Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Colony Inn Alexandria 3 stars

1101 North Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, USA

#32 of 41 hotels in Alexandria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 342 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Breakfast was a little odd in that sometimes machines were there or not (probably because they needed to be serviced) but without notice so there weren't any signs explaining anything which is what was offputting -The first night we didn't have enough towels for all 4 guests

    -Free shuttle service to nearly anywhere within 2 miles (metro. grocery stores, Old Town area) -Easy check-in process -Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service was incomplete on second night of stay. Towels had been changed but for some reason bed was not made or sheets changed. Contacted front desk , who came to room and confirmed that bed was not made and room service was incomplete. They indicated they would contact room service to complete work. They did not come back to room. I requested a refund of second night cost because of incomplete room service. No response yet. First morning of breakfast, complimentary breakfast food was almost completely gone with still a half-hour remaining until breakfast ended. No eggs, juice, bread or fruit left or replenished. AN old hotel that needs dramatic updating.

    Shuttle to metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave or mini fridge in the room.

    Mohammed and the shuttle drivers were amazing and helped me take care of my sick daughter. They exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a disappointment. Perhaps some fresh fruit, plain yogurt and something whole meal (healthy) on offer too, and just plain boiled eggs. Now everything oozed with processing and sugar.

    Location, friendly staff, parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel is starting to show some wear. the bathroom was kinda gross. the towels were very thin.

    location was the best. room size was good. the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Never provided additional hangers for clothes or blankets. We had to keep the heat too high at night, and had many clothes that could not be hung up. The shower/tub faucet leaked . The exhaust fan in the bathroom usually didn't work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor stuff: The room, fixtures and carpets were clean but somewhat dated. No fridge or microwave. Basic cable with no premium channels. Long walk to Old Town (a shuttle is available but service stops at 8:45 pm). Hot water slow to come up and older plumbing made showering a little bit of a challenge.

    Staff was extra friendly. Room was good size, WiFi was very good. Sink area separate from bathroom. Free 24 hour coffee urn by front desk. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    “ice machine” is bags of ice that taste like old tap water. fresh water in the lobby also tastes bad. so bring your own water. The place is very outdated, but it’s a decent space for 1-2 night stay as long as you don’t need a fridge or microwave.

    pet friendly. great location and close to lots of tourist sites. free shuttle. parks nearby for dog walking. comfy bed. breakfast has all the basics, pretty good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed at this hotel seven times this year. All previous visits were excellent. However, this time there was a problem with checking in. We arrived at 1:15 and were told our room would be ready in 15 minutes. We waited in the front lobby for almost 2 hours, finally checking in at 3:00. Had we known we could not check in until 3, we would have joined friends for lunch. Instead, we were repeatedly told our room was being prepared. The receptionist was a older lady. A bit rude.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very friendly and accommodating staff, shuttle to the airport and Metro station makes getting around easy. Also close to dining and stores in Alexandria.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the property over charged my card when the payment was supposed to split smh not cool and they did no notify me they waited until I checked out and even then they were no helpful..stay at your own discretion

    THE comfort was ok...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shuttle is until 08:30 pm, have to walk too much from closest train station. My recomendation increase the shuttle schedule

    the attention was good and very polite crew

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both sides of hotel have lots of traffic noise. One side faces the GWPW and the other a busy parking lot and alley.

    Easy access to Reagan National/DCA and Alexandria Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard and uncomfortable bed. Additional cost for parking. Overall cost too high for quality and level of service. Counter staff not the most friendly. No elevator.

    Decent location. Appreciated the free breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator to go the 1st floor

    I like everything regarding the hotel. The staff are excellent and cooperative. Free Shuttle bus service is pretty convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Touted a breakfast. When we went down, there was nothing left and we we told they didn't know when more food would be available. We left a tip for the maid and a Service sign. We were gone 6 hours and, when we returned, the room had not been cleaned but the tip had been taken. No one seemed very troubled by that.

    Location. In-room coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't updated. Our bench had stains all over it and the windows were not clean at all and the floor seamed a little sticky, I kept my shoes on the whole time.

    I liked the free breakfast and the location of the hotel, it was cheap and the room was cheap so worth the money. They also gave accommodations for free transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so nice and friendly . They give u a hot breakfast that is so good. They make you feel like you are at home. It was my daughter birthday and they surprised her with cupcakes and a balloon. It'd just a really great hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Breakfast was filling and the staff provided excellent service. The building is old. It seems as though they could put better effort in maintaining the inside of the building. The walls in the room around the door frame was deteriorating or either there was a previous repair that happened and was now coming undone. There were some weird rust color stains and other colored blemishes on the walls that were obvious. They were noticeable and if I noticed, wouldn't the cleaning staff??? There was no elevator either which I didn't realize. Thank goodness we could walk up a flight of stairs but getting the luggage of the stairs was cumbersome since we had huge suitcases. They had great shuttle service and the staff was always pleasant.I also felt like I didn't break the bank on hotel costs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot; The beds could use upgrades to queens; our toilet seemed to have an issue with flushing number 2's; tv reception was awful.

    Pet friendly hotel (even though we didn't bring our pup); staff was very nice/friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard. The air conditioning blew directly in my face when in bed. No way to adjust it. The toilet had to be flushed multiple times to completely empty, felt bad about wasting water, we did bring it to the attention of the front desk. When another room flushes, the hot water in the shower disappears! The whole place is shabby. Basically clean, but could use some deep cleaning & carpet shampooing. No ice machine, just hand bagged ice from an unknown source, grab yours early. No fridge or microwave in rooms, but available for an additional charge.

    Location was awesome, it's pet friendly, saw some dogs but didn't hear them in the rooms. Walking distance to Old Town & riverfront parks, easy driving access to DC sites. Metro bus stop right out front door. Friendly, helpful staff. The complimentary shuttle was appreciated. New owners just took over, hopefully they are working on improvements.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were not very clean and I wouldn't even take a shower in there. My mother in law has trouble with stairs and there was no elevator which was very weird. Also there was no comforter on the bed. It was ok for a 1 night stay but would not stay longer than that!

    The beds were comfy and the staff was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection was only basics

    convenient shuttle service drop off and pick up at airport, braddock rod metro station, and king street cross fairfax. Before check in hour, we stored luggage, and the staff even let us use a room to change and get ready to go out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner. Stairwells dark. Never saw an elevator. No ice machine but hand packed bags of ice available.

    The bed was comfortable. They had yogurt on the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't cleaned well..but that might be an exception though.

    The complimentary shuttle to nearest metro was very convenient and they explained how to ride the metro to first timers in DC.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could not get early check in when promised 3 times we could! Broken shower had to change rooms at midnight due to not being fixed for 2 days.

    The manager was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was rather slow and clerk's English was difficult to understand and she had a hard time understanding me but she was very nice. The on site parking was a but much for $10 extra, but certainly more reasonable than many other places.

    I thought it was charming. Nice clean room. Breakfast was simple but adequate. City of Alexandria is beautiful, and parking was on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff friendly but the computer system was balky and SLOW. On check-in the staff person couldn't tell whether I had paid already (I had not). Check in was first time I learned there is a $10 daily parking fee. No prices posted in the small market room for snacks, toiletries. Bathroom was ready for an update.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the elevator was broken but staff helped with luggage. Microwave in room and mini fridge would be a very welcomed addition....and ice cream in the mini store.

    Loved location, parking availability, staff, good breakfast selections, minutes from airport where we were dropping family off for flights. Only 1 night stay on stopover on way back to NY so didn't get to use shuttle to town but would stay again on future visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken elevator....and I'm an amputee.

    Clean and comfortable hotel. Really really appreciated the shuttle service! Dining facilities were very nice. Food was plentiful, hot, and tasty. Exercise facility was nice. We will stay here again on our next visit to Washington D.C.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, the building could use some updating. The hall carpet would benefit from being replaced, the "ice maker" was more like a standup freezer with a glass door that had small bags of ice in it. Again, functional, but not state of the art. The room was a fair size and clean. The mattress could use updated and the couch had a slip cover on it, but it also looked like it had seen better days. Coffee maker? check. Coffee pot for aforementioned coffee maker? MIA. I was in DC for a network security conference. WiFi credentials were guest/guest. Didn't use the WiFi. The killer for me is the A/C in my room did not work well. Daytime highs were in the mid-90s, and the room maintained a steady 77 degrees, way too warm for me to sleep. I mentioned it to the front desk person in the morning and expected it to be fixed when I returned that evening. Nope. This caused me to cut my stay short. There wasn't another hotel room available for a 30-mile radius, which caused me to have to commute for the remainder of the conference: 70 miles, 2.5-3.5 hours. DC traffic truly lived up to its reputation!

    The building is cute from the outside and fits perfectly in its neighborhood. The staff was pleasant and the hotel was clean. I didn't have any of the free breakfast buffet, but it looked like standard fare (omelettes, bacon, Belgian waffle maker, etc.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was an easy 15 minute drive from DC. The front desk receptionist was very friendly and helpful when I asked her where the good places to eat were. I'll definitely be coming back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    not the cleanest hotel i have been to, but its ok!

    if you are flying to washington national airport, this hotel its 5 mins by car and its one of the few that has free parking! good breakfast and nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have been cleaner and the hotel could do with a little refurbishment.

    Location is good for access to D.C. and to Old Alexandria if you are driving. Other guests in the hotel used the Metro (free shuttle) and they seemed happy with that.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to connect to wi-fi in my room.

    Staff was very helpful & accomodating. We arrived eearly before the check-in time. However, a staff member allowed me to use the restroom so I can change & attend the conference in the afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave, no fridge, no trolly to transport suitcases, no elevators. Breakfast is so so.

    No fridge or microwave in the room. You have to pay 10 dollars per day to have a fridge in your room. Microwave, you gotta go downstairs if you need to warm up anything. If you are a family with kids not convenient at all. Also no trolly to transport your luggage to a room. You have to go back and forth a dozen times. No escalators. Other than that, the neighborhood is quite and beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC not working when arrived. 80+ degrees in room. Informed AC would be fixed next day. Following day AC still not working, 80+ degrees in room. Room was skipped for repairs, was never contacted that repairs needed inside room. Had to move to new room in middle of stay late at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night the air conditioning was broken so it was very warm and it was fixed the next day

    they had a free shuttle to Old Town Alexandria and to the Metro stations which was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the room was coming apart, the bed skirt was not hanging properly. The faucet was hard to turn on, out dated. no elevators to take bags to 2nd flr. Requested a ride to train sta and was told to show up at 7am, got there and was denied a ride, call a taxi, The airport was more important and a guest needed a ride there. I was left hanging.... I was disappointed with service and cleanliness of the room.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had no hot water in morning.

    Ease of check in and check out, complimentary hot and cold breakfast, covered parking available, free shuttle to and from airport and local destinations, location in Old Town Alexandria, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beds were two small. The room was for 4 persons on 2 beds but the persons would have to be really skinny to be comfortable. Housekeeping was erratic. One morning they knocked at 830am expecting to clean the rooms. Breakfast did not cater at all to vegetarians. Eggs and bacon under the same lid is totally unacceptable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no problem in changing rooms. Everyone was friendly and helpful with visitor/shopping/metro information. The free breakfast was nice. The shuttle service was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing & seemed like no matter what temperature the thermostat was on it didn't warm up. There was a hole in the ceiling in the bathroom.

    The room was very affordable and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Except for one shower, we didn't have hot water during out three night stay. Any attempt to solve the problem was met with a failure to follow-up with us promptly and offer solutions.

    The friendly evening staff male middle-aged individual was very helpful with recommendations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower ran out of hot water both mornings around 10-11 AM. Worked fine in the evenings however.

    Staff was great, location and airport/metro shuttle ran on time, and room was immaculate. Stayed longer because flight was cancelled due to weather, and staff was able to accommodate my last minute changes in travel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope. I satisfy enough.

    I like this hotel. It's quite far but no problem because free shuttle is available. I just dont know that I should call this hotel for shuttle pickup @ first night, so I had to walk quite far. Next time I come to DC I know I can call the shuttle. Breakfast is free and abundant. Staff is nice and explain information clearly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I drove around D.C., Alexandria, and Crystal City for two hours trying to find this place! I called the hotel and Shanta graciously stayed on the phone with me for 40 minutes trying to talk me in. We lost our connection but she told me enough that I was able to finally find it, as it did not show up on my GPS. It was very frustrating and very hard to find. I used the microwave to heat up some food but there were no utensils in the area. I had to ask the front desk clerk for a spoon, which they keep behind the desk, which I thought was strange, inconvenient, and unnecessary.

    Shanta was very helpful and pleasant, even though I was very frustrated the whole time, she never lost her cool. The room was pretty clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. They offered hot eggs and sausage, make it yourself waffles, cold cereal, fresh fruit, and a variety of breads, coffee and juice. There was a small refrigerator in the dining room that had yogurt and hard boiled eggs in it but it wasn't working. I told the staff that the refrigerator was warm inside so I hope they got it fixed. It was close to my destination, which was The Birchmere, and I thought, a good value for the money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its an old property with not enough facilities. Although Best Western is a famous name in hotel industry, but this property is not up to that standard.

    The hotel was quite and clean. Large space for car parking. Staff is cooperative.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room wasn't clean and refilled even within breakfast time(Fi Sunday 6th Nov.) No warm water when showering

    Shuttle service Parking place Good welcome of Mohamed Azzaoui

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel fittings tired and service variable, night staff great, daytime average.

    Location is good for both the city, 4 stops on the metro, and the local Alexandria sites. Free parking was useful as this was a stop on a road trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could be nice to have a small fridge in the room, as in many inns.

    Staff is very helpful. Shuttles to Metro station and city center every 30 minutes (free). Good location - 15 minute walk from Metro station, supermarket is very close.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mohamed was always kind, courteous,and helpful at the front desk. Shawn was a pleasant shuttle driver that we looked forward to seeing at the end of our day. The breakfast was always superb and the lady that prepared the food and kept the food replenished was very hospitable. Our room was clean, bed comfy, and this place is very convenient to D.C. Also, within walking distance to Trader Joes, Harris Teeter and several outstanding restaurants. When we return to D.C. we will look forward to staying at this Best Western. After a long day seeing the sights it was like coming home. They even offered homemade cookies. Thanks again, Mohamed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift/elevator between the entry floor and the floor we stayed on.

    The rooms while clean and comfortable were only very typical of such hotels. What we especially liked were the shuttle service that took us to and picked us up from several places, and the breakfast which was well above average.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows were very uncomfortable. The eggs served at breakfast were awful...rubbery.

    I liked the shuttle service. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lost AC last night there, one of the hottest in October ever, and the DC area is pretty humid as well. Even if it required a pricey repair, it should have been done that night, not at 9 the next morning. The only lift they had was more like a dumb-waiter and only went from the main floor down, not up to 2nd.

    Staff was great, including the shuttle drivers.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located behind the desk and the staff was noisy. They were working in the lobby at night and we had to remind them to be quite! TWICE!

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken, ripped sofa. Drapes that didn't close properly. noise in the hallway at night.

    Decent breakfast. Very pleasant, helpful receptionist. Clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC didn't work. One desk clerk had a bad attitude when asked questions about getting around the area. Pillows were small squares that were stuffed with batting that went flat easily rather than actual pillows. Take your own if driving to DC. No elevator is problematic if you can't do stairs.

    Close to metro to easily get around Alexandria and DC. The shuttle drivers were WONDERFUL; Shawn was SO personable! Jackie did a great job cleaning our room. The staff manning the complimentary breakfast kept it well stocked. Most of the desk staff were friendly and helpful. I was given a discount since our air conditioner didn't work. Will gave great suggestions for sights to see and easy directions to get to them.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was just average, and items were not always available.

    The staff was wonderful! The shuttle was very convenient to all the activities we did.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was not as clean as it could have been,Lot's of dust in the bedroom,around the edge of carpet,chair in the room was very wobbly reported it but it was never fixed!!!

    Close to metro, use of your shuttle bus,and the hot breakfast,also the friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water faucet in the tub was hard to turn on and off.

    The front desk staff where very helpful and friendly. The manager ask if there was anything I needed. I said yes I could use a refrigerator. By that evening I had a refrigerator.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub was a bit perilous for me. No bar to hold onto and the bottom was slippery.

    The staff was great! Breakfast was very well done. The shuttle was invaluable to me as I have difficulty walking. Loved the fresh cookies at the desk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You would either have to rent a car or take the hotel shuttle to airport and take metro there, it's a big far from public transportation and the hotel had no elevator

    The staff was super nice, she took her time to explain all the questions I had, the room was big and clean with free breakfast. Very close from reagon airport

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guaranteed total price included taxes and $1 per person per night in the confirmation total price. BUT the amount I was charged upon arrival was $93.00 more than quoted on my confirmation. Our flight ran very late and I was too tired to pull out my computer and address this at our midnight check in. During our stay I searched for but did not find the email that stated that taxes were included. I found the price information email after returning home which shows that I was overcharged. Shuttle service from airport stopped at 7 pm. Shuttle service to airport did not begin until 7 am. Therefore we took a taxi upon arrival and departure.

    Breakfast was very good with plenty of selections. Room was very quite. Air conditioning worked well and ran quietly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hand towel rack by the sink, but that was it.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well prepared, breakfast area was clean and open.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location. Beds ver comfortable. Good shuttle service which did airport pickups and took us to wonderful Alexandria town. Staff very helpful. Shuttle also takes to station for aDay in Washington. Good walks along river bank and it's only a 10/15 walk into Alexandria for dinner. Plenty of restuarants

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Carpets around all hotel areas are so dirty also restrooms needs a huge remodeling, are so old, some of the rest areas restrooms on I- 95 are better than the hotel restrooms.

    Staff are really friendly and helpful. Thank you so much to everyone. :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no elevator! If older or disabled getting up to your room or in the basement for breakfast is tough. Staff just ok. Not rude but nothing special either. No help with luggage.

    Good location. Acceptable breakfast. Good shuttle service. Keep expectations low. Gets the job done. That's it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very outdated and dirty. Carpet needed vacuumed and bathroom had hair in the tub. Outlets were very outdated and plugs would not stay plugged in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely slow wifi! Staff were very nice but lacked knowledge about the area. Breakfast very mediocre. Hotel very worn.

    Comfortable bed, shuttle service great. Shuttle drivers very accommodating! Front desk friendly and nice!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of stairs an issue. Directions from staff at check out for my return to the airport was confusing. Nice staff though, no big deal

    Nice staff, very relaxing environment in a nice area. Glad I stayed. I would love to return with my wife, she would love it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1st room we checked into had not been cleaned, there was poop stains inside toilet, used wet soap in soap dish on sink, and plastic trashbag under nightstand shelf. The clerk did move us to another room that was clean and ready for guests. After traveling for hours, it would have been very nice to have had help moving from 1st room to the second. I talked to the woman at the front desk in the morning about what happened, thinking she would offer some understanding, but no. I asked her if she could give me a discount and she said all she could do was 10%, then she asked if he helped us move and when I told her no he didn't, she said the best I can do is 25% off. I am not one to complain, but to have traveled for several hours to a hotel, check in to a dirty room, then move to a second, $100 is alot and I feel I should have had a better resolve. My family and I stay in Best Westerns everywhere we travel, but this was disappointing for us. The exercise room was 82 degrees and no ac working at all. The nice van driver did go ask and when I went to workout, it showed fan on, but remained at 82 degrees. I could only last 30 minutes at that temperature. If someone older came in, they could pass out. Not sure if ac units were working or just not turned on. The entire downstairs felt like a sauna compared to lobby and hallways.

    The breakfast has good variety. I like there is a workout room, but needs some improvements. The hotel shuttle is wonderful. The pillows were great:)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found clothes from previous visitors in drawer. Had to ask for soap and shampoo each day. Bathrooms not cleaned. No place to sit outside and relax after a day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. I was wearing a leg brace for knee injury and having to walk steps up to 2nd floor was difficult

    The location and a free shuttle to old town waas great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a refurbishment , bathroom and toilet small and old fashioned ,had to ask for a fridge and pay $10 a day. No microwave . No ice machine it's due an update ASAP

    Lovely receptionist who got us checked in earlier than normal , very helpful Shuttle bus, excellent service by the two drivers we met

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: