Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Inn 3 stars

316 EL Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94062, USA

#4 of 16 hotels in Redwood City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Clean with excellent customer service from the reception desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks like they're updating bit by bit. Bathroom and furniture were new, but the fridge was very old and didn't really work.

    Great service from the young but dedicated front desk staff. Our son left his piggy bank down in the lobby, and they phoned and brought it up to us right away. The same young man gave us a very good recommendation for an Italian restaurant in Redwood City. It was very convenient to go into SF the next day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value. Clean and modernized. Conveniently located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms on street side are noisy because of the traffic.

    Good hot breakfast - not much choice, but largely sufficient. Excellent location between SFO and Palo Alto.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.8
    If you need a relatively inexpensive one-night stay, this might work.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is old and run down. No inside corridors or stairs. Breakfast was disappointing.

    The location was great. the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Very nice and will definetely stay again
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was left in fridge, and a pod in coffee pot, but that is something easily overlooked. Should have a ashtray by doors and maybe a bench by the smoking area. Small things but you asked!

    Room was nice and remodeled, bed was comfy, clean!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    My wife sees a Dr. at stanford and travel 225 miles from home. This hotel is our 3rd BW and so far
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a retired firefighter, i was disappointed to see no fire sprinklers in the rooms.

    Bed is very comfortable and the sheets looked and felt like new. The room has been recently remodeled with all the expected amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    All in all, we would definitely recommend
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were probably hoping on some fruit and more variety of breakfast items.

    The bed was so comfy! The room temperature was easy to accommodate our needs. We never found parking a problem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location, quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little dark at night. Share parking lot with (good) breakfast place (Stacks) so lot filled until at least noon, so it could be hard to find a space if you need to go in and out in the morning.

    Convenient location, quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Tricia at the front desk was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in late-ish but there was only one person staffed at the front desk and a fairly long line. The staff did great but it took a long time to check in. They needed to have another staff on duty.

    Tricia at the front desk was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Silicon Valley Option
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price reflects the fact that it is in Silicon Valley. But the feel is that of a very well cared for motel.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff keep the place immaculate. The diner next door serves great breakfasts and has attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed in had an odd hodge podge mixture of new, contemporary furnishings and it looks like they are working on slowly remodeling. So, once all is in place, looks like it is going to be an outstanding hotel. The bed was modernized with duvet covers over those hokey floral print bedspreads.

    The coffee was, surprisingly strong and good! For the value, this is a great place to stay. The room was very comfortable and had a great night rest. The climate control system worked great as I often find that the room is either too hot or the opposite cold. The bed was super comfy!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Outstanding Customer Service!!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful property! Since my husband was in the local hospital, I was alone. Shane, the front desk clerk was so sweet and helpful. I had asked for a ground floor room but, because the hotel was full, I was on the second floor. Shane offered to help me carry my bags up the stairs, which I thought was outstanding customer service!!! Will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, good breakfast with plenty of options.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was being renovated, both a good thing and not so good. Website didn't say it was unusable, or I wouldn't have brought the swimsuit. Should be ready for the next time though.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast with plenty of options.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly and a good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wood furniture was a little run down and could stand replacing, but the scuffs and dings weren't too bad. Not a bad thing, but there are no flowers anywhere as depicted in all the stock photos. They're just advertising hype.

    The bed was comfortable, had extra pillows and the room was clean, with a few decorative touches that I wouldn't expect in a Best Western. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Check-in was simple and pleasant. They offered free soda and water in a mini fridge in the lobby and there was a fridge and microwave in the room with a regular coffee machine and free coffee, not one of those K-cups I'm finding in more and more hotels that then offer K-cups at extortion prices. The breakfast was described both online and by the clerk as continental but they had scrambled eggs and Jimmy Deans in a chafing dish, a waffle maker and fresh local bagels in addition to the standard fare. I awoke late, arrived at breakfast at just about the deadline and a large family of children ahead of me were cleaning out all of the hot food as I was entering the lobby. I asked the desk clerk if there were any more eggs and he went in the back and made a new batch just for me, even though it was past the stated time. I had to take everything back to the room because the few lobby tables they had set up were full but that didn't bother me. All in all, an excellent value for the price in this area, on the main boulevard a few blocks from downtown.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.9
    Good value in Silicon Valley
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was extremely hard; felt like tightly packed straw bale.

    The staff was extraordinary, location convenient. They were extremely flexible since my stay had to coordinate with husband's hospital stay and there was no penalty for leaving a day early. Rooms upgraded and parking off street. Quiet since pool and office buffer sound from busy El Camino Real. Breakfast was much better than average with quality items and nice choice of coffees. Would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.2
    Committed team. Comfortable rooms. Convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived to an unfortunate roof leak and a spotty wi-fi, neither of which was the fault of the hotel. What impressed me was the commitment the management had to fixing it, even at their own expense. This is a place you will want to stay if you value your comfort.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff, comfortable hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a little worn and probably needs a renovation. The location is good for travel and business in San Mateo or Redwood City but it is located on the ECR which is a very busy road.

    The staff were very friendly - I met three on the front desk and each was helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Great stay during stressful time, family member in nearby hospital
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was diffiscult in the morning and day time due to busy restaurant next door, designated parking for guests would be nice

    Really comfortable bed, quiet and felt safe

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Pillows were very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Mobility Accessible/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was never able to connect with wifi

    Pillows were very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People and clean rooms

    I like

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Breakfast is awesome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was dirty when we got there. They cleaned it the day we left.

    Staff was amazing!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location in relation to Sequoia Hospital
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Very nice interior upgrades, very clean, even though it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice interior upgrades, very clean, even though it was next to El Camino, I did not hear any traffic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    The Staff was welcoming and the Property was clean.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, Friendly Staff. We

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    The parking with the restaurant next door was dfficult
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking with the restaurant next door was dfficult

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A nice place to stay for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the noise folks up stairs.

    The bed was nice and I like the quite even though it is on the busy street and the room was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Terrible Wifi. Poor choice for breakfest. Loud from the street and train. Horribly overpriced for really average standard.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Great Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Staff. Awesome room and very nice, new bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodations!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything!!

    The bed was wonderful and the staff was incredible - excellent stay!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    I will stay here again if we have to go back to Stanford.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was alone because my husband was in the hospital but felt safe here. Room was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    This is a gem. Rooms are way above average
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was good size, clean, Updated. It faced the interior of the courtyard and pool. Quiet. Every convenience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    Ok but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and old AC, overpriced room

    Confortable beds, breakfast and pool ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location, full breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had very loud air conditioner but request to change rooms was honored

    Convenient location, full breakfast included

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    The staff at the front desk was very kind and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The strange smell outside the building..

    I asked the registration for an extra hour of check out, and they kindly accepted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    It was nice and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt have breakfast. Cant answer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.4
    not aware that construction was going on, messy and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    not aware that construction was going on, messy and noisy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.2
    Very good with everything needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good Our room was quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.5
    good facilities, would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    far from my business. traffic was unpredictable.

    good facilities, would stay again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    It's always a pleasure to stay at Best Western, We have had no problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good variety of breakfast items.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Patio being replaced in front of our door. Some one before us had smoked in the room. Unable to open window... Air conditioner couldn't remove the smell.

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, quiet room. HD tv!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff was very helpful and accommodating.
    • Couple

    We have no negatives to report.

    Staff was very helpful and accommodating. "Marissa" at the desk was delightful and gave us a recommendation when we asked for a good dinner restaurant. Great meal! Breakfast was varied and well prepared. The room was clean and neat, the bathroom was spotless, and all the facilities showed care had been taken to present them well. Our thanks and commendations to the staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.9
    Good bed.
    • Couple

    Bathroom needs updating. Toilet plugged up twice. Furniture was barely adequate. One picture on ALL of that wall space.

    Good bed. Linens fine. Room clean. Quiet. Price. The pool area was attractive. Breakfast was adequate and rolls were fresh.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    6.7
    backed up to a neighborhood where it was safe to walk, next...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no exercise facility - could have been a safety issue to walk outside Nearly $200 a night is a bit steep for this

    backed up to a neighborhood where it was safe to walk, next door to Starbucks, near restaurants breakfast was really good

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.8
    Spacious, clean, king bed, couch, desk with ergonomic work...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spacious, clean, king bed, couch, desk with ergonomic work chair. Wanted something relatively inexpensive, and was really surprised how spacious, clean and comfortable it was.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    9.2
    The location was great, with easy access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wish there was a jacuzzi! It would have been nice at the end of the day!

    The location was great, with easy access. We were surprised by how nice the room was for the low price. The bed was really comfortable and our neighbors were quiet. The breakfast was a lot more than we expected!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    4.6
    location is very good if you need to work around Redwood...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the smell of the room, ceilings were dirty (fluffy stuff hanging from it). Noisy room, was facing the main road, impossible to sleep

    location is very good if you need to work around Redwood city. Included Wifi was very good.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastic staff!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Quiet, good bed no issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet, good bed no issues

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.5
    Doors were slamming shut all the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Doors were slamming shut all the time

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.8
    Bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great property, but could use decor updates.

    Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Great front desk staff. Very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    10
    Big room, great pillows and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast a little crowded.

    Big room, great pillows and clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.1
    Staff was very nice
    • Couple

    Noisy people coming in at 3:00 and waking everyone up. Around doorways there is air coming into rooms.

    Staff was very nice

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Broken toilet, older decor.

    Breakfast! Surprisingly good and incredibly convenient. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    The quiet room facing the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The quiet room facing the pool.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    The owner and the staff is very courteous.
    • Family with older children

    The owner and the staff is very courteous. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and great location close to Stanford University.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    New beds were delivered during my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experiences to speak of

    New beds were delivered during my stay. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were clean, pool was nice.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great value

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    4.2
    staff was nice, and wifi was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything else. Can not recommend this hotel. RATHOLE.

    staff was nice, and wifi was good

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: