Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Days Inn & Conference Center by Wyndham Branford New Haven 1.5 stars

375 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405, USA

#7 of 7 hotels in Branford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 78 hotel reviews

5.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.3

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    5.9

  • Facilities

    4.8

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    5.2

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it!!!

    The room is dated , the bedding was dirty and the jacuzzi was filthy. When I complained, the staff just didn’t csre. Overall was disgusting !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a dreadful visit. The Ac didn’t work, the WiFi also didn’t work. The bathroom door looked someone tried to bust in. The dead bolt lock was broken and it was not clean in the slightest and I have pictures of it all to share with others how horrible this stay was.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little run down and not modern.

    The Jacuzzi was very nice - clean, and roomy enough for 2. Placement of tv overhead was nice ,so you could watch tv if you wanted while you soaked. Room was also clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Two Double Beds- Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for 2 days. Shower curtain rod held up by clear packing tape. Room smelled like mold the entire time we were there. A prior guests chapstick under the bed and I stepped on it and rolled falling on my butt. Staff that was of NO HELP!!!!

    ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please see above in regards to the Breakfast

    The breakfast was horrible you could benifit from having a hot breakfast. try a waffle maker and breakfast meats. you charge enough to be able to afford a hot breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't receive the room with a king bed but instead 2 doubles despite making reservations 2 months in advance. Room service makes up bed daily but doesn't clean bathroom. Internet very, very inconsistent. If anyone has mobility issues even a knee replacement make sure to request & follow up for ground floor as no elevator & many stairs to 2nd floor.

    The staff is extrememely wonderful, helpful , kind and hard working. Even on a busy weekend in which they were filled to capacity, staff responded to needs within 5 minutes. Check- in & out easy & family gathered around pool each day to enjoy sunshine & conversation. Pool very clean although water temperature chilly but it's been that type of summer.Motel located right off exit making it convenient . Great diner ( rated one of the best in USA) across the street. Great Italian restaurant ( Cafe Fiore) 4 minutes away by car or 9 minute walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work. I used 15 gig of my own data after going to the office 5 times. Day 2 I changed my room to one that had wifi. It took 4 Room till I found the one I would sleep in. And that one smelled of smoke there was mold in tub and on the curtain hair in the tub took a towel and found brown stains all over it also I moved the covers to sit down and get dressed to find blood on the sheets and it was not mine the same with the hair. I also took pictures of all this

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange ordor when entered non smoking room, Door should have additional security lock,Rug was frayed going into bathroom and disgusting, WiFi very poor kept being disconnected, curtains worn with pinholes showing light thru, No clock, No convenient plug outlets to plug in devices to be charged, refrig was missing wire holder to hold drinks on door. Bathroom floor caulking looks terrible and dirty. breakfast was limited old apples, no bananas or oranges no pasties, no bagels or English muffins. Wanted extra $10 for a 1 hour late checkout

    New desk area, new bath counter nice to have oversized refrig that works very well,microwave,bed comfortable, air conditioner worked well on 90 degrees

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm an avid do-it-yourselfer so this is just one of my pet peeves but.... They need to fire the painter or painting contractor who painted our room. A 10 year old could have done better. Ceiling paint smeared on exhaust fan and fixtures, wall paint smeared on switch covers and the like Sloppy work.

    It was a typical lower cost room but was clean and maintained. I liked that the room had a small refrigerator.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower curtain in my room. The carpet was dirty and there was a plug in floor dirty space heater for heat which should not be legal in a hotel room.

    Not much other than a TV

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was neither customer friendly nor accommodating. The outside of the motel and the grounds were unkempt. Definitely will not look at another Days Inn nor rely on Booking.com for my next trip. This experience has turned me off on both!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental breakfast was meager with most items gone with two hrs left to serve. The room was not ready at 6 pm when I checked in. The restaurant on property was very good. The locals felt it was a good place to eat. Food was good.

    The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. The staff were quick to answer any questions and quick to react to special requests. It is an older property.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel lobby was not welcoming, very small. the "kitchen-dining area was also very small. Room was a decent size, bed was hard.

    breakfast was minimal

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We paid extra to check in early to go to the pool since our room was ready. We changed and got settled and they closed the pool for cleaning. When we questioned them they would not refund our money and said they never know when the pool people are coming. Lots of garbage around and area just not kept clean.

    Pool was nice and convenient location for us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smoke detector has no battery in it. Ceiling in the bathroom was falling in and peeling from leaks. Toilet seat was too big for toilet. Curtains were ripped and falling off the rods. Outside screens were falling off the windows. Exterior doors to the building didn't lock. The place needed to be painted and rugs needed to be cleaned. The places was unclean and smelled like smoke. We have stayed in other Days Inn and this was the worst place we have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated, old, run down Towels as thin as paper and very small Bath mat was stained Wash cloths were stained Tiny bars of soap that didn't even lather Their credit card machine "was not working" & had to pay cash Etc!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This location is horrific.. The smell was awful. The carpeting was stained terribly.. The Wi-Fi did not work.. We NEEDED this Wi-Fi as we have cameras in-house to check on 95-year old MIL. This is a Section 8 hotel & my service dog did NOT want to be on the floor. She jumped in the bathtub & wanted to stay there. (see attached pic) They called the room (1 ring) at 9am & at 10am (1 ring) & then at 11am to tell us we needed to vacate.. I asked them at 11am why they called 2 times before & they said we were due to check out.. We had a horrible night's sleep & if check out is 11am - what business is it of theirs if we slept (or tried to) until 10:55am?

    There was absolutely NOTHING that we "liked"... This place is in desperate need of immediate repair.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    the room stinked no hot water and no tv

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible facility. Paint peeling everywhere, smelled musty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    personal touch by staff to make your stay very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not updated nor comfortable

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater was a bit loud.

    I got what I wanted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean enough. Good location. We were out of power and needed a place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serve eggs with your breakfast and link sausages.

    I love your breakfast but were is the eggs and sausages

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell

    Nice clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room door painted shut? Had to practically break down door to get into room.

    Breakfast was horrible. Tiny little space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place needs updating to be kind!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Curb appeal is scary

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the smell

    THE PRICE

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    old, broken towel holders, scratched up wall, paper peeling - yuck

    air conditioner worked

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay

    Nothing much

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater had problems and it made room cold for hours when got there window open not help

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty toilet. Rundown.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Building was run down, much of the facility were in need of repair or reconstruction

    The staff were friendly,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very smelly - Smelled like curry or something simelar (room 140)

    Did not try the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is closed. Breakfast was a joke

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were stained the room smelled bad there was no wash cloths and there was little red bugs in the restroom.

    The room accommodated my habit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place was a dump.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool

    Yes bed was like a cloud

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Molded smell

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Dirty. Old. Not maintained Smelly.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faster wifi and cable TV

    Desk clerk was super friendly and helped us find the fair one town over.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Couple

    It smelled of lingering cigarette smoke, the mattress pad had hairs on it and the coffee pot did not work and obviously was not clean.

    I really didn't like much about the property other than it didn't have beg bugs.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience per se, but don't expect top shelf. For example, the TV was a CRT.

    Good location for our purposes, low rates, 24 hour check in was convenient, room was clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Family with young children

    This place was scary. I almost didn't stay there but there was no other place to stay. The hair dryer fell off the wall and there was a half a bottle of shampoo. I guess it was well lit so that was one positive. Really run down and the room smelled musty.

    Nothing about the hotel--which is actually a motel. Good restaurant next door but that's it.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel seemed very dirty. There was a dead bee on our windowsill of our room and several cigarette burns in the sheets and comforter.

    The location was in a perfect area for the purpose of our trip.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV was snowy and got worse if the power strip it was plugged into was touched. wholes in a wall, carpet was stained, the bath mat/towel was dingy from age with brown stains. Curtain on window was not fully up. Cigarette butts and trash along the side walk to our room.

    Location was great. We wanted to be in Branford. The bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were there for a friends wedding . The Staff were very Helpful and Sweet . Loved the Self serve Breakfast in the am . Would definitely return . Mary in Ct .

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really bad, it was a little dated in some areas, for example the laundry room and pool. But it was a decent place all around

    Convenient location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I went for a weekend getaway with my wife to have a fun romantic weekend. We reserved the room in advance and got there about 9pm. When we entered the room it smelled of mildew which automatically triggered my wifes allergies and asthma, The queen size bed had only 3 pillows and the pillow cases were soiled with hair from prior guests , the towels and wash cloths were all old and stained except for 1 new one. There was no shampoo and only 1 mini size bar of soap. My wife politely called front desk and explained everything only asking for a change of towels and pillow cases and the clerk told her there was no housekeeping so he could not give her anything. We went to the front desk and asked if he could move us to another room and he said no that there was no more rooms vacant. He than says that he can get us 1 new towel and a pillow , that he would have to take it out from another room and I reminded him of him telling us there was no vacancies to move us and he said all the rooms were reserved. Frustated and angry we took the pillow and 1 towel back to the room . We then went to the restaurant outside Margarita Grille and had a good time despite where we would have to sleep . The next morning nobody came to bring us any fresh towels or anything and we were denied access to the pool. We left vowing never to return to days inn @ Branford

    The only thing I liked was the restaurant outside The Margarita Grille. The stay itself was the worst.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is basically a large parking lot with pool in the middle with 1970s-style motel rooms overlooking the parking lot. When we arrived in the middle of the afternoon, numerous guests were on the balconies smoking and drinking. The entire place smelled like cigarette smoke and I did not feel safe. We were staying at the hotel to attend a wedding in the area but decided to drive more than an hour home after the wedding so we didn't have to stay at this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Group

    The continental breakfast was terrible. The room smelled, the staff was very rude

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedsheets were outdated. Rooms could be cleaner. Alarm clock was not plugged in. Room could've smelled better.

    Was ok. Room had a fridge.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    convenient location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Couple

    depressing property,much needed repairs, paint.

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit shabby, but for the money livable. Bring a toothbrush.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: