to everything. The trolley is nearby and you can hop on and be in downtown San Diego in minutes. There are lots of great restaurants within steps.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed the pool after going to the Fair in Del Mar.. on Sunday.. I would like to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was odd getting to the room from all the stairs and the elevators. we had a difficult time because we are both over 70 and the stairs were difficult especially when were taking our bags in .

    lots of room in the room, quiet, good view.. great beds.. the check in person told our grand daughter Sarah happy birthday and gave her a bag of chocolates when we checked in .. that was unexpected..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    My favorite place in san diego
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more tissue boxes in the room and a small table on the patios. I am happy for the view and private patios with chairs.

    Beautiful Spanish style property and flowers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Fun filled weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The definition of deluxe room versus large room was not clear on booking.com, so best to call the hotel directly!

    The room we stayed in was not as described on booking.com, it was a smaller room. However the location made up for it! Great hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Hotel was fantastic! Great location and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was great. Service was slow in seating. Waited a hood 5 minutes at the entrance before anyone noticed we were there and seated us. Waited quite while again to order a drink. Long wait for the drink to arrive to order our meal. Food was great though !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Pros and cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property could use some room remodeling in bathroom. The wall tile and shower curtains should be replaced to make it a little more modern. I get the hacienda feel, but that tile style looks ugly. First room we stayed in the shower curtain was torn in three places and fridge made horrible sound all night. My husband finally figured out to tilt the fridge because is was uneven and vibration on the tile was making the noise. Staff also should thoroughly check towels before placing in rooms for hair caught in cloth before placing them for use, super nasty discovery. 😬😑😵Don’t want to have to pack towels from home for trip.

    Love location is the best! Staff is so friendly and accommodating! We always return to this property for these reasons. The rooms are good overall. The grounds are very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable convenient stay in San Diego!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the rooms were very clean, however we saw some areas in our room that could have been better. Like the door its self was a little dirty. Otherwise is is very clean elsewhere.

    The staff was friendly, the rooms were nice and big too. The location is ideal for exploring Old Town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    It was a very pleasant surprise. We’ll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could of have stayed longer.

    It was beautiful. There was a restaurant on site and several others nearby. The location was perfect for visiting Old Town. We also took the trolley tour of San Diego which was conveniently located only a block away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    OK if you're looking for location rather than amenities and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet in the bedroom smelled musty and the windows don't have screens to allow fresh, Southern California air as an option to a one-speed (fast) ceiling fan. One door card key never worked and the other stopped functioning properly on the second day (we were told at check out that the batteries in the card reader were probably low, hence it taking multiple tries to unlock the door.)

    While the location was perfect for Old Town San Diego, the hotel is in need of a serious makeover. Low-end quality bedding, but the room does have a security safe and a fairly large mini-fridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Loved the hotel location but now that we know the limitations we know what to expect if we return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's located on a hill with multiple buildings so there are a lot of stairs and hills to walk depending on the location of the room. Garage parking is an extra charge and somewhat limited. "Bayview" certainly had the bay off in the distance but there was also a freeway in between so there was a surprising amount of freeway noise. Two to three days prior to arrival I sent messages to the hotel via booking.com message system as well as left a voicemail on the hotel's direct number; never received a response to my questions/request. When we arrived, the check-in associate tried to make the situation right and gave us certificates for the breakfast buffet at the Tequila Factory. Unfortunately, we missed the important detail that the breakfast buffet ends at 9am on the weekends. We showed up at 9:20. After first being told "sorry" by the staff, a supervisor stopped us as we were leaving and offered us the American breakfast of eggs and bacon. We were anticipating terrific Mexican food for breakfast so we decided to go elsewhere.

    Great location in the heart of Old Town San Diego. Clean room and we appreciated having a refrigerator. A lot to do, see, and eat within walking distance but be aware that the hotel is on a hill and the rooms are spread out among multiple buildings so there are a lot of stairs or uphill walking depending on where your room is located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    We will not stay at this hotel again. We will return to the Western Inn whenever we visit SD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we checked out we got a $95.00 credit on our bill. Later that day a $95.00 charge was added which I was told was for parking. I was told they did not see a credit on the bill they were looking at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Ideal to visit the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell from the restaurant over the site. The airport is close and you can hear the planes taking off. Although there are lifts there are a lot of steps on the hilly site

    The hotel is located right in the centre of the old town.. The trolley tours round the city start one block away. Parking is available under the hotel but expensive. There are restaurants around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    We had fun at old towne activities and restaurants but hotel was a let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sliding door doesn’t lock. Pillows are too soft ( neck pain). Room walls are too shallow or thin noise and movements from next room are heard loudly. Lacking elevators or escalators from building to building most specially if you come from streets.

    Location from the main busy street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    I was offered points as compensation but I am hesitant to stay at Best Western again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thermostat in room could not be altered beyond 5 degrees, 1/4 beds did not have a comforter on it and thus we were very cold. 1/2 rooms was not ready at 4:00.

    Beautiful building, staff seemed like they were trying to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    The employees were very kind and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was tired, beat up, and felt dirty. Walls and furniture had dings and gauges. Bedspread was dirty and had snags. Our 1st impression was here was grafitti etched into the elevator. The bed was super uncomfortable. I did even use a pillow because I didn't know how clean it was going to be. I was so uncertain of the cleanliness, I wanted to sleep in my car but that would have been too hard on my elderly mother. The chain on the fan kept knocking on the fan all night and to top it all off just when I finally dozed off....a train went by at 12:28 am blowing it's whistle very loud! The property us very large and CONFUSING! We kept walking around and around to find the restaurant.... And after dinner we couldn't find our way back to the room. We checked in at 10pm....we were gone at 7:30am. It was SUPER OVERPRICED!!! $200 for a dumpy room

    The employees were very kind and courteous. The security walking around at night was very polite and kind. The bartender in the restaurant was very kind. They cant help it the facility they work at is run down, poorly maintained, and Waaaaay Overpriced!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Wretched.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was truly disgusting. Nasty bedding. Nasty carpet. Something straight out of the seedy hotel genre.

    The location was great and the grounds themselves were cool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Big comfy beds and lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and a bit noisy as the rooms all front onto a covered which other guests walk past.

    Big comfy beds and lots of space. Lovely pool and other outside sitting areas. Free airport shuttle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Nice room but no WiFi was a disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofabed and Kitchenette - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi did not work during our stay. Staff looked at it but could not fix the problem. We were disappointed with their efforts!

    Room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Great family vacation. Hotel with fantastic layout and loccation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could have checked in sooner....but I appreciate the room being nice and clean so it really wasn't a problem.

    I loved the layout. I felt like I was in a village. I especially liked the location, being just next door to Old Town was fantastic. I thought overall, the hotel was beautiful. One of my favorite places!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    My new favorite place to stay in San Diego!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I honestly can't think of anything!

    Everything was wonderful at this hotel, I was really impressed with it and my family and I will definitely come back. I especially would like to mention Daisy Carrillo. She helped us check in and was so helpful and nice it really started our vacation out on the right track. She made sure we had a beautiful room that was perfect for us and asked questions to make sure that we got just what we wanted! I have never had that experience at any hotel before and it really impressed me and my family!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location. Very quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to navigate within the property. Better signage would be appreciated.

    Perfect location in old town. Very quaint with fountains and vegetation. Nice pool. Convenient parking lot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Looking forward to our next stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, we definitely loved the views. Very quiet, and relaxing place. The staff was helpful, and friendly. Will definitely come back again!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    The location in relation to the shopping abd restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed at this hotel before and was disappointed with the comfort of the beds and room verall. The room was next to the street and we were woken up early by the trash pick up noise practically next to our room. The walls were so thin that we could hear every step taken by the guests upstairs all night long. Not to mention the parking— super tight and inconvenient.

    The location in relation to the shopping abd restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice getaway for my wife and I. more expensive than deal quoted after all taxes and fees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view could have been better than someone’s messy backyard. After all fees and taxes added in, it was like $60 more than originally quoted for the deal

    Nice room, beautiful grounds and closeness to old town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location and very quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not very up to date, shower was difficult to 'manage '

    Love the style of the building and all the little plazas. Room was large and clean. It is very convenient to park and then everything is walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    3.8
    The bed was extremely uncomfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable!! There was a very loud footed person above at all Hours of the night. Parking was non existent and very overpriced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Lost an hour of our day due to confusion but hotel stay was pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hacienda website says there is standard rooms and deluxe rooms. Unfortunately I couldn't tell what the difference was because when I booked the deluxe it looked like a standard from pictures. I called from the room they gave us and explained that the last time we were there we had a patio. Unfortunately I assumed all deluxes had that and I guess I was wrong. They moved us to another room with a balcony but it wasn't clean like they thought. From there he explained they could only give us a standard. At the last minute a balcony room became available and we were accommodated. I guess I would like to know what the difference in room are because I didn't feel like that was available.

    The location near old town was great. My family and I we're able to walk right down in the evening for shopping and dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, outdated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated, and out WiFi went out twice for an hour each time. We were traveling with my 16-month old, so during naps and her early bedtime, not having WiFi was bothersome. In addition, the TV remote did not control the TV properly (the menu button muted the TV) so we were stuck on one channel until they could come help us, which, even still, we could not use the menu button.

    We loved the location as it was walking distance to the heart of Old Town. The manager was friendly and helpful when problems arose.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attached restaurant provides excellent views toward the water, nice service, and poor to mediocre food at prices that suggested a better dining experience.

    Three friends stayed here two different times about a week apart. The staff and the shuttle drivers were all excellent. The shuttle runs to the airport as well as the car rental center at the airport. Also, the hotel is an easy walk from the Old Town Amtrak stop! We had a room in the 500 area and then in the 300 area. Both were large, providing plenty of room for three. It was very nice to have a sofa in the room, but it provided a predictably less-that-delightful sleeping experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    We would stay again, now that we know how to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the room was terrible. The Tequila Factory on the roof has terrible food but good salsa. The hotel is like a multi tiered maze, We always had trouble finding our room from the garage and viceversa. The garage has a low ceiling. Our Toyota SUV scraped the max height sign.

    Front desk was very accommodating and helpful. It’s an old hotel and still kept in great condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a major con, but I found that the furniture and linens in my room were a little outdated. It had this old motel vibe, which is a shame since the hotel itself is decorated beautifully.

    I love how spacious my room was. The property had plenty of tables and benches around, so you can easily lounge outdoors and enjoy the sunshine. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The area is so lively; there are bars and restaurants within walking distance, but thankfully the hotel is on a quiet street so you don't get all the noise from the main streets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall good, location very convenient.
    • Family with young children
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paying for parking. Did not see any mention of that on your website. I parked on the street. Parking was not in the budget.

    Overall good, location very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value, beautiful property, local charm, walking distance to everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a lot of local charm and the property is well kept. The staff was very helpful. Our favorite part was how incredibly close it was to all the restaurants and shops in old town!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.5
    Great location, lovely property, central to a fun and historic city. Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very large property which is a plus, but confusing to navigate even with the map and well detailed instructions upon check-in. Additionally, not all of the rooms were accessible by elevators which was a hassle with luggage (luckily we are able bodied). A big but because it is really a lovely property. We would consider staying again, but request a different room location.

    The hotel greeting by Michele (?) Manager was excellent! She was very welcoming and informative. The property is lovely, well maintained and the hotel has a wonderful cultural ambience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night our toilet overflowed badly water flooded elsewhere. It was late so was already in PJs. Front desk was helpful we were given another room. Had to get dressed and pack up and move. I feel we could have been offered a free breakfast or something for the troubles.

    The facility was nice. Check in was easy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful exteriors, gardens, lobby, courtyards and loved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room interiors were pretty stark and utilitarian in contrast. Mattresses were too hard/firm and a soft blanket would have made the bed so much more cozy.

    Beautiful exteriors, gardens, lobby, courtyards and loved the old world Mexican feel. Your restaurant is excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice place with a great vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airport shuttle doesn't start running till 6:30am. Had to take a taxi at 5:30am.

    It's close to Old Town and the Green Line tram. The Mexican vibe through out Old Town. Great restaurants and shops to browse through.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Overall fantastic and definitely made our stay in SoCal that much better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying for parking. We're from Vegas and not used to it but I suppose it comes with the territory.

    The property was beautiful and the staff was very helpful and nice! Good place. Old Town was just a generally pleasant experience and there was a lot to see there. Quaint but still very exciting. Great Mexican food!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked via booking.com and the basic queen room cost us $350 per night. Parking and breakfast not included. Poor quality room at a very expensive price. Stairs everywhere! Not at all happy.

    Location was great. Views of the bay were ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Love your hospitality from your whole staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The whole layout to your hotel was excellent the staff were professional and friendly ,I enjoyed the plaza and the beautiful view , it was a very convenient location to walking distance to the Main Street down below . We will certainly visit your hotel in the near future . Thanks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a deluxe queen room. We were placed in a room facing a staircase and no view. The room showed it's age, the bathtub did not drain well. The room needed a complete renovation. We paid for parking and by the time we came back to our hotel we had to park on the street as there was no parking available close to the building we had been assigned. We had been previously advised by the front desk that this might be an issue and an alternate parking area had been advised. However, it was easier to park on the street close to the building rather than park in the alternate designated area which was inconvenient to get to.

    The property was easy to get to and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The maid service personnel were extremely attentive and kept the room clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Everything was great... dinner, hot tub and then came our rude neighbors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    People checked in after 10:00 pm in the room next to us and were very loud. Someone was talking right outside our door disputing why they were being charged! Then they were back up before 5:00 am being loud again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Great experience we will go there again. Walking distance to main Old Town we had fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t care for the coffee so I had some breakfast tea which was great .

    Bed was comfortable, shower was excellent, free water bottles, breakfast buffet had a great assortment of delicious food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds were beautiful. Walking distance to nice attractions. Very comfortable. The staff was extremely accommodating. And the food at the attached restaurant was amazing. Will definitely recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the rooms they could have offered luggage carts

    Bed was good restaurant was excellent very nice hotel I have stayed there before and will stay there in future

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive and the bed was uncomfortable for the money you spend. Also the plumbing wasent that great.

    The place was beautiful and walking distance to shops was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    A real Hacienda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy. We heard loud noise from the floor above our bedroom and early morning from the corridor.

    Great location. We loved the environment. The hotel is very well decorate and matches with Old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasantly pleased. Good restaurant on site makes travel via foot easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    If you live the Spanish hacienda style than you will love the property. Rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Great location in old downtown, friendly staff. Parking is the only drawback as there seems to not be enough but there is street parking as well. Will come back, charming area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Short but great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I made the reservation I was not told that I could buy discount vouchers for breakfast, so I had to pay full price.

    I got a Deluxe room with 2 queens size beds and parking next to my window.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Spanish style Hotel in Old Town that has a charm you will not find in regular hotels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As is typical these days there are fees not included in the Room rate which raises the real price. Also they charge a hefty fee to park even though your staying at the hotel.. that also increases the real cost per day!

    Great views from our balcony above the pool area. The Hotels Spanish style and the plants make for a relaxed experience. The Jacuzzi was very nice in the winter and the pool is heated which I didn't know before arriving.. bring your swim suit! The hotel is in Old Town so you can easily walk to dining and shops as soon as you leave the hotel! The location is excellent because your minutes to the beaches and downtown.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    5.4
    Pleasant but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping very poor, room surfaces and furniture unclean You need a GPS to locate your room. Ours was in block 3 top floor. Had to negotiate a maze of paths and many staircases to get to room. Not good when lugging suitcases. We had to use 2 lifts each one in a different block before and a long way from the room

    Location ideal for Old Town, about 2 min walk to all restaurants, shops and market Recption staff were extremely helpful and obliging

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    We spent two enjoyable days in a great city and our accommodations were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The staff is friendly. The rooms are clean , comfortable and well-appointed. The Old Town location is great. The complementary cocktail is a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Very welcoming environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming environment. The gentlemen who helped us at the front desk was nice and professional. When our room keys did not work, we went back to the front desk, were given a new set, and a staff member walked with us to our room to make sure we didn't have that issue again. Overall an excellent experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel & delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room above us there was someone running back & forth and we couldn’t sleep. Staff took care of it within 5mins of my reporting it! Thank you!

    Atmosphere was awesome! Beautiful hotel and wonderful staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.3
    Hotel location was good and convenient to Old Town and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were placed in the farthest room in the hotel from the lobby and it was confusing getting to and from the room. Did not like the location of the room.

    Hotel location was good and convenient to Old Town and the freeway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Great , close to shops,food places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except, I did not know there was different types of rooms to get. Next time.

    I love the location and how it was easy to get service. We will be back again .

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: