Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Buena Vista Motor Inn 3 stars

1599 Lombard Street, Marina District, San Francisco, CA 94123, USA

#13 of 19 B&Bs and Inns in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1792 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the type of the shower, it hanging on the wall. A bit difficult to shower kids

    The hotel (both room and bath room) , the lady in front desk is also ok, you might have a little problem with parking for the limited space but the lady in front desk is so helpful. I stay with my parents , husband, and two sons (7 & 3 yo) this hotel is exceeding our expectations..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and facility were a little cramped.

    Great location near the Wharf, business district, Alcatraz tour, and Golden Gate Bridge. Parking on site for easy in-out access for two days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood was so so, there were a lot of drunk at the surrounding, especially at night. Parking was not too well. The garage was low and narrow parking space. I had a large van and had to park on the street overnight and I lost a side mirror of my car during the night. It was broke in pieces.

    Breakfast was good, bed were comfortable. Surrounding restaurant were a distance away, one have to walk several blocks to get any good restaurant. It is ok if you want fast food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    elevator was slow

    location was great close to everything, free parking, continental breakfast, clean room and comfortable bed, price, balcony on the third floor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower was really low. It took me three times as long to take a shower due to the time it took to rinse my hair.

    Great location, room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon didnt work well , it gets uncomfortable at night

    Breakfast good , facility is clean , staff are friendly and the location is great close to almost every places of interest

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room has some unbearable noise, probably from the AC chillers, but the front office staff offered another single bed room for me to adjust for a night then they fixed the problem on the following day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple, but nice. Great coffee! Along with amazing pastries, cereal, yogurt, they have a bagel station. They have parking!!! I was here Sept/ Oct... many rooms have been refurbished, very nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    REASONABLE RATES. Very nice neighborhood & location. Non smoking. No traces of stale smoke smell. Clean and neat. Nice comfortable beds. All staff very pleasant and helpful. FREE SAFE PARKING.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My 10 year old niece removed the covers and discovered this on one of the beds. Needless to say all four of us slept on one bed. The bath/shower didn’t work properly and had to call the front desk and they sent someone up to our room 306 to show us how to operate the shower. I stayed here previously and everything was absolutely fantastic and told my family what amazing of a place this was only to have the worst hotel experience of our lives.

    The location and free parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lobby is very small and there are no bathrooms in common areas.

    We loved the location. We were at Fisherman's Wharf in a short 10-15 minute walk. We bought tickets for The Big Bus company which stops in front of the hotel! We also loved their continental breakfast. They serve a variety of fresh pastries that we loved with a cup of coffee. They also serve bagels, cereal, yogurt and fruit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If one was on the 3rd floor, we could hear the footsteps on the 2nd floor, no ramp from the front door to the lobby which was like 5 steps. So if you have heavy luggages, it could be a concern, Black molds on the bathroom ceiling but only a short portion only. Breakfast time could be crowded but we could take the breakfast trays to the room.

    The location was just walking distance to ghiardelli, free parking for the vehicles, full breakfast can be taken to the room, 2 queen beds, staff friendly to help and give directions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists were very rude. They were of no help and couldn't answer any of the questions I had. Receptionist gave me different answers over the phone and in person, which obviously told me they weren't properly trained. They had very poor customer service! They had told me exactly what I wanted to hear, just so I can pay for the room, once I paid for our room they took back everything they said and said "oh no, sorry I never told you that." NEVER CHOOSE THIS PLACE.

    None of the staff members bothered us. Not even to check in if we needed anything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we could have stayed longer.

    The staff went to extra effort to help us. It didn't take them more than 30 seconds but they were there and happy. Great views. Great patio. Very fun. Close to everything you would want. In the middle of the tourist part of the city but still felt very secure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was very difficult to get in and out of. There was a crowd of people at the front desk in the morning mixed with breakfast. The check in processes was not set up when I arrived and there was no internet.

    service was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The opening to get into the shower was quite small.

    No parking fees was a plus. The location in relation to Fisherman's Wharf and other highlights we wanted to visit was great. They also provided a map with coupons.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a microwave right at booking. Was forgotten, and was too late to manage during check-in (5.00 pm). Again was forgotten next day... More attention to guest would be needed.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girl on front desk did not understand English very well. Took three attempts to get bedding for the sofa bed and the tv remote did not work and we couldn't get one that did.

    Breakfast was surprisingly good. Sofa bed was comfortable, which was a shock.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pullout bed was extremely uncomfortable as the mattress was very thin. The traffic noise was very loud as obviously the old building is badly insulated for noise and heat.

    The location was good as was the continental breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking stalls were tight, but can't be picky when it's free and others charge $60/night.

    Location and price tough to beat with free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine didn't work. Luke warm water in showers. Front desk girls made check in and out difficult. No refigerators or microwaves. Parking garage is cramped and hard to park.

    Clean rooms. Quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area is a bit small. Showers were old and a little hard to operate

    Location is perfect, close to all major attractions and transportation. On site parking is a big plus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how I could hear my next-door neighbor and there was black mold all over the shower ew gross. The situation was horrible.

    The morning breakfast was really great they had a big selection and lots of seating. In the hotel room the bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    asked if we wanted street or quiet asked for quiet got street noise. No screen on the window, mildew in the bathroom, bathroom fan dirty which did not allow for ventilation, tub was peeling.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not fancy. The pull-out sofa bed was a little sad but my kids didn’t complain much.

    Great location. Walking distance to waterfront, Chinatown, wharf. Great Vietnamese, Ly’s, down the street. Parking included in rate. The rooftop area was pleasant when we brought a take-out lunch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little out dated could use some upgrades but decent.

    Price was great compared to others in the area. Not to mention free parking onsite which is very rare in this city. The hotel was close to just about everything. Staff were very helpful and nice. Room was clean and comfortable. Complementary breakfast was decent and consisted of good selection of pastry's,oatmeal, fruit and bagels or cereal. Plus coffee,tea and juice. Overall very decent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice it the air conditioner worked better. It worked but the room always felt a bit warmer than I like...my hot flashes may have clouded my judgment on this!

    The staff was fabulous. They were knowledgeable on the area. It was close to everything. We parked our car and then walked or used uber to everything. It is an older motel but seems to have just been updated. As we were checking out, our maid came running down the hall towards us. He had found my Kindle and wanted to make sure we got it back. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ice machine broken, smells like cigarettes in the hallways and stairwells, no fridge/microwave

    Free breakfast, close to the wharf, walking distance to many places, free parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked location, room was a little basic , could not use shower as there were no instructions and it is a new shower. ps. I've travelled the world could not figure how to turn it on. Hotel is being refurbished so a little messy , but maybe next time it will be worth it. Price wise very good, good little breakfast and free parking is awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person on the front desk was rude and unhelpful, she was not very approachable and when we had a problem with our room she was not interested in resolving this until booking stepped in. Not what you wants after a late check in and a long flight

    The breakfast was sufficient and well stocked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby space where breakfast was served, was often very cramped due to the small space.

    I loved the central location to all the attractions that we wanted to see. The breakfast in the morning was great! It was also very handy having the ‘Big Bus’ stop right out the front door!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the internet it would stop and start. Plugs for electrical outlets hard to find and had to move bed away from the wall to get to one.

    I like the free parking and the size of my room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was / is okay

    All was+ purdee good for what, when, where, & why we needed to be there. ALL is appreciated for your time, availability & patience :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were filthy. Bed skirt and curtains stained. No one has ever moved the furniture to clean. Furniture needs to be replaced. Carpet needs cleaning.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Says free parking but when we arrived there were no parkings so they had us double park and we had to leave our car key at the front desk. I feel that is crazy....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My car was blocked one of the mornings, so decided to take an Uber. Aside from that, everything was good.

    We enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful! room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like how little they had to serve for breakfast . i seen a couple of muffins and coffee with orange juice. with two types of cereal . i was expecting at least hot food .

    When i called the front desk for paper cups, it took them less then 1 min to get up to us. That was nice !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All was ok. Lift was a bit slow, but who cares....... I liked the place. Room was great.

    Location was good, 30 minutes walk to pier 33, 15 minutes to the fisherman's wharf. Free parking was great, safe and convenient. Not too far from the main routes to leave the city by car.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed her 5 years ago and it was great, now its getting a little tired. It was adequate, but we were a little disappointed.

    Well situated in a nice area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated but nevertheless good place to sleep at night.

    A tad noisy during the early night hours on Lombard side but dies off quickly and sleeping is no problem

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had been minimally cleaned. The walls had splattered something on them and the base boards looked like they hadn’t been cleaned in some time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff was a little abrupt and on another occasion a reception staff member couldn’t understand that I was trying to ask him about a late check out. The morning lady at reception though was friendly and polite. The room wasn’t the cleanest. There was plenty of hair in the bathroom and the carpet could do with a good clean. God knows when a vacuum was last put over it.

    Close to Fisherman’s Wharf. The free parking was an absolute bonus when others charge in excess of 35 a night. The room was spacious. Good view from the roof of Golden Gate Bridge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought everything was great for the price and for the area.

    The pastry was fresh and appetizing and the beverage area was clean and well stocked. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was busy as many family groups. The road noise from Lombard street made it hard to sleep. I would have opted for a more quieter hotel location.

    Used the big bus tour and stop was right in front of hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rollaway beds needed to be pre-booked at extra cost, even though we had booked 5 people into a room with beds for 4. Staff were at times grumpy - with the duty manager having an argument with staff outside our room door.

    the breakfast was excellent. Great proximity to public transport (bus stops right outside the door). Very handy to local attractions such as Pier 39.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast. Its a rip off. The menu is too thin and overly priced. The reception will nicely talk to you to get the break fast included. Well dont fall for it. The worst part is they dont even have a place for us to sit and eat - we have to take it to our rooms. The bad thing about this for me, a person who hate wasting any bit of food was that I had to limit my choices to the items I was absolutely sure of eating. No second helpings unless you are ready to walk all the way down to reception area again where the food is served.

    The best thing about the hotel is its location. There is a Big bus pick up point right in the front of the door. The coast area is walking distance. The pricing was fair.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the bathroom. There were long black hairs in the sink and bathtub. We both have short grey hair so it was not ours.

    The bed was super comfortable and the location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine but I would suggest having an extra mirror in the room other than the bathroom. We did only have a king size room so I understand why there my not be a need but when there is more then 1 person trying to get ready at the same time it would be helpful. Maybe a long mirror would be nice.

    They were helpful with extending my parking a couple more hours until we returned from our Alcatraz tour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That hotel is a bit outdated in terms of carpeting and badly needed restoration or replacement.

    It is conveniently located, close to the places of interest that we planned on going to. Parking is also ample and accessible. Staff were friendly and helpful. With free parking, wifi and breakfast, I would say it is priced reasonably.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Desk staff was less than friendly or helpful . . . not rude, but not at all outgoing/friendly/helpful. Breakfast foods were not replenished throughout breakfast time so you had to get there early if you wanted a variety.

    I stayed in two different King bed rooms . . . the second room was much more spacious and comfortable. The cleaning staff that attended to my room each day was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    LED Lighting in foyer and bathroom harsh and creepy. Slowest elevator, weird check in. The place gave me the creeps.

    Accepable room, seemed a bit old. No deadbolt, difficult parking, had to schlep luggage through packed lot and doors, slow elevator, to a dingey hallway and 3rd floor, after asking for a street level room. Couldn't cancel reservation, after seeing that I could not be accommodated as requested online for parking and floor level.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were dogs staying at the hotel and and it smelt smokey. Hotel was very old, didn't have a fridge and seemed to be a very long walk/taxi to any attractions.

    Brekky was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got there 15 minutes before checking in time, and we were asked to wait till checking in time which was normal. We had been waiting in the lobby in front of their stuff for 40 minutes and they started to check in others who got there after us. We were there earlier than others but we got checked in the latest.

    The property was in great location. The room was clean and spacious. Free parking was good. The complimentary breakfast was ok. Overall it was preety good and worth the money. The lady in the front desk was smiley and helpful. They also let me use the parking before checking in which wa really nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was very scruffy, smoke alarm broken, lamp not plugged in because only available socket was broken, bathroom quite worn. Breakfast area very cramped. Staff scruffy , and used guest area for their lunch room.

    Close to main attractions, esp BigBus tour which stopped right outside the front door. Breakfast plentiful and fresh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good don’t have anything to complain about.

    Pillows where very comfortable, room was clean and so was the shower. Also that the room was roomie, and didn’t feel crowded.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated appearance.

    Very convenient location. This is an older property that has had mild renovations. While not elegant, it is convenient, clean, and affordable for the location and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no towels in the room and when we called for some they made us come get them, they could have brought the towels up since we were tired from traveling, and they were missing. It is a basic item that should be provided. The lamp, ice machine and other items were broken, made it a little inconvenient. The parking stalls were very small and there was no where for us to park, although when reported the staff took care of that.

    The beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were nice and clean. We didn't explore much of the area around the hotel because we had an agenda to stick to but for the price it was a nice stay and I would come back again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lovely smiley man on reception was sooooo positive. Complimentary breakfast was great, and you could take it to the top floor area, where there was a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Given the option of a quieter room, but overlooking the street was good for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs an uplift re room furnishings. Safe in room needed. Better area for breakfast, very cramped.

    Very old style carpet colours depressing however very tired in some respects however the room was clean and cleaned to a good standard each day. The shower was hot, the provided amenities were replenished each day and the bed was very comfortable. The Continental breakfast was satisfactory but the location it was served was very cramped when more than 6 people were partaking at the same time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities need update, bathroom smelled moldy, loud ice machine in corridor

    Decent room, more breakfast choices than usual, in house free parking, relatively close to all mayor sightseeing locations, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front - noisy main road that starts up at about 4am.

    Very comfortable bed, maid service every day, good breakfast (cereals, pastries, yoghurt, fresh fruit). Location - the Big Bus Tour literally stops outside. Within 20 mins walking distance of the sea front. Within in 15 mins walking to a street with lots of restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning unit was dated and key card for room was very temperamental.

    Great location, area felt safe. Room clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast good, kids especially loved the pastries. Good value for money, would choose to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast consists of pastries, coffee in paper cups and juice and is “served” in the reception area which has seating for perhaps 4 or 5 people. If you arrive early to choose your pastries you have a reasonable choice but after that and the choices are slim. Parking is limited and space is tight but again, get in early and you’re ok. Find a spot and leave the car there until you checkout.

    Good location on Lombard Street about 25 minutes walk to Fisherman’s Wharf. The Big Bus tourist bus stops at the door and local buses run along the street. $10 or $15 cab fare will get you to most places. The view from the rooftop is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a bit of a stale smell but was clean and if you just keep the window open it gets fresher.

    Amazing location. Walking distance to most of the must see places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position as map a little deceiving and is about 10 blocks - uphill to Fishermans Wharf and restaurants. So a little out of the way. Area was clean and seemed okay to walk in without being bothered.

    It was very good and easy to access with parking if you had a car. Some tours came and picked up and the big red bus tour stopped right outside. Not too far for a cab ride to Fishermans Wharf but a bit of a long walk. Staff friendly and obliging. Fairly quiet for sleeping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Value for the money

    Property location is very good. It is about 1-2 miles from major attractions such as Fishermans Wharf, Lombard Gardens, Marina districts, Chinatown, Piers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room facing road, was warned about it by staff. Extremely noisy ice machine outside room door, was NOT told about this. Dining area for breakfast Far to small, despite these minor problems I would stay here again.

    Location was good, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access to parking area pretty bad as it is under the building and very, very tight. Very difficult to get in and out, but not a huge issue for me as I walked everywhere and took mass transit, left car in the garage the entire time. Breakfast was very limited, also the space for the breakfast area ridiculously small, therefore always overly crowded

    Location was excellent, 15 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and streetcar to Embarcadero, downtown and BART station. Several good delis close by for sandwiches, also sit-down restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge.

    Location was good for walking and bus tours. Nice roof top terrace and garden. Free parking. Pleasant breakfast if you like sweet pastries. Think this hotel has been decorated since our last stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very old and the standard rooms arevery small.

    We were moved to the suite, after viewing the 'family room'. It would have been impossible for our family (2 adults and 3 children) to stay in the family room, as it was extremely small. Thankfully, a suite was available for us to move to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities. No milk for tea. Maybe a jug would have been good to have in the room.

    The breakfast was great, location perfect. All over very happy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is getting old and you can see it in the rooms. The rooms look used and a kind of cheap but the rates are still high.

    Location of the hotel and free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bit cramped for breakfast...but made you talk to other guests!

    Jay at desk helpful & friendly, the breakfast muffins were good and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived to the Inn, we got a room without any natural light, there was a wall in front of the window. We were lucky because we could change the room. The second one was ok, but it was little bit noisy. We were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the room ( carpet, doors, windows).

    Location was really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Buena Vista Motor Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: