Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Big 7 Motel 3 stars

333 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910, USA

#15 of 21 hotels in Chula Vista

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice,friendly staff motel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is great, very helpful the new manager is working very heart an renovating the motel. He is open to suggestions and very helpful. The motel still needs improvement but I believe this will be done by the next time I stay here .they have installed cameras there's plenty of lighting feels secure. The manager is really cleaning up all issues since he took over, only a couple of months by the way. The bathrooms need improvement but I seen them working on the building the outside is looking good . New mattress are a pluss ,nice clean sheets parking is available . I would recommend this hotel but keep in mind is not fully renovated yet, they still working on putting together a kitchen, the pool and the bathrooms needs to be up to date.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.2
    It's only suitable for ppl need to buy or sell cars
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy in the free area outside , they are repairing many cars in the parking lot.room very old not worthy the money

    Friendly front desk & working ppl

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a last minute place to stay. Facility was just ok. Location not so much. The parking smells. The room could use some dusting and some ventilation. The receptionist was good and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    I got to stay only because I stopped talking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager Jose threatened to have me look for another hotel when he couldn't find my reservation. Online the place was said to have breakfast and a gym. It had nether.

    I could control the room temperature.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    2.5
    Hate those EMPLOYEE'S
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude and didnt proceed with the reservation and had us till 2a.m because what i booked they didnt have i had to find my way to motel 6 with my daughter at 2 in the morning all they . Had to say was Im sorry!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    And I have the staff minded their own business in a sentence...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that the first night I got there which is a week prior to the day of this last. Another thing that I didn't like is that they have two home washer and dryers Sunday that made me there a week the night that I got there apparently I was putting that sweet because there were no other rooms another thing that I didn't like is that they don't have industrial washers and dryers they have to regular home machines the negligence and safety hazards around the hotel are soda concerning innocence the housekeepers were not taking out the comforters that were in the rooms for the most part they would like men with big rooms too so it can look like there were some but indeed I sat there and watched them just pretty much clean the room put on the same bed comforters on their mind you all of the diseases and things going on that washing machine that homemade Chef machine is not going to work for industrial business laundry machine so that the customers can rest assured that their health and safety is not at risk. available then the less I paid cash sees me I paid every single day and no one ever said anything to me about having to move suddenly this guy that works the front desk tells me when I went to go pay my $55 for the room got an attitude $55 you probably going to get moving up the room tomorrow inconvenience is that I mean I've been in there since I got there today

    And I have the staff minded their own business in a sentence whoever was most convenient but they oversaw a lot of things

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    I think they should provide microwave and refrigerators in...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think they should provide microwave and refrigerators in the rooms before customer arrives. These are very important fringes when traveling or booking hotels. Big 7 is a nice clean place to stay in Chula Vista!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Great experience overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that when I went in to the lobby to check in, there was a man conversating with the receptionist, but that man had a couple of beer bottles in his hands. Although the receptionist and the man were respectful. It just didn't look professional.

    I liked that the room had a little living room area. Very cute.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There needs to be a Do Not Disturb Sign because I don't like my room to be cleaned up sometimes or be woken up to do the room. I even made my own personal sign but the housekeeper still took it off herself and made my room when I left for literally 10 mins like if she was watching and waiting for me to leave. Also, we stayed for three nights and the free Wifi only worked for the first night and then the rest of the time, it was blocked or filtered out by what it told us when we tried to connect it. The parking was bad and when it was full, I had to park at other businesses backlot where they have signs warning about towing so each night I feared that my car would be gone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    Never again!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    accommodate bed/bedding for included children. Maid service was extremely picky on cleanliness of the room (considering 2 small children) when they had to clean it each day. I felt harassed.

    the price and there was no bugs present.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great stay but minor dislikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that there was limited parking & it was very narrow. I like to have my vehicle near my room at all times & I didn't like I had to park it a bit far. And bed is a bit hard & not much cushion.

    I liked how they tried to make each room look decent & room was always cleaned good when we returned at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice but still a little on the pricey side. For the bare necessities
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was infested with small ants and hundreds of them. We call them "piss ants" in Arizona. The room could really use a small dorm size refrigerator. Upkeep on the facility has been good.

    The location was perfect for my attending a ceremony not far away. The bed was very comfortable. Lots of places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking spots are just a few so you might be left out. The neighborhood is not the best. Pretty far away from San Diego.

    Good value for money. Pretty quiet in the night. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Convenient for the Night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot was a little dirty and price was higher than normal due to an event that I was not aware of Comic-Con

    The guys let me hang out by the pool because I was early then they let me check in1 hour early too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.3
    DO NOT STAY HERE!!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was advertised for a double queen beds, we had 1 FULL size, no microwave, the refrigerator was filthy!! No curtains! Bathroom walls had mildew, tub needed re glazing, everything was old and plain, no pics on wall, just a old Motel in the hood and the price we paid was not worth it! It should be MAX $50 per night!!

    That the location was accessible to I-5, that's it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.3
    Staff member at check in was polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO hot water. NO water pressure so we weren't able to shower! Room was not clean. Toilet paper roll hanging in the bathroom was dirty! Please advertise decent hotels on your site. This place was horrible!

    Staff member at check in was polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.4
    Could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to fall a sleep because of the noise coming from the Broadway. Appliances were very old, WiFi did not work. Pretty far away from the downtown.

    Price is affordable, TV, close to light rail.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    2.9
    This place SUCKS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work, toilet ran water all night, air conditioner / heater sounded like jet engine, no were to sit (had to bring in a beach chair), people upstair made noise all night, drug dealers next to my car at night, but the worst of all was the matteress hard as a rock, we didn't get one second of sleep. Had to go home to get some rest. I for one will never go back there.

    This place SUCKED! Never again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Great place to stay. This is where I'll be staying every time I come to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything wrong with my stay

    Room clean bed comfortable. Got there quite late and yet there was a staff member there awake waiting for me.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.8
    Won't be coming back here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had not received our reservation. Mattress was lumpy and shower was dirty. The heater was so loud you could not hear the tv

    The location was convenient to where we needed to go. Although they didn't have our reservation they gave us a room for less than the booking site.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.1
    Motel was in a convenient place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I requested a second bed and it was not granted. There was no iron for the guests to use.

    Motel was in a convenient place. Short drives to all of the places I visited.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.4
    Dont bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed when i arrived to see that the facility, my room included, was not what the pictures represented online. I also booked this motel so that i could have use of the swimming pool. However, due to its filthy nature, I was unable to utilize it.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    5.8
    Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed one night only. No breakfast only coffee in their lobby. It is a motel what can you expect more but price was high.

    Very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.5
    Room is very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very expensive. Location is very sketchy. Room needs a renovation. AC is too loud. Don’t recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.5
    Worst experience in my life did not feel safer at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero rating Really bad place

    Worst experience in my life did not feel safer at all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    ThankYou
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome Place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.2
    Just fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ghetto environment

    Ghetto

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Cleaness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad area

    Cleaness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.8
    manager
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    employee Maria

    manager

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    the bed are so bad i could sleep at all the nite
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed are so bad i could sleep at all the nite

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    Unpleasant management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff & service

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    The Big 7 Stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave invtge room

    Peaceful n Clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.2
    dislike
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria rude

    HOSPITALITY

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    2.5
    people are very ugly now an days
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria poor customer service !?

    dont know yet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    RUDE !!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Employee Maria

    non

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.8
    poor customer service
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria !! RUDE

    everything!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The privacy was exceptional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    2.5
    LAME !
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. dirty bath room. The staff were rude and treated us very poorly.

    I didnt like it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    everything
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    except for Maria employee very rude no eye contact when sponken to

    everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    other than Maria all was well..
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria employee VERY RUDE!! POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

    everything!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.7
    Poor customer Service
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria always giving me a hard time and not renting me room even tho I have a reservation.. Shes very rude

    All other employees

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    ok
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    maria shes a rude employee

    everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice and simple quick stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the ice machine didn't work.

    Nice and simple quick stay. Not bad at all

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    N.A.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area and see it for yourself.

    N/A

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Very accomadating
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very accomadating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    New home any day
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A smoker who could not smoke n relax

    No problem, no desterbenceces

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.2
    Would not choose it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad area and I didn't feel safe. Old motel with old furniture and dirty floors.

    Reception was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.4
    Nice hotel near dive bar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near pet co park where i work

    Near a dive bar that i really liked

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    Comfy bed
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Also quoted us one rate and then charged us more. Receipts were given on a post it note.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    It was boo
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff they over charged me the original price for the room and wouldn't give me back my deposit

    The room was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable. Friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    No frills motel. Only the basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost bare room: only bed, TV, and nightstand. No tables, desks, nor chairs.

    Friendly staff; refrigerator in room as requested; no frills motel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Fridge,microwave, cable tv
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Fridge,microwave, cable tv

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Good Value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phones in rooms(no big deal) parking lot was really tight

    Hardwood floors, property seemed newly renovated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Great value close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited and would have liked some hangers in the closet, minor drawbacks.

    Price and staff were great and very helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.3
    Big 7 ?? Not Motel 6
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast as ad stated Noisy No a\c

    Hot water Clean sheets and bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Affordable And Clean And Friendly staff !!
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Pleasurable stay..I will definitely go back!! Affordable...Safe...Friendly environment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    2.5
    Wifi sucked plus was unjustifuly on the no rent list
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi sucked plus was unjustifuly on the no rent list

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    3.8
    NO BATH TUBE THE ROOM WAS BARE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    NO BATH TUBE THE ROOM WAS BARE

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    3.8
    No recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No recommend

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.4
    Easy to find
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My reservation was not on the property system

    Easy to find

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.4
    My big 7 sray
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Lady Manager at the front desk

    They put my name on the do not rent list with no explanation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    Close one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Leaving

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.8
    comfy stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices

    Comfort

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    5.0
    Tv channels
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, cleaniness, view,pool.

    Tv channels

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    I have nothing bad to say about my stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say about my stay.i would stay again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.1
    Medium 7
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical power weak as well as shotty Wi-Fi

    Friendly desk and security

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    Great
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoker room

    It was gd eough to be next time non smoking room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    2.5
    No bueno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everuthing

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.8
    Location was close to I5 and price was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't very comfortable, no outlet in bathroom, dated room.

    Location was close to I5 and price was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.3
    Clean and decent for that price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for what it is...it was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    Even thou the motel looks a little shabby it try's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even thou the motel looks a little shabby it try's it's best.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was creakey

    The staff was very nice

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 61 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: