Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boston Hotel Buckminster 3 stars

645 Beacon Street, Fenway Kenmore, Boston, MA 02215, USA

#61 of 81 hotels in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2644 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Resonably priced place to stay in Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suite was spacious but could use a remodeling. Not enough furniture in living room, lots of empty space. There was gum on the wall near the bathroom.

    Close to BU and Northeastern. Walking distance to T and restaurants/ shopping. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator nearest to our room didn’t work.

    Location was great if you are going to Fenway or on the subway. Safe area with bars and restaurants very close.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location , look out your window before you accept your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to a courtyard that housed the air conditioning units . They ran all night were very loud and neither my wife or I slept well .

    Place was clean and staff was friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Buyer be warned.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything, our room was gross, old carpet, old everything. We barely fit in the bathroom, it wasn’t very clean. The restaurant had one waitress for breakfast, she was amazing trying to get everyone served however the food was cold...we were dissatisfied, our two nights cost over $800. and it was not what we were hoping for.

    Close proximity to Boston University.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Boston has a lot of tourism spots. You will enjoy the immigration histories of US.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk services are so so. Your requests usually cannot be fulfilled. The room is small compared with the size we stay at D.C. Maybe Boston is a hot area for tourism during summer time, which makes the room is pricey.

    The location is good. It is close to the green line metro station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservation was not correctly portrayed; a “Deluxe Queen” was a postage size room that had no window; the ad showed two queen sized beds in a modest room. The staff adjusted and we were comfortable

    Location; staff very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything .

    Staff very friendly and helpful . Room very clean , close to Fenway Park . Would highly recommend staying at Buckminster .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked that the hotel had all the necessary facilities, it was in a great location, very close to the city center (20-30 mins walking distance) The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. We had a room facing the inner courtyard, which might get a little noisy if you want to leave your window open and not use the AC. There was a subway station at 2 mins distance from the hotel. Right across the street there was a bike rental station, which we used to get a bike and have a tour on the Charles River esplanade. There is a 7-11 shop open all time, very close to the hotel, in case you need to buy something. I liked that the hotel also has a history related to the music & radio industry.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    The location, easy and flexible check in, a good long...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They hold 100$ on your card for incidentals and it’s been a week and a half and I still don’t have it back. A steep amount for a holding fee for a place like that

    The location, easy and flexible check in, a good long standing hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It might be a bit unpleasant to walk alone in the neighbourhood at night, but we felt safe. The gym should be equipped with towels, as well as a larger variety of low-weight weights (the 2.5 lb was too light for me and the 10 lb too heavy).

    The room was very spacious, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, many nice restaurants and shops in walking distance. The hotel is quite far from the city centre, but there is a metro station about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    On all of the nights other than the first we returned from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On all of the nights other than the first we returned from hot and tiring days to find that our key card did not work. The reception staff were keen to attach blame to us because of the proximity of the card to our phone which was a non issue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    I got one bedroom with a king size bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I got one bedroom with a king size bed. It was spacious and enough for four people staying. The room didn't come with enough pillows and blankets even i specified the number of ppl staying. They did bring us the pillows and blankets after we requested, so it was not a big issue. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    The location to the event we went to was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls...couldn’t sleep either night due to parties in the other room.

    The location to the event we went to was awesome. 5 minute walk. The breakfast at the restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    they ruined our stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -The cost: the room costs way too much compared to the quality and style of the hotel - the room needs some renovations. For what you pay you expect them to have nice furniture and working lights -The treatment we received: they ruined our trip and treated us like we were there to con them. They couldn't charge our credit cards at the beginning, then they realized they could and then a few days later they forgot that we gave them a credit card (which they had already charged for one night by the way!). So they escorted my friend to the room to get another credit card and they treated her like she was a convict, never leaving her out of their sight. It was really appalling. I got mad and pointed out that they had my credit card so they came up with some lame excuse about the bank and the credit card that was not working (but they charged it for the total amount so it was working). They ruined our stay.

    The location was great, near BU and close to the subway...that is pretty much all I liked about the place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    The location was good even though it was about 40 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were old. I had requested a refurbished room 3 months in advance but didn't get one. We were looking toward the inner courtyard of the hotel and had a view of other room windows and the air-con system with its accompanying noises throughout the night early morning. Bathroom was old and small.

    The location was good even though it was about 40 minutes walk to the centre of Boston. It was convenient to walk to Newbury street for cafes and shops. Also a T station 5 mins walk from hotel to get to Boston centre. Very close to Fenway park. Nice bar on ground floor of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have 2 queen size beds for the cost All we had was a queen and a single bed They had lots of room for 2 queens

    Location Very close to fenway park

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Loved our stay, wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 2 couples staying, and the room was great in size, and we had separate sleeping areas as wanted, but the sleeping options were either the bed, or a pull out bed, which was very uncomfortable in which they also did not provide blankets for and only one pillow. All staff was great except for the guy working overnight the first night we stayed, we were treated as if we inconvenienced him to ask anything, he barely looked up from the computer and when we asked for extra blankets, we got a bundle of sheets, nothing else. Also, the parking was horrible, we were tucked away in this (literally) hole in the wall which took the parking attendant to help us park so we didn't hit the beam in the middle of the parking garage, or another car, and when we finally parked, not one of us could get out of our doors with how close we were to the wall and the car next to us, we had to climb out of the back. Luckily we walked everywhere, so after parking we were able to just leave the car until we left for home.

    I loved how close this hotel was to Fenway park, we could see it out of our window! The size of the room for 4 people was also great. The staff was great and very helpful. Great location for food and short walking to shopping centers, fun and beautiful area, especially the hotel. Loved the stay, had a great trip! Also soooooo affordable compared to the other hotels around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Proximity to everything, jus5 a neat place steeped in rich...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC units were loud, & parking wasn't included in the fee, but everything else was terrific!

    Proximity to everything, jus5 a neat place steeped in rich history

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Convenient stay and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room was very close to the HVAC unit outside and that’s all you heard all night so sleep was not good. Also even though non smoking could still smell some recreational smoke going on that was coming thru the vents.

    Very easy access to and from the Kenmore station. Right around the corner from Fenway Park. An endless options for dining in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    It was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit old and shabby but fine

    This is a reasonably priced hotel in a useful location - right next to the Red Sox stadium and Boston University. There are shops and cafes nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel next to Fenway Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel next to Fenway Park. The staff were wonderful and made my little boy feel very special on his birthday! They were also very helpful printing out walking directions etc. to help with our trip. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great place. Definitely would stay here again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Close to the T line. If you plan on going to Fenway Park it is the perfect place to stay . A lot of places nearby to eat and have a drink . The room was clean and the bed was comfortable .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Really loved this historic hotel, especially if you're staying there to be close to Fenway Park...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pull out couch for 3rd person very uncomfortable. Need to replace that!

    Desk staff very helpful. They brought up a comfy cot to our room due to the uncomfortableness of the pull out couch. Clean towels every day, knowledge of the city, lots of smiles and laughs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, spacious and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I realise that the carpets in the lift and on the entry stairs carry heavy traffic but these are not up to scratch with the rest of the establishment.

    The rooms are spacious, the washcloths and towels white and of good quality, the bathroom and windows were clean; the overall impression was that of good quality and clean accommodation. The location is great: The hotel is close to one of the trendy streets of Boston, Newbury street. Easy access to the metro / underground is by way of Kenmore station on the green line. After 10 days of traveling, the self-serve functioning laundry was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, the staff were very friendly, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelt like cigarette smoke. We had to keep our windows open. I also think the heat in our room was broken as with the windows the room was freezing the first two nights.

    Great location, the staff were very friendly, close to transit and the Red Sox game.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location after enjoying a day at Fenway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location after enjoying a day at Fenway. Very Nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Only complaint, and it's a minor one, is that the Lobby Bar was not open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My suite (I was upgraded) had only blind windows! No way to see outside. I had kitchen, but without any ustensiles...

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Affordable price for Boston!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Short and sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattresses were stiff as boards and the accommodations were a little sparse.

    A little pricey for the rooms they give you but the location can't be beat. I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    The stay was great and we will be booking aditional stays here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we checked in it they could not find our reservation through booking .com. This delayed our check in by about 30 minutes. The staff was very helpful though

    The cleanliness of the room and location to Fenway Park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Property was in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was in an excellent location. Close to everything, including parking and Fenway Park is just across the bridge. Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. It’s an older building but they’ve made it very welcoming and beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    We came for the weekend to attend a Red Sox game & the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish the cafe was open all day instead of just for breakfast.

    We came for the weekend to attend a Red Sox game & the location could not have been better. The hotel is one block from Fenway Park, bars and restaurants. Convenient parking right next door and centrally located for most other Boston attractions. The cafe was great for breakfast. We will be staying here again on our next trip to Boston.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    It was fine - a last minute plan and not a ton of options since Red Sox were playing a home stand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just a loud location with busy streets down each long side of bldg (it’s a flatiron style structure) And there was only a tv in the sitting room- not one in the bedroom

    Location was nice - near my son’s apt and situated near several good dining options and the T

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience, couldn’t stay two nights so we booked another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room next to road- so loud my husband couldn’t sleep. Towels were damp, bathtub was not clean- had hair in it. Very expensive for a 2 star room. We found a new hotel the next night. Manager said they would call to help with refund but never did. We followed up twice and still have not heard back.

    location to Harvard/MIT- 10 min drive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Location is great, staff was friendly and room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For $350 a night I didn't expect for the bathroom to look line it belonged to a Motel 6. Rooms need to be updated

    Location is great, staff was friendly and room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Historical building with a wonderful staff.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are older so some might not like them. A bit small.

    Great location,especially if you’re going to Fenway Park. Great staff, great historical building. Easy to get to other places in Boston and Cambridge. Attention Chicago people: There is an UNOS pizza in the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    We would consider this place again for the convenience and cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms recently went through a renovation, the appliances for our kitchenette were in yet. Large empty spaces for a fridge, stove and dishwasher, no cups for the coffee maker. When I asked housekeeping for coffee cups, they gave me disposable plastic cups. Housekeeping enter our room even with a do not disturb sign on.

    Bed was great, room was large. Recently our room had a renovation. Front desk staff was very accommodating. Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived at 10am, due to our daughter’s graduation, we needed to be at campus at noon. They stored our bags and allowed us to use to main floor private restrooms to get ready. Location was awesome. Next to Fenway park and neighborhood. Safe area and it allowed our young adult children to go out and explore,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Looking forward to booking place on Charles street next time . Not only is it less money, but it is
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy carpet in elevators. Entire interior needed redone. Furniture so old and very worn out. No shelf in bathroom for make up. Shower dripped-could not turn completely off. Had to have mechanics man turn it on for me. Not enough pressure for water. Yucky popcorn ceilings, walls

    Staff-the bones of this hotel are amazing. Really needs historical restoration.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, across road from Fenway Park so ideal if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, across road from Fenway Park so ideal if you want to take in a baseball game while staying in Boston. Only a 10 minute walk to Prudential Tower which has lots of shops and places to eat. Room was comfortable and clean if a little on the small side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.6
    Reluctant to return. Would not recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what we thought was to be a quality hotel. Desperately in need of updating bedroom.(room 426) For this price we felt breakfast should have been included

    Near metro transport Easy to find hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.8
    No.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could NOT believe I paid $571 for one night. I could stay at a holiday inn and have a cheaper, nicer, bigger room. It was so old and not worth the money.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, relaxing and memorable!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next time we stay we will ask for a room with a view. All we could see was a bland wall.

    Excellent location for getting around Boston and going to an event at Fenway Park. The room was small, didn't need more room. The bed was comfortable and towels were soft!! Staff was wonderful!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Great, loved it, perfect for traveling, Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff one of the days were not helpful but other then that they were lovely.

    It was a basic hotel but lovely. The view of Fenway part was amazing. Would highly recommend this hotel. Right next to a tram also

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant enough. Breakfast in the restaurant on the first floor in morning was convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking to unload out front could have been more clearly marked. It would have been nice to see a valet there.

    Easy check-in, parking, close to Fenway Park. Employees were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    Don’t stay here if you want any rest. Terrible hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room so small it was rediculous. The AC and electric noise next to the room was deafening and I still have ringing in my ears from the horrible experience. I called front desk who did nothing. Could not sleep with that shrill noise right next to my room. Horrible experience with apathetic manager. This place sucks like crazy!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    NOISY NOISY hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is VERY VERY NOISY HOTEL. I shouldn't disregard this review. It is located next to Highway and I even couldn't sleep due to a noise from the highway at night. You can hear which type of vehicle is on the road and I felt like I am sleeping in the middle of road. Plus, they don't have curtain..just simple blind...Sunshine will irritating. I never expected such a bad condition in this price range. I should choose other one...

    Room is spacious and the location is close to the station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    acceptable not stellar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The restaurant food and personnel were good. However, we would have stayed elsewhere if we had been aware they were only open for breakfast.

    Housekeeping personnel were friendly. Requested help around 6 pm and had to handle the problem ourselves as "no one was available". Desk staff did not tell us until an hour later when we called a second time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    This is an addendum to a previously submitted review - I...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an addendum to a previously submitted review - I forgot to mention that the in-room coffee was the best I have ever tasted in a hotel. It was branded Wolfgang Puck, and it was delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Best trip ever! LOVED this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel building is connected to two different restaurants besides their own. 2 of the 4 days we were there we were woken by fire alarms at 830am & had to evacuate our room. Both times fire trucks showed up & it was determined neighboring restaurants were cleaning their vats. While it was an inconvenience we would 100% stay there again. Lovely old hotel & staff in the hotel & restaurant were excellent!

    Location location location! We loved being next to Fenway! We could see the park from our window. Also loved that we were not in the hub of downtown with nightly sirens We walked to & from everywhere we wanted to go downtown.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Quite clean accommodations in a historic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and pillows very hard. Parking is very limited.

    Location was very convenient. Quirky layout held a lot of history. Room was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    This is an older hotel but it has a certain charm and we loved it,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con unit outside is a bit noisy if you are a light sleeper, my partner had no problems so just me and i got use to it - but reception did offered to switch rooms. We stayed in our first room and it was fine for the rest if our stay.

    Good staff and friendly service, needed help with lighting and adjusting air con when we first arrived and was sorted straight away. We booked the cheapest room so view was of brick wall and air con unit but this was fine as using as a base for sight seeing and we expected this. Used the restaurant for breakfast very good service and food. Right next to Fenway Park stadium and close to Kenmore station to catch the subway which is so easy to get around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff, convenient location with parking. Too expensive for the quality of the room/bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use an upgrade. TV is not very useful as it was in the « living room ».

    The gentlemen at the reception was very helpful about directions, hints where to park, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    We were in Boston for our daughter's graduation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in Boston for our daughter's graduation. Didn't spend much time at the hotel, but the staff were helpful, parking was easy, and location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was well maintained, clean, and beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm and evacuation during stay. Waited for fire dept approval to return to room. Also, as above, air conditioning poor. Check out desk clerk did not offer any sort of accommodation or credit towards our bill. We received a very flat apology for these inconveniences.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    What a view...!
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While I realize it's a historic property, it was still a bit musty for my taste. Room was very roomy but still rather spartan. Couch could use replacing too

    Very friendly staff, clean and GREAT location with a nice view of Fenway Park right outside the windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Great centra location, especially since we went to the baseball game at Fenway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They appeared to control the heat and AC, so every night was miserable since it was so hot in the room and had to sleep with the windows open and listen to all the hwy noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use someplace to put toiletries. No counter top. Some of the staff seemed a tad bit lazy and unwilling to help with questions and/or issues.

    The location. The history. The food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Convenience of location to our venue was superb and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was hoping for a better view.

    The location was excellent. My Dad and I went to Boston to attend a Red Sox game and the locale could not have been any closer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay for a few nights to be right on the BU campus and next to Fenway park. Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price, but otherwise everything was fine.

    The hotel is expensive, but the area is expensive so I guess it isn't surprising that the room rates are so high. The staff were helpful and the room was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.0
    Big room, spotlessly clean and well located.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby is a little close and frumpy, but there was no need to spend much time there. There was only one person at reception, so check-out can be slow.

    Room was large and location is excellent; parking was right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Just what i wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your on the lower floors on the inside the machine's outside our rather loud. And Americans can't get the concept of a kettle not everyone likes coffee

    Location for subway and Fenway was great the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Overall, my stay was very good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom cleaning, when I came there was someone stuff in there.

    I really love the stay and the view. I was very comfortable, there was an issue and the employer was there to help me and make my stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    2.9
    It was close to Fenway Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were told our booking had been cancelled and they had no spare rooms. Yet magically 2 rooms appeared after half an hour. Rooms are nothing like photos. Small dirty and old. Needs a revamp. One plug to facilite the whole room

    It was close to Fenway Park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Great stay for a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    water pressure was extremely low in the shower.

    alot of places to eat around the hotel, very comfortable bed, amazing view of Fenway park and the surrounding boston atmosphere. Hotel employees were very professional and courteous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    It was a great place to watch the race!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat.

    The room had a great view for the race. It was however very cold and when I turned the heat up it took 24 hours before it got warm. Staff was great and overall I did like the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great historic hotel in an awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor issue: The heating vent/fan in our room wasn't blowing properly while we were there. The room actually didn't get cold, so it was actually fine, but we couldn't really control the temperature. We liked this place, but a comment for the review: It's an older building and rooms were a bit sparsely decorated, so if you're looking for super modern/luxury facilities, this may not be the place for you.

    Great historic hotel with nicely renovated rooms/bathrooms and good facilities. We were there for the Boston Marathon and the whole city was a zoo, so we were extra impressed at the service we got. The restaurant normally just serves breakfast, because there's an Uno's on the other side of the same building. Super friendly and responsive staff - Steve helped us with everything we needed. Great location, right in Kenmore Square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Convenient & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had some mold in the cracks of the shower tiles and the tub was old and discolored. It would be nice if they had better accommodations for a traveling family. It’s difficult to book a room for 5 online.

    Love the location. Staff is very friendly. Convenient parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, and friendly staffs
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to trade off the convenience over the noise. Our room oversaw the Kenmore Square, and we stayed here during the game period between yankee and red sox.......

    Great location, and friendly staffs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Over priced convenience, providing you don't mind losing sleep while listening to the A/C.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a view of an exterior shaft. We could see four walls approximately 10 x 10 right outside our room. Also right outside our room was a gigantic air conditioner. We could hear it cycling all night. The cancellation policy is terrible!! We only went there because it is walking distance to Fenway Park. We were there to see a game. If the game had been cancelled due to weather we would have been out over $300! I understand the hotel is old but they gouge the customers because of it's location.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Great older hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air was not working the 1st night but was fixed the following day.

    Right around the corner from the ballpark and great restaurants. They provided a floor fan when the air wasn't working.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Would stay there again. Great location and very helpful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night, the room was cold and it seemed like the thermostat or fan heater wasnt working properly, tjey fixed it the next day and room was warm.

    Front desk Staff were great. Super helpful with questions about the,area and stored my luggagr for the day even though I had to keep going back in and out of it! Excellent location on the green line (Kenmore stop) - could get to anywhere from there, easy access to airport (green to blue line )

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay for a Red Sox game or two!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No breakfast included with stay. Noise of the street and the window had a whistling sound when the wind kicked up outside but not a deal breaker for us.

    We chose this hotel for its proximity to Fenway which was the main reason for our trip. We drove from NC so we needed to utilize a parking garage. The Buckminster has a parking garage for $35 a day. There is a small upper level parking area where the attendant booth is located and a lower section that has more spots available. The upper parking area is a tight area to maneuver and has roughly 12 spots. Each driveway into the garage is in and out so pay attention if a car is coming out when you are trying to go in. Find a spot then go check in because there are not very many options on the street when checking in, the hotel is at a fairly busy intersection. When we arrived no parking attendant was on duty so we checked in for parking through the hotel and they gave us a parking pass. Check in was fairly quick and easy. Staff was nice. Plenty of steps lead up to the hotel lobby entrance but they also have a very tiny elevator to the left of the entrance doors to haul your luggage up to the lobby. I recommend reading the elevators instructions before loading, it was a laughable experience. We would have loved a view of Fenway but we forgot to ask ahead of time so we got a room that overlooked the busy street. The room we reserved was a king suite. We were given room 208. Upon entering it looked fairly renovated, very clean and spacious. To the left a kitchenette with two counters, mini fridge, coffee maker, microwave and large sink. All of the cabinets in the kitchen were empty, no plates, cutlery or glasses. We didn't expect it but just so you know. One counter/bar separates the living room and kitchen but still an open feel. Nice size living room area with a queen sofa bed for the kids, two end tables, two person dinette table and a tv mounted on the wall above it. A large picture window facing the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    The cost and location were amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very hard. The room service pizza was not edible. While the hotel was not terribly dirty, it could definitely use some cleaning. It can be difficult to find your room as the signage is not clear.

    The cost and location were amazing. These two factors alone made it worth staying here and I would definitely return. Staff was wonderful. Wi-Fi was complementary, secure, and fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Overall I will us the hotel again, if my child get expected into BU or Northeastern.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the food and the cost of for parking was high. The parking area was very small and extremely hard to get my vehicle out of the area. Very very tight.

    The staff from the front desk to the waitress everyone was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    awesome. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I did not like.

    Big shout out to Steven at the front desk who made everything easy. And to Sondra - the lovely hotel manager. thank you for making this a great experience for us - yet again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The hotel was much as I expected and my stay was quite good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room furniture was a bit beaten up. Not a problem for me, but might be for others.

    My room was very inexpensive and very small, which was fine. It was very clean and I only needed a place to spend the night for an early morning flight. The lobby and staff were impressive. The room was a little down at the heels, but that was not a problem for me. I enjoyed the ambiance of an older hotel with history. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: