Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Boheme 3 stars

444 Columbus Avenue, North Beach, San Francisco, CA 94133, USA

#18 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 323 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything to note here

    Excellent location based in the north beach area of San Francisco, with limited rooms which was quite quaint. Most comfortable beds during our vacation to California. Quite an old fashioned building with a lot of old fashioned decor, which didn’t mind so much. Great shower almost offered a mandatory massage every morning and evening lol. We were out everyday and were provided great local knowledge by staff who were very helpful during our stay, especially places to avoid and places to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location with lots of restaurants nearby. Other reviews have said that the street is noisy but we didn't have any issues with noise at all. The room was clean and a decent size for two people. The complimentary sherry in the evening was a nice touch. There isn't a lift but luckily we were on the same floor as reception so we only had to go up one flight of stairs. We were also offered assistance to carry our luggage back down when we checked-out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very dissatisfied with the lack of space and having a double bed located along a wall meaning I had to crawl over my partner to use the bathroom during tha night and to get a drink. This was extremely over priced for this room and I will be seeking money off the final price.

    Clean gd location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient, plenty of good food right nearby and within walking distance of a lot of popular areas. The rooms were incredibly clean and comfortable. We will stay here anytime we visit SF.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy shops underneath at night. No elevator . Expensive for what is was room ONLY .

    No food whatsoever . Beds very comfortable. Tiny bathrooms . Good location. Great cafes and eateries nearby. Safe neighbourhood. Noisy shops underneath at night .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There steep stairs without an elevator Some of the rooms are very noisy. We got one of those...

    Excellent location in little Italy. Boutique hotel, old fashioned rooms. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities, fridge, air conditioning, no lift and hotel rooms are on 1st & 2nd floors.

    Great location as located in heart of "little Italy", near Chinatown, 15mins walking to Fishermans wharf, Union sq.. Buses easy to get around on.Great Italian & seafood restaurants,pastry shops, bars everywhere. Can enjoy the best foods. Staff helpful with recommendations. Whilsy our room was facing busy Colombus st, it did not cause any issue with noise. We slept well. It was great to be able to look out on the street vs being at back of hotel. Only downfall really for us was no tea making facilities at all & we were there for 5 nights so it was annoying additional cost every day. It would be easy for this to be provided in a central location in the mornings & make for a better experience all round. We could get ice & wine glasses on request. Nice comp sherry provided each evening. A great spot of SF to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No concerns.

    Adorable boutique hotel. Everyone at the hotel is so kind and helpful. The linens are good quality. The location is fabulous. I've stayed at this hotel at least seven or eight times, and it is always clean and I always enjoy it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to the main stairs so quite noisy with guests coming and going from 5:30am! Also a vent from a restaurant out the window was quite noisy but was switched off overnight. Neither of which the hotel could help...

    Great location in north beach close to amazing shops and restaurants. Very clean, staff helpful letting us leave our bags

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful old fashion hotel close to everything we wanted to see and do in San Fran. The staff was great in pointing out all the local eateries that we otherwise might have missed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs were steep and with bags a bit of a struggle. If you are somewhat infirm we would not recommend this property.

    Location was great, room comfortable, staff friendly...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was a little dark and small with no microwave but the location and character of the building was different for us and well worth it

    Cleanliness, bed comfort, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish there was a better switch for the bedside lamp. The only switch I could find was on the cord behind the table, pretty hard to get to

    So charming! Staff was great, check-in and out was incredibly easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have read and re-read the website, and have gone through the many sites that offer rooms in this hotel. In a few comments there was brief mention of the fact that there is NO ELEVATOR!!!! My husband is in a wheelchair, and since our reservations were non-refundable we did stay there, but risked life and limb every time we carried him and his chair up and down the steps.

    The location is great, the staff friendly, the rooms small but cute, but accessibility was abysmal and the fact was not advertised!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing of note.

    This is a "European" hotel in America. Small rooms with comfortable beds in a superb location. North Beach is filled with history and many small excellent restaurants. The Hotel appreciates its relationship to the "Beat" generation and is appropriately decorated with old photographs, interesting art and some unusual light fixtures. The TVs rank among the world's smallest but...who comes to SFO for staying in their room?? No formal amenities such as a gym or restaurant, but multiple options close by including an excellent Italian pastry shoppe adjacent everything you need is readily accessible. Stayed here two years ago and was equally appreciative, hotel has maintained its standards. Not suitable however for those challenged by stairs as there is no lift. Again think European model. Hot water on the to third floor somewhat delayed in its arrival to your shower head, but by no means a deal breaker.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside room next to the street, not more than an hour of sleep at a time. Delivery trucks started early in the AM. Crashing ramps falling to the street.

    Historical lication

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and the decor was very Bohemian. It is an older hotel but immaculate! Right in the heart of North Beach. We walked to Coit Tower. Wonderful restaurants all around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs, we had heavy cases. Water or some refreshment in the room would have been good. Not everyone likes sherry, nice thought though.

    Decor, cleanliness and location. Good restaurants on the doorstep.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bloody stairs ,having to carry our own luggage up those stairs was completely unacceptable for people our age and they had no body to help us

    Loved the decor of the room and the Hotel, Great location lots of restaurants and public transport Recommend Calzones Pizza for fine food and service For breakfast just a short walk to Green and Grants streets was Mo's Grill

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very tiny. Strong Wired smell never went away during my 5 night stay. There are windows, but what? You will find a wall within the reach of your arm. Completely block any sunlight so the room is super dark I need to check my watch to be sure it is daytime. And wait… no electric wall outlet. I have to unplug the power cable of an 15 inch "TV" in the room to charge my phone. Also, by the way, there are black dirty spots on the sheet. So, yeah, this sheet was not cleaned or changed by room survice throughout 5 nights. What’s even better, the cover on the sheet looks exactly the same as the curtains in the room and I’m not sure when was the last wash (a few months ago..?). Basically no any appliances provided in the room and couldn’t find a place to get hot water in the hotel. Room service intruded in the room while we were sleeping in the morning although I had taken the badge asking for service away from the door.

    Location is very good. Lots of restaurants nearby. Free WiFi is also not bad. Fair speed and stable connection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an old building, it has older windows, and it gets noisy! My room was on the street side, and between noisy (maintenance?) vehicles, and late night people wandering, I awoke numerous times. That said, I was only there 2 nights, so not horrible. But I don't think I could do a longer stay.

    Cute, old building, with tons of charm. Great location, as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice having a more accommodating tv. It's a very small setup in the corner behind the door.

    I love the unique experience, the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms and the location in North Shore.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish rooms and quite dark, no elevator so had a carry heavy luggage up the stairs but we are young so wasn’t too much of an issue

    Clean and tidy, friendly staff that went above and beyond, great location for the price. Sherry in the evening was a lovely touch, strong water pressure. We requested a quiet, internal room as saw previous reviews about noise on the street facing rooms and worked a treat, didn’t hear a thing, would rather that than a view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs. And no parking except two blocks away at a parking structure and expensive. Best to Uber there.

    Great restaurant just downstairs, and great coffee around the corner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price was high, but the time of year and late booking probably contributed. I was generally very happy with my room, but the "view" from the window was directly into a tiny triangular gap in the middle of the building. So basically no natural light in room 206.

    A very nice boutique hotel - calm and friendly service. Were happy to look after bags for the day after checking out. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bit of a not so good smell in the hotel and the rooms. Not sure why because the hotel is very clean. If you have a front facing window, it could get pretty noisy. Personally I can fall asleep anywhere so it was not an issue but if noise bothers you that could be a problem.

    Very warm and welcoming atmosphere. The hotel has got soul that is rare to find these days with all the big chains taking over. Free sweetwine in the evening hours is nice. The staff was super friendly and chatty. The room is good size for SF. The bathroom is great. The location is good, short walk to Chinatown and the main streets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the good reviews of this hotel I read on the net. During my 7days stay in this hotel made me wonder if those people who wrote only nice things about Hotel Bohem are owner's family or friends, ????. They said even they will be back again. I say "For what ? small room with just a bed and shower ??? You have to climb up the steep and narrow stairs with suitcases to check in and more stairs to the room. No AC or Fan, windows w/no screens (I got a few mosquito bites) No place to keep a bottle of water cool. No place to store food. No coffee maker, no drinking water, no nothing. Could not open the heavy drapes as curtain rails did not work. If they want to keep the style of the hotel in The Beat neck days, I understand. But the price is a way up dated for what you get or what you do not get. Sorry about my poor English.

    location, strong shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con

    Love the extra touch of the nightly sherry. Great feel to the hotel, fantastic location - so many things to see in all directions. We had a room facing away from the street and was very quiet. Only unfortunate thing is no air con which wasn't ideal with the hot weather.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ROOM 107 WAS A BIT noisy with the fan right outside the window.

    The decor is cozy and unique. Staff (Robert) was charming and helpful. The complementary sherry at tbe end of the day was surprising delight!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unusually warm temperatures for October, so having no air conditioning made the room a little warm, but there is a fan in the room to help cool the room.

    I loved everything about the hotel and area, but what made my stay even more memorable was talking and seeing Robert, who works at the front desk. He has a wealth of knowledge of the area and such a pleasure to talk to. I will miss him most of all!! I will DEFINITELY stay there the next time I am in San Francisco.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of noise from an air con outside our window, but location and staff made it a memorable stay. Very convenient for china town, the piers financial district and Italian restaurants!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    coming from the UK ,we are used to having coffee/ tea making facilities in the room, this seems to be unusual in American hotels, but would have been nice. Compensated for by the complimentary sherry in the evening ,which was a lovely eccentric touch

    the hotel has super helpful and friendly staff, it is very uncorporate and individual and thus very homely. Showers are amazing, best ever even and though colourful and vintage, the room is very clean . The location is perfect ,if, like us ,you like walking everywhere and exploring on foot as many sights are within easy reach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite dark which didn't really bother me but might bother others. The television in the room was more like a laptop screen but you've so much to explore in San Francisco that watching TV is probably the last thing you'll be interested in.

    The hotel is full of character! It almost feels like you're stepping into a different era and I love that. The dim lights and lamp shades, the reception desk, the lovely glasses in the bathroom and the sherry left out at the front desk before bedtime just all added to the ambience of the hotel and the welcoming old time feel. The staff were very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stopped twice at this hotel, first night we had a room on 1st floor at front of hotel, a bit noisy but second time we were on 2nd floor and was much quieter but this is a city and Columbus Avenue is a main route so understandable. Not cheap and no breakfast on offer but good local choice. Steep stairs in from street if carrying heavy cases!

    Hotel Boheme fits right in with the North Beach area, rooms are not big but nicely decorated and clean but location is spot on for all San Francisco has to offer with a huge choice right on the doorstep of places to eat and drink especially if you like Italian! We enjoy walking and you can be at Fishermen's Wharf in 20- 25 minutes or to Union Square via Chinatown. Helpful reception staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean small comfortable hotel and the staff we met were very helpful and friendly . Only about a 15 mins walk to fishermans warf but great transport so you can get around really well if you didn't want to walk . Lovely cafe/resturants next door and across the road so lots of choice. We would definitely return and would recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs - carrying our heaby suitcases up them. But it is a historical hotel, so this was to be expected from this era.

    Friendly, clean, comfy and great location - surrounded in cafes and bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is offsite (walking distance so not bad) & no food onsite but the hotel is located in the Italian district so lots to choose.

    Location! Walking distance to most sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand it's a throwback boutique hotel, but a tv larger than microwave dinner plate would have been enjoyable :)

    Awesome location and atmosphere. Free Creme Sherry in the evenings and very polite and helpful staff. The room was very clean and well taken care of.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in North Beach. Central for access to most tourist attractions. Minutes from bus stop direct downtown or Fishermans Wharf. Lovely welcome!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning. They should note on their website that there are stairs to climb just to check into the hotel (for elder potential guests, it could be problematic).

    Location in the middle of North Beach close to restaurants, etc. Very clean, and staff extremely friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The area is noisy with traffic and busy bars and restaurants, but that is also part of its charm..

    Good bed and power shower. My room on the main street (Columbus Av.) was very noisy as there were road works but hotel staff changed me to a more quiet one on the 2nd floor after my first couple of days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs difficult with luggage. Small sized rooms.

    Fabulous location in the heart of North Beach. Friendly, accommodating and knowledgable staff, great decor exemplifyi the beat period( Photos throughout were awesome!), Very comfortable bed and room. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to drag my suitcase up several steps no epevator

    I liked the fact that it was right in the heart of the city. I was surprised that it was as quiet as it was

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a common area in which to share the nightly sherry offered with other guests.

    The hotel was very unique. You felt transported to another country. In addition it had a very comfortable bed and a strong hot shower. Perfect!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small, but to be expected of SF. There was a weird dull ringing sound coming from outside which we determined were the rails for the cable cars/or buses. Staff offered us ear plugs, which is the best they could offer. Lots of construction all around SF, Hotel Boheme seemed to be the least disrupted of all the hotels.

    Room was quaint and from beat-era. Very cute and we had a room with a view of Columbus Ave, and the nice little coffee shops across the street. Everything was very clean and bed was super comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff that helped us with our airport shuttle booking and held our bags after checkout but before our trip to the airport. Awesome stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback were the stairs going up from the street. I was traveling with my aunt, and I had to carry her bag up and down. So I would say if you have issues with steep stairs… Don't book here.

    Location, location, location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was too high. Almost hurricane force.

    The cream sherry in the evening was a delight. The photos and other touches connecting the property to the Beat culture of the North Beach area were also nice. We spent one night simply enjoying the street scene on Columbus Avenue out our window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The nearest parking garage is a few blocks away which is inconvenient for schlepping luggage to and from the hotel. There is a passenger loading zone near the hotel's entrance but it was full of cars when we arrived. And forget about finding a place to park on the street ... too many cars in North Beach! The size of the room was a bit small, but we got used to it.

    The place has a charming motif giving it a nostalgic character. There are numerous good Italian food restaurants in the immediate neighborhood. Water pressure in the bathroom shower and sink was amazing. But be careful when turning on the sink faucet because the water comes out so fast it will splash you (there don't appear to be any flow restrictors). Other than street noise, the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to endless restaurants in Little Italy and right near Chinatown make this a great location - also walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my opinion, the property had no faults.

    Extremely helpful, friendly and talkative staff. Sherry offered in the evening too. It's the simple touches that make the difference. The decor was lovely and the location was perfect. We will definitely stay here next time we're in San Fran.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet was disgusting. I didn't take my shoes off. The picture of the naked lady above the bed as a little much. We didn't shower there even though it looked clean. Getting into the hotel was a small door in the middle of other businesses. No problem. Enter into a steep curved staircase poorly lit with a room that looked at the wall of the next building over. AWFUL. The pictures on the internet are NOTHING like what you will experience. No parking except on the street. Don't park there overnight or you get a 71.00 parking ticket for your troubles.

    We didn't like anything and left with a non refundable second night. We would have not stayed the first night either except it was late and we were too tired to look for other accommodations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small which meant one side of the bed was pushed against the wall which required the person sleeping on this side to have to climb over the other, or wake them up, to get in or out. We coped with this but it would be a huge problem for others less agile.

    Location was fantastic, walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The television was pretty tiny, but we didn't care AT ALL. The carpeting on the stairs is a bit disconcerting -- it's striped and the stripes weren't at the edge of the steps.

    The location was terrific. We explored many neighborhoods and districts throughout SF. We'd stay at Hotel Boheme again, without hesitation. The room was cozy, the bed was very comfortable. No problems with street noise, or noise from neighboring rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was happy with my room; I would be concerned in hot weather, though, as there didn't seem to be A/C. There was no breakfast. Given the nature of the accommodations, the price seemed a little high, but that may be typical of San Francisco.

    The location was fabulous. Cafe Greco is across the street, and Molinari Deli is on the next block. City Lights bookstore is just a short walk away. The room was very pleasant, spacious and attractively furnished, and seemed well soundproofed, but the hotel itself has no services. There's no lobby and just a tiny reception desk down a corridor. It's essentially a couple of floors of rooms above a restaurant. The rooms are well kept but dated. I would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was an excellent stay. The stairs are steep but that's part of the charm.

    Great North Beach Location. Awesome friendly staff. Changed our room easily when first room was a little noisy (street facing). Super comfy but very unique, off-beat place. Daily sherry at 6:00 a nice touch. People couldn't be nicer and you can't beat the location. Steps from bars and restaurants, Washington park ,Coit tower, close to pier 39 and easy access to public transportation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing not to like!

    This is a wonderful hotel - so happy we found it and can't rate it highly enough - the building is so quirky and interesting and the rooms are decorated so carefully with such attention to detail. All staff very friendly and helpful and the location in North Beach is great for access to everything. Loved the complimentary sherry as well - lovely touch. Lovely and quiet too..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are many reviews telling about the noise if you get a room with street view. Basically, they are all true. I expected the noise to be from night life and people walking by which I can live with. Instead I got pretty much no people (most restaurants close at around 23:00-23:30) and all the noise was from the cars and motorcycles passing by. The hotel is almost near crossroads and after the cars stop at the red light, they rev up their engines to start moving when the traffic light switches to green. But the worst thing are buses, that start their routes early in the morning, and street sweeping machines that clean the streets with the sound of a huge vacuum cleaner just prior to them. I'm a heavy sleeper, but this all made even me sleep bad the first night. There is no air conditioning in the room, so you can't close the window to block the noise, because there is no air ventilation duct either. The window is your only source of air and if it's hot outside (which was the case with our trip), you have to open it more to get more air. Only it didn't stay that way and slid sown to the previous position leaving only a slight opening. I stuck a cloth hanger underneath to fix it open, but come on, it shouldn't be an issue at all. There is a small table fan in the room that you can and probably will use. Even a very small air duct to provide air circulation would be much, much better, but the fan is still better than nothing. The bed was comfortable, although, it felt as if it was a little tilted so the side where your head is lower than it should be. I've seen at least one reviewer mention it, so maybe it's the same bed. It should better be checked if it's level to the ground and not to the floor which can be crooked given the age of the building. I don't know if it's always the case, but the main staircase had an unpleasant smell to it, similar to an old carpet that your cat used to go on.

    Amazing location, everything you need is within 5-10 minutes walk. Easy to get to and from by public transport. Lot's of restaurants and cafes around and great coffee is right across the street. Very welcoming and friendly staff. They gave us a paper map and pointed to all the main city neighborhoods and to where we will most likely want to go, which came in very handy later. The interior is nice, vintage and authentic. The room was very clean and pleasant to stay in. It is relatively small and dim lit, but I don't consider it a flaw as it adds to the overall aesthetic. There is a flat screen TV in the room if you need one for some reason, although it's very small and you probably better use your laptop/tablet and stream videos from internet. Speaking of which, the free WiFi was fast and worked perfectly. There are a couple electric outlets in the room. There are none by the bedside, and they are mostly situated under the TV table. There is also an outlet in the bathroom. The bathroom is, by the way, tiny. I can see how it can be uncomfortable for large people as the shower cabin is 70x70cm or so, but I found it ok, and it was very clean and had everything one would need for daily needs. The water pressure in the shower was great (this seems to matter a lot for some people). When you check in they give you two keys: one from your room and the other one from the front door so you can get back anytime you want effortlessly. The front door leads straight to a set of stairs and the reception is basically on the second floor. This layout is probably not suitable for disabled or elderly, but is fine for most people. Every evening there were complimentary glasses of sherry waiting at the table at the top of the stairs which was very nice and added a little warm touch to every evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room overlooking the street and the traffic was quite noisy, especially on a warm night where you want the window open. But there wasn't noise from people on the street or bars etc so that's good.

    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic area - I had the best sandwich of my life at Morelli's deli over the road. Great for exploring North Beach, Coit Tower and China Town. The staff were really helpful and the place has a great feel to it - like stepping back into a different era of San Francisco.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and furnishing are a bit run down, it's possible that a change of carpets would fix it all.

    I stayed at Hotel Boheme for a couple of nights in March. It was cosy and retro in style, reasonably clean and comfortable. I asked for a quiet room and it was indeed dead quiet. To me, the two best features of this hotel were: (1) The location: North Beach, and particularly in Little Italy - the only place in town to get a really good coffee), close to everything yet outside the noisy dirty union square. (2) The staff: they were extremely friendly and helpful, I felt grateful for every interaction. They did their best to accommodate every request, took the time to mark interesting places on the map, gave me a voucher for bike hire, and left some sheri and glasses out for aperitivo each afternoon.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room and bathroom, but not a show stopper as we were not there for the room, but to see San Francisco.

    Location, location, location. The staff was also very accommodating and helpful. Afternoon wine was a treat as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple weeks before our visit, hotel had assured me of a bright, lower floor queen room. There was no warning that two long narrow, dark, steep stairways must be climbed to get to reception. We ended up in a tiny dark room on the back of the hotel rather than climbing another narrow set of stairs to the room reserved. The total charge was $266 for one night in a tiny dark room in room. The hotel is definitely not ADA compliant! There is no front parking place to unload luggage, and parking is in a public garage several blocks away!

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains were shredded blinds in bathroom ripped Sheets & towels were nice entrance old and dark No place to unpack clothes Very very basic

    The location was perfect for walking to restaurants and easy for sightseeing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They do not have elevator (house was built in 19th century) so you'll need to carry your bags while going through narrow stairs. The bed was not big for two of us.

    The staff was very friendly and told us useful tips for exploring the city. The whole atmosphere inside is old-fashioned and kind, but very clean and comfortable. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This Hotel is a unique and whimsical alternative to the chain-approach to accommodation. There is no mini-bar, no in-room facilities to speak of. Instead there are comfortable beds, spotlessly clean bathrooms and friendly helpful staff. There is no air conditioning - but instead the windows open, allowing the sights and sounds of North Beach make everything white real. The wi-fi is free and fast and there is, if you look hard enough, a small TV (should you need it). The hotel is situated at the intersection (culturally, metaphorically and geographically) of Little Italy and China Town which makes meandering a true delight.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is up a flight of stairs from the entrance and has 3 floors of rooms, all up stairs. There is no elevator here. The rooms at the front on the busy street were noisy. My room at the back was quite quiet but a little dark because it was on a small courtyard. It didn't bother me though. There is no restaurant here, but many restaurants nearby for breakfast.

    This is a unique hotel in a Parisian style. The rooms were small but nicely appointed. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. It is located in an off the main track of hotels in Little Italy and about a block away from Chinatown. There are many restaurants close by, some with outdoor seating. Very European. There are buses and trolley cars close by and within a 20 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. We found it quite centrally located.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows could have blocked out the sound from the street a tad more, but I'm a heavy sleeper.

    Beautiful room, and while I could tell that the hotel was old, the decor matched the time period BUT was still classy and new. Free wine in the evening if you wanted a small glass.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was sometimes so poor as to be useless. Water pressure in shower is like a fire hydrant - it was painful and there was no way to adjust it!

    Location was incredible. Right above a delicious bakery that's open late and within 2 blocks are so many amazing restaurants! Cute, quaint rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, it's a boutique hotel and if you ever stayed in one then you know what to except. The windows could use an update. That would probably take care of the street noise.

    Loved the location. Loved the complimentary Sherry in the afternoon. Loved the privacy. Staff very nice and friendly! We had a street view which was nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was hot while I was there. But they put a fan in the room, and that took care of it. I guess they're not responsible for San Francisco weather.

    The staff was INCREDIBLE! They took such good care of me! Helped with bags and SO friendly! I felt like a member of some great bohemian family. Also, they served sherry at 6pm. It was a lovely little ritual. The hotel was definitely a cut above the usual, run-of-the-mill places. I loved it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb location - I loved the North Beach area of San Francisco. The hotel is small and traditional, but full of character. Staff were very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    From the room to the neighborhood to the staff, it was completely excellent! We had a great time, and the room was spotless and cleaned in a very timely fashion. The Staff went well beyond helping us with changes in our travel plans. We loved our stay and would be returning in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The t.v screen is smaller than my computer....and all the way across the room. The being was not as nice as I wished. A good mattress, pillows and comforter are important to us. These niceties are missing. There where very few placed to charge our devices. Even the alarm clock was so outdated that it does not have a USB port. Its the little things that make a hotel a really special treat. This place is location location and a clean decent place to stay. We had our service dog with us and the Washington Park is just a short walk away. Perfect :)

    The location made us feel that we actually LIVED in the neighborhood. Early mornings are so special in a big city and we loved them :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Truly unique. Provided history of the 40's, 50"s and early 60"s. The rooms were fresh but represented the era in a very artistic manner. We will return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking concessions or parking but it's a small price to pay foe sick a great hotel.

    It's quiet, in a fantastic location, beds are good. If you want pretencious don't go here. If you want quie, eclectic and good music round the corner... go here. Loved the sherry in the evening free gratis

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like leaving and wanted to continue eating our way through North Beach.

    After a long flight, this hotel was just what the Doctor ordered. Clean and cute. Our room overlooked Columbus Avenue. From a window table we enjoyed complimentary cream sherry with our fresh cannoli. A block from Washington Square Park and views of Coit Tower, Transamerica Pyramid, St. Peter & Paul's. The hotel recommended Sotto Marre for dinner and it was fantastic. Go early because there is a line. You can wait next door at Columbus Cafe and have an awesome fresh squeezed greyhound. Just wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Boheme traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: