Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3 stars

1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705, USA

#43 of 103 hotels in Tucson

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 490 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at the restaurant was HORRIFIC..... extremely understaffed for volume, Kitchen staff out helping, 20 minutes ti place order, being in business I still left a generous tip BUT>>>>>>>>>> Really bad!!

    Front desk lady was great, friendly hospitable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location,

    The room was excellent, the serve to order breakfast was very fresh and delicious, with a good verity of items to chose from, it was amazing, great service overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not in the greatest part of Tucson (but not the worst). When I took our dog for a walk to the park across the street (in the daylight), there were homeless people sleeping in one section, which was sad but not threatening. However, another guy was a little too interested in us so we immediately left. (If you stay on the property when walking around, you'll be fine.) The only real complaint I have about the hotel property is that there's not enough parking.

    The grounds are clean, nice, and felt safe. The room was modern and nicely decorated, and the bed very comfortable. (I did find a burr attached to the blanket on the fold-out couch, but otherwise the room was immaculate. Burrs are like Velcro so that could have been easily missed!) The hotel is close to the train tracks, but earplugs are provided in the rooms. (Although we didn't need them - once the door was closed the room was quiet.) The made-to-order, complimentary breakfast in the little diner was lovely. All the staff were friendly and courteous -- from the check-in clerks to housekeeping to the cook in the diner. We loved our funny, sassy waitress! In all, however, this was a great place for the price, and we will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff..no soap...no shampoo..and couldn't help with anything. Got hung up on by front desk lady..our 1 year wedding anniversary was ruined!! ☹

    I like the semi private balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is run down. The bathtub drain was clogged. We had to change rooms twice. We got “upgrades” because one room had a very strong musty odor and the second room the thermostat was broken

    The only decent thing about this dump was the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a Best Western you might be used to. It is more like a motel and it doesn t make you feel comfortable. The door is from outside and everybody passes by and can watch into your room. That is really dark. In the area where the „hotel“ is located there is NOTHING. The staff at the reception: everybody who calls by phone is nr one to be served, standing in front of then after some hundred kilometers drive you have to wait. Strange business behaviour. And: NO COFFEE in the lobby.

    Breakfast to order was great and delicious, people in the restaurant were really kind. Poolwas good! AC is modern and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is OUTSTANDING ~ a well kept secret! The coconut shrimp were cooked to perfection & the dipping sauce divine. Then came the prickly pear glazed Salmon ~ This should have 5 star rating!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but that’s the only good thing about this place it’s over priced with all the extra fees and there’s a train track right next door trains go by every hour very loud and hard to sleep, rooms not very clean other people’s hair all over bed sheets and very stained

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very small and not a good quality. From the menu you can choose out very few limited oprions. Everything else (other dishes, add ons etc.) is charged extra and tip is required like you are not in a hotel restaurant and you had no breakfast included in the price. Room service was quite late one day and since we were in room we didn't get cleaning on that day.

    Rooms are nice and clean and they have everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much view, but I knew that. Parking fills up on karaoke nights, so we parked in the adjacent lot. Walk up to 2nd floor.

    Clean, had nice suite w 2 fridges, spa tub, and privacy wall by the entry to serve as a balcony. Breakfast was free and yummy. Bar had karaoke, so that was not ideal. Didn't use outdoor pool, but it looked maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 11 nights

    f you have problems with noise, there are ear tampons that you can use (There's a subway nearby so I guess noise can be a problem for some people- and I would also suggest to improve the acoustic isolation between the rooms). If you are travelling alone, I do not recommend to walk at night, as there are no people on the streets.

    Great breakfast and the restaurant waiters/waitresses were always very kind. The restaurant is also a good option to have dinner. It's close to walk until the 4th Avenue where you can find many restaurant options. The bed was very comfortable and the installations are good. The location is very good, next to the university, transit center, bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains in the middle of the night. Not bad every night but definitely a factor. Room was equipped with ear plugs for that reason.

    Very well kept for an older hotel. Great cooked to order breakfast and 2 for 1 happy hour! Location close to downtown without the $ prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved that our room had two fridges and two TVs as well as a little living room area. It was not expected when I booked the King bed sized room. The room was very clean and modern. Also I was expecting a complementary continental breakfast but the free breakfast included lots of hot plates and a variety of items to choose from. I’ll never underestimate a Best Western again! It was definitely worth every penny.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is much more of a motel rather than hotel. The room was a little tired looking but still comfortable.

    The staff were very helpful. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't change the ac temperature.

    Great place to stay.Ashley at the front desk was very helpful. Loved the restraunt, fast service, tasty, hot breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    From staff at the front desk to the phone call to see how she might help us (+recommend a 5*vegetarian restaurant), to the lovely pool,drinks+ comfy bed+room, great green soaps in the shower, a breakfast made to order...it was all just right..wonderful. We'll be back many times for sure, with friends!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was clean and well kept. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient, and our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the excellant craft beers in the lounge and chose to eat our dinner there as well. Had the best french fries ever and one of the best burgers while enjoying world class entertainment from Mr. Boogie Woogie.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the pool and fitness area are not accessed with a room key. I personally witnessed a homeless individual bath in the hot tub. I reported to management and I do not have strong impressions that he will make a change to the access area of the pool and fitness area. Grossed me out and we will not return for a stay and would not recommend unless proven that a change has been made.

    The breakfast was awesome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing not to like about this place.

    A very clean and pretty place. Pool and hot tub are very clean. There's wonderful little sitting areas. Smoking is allowed on balconies by your room. A very pleasant little restaurant on site with great food Breakfast was awesome. Cooked to order We absolutely enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Awesome experience! Heated outdoor pool and hot tub! They have a bar on site & they give you free drink coupons when checking in! Free breakfast was a made to order in their dinner, which was impressive. Usually hotels offer the buffet, this was much better for me!Overall great experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee could be stronger maybe think about a cappuccino machine. Also the AC rattled in our room.

    The complimentary breakfast was great. Good food consistently the whole stay. Loved the two for one drink coupons for the lounge. Drink prices were very reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not a hotel this is a motel and should be advertised as such. It’s in need of updates. My room description was not accurate. I did not have a king bed and a sofa sleeper. Only a king bed and a chair. The motel should not advertise a free breakfast. The breakfast is not a traditional free breakfast. It is served at an adjoining diner where the staff tells you they are way too busy and they don’t know when anyone will be able to help you. If you have somewhere to be you will not have time for the motel’s breakfast. I had to go elsewhere after being seated and ignored for over 10 mins. The amount I paid for this room was way overpriced for what I received.

    The shower had good water pressure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa wasn't working. The walls are paper thin. Could here snoring from the adjoining room.every night they charged a different price and didn't tell me.

    The people in the restaurant were nice and the food was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near a Salvation Army Shelter. Lots of homeless people cut across hotel grounds.

    Very basic room. The place is more like a large motel. People walking past window - needed to keep drapes shut for privacy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The key was bit tricky! you had to really get the right speed on putting the card and pulling it out - but other than that is was very pleasant.

    The location was perfect for me because i was there to visit my daughter who is a senior at U of A and she lives just down the street. The woman who checked me in was very personable and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are pretty firm, I know some like that, but as a side sleeper not do much! However bedding was clean and comfortable.

    My request for first floor was met, and front desk also made sure I could park close to room. Being on oxygen distances matter! Also location was good, easy to find, and get in and out of. I really liked have windows we could open.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy from street at night and early morning. Dirty outside our door. Restaurant short on staff both night and next morning of our stay.

    Although old property, nicely upgraded and well decorated. Nice linens. Nice pool and exercise room, although did not use either. Good outdoor night lighting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything of importance that we didn't like.

    We enjoyed the grounds with the colorful flowers, the shade of the trees and watching the birds and hummingbirds drink and bathe in the water features. We also liked having the restaurant and cantina right there for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was electric kettle in d room.It was a pain to go on d Morning to pick up tea from the breakfast room.I had made the request for kettle much before checking in.For the kind of room rate charged expected this basic requirement to be met.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more locations of ice vending machines not just the one by the reception. I had to go across street to go and get ice.

    Very close to Speedway Boulevard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that the beds was a little hard. Also the walls are a little thin but they do provide you with ear plugs for the noise.

    Great customer service at the front desk.. Heather which I believe was the manager Was very pleasant and helpful..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consentancy. Don’t eat at the restraurant for dinner ( they are out of several items on the menu and the ticket time was 40+ minutes), our shower drain was slow.

    The complimentary breakfast was amazing and the pool was wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish breakfast included would have ran till 10 a.m. instead of 9. Very noisy! Train and it’s horn rang loudly and for a long time at 2 and 3 in the morning! Everything was further than front desk explained. Walking distance? At night!?! We took a cab. Should have driven to our destination.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking spaces are limited when the motel is full. We had to park in the restaurant parking lot after we returned late from an evening out. On a positive note, the parking lot was well lit and next door to the motel.

    The property was clean, updated and conveniently located. The breakfast was tasty and the servers were friendly and professional. We have plans to stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lady in the staff that was really rude. We also booked the room and was told one price, and when we got there it was more than what we were told.

    We loved the spa stub in the room. We loved how big the room was. It was beautiful inside and out of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was Super and the restaurant staff was nice! Clean and bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Convenient to the Amtrak Station - a short taxi ride. And Enterprise is near.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Non- Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told at checkin t there were no rooms available on the first floor. When the desk called us to see if were all right, my husband stated that my leg is very very weak, the said we could move to the first floor. We declined since I had bee going

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The motor to the Jacuzzi was broken after the ride.

    It was a great deal. Close to the rides Starting point, Brother John's and my Brother's place. The complimentary breakfast was good and they opened early on the ride day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool was not private or secure as the gate was not locked, the area was a bit rough and as a motel it felt like it was lacking security and privacy. The hotel itself was well maintained with lots of parking.

    The server at the bar was amazing, and the rooms were a decent size

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy activity at the pool while we were trying to rest in the late afternoon. Bathroom was small with no fan, but it was nice to open the window in the morning.

    Breakfast was fantastic: delicious food and friendly service. Sleeping was comfortable and the room was nice and quiet after the pool deck quieted down. Friday Karaoke at the restaurant next door was fun and the service there was friendly. I appreciated the front desk staff working to find us the best room available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom smelled like urine. The property was across the street from the Homeless Park. The food was mediocre at best. The walls were not very soundproof. My room had a lovely view of the parking lot. Cleaning staff and waitresses were very nice, but one of the front desk staff was clueless when I asked for directions, and really didn't seem to care if I got where I was going or not. I just decided to make the best of it.

    When I asked the cleaning staff not to use chemicals in my room, they didn't. I wondered if the sheets on the bed were fresh or used (very wrinkled) but I just ignored it and actually slept pretty well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls paper thin. Could hear every word of someone talking in the next room. Could not enjoy the pool. People smoking cigarettes - reeked. Had a 2 fo one drink coupon. Margarita was not drinkable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Room was located in front of the pool and hot tub. The property itself was really nice especially with a lot of Palm trees. The hotel Staff, the restaurant and bar and the Evening meals in the restaurant was really great especially for the price. I was really pleased with our stay at BW in Tucson.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Worst issue - multiple times per night a train was operating in the area. Much more noise than I anticipated. Otherwise this facility was reasonable enough.

    Site was in desired location. Facilities were sufficient for my needs & desires (free parking, breakfast available, pool/spa), and reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Cantina was a bit ghetto. We opted to uber to Congress for drinks.

    Good price, central location, plenty of parking, clean spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a great HOT breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amount available at breakfast. The fitness center is practically not existent. Too small, and none of the machines in order or work. The property is very noisy. During the night a huge machine outside makes a lot of noise. The air conditioner is also noisy. Bathroom tub in was not working for some time. Could not use the toilet for some time, since it was leaking. Rooms are very dark, due to only one window is available that faces the balcony, therefore always has to be covered, otherwise everyone would directly see everything you do, even when you are in the bathroom. I did not like the style of the room, although I decided I will not consider that in my rating.

    I always have a hard time rating stays in the US, since they usually lack the European way of doing things, like buffet in the morning, good coffee, practical facilities, good bathrooms or quiet room. Nevertheless, it would not be fair if I would compare properties from the US to properties that of EU. The staff is amazing, but people in Tucson in general are much more friendly and polite than in the EU. The breakfast is decent, the meals are better at the dinner. Comfortable bed, spacious room and bathroom, except the shower and the toilet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Spa Bath - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Karaoke system at the bar sounded horrible. Too much volume on the vocals gave me a headache. Way too much.

    Very nice hotel. Very well taken care of and nice landscaping. Tons of flowers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures made it look way cleaner and bigger and nicer than it actually was. We Had no view at all other than the park across the street that was crawling with druggies and homeless people.

    The resturaunt was honestly the only part we enjoyed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was out dated and incredibly small. Entrance from back side of property makes it look like a run down -but the property is nice. Pillows in the room are horrible! Terrible lighting for overall room but good in individual areas.

    Angela was wonderful when checking us in and even called our room shortyafter we got to our room to ensure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely. Our waitress was terrific.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    After a long day driving didn't feel to drive some more for a bite to eat the place there was great! The bartender awesome guy and had entreteiment food was great also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no elevators for people like my mother that cannot clime stairs. The shower was clogged and we had to be careful not to be in there too long or it would over flow. I thought I was getting a suite but I guess as long as you add a couch to a room that's a suite. I went by the pictures on website and it looked like the bedroom and living room area were separated so that is why I booked the room. It was disappointing when we showed up and that was not the case.

    The staff was really helpful when we couldn't get the AC temperature to go up and the front desk person that helped me was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King Suite with Roll in Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I DIDN'T LIKE THE CONNECTING DOORS BETWEEN ROOMS. IT'S NICE IF I REQUESTED IT, LIKE IF I WAS TRAVELING & NEEDED MULTIPLE ROOMS BUT IT WAS SOMETHING I WOULD OF PREFERRED NOT TO HAVE WHILE TRAVELING WITH MY HUSBAND. I ALSO DIDN'T LIKE THAT I REQUESTED EXTRA TOWELS & PILLOW 3X & THEY STILL NEVER CAME. I HAD TO GO TO THE FRONT OFFICE & GET THEM MYSELF.

    I LOVED THE ROOM SIZE. I ALSO LIKE THAT THE RESTAURANT WAS IN WALKING DISTANCE & THAT OUR MEALS WERE MADE TO ORDER

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a little inconsistent. It worked well and was fast most of the time. But occasionally it would just stop working.

    I had a great experience. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff, especially those at the breakfast service were very warm, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    More parking spaces.

    I loved the cooked-to-order breakfast choices included in the price of the room. A real plus! Disappointed there was no bathtub - but was given a handicap room (which I did not need); think it was their last available room. Outside there are nice little "patios" where you can comfortably sit and enjoy the scenery. Didn't feel there was enough parking spaces and it's an area of Tucson where there's a lot of traffic. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, the bar and restaurant super convenient with a long happy hour. Great location within walking distance or short drive to 4th street restaurants and bars

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room 202 was quite dark and too cloistered. Could have been brighter,

    Proximity to main city areas, room cleanliness, room accouterments and the restaurant was excellent. Great staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly, room was well appointed and wi fi was quick. Cooked breakfast was really nice touch and the steak in the restaurant the night before was 10/10

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The carpet in the room was very used and very dirty, probably it was renovated ten's of years ago; it did not look hygienic at all and I could imagine that in many countries under similar conditions the authorities would simply close that hotel forcing to renovate it. The breakfast, despite the loud and big advertisement, was really poor, at least judging by the european standards. There was a really poor choice. Although the breakfast was included, one was supposed to pay the usual in USA tip (gratuity). One could obtain either a juice or a coffee, but not both of them. More correctly, one could obtain also the 2nd drink, but not for free.

    It is a simple hotel that lives from the addition to its name "Best Western +...". In reality it is very far from the stndards of the "Best Western".

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the resturant was very expensive, not very clean and was more like a dairy queen style. the cheap breakfast was ok.

    seperate living and bedroom spaces

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ice machine was empty. Check in staff was not friendly. Not a huge deal. Main issue was it looked like an old run down motor inn that Best Western had bought and 'spruced' up. It just wasn't that nice, clean and was in a quasi-industrial / previously run down area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing would be if they had sheltered parking as the car just got so so hot sitting in the blazing sun. That is all I would suggest.

    A fantastic hotel for the price. Room was comfortable and clean, staff were very friendly, ample parking, great pool (which was much needed in 45 degree heat) and fabulous food (the chicken with Marsala wine sauce was amazing) Absolutely cannot fault this place. 5*****

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would heartily recommend Royal Sun. If I had to criticise anything at all, the housekeeping forgot to leave something each day we were there ( nothing major, coffee creamer one day, bath mat another... Really scraping the barrel to find a negative.

    The staff here were brilliant. Check in was welcoming. Front desk even had freshly baked cookies one day. Bar was really good (2 for 1 drinks a bonus. Food was tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast was probably the best I've ever had. Again, staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was ready, requested a first floor room, it was good to go. Restaurant on site, next day breakfast was not a buffet, but a sit down, waitress served, breakfast. It was awesome. They were resurfacing the street the next day, gave us an excellent heads up AND instructions on where to park. Awesome, would be back for sure!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ????

    The complimentary breakfast was a hot sit down breakfast, with a menu that you choose your breakfast from a choice of 8-10 different combinations of eggs/pancakes, even all egg whites!! It was served in their restaurant that was by far the cutest and cleanest free breakfast facility I had experienced! The servers were very attentive and had your coffee/water refilled before you noticed. The front office staff was very friendly and helpful....the grounds, parking lot ,staircases, workout facility/pool were also nicely manicured and well maintain. Needless to say, I already booked another stay with BW Royal Sun Inn! Thank you for still displaying the "old fashion" respect and courtesy to your customers,and of course for the spectacular cleanliness of your establishment! See you Soon!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Roll in Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the first hour we were at hotel, we had to change rooms. There were maintenance personnel working on our room with all our belongings inside when we came up from pool. We moved to lower level room and had very noisy upstairs neighbors.

    Location was ideal, and staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was less than comfortable and the location makes for a lot of noise during the night. The restaurant was nothing more than OK, and the bar the same.

    Location is convenient for the superior court.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not much to see in Tucson. There are no shops or places to really visit.

    Staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean. Nice looking property and good food at the restaurant. In the downtown area the place is jumping in the after hours.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needed to cleaned (carpet was dirty and the couch /chair. We had booked the room way ahead of arrival and it was a medical appointment the next day and we had told them this, but, room still was not ready.?!!(dirty and not stocked with towels , etc.)

    After we called the front desk the next A.M.. we gave our lack of certain items in the room, they(the desk clerk brought them to us so we had towels to use after our shower). Very early but we needed the towels, etc. The Plus is the fact that the Breakfast was excellent and the waitress was superb !!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like except the food in the restuarant. But then again, I am a food "snob." Glad there was a Whole Foods Market nearby!

    I loved the decor and the location. Very easy access to everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold on the bathroom ceiling.

    Office staff was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. Having a real breakfast was a plus. Beds were comfy. Provided an extra blanket and washcloths cheerfully and promptly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have a fridge in the room but no microwave. It would be great if you would add them to the rooms.

    We liked just about everything. I was raised in Tucson and knew the area. For a sort of downtown area it was ok and not a long distance from where we were going. The hotel grounds were very nice...we like the little decorative pool. We didn't use the big pool. We booked you again for another stay this week. We are attending the College Baseball tournament at Kino Sports Compled...our grandson is playing in it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is old and while the furnishings were updated the rooms (we had two different rooms) smelled stale and old.We were disappointed with the overall quality for the price and brand name.

    Bed was fine, breakfast was great.Easy to locate with use of vehicle GPS.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No door on bathroom. Vending machines not working. Wish the restaurant didn't close after breakfast (reopens at 5 for dinner).

    The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The food was great and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast cook. Terrible waffle. Cheap syrup. Bryan was a good server and pleasant.

    The bed was bumpy bad. Noise from other guests outdoors/next door etc. Constant noise from the trains.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to extend breakfast to brunch hours on the weekend and update the trivia cards on the tables. Overall, the stay was excellent.

    You just can't beat the complimentary made-to-order breakfast. All the staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: