Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kimpton Buchanan Hotel 4 stars

1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115, USA

#48 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 730 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    It was a great central location, clean and a had a lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little misleading in the pictures. The King suite bed looked like they had been replaced with smaller beds, because the side tables that were connected to the wall were about a foot and a half out from the bed. The restroom had a door on the exterior but not in the space separating the shower/ toilet from the sink area. Which made getting ready take a little longer.

    The facility was really clean and staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Location was in the middle of ( 2 blocks from) Japan center,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No microwave or coffee maker in the guest rooms. There are coffee station off the lobby, but the guests must come downstairs to drink their coffee in public. I like to enjoy morning coffee in bed while watching TV. There is no guarantee for the guest parking. First come first serve, and I heard there are only 24 spaces for the entire hotel guests. The staffs advised to use a near-by public parking, but there is no in/out privilege there. Also to note is that if your car is large and tall, it won't pass the parking gate.

    Location was in the middle of ( 2 blocks from) Japan center, walking distance to many stores and restaurants. This is the reason I stayed here. Staffs were nice and helpful also. The hotel parking was a self parking, so it allowed access to our car and in/out anytime as long as space was found. We shopped a lot, and it was so nice to be able to stop by the hotel to drop them off in our car as you continue exploring the area on foot. The hair dryer was one of the best of many hotel dryers I have used. Powerful but did not dry out my hair.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay and will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t exactly care for the happy hour traffic going through the gym to get to the courtyard.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable!! Such a good nights sleep! Housekeeping left our room spotless and stocked (we stayed for a week) and reception was welcoming and helpful. Great location as well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    7 days/6 nights. Affordable rate for a S.Fco staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    ***When I opened the faucet for the hot water a very bad smell started to invade the bathroom. Like a sewer smell. Every single day... It was terrible and I had to wait loooong time till the smell leave the area. ***The decoration make the hotel look older than the infrastructure appear to be. The lobby is nice but the floor´s corridors are too dark and not so inviting with the decoration. A little creepy I might say. ***When I arrived with two big bags, trying to pull them down the stairs of the entrance, there was an employee cleaning; he just saw my mom and I struggle with the bags and he pretended he didn´t see us. So he didn´t even try to help neither saluted us. ***The inside restaurant is not that nice neither the meals despite the persons working here are kind. When it comes to a restaurant being kind is not enough, just a part of the pack. The place looks like a cheap restaurant and the oil smell and the tables decoration look like a one-star hotel instead of the type the Buchanan really is... Guys, you need to upgrade that restaurant and make it look better.

    The location, despite not being in the very center, was equidistant from all the main attractions that the city has which made the Lyft fare very affordable. The public transportation (if you prefer to take it) leaves you and drops you just outside the door of the hotel. How cool is that? Since the hotel is in the Japanese town you are able to have truly great, high quality and affordable sushi two minutes walking from the hotel door. The hotel has a very generous `wine-free´policy. Every day from 5 to 6 they have free wine in the lobby. So if you are around that time while staying the Buchanan, you can enjoy the nice courtesy. The staff is friendly, efficient, kind and always trying to help. They have free water naturally flavored drinks ALL DAY =))) and also TEA. Very nice details !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.6
    The beds
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid $500 a night for a room that when I stayed there was going for $265, and that was worth about $175. There was a flimsy curtain on the bathtub not even a real shower. The faucets leaked. The bathroom door did not close but swang open from side to side with a little ball that was supposed to keep it shut but didn’t and anyways it was open on each side of the door. No possible privacy. Breakfast was not even included at this insane price. The restaurant was smelly. I’ve stayed at other Kimptons and this was wayyyy below their standards. Non even their own restaurant! Upon arrival You had to go down steep stairs to enter carrying your bags.

    The beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Ultimate in comfort, modern design with lots of space, fab location and exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff exceptionally accommodating, friendly and you will love the 5pm wine hour. Great location near Filmore and the hotel staff recommended lots of places to try. King room bed is insanely comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door to the bathroom was a bit awkward and I wasn't sure if I closed it a couple times.

    The complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap & lotion were great! Really appreciate being able to try new products.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    2.5
    Hotel has a complimentary happy hour and it’s in a good area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possible bed bugs. Woke up with bites The situation was poorly handled by guest services and management. According to them room was inspected and no bugs found, but I was transferred to another room and no more bites. Besides the bites the worst part was the treatment from the staff and the handling of the situation.

    Hotel has a complimentary happy hour and it’s in a good area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.5
    A really good hotel and a very warm welcome. Pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was difficult to operate as it required a lot of pressure to pull out the mechanism to start the shower but was perfectly adequate once on.

    The hotel hosted a ‘wine hour’ every evening in the hotel foyer providing free drinks and giving people an opportunity to chat informally to other guests - great idea! Card in room to indicate that items you may have ‘forgotten’ to bring may be available from hotel ‘on loan’ or free. Staff were so helpful. Room was lovely and bed very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    A lovely, restful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few, minor scuff marks on the furniture and walls inside the room. A quick touch up would have been nice.

    I liked the complimentary high quality coffee and teas available in the morning. I also liked the afternoon wine hour. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful which was appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Love the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Love the location. Right across from Japantown and only a 30 mins walk to union square. Staff super helpful and friendly. Rooms were big and bed was super comfortable. Love the free coffee/tea in the morning and the sake/wine in the late afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very clean and spacious and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking costs but they all seem to be expensive in SF.

    Very clean and spacious and modern. Great location for proximity to Pacific Heights but also quiet on the streets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Overall awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great! Complimentary wine in the lobby was amazing :) Such a great view of the courtyard/hangout area, love the design! The bed was comfy! Thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    The location is great and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not take a shower in the am as the water would not stay hot. Not even warm. It would get warm then immediately go back to cold.

    The location is great and safe. We walked around at night with no problem.The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    The staff, property, and location were all completely lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff, property, and location were all completely lovely. I loved the Japanese-themed elements such as the kimonos and art pieces, all in keeping with the historic Japantown neighborhood. So close to everything, and generally a great value for our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    We arrived after a 14 hour flight from Sydney - so tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived after a 14 hour flight from Sydney - so tired. They let us in to our lovely room at 8.30am. Such a good feeling when you are very exhausted!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    Nice location -old hotel that doesn't stack up against the newer hotels
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was always cold -roomwas dusty-ice not on every floor -coffee /tea offered daily but not always full containers of the beverage they were offering

    Location and the concierge was so helpful-the hotel supplied shampoo conditioner body wash and soap

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, youthful clientele, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Accessible King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few comfort amenities. Wanted a comfortable chair in the room, a comforter for the bed and window seat. And pillows for the window seat.

    Location. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    Okay but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in staff wouldn’t let me register because for some reason my husband’s name was on the reservation. However, I made the reservation with my credit card - everything was in my name but my husband needed to register, not me. What year is it again? The bed was very uncomfortable.

    The staff was nice and friendly but there was a problem in check-in. Please see below:

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Quiet, modern hotel with Japanese touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located a distance away from SF's attractions. The only public transport links nearby are buses, which took about 25 minutes to reach downtown. Few supermarkets nearby, no late night ones. Few late night food options around also.

    We loved the hotel and the room - it is in Japantown, a safe, quiet and relatively cheaper alternative to downtown San Francisco. The staff were warm and friendly, always willing to help. The room was modern, very clean with nice Japanese touches. The bathroom in contrast was rather bare with an industrial-looking floor, but was big (a bonus in land scarce SF). We only ate once at Mum's restaurant - a Japanese restaurant located in the hotel. Prices are reasonable and portions are big.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Sweet, boutique hotel stay while you wander through the shops of Japantown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on site is an additional $40. Couldn’t access this info on Booking. Com until I made the reservation.

    Sake offered at Happy Hour. The location for experiencing Japantown is perfect: just walk across the street! Endless number of restaurants within a short walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    4.6
    Would not book at this location again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel was not clean both inside and the steps, sidewalk outside. Our bottom bed sheet had a tear in it and the bottom sheet on my side had black and brown stained dirt.

    Location, water in the lobby, maid service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    nice clean and simple designed rooms with convenient carpark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    no glasses / water boiler ready in room (seems to be available by requesting). thought they should be placed in room as they are essential

    nice clean and simple designed rooms with convenient carpark. love the windowside seating area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff but basic eco-unfriendly hotel not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was bleak and basic with no coffee or tea making. You can go down stairs for coffee in the morning if you like but I doubt they like you there in your sleep attire. I couldn’t put my computer through the television so had to suffer US TV (the worst on Earth). The window allowed a large amount of street noise which made early morning wake ups inevitable. They redo all linen every day!!! That’s ecologically insane and meant our child’s bed-wetting sheet was lost in the laundary. Still not heard back about that. Air-con was a law unto itself. We just wanted it off but that wasn’t possible apparently.

    A friendly welcome and staff tried to help with the issues.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Modern, clean, highly functional hotel in Japantown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, I would stay here again.

    Loved all the USB charging and plugs next to the bed on both sides -- that's essential. Loved the TV easel stand -- with the high end Samsung attached! Loved the private balcony with views east toward the lovely Russian Hill. Loved the proximity (across the street) to a super authentic Japanese indoor mall with countless restaurants to eat at. Especially on a cold winter's day! Loved how spacious the room was without seeming wasteful. Everything was great, a very rare comment for me to make!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Great service and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a walk to the waterfront (walk there isn’t too bad, the walk back to the hotel can be a bit much. Uber is good!)

    Great service Comfortable rooms Close to Japantown Free drinks at happy hour Public parking in Japan mall is about half the price of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Doesn't have laundry machine in hotel and near by. Not included brackfast.

    Very clean and nice hotel. Location is also very good. Public parking lot is near by hotel with reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Stylish and family friendly—a rare combination!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited.

    The room was quiet, spacious and nicely decorated. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is near Fillmore street where there are plenty of restaurants (Sweet Maple was delicious).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location, nice clean rooms and feel generally safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was easy to find, but saw lots of glass on the street and parked in the parking garage a block away. Bathrooms are a little awkward being so large, but a very minor concern.

    Great location, nice clean rooms and feel generally safe. Easy access to a great neighborhood of things to do and in proximity to other fun neighborhoods.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Best Hotel Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cryptic messages about things in the room that were not in the room. Example: empty hangers that stated if you like the kimonos they provide you can buy one at the desk. There weren't any kimonos, just empty hangers. Repeat for bathroom toilitries like shampoo. I found it confusing but just ignored it.

    Clean,modern, and in a great location for our interests. The staff is very friendly and professional and made us feel very welcome. They provide many things you may need. The armoire even had a yoga mat and an umbrella if you needed them. Very kind of them to think of these things!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Again, everything was just pleasant, Lighting in room could be better. Lamp broken. Check in was odd. Desk staff always distracted.

    Quiet Location near Fillmore. Everything was very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't be back here again
    • Couple
    • King Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told them that we were getting married and no acknowledgement whatsoever with the staff nor the hotel,extremely disappointing . The mini fridge had a half dranked bottle of wine, was that the wedding gift? The container that holds the cotton ball and q-tip was gross once you open it full of hair and half used Q-tip inside the cup. Does the cleaning staff look into anything?

    The room setup was great, staff was great except for the first person who assisted us in the beginning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a perfect location.
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little rundown and could have been cleaned a little better

    Staff was terrific. Room was very comfortable. Love the happy hour and free am coffee

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    We had a nice visit. I would stay with kimpton again. Have stayed at other kimpton hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee maker in room.

    The room is clean and spacious. Nice view of city. Coffee & tea provided in morning. Wine provided in evening. Staff friendly and knowledgeable of area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    It met our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are comfy. There is no food service whatsoever, no breakfast (restaurant currently being renovated). Hotel needs updating, very outdated lobby seating, carpet throughout is pretty old. Bathrooms are old and need updating. Location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.0
    The retaurant was closed for renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The retaurant was closed for renovations. This is the 3rd time in the last 2 years I've booked with Booking.com and the adjoining restaurants have been closed for renovations. I think this should be disclosed before paying $400 a night and not being able to get room service or being able to walk downstairs to eat! Very disappointed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Best value for a 3 star hotel in the city, especially if you include overnight parking. Hands down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hosted wine and sake bar 5-6pm. In the center of Japantown, Great Ramen houses and traditional Asian cuisine, Right up the street from the Fillmore if your in town for a show there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful stay in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place to hang clothes was blocky and not very comfortable. A few updates could make the rooms even more comfortable. For the price, I expected a little better room amenities and only one side of the bed had a bedside table. This was confusing and made the room look odd with lots of empty space on one side.

    The staff are wonderful and do all they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. There is complementary iced cucumber water in the lobby so it was refreshing to hydrate after a long hot ride from the airport. The rooms are adequate, however the bathrooms could use with a little more updating. The bed was a dream!! The sheets and bed duvet were high cotton quality so each night sleep was like being in a comfy cocoon. Great beds! The showers had good pressure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location in need of some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel seemed a little worn. The subterranean lobby was dark and oddly decorated. The room layout was strange. The toilet/tub area was enormous with a small anteroom with a sink. The open closet area was behind the sink. The restaurant upstairs was utilitarian and not what I expect from a Kimpton. Good access to several useful bus lines.

    The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed our view of Japantown.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great location in between Pacific Heights and right on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location in between Pacific Heights and right on the edge of Japantown. Felt very calm and serene but within walking distance to shops and cafes on Fillmore. Easy pickup for Lyft and shuttles. Will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    Good staff poor facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations to the dining room / bar meant neither facility was available. Felt we should have been informed prior to arrival.

    Excellent front desk staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and lovely staff - good for business travelers
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms with modern design and excellent location were a major plus for this small hotel with a boutique feel. Wifi was super speedy making it an excellent choice for business travelers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff were very knowledgeable about the area and recommended...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very knowledgeable about the area and recommended great places to eat and visit on a tight business schedule. Everyone who worked there was super friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were crisp as I...
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were crisp as I like them . The location is superb, near Fillmore with several wonderful restaurants within a brief walk . It is in an active neighborhood which I find charming .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    The Buchanan is a modern day Zen Oasis mixed with an old world European Resort Spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our noisy next-door neighbor in the room next to us! Fortunately, I let the staff at the front desk know about the problem neighbor, & they went above & beyond to make up for the minor inconvenience.

    The staff was absolutely wonderful! They had made a note of my special room request, needing a comfortable space, free from harsh smells & sounds due to my health condition. Everyone at the hotel was friendly, polite, and helpful, and made us feel welcome & special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Would certainly return--a good experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smart minimal decor, Asian themed; comfortable; very helpful and service-oriented front desk staff; complimentary wine hour, 5-6 pm; complimentary newspapers; very convenient and frequent bus service right outside the front door--a quick ride to the heart of downtown SF; enjoyed being in Japantown with its good restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    The overall look and feel of the hotel was shabby at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall look and feel of the hotel was shabby at best. It felt run-down and not taken care of, therefore we believe it was way to expensive. This hotel is not what you expect when you pay $300/night. The staff though was great, they were professional and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    The Buchanan is a pleasant place to stay away from the maddening tourist crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The parking lot is pretty tight. But we understand that's the nature of the neighborhood.

    The location was ideal for us, because our daughter lives seven blocks away. We like the boutique hotel over the big monsters; they're much easier to manage.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing escape in a fun part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was the cost of parking each day ( $40 a day), but that is sf for ya. We understand why it costs so much. We just didn't like it.

    We loved the design and aesthetics of the rooms, hotel, halls, everything! Gorgeous! Also, it was a very practical size room for our 1.5 year old and us. She could play and enjoyed drawing at the desk with the hotel notepad and pen. We also had a small travel size pack n play type bed for her and there was ample of room for it. The little window nook was a favorite for all of us. The staff was incredibly warm and friendly. The ladies cleaning the rooms always greeted us genuinely happy or trying to make our daughter smile. All around we would stay again and again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location in Japantown & among some great restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although our overall stay was fantastic, we were on the first floor near the locker rooms on the opposite side of the restaurant; often until late there was a lot of noise from the people there. A few times we had people talking on their phone right outside the room or hanging around having conversations in the corridor. I get this can happen and we weren't opposed to them doing that, but consideration needs to be taken to make the room more insulated in regards to sound.

    Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights. Upon checking in the staff at the front desk were very welcoming and friendly, and my partner had forgotten a few amenities in which they were more than willing to provide for him. We dropped the bags off at the room and went down for the daily wine tasting hour which was great with wine provided by another friendly member of staff. The hotel was clean, bedding very nice and we had our own patio. Unfortunately, we would have liked some Kimonos which other guests had been provided but perhaps you need a more expensive room for those. The patio area was really nice, with access to the middle courtyard which had a fire pit, lawn and other seated areas. One of the best things about this hotel is it's location, however, if you're looking to be closer to Downtown then this isn't the one for you - this is located in the heart of Japantown. As someone who doesn't eat asian cuisine I have been completely converted. In the main shopping area you will find dozens of restaurants to eat at including dessert bars - I'd highly recommend going to Marafuku Ramen for their Chicken Paitan Deluxe; it's to die for. Be aware that for most places there's a waiting list but it's totally worth it for the price and quality of food here. If you do want to go Downtown though, there's plenty of access to public transport or simply take an Uber 20 minutes or so. Steer clear of the tenderloin if you can; it's not massively dangerous but there are a lot of homeless people there and it can be quite unsettling if you're not used to it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Good atmosphere hotel at a unique quarter of San Francisco - the Japanese Quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking to stay at walking distance from downtown this is too far. The restaurant at floor 1 is dirty, smelli and ugly - not like any other part of the hotel and that is the reason I didn't gave full score for cleaning. I told the guy's at the reception who agree with me. I was told the restaurant is operated privately and not belong to the hotel - still it is in the hotel, offering breakfast to the hotel guests and should be at a propiat level for 4 stars hotel

    The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The lobby is small but cosy and there is a very good feeling while entering the room. The outside garden is nice as well. Parking is convince. We found the Japanese center very unique - the hotel is just a cross the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Japanese Malls Pacific Heights close to Golden Gate Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door didn't close.

    We stayed first three nights in San Francisco at Kimptom Buchanan. My daughters like anime and this is a wonderful bonus treat with the charming Japanese malls, shopping and great food. Just a block to walk. It made a big difference for them and their enjoyment. We just Uber and go everywhere. From hotel we Walked to Full House house and Lafayette Park and SF Art University. beautiful Pacific Heights homes. Close to Golden Gate Park visited Science museum beautiful botanical gardens be sure to see Japanese tea garden we had no lines late in day after DeYoung museum and observation deck.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Getaway weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday housekeeping was short staffed and our room was only cleaned at 5pm

    The neighborhood is very clean and interesting. The room was very comfortable with very convenient parking in the building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and helpfu staff eager to please and make your stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a problem with the internet but I would not put that down to the Kimpton Buchanan

    Welcoming and friendly staff. Very comfy beds, room nice and spacious. Knowledgeable about the area and able to advise and make recommendations for me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not get the room I booked via booking.com and the hotel did not reserve all the room I have booked.

    The bed was very comfortable, the decoration of the hotel was very nice. Most of the staffs were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Front desk personnel were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get through to the front desk at the hotel as called a general line that did not give Option 0 as a way of getting front desk. Had to ask on second call and was then told. Option 0 should be offered when you call the automated line.

    Front desk personnel were fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.8
    Staff was very helpful, housekeeping lost a pajama which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door of the bathroom did not close which was uncomfortable as it was almost as there was no door, not acceptable... Room with 2 beds need more nightstands or tables Location is in japantown, seems close to city centre but it isn't and the walk isn't particularly great Gym is not 24h, Closes at 11pm

    Staff was very helpful, housekeeping lost a pajama which was never found so we offered they could cover our breakfast on the last day which they did Beds were comfy Good heating system

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere a bit sombre though minimalistic. Rooms quite dear, no breakfast included.

    Clean, comfortable room. Great location. Helpful front-desk staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Fresh, modern design. Great location.
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only places to sit were the bed or an office chair. The window seat didn't cut it, plus it was too hot. A comfy lounge chairs or settee would have been nice. A full-size mirror and more surfaces or usable draw space for toiletries and such would have been nice.

    Liked the overall design aesthetic. Our room was very large and clean with a comfy bed. We had street view (facing Buchanan), yet very quiet. Great location, close to everything, and away from crowded Union Square. Free wine happy hour was a nice touch. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Very nice feel to the place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bottled water would have been nice as would a coffee cup for use with the coffee maker .

    The really nice airy room was comfortable and plenty of space. Mine had a double door that went out onto with a small terrace and sofa.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Great neighborhood location although not at Union Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved the location, even though it's not right at Union Square. Much more quiet than in the middle of it all. Japantown is a very nice neighborhood and Fillmore Street which fantastic restaurants and shopping is just a 5minute walk away. Also good food (Japanese ;-) right across the street. The room war very comfy, big enough and super clean. We choose one with a balcony to the Buchanan Street side - nice typical SF views! Very friendly staff! :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Overall very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were able to get parking early on, but the parking structure is def. very limited. Food in the cafe didn't look too appealing

    We were able to check in early, which was really convenient and great overall!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay in a charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain.

    A really charming and very clean hotel in Japan town. Excellent service and very helpful staff. We were even upgraded to a bigger room with a lovely bay window. Location was nice and the area felt safe. The shuttle service to the airport was convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Service very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Accessible King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the facilities needed to be tweaked. Faucet needed to be tighten. Night stand light and clock had to be worked on to work.

    Service very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    A good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with the plumbing making noises but the problem was resolved

    We particularly enjoyed the wine tasting each night as it is an excellent way to meet other guests and get to know the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony door was loud when opening and closing. Ended up get a compliant about it. Didnt like the bathroom door to much.

    It was quiet. Calming. Good staff and very helpful. Thanks for the stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing boutique hotel in Japantown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing boutique hotel in Japantown. Loved the decor in the hotel. Bed was very comfortable and free wifi in the room was a plus! Many restaurants in the area. Would definitely recommend this place!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.0
    San Francisco Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool. No actual Hotel Restaurant, restaurant which is in hotel separately owned. Local restaurants mostly Japanese.

    Large rooms very comfortabl. Staff very helpful and friendly. Free wine happy hour every night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    I left my heart in San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was wonderful! Location is ideal for those who like to see/do it all. The on-site restaurant, happy hour and first floor outdoor patio with games and seating was very relaxing during down time. The rooms was very spacious with a great view and extremely comfortable beds!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Small hotel on the edge ofJapantown, great lounge area to chat, fast internet access, staff friendly and willing to help. Room was larger with small window seat overlooking the street and Japantown, great blackout blinds for sleeping late. Beds very comfortable. Buses from city run to nearby street (25 minutes) and car to ferry takes 10-15 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.6
    Staff was very professional and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were antiquated. No robes. No onsite dinning. Mediocre amenities. Would not recommend for a "stay-cation". Poor value for the cost.

    Staff was very professional and nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    will definitely look at this hotel again if the price is reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gymn could have been better and the room on the 3rd floor facing the street was a bit noisy from traffic but that's San Francisco.

    Location was great, cafe was unique.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    I LIKE PETS BUT WAS TURNED OFF BY ALL THE BIG DOGS AT HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above

    I LIKE PETS BUT WAS TURNED OFF BY ALL THE BIG DOGS AT HOTEL MADE ME WONDER IF DOG SLEPT IN MY BED PROBABLY WONT STAY THERE AGAIN BECAUSE OF THAT REASON ALONE

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    clean, modern but lacks breakfast options
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Negatives - hotel entrance would always be full of flies for some unexplained reason. Entrance is also kind of tricky as the ramp is actually on the side entrance. There wasn't anyone to help us with luggages at first. Also be careful with which room you choose-- there's a side that faces directly to a pre-school playground so weekday mornings can be quite loud. Negative points for the facilities (even though it offers free bikes-only two available though- and happy hour) - the gym was very meh (tiny room with maybe 2 things) and the hotel itself doesnt have breakfast. There's a cafe linked to the Hotel on the first floor but the breakfast was terrible. They should really take a look into that as the bad breakfast negatively affects the overall stay. I'm big on hotel breakfasts so if you are as well, this might not be the place for you!

    Rooms were lovely especially the ones facing Japan Town. They were spacious, modern and clean. The bed was great. Had stayed at the Kabuki last time and in comparison this one has a much more modern feel as everything seems super new. Great location for those who like Asian food, conveniently near japanese mall with cosmetic stores, yummy eats and Daiso. Asian supermarket also nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Superb experience - all details well-thought-through
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed and the pillows were super comfortable, all amenities supplied, staff very friendly and LOVED the yoga mat and kimonos in the room! The location is great, close to everything, quiet and residential. Superb experience!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: