Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Heritage Inn 3 stars

1955 East Second Street, Benicia, CA 94510, USA

#3 of 4 hotels in Benicia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility could use a revamp. Overall, does the job, but definitely needs updating. Decor is ok, not great.

    Good value for the money, comfortable hotel in a good area. Easy access to freeway and restaurants. Breakfast was good, not too elaborate, but did the job.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the bathroom smell a little bit like pee or like an old dirty rag and the chairs where so dirty and old ,the iron left stains on my sins white uniform for his tournament.

    I like the bed or was comfortable,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some cleanliness issue with the room and "slept-in" looking sheets. I did not complain to management at the time, but did in my comments to the hotel upon check out. They were pleasant enough and apologized for any inconvenience. We would still book at that location in the future, as all else was very satisfactory.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn't about the hotel, it's about its customers...had to do laundry and someone left their items in the machines for two hours..just inconsiderate!

    In the breakfast room, Lena was super friendly and very helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well it really isn't the hotels fault that my bank had put a hold on my account and that I was not able to verify that the funds for the room were available by running my card, but once I explained to him that I had the money in my account and we had no way of getting a hold of the bank until 8:30 am he left my husband to walk out of the lobby at 12:30 at night with no idea where to go. Now as it turns out he could have ran my husbands card for the $85.00 dollars that was on it and put us in a different room but all he heard the man at the desk was my card doesn't have enough money on it at the moment because my bank has a daily limit on available money We ended up in a room that had cockroaches in the bed on the first night or our honeymoon.. Considering that the funds were verified at the time of booking the reservations should have been enough to allow us some sort of consideation in our dilemma.

    I liked the pictures of the room on booking .com

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was vary mad because the pool was vary dirting a bottle was floating in the pool and other thing and the room smell. I will never go back there.

    I did like the shower and the walls were vary thick so u couldn't hear other

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here many times but not in 14 years. This property has kept up-to-date and is very clean and comfortable. People at front desk were very pleasant and helpful. Very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Saturday before I left on Monday, the hotel allowed a party on the third floor, which was okay. The music did not bother me, but allowing children to run up and down the hallway until 2am is UNACCEPTABLE! I understand that the people at the party is ultimately responsible for controlling their children, but the front desk had to know and hear the ruckus. As I was a long term customer (14 days) and I got NO sleep, it was not a pleasant Sunday of work. They did offer to move me to another room - really ??? This was also unacceptable, there should have been more oversight and control. Very disappointed, as everything else was very good.

    Good bed, friendly staff, fairly quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast eggs are always serve. With red bell pepper and we didn't like that. It would be better just plain eggs and the rest to add on taste

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was great, staff really great, happy, make you feel important kind of people. met everyone of our requests with a smile and graciously provided whatever we requested/needed. we are going back for the christmas holiday

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Had to park a long way from our room. There were a lot of workmen staying there and we were awakened early up by back up alarms from their trucks.

    The breakfast was adequate. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. The staff was very friendly. Free HBO

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet charges too high!!

    I stayed at several other Best Westerns during my relocation to Oregon. This was the nicest facility of all My room was very nicely decorated and clean. would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used a TV Channel guid. I couldn't find HBO during our down time. That is the only negative thing, so it's all A+ from me.

    Great location, nice people and clean rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Clean, convenient and a friendly staff.

    Did not have breakfast. The room smelled clean (yay) and the beds were comfortable. There's a fridge and a microwave. Just great!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found 2 empty candy wrappers in the drawer. No big deal but could attract ants. Desk lamp didn't work.

    Clean and comfy bed. Big shower with optional jet stream. Location was very nice and convenient. Near the water and next to a gas station making fueling up covenient before driving to your next destination. Staff was very polite and professional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of bacon. Hope to see bacon on our next visit.

    Pillows were extra soft and fluffy. Everybody was attentive and friendly. Enjoyed all the smiley faces, whoever trained staff did an exceptional job.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit outside of the town.

    Room was spacious and comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • King Room with Whirlpool - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am charged double. But this hotel has not paid back yet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WOW...... the smell of mildew in the rooms is STRONG.

    Met some cool guests!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!!

    Friendly staff, very informative giving tips to sights and tips on the local ambiance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, spacious, free breakfast, good value!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No picture of Nicholas Cage

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is kindly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved everything 100 % coming back in april

    everything reception very helpful and polite and breakfeast 6pm snacks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great staff and hotel accommodations!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very hard

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    Open up the pool at 9, not 10.

    nice beds and pillows

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic .

    Good beds, great breakfast! This was our second stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not that clean. It was a smoking room but it smelled like it had not been cleaned or aired out in a long time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freeway noise room #300

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water runs so slow

    It was a very clews room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    People smoking outside hallway door, not in designated area

    Beds comfy, breakfast is good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff very friendly, helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were too thin...other guests were very noisey

    Darlene at the front desk was so helpful and very friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower heads are too wide and non-adjustable. Breakfast was mediocre. Wifi wasn't consistent and completely inoperable in some rooms.

    Nice beds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Whirlpool - Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    eggs at breakfast were not good

    bed was great....pillows were a little too firm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little pricey :(

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn't very warm

    Variety

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise at the pool

    Great rooms, great Japanese restaurant near bye, lovely town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hospitable staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean; great bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onions & peppers in the eggs & water in the shower/tub was hard to figure out how to turn on.

    Friendly staff went out of their way.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC broke had to wait 2 hrs for new unit install on hot eve

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good no complaints

    The Customer Service as soon as we check in was welcoming, the room was fantastic, the food was good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had to leave too soon!!! Great place!!

    Everything!!! (Breakfast could use fresh cut fruit bowl) ....food was very good!! Staff was excellent too!!

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel has smoking rooms, so it smells like cigarette smoke throughout. I was under the impression you couldn't smoke in hotels in California any longer, but I guess you can.

    The hotel staff was great. Very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Seeing that it was rated 8.2 I had way way higher expectations for this place. It was a standard motel that wasn't very clean. I noticed hair (not our hair in the bed) and the sheets were pilling. The shower head was broken and only spouted water toward the wall. Should have been at least half the price we paid ($150).

    The staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The smell of smoke and cleaner, the argumentative front desk staff, the cramped room, the dirty bathroom, the dungeon feeling of the hotel.

    The breakfast was better than the average hotel offering

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be helpful to change out breakfast meats from pork to turkey every other day, for those of us who can't eat pork. We stayed for a week no protein for me not even a hard boiled egg...that would have been nice.

    Everything was nice except for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room had a weird smell and the hall smelled too. It was almost like the carpets were cleaned and still wet but they weren't.

    Nice location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I think with the amount of people there should be more than one waffle maker. Plus instructions.. the line was too long for waffles.

    I enjoyed the breakfast & the location.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I did my booking few months before my trip for 5 people but when I arrived there I was told that we will be having a roll-in bed with extra cost per day. The reason I was told was that only 4 people can stay in one room. I had no choice and had to pay extra for 5th person of my family. Room did not had enough space for roll-in bed so we have to put the bed in front of the door and move all chairs and tables around on top of each other to make room for the bed. which was a pain. If I would have known about this at the time of my booking I would never have booked at this place for 5 people.

    Reception staff was very helpful all the time.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was somewhat uncomfortable, sheets were scratchy too. The hallways had a somewhat "musty" smell, however the room did not.

    Nice place. It was older but some updates made it feel fresher yet cozy. It included a bar with refrigerator and sink as well as sitting area. The room was quite spacious. Mon-Thurs there is a dinner/appetizer bar that is an awesome bonus too. It was right by the freeway (convienient) and inside our room you couldn't hear the noise.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't a lot of seating at breakfast. But there were a few events going on that weekend so we took our food up to our room and it was good.

    The staff was really friendly and and the room was really nice. We enjoyed our stay and the beds were really comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The quality of service in my room. I was asking 5 days for a tissues but I didn't. The number of shampoo was limited 1 small bottel each of 2 days per 3 persons, the lack of shower gel, wasn't available.

    Good location out of San Francisco city, 45 min drive. Nice village. Friendly staf in reception.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The front desk staff was wonderful- both day and night people. They went out of their way to help with directions, wifi difficulties,printing boarding pass for me, any other questions I had. The hotel was fine but the staff was outstanding. Also the food room staff was extremely pleasant and the 6 p m appetizers were tasty and filling and a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The front desk person checking in was a man who wanted to know why I was staying and when I said business almost demanded a business card.... felt like a stalker. Didn't like the feeling he gave me. When checking out the lady was rude.

    The cleaning staff was excellent. The room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were almost like sleeping on the floor, many areas of the hotel smell like smoke, the air conditioner is ridiculously loud, and even being the cheapest place in town it's still far too pricey based on what they have to offer in comparison to everywhere else I've stayed.

    The breakfast was surprisingly good, the staff was friendly,and the fitness center wasn't completely horrible. The equipment they did have was at least new.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and helpful; convenient to the freeway and a good breakfast. The room was very well equipped with microwave and a frig along with the usual items in the room.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The size and comfort of our king size room was spectacular; the breakfast yummy; and the service . . . excellent. Could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Needs to be updated a little. Closet doors fell into my hands & Bath fawcet leaked. Also coffee pot did not work.

    Reception was very friendly. Traveling alone were there to help me and as per requested main floor room.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Got Over Charged For Pet I was Charged 40 dollars for two nights when it should of been just 25 Dollars

    Exercise Room Was Awesome

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    3rd floor hallway and elevator felt stuffy

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelled strongly of disinfectant, overpowering, off putting

    Bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loved the baby grand piano in the lobby. It was a joy to play.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pillows, terrible!

    I liked the location

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Serve breakfast past 9:30 missed it by minutes. Do not charge someone to mail a night gown for $25. Instead I had to donate it. Not happy!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    love the hot tub, pool and whirlpool tub in the room also great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant info provided in room

    Hot tub and whirlpool tub

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Best Western Benicia has a MAJOR hookworm infestation. I told staff and management but received a poor response. I had to cancel my second night.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location and comfort away from home in city

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Couple

    Nice room, friendly staff. Great breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    friendly, helpful staff.

There are also 55 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Plus Heritage Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: