Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Village Inn 3 stars

3110 North Blackstone Avenue, Fresno, CA 93703, USA

#14 of 54 hotels in Fresno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1085 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air conditioner in the room was loud that was the only thing.

    The hotel was excellent, the room was very clean and the bed was good too. My family and I will stay again and will tell other about this hotel. I gave it a 5 star

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the air conditioning extremely noisy but that was all

    The breakfast had lots of choice beds very comfy and location excellent for parks and very quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe room needs more lighting , microwave.

    Very clean always making the room nice very and clean , very helpful staff and ofcourse staff is amazing and very helpful. I would always recommend Best western

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obviuos smoking inside the room before our stay. The staff tried to cover up, but we could smell it. We stayed only one time, so we got over that. You can hear trains during the night.

    Rooms and bed were nice, even though when we opened the door for the first time, it was obvious that previous occupants were smoking inside the room. The breakfast had a couple of options from eggs to sweet stuff. You can even get gluten free and alternative milk options which was appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Printer was not hooked up to lobby PC so was unable to print boarding passes

    Staff at front office both at check in and out were very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a group of people around midnight outside of our room that just wouldn't shut up. I'm talking about yelling from one end of the hall to the other, knocking on doors and yelling out for someone to open them. Just seemed like they were having a party outside my door. I thought someone from the front desk would come up any minute and tell them to quiet down but it went on for about an hour. I finally just went to sleep and in the morning same thing. Front desk needs to be more involved in that sort of thing.

    The price and easy check in and out, also free breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was GREAT.

    It was a great location. Close to everything. The food was excellent at the restaurant on the property. We had dinner and breakfast their. They were both excellent and the service was great...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s quite noisy from other guests, and feels quite dated. Fresno isn’t a very nice city which probably coloured my view of the motel.

    Breakfast was pretty good and free, and we enjoyed sitting by the pool to read our books.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV - the quality of the sound and picture was so bad that I rather turned it off.

    Very spacious and clean room and bathroom, surprisingly varied and tasteful complimentary breakfast, nice staff, and plenty of eating options within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good! No complaints!

    The breakfast was amazing and delicious so many options. The staff were very friendly and professional. The swimming pool area looked very well kept and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the breakfast quality should be improved. It was free, so I didn't expect much, but the quality of the breakfast food and coffee was very sub-standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so noisy, I woke up a lot of times because of the noise from outside and inside the hotel , you can hear everything.. your “neighbor” opening the door, walking, talking.. if you need a good night of sleep, don’t stay here you won’t have enough rest .

    I requested for a room upstairs and they gave me what I asked for ! The breakfast is really good , a lot of options , free parking, you have pharmacy, gas station , restaurants close to! Big and clean room/bathroom, good staff ! I recommend this hotel !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to room hard to close and did not close tightly. Outside light and sound from hallway entered room

    Nice breakfast place was clean. Bed comfortable. Nice shower. Clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was good for my pets with an area for them. The grass area was a bit too wet but it was nice to have one.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. She explained all of the available amentities and helpful with my pet questions. This was the first time I traveled with my dogs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be tricky to get into the location as there is only one access from one direction.

    Clean and comfortable accommodations at a fair value. Good hot breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shady characters were hanging out near the staircase on multiple occasions and I did not feel safe.

    The hotel is conveniently located in central Fresno, but not right next to a highway where it would be noisy (it is on a big boulevard, but noise from it was not an issue towards the back). Everything was clean and functioning as expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some guests were loud, the door didn't block hallway light too well, room lighting was a bit of a hassle.

    The property was clean as well was the room. Had newer climate control systems.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the smell of cigars/cigarettes that was lingering around the hallways, and that I did not get the size of bed that I had requested. I was given a queen instead of a king bed.

    The staff members were very pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was happy they had a fridge but wish they had a microwave I think any one in a hotel stay will use a microwave atleast one time during stay

    Best breakfast in industry. Quiet room. Accept prepaid debit cards. Was happy with overall stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com states there is a hot tub on the property but there was not. The room & hallway smelled of smoke (and I don’t mean cigarette smoke) Thankfully the friendly staff agreed to change us buildings...

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better attention maintaining room

    We had Luke warm water not hot and our bathroom sink faucet was dripping instead of pouring out with water, the maintenance crew I guess doesn't work late so they offered to change rooms but we declined since we were already unpacked and since we were only staying till the morning we just dealt with it but I'm assuming the cleaning personnel should of reported it to maintenance prior to renting out the room... but fjf the price I guess you get what you pay for.. Room was clean, no complaints there, breakfast is good for being free...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not great. Hot tub not working that was one of the reasons I booked this hotel. Was disappointed it was not mentioned.

    Was very clean. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi wasn’t very strong. It kept disconnecting throughout our stay. The doors were a little outdated and hard to lock. The pool is not heated. The bathroom didn’t have a vent so when you shower the whole room gets foggy and stays that way for a while. These are all small complaints, overall I was pleased with my stay and if I had to visit Fresno again I would choose the Best Western.

    The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was one of the best I have had from a hotel. It included waffles, eggs, breakfast burritos, oatmeal, yogurt, sausages, bacon, and more. They even had almond/soy milk available which was nice as we don’t drink cows milk. The shower also was nice it had great water pressure (usually you barely have a stream coming from hotel showers). The rooms were located inside of halls with a locked front access door so it felt a little more secure. The staff was friendly. The a/c unit worked well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was not well kept. We were in building 3 and the door to the outside slams every time someone closes the door. The entry to the building 3 was very dirty and unkept. They were doing road construction and was difficult to pull in to property.

    The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Per friendly. They have a designated dog walking area. Great breakfast with fantastic variety. Friendly staff. Comfortable rooms with a fridge. Good location close to freeways.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a Best Western, the room was sparse regarding conveniences and small in space.

    Best breakfast variety I've ever experienced at a comparable motel: good selection of hot foods as well as other breakfast options and beverages.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices were a little high due to proximity to Yosemite.

    Easy check-in and check out. Newly upgraded carpets and mattresses. Lots of choices for breakfast. Easy access to freeway, but far away enough that noise was not a problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside door was extremely loud when it closed and at 6:30 am it was closing a lot. This could be easily fixed It’s a shame that the hotel staff can't recognize that this major disturbance to there customer's comfort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is too soft/sagging. And Stop offering free breakfast and make it better. We will pay for something better quality or just skip and charge less for room.

    Bed too soft. Breakfast should be skipped. All else good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night we arrived Wi-Fi didn't work. When I reported it to a staff member, the reply I was able to get was more or less as follows: "I'll show you how to log-in on your phone... It doesn't work... OK, I'll show you on my then... It doesn't work... OK, the hotel is busy and sometimes this happens, I'm sorry". Unfortunately this wasn't very helpful. So we stayed there for the night with no Wi-Fi and only a very limited access to the Internet via a prepaid card we got for the US.

    The rooms look very nice, they're also very clean and spacious. The swimming pool is above average and makes a very nice impression. Also breakfast is definitely worth recommending. You'll find not only the warm eggs, bacon & sausage, but also fresh fruits which might appeal to many Europeans.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refrigerator was on the floor in the bathroom. The door scraped along the floor when it was opened...!!! Poorly located power sockets.

    The evening receptionist was superb and so very helpful. Whatever she is being paid - it is not enough!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was dirty

    it was on our way back from Sequoia to San Francisco. good for a short stop. the water park in Fresno was already closed despite 38 celsius in August.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good part of town. Also, I was told I may not get full credit on my rewards program because I booked my reservation through a third party!!! Won't do that again if I find out that is true!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant choices in this area of Fresno are not very good but they are adequate.

    Location and cleanliness. The included breakfast was very good. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this motel to friends or traveling associates.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection didn't work very well in our roomf. The air condition was also fairly loud even if this is the case in most places.

    Very nice breakfast and relatively quiet location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's in the less desirable part of Fresno, several miles from the good restaurants, movies, etc.

    For the price it was a bargain, if you didn't require much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfasts are all sweet - even yoghurt. some of the guests are not from US and need to eat normal food for breakfast :) not sweet muffins, sweet cerial, sweet yoghurt, sweet waffles ...

    very good location for the ones who make just short stopover in the area. comfortable beds, clean and big bathroom, ok swimming pool for our kids

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small.The hotel does not have an elevator.

    There are two different breakfasts in the 2days. And it was delicious.The hotel is not far from Yosemite Park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture of this facility on booking.com isn't right. It's false advertising. The location is super ghetto. Not where someone from out of town wants to be. If you going to any of the national parks around this are stay elsewhere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    older hotel. Not in a great location. The a/c kept running loudly then cutting off, every 5 minutes. Bed was very uncomfortable. Room air just felt sticky! Didn't like the small square pillows.

    staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking marked for towing vehicles. It was difficult to find parking for truck and boat after 7:00 p.m.

    Beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Parking lot was not accessible to street traffic and security guard at night (towing a boat and felt all was well). Security door on each level. Near fast food and Denny's. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in room could have been a bit better.

    Great breakfast here. Good standard in room. Nice pool. Helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say.

    Convenient stop-off. Pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room, staff very friendly, helpful and professional. Great breakfast! Great value for your money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet had issues. Shower handle could not stop on hot or cold it just rotated completely around so temp was hard to adjust. Noisy location by pool when I specified my need for sleep after long day of travel. Tv didn't work properly. Called for adjustment but they never came to fix it. Extremely small room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked this hotel for 3 days. After the first night we left this hotel and booked another one: Days Inn Yosemite Area. The reason is: room was too small, fridge was not suitable for any vegetables and fruits because of it's size. It was located in bath. There is no Microwave in the room. So If you are traveling with fridge box and you own Vegetables and fruits this hotel will be a very bad choice. Best Westerns not a cheap hotel, but Instead of flat TV it will be better to place normal size fridge and microwave in the room.

    Great managers on reception small swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have trash liners in our rooms upon arrival. We asked for some the next day and the receptionist said she would leave a note for the cleaning personnel to take care of it. It was never taken care of the entire time we stayed.

    The food staff was nice.. Also the receptionist tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is really float to Yosemite. Only an hour drive. Rooms were clean and quiet but they did clean our towels and bathroom even thou the "do not disturb" sign was up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being on the second floor - climbing stairs. That was due to our late arrival time.

    We liked the wide variety of breakfast options. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby staff was excellent, had directions for whatever we needed. The breakfast was really good, pancakes, waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon,yogurt,cereal, coffee, juice. The pool was clean, open late for sunset swims.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was close to the Breakfast room. So we couldn't really sleep anymore After 5a.m but I guess that was just Bad luck with the room placing.

    The staff was very feiendly. The Pool was quite refreshing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Does Not Apply

    Dog friendly, and impeccably maintained....Very nice breakfast. Staff was gracious and accomodating. Sadly, there had been a fatal crash involving a big rig on the northbound 99 around noon. The south and north bound lanes were stopped for many hours and CHP did not adequately inform travelers of the need for detours.....it became necessary to back up a small U-Haul truck off of a freeway onramp in Chowchilla.......Yikes! Winding through orchards of almond trees....For Hours! Thank goodness for Best Western in Fresno......

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not safe part of town, everything in room was old and dated although it claimed to be "remodeled". Remodeled means painted recently and nothing else.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fact that we shared the bathroom with a cockroach was pretty gross.

    There was a woman in the morning who worked the office and front desk. She was super! So nice and so friendly. Motel was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy in the morning

    The bed and pillows we were near the breakfast it was easy for my husband to get there and cleanliness of the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very uncaring. Had a question and they were out smoking and finally had to interrupt them to ask my question about food in the area. They were not helpful. The room was supposed to be handicap - poor excuse, the sink and counter were low for someone in a wheel chair - I am handicapped but can walk with a walker. The toilet was a low rise - not good for most handicapped people. The breakfast looked good but bacon and eggs were cold.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking spots are on the small side and not guaranteed for all guests. I particularly did not enjoy a biker gang occupying an absurd number of spots one night and the hotel not caring about it. You can easily fit 3 bikes (motorcycles) per spot, while some people were only fitting 1/spot. Had to park on the street one night and move the car early in the morning. I understand that there's fewer spots than rooms but I do not understand hotel staff that doesn't make people aware of that so you get ridiculous situations like 1 bike/spot.

    The bed was probably the most comfortable I've slept in this 2 week California trip (I actually think the mattress might have been changed recently before our stay because I saw other rooms having their mattresses changed). The room was pretty big, we had two armchairs and a small coffee table right next to the window and quite a bit of space on the other side of the bed. The bathroom had a sliding door which is kind of a cool space saver. Bathroom was also really big and bathtub almost has room for two people in it. This hotel is a great value for your money compared to a lodge on the Big Sur coast - FYI. Those can get very expensive. A couple of things close to this hotel: 2 min walk Carmel plaza (food and shopping); 10 min walk - beach (be aware of coastal fog which is apparently pretty common - I didn't know before I visited) and still put sunscreen on when it's foggy. 10-20 min drive + time it takes to drive the loop: 17 mile drive - absolutely beautiful and you get to see the Lone Cypress while out there. Make sure one of your dinners is at Rocky point restaurant (on Big Sur coast). it was a fantastic photo opportunity to be on that property! (dinner kind of expensive but appropriately delicious) 20 min drive (or less): Point Lobos national park. Great park which can be hiked in its entirety in a full day, beautiful views, you can see some seals and great coast-scapes. 30 min drive + : Big sur Coast (you can only drive to the end of the Big Sur marathon route (technically the start line of the marathon because a bridge is collapsed 26 miles away from Carmel. I think it's scheduled to be down at least until September 2017.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was very mediocre. Cold cereal would have been better than the strange pancakes.

    The oatmeal and condiments were good, as were the juic choices for breakfast. We liked having a window to open rather than using the noisy heater/air conditioner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection was null, totally unusable, nobody could solve the problem thoroughly. It was very annoying not to have connection in my room which seriously affected my rating of the hotel.

    No comments

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC programming had a problem and didn't work. Noisy, could not shut off- Had to unplug it. Hotel next to a U-haul storage, not exactly glamorous.

    Clean and fairly quiet. Staff was responsive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like after my long drive Best Western was easy to check in after midnight. The complimentary breakfast was way better than I thought it was going to be.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not the best pressure

    Maccas and Denny's across the road. Great parking, bed, breakfast. Pool looked nice. Felt safe. Great quality hotel. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buildings were loud and the rooms far from sound proof. Bathrooms didn't have exhaust fans. Door to the room didn't fit properly so the room wasn't dark at night. I could hear every conversation on the floor at 1 AM.

    This hotel is in the older section of town and while I never felt unsafe here, the first thing I noticed was the level of police patrols. Breakfast was on the highest end of decent. Staying here rather than near the newer part of town (northeast side of town) saved about 35-40%, but the facility is older. Keep that in mind when staying here. Staff was friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Through Booking.com, I accidentally double booked our room a minute or two apart from each other because I didn't know that the first booking had gone through and this was as we were driving to the location after our original reservation at a different hotel did not work out due to my mistake. As my 13 year old daughter and I checked in, I realized my mistake and the clerk/receptionist said that I had to take care of it through the booking.com website. I tried that. The website said that I had to talk to the hotel site and have them cancel it at their end. At this point, I have no idea what happened. Also, we asked for the quietest room possible. It was suggested the second floor. That did not work out very well for us. Our room faced a Denny's and it's parking lot. At 230am, the room below us (or very nearby) started a party with very loud music and lots of singing and dancing - mostly girls or women from what I could hear. They stopped the music around 330am, but kept singing and talking loudly until approx 4pm. And then, when I thought it was safe to sleep, 430pm, horns in the nearby parking lots were honking for attention of others. This went on in various stages until 545am. All in all, not a good decision on our part, but we took the advice from our original hotel, the Holiday Inn Express on Shaw.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not great and our vehicle had the rear window smashed and items stolen overnight. The staff were fabulous in helping us with the police report etc though.

    The property was well kept and staff were friendly. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extra courteous. The room appeared was newly renovated and extremely clean. The tub had a safety grab bar. The hotel provided a hot buffet breakfast. Everything worked as expected. Received a great price reserving through Booking.com.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our original room smelled like weed.. which would explain why the AC was on when it was cold outside.. i called the front desk, and the lady was very sweet and moved us into another room right away... (but then i dont understand why they knew that but stuck us in that room in the first place)

    Breakfast was plentiful and lots of options

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is NOT a BW Plus as indicated in the photo, and, according to staff, has not been for many years. The pool is hidden by a fence and is surrounded by paved parking (I had to ask where it was after looking for it.) The photos are deceiving. Our room was clean and presentable but next to a storeroom, across from the breakfast room, was noisy, and looked out on reception parking. Despite being a BW Elite member the staff would not change our room when asked.

    The staff were pleasant and generally helpful. The bedding seemed to be new.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No jacuzzi .

    Clean, quiet, close to everything. Great value for your money. Staff was Super. Breakfast is good and plentiful . I would stay here again when I come back here for work.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a non smoking room but hallway was filled with the smell of tobacco and Marijuana. Front door wasn't sealed properly so the smell leaked into the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not much. I would stay there again.

    Clean, comfy, and quite. No standing water in drains. Lots of hot water. They let us keep one of two vehicles there for four hours after we checked out to run erronds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, we could tell housecleaning used a dirty mop on the bathroom floor. Smeared dirty water streaks. Yuck. Wall are a bit thin. Fireplace in lobby doesn't work. We were looking forward to visiting, relaxing around the lobby fire.

    Breakfast. Security.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great area. Right next to an all night, noisy until 3 am Denny's. No elevator in hotel. Staff warns you to take everything out of your car as there are frequent break-ins.

    Nice pillows. Room was fine. Bathroom floor tile was not so clean. Great breakfast selection. Nice lobby and staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra electrical outlet by the bed. Both my husband and I use breathing machines at night and had to unplug the lamp and the clock in order to use them.

    The Lady taking care of the breakfast area was a JEWEL!! She made getting up in the morning very pleasant. She was friendly, upbeat and eager to help. I'd come back just to see her.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway smelled like cigarette smoke, and the tv really didn't work properly. It cut off all the images and wasn't clear. We tried every setting to fix it to no avail.

    The waffles were yummy, and the desk staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some kind of black oil,dust or ! all over the parking lot. We had to was our small dog and clean the carpet in our car.

    Very helpful and friendly staff We will be back

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: