Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Town & Country Lodge 3 stars

1051 North Blackstone, Tulare, CA 93274, USA

#3 of 12 hotels in Tulare

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 429 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The scrambled eggs at breakfast were awful, and most of the breakfast was sweet which we did not like.

    The room was very large and very convenient; it had everything that we needed. The parking was free. The staff were very nice. Free tea available all the time at reception. Wifi worked well. Overall, a great stay during our trip to Sequoia park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Potatos were not cooked all the way and could have been hotter. Sausage was ok but have had better.

    Bisquits and gravy was great Great waffles, oatmeal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hours only from 6 til 9am on weekdays (until 10am on weekends). On Monday morning we showed up at 9:05am to find closed doors to the breakfast buffet. On Sunday it was quite crowded. Exterior was being renovated so many parking spots were taken up by trades people on Monday morning.

    Breakfasts included even though the reservation confirmation mentioned a $1 charge per person. Location closed to shops & eateries. Staff friendly and helpful. There was a coin operated laundry adjacent to the fitness room open from 9am til 9pm. That was really convenient. Breakfast buffet has variety of hot and cold options. Clean room and daily room service. Outdoor pool with towels provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the family suite it was perfect for our family and very clean and comfortable. Also my daughter has a service dog and staff was great and room was close to out doors space...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hours could have been extended one hour later.

    I don't usually give a perfect score. However, the best western met out needs completely! The room was spacious and near to all the places we needed to go. We had family booked in at hotels on either side . They were amazed at what we had for the price we paid!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room used for the breakfast buffet was much too small for the number of people served. The attendant was really hard-working, though.

    Check-in was totally painless. Very strong wifi network.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift to the second floor (1st in this country) so those with mobility problems will have to have help to either get up the steps or get their luggage up.

    It is handily placed to go on to both Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks and easy to get to from the freeway. It has a reasonable although very American breakfast with no healthy options. It is comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Water temp in shower was not very hot. Swimming pool was cold.

    Breakfast was good, warm & plentiful. Hot tub was very nice. Access to hotel was very easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike. Surroundings have no charm

    The hotel is conveniently located in Tulare (off the highway). Very friendly reception people. Fast and enjoyable check-in. The room was spacious with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was a bit better than usual

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The awful smell in surrounding area (it's not the hotel's fault; the whole Bakersfield area smelled bad, perhaps due to farms or factory nearby).

    The hot breakfast was great, the hotel clean and service good. The price was fair as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there on a Sunday, so the lounge wasn't open. We had to go out to pick up dinner. Not a tragedy by any means, just a disappointment.

    I was travelling with my teenage niece. We both felt safe and comfortable, and the staff were all helpful and friendly. I'll be staying again when I travel to Southern CA with my husband.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of any negatives!

    Very helpful, friendly and accommodating staff. The added coupons for the lounge and fresh, well prepared and extensive free breakfast was a real treat!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool should be open earlier especially on the summer. Also the restroom are small. A little bigger would of be nice.

    Breakfast was great and the beds where controuble to sleep on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It being non smoking. There should be a certain area just for smokers with good ventilation so it doesn't get throughout the whole place.

    The staff was great and the place was very beautiful and relaxing. I recommend it to my friends when they travel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is conveniently located, clean, comfortable and with modern furniture. The staff at the reception has been very kind and welcoming. Recommended

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a family suite, which is really 2 bedrooms, one with a king and one with a queen, and shared bath and closet area. I would think there would be a shared sitting area given it's billed a "family" suite. In fact the only seating besides the beds were an arm chair and desk chair in the larger room - no sofa. Just an odd setup, especially given one bed in each room - for a family? Also the entrance I was directed to closest to the room was around the side, not well lit and completely out of view of the main parking and well, people in general. I chose to walk the long way, the side entrance did not feel safe in the slightest.

    Great location, nice property, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since breakfast started at 6 am and I needed to leave at 5:30 I paid for something I couldn't even use. It would have been nice if breakfast opened at 5 am for early travelers.

    It was nice coming back to a well cleaned and made up room! Also, can't beat the location. Would love to use again after the Expo.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like being placed by the laundry room and closet where the attendants were working, talking loud and playing their music. I could hear everything and had to use the volume on the tv to drown it.

    I like staring my day with a hot breakfast. The batter for the waffles were fluffy, fresh melon, Apple's and yogurt was filling.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aromatizer smell in the room when we entered so that we had to open the window (it helped).

    Close to the highway; Variety of dining options in the vicinity; We arrived late and were offered "buy-one-get-two" voucher for the bar that served simple appetizers like chicken wings, which was quite sufficient for us. Good breakfast. Spacious two-bed room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the reception puts on different faces for different races.

    Cleanliness, room facilities are new and in good shape. beds quality very good. pillows are ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when entered the room was a little stuffy felt closed up (turned the fan on and was good) the Hotel itself could use an update as far as paint that Yellow is just not appeasing.

    Overall a great stay. Wife and I just stayed the night to shop the Tulare outlets and enjoy a movie at the Galaxy Theater. (which is a must) the Hotel was very clean and a simple on and off the freeway access, though the freeway is close you will not be bothered by the noise as this isn't a extremely busy freeway at night. staff was polite, rooms were clean. also the FREE morning Breakfast was pretty good I was impressed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a thing.

    I can't say enough good things about this place and I am a stickler for cleanliness and service. Staff were phenomenal from the first minute of interaction. The room was spacious and clean. Very comfortable. The staff member who checked me in offered me a different room if I wanted to wait because the one that was ready for me (I checked in a little bit early) was close to the check-in area, but I had no problem with noise. Breakfast was the best I've had at this level of hotel. Delicious fresh, seasonal fruit and plenty of options. I was impressed. Two for one drinks during happy hour did not hurt, either! I enjoyed the pool and the whirlpool spa, which was clean and well-maintained. I am moving this place up as my number one go-to in Tulare. Just splendid.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very loud air-conditioning.

    Spacious room. Clean. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. A good place to stay at if you want to hike a couple days in the sequoia park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Everything was good here, apart from some dead cock roaches in the pool. But I guess that was just bad luck as it generally looked very clean everywhere else. Coffee machine in room was a relief. Friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms. Breakfast was a nice change from the poor efforts we had been seeing every where else.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Employee by check-in was pre-occupied with other guest/employee instead of us, not a very big deal for a check in but a guest needs attention. It was not that busy at that time.

    Very nice bartender!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waffles were extremely sweet. Should have eat it by itself.

    Bed was firm but not hard. Each pillow was a different firmness. The cocktail lounge was great, the bartender was awesome!!! The pool area was very nice, they even supply a gas grill so you can grill by the pool side!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls in the hotel were very thin. We could hear the couple talking next door. We were next to the ice machine and a couple of times during the night we heard people getting ice.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. The room was clean and no smell at all. The bed was clean and comfortable. The decoration was simple but feeling calm. The breakfast was rich and delicious. I will stay the same hotel if I had chance.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, clean, spacious room, acceptable breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator !

    Beds & breskfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location and price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Very close to Tulare Outlet. Large rooms. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access Roll in Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleanliness of the tables.

    biscuits and gravy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet started well and close to 9:00pm it stopped. My cellphone 4g was faster.

    Place was well located

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a horrible handicap room. Did not request nor needed one. Staff not willing to change the room.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Friendly staff and perfect location close to resaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good. Older room has been updated very nice. Bathroom small. Very clean, good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great. As well as the staff whom was able to answer all our questions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Breakfast as expected

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry, cleanliness

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All eas good

    Breakfast facility. Roomy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Nice lounge with appetizers.Friendly staff. Close to freeway.Nice room. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not cool room very well bed

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was stop before sequoia park - excellent location, everything was clean and as described. Recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location was perfect. close to everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found nothing wrong price was great breakfast was delicious

    Breakfasts. Great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was confortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice and clean and quiet. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Clean and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good for one night stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways didn't have any cool air

    The microwave in the room was very convenient for late night meals/snacks!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waffles were really good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shade for parking, more shade at pool, longer breakfast hours.

    room was quiet and clean, staff was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is quite small.

    Good value for the price. Comfortable mattresses. Very small bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast pretty modest...

    the swimming pool was OK - kids enjoyed it a lot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    room was very nice and big, clean nice towels nice linens

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closedvat 2200

    Yes ubs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They stole my money

    A dont recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thank you I'm coming back

    good breakfast and clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very weak refrigerator.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was pleasant and there were no noise in the room from the highway that is just next to the entrance of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Very pleasant reception area, helpful staff, large queen room, good pool, breakfast very good. one hour drive to Sequoia park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lady at the desk was very rude she had a ponytail and glasses very rude

    breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurants to walk to

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good.lot to choose from. Employees friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast laid up by wonderful staff. Had a nice time in the bar the previous night with Maurice the tender, great friendly guy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy bed. We're given a buy one get one free voucher for the bar. We drank our cocktails in the hotel jacuzzi which closes at 10pm

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good things

    Breakfast sausage was really good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice free breakfast although bacon would be preferable to greasy sausage.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom light was outside the bathroom, my friend kept messing with me.

    The room was just massive, and a king bed! Just for myself

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: