Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bluenose Inn - Bar Harbor Hotel 4 stars

90 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609, USA

#10 of 27 hotels in Bar Harbor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 278 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall decent place, but for the price would likely try another
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like the construction on the street in front of the Inn. We do realize that the provider can not always control these unexpected issues, however they could have told us in advance or offered some kind of reconciliation for the inconvenience. It made it very difficult to access the property and it did affect the view as well. The shower handle in our room was broken, and actually falls off when you touch it. Our room did not have central AC and the thermostat was not functional for this reason. We finally realized that we must turn on the wall unit AC to have climate control in the room. This made the room a little musty. I think we over paid for this stay, and would likely try another property if we were to visit this area again.

    Very nice facility. Has a great indoor pool and the bar with the piano room was enjoyable after a long day away from your home base. The room we were given was a decent size and for the most part the accommodations were acceptable. Our room had a balcony with a view of the harbor. The price did include a breakfast near the lobby, however the selection was very basic compared with other stays that we had in the past.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the piano player Bill was awesome, but there were only a few people in the bar area, that is a marketing issue, there was no mention about bill on the internet, no mention on facebook, ? market to your customers about a jewel like Bill that room should be packed every night that he plays the Piano

    bed was very comfotable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    We had a great guest experience during our stay at the Bluenose Inn hotel We would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed a "killer" view from our balcony of Bar Harbor bay and marina. Our guest room was smelling fresh, very clean and spacious with a gas fireplace.The spacious "Great room and bar" with piano playing each night by the talented Bill Trowell. It is close to one of the entrances to Acadia National Park park loop scenic road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    It was pretty nice and quiet, staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool could use way less disinfectant. Afterwards skin actually stank of those chemicals for a while and you have to use soap multiple times to wash it away.

    It was pretty nice and quiet, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Road construction near the facility made it very difficult to go into and return from Bar Harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road construction near the facility made it very difficult to go into and return from Bar Harbor.

    The facility, the room, and the amenities were excellent. The staff was very helpful and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Breath-taking view, spacious room, comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The continental breakfast was adequate but didn't vary from one day to the next. For a hotel of this level, I would expect some variety.

    The Bluenose Inn far exceeded my expectations. Our room was upgraded for the weekend and the room was spacious, beautifully decorated and included an balcony with a breathtaking view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Definitely going to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have a washer and dryer in the big building. We had to keep running back and forth in the rain across the parking lot!

    Beautiful view from our room. The room itself was very clean and very well taken care of. Beds were comfy, and breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Bed was comfortable, bathroom was spacious, view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Carpet had some dirty spots and tiles in the bathroom floor started to lift up due to some type of settling. Some of the room furniture looked a bit tired and could use some updating.

    Bed was comfortable, bathroom was spacious, view couldn't be beat and Great Room with Bill and Dee was fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    We would return but they need to clean carpets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was NO were to put our toiletries in the bathroom. We had to ask for more than one wash clothes until the last day, they finally gave us more than one per person. We were aware of limited breakfast but the fruit was not fresh and bagels dry unless you toasted them. Used unhealthy peanut butter.

    The view from our deck was amazing. The staff was kniwledable and this was valuable info for first-time travelers to the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    We had a great time in Bar Harbor would definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were these bugs that were flying around our balcony on and off, we think there was some kind of nest close by. We were still able to sit out there though.

    We liked the fire place in the room and the balcony. We enjoyed the Great room, the bartender and the piano playing. We also had fun at the pool, and the location of the hotel was close to the downtown area. The view from our room was beautiful, looking right out to the water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again any time and the view was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of the front desk staff could be a little friendlier. One lady was great but the two younger ones I encountered over our stay could show a little more warmth.

    The entire place was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary breakfast is the same ( poor) quality you would find in a 2 star hotel. Unacceptable for a 4 star at $400+ per night. Stained carpet in my bedroom by several coffee spills. You would expect those to be removed more often.

    Great location, great building, nice sea view from the bedrooms, helpful and nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time I used booking.com. I had booked a room, then called booking.com to modify/upgrade the room. Received the confirmation email so thought it was all set. Upon check-in, the hotel did not have the upgraded booking, telling us that booking.com never notified them. It was an unpleasant way to begin, but fortunately they had an upgraded room available. Not sure where that ball got dropped but makes me hesitant to use booking.com in the future.

    Good location. Very talented piano player in the Great Room every evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    A comfortable romantic stay for this senior couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were only moderate in comfort. Continental breakfast was modest. Lighting of entrance is very hard to see at night coming from Bar Harbor.

    The room had a fantastic view. Very clean, spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay, but poor pedestrian access to Acadia National Park or Bar Harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property had very little space other than the hotel itself- no gardens, trail access. The facility is on a steep hill and a little tricky to find.

    The breakfast was OK- a little skimpy in a hotel with premium prices. No oatmeal or pancakes or waffles. No prepared fruit. The eating area was very small.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    Be sure to request room at the actual Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unable to stay at the charming inn itself, but were in a motel-like configuration behind it. Although the high view from the porch was lovely, it is shared by all persons staying on the floor and is the only walkway to all rooms; therefore, curtains must always be drawn to protect your privacy. The room was relatively small, dark and not terribly inviting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Great view from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sitting area had sofa and quite large. But would have been better if a sofa bed. Too small to sleep on . Air conditioning made sitting area very cold but bedroom area remained hot.

    Great view from balcony. Had the larger king room with separate sitting area. Very nice way to divide the room and offer privacy between the two areas. Fireplace. TV in both bedroom area and sitting area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    There was a nice view but we had to keep the curtains drawn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk rented us a dvd and neglected to tell us there wasnt a dvd player in the room. Got that installed. Smallest room of all the hotels we visited in Maine of comparable price. Front desk employees werent pleasant. Breakfast wad the least appealing of all the hotels we stayed. Wont be going back

    There was a nice view but we had to keep the curtains drawn because there wad a public walkway in front of the window.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel - comfortable and luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We wish the pool/hot tub was open until 10:30 or 11:00 - we never got to try it out during our stay. We just ran out of time and it always seemed to be 10:00 when the pool was closing by the time we wanted to head over for a swim.

    Our room was absolutely beautiful. The view from our fourth-floor balcony in the main hotel building was phenomenal - we loved waking up to the sunrise over the water every morning and the birds singing. The room was so comfortable and was the perfect place to relax after a day in Acadia - we loved the separate sitting area with the fireplace. Our room even had two televisions, one in front of the bed and one in the sitting area. The bathroom was very nice, with double sinks, makeup mirror, and cushioned stool to sit at the sink. Bathrobes were also provided. The fridge and Keurig setup was also very much appreciated! The furnishings in our room seemed pretty new - we didn't find the decor to be outdated, despite what other reviewers have mentioned. The continental breakfast was also decent if you just want a quick breakfast before heading out for the day. We also really enjoyed the Looking Glass Restaurant. We had a such a wonderful time at the Bluenose Inn and would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    The room was fantastic with a terrific view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was fantastic with a terrific view. Everything was immaculate. Staff very helpful. Definitely stay there again. Looking forward to going back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Couldn't have been more pleased! Very nice facility! Very Friendly Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with our reservation upon arrival and the staff remained very understanding and accommodating. They even upgraded us to an exceptional room at no extra cost, without my even needing to ask. Facility was very clean, and staff was very friendly. Continental breakfast was sufficient and coffe 24 hrs in lobby a plus! We will definitely be returning and highly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    I will definitely go back and will definitely recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Updating of carpeting and furniture??

    The views from the balcony were amazing; the free shuttle to a lot of sites is so easy. The room and bathroom were very clean. Most of all -- the staff was great/helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little tired. The pillows were those weird, chunks of foam things and for me, uncomfortable. You should know that they want $25 per hour for early check in even if your room happens to be ready. (That felt kind of cheesy, considering the already inflated prices.)

    Great location and parking, walkable to town (a mile or so). Very clean. Nice view. We were on the motel side, which also had a pleasant outdoor seating area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    an adequate hotel on the level of 3 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blue nose seemed a little dated: walk to wall carpet, formal room furniture, bed was comfortable but pretty soft. Dated art . No room service for meals in the main building. I didn't like the big massage chair either in our room. Gave a hospital feel to the room and was really unattractive.

    Blue nose: great breakfast at the restaurant. Excellent message at the spa. Good breakfast cafeteria style included in the main building if you are in a rush to get going. The partial views of French men bay. Easy walking distance to bar harbor. Close to Arcadia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Definitely a hotel to consider!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds and pillows were just okay. Not as high quality as the hotel itself.

    Having breakfast available was excellent benefit. Saved time and money. Building was clean, looked well cared for, rooms were large. Nice touch having coffee and tea available, and also cookies in the late afternoon. Large great room in the main area had music each night and was just a wonderful space to relax in and read a paper, which could be bought at the main desk. Not far from the Hulls Cove entrance to Acadia, which means you don't have to go through Bar Harbor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic Weekend at the Bluenose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is beautiful and very clean, but the decor is a little antiquated. That is my only complaint.

    The Bluenose had fantastic views and our room was very clean. It had basic accommodations such as television, mini fridge, air conditioning, iron and robes. The bed was comfortable and had a multitude of pillows. We had a standard view room. On the reservation it said a partial bay view, but we had a wonderful view of the water. The staff was very friendly. They let us park our car there before we officially checked in, while we explored Bar Harbor on foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    A little too pricey . But best room we've ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast, coffee station was disorganized and construction going on with a saws all sitting on the coffee station. Need a restaurant in the hotel. Looking Glass food was good, prices were good but facility was disappointing. View of the harbour was great.

    Beds and room were amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Would totally stay here again if I could find the rates aittle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing too bad, gym was a little outdated, breakfast was blah, & the cost per night is directly corralated to the location in Bar Harbor. Did like the nostalgic actual key to get into room, though some younger folk might find it annoying.

    Room was immense, beds & pillows comfy, shower awesome, nice size TV, AC was perfect, indoor pool really nice (outdoor pool as well), & location great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    The view from our room was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool looked beautiful but it's not private at all. Almost every guest in the hotel would be able to see you while sunbathing or swimming. I would have used it had it been in a more private location.

    The view from our room was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Very nice rooms easy walking distance to restaurants and shops and fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to change the original dates and the adjustment to the bill was not correct. It was resolved however. B

    The room as very nice. Fireplace and beautiful view from the balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    A luxurious retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant on the property was excellent. View was spectacular. Piano bar was a special treat. Extras like sitting area and fireplace in the room were a nice bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walkway to room was made of wood and there were several places that were soft or rotted. Felt somewhat unsafe.

    Comfortable bed. Nice big room. Nice view. Great indoor pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Great views of the harbor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't adequate outlets next to the bed to accommodate all of today's "necessary" electronic plugins.

    Free continental breakfast that included hard boiled eggs, bacon, and sausage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    Great facility, but double check your charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was overcharged. Called it to their attention when I checked in, but it still showed up wrong on my credit card. Still trying to get it corrected.

    The facility is great. Room was large and comfortable, and the bed was plush. Nice coffee seevice in the room. View was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    What a pleasant surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very large and the view was spectacular. Also, we never heard any noise from any room or in the hallway. All in all, a terrific value for our money and we would recommend this property to our friends!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    Pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows. Not ideal for people with neck conditions or stomach/belly/side sleepers. Should offer different types of pillows, high quality down feather soft pillows included. Sound and restoring sleep is the number one priority on vacation, particularly if the day is taken up by hiking for 6-8 hours. Both my son and I had neck pain and did not rest well due to the poor quality of the pillows.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    sitting on top of the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    sauna and steam rooms were not in operation.

    It always starts with the location. Perfect. Looking Glass was delicious. Indoor pool was fabulous. Bartender Deb gave great service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Fall in Bar Harbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great ocean views, comfortable rooms, and lovely evening entertainment and company in the Great Room. Definitely worth a walk up the hill to The Looking Glass restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    a lovely place to see fall foliage and visit the Acadia National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. Very near restaurants and shops. The room had a great view of the harbor. It was located a few minutes from Acadia National Park.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable stay convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV said it has 42" TV, which it did, but you only got a 32" picture, and you had to be in bed to really see it. Should be more in the sitting area.

    Location good for everything we went to.comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the water. It is so so so worth it for that view. We watched the sunrise every morning and actually got engaged one morning on that balcony :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    .Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have used something on the bed like a lightweight colorful spread to make the room feel more cozy. We didn't like walking through the parking lot to get to the pool. The spa robes made a great coverup.

    Loved the spa robes, the view,the very nice staff, and very nice hot tub and pool.We were in room 320 We plan to stay again next time we are in Bar Harbor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful view from the room, great pool [indoor], friendly staff!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just okay, not great. Room charges a bit high.

    The front desk staff, S. and R., were outstanding and gave us an improved room when we needed 2 beds. Wonderful women! The pool was outstanding, perfect. The view from the room was full water view---try to stay in the back building at the south end.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Staff and facilities were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff and facilities were lovely. On site restaurant was wonderful. It had a breathtaking view of Bar Harbor - complete with cruise ships and a full moon. We had the Lazy Day Lobster and were delighted with the quality, presentation and most importantly the taste. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, too. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely white linens and spa toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area too small. No staff ever mentioned that there was a continental breAkfast offered.

    Lovely white linens and spa toiletries. Enjoyed evening fireplace and piano player in lounge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel. would stay there again. Loved the view of the ocean and cruise ships. quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool and hottub were a walk outside beyond the parking lot. But the robes that were furnished made it a warm walk. Had a $3.00 charge that I see on the bill after we left -not sure what it was for!! Outside street sign light was burned out on one side - made it hard to find hotel without the sign light going into Bar Harbor

    I requested a view and we got a 2nd floor room with a very nice view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location for a hotel but not so much for a room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    front desk staff not very friendly room on 3rd floor and elevator was on the other end of a very long building

    great view, liked the piano lounge performer

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Elegant hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The complimentary breakfast area was too small and we were tripping over other people to get to mediocre food-which they ran out of- and watery coffee. We didn't even bother to go 2nd morning. (Maybe this was on purpose so guests will eat at their $$ restaurant)?

    Loved the beautiful room with balcony with a view. Also loved the glamorous indoor pool and hot tub. Just 5 minute drive to shops and restaurants and super close to Acadia Park!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfy stay at nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no need to tuckle the bed everyday

    The pool likes nice, although didn't get The chance to enjoy it due to busy schedule at Acadia national park. Staff is helpful, the painist at great hall adds a nice touch of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    We would come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband thought that the bathroom was a bit small.

    Loved the piano bar at night and the gentleman who played. He was awesome. Bartender was very nice too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    Second 4 night stay, and would hope to return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If this is all they offer, and the quality they offer, they should not even provide it.

    The manager must be commended. The cleanest, freshest hotel one could hope to find. We didn't really have much interaction with staff, it all seemed to run seamlessly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    The good and the not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking to the restaurant was not an easy climb, maybe have a golf cart available to assist those who might need it. But once you get to the top of the hill, the view was worth the climb. Food was only so-so and highly overpriced, not great value for the money.

    Scenic views from the balcony were awesome; watching the fog lift in the morning and seeing a majestic ship just appear!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    Would definately stay again. We booked online and got a great rate and a beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental breakfast was minimal and frankly, the area was a bit of a mess :(

    Got lucky and was upgraded to a suite overlooking the bay. Spacious with a balcony. Liked the small touches like the night light in the bathroom, Keurig in the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    Location is great, close to entry to Acadia and also close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little dated.

    Location is great, close to entry to Acadia and also close to DT Bar Harbor. Views from the "partial" ocean view rooms are actually great - it was a generous use of the term "partial" in our room's case. Staff was friendly and rooms were clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Cleaning staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived, the woman at the front desk was on the phone. It was obviously a business call, but she continued with the call for over 10 minutes. It just felt wrong that a living person was standing in front of her and the phone took priority.

    Cleaning staff were lovely. Great job, kind and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    Spectacular view....highly recommend!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved. Serving light fare while listening to the piano in the guest room would be nice when arriving later in the day.

    The view!!! The room was very spacious!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.2
    We booked a room with a king bed and were upgraded to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish it had been a little closer to town, but we made use of the free shuttle.

    We booked a room with a king bed and were upgraded to a suite. Beautiful view of the harbor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.9
    Good bed, good shower, nice towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    chairs so big and close to bed that they were hard to sit in. Furniture on balcony could be much nicer, Bathroom was small and no shelves or hooks to put things on.

    Good bed, good shower, nice towels

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    3.8
    Overpriced and under-delivered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced and under-delivered for an outdated, out of Bar Harbor hotel. I was charged $28.50 for 1 cocktail (nothing top shelf) and 1 glass of wine (no cork - screw off bottle - cheap wine). They charge like the are the Ritz & they are not much more than a Holiday Inn. The room was a Standard, outdoor entry...nothing special room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff not friendly. I wasn't sure if it was "New Englanders" or rudeness.

    Rooms were immaculate and the view was spectacular. Piano player was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    Cozy place with a nice pool and close to Bar Harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is a short walk up a steep hill, which is fine. It offers a nice view, but the food was sub-par. Not sure what the issue is, but there are many other places to go nearby.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. We also had a sitting room with a fireplace. We were on the 4th floor so we had terrific views of Bar Harbor. We loved the Piano Bar. The gentleman who plays, Bill Trowell, basically puts on a concert every night. We'll return to see him. The restaurant was not good - not recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    10
    Very comfortable room near Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the complimentary breakfast was adequate, it could have been better.

    Our bed had a very comfortable memory foam mattress. The air conditioner was very quiet. The hotel was only a few minutes from downtown Bar Harbor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    6.7
    Great place to stay just outside of bar harbor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    outdated everything, the steam room was a bust (gross)!

    The room was adorable, the balcony and fireplace were great, the views from the property were amazing, plenty of space in the room and close enough to downtown (5 minute drive)!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    As nice as it gets!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint lies in the fact that I was only there for one night!

    Spectacular views, attentive staff, terrific restaurant and the most personable piano-man around!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.3
    Overall enjoyed the stay but for the price, expected a little more....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of road noise. Dinner was not up to our expectations at hotel restaurant. Cancelled second reservation. Lobster served luke warm. Not great. Bathroom shower space was very small.

    Very spacious room. Great view. Bathroom vanity space excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    Family reunion gathering spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be in main dining room included as a buffet or order like most

    Enjoyed piano lounge as a gathering spot for family to relax after dinner

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.8
    First visit to the Blue Nose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bathroom. Better to be able to separate the toilet area from the tub area/ 2 sinks. It would be nice if the bus shuttle service would come onto the grounds.

    Loved the piano parlor! Outdoor pool was nicely maintained. Beautiful view. Nice welcoming coffee & cookies. Room was comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Rooms clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While very clean, the rooms need to be updated especially the bathrooms. You have a good entertainment area but you could put it to better use.

    Rooms clean. Our view was terrific.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.8
    Will definitely stay at the Bluenose again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning blew a little too persistently. We opened the balcony slider and slept without a/c the last couple of nights. Looking Glass restaurant is on the grounds but a bit of a hike at the end of a long day. Would have preferred a restaurant in the main building.

    Great view of Frenchman's Bay and the islands. Very helpful staff - found a way for us to extend our stay beyond our original 4 nights. Continental breakfast included freshly cooked bacon and sausages. Room was spacious and comfortable. Hotel is a reasonable distance from downtown Bar Harbor - away from the commotion but an easy walk to town, and only 1.5 miles to Acadia.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    Traditional hotel in old style
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit far from the town. Small bathroom. No slippers. A bit worn. Old-fashioned keys.

    Excellent sea view (advertised as "partial"). Clean room, nice robes an free continental breakfast (simple but nevertheless). Old-fashioned style.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    9.2
    Excited at first but disappointed in the details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Partial Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the $50.00 added charge when we checked in. They did not tell us T checkin that they were adding $50.00 to our bill. The Continental breakfast at the Hampton is way better. Pastrys from a vending machine. The Z restaurant returns needs a real chef. The food was mediocre at best.

    Nice beds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Continental breakfast had boiled eggs. Food was a little lame.

    Large room. Clean, modern, coffee, fridge, microwave. GREAT VIEW!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place , lots of history and needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small refrigerator in room, no hot tub in room ,and room very pricey for what you get .

    The view of the sunrise

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel King Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Non Dairy (Vegan) Coffee creamer. No Almond nor Soy milk.

    Nice view. Good facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    A highlight of our vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hotel Queen Room with Two Queen Beds with Bay View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room, nice view

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: