Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Boston Hotel 3 stars

891 Massachusetts Ave, Dorchester, Boston, MA 02118, USA

#76 of 81 hotels in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1023 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    5.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    The room was so nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the excessive smell of urine right in front of the property and the drug addict activity. I also didn't like the juice served at breakfast.

    The room was so nice! It was clean and comfortable and the food for breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.3
    Horrible. Find better deal elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Disability Access with Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were supposed to have a non-smoking room but smoke smell was literally blowing through our A/C vent triggering my allergies. Plus the chemicals used to clean the carpets and room to civer the smoke smell were pungent and made me sneeze. Managed to pry open the only window that would open but the noise outside was horrible. Police car sirens and hospital ambulances going by constantly. At least a group of 30 people hanging out across the street throughout the entire night. From the ungated unmonitored parking lot for the hotel a half block down, we passed several zig zagging stumbling alcohols. to get to the front door. Our room was right above them facing the busy street so we could hear them all night talking and yelling. We had to close to window when the smell of gasoline drifted from the gas station across the street. The area around the hotel was ridiculous and dangerous. Addicts smoking crack pipes all night under a tree by the hotel parking lot. Only dispersed once or twice when the police came by. I have stayed in some rough areas before but this was really bad and I had two teens with me. The smoke and cleaning chemicals activating my allergies and asthma, coupled with the horrible surroundings had me checking out early the next morning and finding a new hotel. Wish I would have seen the reviews before I booked. It was Dorchester by the way, not Boston.

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was not what we expected. It is very close to the hospital which is probably why it is there. As a tourist we did not feel very safe walking from the hotel and I certainly would not do so after dark. I've stayed in 4-5 star hotels for less money.

    Room was large clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, iffy location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right outside the hotel there are a lot of people on the street. No one ever bothered us, but it was a bit sketchy at night.

    The rooms were great, clean, large, and comfortable. The breakfast choices were wonderful and staff checked on food throughout the morning. The staff was very nice and helped us with anything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Unsafe location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was shocked there weren't more comments online about the location of this hotel. I arrived at 2am roughly and it was an unbelievable scene outside. A multitude of drug addicts and homeless people ALL around the hotel. Two police cars were circling the area in an effort to "monitor" the situation. Needless to say I felt very unsafe. In the morning right before I went to breakfast about 10am I walked over to the window which is on the ground floor next to a section of the parking lot and there they were, A COUPLE SHOOTING UP HEROINE 6FT FROM MY ROOM WINDOW!! I would not recommend this hotel unless it's a last resort because of price and closeness to the city, which was my situation. Staff is friendly and welcoming but the location is not safe!

    Staff was very polite and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find following GPS, but after we got it, it was easy to come back everyday to hotel

    Great breakfast! Nice service for transportation to and from metro stations (orange and red lines), complimentary water bottles every day. Very helpful and nice staff members. Rooms are newly renovated, good space and nice beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.2
    Been in alot better motels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad area could go out for a walk at night people sleeping and doing drugs out side of motel needles on side walks air conditioner was broke down no customer service parking off site on a unsafe lot

    Nice room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    was a disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of the hotel it is horrible surrounded by beggars, dealers, low life, etc Parking lot out the facilities located on a corner lot with no security neither doors to lock the parking and or cameras. Walking from the parking to the hotel it is unsafe..there it is no way that you or your family can walk around. Do not recommend to stay in this hotel!

    Staff was very nice !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very seedy. The locals around the hotel make out of towners very uncomfortable! One even left a heroin needle and a pile of human fecal matter next to my car. Very charming!

    The room was clean. Smaller than I expected, but modern and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.4
    Very poor location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good part of town at all. The immediate surrounding area outside hotel was teeming with homeless drug users, who could be clearly viewed from our room. Pavements between hotel and hotel car park strewn with litter and used condoms. To their credit, staff patrolled car park. We stayed for the one planned night, as no alternative at our time of arrival, but would not have wanted to stay any longer.

    The inside of the hotel was pristine and pleasant. We had a problem with the AC but staff quickly sorted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    The shuttle was extremely useful, we loved being able to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the surrounding areas and we noticed a lot of sketchy activity around the hotel. It was a lot more activity then we felt conformable with.

    The shuttle was extremely useful, we loved being able to take it close to the historical areas, it gave us the ablity to walk to the sites like the Public library and the Commons and Garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    nice hotel location not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise at night. lots of people hanging out right across the street all night, loud music 1- 1:30 am till at least 4am.

    Staff, breakfast, shuttle to bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    NEVER AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff was not reliable or helpful at all. first day we were dropped off by shuttle driver and told he would return as scheduled at 3:15 pm. We had an enjoyable day and returned to the stop at 3:05, grandson called hotel to verify pickup at 3;15, hotel said yes.........no one showed up, called again at 3:25, again promised someone was on their way.......called again at 3;45 and was told wait someone is going to be there....finally called again and they said to take a cab back. also price gouging to the mazimum 500 and 700 per night for some $$ for a Best Western in an industrial neighborhood is RIDICULOUS

    breakfast and breakfast staff were the only enjoyable things about his stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very loud industrial area. Location is scary. As an out of towner, did not expect the neighborhood. Homeless people ewerywhere.

    Clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Shuttle bus to the city center for free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Wished we had booked here our whole stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed this hotel--very interesting history! Modern remodel and fun round style :) Our room was actually a small suite, and very very comfortable. They have thought of so many 'little things' that make you smile. There was a note on the bedside table about being in an industrial area with hospitals nearby, and left 2 sets of earplugs in case the ambulances had a busy night. Our night was very quiet and we slept very well on a wonderful bed. Front staff excellent with help navigating city, subway, parking etc. Breakfast area AMAZING--lots of little touches probably not even noticed by most, but greatly appreciated by us :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    2.5
    Do not stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not stay here!! This is in Dorchester, not Boston. For those who are unfamiliar with the area, as one would assume someone staying in a hotel would be, this is a very bad area! Other reviews had mentioned some homeless in the area, which made me imagine one or two people on street corners with signs since this is right next to a large roadway in a large city. Nope! There is a huge homeless community literally outside the hotel with hookers and drug dealers. There is a camp of 30 to 50 homeless right across the street behind the gas station (which faces the hotel entrance). We witnessed an overdose across the street shortly after checking in, we were badgered for money by the homeless when leaving the hotel, and had to park across the street in a standalone lot (in a sketchy neighborhood). The staff had trouble finding our reservations at check in also. There is a no smoking policy, yet the elevator lobby and our room smell of stale smoke, then we found a cigarette butt in our room on the gross, stained carpet. The ac stopped working for a while on our second day which was a 95 degree day with high humidity. The entrance has inconsistent flooring that I tripped on multiple times when entering and exiting the hotel. One of the times we left the hotel, an Uber driver told us that this area is a 9 out of 10 on the danger scale, we witnessed a hooker performing oral sex on someone in front of the hotel one morning, and was greeted by a drug dealer upon return. There is a big police presence partly because their station is a block away, but they do nothing to stop the problems in this area. Someone mentioned there is also a methadone clinic nearby which is why these type of people hang around. There is a hospital nearby so there are sirens all day and night for which they supply ear plugs on your nightand.

    The bathroom mirror had excellent lighting, and the bed was decently comfortable. It's a 5-10 minute drive to actual Boston.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Great rooms,staff and breakfast But felt like a jail,because you only felt safe inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 50 or so homeless people directly across the street smoking crack/fentanyl , We couldn't go outside without getting asked for a cigarette or some change.The later it was the noisier it got .The off site parking lot was well lit up,but sketchy AF.

    Nice room,great breakfast and the Shuttle service was a godsend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a bad area of town. There is a very active police presence in area.

    Hotel is lovely. Staff was great. Breakfast has a large variety of items. Shuttle runs every hour to train.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud industrial area. Meth clinic opposite hotel so a lot of intimidating people hang around the front of the building by the road. Breakfast selection was ok. Minimal hot food.

    Great room (king suite). Bed was comfy and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    2.9
    The building , carpet and room smells like smoke.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building , carpet and room smells like smoke. And that you will have ear plugs right next to your bed because of the noise level..just another dimension!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is scary. As an out of towner, did not expect the neighborhood. Homeless people coming up to trash right outside of the hotel lobby, going through trash. learned to wait for shuttle inside the lobby.

    Staff were very courteous and helpful. Made stay better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice place in a terrible area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Notify police to patrol area to keep junkies away.

    Our stay was ok as long as we didn't go outside. The area is infested with heroin addicts 24/7. I saw one next to the front door with a syringe in his arm while waiting for a cab. We did not feel safe. Otherwise the hotel was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was fantastic the room was really nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location left a lot to be desired not a very good area in Boston

    The staff was fantastic the room was really nice and it's convenient to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Perfect hotel in the worst location possible!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is bad. Its located beside a methadone clinic. Its not a safe area at all full of drug addicts and homeless. We felt very unsafe in the area and got a taxi to the door each night.

    Staff are brilliant and very helpful. The rooms were clean and modern. The drivers and staff went out of their way to try overcome the location. Not their fault at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed is a little too soft for my taste and a little noisy since it is close to medical center (ambulances)

    Breakfast is awesome... and the room is super nice.. nice beds, tv, Wi-Fi and a sofa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    The placement is soooo great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Disability Access with Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The placement is soooo great. Very near to the places we want to visit most...plus plus the bed is magnificently comfortable,I can sleep all day and night but we’re here to see the best of NY!!!!😅

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not great and not a close walk to the T

    Clean and comfortable rooms. Great free breakfast. Parking included, which was a bonus in Boston!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Suite - Disability Access with Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding area was kind of sketchy. Also, we heard sirens all through the night since there was a hospital near by.

    The room was really comfortable and big. They had a nice tv and bathroom. The continental breakfast was pretty good and convenient. The hotel was able to hold our luggage after we checked out, which was nice. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    room is clean and staff is real friendly and helpful
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Disability Access with Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub is too small and there is noisy cuase near the street and bad sounds insulation,Wifi is slow,cant even watch 10 mins shot videos

    room is clean and staff is real friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Staff was great.
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sketchy neighborhood. Strange people outside hotel. Hotel had security, but we were on street level and the curtains didn’t close all the way. We were a little nervous.

    Staff was great. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    The rooms were fresh and spacious and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Disability Access with Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought being beside the vending/ice machine was going to be the worst of my problems, but it turns out the ambulances coming and going all night to the nearby hospital, along with the boy racers shooting past, made for a poor nights sleep.

    The rooms were fresh and spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Terrible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was terrible - drunks and drug users everywhere - cannot walk or even stand outside - Felt unsafe - also extremely noisy. Sirens and ambulances going all day and night.

    Friendly staff - good breakfast. Nice big rooms...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Avoid!! Horrible location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location location location - very bad neighborhood PLUS NOISY!! It was as if we were on the street (insulation was terrible) and sirens went all day and all night long. Did not get one good night's sleep.

    Very friendly and helpful staff...very nice spacious rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    The place itself was great, but the people were crummy, except for a single, nice lady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk workers were quiet, awkward, and unwelcoming. The shuttle driver wasn't clear on when he'd leave. My group told him we'd be a few minutes to come down and he said okay, but when we got there he'd already left. He could have at least said he couldn't wait. Super annoying, and super rude.

    The breakfast had a very nice variety, and the staff in there were super friendly. One gal remembered my name. :) The place as clean and nice despite the unfortunate location. Great value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    The Hotel has room to improve the guest / customer whole experience!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist wasn't friendly. The breakfast room in the basement of the hotel without windows and any decor, looks more like a army base, than an hotel.

    The room was small, but perfect, clean and new.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Disability Access with Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues regarding payment and I paid much higher than what I had booked in the beginning. Also there was payment taken before and refunded and taken again when I checked in. I paid almost more than 80AUD in this process.

    Everything, all facilities and treatment was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    The room I was asigned had power failure were the fridge, coffee maker and sofa were located.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gurl named Jaleya or similar at the lobby. Very very rude, unfriendly and unhelpful. People with her attitude make customers unhappy. This is no good for business

    The girl attending the breakfast area was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was decent but not for the price I paid. it seemed to be a very busy/pricey week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area it’s in is terrible. Seemed like drug deals always going on outside I definitely wouldn’t walk alone out there. There were HUGE stains on the carpet in the room.

    The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was fairly decent spread. The room was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    I loved the hotel in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not good. There is a lot of noise but I got used to it. There seems to be a lot of homeless in the area.

    I loved the hotel in general. It was clean and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Very Nice Place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    I wanted to see Boston. The building was round but you never knew once inside. Was in the fancy side it started snowing on our checkout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    The comfort of the rooms, the cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. We didn’t know the hotel was in a bad area. Also, the hotel got me 500$ on my credit card before arriving at the hotel, while they told me on the online payment they won’t charge money on it. I really don’t appreciate that!

    The comfort of the rooms, the cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took away the waffle maker which I was looking forward to whenever I stayed at BW. They installed a pancake maker instead, a big disappointment. I also didn’t like the rule that pet couldn’t be left alone in the room. I couldn’t even goto the gym to work out when my wife was out with the kid. Pets shouldn’t be left alone all day long, but certainly a few hours during meals or work out.

    Free breakfast, free WiFi, free parking. Low pet fee. Convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to an industrial estate so lots of noise. Homeless shelter nearby so some strange folk walking around. But safe enough.

    Fantastic staff, very clean hotel with large comfortable rooms and beds close to T bus stop which takes you straight into the centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    The size of the room was huge compared to what I was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking situation is a little odd, but once I asked the front desk about it, they helped me immediately.

    The size of the room was huge compared to what I was expecting. This was such a nice surprise!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    3.3
    would never stay again. Blood splatters on wall no thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blood stains/splatters on our walls. The blood splatter on the bottom of my pillow that we discovered in the morning. The people directly outside our window talking loudly as we tried to sleep. Homeless people walking around. Worried about my vehicle parked down in the parking lot.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location near the center of Boston, early check-in, big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    criminal area, a lot of problem people near hotel and truck parking with signals of cars

    Good location near the center of Boston, early check-in, big and clean room, amazing breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    3.3
    I stay at your hotels atleast once a month. This one probably not again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately my amazing stay was hualted by heroin addicts and druggies around the premises. You can’t escape it and no body is doing anything about it. Watch the cops even keep driving. I literally saw a man sticking a needle in his girl....... I’ve never seen something like that before. And also you should put on your adds about the construction work. I was woken up at 5 am after just getting 4 hours of sleep and even with the ear plugs....... no rest for this guy. And at breakfast to top off my morning after breakfast. I became very ill. My stomach was in knots. I stay with this company for its great places and comfortable atmosphere but this time was not so much.

    Unfortunately my amazing stay was hualted by heroin addicts and druggies around the premises. You can’t escape it and no body is doing anything about it. Watch the cops even keep driving. I literally saw a man sticking a needle in his girl....... I’ve never seen something like that before. And also you should put on your adds about the construction work. I was woken up at 5 am after just getting 4 hours of sleep and even with the ear plugs....... no rest for this guy. And at breakfast to top off my morning after breakfast. I became very ill. My stomach was in knots. I stay with this company for its great places and comfortable atmosphere but this time was not so much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    2.5
    Nothing and will never stay there again or recommend to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything thing , worst couch

    Nothing and will never stay there again or recommend to anyone, worst location and neighbors with crackhead everyone and even filmed groups of them smoking outside near my car. Worst noisy hotel ever worst service and worst breakfast and the gym is just two machines that’s it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    Amazing staff! Hotel itself not so much
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location terrible. Right near hospital. Not a min goes by where there were not sirens. The bed was very uncomfortable and the whole floor reaked of cigarettes. We wished the hotel was as nice as its staff!the nreakfDt made us both very ill for the 6 hr trip back.

    Staff was amazing! Prifessional engaging and very friendly. I have to commend the shuttle driver. Even though we used our own car he went out of his way to show and guide us where ti be. He even let us gollow him so we didnt get lost. So incredibly kind!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.4
    Last time at that Best Western.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location with little parking which was far from the door! The neighborhood is full of homeless people and drunks on the sidewalk and vomittimg at your feet! The room was small when I booked a king suite at the best western in Concord I fit my whole family with room. Thank goodness it was just me amd my daughter! The tub was broken as was the vent ! And the fact that u hand out ear plugs because it is so loud I should have told me walk out! I kept the TV on all night trying to drown the other noises!

    Breakfast was excellent. The sheets on the beds were clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was awesome staff was courteous and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Disability Access with Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was a little rough, a lot of drug addicts and homeless hanging around the area, not a place I will visit again with children. maybe having a security guard around would be efficient.

    Breakfast was awesome staff was courteous and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    The space of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's impossible to find parking. The TV remote, sheets and floor were stained with what looked like chocolate. The bedding stains appeared to also be stained with blood or a red-ish spill, which seems unsanitary. The windows produced a breeze making it impossible to keep the room warm, so we could not sleep. Our room smelled like smoke, even though we requested a non-smoking room. We have a 9 year old and the smell was unbearable for her. When we overheard a guest mention the smoke smell in her room she was asked to sit for 10 minutes while the front desk attendant turned to us and says " I don't know what she expects me to do, there's no other rooms, she better just open a window". I think with the price we paid the experience should've been much better.

    The space of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotel over all was worth the money. Very modern and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Disability Access with Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the crackheads and homeless people being in front of the hotel, like right in front of the doorway. There was a family of 7 staying next door to us and it was just to loud. The kids were always in the hall🙄

    The size of the suites were very nice, perfect for 2 people. Very clean. Super modern. I was immediately happy when we got to our room. The shower was very nice and clean. I liked that the parking was on site and the hotel provided a free shuttle to and from the metro. They also had breakfast.... I just stuck with cereal and the basics, but they did have hot food which was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Room was very clean & up to date, loved every part of it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding area was a bit noisy, I guess because of the area the hotel was located.

    Room was very clean & up to date, loved every part of it. The bed was super comfy as well. Breakfast area had a good variety too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Definitely care put into the hotel but find a better area to spend the night.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neighborhood. Loud, siren after siren, people yelling outside. Had to request move from 2nd floor (ground level) to another room upstairs as I did not feel it was conducive for a good night's rest. The move didn't make it much better.

    Clean and well kept

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Room was clean, staff was great, location very poor, near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and had to crank heat windows very drafty

    Room was clean, staff was great, location very poor, near the hospital, a lot of drug addicts roaming, was on the 6th floor very loud. Windows drafty. But overall great! Room was large, refrigerator was great .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.2
    The staff needs customer service training and security to keep the atmosphere safe around the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude and there were a bunch of drunk and homeless people hanging outside of the door to the hotel. Very unsettling. The breakfast also seemed old and like it was heated up leftovers.

    The place was clean and the room was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, but...
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Disability Access with Tub - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel is not located in a very nice area. My room faced an area that was a hang out for the homeless, with the police driving by to shoo away those that were loitering. It was noisy at night (however the hotel provided ear plugs, which was a nice touch, but telling...) The area didn't bother me that much because its winter and I went from car to hotel and did not go outside for any other reason, but in the warmer months, you may not want to walk around outside.

    The hotel itself was nice, great spacious room, clean, comfortable. No problems. Let me add that the lady who runs the Breakfast Buffet was amazing to watch. She was attentive to everyone's needs, kept all items stocked and ready, the eating area was clean and comfortable; and she was also courteous and personable. I think her name is Valdeca? Whatever she is being paid, she deserves a raise!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.4
    They try to make up for the location with the room and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was terrible homeless everywhere people using drugs in the middle of the street ppl laying on the cars there wasn’t more than 10 spots for the hotel did not feel like my car was safe at all work out room was the size of a closet and there was a storm the week I went the city of Boston put out a travel ban so I was forced to leave a day early the hotel along with booking would not refund or compensate me for the day

    The free breakfast was great more than just muffin and cereal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    While there are better hotels out there, for the price, it is excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing is that being near the hospital means that is could be quieter as there were numerous emergency sirens (they provide complementary ear plugs)

    Comfortable beds, large rooms (mini suite with sofa) parking was free and location was good to drive out of city to see client. Shuttle delivery service took me half way across city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel, excellent room, but in industrial area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was wonderful but surrounding Boston area not very nice. The nicest thing in the area was the hotels (I think Boston is trying to rejuvenate the area). Had to go to the Medical School a lot so didn't spend much time near the hotel.

    Was on the 7th floor, room was beautiful with a living room area and glass doors opening into the bedroom with a giant television. Clean and great service. Shuttle service to Harvard Medical School, subway, and other locations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Big space, comfy beds, quite clean and new rooms with a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot air wasn’t working and they didn’t have a heater. We had to sleep at 60°F. The staff at the breakfast area was super super nice, but the receptionists don’t even say hi. 3 times I went there they were working like if they were forced to be there. No “hi” or eye to eye contact. First words “what’s your last name?” The Uber driver parked on the sidewalk at night to leave us as close as possible from the entrance door because of the snow and cold and he was shouted with harsh words by the doorman. Totally unprofessional. Finally they changed our room on the second day, to warmer and noisy one.

    Big space, comfy beds, quite clean and new rooms with a good sofa bed. Breakfast is awesome and the staff was even better (in the breakfast area only). Parking lot available but not too close if it’s a rainy day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not that great, a lot of homeless people around the hotel. It might not be pleasent walking much in the area, but didn’t have any issues.

    Room was great size and clean. There was complimentary coffee, tea and bottled water in the room. As well as in the lobby. Breakfast is included. It’s a decent breakfast. Staff was nice. One girl from the front desk followed me to my car to put the sticker, because I didn’t feel comfortable going alone cause it was really late. parking is free of charge and there are a lot of parking spots.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    the hotel is nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    sound proofing in the rooms...there was lot of traffic noise...also the number of homeless people around the hotel make you a bit worried

    the hotel is nice ..property is clean and the staff is very helpful and courteous..also the complimentary breakfast had lot of choices

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt very unsafe because of the homeless people that were around the property..when we arrived there was a homeless lady outside the hotel where the heater is...I feel that they need to step up the security a little more and tell them to go somewhere else because it’s very dangerous especially having them hangout outside the hotel when they want to...I didn’t want to get out of the car because of this lady sitting outside the hotel and not have any security around the property.... especially during the nights when I get woken up 3am to a screaming match outside...

    Beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly..had a few misunderstandings but they were able to explain everything even though I was unaware of the charges. Breakfast was good. And that I was able to relax the whole weekend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    I highly recommend Best Western, Boston. The room exceeded my expectation. Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'll highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Boston. It's centrally located on Mass Ave. Small enough to feel homely, but the room was big enough for someone like me who loves space.

    I really loved the size of the room, the comfort of the bed and the friendliness of the kitchen staff. Breakfast was great and my table must have been cleaned up to three times. Overall, fantastic stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    great value for adventurers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    you cant change the location But you can hire 1 security guard due the situation outside. I got there by a car, which was a mistake, too much stress about what may happen to it. somebody pissed on the car's radiator and our trip home was smelly. all after dawn trips should be done by uber 5-8$ to the center. use door-to-door taxi my advice. dont smoke weed/cigarates inside the lobby room, there is enough kinda rotten smell outside. but still if u get there not by a car, u will have a great time.

    -the room was outstanding! very large, felt like home. The managers were very professional. breakfast was ok. very clean bright hotel. I would say we were lucky and after midnight there was no noise or sirens, slept very good. 9/10 stars for the hotel itself and the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Hotel itself is great but could use a better location to match
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has a large population of homeless and sketchy crowds. And parking required you to go through this crowd to get to hotel. Also in industrial area.

    Great breakfast, rooms, and staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice bed, good facilities, breakfast included, kind staffs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Located close to industry area/hospital, far from downtown. Sometimes I waked up during the night due to noises from outside.

    Nice bed, good facilities, breakfast included, kind staffs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    This was a suitable place for us to recover from jet lag and to see one Boston attraction
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot remember except for knowing more about the public transport system as a train station was fairly close.

    The staff were very helpful re our ongoing travel plans although they could have known more about the Amtrack services but it all worked out. They are at least bilingual and that was good. it was rather unique staying in a hotel that had been slotted inside a water tower. Very nicely done. If a guest had a car it was very convenient to motorways.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    2.5
    Room was disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was disgusting. Hair in the shower and a dirty Quitp under the bed. Bunch of crack heads and homeless people all around and absolutely no parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.2
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible area. The entire hotel smelled like cigarette smoke except for my room which smeller like potent cheap air freshener someone used to drown out cigarette smoke. The first night I had to sleep with my head under the covers to keep from inhaling the chemically smell. Pillows were uncomfortable, hard and huge.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.4
    An experience not to be repeated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little on offer within walking distance by way of eating or drinking and no facilities within the hotel. Décor was 'tired' and air conditioning in the room didn't work. Surrounding area is noisy with heavy industrial traffic and a large vagrant community on the streets during the night.

    Spacious and well laid out room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    3.8
    The place is located in an industrial area and there is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite -Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is located in an industrial area and there is quite a bit of noise from outside early in the morning. The closer metro is 20 minutes walk (there is a shuttle about every hour) and there is no restaurant around, i.e., you have to go to the city center by T.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    Pack a bulletproof vest
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was terrible. It was loud. I was unable to sleep due to constant Sirens, trucks honking their horn, and general traffic. I was woken in the middle of the night by gunshots. Not to be insensitive to our societal needs, but there were so many homeless people out and around the exterior of the hotel that I felt very unsafe. The parking lot was a half a block over, and I was worried about my car being stolen or broken into the entire time. I would not under any circumstance recommend anybody staying at this hotel.

    The staff was lovely. The room was clean. The entry Lobby was pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: